Submit a Complaint

Chase Bank

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Chase Bank

User917730 Send email
 
Apr 9, 2012

Legal Holds

"I know that this is their policy and completely legal, "
"THAT seems illegal to me."

Why do you think it is illegal when you acknowledge that it is legal?
User917730 Send email
 
Apr 9, 2012

Legal Holds

"and never been late"
"plus i am charged a late fee for May"

Go away.
User929073 Send email
 
Apr 9, 2012

Legal Holds

I have owned two chase cards for 12 years, and never been late. Both cards were suspended, because I paid to for in advance. Example, if i paid my chase bill the 25th of April for May 17th and most cases pay 2 times more than the amount due, that payment is credit to April and not May, because thats to for in advance, plus i am charged a late fee for May. This damaged my credit rating, and I think this is totally wrong.
User918246 Send email
 
Apr 9, 2012

Legal Holds

I have been a loyal costumer of Washington Mutual for years. When they were bought out by J.P. Morgan and switched to Chase, I was less than thrilled and have been feeling the consequences ever since. The smaller occurrences of overdraft fees and the like are less important, but recently I had to deal with a series of bureaucratic difficulties relating to a complete miscommunication between the two states I have lived in (Washington and California) in relation to a car I sold four years ago.

That matter is lengthy, but because of it, ALL if my funds were placed on hold and Chase charged me $125 for the "inconvenience" of placing my funds on hold. I know that this is their policy and completely legal, but this is the most corrupt unfair action I have had a bank do to me yet. I can't switch banks at the moment for convenience reasons, but to fine me such a huge amount (I had barely more than that amount in my account to begin with) and without ANY notice. THAT seems illegal to me. Like I said, I don't care if technically it is legal. If an individual charged you over $100 to keep you from touching the rest of your money, who wouldn't be furious?

The bank isn't allowed to inform you they might place your funds on hold in case the person goes and takes all of their money out. Yet if they had at least mailed me a letter informing me that if I did not take action I would be charged the $125 fee, I could have taken the proper measures. When I called customer service they didn't know why; I had to do all of the investigation myself which took me a full business day and an additional two payments of $99 and $52 to the DMV. They said that they sent me a notice THE DAY THEY PUT MY FUNDS ON HOLD and only AFTER I received notice my funds were on hold. This is not notice, as it implies one was told ahead of time. I don't see how this isn't complete sociopathic behavior and immoral monetary rape!
User836897 Send email
 
Apr 5, 2012

Complaints & Reviews

Are you sure that 3 identical complaints are enough?
User917730 Send email
 
Apr 4, 2012

Complaints & Reviews

"what should I do?"

What they told you to do...
User927339 Send email
 
Apr 4, 2012

Complaints & Reviews

I am furious, they double charged me over $200.00! My account is now in the negative, and I was hit with hundreds of dollars in fees for being negative, and making purchases with money I did not have. But I have the money, the I was double charged so that's what put me negative. I am freaking out, this is the only bank account I have and I do not know what to do. I called the banking number and talked to numerous people and they told me " you have to fill out a claim form, to prove to us that you did not make the purchase. Then it will be reviewed and investigated and if we find out we did double charge you, and you did not make the purchase, we will give you a credit in 8-12 weeks". Omg can someone please please help me, they stole my money and they will only give me my money back if I jump through hoops for them? And 8-12 weeks?? This is my money. Omg someone please help, what should I do?
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Mar 2, 2012

Overcharged

Loan shark? Are you that ignorant? YOU were late regardless of the reason. How about you suck it up and take responsibility like a grown up.
Kirck Send email
 
Mar 2, 2012

Overcharged

I was offered by WaMu Bank's credit card with a low interest rate few years ago. WaMu now is taking over by Chase Bank. I lost my job last year and cause my financial difficulty. I recently just got a job. I had one time late payment in March, Chase Bank increase my interested charge to 29.99%. I called the customer service and the rep was very rude to me. She basically told me this is their new policy and she can't help me for that. She then hang up without further explanation. This is like a "Loan Shark" now. Bank with a 30% interest... This is not helping us in this tough time but ripping us as much as they can.
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overdraft Protection Scam

YOU set it up that way so why are you bitching about it?!
Mollyemt Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overdraft Protection Scam

you KNEW what money was in what account. you KNEW that the due date on the auto pay was at hand. you should have transferred money from savings to checking to cover it. and you have the nerve to blame the bank ??? and now you bitch because it is the banks fault ?? dont think so.
Steve B LLC Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overdraft Protection Scam

I've got Business Checking, Business Savings, and a Business Credit Card with these thieves. I'm gonna use rough figures for what happened...

Checking had $800. Savings had $2000. Credit card, on which I have Auto-Pay, was coming due with $920, and the Auto-Pay comes from the Checking.

So the Credit Card due date comes, and the Checking Account is $120 short. So what do they do? They take $150 from the Credit Card, put it in Checking, and then use that to pay the Credit Card.

THEY BORROWED FROM MY CREDIT CARD TO PAY MY SAME CREDIT CARD!!! AND THEN THEY STARTED ATTACHING FEES TO THIS "SERVICE."

They charged the Checking $12.00, and now they're charging interest on the credit card for some crazy small print reason even though I've never run a balance. Unreal. And of course Customer Service isn't offering a refund.
ICEMOUNTAIN Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away

I AGREE THAT THEY NEED BETTER SALES REPS.
Method Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away

Chase set up an escrow account and double paid my real estate taxes on my home. We have had no escrow on our home for 9 years.

We have written, emailed, called, etc. It is really frustrating to lose hours and hours of time because of a bank error.

They artificially increased our payment by almost 200.00 per month as well!

Just a classic example of a big bank trying to take advantage of a customer by hiding behind their website and using customer service people that do not speak English as a first language.
ICEMOUNTAIN Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

This withdrawal was made without my knowledge or consent

I AM SURE THEY CONTACTED YOU, AS A CONSUMER YOU SHOULD ALWAYS DOUBLE CHECK YOUR STUFF. OR KEEP THE POSSIBILITY OPEN THAT IT MAY HAVE BEEN IDENTITY THEFT.
Sammycat13 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

This withdrawal was made without my knowledge or consent

Chase Bank is a collection of greedy liars and thieves avoid them at all costs!
Akildane Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

This withdrawal was made without my knowledge or consent

This withdrawal was made without my knowledge or consent. When I discovered and called about it I was told a $279. balance remained on an account I had closed in 2004. I was never contacted about an remaining balance due this bank. The withdrawal was made a couple of weeks before Christmas and because of their sneaky and underhanded practice, we had NO Christmas last year. I live on $1000 a month social security check and had no room in my budget for this withdrawal. I asked for proof that I owed this money and nothing was produced to prove it was my debt. I asked also that they report the payment of this debt to the credit reporting agencies; I received a letter stating they notified ChexSystems, which is NOT any of the 3 major credit reporting agencies. I'm really ticked off that they can badmouth me to a CRA and then it's up to me to provide proof of payment for a 6 year old (maybe fraudulent) debt.

I've read some of the stories and decided to open a new account with Toronto Dominion. I've heard good things about them from their customers.
Howard In Indiana Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Modification fraud

I know your pain I have been through the same mess and they foreclosed and got a judgement without ever notifying me of the court date. Clerk says it's too late.
they will have to pry my fingers off the door frame to get me out! I can make the payments but the added fees are $12, 000 and they will add that to ANY new loan and the judgement and it's on going until satisfied. Could be a $100.000 for all I care, they'll never see a dime of it. Unless they go back to the orginal agreement I was making payments on.
Tenman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Modification fraud

I have seen your blog, and the many others on complaints.com regarding chase bank and their fraudulent loan modification procedures and actions. It looks like the blogs are dated in late 2007. you mention that one should contact you to find out who the class action attorney is handling your cases.


That is the reason for my email to you. I have been experiencing all of the same frustrating experiences as many of your bloggers for the past 18 months. The long and the short of it is that, after over a year of providing multiple packets of requested documentation (at least 10 different times because either they never received what I sent, or because it took them so long to finally look at what I sent them that they needed updated docs, only to repeat the same delays and request for updated docs again), and while making agreed to reduced payments under a forbearance agreement, on July 16, 2010, I finally received a verbal approval over the telephone of a modification, approved on July 14, 2010.. ( I have the names of the 2 individuals I received this info from, and their phone numbers and extensions. Its my guess however that either they no longer work for chase and/or most likely their numbers and extensions have changed many times since then). I was told the exact terms of the modification and when the new payments would begin (Sept 1, 2010). I was told I would receive the packet in 7-10 days. After many calls requesting the modification package during the next 30 days, I still had not received it. Yet I was told in every instance of calling inquiring about the where abouts of the packet, that my file shows that iI had been approved on July 14, 2010 and the docs were coming.


As a homebuilder in Dallas, my business at this point has been relegated to remodeling and my income significantly reduced. I had foreclosures last year, and resulting deficiencies against me for a couple of houses I had built and couldnt sell for what I owed. I was forced into bankruptcy before ever receiving the modification package (which I never did actually receive) and chase then pulled the modification. I re-affirmed my mortgage with chase and have communicated to them that I am still ready, willing and able to commence payments in accordance to the terms of the modification that I was approved for. I have since been contacted by an attorney for chase (initially, 3 months ago, out of Houston), inquiring of my intentions. I have told her the story and that I still was willing to go with the mod terms. She said she would get with chase and just get this mod done.. Nothing has been accomplished since. Most of my calls and emails to her have gone unanswered and when I have been able to reach her, her response has always been that she has not heard back from chase. So, for over 3 months, an attorneys client has not responded to their lawyer regarding resolving a legal matter.
ROLLED BY THE BANK - The New MOB Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Dishonest Banking Practices

It's petty theft on a large scale! It's like serial killing but it is legal for them to do this but not me!! Not you. They can be thieves like their cousing Bank of America. CLOSE YOUR ACCOUNT AND GO ELSE WHERE!!! CITIZENS UNITE!!!
Sven Brown Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Dishonest Banking Practices

I became a customer of Chase when WAMU was forced out of business. WAMU could have survived, I have been told and I am totally disgusted with the way Chase has taken over the business. I have four accounts with Chase, and after tomorrow I will have -0- accounts with Chase. I hope everyone closes their accounts with any of these large banks that President Obama bailed out. Bailing out poorly run institutions only allowed the poorly run institutions to continue abusing people and making very poor decisions that are geared to pay extremely large BONUSES to the bankers who do not contribute to society in any form. What exactly do bankers do to deserve such bonuses? While doctors have salaries that are controlled, Bankers have much higher salaries and they are not controlled. This is simply not okay.
I digress, the reason for this email has to do with the way Chase handles their customers. I had my Yahoo email acct compromised, and Blazing Words has been stealing from me ever since. Just last week Blazing Words put through another dishonest charge on another bank mind you - for $38.00 approx. Since Yahoo will not let me into my account due ot identity issues, I was forced to go to Identity Theft Protection. This flagged my account and Chase is freaking out that my cc might be fraudulently used. They have forced me to spend at least five hours of insulting telephone time speaking to numerous people in their fraud dept - I have practically given my entire life history to these jerks who will tell me all is well and that my cc is no longer being held up due to fear of fraudulent activity only to find they are lying and indeed my card is still under careful watch. But worse, of all the different fraud dept locations I have spoken to in the past week, I mostly talked with people in Manilla. This means Chase has taken personal information of their customers and they have moved that personal information to data banks in 3rd world countries. Does anyone else find this to be very wrong, very threatening potentially, and simply the most selfish act a corporation can do - giving 3rd world countries - thus, 3rd world people access to personal and private information of citizens in the US. This is unethical as can be.
I am glad Chase is so careful with this issue but they have taken it too far. How many hours does a person need to spend talking on the phone to convince them that the person is really who they say they are. Chase goes to incredible lengths to protect themselves and their ccards but they do not do the same for debit cards. Worse, I found some questionable charges on another acct I have with Chase and when I stated these were incorrect and I wished to have them removed, Chase could care less. They have sent me to one person and then another - its called the BIG RUNAROUND. While their responsibility should rest with their customer's safety and satisfaction, instead the remind me of a piggish older sibling who wants it all. By God, they act this way and they are determined to have it all.
Well, they can have it all but not from me. I am cancelling all accounts with Chase and I will move all my business to a local bank where the bankers know you, and you are treated with respect. I have had it with Chase and I hope all of you will consider doing this too. This is the most dishonest, unorganized bank I have ever dealt with. Chase sucks and so does Yahoo, Blazing Words, and all the rest of the greedy cheaters who simply want to make more for themselves no matter what is right or wrong.
Bendoverandwhat?.com Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassment

I paid off my "chase" credit card on the 11th of October 2011 and closed the account. My credit card payment was due on the 15th of October. When I went in to pay off the credit card, I asked for the payoff amount (which was $300 more than I had expected, according to that months statement). I let it go because I may have used the card between the two payment due dates. On the 12th I checked my bank account on line to make sure it had been closed. It had been, but it also showed a credit of $18.52. I would not have known this if I had not checked my account on line. A week went by since I had paid off the credit card and I had not received a reimbursement of the $18.52, so I dropped by the bank to inquire about it. They told me they normally keep the credit in the event I owe more money. What the hell? I told them I expected a check for the $18.52 within a week. I received a check 5 days later with a note saying I still might have a balance. On the 22nd (today) of October I received another credit card statement showing that "chase" did not close my account until the 18th of October (7 days after I closed the account) and an interest charge of $37.00 was added on, on the 18th of October, 7 days after the account was closed. Talk about blatant thievery. This is exactly why I changed my banking to a credit union.
Frijolito Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassment

I'm glad I found this site. I have been getting 6 - 9 calls from Chase a day, alternating between 800-848-9380 and Private Caller. I have not been late for several months however, they continue to want to know when I'm making my payment. I began answering their calls in the last couple months or so and just today handled four of their calls alone. Everytime they kept trying to talk over me because I would not confirm the name they were giving. I also told the guy to give me his phone number so I can call him ten times a day to see how he liked it but he talked over me. I asked several times for them to stop calling me and that I considered these numerous calls as harassment but they did not care and would continue to talk. Until I blew it on the last call I answered and said "Holy Moly Mother of Mary." I have no idea why I said that it was random because I normally cuzz but it was merely out of frustation and random. It worked. the guy actually stopped talking and hung up on me. I have not gotten one call from them after that. Go figure. Try it see if it works for you..
GEOMMM Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unfair banking practices

Well good luck! All banks do it the same - I believe it is unfair but it is how it is. Don't overdraw your account and this won't happen!
Tobkone Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unfair banking practices

Chase bank over the last year, since the change over from Washington Mutual, has been manipulating my bank account in their favor. The bank is delaying debt transactions on my account and posting them when they see a chance to rip you off. Example on 1/22/10 my wife made three debit charges $0.20, $0.45, $0.65. Three days later on 1/25/10 I made a charge for $5.40. If there was only $5.45 in my account the bank would post the $5.40 charge before the small charges my wife made days before and then collect three overdraft fees to the tune of $99. This is just an example, the real scenario is that I might get dinged for up to 12 overdrafts at the tune of $33 dollars each. This has happened to me at least three times in the last year, and easily charging me over $500. With a lost in income of over $28, 000 a year I can't afford to have this bank rip me off anymore.

Clearly Chase Bank purposely manipulated my charges in their favor to collect money. I will no longer be banking with Chase. And I will also try and move my auto loan as well. Lost of over $500 or more in less then a year for some charges that are no more then $4.00 or less. This is outrageous!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username