Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Cincinnati Bell Fioptics

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Cincinnati Bell Fioptics

lolac Send email
 
Mar 7, 2018

exhausted

Over the past couple months have had increasing problems. First it was my picture freezing....was told to reboot (which I did and it didn't help) then was told to take all my boxes back to the store and swap them out. That didn't help. Then they sent out a technician who replaced all my boxes....the picture stopped freezing but now the sound cuts out as if it was "buffering." Another call to technical support...they had me reset my boxes and gateway. Still didn't help. They sent out a second technician who replaced some wires on the box on the outside of my house. That still didn't fix anything. I am exhausted from calling technical support, being on hold, being told to reset boxes, and then waiting days on end for a technician to come out only to have the problem remain. Everyone has been nice, but nice doesn't fix my service. I even upgraded my internet service to a higher rate in hopes it would help (it didn't). Probably because I have copper lines even though they like to claim it is Fioptics....Fiber to the Node is not the same as Fiber to the House!!! I really dislike Spectrum, but at this point I don't feel I have an option if I want to be able to watch television. I'll be switching tomorrow.
lolac Send email
 
Mar 7, 2018

Exhausted

Over the past couple months have had increasing problems. First it was my picture freezing....was told to reboot (which I did and it didn't help) then was told to take all my boxes back to the store and swap them out. That didn't help. Then they sent out a technician who replaced all my boxes....the picture stopped freezing but now the sound cuts out as if it was "buffering." Another call to technical support...they had me reset my boxes and gateway. Still didn't help. They sent out a second technician who replaced some wires on the box on the outside of my house. That still didn't fix anything. I am exhausted from calling technical support, being on hold, being told to reset boxes, and then waiting days on end for a technician to come out only to have the problem remain. Everyone has been nice, but nice doesn't fix my service. I even upgraded my internet service to a higher rate in hopes it would help (it didn't). Probably because I have copper lines even though they like to claim it is Fioptics....Fiber to the Node is not the same as Fiber to the House!!! I really dislike Spectrum, but at this point I don't feel I have an option if I want to be able to watch television. I'll be switching tomorrow.
Walt1970 Send email
 
Jan 13, 2018

Fioptic tv box freezes

Over the last week our 5 month old box...non dvr, keeps freezing up. Have to unplug, reboot, etc. Sometimes takes 3-4 reboots before we get it working. Then it might only work until we turn off the tv.
We had directv for 12 years and never had an issue...not even 1 service call. Kinda bummed I switched. I think we might switch back after the 1st year runs out.
Just my thoughts....
Viper4 Send email
 
Nov 13, 2017

Deceitful practice

Through the 5 years I've been with Cincinnati Bell Fioptics I've been over charged for 10mbps. I constantly had issues where I was only getting 2.5mbps for years. I've complained numerous times. I saw an ad for $44 a month for for 30mbps for new customers and asked if I could get the same deal. I was told NO so I cancelled my service. Within an hour they called me back and offered me 30mbps for $48. I finally agreed. It's been 7 months now and I am only getting 14 to 18mbps. I called their technical services and they wanted to send someone out but stated I would be charged a service fee if the problem was in my house so they STRONGLY SUGGESTED I pay for a Service Protection Plan of $8 a month extra plus tax. Cincinnati Bell Fioptics is a total scam. I signed up for Fioptics but found out through their service person that it was only Fioptics at the top of my street but I was only getting copper wire service. They only confessed this when I called to complain. Why am I paying for Fioptics when I am only really getting copper wire service with only 18mbps service.
Viper4 Send email
 
Nov 13, 2017

Deceitful practice

Cincinnati Bell Fioptics is a total scam. I was originally charged $64 a month for 10mbps service per month. I saw an add for $44 dollars a month and at first would not allow me to get the same deal because I was already a customer. I threaten to leave and actually cancelled my service when they called me back within an hour and said they could do $48 a month for 30mbps. Now I am only getting 18mbps by the Speedtest.net and they want to charge me $8 a month for service protection to have a service person come out to my house and check all the lines inside and out. This problem is stems from the fact they told me I wasn't actually getting Fioptics and that Fioptics was only at the top of my street and that I was only getting copper wire service. For 4 years I believed I was getting Fioptics until a service person told me it was only copper. They only admitted it when I called them to complain. They are a total scam and should be held accountable for this deceitful practice.
serpentracer Send email
 
Oct 7, 2017

lying about service

Fioptics not available everywhere. beware that cin bell may tell you that you get fioptics at your location but you may have what is known as FTTN. (fiber to the node) what this means is your house/business doesn't actually have fiber optic to your building. it could end on that street or several streets away. it's going through the copper land lines to your building. not a true fiber optic setup. you will get less internet speed. far less! don't let them charge you full price!!!!

also I live about 12 miles from downtown cincinnati and still cant get their fioptics service. cin bell will soon go belly up. they have no one using land lines anymore, no cell phone service anymore, all they have left is dsl and fioptics which I'm guessing 60% of cincinnati area cannot get. and their DSL is a measly 4.5mbps download for a astronomical $50 a month. my cell phone has 12mbps download speeds.
serpentracer Send email
 
Oct 7, 2017

service

Fioptics not available everywhere. beware that cin bell may tell you that you get fioptics at your location but you may have what is known as FTTN. (fiber to the node) what this means is your house/business doesn't actually have fiber optic to your building. it could end on that street or several streets away. it's going through the copper land lines to your building. not a true fiber optic setup. you will get less internet speed. far less! don't let them charge you full price!!!!

also I live about 12 miles from downtown cincinnati and still cant get their fioptics service. cin bell will soon go belly up. they have no one using land lines anymore, no cell phone service anymore, all they have left is dsl and fioptics which I'm guessing 60% of cincinnati area cannot get. and their DSL is a measly 4.5mbps download for a astronomical $50 a month. my cell phone has 12mbps download speeds.
Bikernana Send email
 
Oct 5, 2017

Continuing outage of TV and internet

Multiple times we have lost Internet an TV connection. Phone technical support is friendly but doesn't know how to properly trouble shoot issues. Sent several different technicians at different times. One technician replaced fioptics lines a block away from our apartment and services worked good for one day. Usually have issues at least every other week. Last technician sent to our home extremely knowledgeable. Worked with Cincinnatti Bell for 20 years. Stated the problem wasn't with any of the equipment or wiring. Stated the problem was our service wasn't set up properly at their office. A 2 minute phone call from him to I house technical support and everything was fine. Currently having issues and waiting for days for a technician. I bet it is again something the main office doesn't have connected properly causing the problem. Yet still waiting for a technician to come. Hope this time the service connection lasts for more than two weeks
pam100 Send email
 
Oct 3, 2017

Bell Fioptics internet

I opened a small shop. I had Bell set up internet in order to receive credit card purchases. I also asked if the signal would reach about 15 foot from the back door where my apartment/Office is. I was assured it would. It doesn't and I was told by tech support I can buy a signal extender. We had the service for 21/2 months and started having connection problems. When we called for service we were told it would be 4 days. When they called to come out it was working. 2 days later it wasn't. Was told it would be 5 days to have service. After being transferred to several people. I spoke to a supervisor who said he over rode the 5 days and a tech would be there the next day on a Friday between 1-5 and would call first. No call no show. Called around 5:15 asked to be transferred to a supervisor they tried to transfer but it wouldn't go through... I called the next morning Saturday to an answering service that would have a supervisor call me back on MONDAY. No call on Monday. Called back I am told they will be there tomorrow for sure the first 5 day appointment that was given. I have lost sales because of this. I even paid more per month to make sure this issue didn't arise. I am a business, I need service.
babymouse Send email
 
Aug 12, 2017

Picture and sound constantly scrambling

We have had 3 technicians out here and have had fiber optics for 2 weeks. Have already had 2 boxes changed. Then it has to be re-booted constantly. The last re-boot zapped the box out. Had to wait 1 week to get a technician. Now 3 weeks into it the picture is always scrambled. Same goes for the sound. Really annoying. Also your automatic shut off stinks. You'll be in the middle of the program and the tv shuts down. They say it's an energy saver. I say I'm smart enough to turn off my tv. I've been noticing tv's in restaurants and businesses and you can tell who has cincinnati bell. I'm now telling everyone I bump into at work that's talking about changing and telling them to stick with what they have because your product stinks. Better have a tech living with you.
Mad Brad Send email
 
Aug 4, 2017

Service

Internet went down. Had to get new modem from CB store (2nd one in two or so years). Lost Wi-Fi. No connection, WiFi. My wife was on phone for4 hours trying to get Fioptics back up after WIFI came back on line.
Fioptics still down. Can't connect via WIFI. Have to wait3 days for service tech to come to our home .
CB doesn't seem to care. Let's all just drop them.
sstringerf@yahoo.com Send email
 
Jul 2, 2017

Where is TVONE?

I just received my service today. 1/2 of the channels are duplicates. TvONE is not apart of the channel lineup. If I would've known this before I would not have got the service...I called to ask about the channel but didn't get a straight answer. "We had it, but dropped it in January" PLEASE BRING IT BACK SHEEESH.this will be a short experience for me. That is one of my fav channels 😠
Christineand Send email
 
May 12, 2017

Cincinnati Bell Fioptics

We have had Cincinnati Bell Wi-Fi, for many years, no problems, over that time we had TW Cable, for our cable carrier. Cin Bell, began offering Wifi in our community, we purchased it, probably 3 years ago, maybe longer. In the beginning, no problems, however, over the past year, we have had nothing but problems with the TV freezing, we unplug, reboot, it comes back on, hour or so later, same thing all over again, it's ridiculous! I have never seen a (sorry we sold you shit) credit on my bill, just increased charges!!! We have taken our box into the Cin Bell store, at least three times over the past 6 months, we have received replacement boxes & cords, no resolution. Last time I took the box in, the sales agent told me that we needed to change out wall outlet... LOL!! My husband is an electrician and has been so for the past 35 years, he about fell over when I called him with this explanation. As I sit here typing, my TV is frozen up again, no audio and cannot change the channel. Sometimes we have audio but, a frozen screen??? As if this isn't all frustrating enough, calling the Cincinnati Bell Customer Service line, is enough to make me loose my mind, as I cannot get anyone who speaks my language, very well, and whomever you speak with, they are clearly doing nothing more than reading from a script. I am extremely disappointed with this service, at this time!!!!
cynthia gilbert Send email
 
Apr 6, 2017

over charging

i have had my service interrupted several times and charged 18 dollars every time even though i have made several payments they add fees and charges when they feel like it and charging more than they told me i would have to pay . I will report this to utilities comity if it is not corrected to what i am suppose to pay !
Tony smith Send email
 
Mar 21, 2017

Programming

What irks me is as a paying customer and receive a ton of programs which 1/2 are duplicates either on different channels or HD /non HD we get channels like DIY. At one time it meant DIY. Now it is nothing but watching a guy do a remodel with out showing any kind of "How to". I guess teaching is a thing of the past. With the way things are now days, a lot of people are looking for ways to utilize their spare time in ways that improve their own personal property. Things such as a possible 2 or 3 pt series about the actual way to build a deck (jointery) or the best ways to set up tooling for specific jobs (routers , finishes etc.). This way DIY could cover home,auto ect. The channel is DIY (do it yourself) not POG (pay other guy). There was even a compitition type show on at one time that did just that. It didn't have a professional team and showed how the quality project was accomplished over a 2/3 episodes.
After retiring I thought I would catch up on TV after 25 yrs of night shift but boy was I wrong. So now I'm looking into this streaming thing. Sounds a whole lot cheaper and WILL NOT have to be bothered with a bunch of programs that are totally worthless to me. I'm sure that Im not the only one from the world of the off shifts that feel this way. I realize that the company's have to make money but this is rediculous. If I could get 1/2 the channels that were my choice and maybe be able to switch every once in awhile, I would be willing to pay the same amount. But that probably won't happen.
Bearcats2093 Send email
 
Feb 19, 2017

Cincinnati Bell

I have had Cincinnati Bell fioptics for 3 years, have never had a problem with the company. I upgraded to a better package 50mbd/10mbul to 100mbd/20mbul. Ordered Upgraded on Tues online and was never prompted to enter a service call day. I called Customer Service three days later, never receiving the upgraded. They finally gave me the packaged I ordered except the 100mbd still at the 50mbd. For the record, the website is fu***ing useless. Everything boils down you have to talk to Customer Service, which is outsource out of the United States or to Sub-Contractors. StarTask Call Center in Hamilton, was one Customer Service you may receive. No offense to the Call Center, they literally have no power over the service other then what you could already do on the CincinnatiBell.com. They literally read off the steps that I already read and done for years. They promised a technician would call be back to help me, negative the outsource call center from Philippines calls you back and have the same script as ever time. So they schedule an appointment for a service tech to actually come to the house on 20th mon 9am-10am. Come to fined out the 3rd or 4th call I made, that appointment is for 20th the following from month. I'm writing this for the fact that Cincinnati Bell is a great Internet but the Customer Service needs a serious remodel. Looking for other options, I've spent more then 6 hours on the phone with them.
roofnargi Send email
 
Jan 16, 2017

Done

Thankfully, our Fioptics experience is over. In the last few months we dealt with at least 1 x day outages. Sad when a customer has to familiarize themselves with the router admin pages, to have to soft-reboot the router so frequently. I've practically memorized the Level 1 engineer script. CB apparently has no remote diagnostic tools to figure out what's going on, as they insist on sending a technician out (M-F only, mind you...hope you don't have a typical M-F 9-5 job).....and for an INTERMITTENT problem! Help me understand the logic there. Happy to have canceled my service, and moving to TW, away from these jokers.
G8KPR Send email
 
Jan 16, 2017

Fioptics TV/Internet service and customer service

I have had fioptics/internet for 3+ years, I have had equipment replaced, spent too much time on the phone and lost hours from work to have a technician come to my home to diagnose the problem. As I sit and type this complaint my TV has been down for 40 minutes as I am still waiting on customer service to answer, I am missing a very important NFL playoff game. The worst thing is when I finally can speak to someone regarding this issue, I will be passed around and have to wait 2-24 hours for the next level and if the next level can't resolve the problem then it will be passed on to the next level, which will be another 2-24 hours. Done....time for a change!!!
Roger-Lo Send email
 
Nov 12, 2016

Cincinnati Bell fiber optics TV pixellation

I have had Cincinnati Bell FiberOptics for nearly a year now, and have had nothing but PROBLEMS with the television and Wi-Fi reception since the system was installed ! :-( The TV signal is UNRELIABLE . . . the WiFi signal is WEAK :-( CBT technicians have responded to the home several times, and assure me that their system is WONDERFUL. (yeah - right ! ) Lately, I was told that I needed a signal strength booster to "help" their equipment reach throughout the home (so much for "whole house Wi-Fi" ) and PURCHASED an additional booster that would cover 14,000 square feet. All to NO avail ! Hopes of watching the Olympics was fruitless because of abysmal reception, and watching regularly scheduled network programs that have been recorded on DVR is a challenge at best at times. The picture more often than not, will pixellate heavily, and it is not uncommon for the audio portion to be out of synch with the picture. :-( WHY can't someone from CBT come out and get this problem fixed ??? CBT is not shy about wanting me to pay my bill each month, but --->>> isn't charging the customer for something that they don't receive a SCAM ? Come on, CBT --->>> FIX your Fi-Optics problems and treat your customers right !
bobdurkee Send email
 
Sep 9, 2016

Terrible cable and internet service

Cincinnati Bell is a terrible cable and internet provider. They can't do anything right. Ive had Fioptics (garbage-optics) for 4 months now. In that time, ive had 3 technicians out to "fix" the well-known issues that happen over and over. Well today was the last straw and I'm going back to Time Warner real soon. I'm sick of these problems. Many of my HD and digital channels freeze up and pixelate quite often. Its obvious channels are not streaming smoothly and many times, the sound won't match the screen. The screen goes in slow motion when you change the channel.The dvr box never works right and also freezes up. There are outages pretty often. Weather will affect it even though fiber optic lines are supposed to be more reliable and stable. Whatever you do, go with a different provider. Bell will give you fits and problems.
GETTING TIRED Send email
 
Aug 17, 2016

DVR EQUIPMENT

DVR AT 50% FULL(TRYING TO RECORD OLYMPICS ) STARTS SAYING DISK GETTING FULL WILL DELETE UNWATCHED PROGRAMS!! WILL NOT LET YOU CANCEL AND STARTS DELETING UNWATCHED PROGRAMS!! THERE GOES TEAM USA!!
CINCINNATI BELL FIOPTICS IS THE WORST OF THE WORST!
SALES REP LIES, WHOLE HOUSE DOES NOT WORK IT SHOULD BE RENAMED HOLE HOUSE EQUIPMENT!!!
beverlysharp Send email
 
Jul 1, 2016

Freezes up

After upgrade, Fioptics has frozen up twice. I try to unplug the set to reboot and that doesn't work. Last time called and had to unplug modem. Last night cable was acting strange and now here again, not working. Very frustrating when we pay a lot for cable and dvr. No wonder people are going to something else!!!
usarmyarbn88 Send email
 
Jun 26, 2016

Cincinnati Fioptics

Cincinnati Bell fioptics in my area has changed "choked down" the original speeds i was paying for yet im still paying. Not only that they have limited the upload speed to crushingly slow 2.5mps from min of 5. when i first had my install it was 50 plus down and 10 up.... my tv service has went to crappo jittery and not enjoyable at all. i went through 7 days of tech to manager supervisors, phone calls while i was at work to finally a senior engineer admitted to me, on the phone ,that they did not build the infrastructure necessary for the customer demand so they have began choking the speeds to add more customers. now the max you can get in our area is 30mbps 2.5 up, but i cant even get that 26.4 was the highest and the graph looks like NASDAQ .
Fioptics needs a class action law suit against them for false advertisement as fioptics "fiber" . It is misleading and basically a HUGE LIE. If anyone knows of a class action starting up please contact me i have 17 neighbors who would be interested in joining. Time Warner was the worst for years but Cincinnati bell has taken us all to the cleaners .
twinkle Send email
 
Jun 25, 2016

Fioptics Cable Software

As if it wasn't bad enough, the recent "upgrade" made it WORSE!!! I truly tried to give it a chance to no avail. Here are just some of the highlights of the problems related to the new software:
*the fast forward buttons, even 4x jumps sometimes at 16x, 32x or more - no real control
*recorded shows get stuck on playback
*recorded shows come up with empty content (unless u reboot when magically it reappears)
*the whole system locks up; freezes frequently
*many new features like SD/HD/All/Subscribed and others never explained - subscribers are left to figure it out on their own
*star ratings and decent explanations of shows & movies GONE
*recording options complicated and quite frankly stupid
*not user friendly especially to the disabled and over 50 set
Bottom line is a bad system just got much worse while they continue charging a ridiculous price. They should be ashamed of themselves for offering such a bad product. And, whoever designed this new software upgrade should definitely be fired or demoted to thye file room!!!
Tim Weigel Send email
 
Jun 16, 2016

Can Never Get through for basic service like re-attaching lines to your house.

I am an IT professional and deal with many types of vendors daily. This has by far got to be the worst customer service, and hardest to get a hold of. I have waited hours to have someone answer the phone, only to have them hang up on me. I have lines down in my yard from the power lines to the sidewalk now, as they did a shoddy job with the install. No way to get a hold of anyone. The stupid AI always tries to make your job of getting something fixed more difficult.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Good Morning America - Biased news reporting
    I have Faithfully watched Good Morning America since it...
    US Pharmacy - Non stop phone call solicitation
    This company calls 5-10 times daily to Sell prescription...
    US Pharmacy - Non stop phone calls
    This company called 5-10 times daily using a different...
    Sedgwick/Home Depot - Home Depot damage to my truck
    I rented a sod cutter from Home Depot on 5/18/18. When...
    Zain KSA - Service issue signals problem
    Dear concerns, I am using zain connection from last year...
    KFC Malaysia - Keluahan Perasaan Staff KfC
    Come On KFC do something for this Guy(RM) I'm am...
    MICROSOFT *OFFICE 36 MSBILL.INFO AU - Microsoft Office 36 MSBILL INFO
    There was an unauthorised deduction of $108.00 from my...
    Choice home warranty corp - Jacuzzi repair refrigerator repair
    Choice home warranty is a horrible company. They take...
    Nothing - Taking money and don’t know what this is
    They are taking money off my card and I don’t know why...
    Star Plus Channel - Qayamat ki raat
    Please ban Qayamat Ki Raat is very irritating all day it...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Good Morning America - Biased news reporting
    I have Faithfully watched Good Morning America since it...
    US Pharmacy - Non stop phone call solicitation
    This company calls 5-10 times daily to Sell prescription...
    US Pharmacy - Non stop phone calls
    This company called 5-10 times daily using a different...
    Sedgwick/Home Depot - Home Depot damage to my truck
    I rented a sod cutter from Home Depot on 5/18/18. When...
    Zain KSA - Service issue signals problem
    Dear concerns, I am using zain connection from last year...
    KFC Malaysia - Keluahan Perasaan Staff KfC
    Come On KFC do something for this Guy(RM) I'm am...
    MICROSOFT *OFFICE 36 MSBILL.INFO AU - Microsoft Office 36 MSBILL INFO
    There was an unauthorised deduction of $108.00 from my...
    Choice home warranty corp - Jacuzzi repair refrigerator repair
    Choice home warranty is a horrible company. They take...
    Nothing - Taking money and don’t know what this is
    They are taking money off my card and I don’t know why...
    Star Plus Channel - Qayamat ki raat
    Please ban Qayamat Ki Raat is very irritating all day it...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username