Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

cordell & cordell

United States,
Texas

Consumer complaints and reviews about cordell & cordell

jswhelt Send email
 
May 16, 2018

Cordell & Cordell Law Firm

My experience with Cordell & Cordell stands as an example of Caveat Emptor. This buyer is now painfully aware of how this organization operates to exploit men going through the trauma of a divorce and to extract as much revenue as possible while providing the least amount of legal advice. My attorney, Heath Davis, provided me with little to no positive recommendations for an overall strategy and demonstrated inadequate tactical acumen when faced by a superior opposing attorney. I would have achieved better outcomes by using WikiLaw, Legal Zoom and working through a mediator. Do not let this firm take advantage of you, men! Avoid them.
mrmickey73 Send email
 
Feb 4, 2018

Attorney was not educated

This is a law firm that is only out to make money off of false promises.. The consultation over phone will cost you $100 and I seriously doubt the person on the other end is even an attorney. They had no idea how many hours my child had to be in college for child support to continue and offered absolutely no advice in my case that should be very simple. This company has obviously been established by a sociopath attorney that came up with a catch phrase that attracts the fathers who typically get screwed by the state. "For the father". What dad isn't going to pay $100 to hear how they are going to help them. Don't do it. It's a scam! Call your local family law office and get a FREE consultation. Don't support this fraudulent company.
ayden Send email
 
Dec 6, 2017

CUSTODY

WELL AS IF I NEED TO ADD TO THE SCRUTINY AND SOUND LIKE THE SAME OLD CLICHE' HERE BUT QUIT THE SAME SEEMS TO BE THE "NORM" AT THIS INSTITUTION .. AT SOME POINT YOU WOULD THINK PARNERS WOULD TAKE PRIDE IN THERE WORK ETHICS .. NOT SOO MUCH THE CASE HERE. DO YOUR SELF A FAVOR AND SAME YOUR TIME & LOTS OF MONEY DEALING WITH THIS CORP. THEY ARE NOT WORRIED ABOUT YOUR BEST INTEREST!!!!! JUST YOUR MONEY AND WILL USE YOUR DESPERATION TO DO SO.. GOOD LUCK ELSE WHERE
Werll Send email
 
Nov 7, 2017

Bad joke!

Not counting the outrageous cost that continue to accumulate accompanied with little progress in the case, I’ve decided to go with another law firm. Despite papers being completed finally after spending above and beyond the average cost of a divorce already, the lack of rights being fought for me on my behave is disgusting and I will not stand while being treated as if I have none much less pay money for it. These people are nothing but a bad joke!
Werll Send email
 
Nov 7, 2017

Cordell & Cordell

Not counting the outrageous cost that continue to accumulate accompanied with little progress in the case, I’ve decided to go with another law firm. Despite papers being completed finally after spending above and beyond the average cost of a divorce already, the lack of rights being fought for me on my behave is disgusting and I will not stand while being treated as if I have none much less pay money for it. This place is a joke!
Werll Send email
 
Nov 7, 2017

Cordell & Cordell family law

Not counting the outrageous cost that continue to accumulate accompanied with little progress in the case, I’ve decided to go with another law firm. Despite papers being completed finally after spending above and beyond the average cost of a divorce already, the lack of rights being fought for me on my behave is disgusting and I will not stand while being treated as if I have none much less pay money for it. This place is a joke!
live2ride Send email
 
Oct 29, 2017

Outrageous Charges - Poor reresentation

This firm is greedy unethical and unscrupulous. First off they baited me with one qualified attorney, then after I was signed up switched me to another attorney and upped the hourly rate. I found out later that the attorney they switched me to previously worked for opposing counsel and was fired "because she wasn't very good". That didn't stop her from filing relentless charges. I was billed over $25,000 for a divorce with no minor children and the decision was the "worst possible" outcome. I did not have one single issue decided in my favor. My attorney cried when the Judge challenged her and cowered every time her ex-boss spoke! The result was that I could have represented myself and had the same or better outcome.

They charged my credit card and maxed it out three times. The only way I could stop the madness was to close the credit account. As a final insult these shysters had the nerve to turn me over to a collection agency almost 2 years after we parted ways, because I refuted their bogus charges that they continued to bill for even after the case was lost . Their greed and lack of ethics know no bounds.
Church.Bradley Send email
 
Sep 24, 2017

Terrible in Every Possible Way

I have three primary complaints with this "law firm"....

1. My attorney spent time and money researching motions, orders and documents that the court had previously ruled were not admissible. Despite this, the attorney reviewed, printed and copied documents costing money even tough the court wouldn't allow it... if we had even gotten to court.

2. I was VERY CLEAR about what I expected and her role in the case... Depsite this, she did her own thing, went against my direction and continually had to be reminded of basic facts of the case. In under three months, she ran up a bill of over $1,000 reviewing 17 one page emails, and that's just an example of the constant waste.

3. The firm advertises that it's a "father's rights firm"... Despite this, my attorney provided no suggestions, plans, experts, or anything that would help a father in court... when asked, her response was that the courts aren't real appreciative of fathers and that we should try to just keep the "current plan".

In essence, in three months, my attorney burned through over $8,000 and never filed a motion, completed a discovery, entered an order, argued a trial or even completed a mediation... just a whole lot of "review" and "planning"

This is ABSOLUTLEY the WORST law firm I've ever dealt with... High padded bills, no legal knowledge, and nothing but take tons of money from me for no reason at all.
Kevin_10 Send email
 
Jun 5, 2017

Save your time and money

I went through the Ft.Worth, Tx.
Office. My Attorney was completely controlled, manipulated, & out maneuvered from the beginning by the Opposing Counsel! In other terminology, they were taken to the woodshed, except it was my butt that was getting whipped! They are overpriced, argumentative, & do nothing for what they charge!
If you cannot save your Marriage, then save your hard earned money & please go elsewhere! Very Personal & Professional when you go in at first! That changes the moment they have you sign the contract.
If you had to, you would be better off using Google to read & represent yourself!No, I am not kidding.
I didn't like: Over billing unresponsiveness, Do not know law, Shoddy research.
Ashleyp2191 Send email
 
May 16, 2017

Beware! Stay clear of these crooks!

Beware!! Cordell and Cordell will take your money, screw up your trial then try to blame you for their mistakes! If you're looking for someone to fight for you in court this firm is definitely not the one to go with! Such lack of preparation and hour time frames to get papers notarized and back to them and presentations at trial were comical at best. The attorney Heater Ogier showed up 5 minutes before court, forgot to enter documents then tried to say they were never sent back to them luckily there was email proof ... she then tried to blame the other parties lawyer for "looking in the wrong section" since our witnesses were never called even though it was there the entire time. Every time you have a problem they will tell you they don't have time or will have to get back with you since they have too many other cases. This place is a joke don't waste your money!
Sytbuzz Send email
 
Dec 28, 2016

Cordell and cordell

Do not use them. Warning!!! Well planned Scam business!!!! They don't care about you they want your money!!!
ASMills Send email
 
Dec 18, 2016

Total Scam

I went for an interview in May of 2016 with Cordell and Cordell in Franklin, TN. At the time I had a pending criminal contempt charge for some child support payments I had missed. The reason I went to the firm was for a custody modification and was informed this firm was the best for my case but wouldn't be cheap. After speaking to them, I was given two options. 1. $2500 down and I wouldn't have to give them my credit card information or 2. $1500 down and I would have to give them my credit card information. Needless to say I forked over 25 $100 bills in hopes they would get started on my modification. After speaking to my lawyer Adam, he felt it necessary to handle the criminal contempt charge first, regardless of my objections. Before we ever went to court he had charged over $300 of my deposit on phone calls and another $800 discussing the matter with other lawyers (3 lawyers in a room, talking for an hour, all charging me in excess of $250 an hour for each attorney.) He made it to court, never spoke, never did a thing. I was given a suspended sentence and he played on his phone and flirted with the ladies at the courthouse. When I checked my balance a few days after court I had $400 left from my deposit. At this time I emailed him and told him he was FIRED and to withdraw himself from my case. Now it is December of 2016 and yesterday I received an email, I now owe them $2,200 and they've done absolutely nothing for me. I've requested details logs for charges that are timed and dated. They won't provide them. So I told them to turn it over to collections and stop accruing more debt for their services. To top it off, I learned I could file indigence in the contempt matter and it wouldn't have cost me a penny to get the same thing accomplished. This place is the biggest scam and has pushed me even further away from being able to modify my custody. I would never recommend this firm to anyone, do not waste your time or your money. They may be a good firm but you can expect to spend your life savings and for someone who doesn't have the ability to save $20,000 a year your better off finding a local lawyer who will work with you and not drain your bank account and scam you.
rachel8181 Send email
 
Nov 24, 2016

Suggestion

You guys know that everyone has a boss and you can file a complaint/investigation @ https://www.iardc.org/htr_filingarequest.html. Also, you can search an attorney record before you do business with them.
Schrewm Send email
 
Nov 4, 2016

They just don't care about you and want your money

They did an OK job, and I can't say they are bad lawyers. My main complaint is that they call their selves fathers rights advocates, and say that they are "a partner men can count on." From my experience, they could care less what your gender is and if you are right or wrong in the matter.
I didn't sense one tiny bit of heart in the game. I spent $13,000 and ran out of money in my case so I couldn't afford them anymore. I didn't expect them to work for free or anything, but a "thank you for your business" or "sorry for your troubles we hope things work out for you " would have been nice. All I got was a "hurry up and come sign your motion for withdrawal "
I guess I really shouldn't expect a lawyer to have any emotion in the matter. But as a business, they could work a lot harder on their customer satisfaction. I for one, will never use them again. And I could not recommend them in my good conscience.
Also they just way over charge for every single second on the phone and every little email. Your money will be much better spent add a more private practice
Pace14 Send email
 
Oct 13, 2016

They are horrible and take all your money

We got with them back in April of 2016 and yesterday finally had mediation it took 6 months and 8 grand later . Stephanie Shannon is a crook . She said she had to go and didn't have time to talk afterwards . Horrible homely looking person. She couldn't explain the high charges . She said she couldn't speak about the case with me in the room with my husband . HORRIBLE . SHE IS NOT KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT ANYTHING . DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY THEY PREY ON FATHERS .
tinktoy3286 Send email
 
Oct 8, 2016

Theives.. Take money no Work

Overcharge. Spent 8000.00 never seen a courtroom. They are crooks.. stay away DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD INFORMATION. I would get a bill ever other day. Stating some work was performed but I never received any details on phone calls or tasks performed. If I called their office and was on line for 15 min I got charged the Lawyers fee even if I talked with administrative assistant at 30 min rate. They are only out to drain your bank account. I never even set foot in court to fight for my children. $8000.00 and nothing to show for it. CROOKS
Ryguy007 Send email
 
Oct 5, 2016

DIvorce attorney Andy Leger and Cordell Cordell will complely rip you off

I hired Andy Leger from Cordell Cordell law firm in Salt Lake City to represent me in my divorce case against my ex-wife in 2015. I wanted to hire Christy Robinson, but she wasn't available on a court date for a motion for temporary orders hearing that had already been scheduled by my ex's attorney. I was told by Cordell Cordell that Andy was an excellent lawyer. At the beginning Andy seemed like an okay lawyer, although he would never give a solid answer to any of my questions. We never had a good strategy as to how to proceed and I honestly feel like he just winged it. He often said we'll have to see what happens. He couldn't give me an estimate as to how much anything would cost if my case went to court or what to expect from the judge and commissioner.

The results of my case were as follows:

I hired Andy and Cordell Cordell for a period of about 1 month. He charged $275/hour. I settled at mediation and paid Cordell Cordell $6,300 with an additional retainer fee of $1,800.

I did all of the work myself in my financial declaration which was complete and accurate but it seemed like it back fired on me in mediation. Andy never used it in mediation once when my ex claimed that I stopped supporting her at the end of the marriage and said all manner of false claims against me. He mentioned that I had bank statements to prove otherwise but when it came down to proving it, he couldn't find the bank statements in the financial disclosure paperwork. He was very unprepared at mediation and didn't represent me well at all. I was very clear with him what I was looking for in settlement and what I felt was fair. I felt like he had no idea what he was doing and was just rolling with the punches.

I was married to my ex for 7 years and I ended up paying alimony at $1,000 a month for 1 year, and am still paying $500 a month for a second year. After talking with other divorce lawyers after my case had settled, I discovered that paying alimony is normally only awarded in long term marriages of a length of at least 10 years or more. My ex has a higher education than I do and she had already entered her career as a middle school English teacher for 3 years. So why was I convinced so strongly from Andy to settle with that.

He allowed my ex's attorney to turn in her financial disclosure the day of mediation which really hurt my case because she entered false information and submitted it when it was incomplete. We proceeded with mediation anyways.

After looking back at what happened in my case, I almost felt as though Andy was cooperating with my ex's attorney behind my back to help her get what she wanted. I would avoid hiring Andy at all costs and with the poor representation that I received from him, he really should be fired from Cordell Cordell.

On top of all this, I also filed a complaint with Cordell Cordell due to the fact that they continued charging me for unnecessary things 3 months after my case had been settled. In the end, they gave me a refund of $600. The questionable charges that I discovered after looking at each bill carefully added up to about $1000.

I sent an email to two people from their customer satisfaction department Amie DeLorenzo and Patrick Feldman in April 2016 complaining about the poor service I received. They said they would look into it. I've tried several times to follow up with them through email and they have not replied since. That's pretty terrible customer service to go dark on one of your clients.

Do yourself a favor and do not hire Andy Leger or any lawyer from Cordell Cordell. For the money I spent with Cordell Cordell, I expected them to provide me with a lawyer with experience, someone I could trust and count on while also having high moral standards, but I received none of that during the most stressful time of my life going through a divorce. You can get better representation from anywhere else.
Normjay1028 Send email
 
Jul 24, 2016

Double billing won't return retainer

This divorce cost me 12,000. I have pages of emails and my client portal showing blatant double billing. The paralegal was billing for stuff my lawyer already did and billed for. 3 emails show where the paralegal billed me while I was in court with my lawyer for items I received in court that day as well as the day before. She also made 5 copies of my transcript and kept billing me time and copies fee. During court it was stated in the transcript it would take 45 days to finalize paperwork. I had to track down the practice 4 months later ...they charged me for my email inquires as to where my final divorce was. When sent me copies I told them they had my date of birth wrong they did fix and my final paperwork still had wrong date birth on it. I could not get marriage certificate and had had to postpone my new wedding do to this. This is when I started looking into the billing in real detail. I found $2844. I tried to Albany office do to improve cut off my credit card access they drained my retainer and said the would give me 500 if I paid them another 1000. After filing with BBB I got to speak to Kathy edson client care rep. They offered me 1084 saying it was making up for some the paralegal time. I said would settle for my retainer of 1800. This woman and multimillion dollar firm refused to come up with additional 715 dollar. I would not take their half ass offer. What's right is right in am entitled to my retainer. They doubled billed and in the end 5 months to finalize paperwork of which they billed another 1000 for the paperwork. This is not a partner men can trust ...thus the partner ripping off men. I'm moving on to file with the barbar association and the attorney general. I've also starting writing to national news agencies to bring their fraud billing to national news
oropeza1962 Send email
 
Jul 20, 2016

OVER BILLING!! PREYING ON FATHERS

These people will charge you for existing!! they will prey on the fact that you do not want to loose you parental rights telling us that they specialize on fathers rights BALONEY!!!! law is same for all is over 50% on the judge and your behavior they know that we make the money and are after it!!
DO NOT HIRE THESE GUYS cost me over $7000 for just one opposition , appearance in court and write the order i paid just 2400.00 for my entire divorce 5 years ago
i do not recommend then
gfdefelippo Send email
 
Apr 27, 2016

over billing charges, Lawyer violation

was over billed, travel, court 1000.00 per meet.
charged to drive 15Iles to mediation. charged to read texts, for meeting with her staff on and on 16,000.
plus and still had a lot of work to do according to Lawyer. only completed temporary orders paid twice
for court visit for temp orders and my attorney wrote the orders after being told not to do so and to have the petitioners Lawyer do the work since wife filed for divorce. She wrote them anyway and charged 800.00
plus 1000.00 for court a second time to have them filed and signed by the Family Law Judge.
Just run away, find a private Lawyer Go To mediation.
Run Run Run....divorce is a cookie cutter process in mist cases save your money the system is biased against Men in most states. Texas child suport is all about fair
and property asset division until you talk about the wife's income. Nope that doesn't count in Texas, how about paying 600 a month for medical? Nope that has no effect on child support or money from retirement.
Wife steps out, files divorce you loose everything....toast. Kids suffer, Court is blind. 18 years of work, effort, health care, home, part retirement, not counting hers. GONE, R u n for your life.
taken_again Send email
 
Apr 22, 2016

Total Fraud

My attorney at Cordell Cordell in St Louis MO, Creve Coeur location charged me approximately $15,000 for my case with NO children and few assets. Our relationship ended when she actively colluded with the opposing attorney and began working AGAINST me in the case. I did make the mistake of picking the lower cost, less expensive attorney at the firm however in the beginning of the case I told my attorney to give my wife most of the assets and I would take most of the debt... when i said this the attorney was shaken.. and then replied that I was 'selling myself short'. I interprete this to mean that she knew the case would be over and that she would not be making more money on the case. DO NOT HIRE THIS FIRM. THEY WILL NOT ACT IN YOUR BEST INTEREST.
kaz81884 Send email
 
Feb 3, 2016

Run for your lives77

If you are looking for someone to be on the dad's side run away from this firm as fast as you can. We spent about $8000 with these people only to have our lawyer lay down and die in court. Did not listen to our concerns or address them in court about the mother's instability. Instead we got a lecture from the Judge who was not given the details. Do not believe their commercials they do nothing extra for the dad you will still lose custody in the end with these guys. They are way overpriced. For that $8000 dollars we got nothing more than a couple of motions filed that gave mom everything and we got stuck with a hefty monthly child support payment. This all in a state that happens to be very pro co-parenting. Do yourself a favor and go with a local firm maybe the guy or gal trying to prove themselves. Stay away from these guys you will be sorry. We will be filing a complaint with the Bar association.
kaz81884 Send email
 
Feb 3, 2016

Run for your lives77

If you are looking for someone to be on the dad's side run away from this firm as fast as you can. We spent about $8000 with these people only to have our lawyer lay down and die in court. Did not listen to our concerns or address them in court about the mother's instability. Instead we got a lecture from the Judge who was not given the details. Do not believe their commercials they do nothing extra for the dad you will still lose custody in the end with these guys. They are way overpriced. For that $8000 dollars we got nothing more than a couple of motions filed that gave mom everything and we got stuck with a hefty monthly child support payment. This all in a state that happens to be very pro co-parenting. Do yourself a favor and go with a local firm maybe the guy or gal trying to prove themselves. Stay away from these guys you will be sorry.
Jfmgserp Send email
 
Feb 2, 2016

This firm sucks!

Stephanie Shannon is a scam artist! Do not trust these people. I wish I would have read all of these complaints before I hired this firm. They claim to be advocates for dads, its just the opposite. Its all a game the lawyers play to get your money. Spent 8,000.00 and she never even spoke with the other parties lawyer. She only had time to talk to me in the hall. Where on earth do they find people like this, prey on heartbroken dads. People need to stand up against this false advertising and put this company out of business! Spread the word!
alan mersnick Send email
 
Jan 6, 2016

The fleecing of men

I found myself in an unexpected divorce and went to Cordell & Cordell because of the advertising of the "mens attorney". I quickly learned that this was just a lucritive business to make money. I wanted to change firms for most of my divorce but was afraid of starting over and still being screwed by the next group so I stayed with them to the bitter end. I had a fairly simple divorce and no fighting over the kids. It took over a year to complete and cost me $24,000 with Cordell. Many times I had to correct the mistakes of my lawyer and he still billed his hours for fixing his mistakes! I have spoken with men who make more than me and had more assets to seperate that used a mediator and spent 5,000-10,000 total. Remember the 24K was Cordell, she still had a lawyer that charged something similar, which we all know..........we end up paying for.
DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND FORGET THE BLOOD SUCKING LAWYERS AND GO TO A MEDIATOR!!! EVEN IF SHE TOTALLY CHEATED ON YOU, DON'T THINK THAT A LAYWER WILL GET YOU EVEN WITH HER, THEY WON'T. IT'S JUST A VERY PROFITABLE BUSINESS TO THEM.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - To many Christmas Movies
    Come on hallmark. Enough of the Christmas movies please!!!...
    OPPOA57 - Lost.mobile phone oppoa57
    Name - tejinder singh Address - royle lotus in front of...
    Proscan TV - Proscan TV
    I bought a 32" Proscan TV on 23 November 2017 . It...
    Burlington county nj for child support div. - Child support div Burlington county nj
    I have support case for alimony in burlington county new...
    FACIAL VALET - barang tak sampai
    barang tak sampai lagi.dan stuck dekat kota...
    POS LAJU - Parcel lambat sangat sampai
    Dah lebih 10 hari consignments dispatched out from the...
    Lucky winner - Wrong info
    Need verification. I got this mail today morning....
    Poslaju - Wrong delivered&not being entertained
    On 10th Jul 2018, I did my payment from " XXst...
    Bella Terra Cosmetics - Harrased
    Was at Willowbrook Mall on my way to meet my husband when...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - To many Christmas Movies
    Come on hallmark. Enough of the Christmas movies please!!!...
    OPPOA57 - Lost.mobile phone oppoa57
    Name - tejinder singh Address - royle lotus in front of...
    Proscan TV - Proscan TV
    I bought a 32" Proscan TV on 23 November 2017 . It...
    Burlington county nj for child support div. - Child support div Burlington county nj
    I have support case for alimony in burlington county new...
    FACIAL VALET - barang tak sampai
    barang tak sampai lagi.dan stuck dekat kota...
    POS LAJU - Parcel lambat sangat sampai
    Dah lebih 10 hari consignments dispatched out from the...
    Lucky winner - Wrong info
    Need verification. I got this mail today morning....
    Poslaju - Wrong delivered&not being entertained
    On 10th Jul 2018, I did my payment from " XXst...
    Bella Terra Cosmetics - Harrased
    Was at Willowbrook Mall on my way to meet my husband when...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username