Submit a Complaint

Dicks Sporting Goods

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Dicks Sporting Goods

IvenS Send email
 
Jan 15, 2021

Customer Servie

I think you guys really need to figure out the hiring process of your customer service reps, because they are a bunch of under educated individuals working. I have had nothing but idiots working on my orders, refunding my money, then taking my money back from my gift cards. You need to have higher titled workers other than "supervisors" because even they are absolutely worthless. This is something that the owner Mr. Stacks should know who he has working for him.



### YOU GUYS!!!!!!!
IvenS Send email
 
Jan 12, 2021

Order#30011266780

I ordered my Camp Stove(270.00O on January 2nd of 2021. I received my tracking number so i was tracking my package. I live in California and i was told my package was to arrive on the 9th. On the 5th i receive an email stating my package was delivered and signed for by "signature on file" in Georgia...... Yes Georgia. I live in California and my package was in Georgia. I called and Dicks stated they would refund my money which takes 3-5 days.

January 7th: i was told that the supervisor from Dicks said that the package was picked up from Fedex and shipped to my address. Since the 7th the package is still in Georgia. How FXXKing hard is it to either refund my money or get my DAMN packaged to me

January 10 (Sunday) Dicks stated i would receive a new tracking number on the 11th (Monday)......NOPE no tracking number, no product, and no refund money.....

January 11th. Called and spoke to Fedex and they stated part show delivered to Cummings Georgia with no further instructions


Mr. Stack i think you need to hire some folks that actually graduated from High school to work for Dicks sporting goods because the name of your company is the only thing that fits the people you have working for you..
tony wheatley Send email
 
Oct 4, 2017

False Advertisement from associate

Called Dicks October 3rd, 2017. I wanted to order a Versa Max Tactical shotgun. Sales Associate Micheal D. Wagner quoted me a price of 699 on the phone. I stated to him to confirm the price before I come down there. He stated that he called and the price is $699. I told him that I was on my way to place a special order. When the paper work came out of the printer he stated he need to check something. Come to find out the gun was 1,319.99. That's not what was verified on the phone and was not what was agreed on. The web special order # is 033618616 which was not ordered because I didn't agree to pay 1,319.99 for the gun. I took a photo of the paper work that was printed out so I could forward to the complaint department. I have bought a lot of guns from Dicks and have never experienced this before. Micheal told me that they could do a price match. I agreed to do that and we found the same gun for $1,063.00 at Buds gun shop. The Manager Amber stated that she could not do that and was sorry that Micheal wasted my time for the last 1.5 hrs. I am not asking you to give me the gun but, at least match the price from Bud's Gun Shop which was more than fair. At least from my point of view. Please see attached Web Special Order.

False Advertisement from associate

WIPPWOPP Send email
 
Sep 3, 2016

Employee treatment

Soft lines manager held an employee against their will off the clock in the locked radio room. OK maybe if this was for some type of theft but this was just because she was angry and lost her shit!! This lasted for about 5 mins.. HR was informed. NOTHING ever happened to this lady. She continues to treat everyone with no respect.. HR has been contacted numerous times about this person and she is still there...What's the next step?
cleosh Send email
 
Dec 15, 2015

Promised product to be held

ON Dec 8 I went to Enfield CT store to purchase a punching bag. Informed not in stock but a contact was made with Manchester CT store who would hold one for me. Arriving at Manchester store they had no knowledge of the bag request. Spent one hour with store manager Dan Goldberg and Josh Martinez who contacted the Canton CT store who had one in stock and would hold for me. Goldberg would pick up on the 15th. Spoke to Goldberg who was unable to pick up at this time. I called the Canton store and spoke to Manager Sarah to pick up myself but they had no knowledge of the request. It is obvious these stores make promises with no intention of following through. I believe they simply tell you very polity they will take care of it and completely ignore your request. So, I was told to order on line but the shipping ($140.00) is more than the cost of the bag.
I note a number of complaints above but have no idea whether any members of Dicks make a an attempt to resolve them. If I were store management I would be all over there associates to fix the problem!
I am now retired and do NOT have the gift for my grandson as promised. I even purchased the gloves to punch the bag.
Please stay tuned as I am NOT like others; I will take this to the very top of the corporate chain if I have to call the CEO at home. Something I have the means and ability to do.
ScharSchar8384 Send email
 
Jun 6, 2014

Dick's Sporting Goods Sux!!

I am an ex employee of Dick's I will never work for them or shop at any of their stores again I lost my job because they kept changing the schedule without informing people which end caused me to miss days or be late because I wasn't aware that they had changed the schedule so I lost my job due to attendance issues. I was supposed to receive my last paycheck today and haven't got it and can't get anyone to tell me where it is. If Dick only knew what was going on in his stores I'm sure a lot of people would be out of a job. We had an alcoholic manager who was very open about being drunk or having a hangover. He also flirted with the young girls he didn't dress within the dress code but it was ok for him to bitch at me because my shirt was made of cotton!! When I first started working at Dick's I was never given a tour of the store so I knew where nothing was I wasn't given a handbook and wasn't told about the dress code. Dick's is very unorganized and could careless about their employees or customers.
Thud Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraudulent Business Practices

You got $20 for nothing. You should be happy with that. Stop being so greedy.
Tdanderson2570 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraudulent Business Practices

I had a horrible experience at Dick's When I made my Black Friday purchase, the cashier told me I had earned a $20 gift card because I had spent $100 or more. Cool! I just had to return on 11/28 to get the gift card. See also said I could return and re-buy the purchase and apply the gift card toward it. When I returned, the manager said the cashier had given us the wrong information (she said it several times to my wife and I when we made the purchase). We had to spend $100 before tax; we spent $99.92 before tax and after coupons. I was furious and they refused to do anything about it or honor their word.
After sending out several emails because I could not get a hold of anyone at the corporation, and contacting the Better Business Bureau, the district manager for the San Diego area, John Thrasher, called me. He was very apologetic for the total lack of customer service received and for the inconvenience. He offered me a $50 gift card without me asking, and asked it that would make things right. I happily accepted. He also said that someone from corporate would be contacting me who also got one of my emails, and that they may also do something to remedy the situation. His offer was totally independent of theirs. Their "customer engagement manager" offered me $20. Well, I got the $20 one, but the $50 gift card never arrived, even though John took down my personal information. I email him and rather than him responding, I got an email and call from the person at corporate. She (Jean Taggart) basically said: John spoke too quickly and we cannot send you the $50 gift card, your troubles are not worth that much. I argued with her but she refused to stand by the company's promise. They lied to me again, even when trying to remedy another situation that came about because of their dishonestly!

Well, I am alerting the newspaper, using social media, telling the local little league (I am on the board), and everyone I know (you know a lot of people in a city after you father is a city official for 42 years and you're born and raised there) - they will lose far more than $50. Bad business. But, you mess with the bull, you get the horns. PS - when I called John back to discuss with him, he hung up on me. Sport Chalet here I come.
Dooz Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Corporate Headquarters

I was in the Florence Kentucky store on Wednesday, December 14th in search of a specific Under Armour Hoodie for my son. We were unable to find his size but was told by a sales associate that they had located one at a store in Hamilton, Oh and that they would submit a transfer. We were informed that the sweatshirt should be in their store no later than Friday, December 16th and that we would rcv a call upon its arrival. Friday came and no call, but we understood the Holiday rush so we waited. Saturday came and my husband was in the Florence area so he checked and there was no sweatshirt. Sunday, I was in the area so I stopped and was in the store with a sales associate for about 45 minutes trying to figure out where the sweatshirt was only to find out that basically they couldn't tell me anything b/c the Hamilton store associate did not have access to transfers past Dec 8th and that I would have to wait until the next day when the Hamilton manager was in. A supervisor spoke up and said that if Hamilton didn't have it tomorrow that they would find a store that did and ship to the address where I was traveling to on December 21st (she was the most helpful). I was told that I would rcv a call the next day (Dec 19th) by Ashten b/c she would be the one working until 4:00. 3:30 on the 19th came and I had not received a call so I called and spoke with Ashten she told me that Hamilton store never called but that she would call them and call me back... Still waiting on that call. I called back and asked to speak to apparel after 25 minutes on and off hold I was told that the transfer had never been completed and that the Hamilton store no longer had the item that I was waiting for. Not sure when anyone was going to call and inform me of that. I asked to speak to a manager and did but boy was that a waste of my time. After trying to give a description of the sweatshirt to him I knew I was in trouble. Mind you I was looking for an UU sweatshirt, he said the only ones I see have a big H on them. SERIOUSLY!!! He got back on the phone and told me that he found one at another store but that he couldn't guarantee me anything and wanted to know if I would like to drive there (sure only 1 1/2 hr from my home). I asked what about overnighting it since I had been given the run around. He couldn't guarantee that. I asked what about the customer always being right especially a customer that had just spent over $250 dollars there. He said "Mam, I wouldn't have just WASTED my time if I wasn't trying to help you." UNBELIEVABLE!!! I guess he didn't care about the 1 hr and a half that I had just wasted. Moving on to another sporting goods store. They just lost a lot of business from me!
Dicks Sporting Goods Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Corporate Headquarters

This company has lost the loyalty of its employees. They are to concerned with micromanaging and creating new to do list that they have lost sight of customers and are driven by aerogant lost leaders. They have continued to hire outside the company for some of the more powerful positions in the company. In the past 2-3 years they have hired several top executives from bankrupt and closed retailers. Good idea for a young growing company, I think not! The people in pittsburgh have no idea what really goes on in the stores. They preach less task and customer experience and sales but bog everyone down with more and more task and wonder why stores aren't up to standard with service! If you don't believe me go in a store and see how many employees you can find, i bet its less than 5 counting the cashier. God forbid they put more payroll in the stores, this is the worst payroll company i have ever been a part of. They have hired a top exec here recently who has convinced most store management that this isn't the place to be. If you ever get a chance to visit the corp office please do, you will see how happy, laid back, casual, and how cool (temperature) it is there. Then go to a store where everybody is sweating and pissed off because they have so much stuff to do that the customers are in the way and they don't care. Its more important to ensure you have your weekly chekclist and all corp signoffs done before you help customers waiting in line, because a piece of paper with a check on it to something meaningless is more important. One thing we have never seen from our dream job corporate headquarters is an employee relations survey to tell them how we feel about the company and our jobs because i can promise you it would be bad. If anyone at the headquarters is reading this please send one our so we can tell you whats wrong because we as employees don' have a voice. For those of you who get fed up of not having a voice in your company you know what that creates, UNIONS! This is a bad company to work for that's why they are always hiring new managers because they never last and get fed up with nobody listening and just quit, they take away your drive and just beat you down. The only good thing i will say is the CEO knows and understands the business but we have gotten to big and there is no way he sees how we are treated. Funny thing is the most cost efficient way for a company is retention of its Managers and that we don't have. Those wrong higher ups i was talking about are running people off and making there money, the company will loose in the long run and those individuals will just go to another company.
Igottouched Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I will never set foot in a Dick's Sporting Goods store again, and I will tell everyone also not to go to this store

same thing happened to me! except i got raped by santa!
Tipapot Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I will never set foot in a Dick's Sporting Goods store again, and I will tell everyone also not to go to this store

I was shopping for a Treadmill at the Dick's Sporting Store at Firewheel Mall in Garland, TX. The Firewheel store was out of the machine I wanted which was on sale for $546.00. The sales person found that the Rockwall store had several on hand and offered to have one put on a truck and delivered the next day. I decided to pick it myself the same day. He gave me directions to the Rockwall store and a contact for the treadmill. The contact was told I would be there in 30 minutes.

I arrived at the Rockwall store in about 30 minutes. I was waiting in the Fitness Section waiting for service. I finally found someone to help me and told them I came from the Firewheel store and that they were holding a treadmill for me. I was informed they were busy and could not help at that time. Finally a young employee came out and when I told them I was looking at this specific Treadmill on sale at the Firewheel store for $549 he was told by his manager that the price would be $599. I don't understand how they could ship it on a truck next day to another store where I could purchase it at $549 but would charge me $599 when I went there to purchase it. What really made me angry was that the manager would not come out and talk with me but kept sending this poor kid out in his place. I finally told the kid to forget it, I am going to Walmart. I went to Walmart and bought a comparable Treadmill for the same price and got excellent customer service. I will never set foot in a Dick's Sporting Goods store again, and I will tell everyone also not to go to this store.
Igottouched Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unpaid employee

i walked into dicks one day and as soon as i got in the door i was blindsided by a bald man dressed as santa with no underwear on once he got me to the ground he violated my butthole with his north pole i dont now about the rest of you but im never going into a dick again that place is downright dangerous!!
FikL95 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unpaid employee

I finshed working at Dicks Sporting goods on August 1 and it is now almost December and I still have not received my last paycheck. I stopped working due to a move and they have told me on THREE separate occassions that they are mailing a new check. Now my messages to managers go unanswered and I just spent 15 minutes on hold and the manager never took my call. I hope corporate shows more responsibilty in answering my messages, but we'll see. And as a former employee I witnessed many of the issues described below and it was rather upsetting.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username