Submit a Complaint

Dollar General

United States,
Missouri

Consumer complaints and reviews about Dollar General

clgauges Send email
 
Sep 2, 2019

Roller carts of freight every where

I don't know what is going on with this store but when you shop there is roller carts of freight every where. Yesterday they where blocking a whole isle you couldn't even go down it. Only 2 employees where working and one was running the register the other one was on her phone and just moving things around from behind the registers. How do you expect people to shop there when they can't get down the isles. I just hope know one get hurts.
ashenslabelle Send email
 
Aug 15, 2019

radio

I was in your store and the music was so loud I could not think, I ask cashier can you have that turned down and she said the manger or asst.manger control that, so I ask to speak to one of them and was directed to a young Spanish boy, he acted like I had insulted him but said he would turn it down but he didn't control the type of music, I informed him that's not the problem its the volume, this is a store not a rock concert and the music is unnerving, he walked away, about 5 minutes later the music was lowered, I continued to shop and met a friend and was chatting about the store and how we liked to shop there, like 10 minutes later the music was blaring again, so my friend said ok she will handle this problem this time and went back to the same guy and said please turn that music down it makes it hard to shop with that blaring and again he walked off, went into what I assumed was the office and closed the door, the music continued to blast us out so we both went to cashier and ask can we see the young man in charge and she called him on PA system, he looked out of the office, closed the door and never came out, both I and my friend decided we can shop at other stores if this is going to be a on going problem. Later I was talking to a couple at Walmart and they said they had went thru the same thing at Dollar General so that quit going there, it seems a shame that because you have a person keeping that music at a high volume to fit him and not the customers that your store is losing business, I always thought the music was for background not to be used like a bar room concert.
I will continue to stay out of that store as well as others people are doing until corporate does something about that noise.

Thank you for your time and hope to see a change soon
lovethatred Send email
 
Aug 3, 2019

Trac Phone

A follow up on the trac phone ordeal of July 1, 2019. The main office did contact me telling me they would be calling me back in a day or two. That 'day or two' was over a month ago so the issue is still unsolved. The sad part, to me, is they didn't seem to have any reason to try and resolve this, instead trying to white wash things. Whatever! I don't need to shop at their stores, there are other options, let them keep their faulty stuff. Rude manager and rude employees. The customers do not deserve to be treated like this. I'm not the first to be scammed, and sure I won't be the last. People be aware.
lovethatred Send email
 
Jul 3, 2019

Trac Phone

Today I stopped by one of your stores to purchase a flip Tac Phone for my grandson to take on vacation. I did pick out a simple phone because of his age. After the clerk got the phone I asked for a 60 minute card. After charging the phone I tried to activate it but was told the card I purchased was the wrong card so I returned to the store with phone, card and receipts and asked if they could exchange the card. I was told "We do not give refunds or exchanges on phone cards, thank you and come again." Yes, I left the store very unhappy but still needed a phone card so went to another one of your stores and purchased another card which the clerk there told me was the one I needed. Now with the new phone and over $50 for phone cards I thought the problem was solved. When I called to activate the phone and put the time on it I was told the phone can not be activated. So, here I sit with a new phone that can not be used plus the phone cards. On the phone with the store I was once again told, 'No refunds or exchanges on phones or cards.' So tomorrow I'll have to go to Wal Mart or Target and purchase yet another phone and phone card. I understand the no refund on the phone cards but the phone too? This is sad for any store to take advantage of their customers like this plus being talked to like we are nothing but what money the store can get out of our pockets. It will be awhile before I will return to any of your stores and for sure will let others know of my experience. Thank you, I suppose
Jon Compaan Send email
 
Sep 5, 2018

Heather management

It seems to me that the management Heather is the one that slandered me. She called me a stalker. She does not know me. I maybe will send a letter to a Judge about this. Heather should have been fired in seconds. I do deserve an apology. Dollar General Store Burlington, KS 66839.
Misty2018 Send email
 
Aug 6, 2018

Rude Behavior

On August 4, 2018, I visited the local Dollar General located 39240 Hwy 82 in Itta Bena, MS, around 6:15 p.m.. There was only one cashier working and the line was extremely long. A customer was in front of me waiting to be check out by the cashier. The customer handed a check to the cashier and she requested that the cashier complete the check. The cashier stated to her that she could not complete the check for her. The customer attempted to complete the check and she ask, what month and date it was. The cashier grew agitated with the customer because she didn't know the date. I fail to mentioned that this lady was elderly. After the customer completed her check, she hands the check over to the cashier. The cash register was not functioning properly and was unable to endorsed the check and the line grew longer and longer. The cashier displayed her lack of patience in front of the customer. Because the wait time was so long, the customer said, give me back my check and take this cash. The cashier took the cash and completed the transactions; however, the receipt did not print. She said, oh your receipt didn't print. The customer stated, I want my receipt. The cashier stated in a rude tone, your receipt didn't print. The only thing, I can tell you, we can run the camera back to prove that you came here, if you needed to returned something. The lady said, fine and left. I assumed the lady wanted to receipt because of the coupon.

Soon after, a Dollar General employee that was off duty entered the store. He noticed that the line was extremely long. He asked her was anyone else there. She said, yes, the new guy. A lady who was in the back came to the front. She stated that she needed help. The cashier informed her that she could not assist her. She then ask, is there anyone else I can speak with since you don't want to help me. She said, yes, there was a new guy that just started. The customer started yelling, new guy, would you please assist me. I do not want to purchase to wrong clippers.

This is not the first time, I witnessed rude behavior from this cashier. Each situations could have been handed differently and more professional. I understand that the cash register was not functioning properly; however, that still do not give anyone the right to display rude behavior at anytime. Both customers were polite and this young lady acted as if someone was bothering her.
bill76767676767 Send email
 
Jun 22, 2018

Misty management

Hi:
Everyone wants Misty out of there. She is a rude immature woman. We do not like going in Dollar General as long as she is there. Burlington, KS 66839 Dollar General.
snoopy592 Send email
 
Dec 10, 2017

no glover valley chili cheese corn chips

this is not a complaint just wondering about the glover valley chili cheese corn chips why there is not any on the shelves was wondering if and when you are going to put them back on shelves we like them and would buy them if they were on the shelves or online
arbie Send email
 
Dec 1, 2017

Rumors/ gossip/ lies

There is a worker by the name of Kim at this store that is always telling customers and other employees lies and gossips about everyone that works there. As a customer I don’t want or need to hear her degrading or falsely accusing her coworkers. She has been doing this for a year now and many of us customers are absolutely sick of it and her. How can a company keep someone like her?! Very angry that she is still getting away with the lies she tells. She is rude and hateful every time I shop there, I try to go when she is not working. She didn’t do any work in the store that I have seen, only see her walking around or following other customers. VERY RUDE! I wish they would get rid of her. This store is in Carlisle Kentucky. Stay away if Kim is there or you might be the next target!!
newmanlf Send email
 
Sep 10, 2017

rude, nasty manager

September 8, 2017 I went to my local Dollar General. Manager's name is Brad Gardner. I have and many other have witnessed and complained about this man. He is rude to customers all the time. I am a very regular customer at this store and have seen on several occasions that customers have small dogs in the store, in there buggies. I have NEVER taken my dog into any store ever but yesterday I had to take her with me. I put her in my buggy and went in. I was in the store less than fifteen minutes. When I was at the check out there were two lines. Brad Gardner was at one and I was at the other. The store was very busy. All of the sudden Brad Gardner yelled at me saying lady I've told you before you cannot bring that dog in here. I said I am sorry but you have never said that to me, I have never had my dog in here. He said like I said I have told you before not to bring that dog in here. I replied are you calling me a liar, he said well yes. I love this store but will not shop here as long as this man is here. I will also make sure those that do not know will. I have no problem with the dog not being allowed but the matter in which Brad Gardner handled this was totally wrong...
terencegoffer Send email
 
Jan 24, 2017

RACIAL PROFILING / RACIAL DISCRIMINATION / HARASSMENT

On 1/22/2017 at 6:59 pm Sgt. Wesley A Rager Ilegally pulled me over at the laundry mat(Taylor's Cleaners & laundry) in Childersburg Alabama. I Terence Goffer asked Sgt. Wesley Rager why was I stopped an he said because I have an expired tag. I asked Sgt. Wesley Rager how is that possible you can see my tag because when I noticed your vehicle you were entering Dollar General on highway 280 near KFC in Childersburg Alabama as I was exiting. He dishonestly said because I was looking at your vehicle which I had committed no crime. He said, it does not matter because he would still need my driver license. So, I provided and next was car insurance which I mentioned if you could wait a moment I'll find it. So, Sgt. Wesley A Rager walk away to verify my driver license and then approached me was Officer Dean asking for my car insurance which I mentioned I was looking. So while I was looking I asked Officer Dean why was I pulled over and he said that because we receive a call by Dollar General in Childersburg saying we have someone looking suspicious. So he said, I became a suspect as of that moment. I Terence Goffer mentioned to Officer Dean that there was an Officer name Angela that came to the store as I was exiting and approaching towards my vehicle. AS I entered the vehicle I looked in my rearview mirror an noticed Officer Angela looking at my license plate and walk into the store after. I felt very offended and I know I committed no crime and was never thinking of committing a crime. So, I entered the store again and approached Officer Angela asking did I do something wrong because I noticed you looking at my license plate . Officer Angela was standing next to a Dollar General Manger or Employee conversating and she looked at me then at the Dollar General worker and said, NO there's no problem and she said I was looking at the Dollar Worker vehicle so I'm wrong. So, I was like okay I just want to make sure I did nothing wrong and I then exited the store. I entered my vehicle and started leaving as I was leaving I noticed another Officer vehicle(suv) entering and less than 10 seconds another Officer vehicle(car) approaching Dollar General. I was maybe 1.5 or 2 miles traveling at 45 mph which is the speed limit heading towards the laundry mat, I noticed a vehicle speeding behind me from a far distance without police lights and alarms being active. AS I entered the laundry mat parking lot the vehicle followed me at the turn off the police lights to pulled me over illegally. So, I continued looking for the car insurance as I was speaking then Officer Dean left and Sgt. Wesley A Rager approached me again asking for my car insurance which I continued looking. So, I mentioned to him that de dishonestly said that he pulled me over for an expired tag when Officer Dean said that Traffic Stop started because of the call form Dollar General when I had committed no crime. He agreed that was the case and annoyed the issue an continued to give me a ticket for Operating without Insurance, Expired Tag, Switched Tag. So Sgt. Wesley walk away and then I noticed Officer Angela had pulled behind my vehicle to speak with Sgt. Rager and they were smiling and enjoying that the made and illegal stop an go away with it.
Ggranny Send email
 
Dec 18, 2016

Slipped on ice

Was going in the store at 6400 W. Florissant Jennings Mo. #13355. I slipped on ice in front of the store. A lady customer helped me up and I went in the store. I and the lady told the employee that salt was needed because I had just fell. She said ok but did not call anyone to put salt down. My Husband saw me fall and came in the store to see if I was ok. Employees never said a word, Not even asked if I was hurt. My husband help me make my purchase and again told the clerk about the need for salt. She completely ignored him and continued her conversation with another employee. After he asked did you here me, finally she said I heard you and someone will take care of it in a minute.

Like I said I wasn't hurt then but now I am felling some stiffness. I am a 69 year old woman and had to wash my coat and slacks I had on. Leaving the store if my Husband was holding my arm I would have fell again because I did slip

I think I deserve some kind of apology and some kind of compensation for my experience at that store. It is in my neighborhood and go there often.
US army veteran Send email
 
Nov 19, 2015

DG suspends Veteran

On 11/26 I arrived at work at 8am and received draw without pennies or dimes, I asked mod (Tammy) for change, she informed me that Friday's deposit was not made because she didn't have the time and this is Monday and all the change is gone, then just as my shift ends coroperate Tina said I was suspended because I was 13.60 over in October and now I'm 200 short, I was able to have recorder on me so I have Tina suspending me and when I asked for paper copy she refused!! When I asked when I return she said whenever!! I call corporate #12248650575 because I only work 8 hrs a day and I am a military veteran. Corporate will not call back and the store has me off, this action is from me following protocol and reporting employee theft!!! I called NV Atty General Laxalt 7756840104
ruby2015 Send email
 
Jul 5, 2015

ignoring customers

I myself have witnessed many times the stores employees outside smoking when there are customers waiting at the counter to be checked out. The store there is only a few years old and it is FILTHY!!!!! I'm not sure who is over the store, but they need to check in once in awhile by the element if surprise. I am sure both the employee's and the manager would be just that - Surprised!!!!! Way too many teenagers minding the store!
bigman Send email
 
May 4, 2015

rude manager

Everytime I go in there and a manager named Ashley is there she is completely rude, others have said the same, been shopping there for many years, not anymore!!!
pbean Send email
 
Nov 18, 2014

D.G. HolidayTime off Policy

My daughter is manager of a Dollar General. Store. She has three kids, two grandkids and other family members who would like to see her once in a while on the holidays. Thanksgiving is family time. she has to work from noon to 8 p.m.. How fair is that to us!? Tell me when she is supposed to work in dinner with that schedule! I don't shop on Sundays or Holidays............and I am sure there are many others like me who want their loved ones home. Shame on you Dollar General. where the money means more than your employees and their families. Jody's mom
christyvu Send email
 
Jun 6, 2014

Recieved propane tank that did not fit and manager refused to give me back my tank

I went to this dollar general store and purchased and exchange tank took the propaine tank home, both me and my neighbor tried to attach the tank and it did not fit, I went back to the store 10511 and the manager on duty told me she would not exchange the tank or refund my money and that I would have to go to american gas which was closed. I did not purchase this from american gas but from this store. Please claa me back at 405-234-7914
tmarie01 Send email
 
Mar 9, 2014

consumer

i was thoroughly disgusted before i left your store this afternoon ! there was a male in the check out line .... his pants were well below his hind end & under his privates. this is NOT something the rest of your shoppers wanted to have to look at upon approaching the check out counter. there are a lot of businesses who let it be known that this type of "dress code" is absolutely not allowed in their business. it's disgusting and in extremely poor taste ... i don't care how cool that person may think he looks while walking around like this...it just is not cool ! i was at store # 03627...2222 Texoma Pkwy Ste C ...Sherman, TX. please feel free to bring it up on your security cameras and see for yourself . he was at the first check out counter by the front door and was with two other people
User896609 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2012

Rude MAnager

Either way the way the empoioyee's treatment is none of her business unless this loser is referring to herself.
User908072 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2012

Rude MAnager

Where is the idle threat, and what business is any of this of yours? Shoo troll.
User925082 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2012

Rude MAnager

On Sunday March 25 I went into the old Pacific, MO store which is the one I shop at. As I was walking down the back isle I heard an employee say " I thought I was suppost to ask you a question if I had a concern" the manager quickly said to the employee " do you realize who you are talking too ?" once again the employee said " I thought I was supoost to ask you if I have any questions." The employee said "Well I heard you called me a liar to other employees" with that The manager mumbled something to the employyee under her breath and walked away. When I got to the front of the store I asked the casheir the Managers name and I was told Stacy Crews, I will no longer shop at this store as long as she is the manager if this is the way she treats her employees. Using idle threats like her positiontowards an employee isn't very good management. I will go to the other end of town and shop at that Dollar General.
User896609 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2012

Rude MAnager

Just so you know I know the employee you are taking about who was threatened by the manager and she always spreads lies about he coworkers. She even claimed one was sexually harassing her because of a disagreement they had and later confessed to making it up because she was angry at him.
User864958 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2012

Rude MAnager

Good evenin little tascha!!!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username