Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

dstv multichoice

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about dstv multichoice

Luyanda Send email
 
May 21, 2019

Channel removal

I'm sooo unhappy with Dstv for removing VH1 and replacing it with Music 24 or something along those lines...which plays the same songs ALL DAY LONG EVERY SINGLE DAY. How many times does one need to hear Taylor Swift and Bruno Mars in one day? I don't know why you removed VH1 and frankly I don't care but you'd better bring it back otherwise I'm cancelling my subscription in a month. I'm already paying for a lot of channels which are useless to me...and then you go and remove the one and ONLY music channel I'm interested in. It's totally ridiculous! Fix this or I'll find something better to do with my R904.00

Very unhappy customer
Luyanda Send email
 
May 21, 2019

Channel removed

I'm sooo unhappy with Dstv for removing VH1 and replacing it with Music 24 or something along those lines...which plays the same songs ALL DAY LONG, EVERY SINGLE DAY. How many times does one need to hear Taylor Swift and Bruno Mars in one day? I don't know why you removed VH1 and frankly I don't care but you'd better bring it back otherwise I'm cancelling my subscription in a month. I'm already paying for a lot of channels which are useless to me...and then you go and remove the one and ONLY music channel I'm interested in. It's totally ridiculous! Fix this or I'll find something better to do with my R904.00
NIKESHRAMN Send email
 
May 19, 2019

DSTV INCOMPETENT PEOPLE

DSTV are a incompetent bunch of liars. Approximately a month ago i tried to down grade my package via the dstv app, but there was a system error. NOT MY FAULT. The next morning i called the call center and spoke to an agent who said that the system is down and advised me to change my billing date to allow them time to rectify the error. I was told that this would be escalated to the finance department who would call me to clear the arrears amount as it was NOT MY FAULT BUT DSTV'S. I made payments to view a lower package. Almost a month has passed and guess what finance has not called, neither has the arrears been cleared BUT my DSTV has been cut. I've been promised on numerous occasions my different agents that the matter will be resolved and my package would be down graded as per my request BUT guess what NOTHING has been done. I was advised again to change my billing date, and lets not forget all the airtime this has cost me. i have around 6 reference numbers for every call. Just had a 40 minute call now and still the same promises. i am sitting with a blank tv because of DSTV who are incompetent and cannot fix a simple issue which is their fault.
Michelle K Send email
 
Apr 8, 2019

Dstv Multichoice Poor Customer Service

Repeated failure to process refund

I am truly disappointed with the dishonest service I've received from the Dstv call centre. Their word clearly means nothing to them.

I have escalated my query to two different team leaders who promised to resolve my query, this after calling numerous times over a period of two weeks - yet my query remains unresolved and my refund is yet to be processed. The service consultants are friendly, but it would be great if they did what they said they would do
Candicecar Send email
 
Feb 21, 2019

Terrible Service

Good day,

This mail is regarding the worst service, I have ever received.

I have been a consistent paying customer of dstv for over 5 years using the compact plus, never skipping a month, then in august 2018 they called me to upgrade to premium (due to me being a “good client” at the same time giving me a free explorer.

Everything went well until the 8th of February when my dish started giving problems, I then got an installer to come check, who then told me that it can’t be fixed as I need a smart LNB as my dish was installed previously with a twin LNB he then advised me that, that is what some installers do in order to get a call back and get more money out of clients, this was done by Hi Lite Audio and Visual in Alberton.

I was then advised to call Multichoice as the installer was there recommendation for them to check and investigate if that was the case to have the issue resolved, I then contacted multichoice on the 9th of February and only received bad service from the 9th to date.

I first went on the Facebook page where I first brought the issue forward they then promised me an installer with no SLA, I then waited until the Monday as no one called back with feedback and no installer pitched up, I then spoke to a consultant Sibusiso Ndaba and his manager Thandolwenkosi Zulu who apologised and promised to call me back with feedback, nothing was done I had to call back for feedback and didn’t get through to either one of them I then called again and had to explain the whole situation to Thabang Mosakoa who I then went through the same process no feedback and nothing done the following day I called in and had to explain once again to a different consultant and then also got the same promises from her manager Evert Pillay, they also never stuck to their promises and still no feedback and nothing was done.

I then got fed up and called in to cancel I spoke to a lady from retentions department that also apologised and promised to have it escalated and asked me to give her until close of business before I cancel to sort it out, I gave her the chance to fix it and once again no call, no feedback nothing!

I called the next day again and wanted to cancel immediately I spoke to Humphry from retentions he again apologised and promised that he will not be like the other consultants he promised me he will make a plan to get this resolved and that he will call back at 12 to get the matter resolved.

At 1pm I still had not received a call from Humphry Kekana but a call from the installers (Hi Lite Audio and Visual) who then told me that they only received the query from Dstv on the day the called which was 12days after this was first escalated, who then told me that the correct LNB was installed without anyone coming out to confirm, making me out to be a Liar, he then told me they can come out to check but I would have to pay the call out fee and

At this point I was furious as I wasn’t called as promised and I had to take measures once again to receive feedback, I then called again and spoke to Humphreys manager Oliver Nobele, once again I got a meaningless apology I then requested that they cancel immediately and provide a refund back to the date of which I first was unable to use the service (9th Feb) he then told me that it is cancelled and that he was arranging the refund, he then asked me to give him time till end of this week to try and resolved the matter, then I would reinstate my service once this is solved, we agreed and my service was supposed to be cancelled.

This morning I saw that my account was debited, I then called in to find out why instead of refunding they debited after my service was cancelled, I then spoke to Jaqueline Naicker that was rude and refused to transfer my call to the retentions departments, she told me my account is active and not cancelled and she can’t cancel but still refused to transfer me to the retentions departments as she said she can’t do transfers which I knew was a lie as I followed the transfer system all week same process on the other days I called, so when she said she can’t transfer me I asked for her manager Arron who then further misled me and gave me a number to call for price lock department, when I called him back he arrogantly told me it was a system error, I tried the number again after our call and it was definitely the number for price lock.

After numerous calls and a few emails as per attached I was totally ignored and still I have no solution!

Today it is 13 days later since I have no service, and they took full money for last month as well as again full money for next month whilst I have no service and to top it off this service was supposed to be cancelled, how is it possible to pay with NO SERVICE as when I called in for self-service my service is inactive but they have my money?

I want to know if this is the way DSTV Multichoice treats their paying clients???

I would like answers to my question, for this bad service, next step is the South African Consumer Goods and services Ombudsman


Regards
SumaiyahG Send email
 
Jan 11, 2019

Lack of service delivery - Black Friday deal

DSTV advertised the Black Friday price lock on the explora.

I took up this deal on 23.11.18 and to date (11.01.19), I have not received my unit.

The call centre agents all seem extremely confused when informing the customer about their account.

The most information one will get from an agent is that they will escalate the matter.

It takes them 2 months to load an order.

I have made numerous calls to DSTV to follow up on my order as they lack the decency of making contact with the client and keeping them updated on the status of their order.
Schatora Send email
 
Mar 31, 2018

Strong language

I want to lodge a complaint! more and more shows on dstv have bad language doesnt matter what the shows air (during family time) so we have set the language to family however once the show goes on catch up there is no option to change the language to family after all the money we pay for the explorer and now we dont even have the option to clean entertainment its bad enough all the music channels are not properly edited its disgusting how we have come to accept the lousy language in shows and music what are we teaching our kids you cant produce anything fun exciting without using foul language or nudity. Im disgusted and tempted to cancel our subscription but that does not slove the problem there so many homes violeted because the parents are not paying attention to what the kids are watching or listening to... #cleanfun #cleanentertainment #cleancontent #righttochoose #righttospeak #dstv #multichoice #mzanzimagic #1magic #mtv #trace
Lehana Send email
 
Dec 2, 2017

Unwarranted Disconnection

Reference No #9462750 & No #9469880

I was disconnected on the 28/11/2017 even though my account is up to date. I have since send emails complaining to no avail. The only thing Ive recieved its the automated response that my issue will be attended to. Today, 01/12/2018 I decided to go live chat with one of their customer relations agents & he informed me that my issue has been escalated to their fraud dept. Why fraud dept I dont understand, if somebody within their ranks had committed fraud why should I be disconnected bcs I make sure I pay my subscription every month.
customers.
My account is due now & if i dont pay I'll be charged reconnection fee. I've since lost three days of enjoying something that I paid for. To be honest, if it wasnt for local soccer, I would have cancelled my subscription long time ago. I've never had to interact with such an arrogant orgnisation like this before & Im shocked in the manner they treat their
Johandeb1 Send email
 
Oct 5, 2017

DSTV Multichoice unlawfull deducted money

Attached email send to Multichoice

Hi

Thanks for your ongoing feedback since this morning :

What I do not understand : -

The 2nd October 2017 I was told the payment would get reversed and would take between 7 – 10 days – subscription changed to monthly.

The evening of the 4th October I received a phone call telling me the refund according to the Finance department will take 90 days and I pay my subscription on a monthly basis in meanwhile.

After my complaint on hello Peter –
On the 5th October 2015 –
First phone call from Sipho requesting certain detail from me that I forwarded – he also said refund will take 7 – 10 days.

The rest of day communications between me and Lebogang indicated that refund will be processed and will take 7 – 14 days.

At 14H51 I received a phone call from Lebogang informing me that manager finance say the refund will take 90 days.

I ask her to speak to manager – she would get him to phone me ASAP. At 15h50 no one called me back.

According to me DSTV took my money without authorization- and I inform them immediately about the wrong deduction.
It leave me with no choice to report this case to Brooklyn Police Station.

Already reported it to my credit card fraud department.

Will post my reply on Hello Peter with my case no.

It will then also leave me with no choice to cancel my DSTV subscription with immediate effect and cut of date for viewing will be 28th October 2017.

Any further queries reply via email please.

Regards

Johan de Beer
082 575 3359
Johandeb1 Send email
 
Oct 5, 2017

Unlawfull deduction

Hi

Thanks for your ongoing feedback since this morning :

What I do not understand : -

The 2nd October 2017 I was told the payment would get reversed and would take between 7 – 10 days – subscription changed to monthly.

The evening of the 4th October I received a phone call telling me the refund according to the Finance department will take 90 days and I pay my subscription on a monthly basis in meanwhile.

After my complaint on hello Peter –
On the 5th October 2015 –
First phone call from Sipho requesting certain detail from me that I forwarded – he also said refund will take 7 – 10 days.

The rest of day communications between me and Lebogang indicated that refund will be processed and will take 7 – 14 days.

At 14H51 I received a phone call from Lebogang informing me that manager finance say the refund will take 90 days.

I ask her to speak to manager – she would get him to phone me ASAP. At 15h35 no one called me back.

According to me DSTV took my money without authorization- and I inform them immediately about the wrong deduction.
It leave me with no choice to report this case to Brooklyn Police Station.

Already reported it to my credit card fraud department.

Will post my reply on Hello Peter with my case no.

It will then also leave me with no choice to cancel my DSTV subscription with immediate effect and cut of date for viewing will be 28th October 2017.

Any further queries reply via email please.

Regards

Johan de Beer
082 575 3359
tasnim.abed Send email
 
Oct 3, 2017

Debit order amount

Good day

I have been waiting for two days for someone from DSTV's accounts department to get back to me. I have been a debit order client for more than 15 years. In July, I decided to take up the offer of the price lock PVR on the premium package plus the North Indian bouquet as an add on. I was on the compact package plus North Indian Bouquet till July. Since then, I have had a different figure debited form my account for the past 3 months and no one can explain why.
If it is a price lock it should be a fixed figure!
I am not impressed and more frustrated with no one calling me back. I keep calling and being told that it was escalated. Escalated to where?

Debit order figure:
1/06/2017 R614
1/07/2017 R614
Then changed to the Pricelock PVR:
31/07/2017 R798.89
30/08/2017 R681,86
1/09/2017 R69.99
30/09/2017 R1952,20

Mrs Tasnim Abed
083 582 7689
tasnim.abed Send email
 
Oct 3, 2017

Debit order

Good day

I have been waiting for two days for someone from DSTV's accounts department to get back to me. I have been a debit order client for more than 15 years. In July, I decided to take up the offer of the price lock PVR on the premium package plus the North Indian bouquet as an add on. I was on the compact package plus North Indian Bouquet till July. Since then, I have had a different figure debited form my account for the past 3 months and no one can explain why.
If it is a price lock it should be a fixed figure!
I am not impressed and more frustrated with no one calling me back. I keep calling and being told that it was escalated. Escalated to where?

Debit order figure:
1/06/2017 R614
1/07/2017 R614
Then changed to the Pricelock PVR:
31/07/2017 R798.89
30/08/2017 R681,86
1/09/2017 R69.99
30/09/2017 R1952,20

Mrs Tasnim Abed
083 582 7689
nazlie Send email
 
Aug 23, 2017

dstv account

My Debit Order for my DSTV premium account always use to run on the 1st of every month. On the 22.04.2017 I contacted the Call Centre to find out if I can change my Debit Order date to the 25.04.2017 and the consultant advised that it was too late for the debit order date to be changed of which I understood and was informed that the debit order date was changed and should be running from 25.05.2017 which I once again fully understood. On the.04.05.2017 a debit my account was debited with an amount of R727.20. On the 25.05.2017 my account was debited with an amount of R909.00 of which was correct and then on the 26.06.2017 my account was once again debited with an amount of R909.00 which was correct. On the 25.07.2017 the shit started an amount of R77.83 which debited form my account I did not not previously contacted DSTV as I was ok with everything. I contacted DSTV Call Centre the apes could not assist me I used so much airtime requesting to get a manager on the phone to assist me but all failed. I had to drive from Mitchells Plain to Goodwood which cost me petrol to have the account sorted. Of which in the same week my account was debited with R110 as well as a R200 which incured more bank charges on my bank account and who is refunding me no one. I had to extra pay a R425.00 on the 29.07.2017 when I arrived at the Goodwood office of which I cancelled my insurance on both decoders and I was handed a cancellation form from the consultant which I have in my possession and she informed me that an amount of R874.00 will be new DSTV monthly amount for the premium package. On the 22.08.2017 I received an sms on my cellphone informing that an amount of R1 117.00 will be debited from my bank account on the 25.08.2017. I contacted the call centre on even date and informed the consultant who informed me that I must drive from Mitchells Plain to Goodwood to sort out my account as well as the cancellation of the insurance of the DSTV insurance. Imigane what a damn nerve to tell me that over the phone. I informed him he had a bladdy nerve to tell me such things instead of assisting. I will reverse the debit order as soon as it is debited from my account. Your service sucks BIG TIME.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    EDCON/JET - New Account
    I went to open a new clothing account at Jet on the 11th...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Stuck 10 hari
    ERA134522560MY ERA134513700MY Stuck dri 14hb. Nak...
    Unifi billing sysytem - Wrong charging
    23/5/2019 Pengurusan Kredit & Kutipan Telekom...
    cbse - Complaining about revaluation
    I'm Shreyansh Agarwal and I had once got my copies...
    POS LAJU - Late delivery
    Item shipped on the 18th May 2019. Consignment dispatched...
    apple couture kebaya lateefa - Barang belum terima
    Barang saya belum terima sehingga sekarang Tracking no...
    Microsoft OneDrive - Unauthorized access to OneDrive
    This evening, shortly after 20:00 someone accessed my...
    MasterCraft/French doors - Leaking
    I bought a set of outside French doors for my kitchen...
    Nor Cal Truck sales - reseller
    A re seller of Google services has contacted me and has...
    Tele- Aid by Mercedez Benz - discontinue service and refund to credit card
    Dear Sir/ Madam, I would like to discontinue the tele-...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    EDCON/JET - New Account
    I went to open a new clothing account at Jet on the 11th...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Stuck 10 hari
    ERA134522560MY ERA134513700MY Stuck dri 14hb. Nak...
    Unifi billing sysytem - Wrong charging
    23/5/2019 Pengurusan Kredit & Kutipan Telekom...
    cbse - Complaining about revaluation
    I'm Shreyansh Agarwal and I had once got my copies...
    POS LAJU - Late delivery
    Item shipped on the 18th May 2019. Consignment dispatched...
    apple couture kebaya lateefa - Barang belum terima
    Barang saya belum terima sehingga sekarang Tracking no...
    Microsoft OneDrive - Unauthorized access to OneDrive
    This evening, shortly after 20:00 someone accessed my...
    MasterCraft/French doors - Leaking
    I bought a set of outside French doors for my kitchen...
    Nor Cal Truck sales - reseller
    A re seller of Google services has contacted me and has...
    Tele- Aid by Mercedez Benz - discontinue service and refund to credit card
    Dear Sir/ Madam, I would like to discontinue the tele-...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username