Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Ecco Shoes

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Ecco Shoes

Complaints1944 Send email
 
Jan 14, 2018

Ecco Shoe Company-sticky soles

I normally spend a few months in Florida out of the cold and therefore do not need boots. This winter I am in cancer treatment and not able to go. I took my expensive, but terribly comfortable Ecco boots off of the closet shelf and discovered the soles are a soft, sticky mess! How disappointing and disgusting to think a company that charges a high price, or actually any price, for their products would offer their customers something this inferior. Plus, it sounds as though there is no recourse. A sad situation. I would certainly not purchase Ecco shoes or boots in the future without a guarantee that this would never happen again.
bmattera Send email
 
Dec 4, 2017

Ecco Cross Shoes soles sticky

I bought a pair of Ecco Cross shoes and didn't wear them for several years. I pulled them out of the closet and cannot wear them due to the soles & heels are totally sticky & tacky leaving a sticky & tacky mess on the floor. I tired to wear them outside, but it was like walking on glue. Everything I walked on stuck to the bottom of the shoes. The shoes are incredibly comfortable, but unwearable. Ecco needs to step up and call back all these shoes they have sold to unsuspecting consumers. If anyone can get a lawyer involved, we should file a class action law suite over this.
Janis Send email
 
Nov 29, 2017

vodafone ireland

Please be aware of Vodafone, they have connection issues but they ignore their customers. Customer service is unacceptable. and all the time lies.
PennStateInMD Send email
 
Nov 29, 2017

Ecco Shoe Fail

Brand new and just out of the box, though purchased several years ago.
Unused Ecco shoes lasted seven (7) hours in an office environment.
The heels on my Ecco shoes have crumbled.
Heel contents spilling out and creating a mess everywhere.
Photo included.

Ecco Shoe Fail

Louise C Send email
 
Nov 28, 2017

Soles falling apart

Great Golf Shoes but after a couple of years soles are falling apart on ball of foot and heels.

Soles falling apart

Christopher M Send email
 
Nov 28, 2017

Disintegrating ECCO Soles

I'm really upset to be writing this. I've always had great trouble finding shoes that fit me comfortably, and then I discovered Ecco. I found they fitted like a glove, with wonderfully soft uppers that made walking an absolute delight. Since then, I've bought only Ecco shoes, and have had several designs, all giving the same superb fit and comfort, albeit at a high price. I must have had eight or nine pairs by now.

Then I encountered the exact same problem as so many others here. The soles of shoes which I've hardly worn simply disintegrate in a couple of ways. In two pairs, it seems that a layer in the sole is too stiff, because the soles have split right across under the balls of my feet, the full thickness of the sole. This happened in just a few days wearing them. In three pairs, in different styles bought several years apart, two layers of the sole with distinctly different types of plastic appear to react chemically with one another. As described many times, one type of plastic virtually dissolves into sticky black pumps, while another breaks up in sheets and peels off the layer below. I remember seeing a similar reaction in kit models I used to make as a big, where hard polystyrene is in contact with a soft rubbery polythene-like plastic, with the result that they melt into a tacky goo.

Again, this happens over the course of days, and the first time I discovered it I had to deeply apologise to friends because I left a trail of black granules sticking to their carpet. The other problem with the soles was just as embarrassing, finding myself at a smart dinner with large sheets of the sole flapping loosely from my shoes. These problems really do arise that quickly.

I can't believe how a company making such expensive shoes can just go on manufacturing them year after year with the same defects in the mix and properties of the materials used in the soles that causes them to disintegrate like this. I simply can't trust Ecco again so I'll never buy another pair, which is really upsetting given how long it took me to find shoes with such a great fit, wonderful comfort, yet they're completely unfit for purpose, and the company knows this full well, and has done for a good few years. But they do absolutely nothing to apologise or reimburse customers.
Betahon Send email
 
Nov 26, 2017

Disintegrating soles

Well looking at all the reviews above it seems I will be wasting my time complaining. My Ecco shoes soles have suddenly started to disintegrate. The shoes themselves are like new and was so happy with them as it is almost impossible to find a pair of shoes that fit having such small and narrow feet, size 3. Why, when these shoes are so expensive?

Marlene Bentley
Fulton616 Send email
 
Nov 20, 2017

Ecco shoes

While on vacation 2 weeks ago my brand new Ecco shoes the soles cracked and pieces fell off. I could not believe that this was happening. Thank goodness I had my trusty Mephisto sandals with me or I would have had to buy shoes. I will attempt to contact the company, but from reading all of the complaints I feel it will be pointless. No more Ecco shoes for me.
aht Send email
 
Nov 11, 2017

Ecco shoe soles -rotten quality -disintegrates,

Men's shoes size 92 had soles totally disintegrate. Ecco , when I called to complain and asked if they will repair it, gave a resounding
negative reply with an extremely rude tone.
Fgjarrett Send email
 
Nov 5, 2017

Ecco shoes

My pair of Ecco shoes still look brand new - however, they sole literally fell apart while on vacation a few days ago. They have always been my favorite walking shoes! Disappointed this problem is not just my own!!!! I will call customer service and see what they say. I really would just love to have them resoled if possible!
jimfio Send email
 
Jul 24, 2017

soles disintegrate

My nice brown ECCO shoe soles started to disintegrate while I attended a conference. I was embarrassed by the trail of black residue. I had to toss the shoes out. I have been an ECCO customer for many years, but this changes my thinking about continuing with this product.
Danny J Rinaldi Send email
 
Jul 17, 2017

sokes and heel disintegrate

during a formal installation of international Officers at a local club I noticed my shoes were disintegrating as the night progressed. I paid good money for these shoes, (Ecco) and found it hard to believe. This morning I Googled the possibility of return and repair with the company and found that not only was the problem unique, but return and replace was a lesson in futility and frustration.

Rather than waste my time i elect to replace with another new pair, not Ecco. I do not recommend, or will I ever buy another pair of Ecco Shoes.
apwind Send email
 
Jul 7, 2017

Disintegrating Soles

I was shocked this week to find black debris on my office floor. Being somewhat bewildered by this I check my soles and both heels and soles were cracked and falling apart. Really ECCO - this is not good enough for a $300 pair of shoes. Whoever has been advising you on your marketing and customer relaitons has got it wrong - because this once loyal customer has decided to look for real quality from here on in.
Lillianaching Send email
 
Jun 28, 2017

Disintegrating souls on Echo sandals

I have purchased Echo sandals and shoes for over 20 years. Recently I purchased three pair of Babette sandals. One red pair, one black pair, one tan pair. The black pair fell apart with the sole disintegrating on both shoes the first time I wore them. The tan pair fell apart the first time I wore them. I have not used the red pair because I am afraid I will have a mess all over my carpets again. The souls literally disintegrate. I assumed this is because echo now has their shoes made in China. They have not lowered the price, but they have lowered their expense for these shoes. We are given lousy shoes made in China while the company makes greater profits.
Lillianaching Send email
 
Jun 28, 2017

ECCO Shoes

I have been wearing Eccos for 20 years. I recently purchased 3 pair of Babette sandals, one in black, one tan, one red. The soles on the black and tan pairs disintegrated first time I wore them. I am afraid to try the red ones. As far as I know these very expensive sandals are now being made in China. Will never purchase Ecco again.
Winterdog Send email
 
Jun 23, 2017

Ecco has no sole

My complaint is the same as most here - and from what I have read, it has happened to countless others..and, for many years.

After searching for comfortable shoes for quite awhile I was introduced to Ecco, and have purchased six pair in the past years.
So far most have been fine, but while attending a wedding this past April the soles of my black Ecco shoes started disintegrating! The soles totally came off in chunks and I was left with what you see in the picture.

I contacted Ecco about this mishap, and so far have heard not one word - and expect my letter will be ignored. The store where the shoes were purchased say since it has been more than 90 days no refund is available from them. Too bad.

Apparently many people have decided to stop trusting Ecco. Yet Ecco keeps advertising as if they are reputable for unsuspecting customers. Wish something could be done besides complain here...

Ecco has no sole

Ramon444 Send email
 
Jun 18, 2017

Golf Shoes

Only wore this pair once in Charleston on Golf retreat. On the 10th hole big chucks of the left shoe started coming off the sole. Always heard Ecco was great quality can't believe this anymore. Right shoe sole also develop huge cracks. After reading all the simular complaints next pair will defeatly not be Ecco shoes.
drjy2k Send email
 
Jun 13, 2017

Poor quality

I just received a pair of Ecco's from online store.
I was shocked.
My first pair of Ecco's maybe 12 years ago were substantial, comfortable, and durable despite abuse.
This pain is uncomfortable, and no better quality then a pair of shoes I bought for 19.95at a Target when on a biz trip and realized I needed a pair of walking shoes.
I'm sending them back.
This used to be a great company.
No more
car1972 Send email
 
Jun 2, 2017

soles falling apart

One brown the other black
Both pairs same thing
I thought I step on something sharp on the first pair. So I thru them out.
When it happened to the second pair I check the internet and realised that it was a common problem
NO MORE ECCO shoes for me!!!!!!!
joanw248 Send email
 
Apr 6, 2017

Ecco shoes

I sent my Ecco shoes back to Ecco Headquarters in Markham, Ontario so they could decide wether or not the soles were a defect. I don't know what else it could be. They told me that they would be sending me a code worth 300$ to buy a pair of Ecco shoes via their online service. The shoes I can choose can't be on sale but at full price. Therefore, if I choose a pair at 150$ that's it. I loose the rest. So enough is enough. Why would I bother to buy another pair of Ecco shoes if they have still not corrected the problem of the soles disintegrating. So I am now suing them in Small Claims Court and asking for punitive damages. I am also looking into filing a Class Action suit against Ecco since there are so many unhappy customers all over.
Mole1 Send email
 
Apr 2, 2017

Ecco shoe soles disintergrating

I bought some Ecco shoes in a sale and didn't wear them for a few years as I had others that were fine. After about six months of wear, one of the soles started creaking. I didn't think anything of it until I realised the heels of the shoes were falling to pieces, uppers are fine. From what I read Ecco is denying responsbility because they say it's the users fault for not wearing them every day which apparently means the material the soles is made from doesn't fall apart. I think it's a design fault. The heels are hollow so if the lower part of the heel wears out there's no rubber sole there. I don't think I'll buy a pair again, no shoe should wear out this quickly. They can't be mended either even though the upper is fine. What a waste of money.
jpmorno@aol.com Send email
 
Mar 15, 2017

Aravon shoes disintegrating

I have two almost new pairs of Aravon mule type slip-on shoes. They were so comfortable I purchased two pairs of the same color and style. After only a few wears, they much like the Ecco shoes I have seen complaints about, had the rubber sole start to disintegrate. Big chunks of the shoe were falling off. I was able to get New Balance Shoes in CT to fix the sole, but what a shoddy job they did and it did not hold up, I nearly broke my neck when I wore them as they again started to break apart. I have a second pair which are also disintegrating and it is obvious they have not been worn much at all.

Where can I can info on the manufacturer and what I can do with these terribly expensive shoes?
BHeim Send email
 
Feb 10, 2017

Ecco Shoes Sticky soles

Expensive pair of Ecco shoes that had hardly been warn suddenly have very sticky soles. According to these posts this problem has gone on for years. Why hasn't Ecco fixed this problem? Where is the class action lawsuit? Last pair of Ecco shoes I will buy.
LawrenceB Send email
 
Feb 1, 2017

Ecco Soles falling apart

Soles are incredibly sticky and gummy after removing from box after a couple of years of not wearing them. Uppers looks new and fine. This is the second pair of Ecco shoes where that this has happened. Unacceptable.

So after googling, I ended up here. I called Ecco Customer Service at 1 (877) 240-2365. They said I can mail the shoes to them and if they decide it's a defect (what else could it be?), then they will send my a credit for another pair of Ecco shoes, reduced based on the age of the shoe. So instead of a proper refund, if I'm lucky, I'll get a fraction of what I paid for a clear defective product.

I'm done with Ecco. That is no way to support a defective product. They just lost a customer forever.
jmckay Send email
 
Jan 30, 2017

Sole disintegrating

I bought a pair of men's dress shoes a handful of years ago. I'm retired and use them mostly for weddings, cruises etc. They still look like new. The heels have disintegrated, like the photo above on this site. What is going on?

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    mobile draw@live.com - how to claim prize money
    I received SMS # from 913363427730 and service center #...
    Aviteo - A service I never sign up
    This company sent me an invoice for a service that i did...
    Top phone - excessive number of Myanmar workers
    To whom it may concern, I would like to make a report...
    PAYTMAG bank - Cancellation Amount not Refunded
    Sir I booked my ticket through irctc web site,, payment...
    IRCTC and PAYTMAG - refund amount not received
    sir train ticket cancelled , refund not yet received
    POS MALAYSIA - Delay in delivery
    What happened to Pos Malaysia? Seems so many complaints of...
    McDonald's malaysia - Yelled by cashier
    So me and my friends were ordering at the drive through,...
    D-Safe Sdn Bhd - Pengawal Keselamatan PAKISTANI HARAM
    Syarikat Keselamatan menggunakan Pengawal Keselamatan...
    PSE&G - Gas shut off
    My mom’ s gas was shut off in September 2017. I visited...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    mobile draw@live.com - how to claim prize money
    I received SMS # from 913363427730 and service center #...
    Aviteo - A service I never sign up
    This company sent me an invoice for a service that i did...
    Top phone - excessive number of Myanmar workers
    To whom it may concern, I would like to make a report...
    PAYTMAG bank - Cancellation Amount not Refunded
    Sir I booked my ticket through irctc web site,, payment...
    IRCTC and PAYTMAG - refund amount not received
    sir train ticket cancelled , refund not yet received
    POS MALAYSIA - Delay in delivery
    What happened to Pos Malaysia? Seems so many complaints of...
    McDonald's malaysia - Yelled by cashier
    So me and my friends were ordering at the drive through,...
    D-Safe Sdn Bhd - Pengawal Keselamatan PAKISTANI HARAM
    Syarikat Keselamatan menggunakan Pengawal Keselamatan...
    PSE&G - Gas shut off
    My mom’ s gas was shut off in September 2017. I visited...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username