Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Edcon

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Edcon

Nhlamulo Send email
 
Jul 18, 2019

Edcon Group account Fraud and non Rica Compliant

Lots of inside job accounts fraud for Edcon Group. Fraud done on my card while I had my card with me. 1. My email statement was disabled It was changed to post. 2. Edcon Group is not Rica compliant, because my account was used to purchase a cellphone to the value of R6000. 00 without ID or proof of address required in Edgar's Maphonya. All happens while I had my card with me. I only realized when I find out that my installment is abnormal. People be worned with Edcon Group accounts, make sure u always check your statements.
Camngca Mda Send email
 
Jul 15, 2019

Edcon misleading customers in opening accounts

On 11 July, I was called by an agent working on behalf of Edcon. He advised me that I have R2000 available to spend at any Edcon store, and that in order to be able to do so, I'd have to unblock an account that I previously had with Edgars. I then told the agent that I am not interested in having any form of clothing account. The agent then advised me that this was just a credit amount that I have, which I could use with no terms and conditions tied to it, and after using it I could just close the account. After expressing my reservations for a long period of time, the agent eventually convinced me that this was money that I had to spend, which accumulated over the past few years from points and reward, and there were no conditions tied to it and he just simply needed to open my account for me to be able to use this earned amount, and then I could close it there after. After opening the account, I learnt that I was actually mislead into opening a credit card account. I reported this to the head office, and the manager for the relevant department called me back to tell me that they would train the agent, and that there is nothing that could be done to remedy my situation. I believe that the right thing for Edcon to do would be to fulfill what the agent said to me because I now have an account that I did not want, and have been mislead. Furthermore, an investigation on whether others have not been mislead should be done, because people may be spending money that they do not have. Lastly, the agent needs to be trained to accurately represent the facts and not manipulate and mislead customers.

Agent I spoke to: Evans
Head office correspondence with: Brian
Manager who called to tell me that they would not remedy my situation: Mpala
[email protected] Send email
 
Jun 30, 2019

Unfairly treated at Jet mart inner court

I opened an account at Jet Calton centre and it was approved same day and following day i tried to activate the card but because I was rushing to work decided i will do it the following day. The following day early in the morning i went to activate the account in inner court in johannesburg and the consultant gave me attitude and got my account blocked without even askig me any questions to make her get an unsatisfactory answer from me and this was very unacceptable for me.

I think the lady deserves to be punished for unfairly treating me in this way.
Franklin Simmers Send email
 
Jun 18, 2019

Blacklisted

Good day

I tried to send an email 2 edcon HR and im not receiving one response from them. I have worked for edcon almost 6 years and i am not with them anymore.
I lost my job due to something that happend..
Last year i received calls from legal that i was handed over for an account i dont know about.. I had n stuff account and i was never informed that they were going to transfer my credit from my staff account to n new account.
Is that possible if they dont inform you or let you know. The statements i receive shows i have n R1 account..

When i phone customer services, they told me that i have 2 accounts by them that i just know about the one.
I want to know what i can do about this problem and who can i talk to, because this is not my fault that the people off edcon, can't do they're job right for not informing people.

I cant pay something that is not signed by me, or pay for something i was not informed about.

Please let me know.

[email protected]

Regards
Franklin
Katli Send email
 
Jun 17, 2019

Unauthorized purchases or billing

So edcon is busy billing me for airtime and data I never requested or revived for that matter, I have been telling them I never took such and they must reverse all this and they assure me every time that it is solved but I keep getting messages like this -Please remember that payment on your Edcon Acc no. 7006600100144983055 is due today. Even though this may seem a small amount. I EVEN Went to jet store to enquire but they couldn’t help me much they just said send email again . I don’t know how else to stop this as is ruining my credit because apparently it appears as thou I’m defaulting on my credit. I don’t owe edcon cent but my name gets ruined due to incompetence. It’s been happening since dec when some consultants kept calling offering this data I never took claiming it’s free and they testing the system. Next I’m taking edcon to ombudsman if they don’t cancel all of this
winnie007 Send email
 
May 9, 2019

Unable to close Edgars account

Good day

On the 24th of February 2019 I went to Edgars at Birch acres Mall to close my account, I was told to pay the account in full before they can close it and i did as I was told. The cashier put me in contact with their head office and I spoke to a consultant there on the phone and was told the account was closed.

Last week I received a call from Edgars saying I owe R700.00 so I went back to the store again to ask why the account was not closed and I was told to pay the outstanding amount again before it can be closed. I want to close this account because I cant afford it anymore so I want to know what do I need to do for this account to be closed. I don't even know what the R700 is for because I haven't bought anything with the card.


Account number: 6008 1501 1726 4202 030
Email: [email protected]
Makhumalo Send email
 
May 3, 2019

Unfairly treated

On the 02/05/2019,i went to jet stores,Vryheid to buy my Daughter a cell phone for her Birthday on the 03/05/2019. They told me i have to pay R600,in order to be able to buy which i did.but after that they told me my account has a block code R.which they can't remove they called the edcon call center.they gave us the number to call.that number did'nt exist.the ladies and the store manager tried so hard to assist.but they failed.then i went back home i tried calling them myself they told me that the R code has been removed. I went back to the store.yes its was cleared but couldnt buy still i called the lady at the call center again she then told me that i cant use my account anymore.after paying so much money that money i would have used at other shop to buy my Daughter 's Phone this is unfair to an aged person like my self
leoniesw Send email
 
Apr 11, 2019

Pure Bad Service

There has been a deduction on my account which I have not consented to. I have tried calling multiple times but to no avail. The customer care consultants just send you from pillar to post. You spend hours holding the line and nobody bothers to answer. When they eventually do, it's as good as if the didn't because they can't provide you with accurate information.

They keep promising to call back but NOTHING!!!!!!! I have to keep calling to get nowhere.

I have requested proof that I have taken this so called product from the third party and was told it will be given to me within 48 hours. Still nothing. Called to follow up, the system is down and I was put on hold until such time as I eventually hung-up.

I was told that I subscribed for airtime monthly. I haven't even received the so-called airtime yet I'm paying. So I haven't consented to this. They cannot send me the proof of where I have. They declined my refund but no-one bothered to tell me. I only found out when I called to follow up on what's happening.

This is pathetic to say the least.

Please sort this out asap.
Leonie Swartz
[email protected]
geraldine3914 Send email
 
Mar 25, 2019

bad service delivery and unethical regulations

Month end im closing my account at Jet stores in town centre mitchells plain. I cant purchase goods because the store is forever off-line. And if the store is off-line then u cannot purchase because apparently jet cannot see if u have credit. So when ever you go to Jet stores, you must carry previous statements or receipts to show you have credit. I do not know what crap this is. But im fed- up of jet. Cos they permanently off- line. They of no help. I cant purchase.
Barry Khumbuza Send email
 
Mar 25, 2019

BLUE LABEL CONNECT

Good Day,

Can you kindly ask Blue label to reverse all my money they have been taking from my account, i dont have any product with them but hey they keep on debiting my account, when i call them they always promise me someone will contact me from credit department but they again go and debit, this is fraud.
Katli Send email
 
Mar 19, 2019

Complaint

Good day Complaints Department

I am totally annoyed by edgars as I'm being charged an amount of R78 and 49 for AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI , as I did not authorize or request an AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI, kindly reverse these amounts as I did not make any agreement or arrangement for this.

Can those deductions from October 2018 till to date be reversed and be cancelled, as i did not authorize or grant permission for these deductions to be done. One lady called me from Edgar's regarding the data i strictly confirm to her that i am not interested at all it was around June or July but they still went ahead by authorizing it.

Please investigate it and check all calls that were made to me, cause when I check my statement now, it started form October 2018. Till to date. Now I’m getting demand letters and I don’t owe edcon cent as I paid off my acc and bver used it again because I knew I’m going to resign from work and didn’t want debt. I’m so getting annoyed by this , consultant promised to sort it out but is just escalating and amount is getting more and more. I need this stopped right now.
Regards
0797400715
[email protected] Send email
 
Mar 12, 2019

UNAUTHORISED DEBIT

Good day.

Please reverse the subscription that is suddently being deducted from my account. I did not authorise a third party to debit this account.

I would like this reversed, and notification is given today that I want this account closed and service fees reversed.

How reckless of you to let a third party debit my account without my authority. And then when I call your call centre. I get told that an e-mail will be sent to them, and they “should” let me know once this is sorted.

I want this account closed. I have had this account since about 1994. I take exception to this service fee that is now being charged and third parties being allowed to debit my account. I have advised you on more than one occasion that I do not want my details given to third parties. Yet you continue to do so.

Please close this card, and ensure that the necessary reversals are done.

Kind regards

Angela
[email protected] Send email
 
Mar 12, 2019

3RD PARTY DEBIT

Good day.

Please reverse the subscription that is suddently being deducted from my account. I did not authorise a third party to debit this account.

I would like this reversed, and notification is given today that I want this account closed and service fees reversed.

How reckless of you to let a third party debit my account without my authority. And then when I call your call centre. I get told that an e-mail will be sent to them, and they “should” let me know once this is sorted.

I want this account closed. I have had this account since about 1994. I take exception to this service fee that is now being charged and third parties being allowed to debit my account. I have advised you on more than one occasion that I do not want my details given to third parties. Yet you continue to do so.

Please close this card, and ensure that the necessary reversals are done.

Kind regards

Angela
Dinny Send email
 
Mar 10, 2019

Exchange

I went to Edgars in Jabulani Mall this afternoon with the intent of exchanging a dress that is small for a different item of clothing. I am annoyed by the fact that it's so easy for me as a customer to spend money at this store then when i need to exchange for whatever reason I have to deal with incompetent staff members giving stories and not solutions.

It's rather unsettling that a big retail store such as Edgars will not have anyone at a managerial position to oversee what happens at the store or to attend to customer queries.

I don't get why it's a problem that I closed my account and want to be debt free but staff members at this store made me feel like i did a wrong thing by choosing to pay off this account and close it, now for this reason i cant exchange clothing.

How do you have a store manager as well as the assistant off on the same day and proudly give this reason to customers. I am not happy with the store right now and if this is not sorted in the next 24 hours I'm taking this matter further.
ksilwane Send email
 
Mar 6, 2019

New Account

Good day,

I went to the jet store in Rosebank Mall in Johannesburg with an intention to open up a new account, I once hard an account with jet but I settled the account and closed it so I know all requirements needed to open up an account I went with my particulars that I knew will be needed to the store but however the consultant that was assisting me knew nothing of what she was doing it took her 30minutes to retrieve an email of which was not even needed I had my pay slips with me an hour later I walked out from jet with no account no help NOTHING WHAT SO EVER I am not happy with the service I received from that store.

if it is difficult for service consultants to assist us rather introduce online systems to help ourselves because what happened today is totally unacceptable.

Regards,
Keamogetswe Vivian Silwane
ymabena Send email
 
Jan 14, 2019

Unauthorized Billing or charges

Good day Complaints Department

I am totally annoyed by edgars as I'm being charged an amount of R78 and 49 for AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI , as I did not authorize or request an AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI, kindly reverse these amounts as I did not make any agreement or arrangement for this.

Can those deductions from October 2018 till to date be reversed and be cancelled, as i did not authorize or grant permission for these deductions to be done. One lady called me from Edgar's regarding the data i strictly confirm to her that i am not interested at all it was around June or July but they still went ahead by authorizing it.

Please investigate it and check all calls that were made to me, cause when I check my statement now, it started form October 2018. Till to date.

My cell number is 0787816365

Regards
Yolanda
Thobile Maggy Masina Send email
 
Nov 29, 2018

payment

My name is Thobile Maggy Masina I have a complain with Jet store I buy clothes with my account last year December that cost R5,526.87. I pay every month even now that money is still the same. Around June they call me tell me that I join accidend fund, hospitality claim act I wasnt awer of that I tell them that I want my money back I only join funeral plan that cost R45 and they promise to give my money back but now it too long I want to clean my name with Jet . On July this year I go to Jet Store to claim my money they tell me that im behind of my payment bt every month im pay. The cashers they dont have answers when they put you in costumer service they say something that wont happend like letters they wil send so that wil send .
Delene Smith Send email
 
Nov 23, 2018

Edgars R1200 voucher

Received an sms stating that if I purchase for R1200 i would receive a voucher for it. I purchasd goods on the 19 November 2018 its 4 days now I'm still waiting for the voucher. Please help !!!!
Barbara Lourens Send email
 
Nov 19, 2018

R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more

I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will get R1200-00 vouchers bought for over R2000-00 and did not even get 1 cent voucher, the branch advised that the head office will forward me the vouchers, what a laughing matter as they weren't even aware of this so called promotion.
CraigPayne Send email
 
Nov 7, 2018

Bad service and no response from Edgars

I opened an account online 10 days ago and till to date i have not had any feed back, i sat at the east Rand mall Branch for more than 3 hours on 3rd November to find i needed bank statements and payslips, that i sent in then.
I then go to another branch to find out what is the states to find out its still pending, i have driven around and phoned out more than a R1000 airtime between head office and the branch to have no joy and to be told its still pending, they say there is a system error....
For such a big company to have this for more than 6 days is not on, how do they make money if they cant even phone or reply to a client about the outcome of there application, all i want is a yes or no.

I have also email my Statements and payslips to about 5 different people at Edgars Carnival mall, East rand Mall, Head office and a manager named Cheryl Singh.

Still no joy, i think this is the worst service ever as been told turn around time is 24 hours but in this case its going 11 days since i applied.
CraigPayne Send email
 
Nov 7, 2018

Bad service and no feed back

I opened an account online 10 days ago and till to date i have not had any feed back, i sat at the east Rand mall Branch for more than 3 hours on 3rd November to find i needed bank statements and payslips, that i sent in then.
I then go to another branch to find out what is the states to find out its still pending, i have driven around and phoned out more than a R1000 airtime between head office and the branch to have no joy and to be told its still pending, they say there is a system error....
For such a big company to have this for more than 6 days is not on, how do they make money if they cant even phone or reply to a client about the outcome of there application, all i want is a yes or no.

I have also email my Statements and payslips to about 5 different people at Edgars Carnival mall, East rand Mall, Head office and a manager named Cheryl Singh.

Still no joy, i think this is the worst service ever as been told turn around time is 24 hours but in this case its going 11 days since i applied.

I would like to speak to a director regarding this issue as nobody wants to assist or give me contact details....
Mogorosi Mamatlakeng Send email
 
Oct 31, 2018

Incompetent staff costs me money

On the 25th of October I received an SMS from jet stating I can get 200 off if I buy for R500. I made my way to jet Mafikeng in Carrington Street. I did all my shopping and when I got to the counter the cashier Kedibone was clueless of my SMS and called her manager Zack who said to me, that I am not the first customer to come with that SMS and they know nothing of them. I asked them what must happen now since I came all the way and the cashier looked at me like I spoke some foreign language (confused) I asked again and Zack said he is going to log and call and has no idea how long it is going to take to get an answer.
I asked Zack what is going to happen he said he has no idea, can u believe a manager who cannot take an initiative to ask for my numbers to call me back he just left me there with the also clueless cashier.
I said to her please take my details so u can call me once this has been solved and she reluctantly took my details which she tossed asside on the counter and I asked myself how will she know or remember to call with a lot of papers on her desk.
I left my things with her showing them the expiration of the special which was the 28th and they just looked at it.
All weekend I received no call from the branch and Monday I called customer care to complain and the consultant told me I would get a call back with on 48 hours with reference number 18102901261/GO I asked who is going to call me she said either they will call or the branch.
Later on Monday I received a call from Jet Mafikeng mall only to find the complaint was sent to the wrong branch and the manager forwarded it to the correct branch.i shortly received a call from the correct beach from a guy who I was unable to write down his name but said he was not there when I was there and Zack would call me the following day which was Tuesday, I was still surprised that if this guy was also the manager why isn't he taking over the complain. Anyway Tuesday came and went and today which is Wednesday 6:58pm I have yet to receive a call from Zack.

What is happening at Jet it seems all the people who work the need training on how to handle such situations. This platform is my last attempt to get help because I was cheated off my R200 off discount and I demand to get help I'm order to resolve this matter. I want my discount,i went to jet with in the given time. Hold your staff accountable.

I will be taking this up with hellopeter if I don't get the correct assistant that I deserved.

Unhappy customer

0786036414
Mamatlakeng Matsie
Tpillay Send email
 
Oct 27, 2018

Unethical Sales tactics

Hi,

Today (27/10/2018) I went to check out some concealer and foundation shades at your Black Up counter at Edgars in centurion mall. I was approached by a friendly consultant by the name of Florence. I told her I was looking for concealer and foundation. I did not know my current shade. She asked me to have a seat while she was finishing up with another customer. I assumed she was going to assist me with finding the right shade for my skin tone.

Whilst waiting another consultant removed my existing make up (without asking me first if it was ok), as instructed by Florence. Once she was done with the other lady Florence proceed to apply foundation not before taking a picture of me yet again without my permission. She said that was to prove she is working which I found a strange practice by Black Opal. She went on to give me a "make over'' without asking if I wanted one or even telling me that I would either need to buy the foundation or pay a fee of R350 for this "make over". Which in my opinion was just mediocre, every day make up.Which I did not even love. I removed some make up with a tissue whilst still in the store.

Before I was able to have a look at my face she asked if I am only taking the foundation. I said that I do not normally buy foundation immediately after a trial. I take a day to see if the shade suites me. She told my sister I have to buy something whilst I was looking in the mirror. She gave me an ultimatum of you either buy something or you pay a fee of R350 for the "make over" which I found ridiculous as I was just doing grocery shopping and then going home.

I am a fan of Black Up products and now I am just annoyed and disgusted by the unethical sales practices a member of your staff took today. I am an entrepreneur myself and I cannot imagine any of my staff displaying such forceful tactics to make a sale at risk of my company's reputation. Totally Unacceptable! I am not sure if this kind of sly behavior is part of their training, if so that needs to change.

I was embarrassed and just bought any product just to get out of the store. As she made me feel like a thief in front of other customers. I had every intention of purchasing the foundation the next day, if I was satisfied but unfortunately I did not have that choice.

I have never experienced such treatment at a cosmetic counter before. I am not the type of person to complain easily and I do not want to post this on Facebook. However If this matter is not handled correctly I will have to escalate it further.

I look forward to your reply.

Kind Regards,
Telishia Pillay
hendrikpretorius Send email
 
Oct 23, 2018

NO FEEDBACK FROM EDCON

TRYING TO RESOLVE AN ACCOUNT NOT EXISTING ON JET STORES SYSTEM GAVE ALL DETAILS TO EDCON NO RESPONSE I AM IN THE PROCESS OF SUING YOU AND JET FOR PUTTING MY NAME IN BAD CREDIT FOR NO REASON


YOU ARE THE WORST COMPANY EVER AND I WILL POST THIS EVERYWHERE I CAN TO MAKE YOUR NAME BAD !!!!!!!


0824442531
Londeka Send email
 
Oct 16, 2018

Cashier with attitude

I was at the POS waiting in the queue and the cahier by the name of Mbalenhle Makhathini in jet mart way street Durban.. had a atinking attitude and she talks too much ,so she then called for the next customer I head to her till point and then she looks at me and calls the next customer again. When I told her I'm already here she tells me I'm not standing there I'm here.. I asked how am I supposed to know where to stand as a customer as I am not a jet employees, this is how she responded" How is that my problem you should have seen that this is where I'm cashing" she kept going on and on talking saying shes not left handed. That girl talks toouvj and she chats back she was very rude. I then said can I have my purchase please? She wouldn't give it she was holding the package talking none stop I stood there listening to her yelling at me about how I should have stood by her desk.. I'm aouch disappointed that Edcon as a well known company that is very crucial when it comes to its customers they still keeping employees like that. Who can't even apologise and rectify their mistakes. That Mbalenhle girl is so proud and thinks she owns Edcon.. this happened- 16/10/2018 around 9

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Courts Mammoth - Cara setelkan
    Ok cerita dia mcm ni Masa mula² keja ambil la barang...
    POS LAJU - LATE DELIVERY
    I bought things online and I paid for shipping fee. Should...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - My parcel is stucked for a week
    LP003535058MY Please let me know the status of my item....
    Multichoice DSTV - pricelock upgrade
    dstv price lock service are absolutely the worst i have...
    Weathershield windows and doors - Windows turning PINK between glass
    I have noticed that several of our 50+ Weathershield...
    Hallmark channel - Golden Girls not on!!
    I really wish you would STOP with these 'Christmas in...
    Hallmark channel - Christmas movies in July
    I'm thoroughly upset about all of these damn...
    Georgia Power - QUESTION ABOUT AN. OLD. BILL. NOT. BEING. PAID. THEY....
    WOULD. LIKE. TO. KNOW. IF. I. CAN. BE. CHARGED. /ON. OLD....
    cbse - Business
    Sir, I am akansha and I had passed my class 12 boardly ...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Courts Mammoth - Cara setelkan
    Ok cerita dia mcm ni Masa mula² keja ambil la barang...
    POS LAJU - LATE DELIVERY
    I bought things online and I paid for shipping fee. Should...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - My parcel is stucked for a week
    LP003535058MY Please let me know the status of my item....
    Multichoice DSTV - pricelock upgrade
    dstv price lock service are absolutely the worst i have...
    Weathershield windows and doors - Windows turning PINK between glass
    I have noticed that several of our 50+ Weathershield...
    Hallmark channel - Golden Girls not on!!
    I really wish you would STOP with these 'Christmas in...
    Hallmark channel - Christmas movies in July
    I'm thoroughly upset about all of these damn...
    Georgia Power - QUESTION ABOUT AN. OLD. BILL. NOT. BEING. PAID. THEY....
    WOULD. LIKE. TO. KNOW. IF. I. CAN. BE. CHARGED. /ON. OLD....
    cbse - Business
    Sir, I am akansha and I had passed my class 12 boardly ...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username