Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Edcon

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Edcon

Ruu Send email
 
Jun 16, 2018

Deductions plans, I did not agree to them

I am not happy with my Edcon account.

I have noticed the 2 deductions that I am not aware of, FAMILY PROVIDER PKAN, and LEGAL PLAN. The deductions has been going on for months and I only noticed this month when I opened my emailed statements. I confronted accounts people and they only said the plans has now being cancelled.

I asked for the copy if the agreements or recordings of those plans and sales people who approved them and they did not respond.

I also asked if the money they included on statements all along without my consent is going to be refunded and they also kept quiet.

I am asking if is okay to add plans on someone without their consent. I believe whoever did it has benefited on my expense and I am now suffering online for things I did not know.

I want all my money back from previous deductions. Is not worth it keeping the account active. Cos you try and pay your account, you are adding more things that keeps us on going back to debts.

Frustrated customer
Rosecoert Send email
 
May 31, 2018

Account

Good day today I want to state my complain about Edcon I Paid up my account in 2016/2017 didn't receive a paid up letter don't receive any letters or calls from them now I am blacklisted. what do I do in this matter
graham.lupke Send email
 
May 31, 2018

RUDE CUSTOMER CARE STAFF

Speaking to Customer Complains department is very frustrating. A female employee called me with regards to my complain on 31 May 2018. She was absolutely rude and did not give me a chance to speak and explain my story to her. I eventually managed to speak and before i could complete the conversation she put the phone down in my ear. I cannot understand how customer care staff behave in this manner and are supposed to be there to service their customers...DISAPPOINTED in such behaviour..
mothepanes Send email
 
May 31, 2018

edgars connect cellphone

Hi

I'm not happy with the cell phone I bought at Edgar's connect in Alberton.

I bought a phone in Jan 2018 and it has gone for repairs 3 times.

In Feb it went in for repairs.
In Mar it went in for repairs
In May it went for repairs and its still in for repairs

Please assist
BEN SMITH Send email
 
May 4, 2018

PAID UP LETTER

I WAS ON DEBT REVIEW AND EDGARS ACCOUNT WAS SETTLED THOUGH THE SAME DISTRIBUTION PROCESS.

NOW I HAVE CONTACTED MORE THAN ONE UNIT OF EGDARS AND NO ONE WANT TO LISTEN TO ME INSTEAD I M FAVOURED WITH THE FOLLOWING No. 0860 112 442 WHICH SAME CANNOT EVEN CAPTURE MY ID OR MY ACCOUNT No. THUS AT NO STAGE I MANADE TO GO THROUGH.

I DONT KNOW WHERE TO GO AFTER VISITING SEVERAL STORES BEING INFORMED OF ACCOUNT DEBT. JUST TO RETRIEVE A LETTER CONFIRMING THAT MY ACCOUNT IS PAID UP.

THIS IS SERIOUSLY UNFAIR I AM SEATING WITH A DEBT REVIEW FLAG ON MY PERSONAL CREDIT PROFILE WHICH CAN BE DISCARDED WITH IN A DAY.

I RUNNING MILES OF PHONING VISITING THE OUTLET AT MY OWN COSTS BUT TO NO SUCCESS. I MUST NOW ALSO ESCALATE THIS WITH CONSUMERS PROTECTION UNIT OF WHICH IT WILL DEFINETELY COST AND EXHAUSTED MY LAST PENNY THOUGH PHONE CALLS AND CORRESPONDES JUST FOR A SIMPLE PAID UP LETTER.


PLEASE PLEASE MY No. ARE 0795471575 with E-MAIL ADRESS BenSmith@justice.gov.za
Noluvuyo Send email
 
Apr 20, 2018

Harassment

Dear EDCON TEAM.

I hope this email finds you well?

I, Noluvuyo Ncaphayi, am an Account holder with Jet, Acc no 7006600110003170504. Please not that I am now under debt review, so I do not appreciate receiving collection calls from you. I have been paying my installments for about 1 year and a Half and BOOM you guys decide to call me now, What is you problem MARA???

Should anyone need to enquire anything with regards to the Account, be so kind and contact my Relationship Manager Consumer Debt Help - LELETHU MBEKENI. email: - csu@consumerdebthelp.co.za.

I will not tolerate the harassment from you guys I am trying to fix my life here.

One more thing stop calling my work phone - 084 917 3541 for in case of emergency.

Regards,
Palesa Mbaliyenhle Ntsane Send email
 
Jan 17, 2018

Told by a Jet manager that I smell.

This past week I went to JetMart the one at Ellof street when a lady by the name Monti (Manager),told me that I smell armpits.

I was returning a dress's back because the fit didn't look good on me,so this lady told me she can only take one dress back but as for the other one she can't because it smells.

I've tried both dresses on at the same time,why should the other one smell for her and the other dress wouldn't??

Edcon needs to teach their staff members about the policy printed behind the slip. Because the slip is written that "if a customer is not satisfied with they item they can gladly bring it back".
Now please tellme what should I do with this dress because it's like I've wasted my money on buying an item that I'll never wear.

I'm Done shopping Jet!
Uaundjua Send email
 
Jan 3, 2018

Employee relationship between managers

I Uaundjua Namulo I'D 88040500184 employee number 1356816..A visual Merchandiser band A. I was treated bad after I our store was given a new manager a ladie. It was a Sunday off DAY and I was with my family home... not working as per schedule ..ther was back to school promotion that was supposed to be implemented.. the material were received and visible in a visual room , the ladie manager call me to come emplement the .. promotion while I was far 100km far from work and I told her that I can not manage to come I am far and it's my Sunday off....on Monday I found the promotion not emplement while the ladie manager was working that Sunday.. and early morning ..hours she call me in her office.. for me to write a statement why I did not attend to come help her, me I refuced to write a statement course I was not working .. for all off that with in that I refused to write a statement she gave me a final written warning unessesary.. I tried to give the complaint to my area manager as I text him I was not replayed.. for my complain.. sometimes manager takes Edcon as their own company doing what they want... on the 22 December I end up resigning incompletely due to the way I was treated by my manager.. for her own weakness off not know the law.. and I was happy working with Edcon and I don't have any bad record.. my anger make me to resigned.. due to unfiare treatmen I am advising Edcon to up up skill the managers to know the law and human resources management skill .. some take Edcon as their own company. They need to be given human resouse training. I was very disappointed as I never had any problems with all my previouse manager..so help me out there..
Marjorie Send email
 
Dec 6, 2017

X blocking on account

I went to Edcon twice. My account was handed over because i was unemployed and couldnt pay. I am permanently employed now since february 2016 by the South African Police Service. There is a block on my name anx i cant get credit at any of the Edcon stores. I think it is unfair to punish me for the rest of my life. I since got credit at other retail stores. That is the reason why the "credit system" got a credit bereau.
Vani Send email
 
Nov 16, 2017

HAND OVER

Good Day,

I am disappointed at how Edcon handled my account and now making it seem as if i am at fault.

I had an account with Edcon and I got retrenched in October 2015, it took me about 6 months to obtain paperwork and submit it to Edcon, i finally did so and i assumed that all was sorted.

Until i received a letter from an attorney i then asked the attorney to send the account back to Edcon as i want to deal directly with Edcon. I then get numerous calls from MBD staff with attitude over R 300.00 that i am owing which i didn't even know about.

My biggest problem is that i have been a loyal customer to Edcon and my account was paid on time with no hassles, during my time with Edcon i think i only missed payments for a month which i double paid the following month to keep the account up to date if you look at your records.

In September 2017 after all the unprofessional and insulting calls from MBD calling me on my cell and work landline that almost got me fired i paid the account.

Today i called for a paid up letter and was given 0860 112 2442 i spoke to Amanda, i am so DISSAPOINTED in what he told me and made it seem as if i am at fault when Edcon never once picked up the phone or sent me an sms telling me that i am owing money and yet you have a collections department.

I was told by Amanda that i am a slow payer which was not true (IF your calls are recorded please go and listen to it) and that if i had an account with Edcon before i will be prohibited from opening another account. i did mention before that Edgars account was the best and if it wasn't i would not be typing this mail asking to open another account.

Do you really want to ruin this good relationship with a good customer like me over R300.00 that i supposedly owe and i didn't know because of Edcon. The worst thing is that i am asking for a paid up letter but no one can furnish me with one yet when you want money everyone wants to call me and try to get me fired from my new job.

I am not happy with the way Edcon handled this R300.00 debt and if you do not want me to be your customer again please at least remove my name from ITC, if i am still owing you please let me know so that i can pay you monthly, also give me a paid up letter so that i can open accounts elsewhere.

I await your Prompt Response in this regards from the Management of Edcon.
vaniiruson@gmail.com
Raghubir Send email
 
Oct 31, 2017

REJECTION OF CLAIM ON RETRENCHMENT

Good day,
My name is U Raghubir, ID NO: 7805185156085, I was retrenched in November 2016. I was a member of the Jet Club, I went to Jet to make arrangements to pay my account and the manager requested that I submit my documents regarding a claim because I am a club member. I did so awaiting feedback of my claim. Months following I was smsed a zero statement which I used to confirmed that my claim was approved. In October I was called by EDCON requesting me to pay my account because Hollard declined my claim...reason that it was voluntary retrenchment. I submitted my tax documents to prove that I was retrenched and not voluntary retrenched. I am currently unemployed trying to make ends meet. I would appreciate it if EDCON can relook at my claim or account because I cannot afford to pay this money. ...or if possible reduce the amount.
Your assistance will be greatly appreciated.
Tina Dlomo Send email
 
Oct 31, 2017

Staff member

Edgards Eastgate

Date : 29-10-2017

Time : (14:00)
fikiswajaji Send email
 
Sep 11, 2017

Paying a lot of money for nothing

I bought a pair of Sissy Boy jeans in April so now it got torn; I wore it few times. I have been buying Sissy boy jeans and I have never experienced this problem or maybe it's because I have been buying them from EDCON competitors.
I'm not happy because I feel like I been robbed I have paid so much money for the cheap material or factory fault jeans.
Description :2101022188740
Mischa Skinny Black
Kubendran Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

Edgars Chatsworth centre shit service

Hi my name is kubendran gounden. Yesterday I was walking pass the edgars and was pulled in by a guy asking me to open an account with them. I was taking In gave in my details within 30mins iv received a sms sayn that the account was approved. I then left work and made my way back to the store to pick up my card the guy has said that I got to do a purchase in order to activate to card. So I headed back home checked online what i with buy and went back this morning to do a purchase. I had to stand at enquiries for about 30mins to get service finally someone assist me and asked me to go and bring in my 3 months bank statement and proof of employment wich I already did yesterday. I left the store went back to work and went back with the documents on my brake the manager was nowhere to seen.i had to stand and wait for and other 30min before someone came to assist me. They have taken my documents to a office closed to the door and left me standing while there send out someone to look for the manager. Then a guy comes through acting all cocky and says his puting a block on my account I asked why he says I need to come through with a 3 month bank statement wich he has in his hand and a 3 month pay slip. I asked what's the problem he just says you he needs that. I lost my entire day at work with this guys who gives disgusting service. I didn't ask for account In the 1st place. Stop putting people outside the store pulling customers in and waiting there time with your poor service.that is the last time I will ever visit you guy store.
eben wessels Send email
 
Sep 5, 2017

Policy not received

I am paying for a funeral policy for a number of years. I have requested to get my copy of the policy for a very long time.
I have been phoning and hanging on for hour, send e-mails with no results. I do not know why these policies are not sent to you when you start paying the policy. Why is it that when they want to sell you the policy they have all the time in the world. When my family needs the policy it will be next to impossible to get it from Edgars. What more must I do to get what belongs to me?
eben wessels Send email
 
Sep 5, 2017

POLICIES

I am paying for a funeral policy for a number of years. I have requested to get my copy of the policy for a very long time.
I have been phoning and hanging on for hour, send e-mails with no results. I do not know why these policies are not sent to you when you start paying the policy. Why is it that when they want to sell you the policy they have all the time in the world. When my family needs the policy it will be next to impossible to get it from Edgars. What more must I do to get what belongs to me?
0603564492 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2017

Fraud

Hello, my name is Agreement Chiloane I have problem with my Ulf I just find out yesterday that edcon manager did a fraud against my personal details after i went there on January 2017 to ask UI19 form. Because I left at edcon on 15 /06/2015 and I started to work other campany where by today I got retrenchment. So please before I take this issue to high solve my problem before is too late. Call me on 0603564492
N.Govender Send email
 
Feb 17, 2017

disgusting service at jets tongaat

I have bought a pair of bedroom slippers Tongaat,after I taken it home I noticed it had a funny smell,went backafter few days and I realised all were like that so decided to return it,the manager at that store said they offline and I can't do it ,need to come another day.....I told her it's difficult for me to Cum all the time cause you guys making it inconvenient....she said even if u come after 30days she will exchange....So anyway I went went 2 days after the 30 days and she gave me attitude....she refused to take the shoe back and everything was in original condition....on that day she gave me so much disrespect nd attitude nd neva exchanged the shoe.....it's a defective and it's unethical to have stock like that on floor...for a manager she didn't know how to carry out herself.....
vuyiseka smith Send email
 
Feb 2, 2017

UI-19

Hi my name is Vuyiseka i used to work for edgars in kenilworth centre,now i work for another company and im pregnant. I went to labour to claim for UIF they told me i must go to edgars to get the UI-19 for and i went to edgars they said i must leave my details they gonna email their HR and get back to me now its been 3 weeks they have not get back to me i even sent their HR 2 emails but there is no responce i dont know if its because i dont work for them now so they treat me like trash

Can you please help me I ran out of option my contact number is 078 2988 493
justMODI Send email
 
Feb 1, 2017

JET IN SIYABUSWA MALL

MRS.PERCY MANAGER AT SIYABUSWA MALL IS TREATING US EMPLOYEES OF JET SIYABUSWA LIKE SLAVES WE SLAVE AWAY IN THAT STORE EVERYDAY AND MOST OF THE TIME WE WONT EVEN BE PUNCHED IN.....THE WORK LOAD IS CRAZY BUT THE FESTIVE SEASON IS LONG GONE......SHE MAKES US DO THINGS THAT ARE NOT SCHEDULED ON THE WORK PROGRAMME,CAN SOMEBODY PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS WOMEN DECEMBER WAS REALLY DIFFICULT AND ONLY BECAUSE OF HER,,,,,,I DONT KNOW HOW SHE CAN GET A CERTIFICATE OF BEING THE BEST MANAGER WHEN SHE IS NOT. WE HAVE DECIDED TO GO TO THE LABOUR OFFICES BECAUSE THIS CAN NOT BE RIGHT PLEASE SOMEBODY DO SOMETHING.PLEASE HELP US!!!! WE NEED THESE JOBS BUT NOT SUCH TREATMENT.
justMODI Send email
 
Feb 1, 2017

OVER WORKED EMPLOYEES

WE NEED HELP!!!!! PLEASE HELP US!!!!! EMPLOYEES OF JET IN SIYABUSWA MALL,WE ARE TRULY SUFFERING.OUR MANAGER TREATS US LIKE SLAVES,WE HAVE TO BE AT WORK AT 8 am BUT WE ONLY PUNCH IN AT 10;00am to 5pm WE PUNCH OUT AT 5pm BUT WE LEAVE THE STORE AT 19;00!!!! THIS IS A DAILY ROUTINE FOR US........WHAT ABOUT THE EXTRA HOURS???? NOBODY PAYS FOR THEM PLEASE HELP US,if house keeping is part of our job, why do we do it after we punch out?? ITS OUT OF CONTROL, WE HAVE DECIDED TO GO TO THE LABOUR COURT IF NOTHING CHANGES BEFORE MONTH END!
linders Send email
 
Nov 10, 2016

NETCARE PHARMACY KUILSRIVER

On the 09/11/2016 myself and fiancé went to the NETCARE PHARACY KUILSRIVER for medication which we always bought on her account.Only to be told by the cashier named Pedro that the EDCON pay facility has been off for months. Not did we only waste our time but to my shocking experience that we were not notified by EDCON at all


I am sure that we not the only customer with this bad experience.


Please advice

ACCOUNT HOLDER:SJ JONES
ADRESS:25 JADE ADAMS CLOSE BELLADONNA BLUEDOWNS CAPE TOWN
CONTACT NUMBER:0794537212
William Mogola Send email
 
Oct 17, 2016

Non refundable issue on cell phone

It not best for the customers bought a phone but camera is not clear then told that is not refund able. This is poor customer service as your policies left us customers without no option but stilling from customer.
charlenekemm Send email
 
Sep 16, 2016

Edcon charging me service fee - Dont agree

Why does it take so long for Edcon to resolve a problem? I am been complaining since August 2016 about this service charge which i do not accept and will not be paying. Been trying to get hold of Shereen Naidoo 15/09/16 & 16/09/16 - holding on for 20 minutes but having to put phone down as im calling from my cell. Spoke to Shereen Naidoo 29/08/2016 after speaking to different of your call centre people which to date has not bothered calling me back about the service fee. I have reported this to the CPA and i will continue making a fuss until someone actually hears me. You send me another statement with the service fee rraised again and as i said before i did not agree to this. I don't care what ERM sys that there is a signature that i accepted the quote. No one discussed this with me. i signed only once on the 29/07/2016 for my purchase of R875. So where did the second signature come from that all of a sudden appears on the system. I believe you took my signature from that purchase and happened to put it on that form. I want answers and would appreciate a return call. As soon as im finished with the statement i am going to close this account as i feel you are trying to rob from people.
Nathy Send email
 
May 11, 2016

Unpaid uif

Hi my name is Nathaniel, I'm want to put a complain about my UNpaid uif. In 2014 I applied for uif and all a got was regrets.they told me that I was late,even though I went to the labour dep from July 2014 the month my contract was terminated.
The last day I went there it was January 2015 16.and they told me my date is overdue. They asked me why I came late,I told them that I was delayed buy the employee for my ui19 papers.
But they told me to go and ask for a letter or explanations to confirm why did the employer sended the papers late.
I had no success frm the employer,
So until now I haven't found my uif payment, because at labour department they say they want the proof or else they won't help me.

Can you please help me because I ran out of options.
My ID is 7701095883084.I leave in Mamelodi, Pretoria

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Fantasy Riches X Sweepstakes - Inability to enter
    Gave them a call from my phone using *67 so they...
    Hallmark channel - Listing movies as series
    I have been a fan of Hallmark and HMM for a long time. But...
    Idea Cellular - No action on request
    I request Idea costmer care to deactivate PRE CALL ...
    cbse - Cbecking of board paper
    I cant secure as low marks as i have got. In these...
    Activity Superstore - Feel I was misled, even conned
    This company do not know the meaning of customer service....
    Renault Tableview - Incorrect mileage log on maintance book
    I 8706130772084 BD Sigasa vin VF15SRAA452466764 Renault...
    Ashford University - Multiple Issues
    1st Ive had several employers tell me that they refuse to...
    wercrypto.com - Scam
    Do not count on the fact that hired people are writing....
    Pall mall 100s in the white pack - Six of the cigarettes was missing the filter
    Yesterday around 630 or 700pm I went to Deli Depot and...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Fantasy Riches X Sweepstakes - Inability to enter
    Gave them a call from my phone using *67 so they...
    Hallmark channel - Listing movies as series
    I have been a fan of Hallmark and HMM for a long time. But...
    Idea Cellular - No action on request
    I request Idea costmer care to deactivate PRE CALL ...
    cbse - Cbecking of board paper
    I cant secure as low marks as i have got. In these...
    Activity Superstore - Feel I was misled, even conned
    This company do not know the meaning of customer service....
    Renault Tableview - Incorrect mileage log on maintance book
    I 8706130772084 BD Sigasa vin VF15SRAA452466764 Renault...
    Ashford University - Multiple Issues
    1st Ive had several employers tell me that they refuse to...
    wercrypto.com - Scam
    Do not count on the fact that hired people are writing....
    Pall mall 100s in the white pack - Six of the cigarettes was missing the filter
    Yesterday around 630 or 700pm I went to Deli Depot and...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username