Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Edcon

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Edcon

winnie007 Send email
 
May 9, 2019

Unable to close Edgars account

Good day

On the 24th of February 2019 I went to Edgars at Birch acres Mall to close my account, I was told to pay the account in full before they can close it and i did as I was told. The cashier put me in contact with their head office and I spoke to a consultant there on the phone and was told the account was closed.

Last week I received a call from Edgars saying I owe R700.00 so I went back to the store again to ask why the account was not closed and I was told to pay the outstanding amount again before it can be closed. I want to close this account because I cant afford it anymore so I want to know what do I need to do for this account to be closed. I don't even know what the R700 is for because I haven't bought anything with the card.


Account number: 6008 1501 1726 4202 030
Email: [email protected]
Makhumalo Send email
 
May 3, 2019

Unfairly treated

On the 02/05/2019,i went to jet stores,Vryheid to buy my Daughter a cell phone for her Birthday on the 03/05/2019. They told me i have to pay R600,in order to be able to buy which i did.but after that they told me my account has a block code R.which they can't remove they called the edcon call center.they gave us the number to call.that number did'nt exist.the ladies and the store manager tried so hard to assist.but they failed.then i went back home i tried calling them myself they told me that the R code has been removed. I went back to the store.yes its was cleared but couldnt buy still i called the lady at the call center again she then told me that i cant use my account anymore.after paying so much money that money i would have used at other shop to buy my Daughter 's Phone this is unfair to an aged person like my self
leoniesw Send email
 
Apr 11, 2019

Pure Bad Service

There has been a deduction on my account which I have not consented to. I have tried calling multiple times but to no avail. The customer care consultants just send you from pillar to post. You spend hours holding the line and nobody bothers to answer. When they eventually do, it's as good as if the didn't because they can't provide you with accurate information.

They keep promising to call back but NOTHING!!!!!!! I have to keep calling to get nowhere.

I have requested proof that I have taken this so called product from the third party and was told it will be given to me within 48 hours. Still nothing. Called to follow up, the system is down and I was put on hold until such time as I eventually hung-up.

I was told that I subscribed for airtime monthly. I haven't even received the so-called airtime yet I'm paying. So I haven't consented to this. They cannot send me the proof of where I have. They declined my refund but no-one bothered to tell me. I only found out when I called to follow up on what's happening.

This is pathetic to say the least.

Please sort this out asap.
Leonie Swartz
[email protected]
geraldine3914 Send email
 
Mar 25, 2019

bad service delivery and unethical regulations

Month end im closing my account at Jet stores in town centre mitchells plain. I cant purchase goods because the store is forever off-line. And if the store is off-line then u cannot purchase because apparently jet cannot see if u have credit. So when ever you go to Jet stores, you must carry previous statements or receipts to show you have credit. I do not know what crap this is. But im fed- up of jet. Cos they permanently off- line. They of no help. I cant purchase.
Barry Khumbuza Send email
 
Mar 25, 2019

BLUE LABEL CONNECT

Good Day,

Can you kindly ask Blue label to reverse all my money they have been taking from my account, i dont have any product with them but hey they keep on debiting my account, when i call them they always promise me someone will contact me from credit department but they again go and debit, this is fraud.
Katli Send email
 
Mar 19, 2019

Complaint

Good day Complaints Department

I am totally annoyed by edgars as I'm being charged an amount of R78 and 49 for AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI , as I did not authorize or request an AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI, kindly reverse these amounts as I did not make any agreement or arrangement for this.

Can those deductions from October 2018 till to date be reversed and be cancelled, as i did not authorize or grant permission for these deductions to be done. One lady called me from Edgar's regarding the data i strictly confirm to her that i am not interested at all it was around June or July but they still went ahead by authorizing it.

Please investigate it and check all calls that were made to me, cause when I check my statement now, it started form October 2018. Till to date. Now I’m getting demand letters and I don’t owe edcon cent as I paid off my acc and bver used it again because I knew I’m going to resign from work and didn’t want debt. I’m so getting annoyed by this , consultant promised to sort it out but is just escalating and amount is getting more and more. I need this stopped right now.
Regards
0797400715
[email protected] Send email
 
Mar 12, 2019

UNAUTHORISED DEBIT

Good day.

Please reverse the subscription that is suddently being deducted from my account. I did not authorise a third party to debit this account.

I would like this reversed, and notification is given today that I want this account closed and service fees reversed.

How reckless of you to let a third party debit my account without my authority. And then when I call your call centre. I get told that an e-mail will be sent to them, and they “should” let me know once this is sorted.

I want this account closed. I have had this account since about 1994. I take exception to this service fee that is now being charged and third parties being allowed to debit my account. I have advised you on more than one occasion that I do not want my details given to third parties. Yet you continue to do so.

Please close this card, and ensure that the necessary reversals are done.

Kind regards

Angela
[email protected] Send email
 
Mar 12, 2019

3RD PARTY DEBIT

Good day.

Please reverse the subscription that is suddently being deducted from my account. I did not authorise a third party to debit this account.

I would like this reversed, and notification is given today that I want this account closed and service fees reversed.

How reckless of you to let a third party debit my account without my authority. And then when I call your call centre. I get told that an e-mail will be sent to them, and they “should” let me know once this is sorted.

I want this account closed. I have had this account since about 1994. I take exception to this service fee that is now being charged and third parties being allowed to debit my account. I have advised you on more than one occasion that I do not want my details given to third parties. Yet you continue to do so.

Please close this card, and ensure that the necessary reversals are done.

Kind regards

Angela
Dinny Send email
 
Mar 10, 2019

Exchange

I went to Edgars in Jabulani Mall this afternoon with the intent of exchanging a dress that is small for a different item of clothing. I am annoyed by the fact that it's so easy for me as a customer to spend money at this store then when i need to exchange for whatever reason I have to deal with incompetent staff members giving stories and not solutions.

It's rather unsettling that a big retail store such as Edgars will not have anyone at a managerial position to oversee what happens at the store or to attend to customer queries.

I don't get why it's a problem that I closed my account and want to be debt free but staff members at this store made me feel like i did a wrong thing by choosing to pay off this account and close it, now for this reason i cant exchange clothing.

How do you have a store manager as well as the assistant off on the same day and proudly give this reason to customers. I am not happy with the store right now and if this is not sorted in the next 24 hours I'm taking this matter further.
ksilwane Send email
 
Mar 6, 2019

New Account

Good day,

I went to the jet store in Rosebank Mall in Johannesburg with an intention to open up a new account, I once hard an account with jet but I settled the account and closed it so I know all requirements needed to open up an account I went with my particulars that I knew will be needed to the store but however the consultant that was assisting me knew nothing of what she was doing it took her 30minutes to retrieve an email of which was not even needed I had my pay slips with me an hour later I walked out from jet with no account no help NOTHING WHAT SO EVER I am not happy with the service I received from that store.

if it is difficult for service consultants to assist us rather introduce online systems to help ourselves because what happened today is totally unacceptable.

Regards,
Keamogetswe Vivian Silwane
ymabena Send email
 
Jan 14, 2019

Unauthorized Billing or charges

Good day Complaints Department

I am totally annoyed by edgars as I'm being charged an amount of R78 and 49 for AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI , as I did not authorize or request an AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI, kindly reverse these amounts as I did not make any agreement or arrangement for this.

Can those deductions from October 2018 till to date be reversed and be cancelled, as i did not authorize or grant permission for these deductions to be done. One lady called me from Edgar's regarding the data i strictly confirm to her that i am not interested at all it was around June or July but they still went ahead by authorizing it.

Please investigate it and check all calls that were made to me, cause when I check my statement now, it started form October 2018. Till to date.

My cell number is 0787816365

Regards
Yolanda
Thobile Maggy Masina Send email
 
Nov 29, 2018

payment

My name is Thobile Maggy Masina I have a complain with Jet store I buy clothes with my account last year December that cost R5,526.87. I pay every month even now that money is still the same. Around June they call me tell me that I join accidend fund, hospitality claim act I wasnt awer of that I tell them that I want my money back I only join funeral plan that cost R45 and they promise to give my money back but now it too long I want to clean my name with Jet . On July this year I go to Jet Store to claim my money they tell me that im behind of my payment bt every month im pay. The cashers they dont have answers when they put you in costumer service they say something that wont happend like letters they wil send so that wil send .
Delene Smith Send email
 
Nov 23, 2018

Edgars R1200 voucher

Received an sms stating that if I purchase for R1200 i would receive a voucher for it. I purchasd goods on the 19 November 2018 its 4 days now I'm still waiting for the voucher. Please help !!!!
Barbara Lourens Send email
 
Nov 19, 2018

R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more

I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will get R1200-00 vouchers bought for over R2000-00 and did not even get 1 cent voucher, the branch advised that the head office will forward me the vouchers, what a laughing matter as they weren't even aware of this so called promotion.
CraigPayne Send email
 
Nov 7, 2018

Bad service and no response from Edgars

I opened an account online 10 days ago and till to date i have not had any feed back, i sat at the east Rand mall Branch for more than 3 hours on 3rd November to find i needed bank statements and payslips, that i sent in then.
I then go to another branch to find out what is the states to find out its still pending, i have driven around and phoned out more than a R1000 airtime between head office and the branch to have no joy and to be told its still pending, they say there is a system error....
For such a big company to have this for more than 6 days is not on, how do they make money if they cant even phone or reply to a client about the outcome of there application, all i want is a yes or no.

I have also email my Statements and payslips to about 5 different people at Edgars Carnival mall, East rand Mall, Head office and a manager named Cheryl Singh.

Still no joy, i think this is the worst service ever as been told turn around time is 24 hours but in this case its going 11 days since i applied.
CraigPayne Send email
 
Nov 7, 2018

Bad service and no feed back

I opened an account online 10 days ago and till to date i have not had any feed back, i sat at the east Rand mall Branch for more than 3 hours on 3rd November to find i needed bank statements and payslips, that i sent in then.
I then go to another branch to find out what is the states to find out its still pending, i have driven around and phoned out more than a R1000 airtime between head office and the branch to have no joy and to be told its still pending, they say there is a system error....
For such a big company to have this for more than 6 days is not on, how do they make money if they cant even phone or reply to a client about the outcome of there application, all i want is a yes or no.

I have also email my Statements and payslips to about 5 different people at Edgars Carnival mall, East rand Mall, Head office and a manager named Cheryl Singh.

Still no joy, i think this is the worst service ever as been told turn around time is 24 hours but in this case its going 11 days since i applied.

I would like to speak to a director regarding this issue as nobody wants to assist or give me contact details....
Mogorosi Mamatlakeng Send email
 
Oct 31, 2018

Incompetent staff costs me money

On the 25th of October I received an SMS from jet stating I can get 200 off if I buy for R500. I made my way to jet Mafikeng in Carrington Street. I did all my shopping and when I got to the counter the cashier Kedibone was clueless of my SMS and called her manager Zack who said to me, that I am not the first customer to come with that SMS and they know nothing of them. I asked them what must happen now since I came all the way and the cashier looked at me like I spoke some foreign language (confused) I asked again and Zack said he is going to log and call and has no idea how long it is going to take to get an answer.
I asked Zack what is going to happen he said he has no idea, can u believe a manager who cannot take an initiative to ask for my numbers to call me back he just left me there with the also clueless cashier.
I said to her please take my details so u can call me once this has been solved and she reluctantly took my details which she tossed asside on the counter and I asked myself how will she know or remember to call with a lot of papers on her desk.
I left my things with her showing them the expiration of the special which was the 28th and they just looked at it.
All weekend I received no call from the branch and Monday I called customer care to complain and the consultant told me I would get a call back with on 48 hours with reference number 18102901261/GO I asked who is going to call me she said either they will call or the branch.
Later on Monday I received a call from Jet Mafikeng mall only to find the complaint was sent to the wrong branch and the manager forwarded it to the correct branch.i shortly received a call from the correct beach from a guy who I was unable to write down his name but said he was not there when I was there and Zack would call me the following day which was Tuesday, I was still surprised that if this guy was also the manager why isn't he taking over the complain. Anyway Tuesday came and went and today which is Wednesday 6:58pm I have yet to receive a call from Zack.

What is happening at Jet it seems all the people who work the need training on how to handle such situations. This platform is my last attempt to get help because I was cheated off my R200 off discount and I demand to get help I'm order to resolve this matter. I want my discount,i went to jet with in the given time. Hold your staff accountable.

I will be taking this up with hellopeter if I don't get the correct assistant that I deserved.

Unhappy customer

0786036414
Mamatlakeng Matsie
Tpillay Send email
 
Oct 27, 2018

Unethical Sales tactics

Hi,

Today (27/10/2018) I went to check out some concealer and foundation shades at your Black Up counter at Edgars in centurion mall. I was approached by a friendly consultant by the name of Florence. I told her I was looking for concealer and foundation. I did not know my current shade. She asked me to have a seat while she was finishing up with another customer. I assumed she was going to assist me with finding the right shade for my skin tone.

Whilst waiting another consultant removed my existing make up (without asking me first if it was ok), as instructed by Florence. Once she was done with the other lady Florence proceed to apply foundation not before taking a picture of me yet again without my permission. She said that was to prove she is working which I found a strange practice by Black Opal. She went on to give me a "make over'' without asking if I wanted one or even telling me that I would either need to buy the foundation or pay a fee of R350 for this "make over". Which in my opinion was just mediocre, every day make up.Which I did not even love. I removed some make up with a tissue whilst still in the store.

Before I was able to have a look at my face she asked if I am only taking the foundation. I said that I do not normally buy foundation immediately after a trial. I take a day to see if the shade suites me. She told my sister I have to buy something whilst I was looking in the mirror. She gave me an ultimatum of you either buy something or you pay a fee of R350 for the "make over" which I found ridiculous as I was just doing grocery shopping and then going home.

I am a fan of Black Up products and now I am just annoyed and disgusted by the unethical sales practices a member of your staff took today. I am an entrepreneur myself and I cannot imagine any of my staff displaying such forceful tactics to make a sale at risk of my company's reputation. Totally Unacceptable! I am not sure if this kind of sly behavior is part of their training, if so that needs to change.

I was embarrassed and just bought any product just to get out of the store. As she made me feel like a thief in front of other customers. I had every intention of purchasing the foundation the next day, if I was satisfied but unfortunately I did not have that choice.

I have never experienced such treatment at a cosmetic counter before. I am not the type of person to complain easily and I do not want to post this on Facebook. However If this matter is not handled correctly I will have to escalate it further.

I look forward to your reply.

Kind Regards,
Telishia Pillay
hendrikpretorius Send email
 
Oct 23, 2018

NO FEEDBACK FROM EDCON

TRYING TO RESOLVE AN ACCOUNT NOT EXISTING ON JET STORES SYSTEM GAVE ALL DETAILS TO EDCON NO RESPONSE I AM IN THE PROCESS OF SUING YOU AND JET FOR PUTTING MY NAME IN BAD CREDIT FOR NO REASON


YOU ARE THE WORST COMPANY EVER AND I WILL POST THIS EVERYWHERE I CAN TO MAKE YOUR NAME BAD !!!!!!!


0824442531
Londeka Send email
 
Oct 16, 2018

Cashier with attitude

I was at the POS waiting in the queue and the cahier by the name of Mbalenhle Makhathini in jet mart way street Durban.. had a atinking attitude and she talks too much ,so she then called for the next customer I head to her till point and then she looks at me and calls the next customer again. When I told her I'm already here she tells me I'm not standing there I'm here.. I asked how am I supposed to know where to stand as a customer as I am not a jet employees, this is how she responded" How is that my problem you should have seen that this is where I'm cashing" she kept going on and on talking saying shes not left handed. That girl talks toouvj and she chats back she was very rude. I then said can I have my purchase please? She wouldn't give it she was holding the package talking none stop I stood there listening to her yelling at me about how I should have stood by her desk.. I'm aouch disappointed that Edcon as a well known company that is very crucial when it comes to its customers they still keeping employees like that. Who can't even apologise and rectify their mistakes. That Mbalenhle girl is so proud and thinks she owns Edcon.. this happened- 16/10/2018 around 9
Maluba Send email
 
Oct 4, 2018

Long queues, Speedpoint not work and bad attitude from cashier.

Jet Southgate had two 3 cashiers working on Month end. After 15 min of waiting someone shouts out that the speed points are not working. Meaning they want cash only.

I get to the till the cashier asks again if I have cash. I was mad at this point. I’m like did you not just shout at your customers that after 20min of standing you only take cash. You asking again. I’m telling you this Lady was so rude to me. She says I look unhappy and angry. I said to her please don’t telling me about me. Instead of keeping quite she goes on and on. If you behind the counter you most defenity don’t argue with a customer. No manager or supervisor onsite for me to express how I feel about this store. Nkosinathi Mathebula girl you don’t know what good customer service is.

Long queues, Speedpoint not work and bad attitude from cashier.

MarleneJoseph Send email
 
Sep 30, 2018

Long queues at Clearwater mall

Month end = Customer service desk = Long queues = Only Two cashiers. Doesn’t add up!!!! Edgars Clearwater Mall
SEO00025 Send email
 
Sep 25, 2018

Cell phone Insurance

I took my wife's phone for water damage on June of which I received on the 25 July 2018, and I took it back on the 31 Jul 2018 again because it wasn't charging. Since that day I haven't receive that phone. And I only receive different stories from the store (Jet mart Klerksdorp)
The last time when I speek to Finrite assistant she told me that I have to pay onother R400 access fee, Because the phone wasn't booked for water damage on the first Claim

I did send mail to edcon complains but with luck, no response from them.
Acc: 7006600100148863527
I'D: 7804 18 015 7086
ACCOUNT HOLDER : ITUMELENG SILVIA SEOMA
CELL : 0731081090
Email : [email protected]
Naledi Send email
 
Jul 26, 2018

Exploitation of employees

Hello my name is Naledi Skhungwini from Kroonstad and my mom is one of the managers of an Edcon Jet small concept store in Viljoenskroonshe is working very hard and doesn't get any sit days because she does not have enough workers in her store and her admin manager also resigned recently so she always has to be at work . I think this is not fair at all my mother is always exhausted and she doesnt have time for her family. My mother I the only person I have in my life and I can't lose her simply because she's exploited at her workplace
[email protected] Send email
 
Jul 25, 2018

service

good day


My namer is Tracy Makofane, i bought a phone on the 5th of this month and it broke it got a black screen now, i went to Jet store
at kriel to return it for reparis the manager told me i must send it Vodacom shop for repairs, but the phone its got a warranty although
the insurence is still on waiting period

please assist me if this is new procedure,

my e mail is [email protected]

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    EDCON/JET - New Account
    I went to open a new clothing account at Jet on the 11th...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Stuck 10 hari
    ERA134522560MY ERA134513700MY Stuck dri 14hb. Nak...
    Unifi billing sysytem - Wrong charging
    23/5/2019 Pengurusan Kredit & Kutipan Telekom...
    cbse - Complaining about revaluation
    I'm Shreyansh Agarwal and I had once got my copies...
    POS LAJU - Late delivery
    Item shipped on the 18th May 2019. Consignment dispatched...
    apple couture kebaya lateefa - Barang belum terima
    Barang saya belum terima sehingga sekarang Tracking no...
    Microsoft OneDrive - Unauthorized access to OneDrive
    This evening, shortly after 20:00 someone accessed my...
    MasterCraft/French doors - Leaking
    I bought a set of outside French doors for my kitchen...
    Nor Cal Truck sales - reseller
    A re seller of Google services has contacted me and has...
    Tele- Aid by Mercedez Benz - discontinue service and refund to credit card
    Dear Sir/ Madam, I would like to discontinue the tele-...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    EDCON/JET - New Account
    I went to open a new clothing account at Jet on the 11th...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Stuck 10 hari
    ERA134522560MY ERA134513700MY Stuck dri 14hb. Nak...
    Unifi billing sysytem - Wrong charging
    23/5/2019 Pengurusan Kredit & Kutipan Telekom...
    cbse - Complaining about revaluation
    I'm Shreyansh Agarwal and I had once got my copies...
    POS LAJU - Late delivery
    Item shipped on the 18th May 2019. Consignment dispatched...
    apple couture kebaya lateefa - Barang belum terima
    Barang saya belum terima sehingga sekarang Tracking no...
    Microsoft OneDrive - Unauthorized access to OneDrive
    This evening, shortly after 20:00 someone accessed my...
    MasterCraft/French doors - Leaking
    I bought a set of outside French doors for my kitchen...
    Nor Cal Truck sales - reseller
    A re seller of Google services has contacted me and has...
    Tele- Aid by Mercedez Benz - discontinue service and refund to credit card
    Dear Sir/ Madam, I would like to discontinue the tele-...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username