Submit a Complaint

Edcon

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Edcon

Mpho Seoka Send email
 
Sep 16, 2019

Bad Service

I bought shoes at jet on the 11th of September and due to size went to exchange them on the 15th of september. When I got there Sibongile Mzobe told me that they dont refund but give gift vouchers, told her that I dont want a gift voucher but my money because I bought them cash. She said she was going to speak with her manager, she came back and told me that she agreed. I asked her nicely that she shows me where its written on the receipt and with an ATTITUDE she said am not supposed to take the receipt and I told her that I just want her to show me so that next time I wont come back again but she failed to do so. Her manager came to overide she didnt even greet me. I am really dissapointed with the service I got from Sibongile and when I tell her that she has an attitude she responded and said I also have one the manager heard that but she didnt perform her management duties and apologise for that she just went back to where she was coming from. I WANT HER TO APOLOGISE TO ME FACE TO FACE AS WELL AS HER MANAGER AND THEY MUST LEARN HOW TO TREAT THEIR CUSTOMER WITH RESPECT.
Benita Botha Send email
 
Aug 10, 2019

JET and their partner protection plan

All JET card account holders. Please check your account statements. I have been paying for a second card called PARTNER protection plan for a year before I realized it. I phoned, complained, went to The Grove Shop, phone from there. An at the moment I am phoning again so that they refund me on the protection plan I shouldn't have paid from the start.
Very disappointing and I do not think I am the only one out there paying for this and shouldn't.
Check your statement !
All the client service people is very helpful but they don't get anywhere with the money people who owes me.
My advice - Take your money to PnP, Woolwoths or buy cash!
Shenay bujram Send email
 
Jul 25, 2019

Jets refused to see faulty devise

I recently bought a phone from jets on account and it was faulty and I returned to jets with it and they refused to check my device. I had no other option but to take it elsewhere for repairs. They have told me it can't be repaired anymore. How can I continue my payment at jets if my phone is not working??? Please if someone will attend to my matter it will appreciated!!!
Nhlamulo Send email
 
Jul 18, 2019

Edcon Group account Fraud and non Rica Compliant

Lots of inside job accounts fraud for Edcon Group. Fraud done on my card while I had my card with me. 1. My email statement was disabled It was changed to post. 2. Edcon Group is not Rica compliant, because my account was used to purchase a cellphone to the value of R6000. 00 without ID or proof of address required in Edgar's Maphonya. All happens while I had my card with me. I only realized when I find out that my installment is abnormal. People be worned with Edcon Group accounts, make sure u always check your statements.
Camngca Mda Send email
 
Jul 15, 2019

Edcon misleading customers in opening accounts

On 11 July, I was called by an agent working on behalf of Edcon. He advised me that I have R2000 available to spend at any Edcon store, and that in order to be able to do so, I'd have to unblock an account that I previously had with Edgars. I then told the agent that I am not interested in having any form of clothing account. The agent then advised me that this was just a credit amount that I have, which I could use with no terms and conditions tied to it, and after using it I could just close the account. After expressing my reservations for a long period of time, the agent eventually convinced me that this was money that I had to spend, which accumulated over the past few years from points and reward, and there were no conditions tied to it and he just simply needed to open my account for me to be able to use this earned amount, and then I could close it there after. After opening the account, I learnt that I was actually mislead into opening a credit card account. I reported this to the head office, and the manager for the relevant department called me back to tell me that they would train the agent, and that there is nothing that could be done to remedy my situation. I believe that the right thing for Edcon to do would be to fulfill what the agent said to me because I now have an account that I did not want, and have been mislead. Furthermore, an investigation on whether others have not been mislead should be done, because people may be spending money that they do not have. Lastly, the agent needs to be trained to accurately represent the facts and not manipulate and mislead customers.

Agent I spoke to: Evans
Head office correspondence with: Brian
Manager who called to tell me that they would not remedy my situation: Mpala
[email protected] Send email
 
Jun 30, 2019

Unfairly treated at Jet mart inner court

I opened an account at Jet Calton centre and it was approved same day and following day i tried to activate the card but because I was rushing to work decided i will do it the following day. The following day early in the morning i went to activate the account in inner court in johannesburg and the consultant gave me attitude and got my account blocked without even askig me any questions to make her get an unsatisfactory answer from me and this was very unacceptable for me.

I think the lady deserves to be punished for unfairly treating me in this way.
Franklin Simmers Send email
 
Jun 18, 2019

Blacklisted

Good day

I tried to send an email 2 edcon HR and im not receiving one response from them. I have worked for edcon almost 6 years and i am not with them anymore.
I lost my job due to something that happend..
Last year i received calls from legal that i was handed over for an account i dont know about.. I had n stuff account and i was never informed that they were going to transfer my credit from my staff account to n new account.
Is that possible if they dont inform you or let you know. The statements i receive shows i have n R1 account..

When i phone customer services, they told me that i have 2 accounts by them that i just know about the one.
I want to know what i can do about this problem and who can i talk to, because this is not my fault that the people off edcon, can't do they're job right for not informing people.

I cant pay something that is not signed by me, or pay for something i was not informed about.

Please let me know.

[email protected]

Regards
Franklin
Katli Send email
 
Jun 17, 2019

Unauthorized purchases or billing

So edcon is busy billing me for airtime and data I never requested or revived for that matter, I have been telling them I never took such and they must reverse all this and they assure me every time that it is solved but I keep getting messages like this -Please remember that payment on your Edcon Acc no. 7006600100144983055 is due today. Even though this may seem a small amount. I EVEN Went to jet store to enquire but they couldn’t help me much they just said send email again . I don’t know how else to stop this as is ruining my credit because apparently it appears as thou I’m defaulting on my credit. I don’t owe edcon cent but my name gets ruined due to incompetence. It’s been happening since dec when some consultants kept calling offering this data I never took claiming it’s free and they testing the system. Next I’m taking edcon to ombudsman if they don’t cancel all of this
winnie007 Send email
 
May 9, 2019

Unable to close Edgars account

Good day

On the 24th of February 2019 I went to Edgars at Birch acres Mall to close my account, I was told to pay the account in full before they can close it and i did as I was told. The cashier put me in contact with their head office and I spoke to a consultant there on the phone and was told the account was closed.

Last week I received a call from Edgars saying I owe R700.00 so I went back to the store again to ask why the account was not closed and I was told to pay the outstanding amount again before it can be closed. I want to close this account because I cant afford it anymore so I want to know what do I need to do for this account to be closed. I don't even know what the R700 is for because I haven't bought anything with the card.


Account number: 6008 1501 1726 4202 030
Email: [email protected]
Makhumalo Send email
 
May 3, 2019

Unfairly treated

On the 02/05/2019,i went to jet stores,Vryheid to buy my Daughter a cell phone for her Birthday on the 03/05/2019. They told me i have to pay R600,in order to be able to buy which i did.but after that they told me my account has a block code R.which they can't remove they called the edcon call center.they gave us the number to call.that number did'nt exist.the ladies and the store manager tried so hard to assist.but they failed.then i went back home i tried calling them myself they told me that the R code has been removed. I went back to the store.yes its was cleared but couldnt buy still i called the lady at the call center again she then told me that i cant use my account anymore.after paying so much money that money i would have used at other shop to buy my Daughter 's Phone this is unfair to an aged person like my self
leoniesw Send email
 
Apr 11, 2019

Pure Bad Service

There has been a deduction on my account which I have not consented to. I have tried calling multiple times but to no avail. The customer care consultants just send you from pillar to post. You spend hours holding the line and nobody bothers to answer. When they eventually do, it's as good as if the didn't because they can't provide you with accurate information.

They keep promising to call back but NOTHING!!!!!!! I have to keep calling to get nowhere.

I have requested proof that I have taken this so called product from the third party and was told it will be given to me within 48 hours. Still nothing. Called to follow up, the system is down and I was put on hold until such time as I eventually hung-up.

I was told that I subscribed for airtime monthly. I haven't even received the so-called airtime yet I'm paying. So I haven't consented to this. They cannot send me the proof of where I have. They declined my refund but no-one bothered to tell me. I only found out when I called to follow up on what's happening.

This is pathetic to say the least.

Please sort this out asap.
Leonie Swartz
[email protected]
geraldine3914 Send email
 
Mar 25, 2019

bad service delivery and unethical regulations

Month end im closing my account at Jet stores in town centre mitchells plain. I cant purchase goods because the store is forever off-line. And if the store is off-line then u cannot purchase because apparently jet cannot see if u have credit. So when ever you go to Jet stores, you must carry previous statements or receipts to show you have credit. I do not know what crap this is. But im fed- up of jet. Cos they permanently off- line. They of no help. I cant purchase.
Barry Khumbuza Send email
 
Mar 25, 2019

BLUE LABEL CONNECT

Good Day,

Can you kindly ask Blue label to reverse all my money they have been taking from my account, i dont have any product with them but hey they keep on debiting my account, when i call them they always promise me someone will contact me from credit department but they again go and debit, this is fraud.
Katli Send email
 
Mar 19, 2019

Complaint

Good day Complaints Department

I am totally annoyed by edgars as I'm being charged an amount of R78 and 49 for AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI , as I did not authorize or request an AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI, kindly reverse these amounts as I did not make any agreement or arrangement for this.

Can those deductions from October 2018 till to date be reversed and be cancelled, as i did not authorize or grant permission for these deductions to be done. One lady called me from Edgar's regarding the data i strictly confirm to her that i am not interested at all it was around June or July but they still went ahead by authorizing it.

Please investigate it and check all calls that were made to me, cause when I check my statement now, it started form October 2018. Till to date. Now I’m getting demand letters and I don’t owe edcon cent as I paid off my acc and bver used it again because I knew I’m going to resign from work and didn’t want debt. I’m so getting annoyed by this , consultant promised to sort it out but is just escalating and amount is getting more and more. I need this stopped right now.
Regards
0797400715
[email protected] Send email
 
Mar 12, 2019

UNAUTHORISED DEBIT

Good day.

Please reverse the subscription that is suddently being deducted from my account. I did not authorise a third party to debit this account.

I would like this reversed, and notification is given today that I want this account closed and service fees reversed.

How reckless of you to let a third party debit my account without my authority. And then when I call your call centre. I get told that an e-mail will be sent to them, and they “should” let me know once this is sorted.

I want this account closed. I have had this account since about 1994. I take exception to this service fee that is now being charged and third parties being allowed to debit my account. I have advised you on more than one occasion that I do not want my details given to third parties. Yet you continue to do so.

Please close this card, and ensure that the necessary reversals are done.

Kind regards

Angela
[email protected] Send email
 
Mar 12, 2019

3RD PARTY DEBIT

Good day.

Please reverse the subscription that is suddently being deducted from my account. I did not authorise a third party to debit this account.

I would like this reversed, and notification is given today that I want this account closed and service fees reversed.

How reckless of you to let a third party debit my account without my authority. And then when I call your call centre. I get told that an e-mail will be sent to them, and they “should” let me know once this is sorted.

I want this account closed. I have had this account since about 1994. I take exception to this service fee that is now being charged and third parties being allowed to debit my account. I have advised you on more than one occasion that I do not want my details given to third parties. Yet you continue to do so.

Please close this card, and ensure that the necessary reversals are done.

Kind regards

Angela
Dinny Send email
 
Mar 10, 2019

Exchange

I went to Edgars in Jabulani Mall this afternoon with the intent of exchanging a dress that is small for a different item of clothing. I am annoyed by the fact that it's so easy for me as a customer to spend money at this store then when i need to exchange for whatever reason I have to deal with incompetent staff members giving stories and not solutions.

It's rather unsettling that a big retail store such as Edgars will not have anyone at a managerial position to oversee what happens at the store or to attend to customer queries.

I don't get why it's a problem that I closed my account and want to be debt free but staff members at this store made me feel like i did a wrong thing by choosing to pay off this account and close it, now for this reason i cant exchange clothing.

How do you have a store manager as well as the assistant off on the same day and proudly give this reason to customers. I am not happy with the store right now and if this is not sorted in the next 24 hours I'm taking this matter further.
ksilwane Send email
 
Mar 6, 2019

New Account

Good day,

I went to the jet store in Rosebank Mall in Johannesburg with an intention to open up a new account, I once hard an account with jet but I settled the account and closed it so I know all requirements needed to open up an account I went with my particulars that I knew will be needed to the store but however the consultant that was assisting me knew nothing of what she was doing it took her 30minutes to retrieve an email of which was not even needed I had my pay slips with me an hour later I walked out from jet with no account no help NOTHING WHAT SO EVER I am not happy with the service I received from that store.

if it is difficult for service consultants to assist us rather introduce online systems to help ourselves because what happened today is totally unacceptable.

Regards,
Keamogetswe Vivian Silwane
ymabena Send email
 
Jan 14, 2019

Unauthorized Billing or charges

Good day Complaints Department

I am totally annoyed by edgars as I'm being charged an amount of R78 and 49 for AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI , as I did not authorize or request an AIRTIME/DATA SUBSCRIPTION and SMS AIR SUBSCRI, kindly reverse these amounts as I did not make any agreement or arrangement for this.

Can those deductions from October 2018 till to date be reversed and be cancelled, as i did not authorize or grant permission for these deductions to be done. One lady called me from Edgar's regarding the data i strictly confirm to her that i am not interested at all it was around June or July but they still went ahead by authorizing it.

Please investigate it and check all calls that were made to me, cause when I check my statement now, it started form October 2018. Till to date.

My cell number is 0787816365

Regards
Yolanda
Thobile Maggy Masina Send email
 
Nov 29, 2018

payment

My name is Thobile Maggy Masina I have a complain with Jet store I buy clothes with my account last year December that cost R5,526.87. I pay every month even now that money is still the same. Around June they call me tell me that I join accidend fund, hospitality claim act I wasnt awer of that I tell them that I want my money back I only join funeral plan that cost R45 and they promise to give my money back but now it too long I want to clean my name with Jet . On July this year I go to Jet Store to claim my money they tell me that im behind of my payment bt every month im pay. The cashers they dont have answers when they put you in costumer service they say something that wont happend like letters they wil send so that wil send .
Delene Smith Send email
 
Nov 23, 2018

Edgars R1200 voucher

Received an sms stating that if I purchase for R1200 i would receive a voucher for it. I purchasd goods on the 19 November 2018 its 4 days now I'm still waiting for the voucher. Please help !!!!
Barbara Lourens Send email
 
Nov 19, 2018

R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more

I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will get R1200-00 vouchers bought for over R2000-00 and did not even get 1 cent voucher, the branch advised that the head office will forward me the vouchers, what a laughing matter as they weren't even aware of this so called promotion.
CraigPayne Send email
 
Nov 7, 2018

Bad service and no response from Edgars

I opened an account online 10 days ago and till to date i have not had any feed back, i sat at the east Rand mall Branch for more than 3 hours on 3rd November to find i needed bank statements and payslips, that i sent in then.
I then go to another branch to find out what is the states to find out its still pending, i have driven around and phoned out more than a R1000 airtime between head office and the branch to have no joy and to be told its still pending, they say there is a system error....
For such a big company to have this for more than 6 days is not on, how do they make money if they cant even phone or reply to a client about the outcome of there application, all i want is a yes or no.

I have also email my Statements and payslips to about 5 different people at Edgars Carnival mall, East rand Mall, Head office and a manager named Cheryl Singh.

Still no joy, i think this is the worst service ever as been told turn around time is 24 hours but in this case its going 11 days since i applied.
CraigPayne Send email
 
Nov 7, 2018

Bad service and no feed back

I opened an account online 10 days ago and till to date i have not had any feed back, i sat at the east Rand mall Branch for more than 3 hours on 3rd November to find i needed bank statements and payslips, that i sent in then.
I then go to another branch to find out what is the states to find out its still pending, i have driven around and phoned out more than a R1000 airtime between head office and the branch to have no joy and to be told its still pending, they say there is a system error....
For such a big company to have this for more than 6 days is not on, how do they make money if they cant even phone or reply to a client about the outcome of there application, all i want is a yes or no.

I have also email my Statements and payslips to about 5 different people at Edgars Carnival mall, East rand Mall, Head office and a manager named Cheryl Singh.

Still no joy, i think this is the worst service ever as been told turn around time is 24 hours but in this case its going 11 days since i applied.

I would like to speak to a director regarding this issue as nobody wants to assist or give me contact details....
Mogorosi Mamatlakeng Send email
 
Oct 31, 2018

Incompetent staff costs me money

On the 25th of October I received an SMS from jet stating I can get 200 off if I buy for R500. I made my way to jet Mafikeng in Carrington Street. I did all my shopping and when I got to the counter the cashier Kedibone was clueless of my SMS and called her manager Zack who said to me, that I am not the first customer to come with that SMS and they know nothing of them. I asked them what must happen now since I came all the way and the cashier looked at me like I spoke some foreign language (confused) I asked again and Zack said he is going to log and call and has no idea how long it is going to take to get an answer.
I asked Zack what is going to happen he said he has no idea, can u believe a manager who cannot take an initiative to ask for my numbers to call me back he just left me there with the also clueless cashier.
I said to her please take my details so u can call me once this has been solved and she reluctantly took my details which she tossed asside on the counter and I asked myself how will she know or remember to call with a lot of papers on her desk.
I left my things with her showing them the expiration of the special which was the 28th and they just looked at it.
All weekend I received no call from the branch and Monday I called customer care to complain and the consultant told me I would get a call back with on 48 hours with reference number 18102901261/GO I asked who is going to call me she said either they will call or the branch.
Later on Monday I received a call from Jet Mafikeng mall only to find the complaint was sent to the wrong branch and the manager forwarded it to the correct branch.i shortly received a call from the correct beach from a guy who I was unable to write down his name but said he was not there when I was there and Zack would call me the following day which was Tuesday, I was still surprised that if this guy was also the manager why isn't he taking over the complain. Anyway Tuesday came and went and today which is Wednesday 6:58pm I have yet to receive a call from Zack.

What is happening at Jet it seems all the people who work the need training on how to handle such situations. This platform is my last attempt to get help because I was cheated off my R200 off discount and I demand to get help I'm order to resolve this matter. I want my discount,i went to jet with in the given time. Hold your staff accountable.

I will be taking this up with hellopeter if I don't get the correct assistant that I deserved.

Unhappy customer

0786036414
Mamatlakeng Matsie

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username