Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

FGUA

United States,
Florida

Consumer complaints and reviews about FGUA

scaappraisals2000@yahoo.com Send email
 
Jun 5, 2018

No credit for bill paid

I have paid every water bill to FGUA this year, and in April they cashed my check, and did not credit my account. I went in there with cancelled check and showed on the next statement where they did not credit my account, but cashed the check. They said they would look into it. Now every month since then my bill has been double because they refused to credit my account for the check they cashed. I am receiving threats for cut off of service, If I don't pay a double bill. By the way in May, unknowningly about this situation, I did pay a double bill, and I am being billed double again. They refuse to correct the situation when I am in their office, keep saying they will look into it, but never do. I have had it with them. Is someone going to look into this or do I just get an attorney and sue FGUA. If I have to sue them it will be for a lot more than the $100 + water bill they will not credit me for.
klitt Send email
 
Feb 21, 2018

Billed for service not performed

Hello,

I contacted FGUA this morning to see if I could possibly have an extension to pay my bill. To make a long story short I was told I was on the cut off list and could pay today.

I was cut off and had to call back to see if that was ok and if I wouldn't be shut off, when I reached another person I was told I had to pay my bill plus $125.00 for a re-connect fee? My water had not been shut off at this time....

I argued that they were making me pay for a service they had not performed but they still made me pay for it...

Then still not cut off after paying the customer service lady stated that they still had to come out and service our home......I stated that my water was not shut off so that was not necessary.

Now 1/2 hour later my water gets shut off?????

It has since been turned back on after a while but I was made to pay for a service that was not performed at the time of payment and should not have been carried out just so they can claim they did it.....THIS IS WRONG and I would like my $125.00 returned..
louisdaquino Send email
 
Jan 18, 2018

Overbilling

These people are nuts. I live alone and they have me down for using over 9,000 gallons of water the same month they installed new meters. My $50 bill went to $120. This company has been ripping people off for years. House has been checked and there are no leaks. Somebody in our local government should fix this.
SergiyO Send email
 
Jan 12, 2018

Overbilling

Overbilling. Horrible Costumer Service. Avoided helping costumer until demanded.
My usual bill is around 45$ per month. Over the sudden I get a high bill in the 80's. I assume they are adjusting underpaid usage, since they guesstimate the usage and that's for sure: since 2 month in the row it'll be 44.3 or next 3 month same bill 36.77... and then I get two 88.55$ exact same overbilling 2 month in the row. When I call to find out what is the issue, in a professional manner, I get a rude costumer service lady. Instead of helping, she tried to blame me (her name is CARLA)... There is no leak, the new bill is back down to $60 and that's after I power pressure washed the house and deck (and still less, then when I was not even home a lot for the high bill). Now they want to charge me fees because I refuse to overpay. 1 person same house, no change, doesn't warrant 250% spike in billing 2 times in the row.

To me it should be simple. Check the issue, provide good costumer service, I don't even mind overpaying a little. But they can't even get that right. Rude and unprofessional. Still waiting for a manager to call back. Planning on going there in person. Ridicules company and horrible costumer support ethics.
SergiyO Send email
 
Jan 12, 2018

Overbilling

My usual bill is around 45$ per month. Over the sudden I get a high bill in the 80's. I assume they are adjusting underpaid usage, since they guesstimate the usage and that's for sure: since 2 month in the row it'll be 44.3 or next 3 month same bill 36.77... and then I get two 88.55$ exact same overbilling 2 month in the row. When I call to find out what is the issue, in a professional manner, I get a rude costumer service lady. Instead of helping, she tried to blame me (her name is CARLA)... There is no leak, the new bill is back down to $60 and that's after I power pressure washed the house and deck (and still less, then when I was not even home a lot for the high bill).

To me it should be simple. Check the issue, provide good costumer service, I don't even mind overpaying a little. But they can't even get that right. Rude and unprofessional. Still waiting for a manager to call back. Planning on going there in person. Ridicules company and horrible costumer support ethics.
Deal195 Send email
 
Oct 17, 2017

Inviting themselves to come on my property without me knowing it and digging up my yard and putting the blue water pipe in

October 16th 2017 12:30 p.m. me and a friend come home to find quite a few men tearing up my yard with shovels putting in blue plastic water pipe from the front of the yard to all the way to the back of the yard 50 ft long digging hole without giving me a notice of they're coming to do it on this day they damaged some of my fence that I put up a couple of weeks ago they were very rude when talking to them didn't care for my property didn't put some of the stone that I had back in the ground totally no respect from these people that fgua hired to come on my property have a little respect for the community we do pay taxes and we do drink your lousy water
Beto239 Send email
 
Oct 12, 2017

Horrible costumer service

Worst costumer service ever Xiomara is always so rude and disrespectful on the phone. I asked for a manager and a corporate number refused and put me on hold forever.
BTMOTORS1 Send email
 
Aug 15, 2017

water

they are refusing to turn on my water because I do not have ownership or lease But I do have adverse possession paper work where I filed with the county the property been abandon . Can any HELP OR DOES THIS HAVE TO GO TO COURT?
S.D. Send email
 
Aug 8, 2017

Overcharge and VERY rude/unfriendly

The rudest customer service professionals(if that's what you want to call them) that I have ever dealt with, plus my bill quintupled, $38 to $306, then back down to $38, in one month to the next. It's 8:30am, as I walk into the 12x12 waiting room of FGUA on Perrine Ranch. I ask the lady (Teresa, who refused to provide her last name as she stated, "I'm the only Teresa here, and you're not getting my last name", so I cannot accurately report the person i spoke with) at the front desk if we can review the bill, and as I start to explain, she cuts me off, and "DEMANDS" information. Not even a response to my greeting of "good morning, how are you". As I begin to give her information to pull up the account, meanwhile, she is holding a copy of my bill in her hand, I can tell she is automatically put herself in a defensive position, like she knows how bad the company is.

So, my water bill has been less than 5,000 gals for the first 7 months of the annual cycle, and then the last 4 months, the house has been vacant showing zero gals of usage, and my bill was $40 average. Then i get a call stating my water bill is out of the ordinary for usage. They complete a leak test at the meter -no issues, no leaks in the house, no tampering with water by strangers, and no-one living in home. My bill showed 24,000 gals of usage. So, with an annual run rate of less than 5,000 gals, and no issues detected, i am being told that they will not adjust or research the issue, unless i request it, which i did. They are doing an accuracy test, but only after i showed up in person to discuss the bill. Why not do it first thing when you noticed the bill was extraordinarily high, with zero reasoning for it? All the excuses they gave me(i.e. watering grass, filling pool, water softeners, etc.) to increase the water bill, did not fit the mold of the property. I mean c'mon, it's an 1,100 sqft home with two bathrooms. It's almost impossible to use that much water for 2 people at pretty small home. It just doesn't make sense that FGUA wouldn't even take a common sense approach to this. Needless to say, this is going to be a long uphill battle with this terrible governmental utility authority.
signofwater Send email
 
Jul 15, 2017

Overcharge & Threat of more charges

I have owned my home now for 1 year and 10 months. In this time I have never received an accurate monthly statement and have paid every bill on time. I have received 3 large bills for actual consumption and the rest have been "estimates" that go up and down monthly. The first was supposed to fix the problem so I paid...it did not. The second large bill I called the office about and after speaking with several people I was able to get an adjustment and assurance that the statements would be accurate going forward. That was a lie. So, this past month I get a statement with a large bill and call again. After two weeks of waiting for a return phone call I finally spoke with Shannon after calling her office. She said that she made all the adjustments she could, including the miscalculated taxes I had to find. I said last time this happened I paid less, so why is it so high this time and why does this keep happening? She looked up my last adjustment and said that there was a clerical error and if I brought it up to her supervisor they would correct the error and charge me even more. Wow. So I just paid. What else am I supposed to do. I'm held hostage, I can't afford any more so I tuck my tail between my legs and pay. I feel like I'm being threatened into compliance with a service company that gives me random bills and at random times and for some reason can't provide me with an accurate statement. And the kicker is I'm stuck, I can't go to a different company or complain to anyone that can do anything for me. It's like I'm getting my drinking water from the mob...pay the amount we say when we say or else it's gonna cost more.
michelleRogers Send email
 
Mar 31, 2017

OVER CHARGED

My family member has fgua he's a home owner disabled from massive heart attack
He has not had running water with this compamy in over a year his normal bill was around 20 a month ,,they say he had water link but we had it inspected and no leaks we even changed old pipes and more ..now he has a bill for around
3000 and not had water in a year cause he's disabled with serve brain injury's he can't work and pay these high bills ..can some one please tell me what I can do to help him get his water back on ..this company is a rip off they want 300 to turn it back on and 200 month for something he does not owe ..one month they charged him over 800 dollars for one month ..I bought old pipes in to water company like they asked me to show repairs and they changed there mind and said no he still has to pay old bill of 3000 dollars ..seriously they are ripping people off .
My name is michelle please someone tell me what I can do ..thank u ..
Ivelina Send email
 
Jan 4, 2017

Deposit back issue

In march 2016 I moved out my previous residence ans moved in an apartment complex where the water bil was included, so had to cancel my accout with fgua. They asked me for an additional address where I will recieive my deposit back and I gave them my friends house's address. I've been asking him, if there is mail and he said nothing ever arrived for me. I called back in june to see how things are going and fgua was assurin me that it takes up to 10 weeks. Some time passed and I realize that nobody's calling about my deposit. Called back in november and they said they will check my case. Nobody calles as always and it's been 6months !!! I call back in december and they said " Somebody cashed your check in may." And meanwhile they had no clue, even tho it should show on the record. I did not believe so asked for the back of the check and the lady said it can not print !! Next week I went there my self, because got sick of waiting. They printed out the back which came out just like a bunch of dots all over the paper and said again that is all they can do.. I am extremly unhappy with those ppls behaviour. When they want their money we the customers need to pay NOW, but when I want my deposit back, it takes a year !!!!
Need help from anyone that might know what I can do about my case.
My number is (636) 669-4669 / Eve
If anyone has any clue please contact me
Ivelina Send email
 
Jan 4, 2017

Have not gotten my deposit from 2016

In march 2016 I moved out my previous residence ans moved in an apartment complex where the water bil was included, so had to cancel my accout with fgua. They asked me for an additional address where I will recieive my deposit back and I gave them my friends house's address. I've been asking him, if there is mail and he said nothing ever arrived for me. I called back in june to see how things are going and fgua was assurin me that it takes up to 10 weeks. Some time passed and I realize that nobody's calling about my deposit. Called back in november and they said they will check my case. Nobody calles as always and it's been 6months !!! I call back in december and they said " Somebody cashed your check in may." And meanwhile they had no clue, even tho it should show on the record. I did not believe so asked for the back of the check and the lady said it can not print !! Next week I went there my self, because got sick of waiting. They printed out the back which came out just like a bunch of dots all over the paper and said again that is all they can do.. I am extremly unhappy with those ppls behaviour. When they want their money we the customers need to pay NOW, but when I want my deposit back, it takes a year !!!!
Need help from anyone that might know what I can do about my case.
My number is (636) 669-4669 / Eve
If anyone has any clue please contact me
NotHappyWithU Send email
 
Oct 6, 2016

FGUA overcharging for PASCO water

2016-OCT My bill also contains 2 meter charges at $22 each. That's $44 PER month, on top of their "metered" usage which ROUNDS UP to the nearest thousandth. In other words, if I use 1001 gallons, I am charged for 2000 gallons. My monthly bill averages $160 when it used to be $45 with Mad Hatter Utilities, just a few years ago.
NotHappyWithU Send email
 
Sep 16, 2016

FGUA

The following letter was written to Florida Senate, in 2014; unfortunately, with no helpful follow-thru action:

-- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
Sent: April 2014
To: LEGG.JOHN.WEB <LEGG.JOHN.WEB@flsenate.gov>
Cc: BECKY ZIZZO <ZIZZO.BECKY@flsenate.gov>

The Tampa Tribune recently ran an article, regarding the very high invoices we Pasco residents have been receiving as of late. In particular, since our former "Mad Hatter" water and sewage company was sold to FGUA, our monthly bills rose nearly 50 to 70 percent.

On a separate note, many residents are confused why FGUA - a private company not affiliated with any govt office - would be permitted to have the word "Government" in their title. Why is this?

I urge you to vote for the reduction of our water services. PSC has been way too pro-corporation and anti-consumer.

I also urge you to include FGUA in the legislation as they charge significantly more than Pasco county and double the companies they have purchased.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.

-- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --

Response received:

From: LEGG.JOHN.WEB [mailto:LEGG.JOHN.WEB@flsenate.gov]
Received: April 2014
Cc: ZIZZO.BECKY
Subject: Utility Projects complaint (flsenate.gov) - Mad Hatter and FGUA

Thank you for your contacting my office regarding Senate Bill 910 (Utility Projects). The goal of this legislation was to provide a new bonding avenue for local, municipal utilities, which would lead to lower rates for those utilities that would be passed onto the consumer in the form of rate reduction. Unfortunately, this bill was not heard in the Senate Appropriations Committee and died as a result.

Over the next several months, I plan to research this issue further as I will consider sponsoring this issue further. Please continue to let me know your thoughts and concerns with this issue; they are very helpful in my assessment process. Again, thank you for your vigilance in this matter and for your active participation in your state government.

Kindest regards,
John
-- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
sforo Send email
 
Sep 16, 2016

Over billing

FUGA notified me today that I consumed 112,000 gallons of water since August 15 and will billing me over $900 this month. My normal usage is less than 1000 gallons when Im at the house but Im not even at that home this time of year and my pool guy says he has not needed any water for the pool at all this past month due to all the rain. Had a neighbor check the house and no signs of leaks. Where is 112,000 gallons of water hiding??.
rah1010 Send email
 
Sep 16, 2016

Overbilling/Abuse

I moved here 7 months ago and my water bill for one person is $175/month. Where I used to live in Pinellas I paid $55/month. Apparently FGUA is NOT a private company. It's actually a GOVERNMENT ENTITY, and as such is NOT REGULATED by the Florida Public Service Commission.

I would start complaining to any and all PUBLIC OFFICIALS until they actually resolve these abuses.
NotHappyWithU Send email
 
Sep 7, 2016

FGUA Water Scam

I have two meters at my home - one for the sprinkler system and one for the home. FGUA admits, without hesitation, that the water is THE SAME, despite the split lines. The issue is that FGUA bills me $22 PER meter. Yes; this is merely a meter charge and separate from the consumption portion of the bill. When I asked to combine THEIR lines into one (single meter), they declined and said I would be responsible for the labor costs. What a scam .. $44 per month on top of my water usage .. which, as other owners have blogged here, is a moving target. My usage is consistent .. and there are NO leaks anywhere (verifiable at the mere when all usage is off) .. yet my bill wavers by 2,000 gal per month?!!
Helpme1 Send email
 
Aug 24, 2016

Over billing

My bill has been between $85.00 $85.00 per month at the most.Started receiving $150-$170 bills from Fuga. Nothing has changed in our household to warrant that type of charge. When I inquired, it was explained that my usage has gone up, not there rates. I had the house checked for possible leaks but nothing unusual came up. As we try to stay on a budget, the increase had caused us to have our water disconnected, if that wasn't enough, the $185.00 reconnect fee is way to much. Fuga refused to help in anyway other then spread out the fee. I don't know why my bill has increased so much, but after reading others complaints its apparent something is not right. If anyone has had any luck talking to a lawyer please share any information that might help.
Paigelle Send email
 
Apr 27, 2016

Overcharging for water

I live in a 700 sq ft apartment at Park at Ashley. I do not have a washer / dryer. It's my dog, boyfriend and myself. 1b1b. My electric bill is a mere $30 a month BUT my water bill is over $78 every month. Last month claimed I used 3200 gallons of water. How??? It's ridiculous!
I have had Maintence check no leak and even FGUA came out and said I didn't have a leak. Still, I continuously pay for over priced water and when you do try to complain, they don't want to hear it. I took my last 3 bills to the office where I live and she explained to me that the ENTIRE apartment complex is being wrongly charged, they even went to town hall to try and fight for us to get Pasco ulitilities (I live in new port richey). I signed a year lease and now feel stuck in a sticky situation. You are ripping off hard working people!!
madelay Send email
 
Feb 18, 2016

terrible bills

When our H2O supplier was MadHatter, our bill was ~$60-65/mo. FGUA takes over & we pay $120/mo. Everybody in my neighborhood went up similarly. fgua claims that madhat was undercharging & that was why they never improved the system. Not sure if FGUA has improved anything, but the doubling our water bill still irks me every month. When FGUA took over, they warned us in writing that bills could go up ~25%. That is FAR from the 100% it actually went up.
nomoreflorida4me Send email
 
Aug 4, 2015

Still Overbilling

Well it appears that here we are in August of 2015 and FGUA is still playing dirty with other peoples money. I have been overcharged by them when I bought my house in August of 2014. I was told I used 4000 gallons of water. How funny coming from a person who uses 30 gallons a day. Of course, they had every excuse in the book to justify it although the bucket test showed no leaks. So where did all this water ( enough to fill a swimming pool) run off to? Now, who takes pictures of their meter reading when they move into a place? Probably no one, but this is what one has to do when dealing with FGUA so you have your proof. Otherwise they will fake bill you and perhaps they do this when the meter readers come by. Somehow they are able to get their meters to read high readings by either tripping them to roll forward quickly or remotely activating them. They are downright sneaky with their business practices and should be shut down.
Now less than one year later, I sell the house and I am having to fight to get my deposit back because in typical FGUA greed to the max fashion, they have trumped up additional charges to bill me for so the refund will be smaller. I closed the sale of my house on July 1, 2015 and now I am billed for service charges from 6/22/15 to 7/16/15. No usage, just charges and for 16 days of it I did not even legally own the property. Their PR people lie as if it was no big deal. Whatever story they can trump up to make them credible is what flies with them. FGUA tries to justify its policy of being morally and ethically bankrupt and having absolutely zero conscious awareness of anything outside of its own sphere of greed and corruption with every excuse in the book. It seems dishonesty is the norm there. And if you contact their board of directors, the corruption continues and goes unchecked. You get nowhere with them either and they do not return phone calls. They have to satisfy those shareholders at all cost, even if it means ripping off the public through bogus charges, lies and corruption.
ken buzz Send email
 
Jun 9, 2015

over billing

I live in a very small place. My water bill was @ 64.00 a month. I activated my sprinkler system 3 months ago and my bill went from 64.00 to @ 95.00. Still way to much for a place that's only 14x36. I just received a bill for 777.65 last month and had the meter re-read from FGUA. They said I have no leaks and that the meter reading was correct. Now they pulled to meter to make sure that its working correctly. I went to their office at the villages here in Florida and the asked for the supervisor however they were on a conference call. HMMMMMMMMMMM. The clerk whos name is Kelly told me that I might have a small leak. Im sorry not 54000 gallons worth. I have no leaks @ my very small place and I think this company is a rip off. I have seen many complaints for FGAU. I DONT KNOW HOW THEY CAN KEEP GETTING AWAY WITH THIS. They are not a member of the BBB They would probably be shut down if they knew how much they are ripping people off.
rgc2257 Send email
 
May 12, 2015

Over billing

On Nov. 30,2013 we contacted FGUA that we were moving out of our rented home and to end service. I paid our bill in full over the phone.
Nothing else was said and on 11/30/2013 we moved. This has been confirmed by our (then) landlord as well as our present landlord stating
when we moved in to our new apt. I have recently pulled my credit report and see FGUA is saying I owe over $ 371.00. After contacting FGUA
about this they state they where not told we were moving or to disconnect service. They are wanting to charge me for the months the house was
VACANT.
This Company is doing nothing but ripping people off. I guess it's time to go to the media and to also file a lawsuit. It's time to expose these crooks
for what they are.
joepa1958 Send email
 
Jun 7, 2014

Grease or oil in water

I was just wondering if anyone else has or had a problem with spots of oil stains on their clothes from the water ran through wash machines.Have a ring of oil around my wash machine after spin cycle. Now some of my wife's clothes and mine are ruined. At first I thought it was something in my clothes but could not find anything. Then I saw the same ring and scent around my toilet bowl. I am starting to think that maybe FGUA had done a repair in the service line and dropped a tool or something in the line. Has anyone else had same problem?

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Fantasy Riches X Sweepstakes - Inability to enter
    Gave them a call from my phone using *67 so they...
    Hallmark channel - Listing movies as series
    I have been a fan of Hallmark and HMM for a long time. But...
    Idea Cellular - No action on request
    I request Idea costmer care to deactivate PRE CALL ...
    cbse - Cbecking of board paper
    I cant secure as low marks as i have got. In these...
    Activity Superstore - Feel I was misled, even conned
    This company do not know the meaning of customer service....
    Renault Tableview - Incorrect mileage log on maintance book
    I 8706130772084 BD Sigasa vin VF15SRAA452466764 Renault...
    Ashford University - Multiple Issues
    1st Ive had several employers tell me that they refuse to...
    wercrypto.com - Scam
    Do not count on the fact that hired people are writing....
    Pall mall 100s in the white pack - Six of the cigarettes was missing the filter
    Yesterday around 630 or 700pm I went to Deli Depot and...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Fantasy Riches X Sweepstakes - Inability to enter
    Gave them a call from my phone using *67 so they...
    Hallmark channel - Listing movies as series
    I have been a fan of Hallmark and HMM for a long time. But...
    Idea Cellular - No action on request
    I request Idea costmer care to deactivate PRE CALL ...
    cbse - Cbecking of board paper
    I cant secure as low marks as i have got. In these...
    Activity Superstore - Feel I was misled, even conned
    This company do not know the meaning of customer service....
    Renault Tableview - Incorrect mileage log on maintance book
    I 8706130772084 BD Sigasa vin VF15SRAA452466764 Renault...
    Ashford University - Multiple Issues
    1st Ive had several employers tell me that they refuse to...
    wercrypto.com - Scam
    Do not count on the fact that hired people are writing....
    Pall mall 100s in the white pack - Six of the cigarettes was missing the filter
    Yesterday around 630 or 700pm I went to Deli Depot and...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username