Submit a Complaint

First Convenience Bank

United States,
Texas

Consumer complaints and reviews about First Convenience Bank

Ldt4angels Send email
 
Jan 17, 2020

Illegal charge of overdraft fee

I checked my checking account online before and after midnight on January 15, 2020 and a payment to Toyota financial was not shown. I had my son take off work today the 16th to our money in my account so I would not be charged an overdraft fee. He made the deposit and I checked my account online and they put the payment to Toyota on 15th and not 16th and charged me an overdraft fee which made my account negative. Talked to rep at first convenience and she told me they probably held the money till today the 16th because there was not enough money to cover the payment but it shows they took money out of my account in the 15th. Talked to a supervisor and she would not refund overdraft fee to make my account positive. I asked her what time on the 15th to Toyota and she said there is not a time shown when the payment was made to Toyota in the 15th. How convenient. She argues with me that the payment went out in the 15th and I told her it did not because I checked my account online before and after midnight. According to your complaint board and the many complaints this happens a lot. I want the overdraft fee refunded to me and this practice stopped. It is unethical and illegal.
AishaS Send email
 
Jul 4, 2016

First convenience bank

First Convenience Bank is AWFUL!!! SWITCHING TO A DIFFERENT BANK AND TAKING SEVERAL PEOPLE WITH ME....BEWARE!!!!!
User927435 Send email
 
Apr 4, 2012

Federal regulators need to look into this bank

I opened my account with First Convenience Bank around the middle of February 2012. Upon beginning my job at Tarrant County College on February 20th, I was told my first check would not be available until the end of March. I borrowed $500 from a family member and he sent me a bank check from Wells Fargo for the amount of $500. I was told because Wells Fargo would not verify third party information they had to hold the funds until the $500 could be verified.
On March 8, 2012, I received my retirement check from the State of Colorado. The check was for a little over $10, 000. I was told because of the amount of the check, they would have to hold the funds for up to two weeks. I called the state offices in Colorado and they verified the funds were available, but the bank would still not release the funds. They had me sign a paper stating I would get $4800 on March 14th and the balance on March 21st.
My first payroll check from Tarrant County College was supposed to be direct deposited on March 30th, 2012. Because the TRS retirement paperwork was not entered in sufficient enough time, they issued a paper check. I picked up the paper check at the business office and drove to First Convenience Bank. The teller called Chase Bank to verify availability of funds and informed me I would have the funds available on Saturday, March 31st. Upon attempting to withdraw funds on March 31st, I was told that a hold was placed on that check for the entire amount of $5, 900, leaving me no money to pay my bills. I tried to call the central offices in Killeen, but they were closed for the weekend.
On Monday, April 2nd, I called the bank’s central office in Killeen. As I was explaining the situation, the lady who answered the phone said she was sorry, but that is just the way things are. She then hung up on me. I called back and asked for a supervisor. The supervisor informed me that the “Loss Prevention” office had placed a hold on the check and I would have access to the funds on April 9th. I asked for a number and contact information for the Loss Prevention office and the supervisor stated they do not talk with customers and there is no public telephone number available. She went on to state, “Now that I was aware of the policy, I could plan better in the future”. I explained to her that I need to pay my rent and purchase my heart medications and she said she was sorry, there was nothing she could do for me. I never signed a form stating my money would be held until April 9th.
I contacted the payroll office of Tarrant County College, who contacted Chase Bank, who wrote and faxed a letter stating there were sufficient funds to cover the payroll check. Once again First Convenience has denied my request to release my funds.
User705213 Send email
 
Apr 1, 2012

Federal Regulators need to look into this bank

Hahaha...whatever.
User925600 Send email
 
Mar 31, 2012

Federal Regulators need to look into this bank

whythelongfaces...boohoho. Wipe your tears little boy...lol
User705213 Send email
 
Mar 31, 2012

Federal Regulators need to look into this bank

And you need to start kindergarten because for someone who claims to have banked for over 40 years you sure are stupid. My 18 year old is smarter with her money and more mature than you are.
User925600 Send email
 
Mar 31, 2012

Federal Regulators need to look into this bank

'whythelongfaces" shouldn't you be in school? You don't want to repeat the third grade again for a second time.
User925600 Send email
 
Mar 30, 2012

Federal Regulators need to look into this bank

Addition to earlier post.
This Bank is not accredited by the BBB and might even be conected to the Mexican Drug Cartel. Just my opinion but check it out!!
THIS BUSINESS IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED
First Convenience Bank
Find a Location
(800) 903-7490View Additional Phone NumbersP.O. Box 937, Killeen, TX 76540http://www.1stcb.comView Additional Web Addresses
NR
On a scale of A+ to
BBB Serving Far West Texas and the State of Chihuahua, Mexico does not process any complaints against this company. Any complaints are directed to BBB serving Austin, TX for processing. For a full report contact BBB located in Austin, TX at (512) 445-2911 or http://austin.bbb.org.

BBB file opened: 06/30/2004Business started: 01/01/1901
Licensing
Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the City of El Paso can be viewed at the following website: http://www.elpasotexas.gov/development_services/contractor2.asp Or by calling: 915-541-4558
Contact Information
Primary Contact: Hunter Westbrook (CEO) Doug McClean (President) Binyon Tony Vera (Executive VP)Mr. Doug McLean (President) Joanne Dickson Manuel Jaramillo (Regional Manager) Iris Holguin (Assistant Manager) Robert Martinez (Manager) Miguel Ortiz (Assistant General Manager) Susy Jaramillo
Number of Employees
1000
Business Category
Banks
Alternate Business Names
First National Bank, First National Bank of Fabens-Cielo Vista, First National Bank Texas

Why is Walmart doing all this business with them, letting them into their stores?
User705213 Send email
 
Mar 30, 2012

Federal Regulators need to look into this bank

The BBB is not a stamp of perfection for any business. They are a rating service for businesses and the business has to REGISTER with the service to be included. They have NO POWER over any business. Stop depending on the BBB to make your decisions. Exactly what is your issue with this bank and Walmart?
User925600 Send email
 
Mar 30, 2012

Federal regulators need to look into this bank

I had been banking with this institution for more than 6 months. During this time I had two overdrafts. One of the overdrafts was because I was doubled dipped by an automatic withdrawal.
I went to open a savings account on 3/22/12. No problems, the people at the branch were nice when they took my two checks @ $2, 500 apiece. I went the following Monday to transfer $500 into my checking and was told my account was on hold. I asked why, and they stated because I had 6 or more overdrafts. I told them to check my account and they verified that was false. The Assistant Manager than stated she didn't know why and said I needed to call their headquarters in Kileen.
Red flags were flying. Why hold checks on a savings account? I can understand checking maybe, but not savings,
I called four times. The first three times they disconnected me. The fourth time...Jason the customer service rep would not let me talk to the Loss Prevention Dept. nor his Supervisor. I couldn't talk to anyone but Jason who told me they were abiding by Federal Law and that's just the way it is. This also caused red flags to fly.
I then received a letter stating that because they don't believe the checks are good and that I had repeatedly overdrafted my account, the checks would be on hold for 7 business days.
I had deposited checks from my father before. Red flags again. The called my 81 year old father and interrogated him, scaring him to death. Both checks cleared in 3 days yet they are holding them for a total of 12 days making daily interest.
What is happening after reading all the other complaints is clear to see.
They are taking advantage of their customers because they know the customers don't have the monetary means to fight.
This wrong needs to be righted. They are the pink slime of the banking industry. Please, I am all in for doing a class action lawsuit to expose these con artist. That's my opinion.
You can contact me at [email protected]
User705213 Send email
 
Mar 30, 2012

Federal regulators need to look into this bank

READ your terms for the accounts. You state you can understand why a hold would be on a checking account for checks...but not for savings accounts...really? You really think savings accounts are a get around?
User741240 Send email
 
Mar 30, 2012

Rediculuse charges

I over drafted sixty six dollors and they want three hundred and fifty dollors for it.
User705213 Send email
 
Mar 30, 2012

Rediculuse charges

Ridiculous is right. It is ridiculous that you stole their money and cannot understand why they are making you pay for it.
Michelle Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Outrageous Fees

I have been banking with First Convenience Bank of Killeen, TX now for a few years. The ONLY reason I have chose them as my bank, and have not switched banks is because I became a single mother at age 18 and have acquired enough debt over the years to now have bad credit.
First Convenience Bank is the only bank that I am aware of that will give you a bank account with bad credit. That is why they are always referred to as the Wal-Mart Bank, or the Poor people’s bank.
I am still a single mother and still living hand to mouth. Last year I made roughly about $15, 000. Yet, last year I wound up paying over $4, 000 in bank fees. I have had to have a bank account because jobs I work at tend to not provide live checks and only provide direct deposit.
Over the last 2 years I have given the bank about $10, 000 in bank fees. Because I am stuck in a bad situation. No other bank will take me because of my poor credit, believe me I have tried. And I need a bank account for my direct deposits.
The reason why I have been paying so much in bank fees is the bank holds every single withdrawal/check/debit for 72 hours and reorders them in order from the largest to the smallest. They give you overdraft protection which allows this to happen.
About a year and a half ago my account went $700 in to the negative and I have not been able to catch up ever since then.
Every paycheck I get I go above positive again, but I have to feed my kids and I have to pay my bills, so I am forced to use the overdraft protection, and they reorder everything from largest to smallest in order to collect the most amount of fees possible, and then charge me $2.50 a day every day I am overdrawn, which is most of the month.
I literally give them between $200 and $600 a month in bank fees. I don’t know what to do anymore. I called the customer service center and not only the reps, but also the supervisors are rude, condescending, and insulting. They have extremely poor customer service.
I go to the bank branch and they flat out lie to me about policies and practices. There have been many times when I was sitting down with a bank branch representative and have customer service rep on the phone at the same time and they will tell me two conflicting things. This bank is very evil and incredibly inhumane. They would rather my child starve to death then not collect their $500 a month in bank fees.
The holding and reordering of debits to my account is not only wrong and poor business practices, but it also seems very immoral to me.
Daniel CHAMBERLAIN Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Outrageous Fees

You know it sucks you can't even get on lone to check your account on line.
Daniel CHAMBERLAIN Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Outrageous Fees

i do like the way ya do you buisnies like still had bill to paid do ya want paid my bill from me
Daniel CHAMBERLAIN Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Outrageous Fees

so about not happen a again from jan

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints


    Recently Updated Complaints


         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username