Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Florida Department of Children and Families - Food Stamp program

United States,
Florida

Consumer complaints and reviews about Florida Department of Children and Families - Food Stamp program

ajs03k Send email
 
Dec 28, 2017

Not mailing to right address

Hello, I have not eaten in over a month due to your office's inability to send my mail to general delivery for a little while. I have changed this address over the phone and that did not work. I went on line and changed it and the adress took, then never got it 10 days later so looked online and the address online was totally wrong. I changed it again and resent it and the same thing happened. I changed it again and now it took but will it change again. Each time is 10 days wait time. I am starving,tired, cold and hating florida every day i live here. I came down for school and am stuck as nobody hires me. So I rely on this service only to be not helped. I have contacted a few officials about this problem only to be ignored by them.

I have receipts from the changes. How can this be resolved so I can get my stamps card? Do I have to write the president?

The addresses that you entered are being validated through the United States Post Office. If the addresses are not valid, you may not get mail from us or your benefits may be delayed.

Living address:
The living address that you entered has been validated and standardized with the United States Post Office.

2800 ADAMS Street
TALLAHASSEE , FL , 32301 -0000

Select this option if you would like to correct the address that you have entered.

Please, can I come to the Food Stamps office and get my card there. I cannot starve anymore. I have no source of income. I am sure Karma for you all is appropriate right now and elections are coming up.

Thank you,
alex Sutherland
Jessepoo88 Send email
 
Nov 2, 2017

Ebt cash benefits

I was supposed to get cash assistance today byt it never came
lopezkrmen Send email
 
Oct 22, 2017

Disrespect from a customer reprentative

I used to go to this office to help some people who needs help, I do that frecuentllly and I do it without any kind of payment.
Always when I am in this office I sit down and wait for the person because they need to talk with the lady in the front desk.

In the meantime I help the person with their copies and finally faxing their papers. I used to go sometimes weekly, and always this lady asked the person I am dropping in the office if their come with me and makes some rudes comments.

I ignored her comments, but this Friday I received the rudest attitude I have ever dealt with from any company. no matter how polite I was she had and attitude and attempted to make me feel like I am less than a person. I have never felt so disrespected. She is not professional at all.. I understand that they are busy but there still needs to be a level of professionalism. Without families in need the customer representative would not have a job to perform.If she suffer from burnout with big stress work she need to be evaluated, she is a damaged system representaive, overwhelmed with needy people looking for help.I asked to one of her coworker her name and she told that her name is Carlina, Cordero
nilathia Send email
 
Oct 12, 2017

why must I pay back money ms. jeanette knight received

I can not understand why I Nilathia Johnson have to pay back money for Jeanette Knight fraudulent that she commented by getting money for Shaterrel Boyd back in 2003.Plus I have to pay money for a case that has Annette Johnson Chester and Felicia Henderson for Shanterrel Boyd as the child in 1996.The case should have been LaQuanta Boyd but the payee has been chance back.to Annette Johnson Chester.
Frannie Send email
 
Sep 26, 2017

Seniors

Won't give bet to seniors making 1700 a month always denied
DARIO11 Send email
 
Sep 15, 2017

no noe answers the phones

you leave your number for them to call you back and don't return the calls you choose the other option and wait on the phone for hours and no one answers the phone. I work for 35 years before I got hurt and if I did something like that I would be fired. But this this government waste. AND NO ONE CARES.
bigwolf87 Send email
 
May 27, 2017

taking my whole tax refund

Well how shall I start I filled my taxes out and was waiting for my refund I checked my card nothing was deposited so I checked on turbo tax saying my refund was subject to ein or child credit for one I have no child two I can't have kids so I know that cant be right I called IRS and they gave me Florida Department of Children and Families number saying I owed a debt so I call them and them and called them left over hundred of messages after two weeks they finally answer well I'm already ticked off so I talked to a girl and she told me there was a card in name of Sherry v. My ex mother in law And that me and my ex. We're liable for the debt of the account now I asked when was the account closed they said 2014 here's the screwed up part I HAVE NOT LIVED IN FLORIDA SINCE 2010 so I get in touch with my ex he said it was because of the new law stating if you on foodstamps and have no job or not volunteering somewhere that you have to pay back foodstamps but it started in 2015 now how does that apply to me when I have been living in ga and working til I moved to alabama and got a different job to me the whole thing this company did was bullshit sorry for the language but it is
Sboyd1094 Send email
 
Feb 27, 2017

Food stamps

I recieve food stamps because i am pregnant and basically homeless.
I recieved $84 on january 19 along with an additional $194.( i assumed it was because i was going to get them on the 27th of january)
So here it is Feb 27 and i am being told i wont recieve anything until march 27. How is a pregnant woman who is trying to make it in life supposed to be able to afford food while searching for a job. This is absolutely ridiculous.
daniellewalker.global@gmail.com Send email
 
Dec 27, 2016

SNAP Benefits

My husband and I have 50/50 timeshare of his children. Their mother also has 50/50 time share. She receives 100% SNAP benefits for the children. We are unfortunately in a difficult financial position and are in need of short term assistance. However, since their mother has been awarded 100% of the benefits, we are unable to obtain assistance for the 50% of the time that we have the children. In addition, we are unable to obtain assistance for my child since the fact that we also have an additional 4 children 50% of the time isn't being taken into account.

This is squandering of government funds and tax payers dollars. People should be awarded funds based on the percentage of time they have children in a shared custody situation so that the children receive benefits the entire month and not just a percentage of the time.
sleepless17 Send email
 
Dec 3, 2016

Medicaid Share of cost killing me!

I was placed in the program because I had a surgery in January I count pay for.I am in the adap program in which I was covered medically because I am HIV+.unfortunately adap only works at the local health department.so was going OK for first 3 months then the pharmacy I had been going to no longer could accept the s.o.c.so I tried 2 other pharmacies they were unable to invoice for my medication went a month without.finally was able to use Winn Dixie pharmacy for about 3 months.now they have denied me going on 4 months!mind u my share of cost is $105 my medication is over 3600 so I should meet the s.o.v c every month right?apparently not.so I have called children and families,adap and case workers to no availability made over 30calls now.I'm getting worse everyday.can't even sleep cause I know I'm dying a bit faster because I can't get medication which I'm suppose to take everyday.this is America where we are supposed to have so much.woke up thinking maybe I should just go ahead and kill myself.what's the point of waiting.thank u.
rama108 Send email
 
Nov 2, 2016

Hurricane Matthew

All my food was no good after the electric had been out for 5 days. By the time my food stamp card ran out Ebt was no longer helping people who lost their food. Shame on Ebt Florida. I've been hungry for 2 weeks now.
Xoxox Send email
 
Oct 14, 2016

Unable to access the benefits I was given

I had $190 left in food benefits when my card was stolen. I called to request a replacement card, which never arrived. I called again to re-request another replacement card. It supposedly would arrive in 5-7 business days, but this additional card also never arrived. I tried for a month and a half to get a replacement card for the one that was stolen, but it never arrived. I triple-checked that they had my correct address, so I have no idea what the problem is. Then my benefits expired, and no one at the customer service center was able to do anything.

So I just lost $190 in food for absolutely no reason. I'm already doing pretty terribly financially, so that's a big problem.

I'm still waiting for a call from a manager, but I'm not holding my breath.
Dria55 Send email
 
Sep 30, 2016

Called for interview

Today I called for the phone interview I was scheduled to have. I received the rudest agent I've ever dealt with from any company! I completed my application online but she asked me every question that was on the application and I answered politely. She questioned me about every little thing like she wanted to find something wrong. No matter how polite I was she had an attitude. She attempted to make me feel like I'm less than a person. I've never felt so disrespected. I wanted to hang up and call back to speak with anyone but her. I maintained my composure and finished the call. She ended the call with "this interview is over we have 30 days to decide what we're going to do" and hung up. Not professional at all. I understand that they are busy but there still needs to be a level of professionalism. Without families in need the customer service reps would not have a job to perform!
Chodelee1 Send email
 
Aug 9, 2016

Apply for additional benefits

When I go to my access account, it is not giving me the option of applying for additional benefits. What can I do in regards to this?
Eliza Send email
 
Aug 3, 2016

Cannot make contact

The phone number goes nowhere; puts you in a dead zone.

Drive close to 25 miles just to hand in paperwork that is vital to sustaining the case, only to find out I cannot speak with anyone.

Try the fax numbers and ALL OF THEM come back as 'failed'. (Cannot even fax paperwork without being denied 'Access'.

Taken off benefits because of not reporting to work registration. Made a copy of the verification that was the proof from THEIR site!
It's beyond reason how much opposition, disorganization, and apathy comes from a Program that was meant to help someone get back on their feet.

If the workers suffer from burnout or are underpaid or inexperienced with high stress work, they need to be evaluated. It's a damaged system that is overwhelmed with needy people looking for help, and many are waiting for the Hope and Change to happen.
Marcus55z Send email
 
Jul 16, 2016

Ebt bias

I hate to say it, but race has become a great concern when dealing with state and federal services. If you're white, you already have one foot in the grave when applying or re-applying for programs like ebt. If you're black all you have to do is ask for it and get it. I've spoken with both sides and the above gets more upsetting every day. If you're white and make negative money, you stand less of a chance to get ebt than a black who makes a million a year. My daughter has two kids and makes less now than last year when she received ebt. Yet the black ebt rep refused her application for ebt. Plus I know of two blacks who make more now than last year and much more than my daughter, and they had no problems retaining their ebt. If that isn't biased, I don't know what is. People are also more likely to get ebt and other services if they lie on their applications for services from the government! There is no fairness in dealing with government services for whites.
Marcus55z Send email
 
Jul 16, 2016

Ebt

I hate to say it, but race has become a great concern when dealing with state and federal services. If you're white, you already have one foot in the grave when applying or re-applying for programs like ebt. If you're black all you have to do is ask for it and get it. I've spoken with both sides and the above gets more upsetting every day. If you're white and make negative money, you stand less of a chance to get ebt than a black who makes a million a year. My daughter has two kids and makes less now than last year when she received ebt. Yet the black ebt rep refused her application for ebt. Plus I know of two blacks who make more now than last year and much more than my daughter, and they had no problems retaining their ebt. If that isn't biased, I don't know what is. People are also more likely to get ebt and other services if they lie on their applications for services from the government! There is no fairness in dealing with government services for whites.
BCK128 Send email
 
Jul 9, 2016

I have never felt less of a person..

Last night I received an email to call during business hours to conduct a phone interview regarded my recent application for enrollment into SNAP. To say this was unpleasant conversation is putting it lightly. The woman was rude from the start, she was very short with me and did not explain what this phone interview consisted of or that we were even doing an "interview". She asked me my name, address last four of my SSN and then proceeded to ask all the questions that I had filled out on the online application a few days prior. Once done with making me feel about two feet tall, she then said she will submit my application to be reviewed. Confused, I told her that I already submitted the application online and that the email said I needed to call in for an interview. Instead of apologizing for the confusion and that the interview was to review all of the answers submitted online. She commenced to knock me down even further. I finally had enough and told her that I was not an idiot and that all I wanted to do was make sure I understood what was going on and that she had been very rude the entire conversation. Not my proudest moment but I had never been talked to like this before. Even though I felt terrible about my outburst, this woman was not fazed. She continued her rude comebacks to my questions and then we ended the conversation.
Now, I am fully aware that the representatives that work for DCF receive some unpleasant phone calls and more power to them for their continued work in that type of environment but they also need to be aware of the type of situations people are in when they are requesting assistance. The ones that are in actual need are not calling because they are proud of their situation and can't wait to milk the government of free assistance. No, they're calling because they are in a tight spot and as a last resort they are requesting temporary government assistance while they claw their way back up on their feet. Many times, these people are very depressed and just need some sort of light at the end of the road, not to be belittled further by someone who doesn't know their situation. Calling for assistance should be a pleasant experience, the representative should speak to the individual with respect and know that this is usually the first time they are hearing this information.
I am appalled by the lack of training that this representative has received and my heart goes out to anyone that she speaks to that is not in the best mental state due to their own personal situation.
jey Send email
 
Apr 22, 2016

EBT gone, can't prove I work odd jobs :'(

I help take care of my elderly mother, she's 85, and has Alzheimer's, so I can't really keep a steady job, instead I take side jobs, anything I can do, and I get paid in cash, not much, but it helps make ends meet. I'm also in methadone maintenance partially for pain, partially to keep me away from pain pills, which were destroying my health. Since I can't PROVE that I do these odd jobs, and can barely even stay alive WITH food assistance, I have no idea who I'm going to survive now :'( Thanks for making life even more miserable...I honestly wish I could just give up, this along with all the rest of the SHIT in my life, makes me wonder why I even bother. I don't know what to do, and I can't even get in touch with anyone that can help me!!!!!!

NOBODY CARES. I already knew this, what's the point in even trying? these people do not care if I starve, they are so impatient, and rude on the phone that it's intimidating, and just make everything so much worse ><
Doruni Send email
 
Apr 19, 2016

Loss of benefits due to replenishment dates

Calling them does nothing. They are reading from a script and repeat the same thing over and over. Contact local news and a lawyer. Keep the calls and complaints going. There was nothing in that letter about a lapse in benefits. They know exactly what they did. They just can't be that stupid
Fizbnn Send email
 
Apr 18, 2016

Lost benefits

I lost my benefits because I didn't report for a work program, a program I was never informed about and knew nothing about until today. DCF calls it a penalty, the whole month of April w/o food. I called and found out they want me to work 80 hours a month for $170 in food benefits, or at a slave wage of $2.05 per hour. I'm disabled, was denied SSI because I hadn't worked long enough to generate the minimum work credits even though my medical condition was recognized as disabling. I wasn't working because I'm disabled! Hello???!!! What am I supposed to do now? Starve or move to democratic state? No money to move, so pack a backpack and hitchhike North to become homeless in a strange new place, just so I can eat? You might as well just kill me now and get it over with.
Saintly Send email
 
Apr 17, 2016

Florida Department of Children and Families - Food Stamp program

Date changes in Snap issuance cost me two weeks of benefits. I called and Representative was said no, I didn't lose anything. I said, yes, I did, as sure as if they were stolen. In fact, since there's no way to ever recover them, the benefits were, in effect, stolen.

No, she said and besides Florida had nothing to do with it, because it was the federal government. Who in the federal government? The FDA she said. The FDA? Yes, the FDA, she said. With this, it became clear that there was no point in walking her through the dates or walking her through arithmetic. I received benefits on the fifteenth of the months - but not in April. Now, in April no benefits till the 28th. Two weeks will go by with no new benefits; I'll have about $10 for those two weeks.

So I agree with Burimi, except about the cause. Most of the people in FL government may not be able to do the math, but some can. So Florida is simply stealing millions of dollars from Snap program clients.
Doruni Send email
 
Apr 15, 2016

Lost benefits due to replenishment dates

I too have lost two weeks worth of benefits because of their date changes. Argued for an hour with someone that insisted I didn't lose anything. I am very careful with my ebt usage and know exactly what it buys. I'm not sure if this was the States way to save millions of dollars or just the state showing its ignorance at doing simple math. Call the governor's office and voice a complaint. I need to feed my son for the next two weeks
Fedaykin Send email
 
Apr 12, 2016

Food stamps: they punish you if you ask for assistance

I am 42 out of work for 4 years, I have psoriatic arthritis and psoriasis over 40% of my body. In extreme pain a lot :(, I finally am receiving medical care with volunteers in medicine, but the treatment they giving me doesn't really work and because it is free I have to wait months for appointments. I only receive $1100 a year for income and am getting help from my plutonic roommate with phone and rent, plus car insurance. She can not afford to feed me though so I have to somehow find food money. I applied to the food assistance program sent them my income info, plus did their B.S. online course thing. Did it on a pad could not drag over some answers and got easy questions wrong!! Circa 1992 software their. I received one months food stamps, then received a letter saying next month is denied because I did not send my income info, which I faxed, now I just received another letter of denial saying I did not do my work requirement. I never received any correspondence from dcf besides my denial letters lol. After all this I would rather loose my self-respect and beg on the street for food money. Thank you Florida state government for your compassion and understanding, I hope you all burn in hell.
Regards,
Disgusted Florida citizen
Bigdadd7877 Send email
 
Mar 30, 2016

Income info unclear

My wife and I reapply recently she makes $1095 every 2 weeks I am a stay at home dad and watch our 2 kids and I make about $80 per week. So after sending the our pay stubs recently we lost all benefits.
I went to check and see why and it appears as if they entered my wife's monthly income when it asks for her average pay check. Now if the screen is asking for your average paycheck and you get paid biweekly how can you monthly income be entered there. If that's the case we need to do all pay info as monthly but that's not what the screen asks for.
Then for me it shows now that I make 4660 per week cause I get paid per week but only $80. So how did that become so much.
Now I had to reapply and who knows when this will get done.
Also I uploaded all documents requested, the websites said processing then my uploads disappeared... twice.
Eventually I had to fax it but then they entered the wrong information.
Should I just enter monthly income because that's what the do... Should I put down that I get paid monthly instead of weekly...
And also for my wife as well.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    U-MOBILE - Umobile charge itemised billing fees without your consent
    Umobile get profit from itemised billing fees RM3 fand...
    Hallmark channel - Butchering of Rockford
    What is with you guys?? TWICE you've brought back...
    Microsoft Office - continual charging of my credit card
    I purchased Microsoft Office 1 year ago and pay monthly. I...
    Keranique - Delma
    I ordered a “free” trial od Keranique and was only...
    Topix.com - Purchase Financial Instrument for Lease BG/SBLC/LC
    We have direct and efficient providers of Bank Guarantee...
    Immigration of malaysia - Illegal immigrant in Malaysia
    Salam Tuan/Puan, One of my visa holder has expired visa...
    Financial Instrument for Lease - Purchase Financial Instrument for Lease BG/SBLC/LC
    Dear Partner/Associate. We have direct and efficient...
    SEARS KENMORE ELITE OASIS - Elite Rust
    I am so angry right now I can’t type and have had to...
    Tagged.com - Can't reactivate my account, says password failed to...
    I've tried to reactivate my account over a dozen...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    U-MOBILE - Umobile charge itemised billing fees without your consent
    Umobile get profit from itemised billing fees RM3 fand...
    Hallmark channel - Butchering of Rockford
    What is with you guys?? TWICE you've brought back...
    Microsoft Office - continual charging of my credit card
    I purchased Microsoft Office 1 year ago and pay monthly. I...
    Keranique - Delma
    I ordered a “free” trial od Keranique and was only...
    Topix.com - Purchase Financial Instrument for Lease BG/SBLC/LC
    We have direct and efficient providers of Bank Guarantee...
    Immigration of malaysia - Illegal immigrant in Malaysia
    Salam Tuan/Puan, One of my visa holder has expired visa...
    Financial Instrument for Lease - Purchase Financial Instrument for Lease BG/SBLC/LC
    Dear Partner/Associate. We have direct and efficient...
    SEARS KENMORE ELITE OASIS - Elite Rust
    I am so angry right now I can’t type and have had to...
    Tagged.com - Can't reactivate my account, says password failed to...
    I've tried to reactivate my account over a dozen...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username