Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Florida Department of Children and Families

United States,
Florida

Consumer complaints and reviews about Florida Department of Children and Families

patrese horner Send email
 
Dec 6, 2017

case workers and phone conferences

have had 2 case workers neither have answered their phones for so-called conference which was given a time limit to fulfill left messages ,now have been denied due to so called missed call appointment this is getting ridiculous even tried other numbers listed just to talk to somebody no one answers the phone
browncarol21@gmail.com Send email
 
Dec 5, 2017

ebt card zero balance

I was approved for food stamps from November-April. The card still reads a zero balance! The phone number on the card is useless they only will say that there is a zero balance! they never even told us what date the card should have been usable. The website gets us no where. I am faxing them again tomorrow. I think the should compensate us for November because the letter they sent clearly says eligible for November. I wonder if I should contact the govenor?
browncarol21@gmail.com Send email
 
Dec 5, 2017

ebt card zero balance

In October of this year we were approved for food stamps. We finally got the card. We should have had a balance from November-April but the card reads a zero balance. The phone number on the card is no use. They only will say that the balance is zero. The website is no help. My husband activated the card and even tried changing the pin number. We were not even told what date the card would be usable. Well the last day of November has come and gone and nothing! Tomorrow I will fax them AGAIN. Should I contact the governors office?
Kellyb1668 Send email
 
Sep 22, 2017

Sanctioned

I guess these idiots don’t understand that when a person applies for disability it is a lengthy process. I was enrolled in food stamp assistance for almost a year with DCF having the knowledge that I was applying for disability for almost a year when all of a sudden they want proof I applied. I faced that to them. Nothing...I called and they re-submitted info. Nothing....I called again. Info was not related properly they said and they re-did it. Then...nothing....I was told by that man that I may need to re-apply, so when I did I received my phone interview. I was told by that employee that I was denied disability so that means I am able to work!!! SHE decides that???! SSI decides that?!?!? SSI sent me to a nurse practitioner who took an X-RAY!! Oh, okay...THAT’S the same as a surgeons and MRI’s!! Right? Otherwise, they want a letter from my doctor stating I’m unable to work. They’re IDIOTS!!! Doctors won’t and no long will get into that. The state won’t allow it. (Lawsuits etc.). So...now, she says(during phone interview) that since I’m already sanctioned, I will not receive any benefits until I get a letter from my doctor!!!!!! Absolutely ridiculous!!!
Kellyb1668 Send email
 
Sep 22, 2017

Career Source Sanction

I guess these idiots don’t understand that when a person applies for disability it is a lengthy process. I was enrolled in food stamp assistance for almost a year with DCF having the knowledge that I was applying for disability for almost a year when all of a sudden they want proof I applied. I faced that to them. Nothing...I called and they re-submitted info. Nothing....I called again. Info was not related properly they said and they re-did it. Then...nothing....I was told by that man that I may need to re-apply, so when I did I received my phone interview. I was told by that employee that I was denied disability so that means I am able to work!!! SHE decides that???! SSI decides that?!?!? SSI sent me to a nurse practitioner who took an X-RAY!! Oh, okay...THAT’S the same as a surgeons and MRI’s!! Right? Otherwise, they want a letter from my doctor stating I’m unable to work. They’re IDIOTS!!! Doctors won’t and no long will get into that. The state won’t allow it. (Lawsuits etc.). So...now, she says(during phone interview) that since I’m already sanctioned, I will not receive any benefits until I get a letter from my doctor!!!!!! Absolutely ridiculous!!!
wayne4346 Send email
 
Apr 12, 2017

Food Stamps

The Florida Department of Children and Families cut off my Food assistance with no notice or warning. They claimed that they had mailed several notices letting me know what i needed to do to keep my food stamps which i never received, although my mailing address is correct in their system no notice was ever received. I spoke to a Representative and tried to file a complaint and she said said nobody is available to take my complaint but a supervisor will call me within 24 hours I asked what time she said she didn't know. I was supposed to receive my benefits on the 9th but did not and the reason given was I had not completed any work searches and was not eligible for a month. I never received anything from The Department of Children and Families they claim the mail was sent back every time. I have been looking for work for awhile just landed a job today and was never instructed to fill out work searches cause i never received a notice. I found out my benefits where canceled the day i was suppose to receive them only through logging onto the access Florida website, there where several Notices the with instructions that where supposed to be mailed to me that where never received. The address on the notices is the correct mailing address
yellowrosetat Send email
 
Nov 15, 2015

dcf

i needed a sitter for my grandsons that were placed by dcf, i called several times with no response back, a week later they removed my 2 year old grandson for no adult supervision. which at the time i had asked the women who i was helping get on her feet to watch him. i just moved into that apt and wanted to child proof it only had weekends to do anything. a case plan was placed on my daughter
YoandaShedd1 Send email
 
Mar 24, 2014

Unwarranted Reunification denied

I have been fighting DCF since 2005 to be reunified with my children who live with my aunt. I have completed my case plan, been reunified to my oldest and have always maintained custody of my two youngest (3 year old twins). My children are 13 and 11 and have not been allowed to even speak to me over the telephone. They have not been allowed to have a relationship with their siblings either. My parental rights have not been terminated and if I am so unfit, why do I have custody of my other 3 children? In court, DCF lies under oath, yet they are never reprimanded. I have been doing a lot of research lately because I have decided that this year....enough is enough! I am preparing to go to war against the department and the elected gov. officials who condone their wreckless and corrupt actions which result in our children being removed from parents who may have needed a little guidance, yet weren't so detrimental to their children that the children should be placed in foster care where too many of them have died. In the cases where the children should be removed the department fails to intervene! They have proven themselves to be immoral liars. One Hope United's proclamation is "Strengthening families". Just how do you strengthen a family by using the divide and conquer model? In many cases when a mother is in crisis, all she has to live for is her children (even if she is not doing such a good job). When the department removes her children, (her reason for living), and gives her a lengthy case plan to complete with little to no assistance, is it any wonder how she could give up and become even more immersed in her addiction or calamity? And when this happens they are quick to terminate parental rights and place the child in a permanent home or the child is adopted, never to see their mother and sometimes their siblings again. What does this do to the child? What about the children who die in foster care and then the truth is exposed, the case manger falsified documents thus they never knew the child was being abused by the foster parents. If you feel like I do, or if you know someone affected by the injustices of DCF, please contact me ysheddwoodson@rocketmail.com (931)308-4479
jacksally327 Send email
 
Mar 14, 2014

DCF

Dept of Children and Families took my goddaughters from her guardian back in Oct 2013 , have verbally abused and lied to the guardian, she has done everything they have asked and it is now 6 months later, they have been in foster care all this time, DCF has told her the children will come back if she goes to drug classes, codependency classes, medication management and many other things she had to do with NO result. Now they are asking for a home study for an adoption placement and do not want to return the children after all. I am a godparent and have not been able to see the two girls at all despite the fact that I have been in their lives since they have been born. Is this supposed to be for the welfare of the children? Or money from govt. funds because they are still in foster care system and adoption also gives them more of taxpayer money that they waste?

Please do something about this problem. The caseworkers in Kids Central or the Centers are Pam Williams who has lied under oath and to the guardian (grandmother) and Lynn Ogletree. After I have written my district representative and other govt. officials, now the DCF workers said I want to create drama and should not be allowed to see the children so they punish us.


Please help us. My phone no. is 585-300-3759 ior email is jacksally327@yahoo.com
lesa1 Send email
 
Apr 15, 2013

eckerd community alternatives

disatrous error in case management, filed a formal complaint. Eckerd has done nothing to resolve happening again or helping my daughter and I
User929988 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Nonfunctional System

Very nice...we are encountering the same issue...extremely rude people on the phone, hours of attempts to make a phone call to rectify all of this information that they need, though we continue to give it...their website has issues with internet explorer 9, on and on.

It is obviously a numbers game meant to discourage those who aren't willing to try hard enough to make it through. Glad we found this page, and are not the only ones with this issue.
User929547 Send email
 
Apr 10, 2012

Unable to contact a live person

I agree there is no way to get through to the customer call center, it is horrible. I have been trying day after day and all I receive is a message saying all representatives are busy call back later.
User928248 Send email
 
Apr 6, 2012

Nonfunctional System

My name is Mike I can only say this, they messed me up on November of 2011, they turned everything upside down, they denied my 3 kids, all with medical conditions of medicaid for the months of November, TODAY April 6 2012 i got the food stamps on almost all of us and the medicaid, after a million faxes, two certified return receipt letter to the district coordinator, and I gave up on using thee phone to contact them, I FAXED everything, i got to the point where I faxed everyday, until I got someones attention, i sent them everything and more for what they asked, which they already had, I must have re applied 4 times, I even asked for appeals to their denial letters, supposedly you have the right to request a hearing and appeal their decision, forget it, is a joke, is just a formality, and I agree that they are overworked under staffed, and there are people falsely getting help they don't need, but some of us do need it, and we get the hardest of all barriers, and the language they use in layman's way is totally out of place...but FAX is my triumph, make sure to have your case number and your access number in the faxes and then go online and check that if has been uploaded in their system, it takes about 3 days for them to upload it...I am thinking of volunteering to help others do this...and PLEASE don't wait until your case is about to be closed to re apply...do it a month in advance...or what happen to me will happen to you, it took me almost 5 moths to get back on track...good luck
User926910 Send email
 
Apr 3, 2012

Nonfunctional System

Totally agree that they need to overhaul their system. You spend hours trying to get through to them and then you get a caseworker that does not care about you at all. I had my foodstamps case reduced by over 300.00 because they thought we were receiving unemployment (we were not). But now the burden of proof was on us. It took me six weeks of nothing but bs trying to convince them we were NOT receiving this money. I sent them all kinds of proof, the case woker would tell me to send one thing to prove it, I did, then she would tell me she could see that in her system too and it wasnt enough proof. Out of sheer desperation and frustration I got ahold of a call center worker one morning, I must admit she was quite good. She fixed the issue and did just what she promised she would do. In six days the issue was corrected and the amount was restored on our FS account. But we lost seven weeks of benefits because one case worker didn't give a crap. fast forward to this month, my sons medicaid was shut off, no reason, no warning, next re-eval is not until dec of 2012! I called yesterday and got that fixed as well. Thankfully I got a call center worker who was true to her word and actually called me back and told me she got it all straightend out for me.
Medicaid, foodstamp and cash assistance recepients should not have to feel like a second class citizen when trying to get ahold of their case worker when trying to get information on their benefits or when a problem occurs. The system is broken and needs repair.
Svcb Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Nonfunctional System

I'm a legal residence in the United State and I can get cash assistant when I see people that are illegal getting cash with no problem it is ridiculous seen people that are US citizen
and can get help I think the government has t do something about it otherwise illegal will continuing having more babies the more babies the more benefit they get
Lawsuit2012 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Nonfunctional System

I have had it with Florida Department of Children and Families. I plan on starting a Class Action Lawsuit against them if I can get enough interest. The way they do practice is unacceptable
Please email me if you are interested in joining me at: Lawsuit2012@yahoo.com
CONCERNED20 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Nonfunctional System

THE DCF INVESTIGATOR WORKING ON MY CASE HAS COME INTO MY HOME YELLING AND SLAPPING THE DINNER TABLE AND JUST INFORMED ME SHE HAS SEEN MY MEDICAL RECORDS AND KNEW I WAS HAVING A TUBAL PREGNANCY AND I NEED TO PROTECT MYSELF! I AM AWARE MY MOTHER PROBABLY HAS INFORMED HER OF THIS BUT DOESNT THIS MEAN THAT SHE HAS CROSSED A LINE? IS THIS WORTH FILING A COMPLAINT? IT SAYS VERY CLEARLY IN THEIR POLICY THEY ARE NOT ALLOWED TO DISCRIMINATE DUE TO RACE CREED ETC. INCLUDING PREGNANCY! EVEN CONTACTING MY MOTHER AND DISCUSSING MY CASE SEEMS OFF TO ME!
Tsellars Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Nonfunctional System

"DUE TO HIGHER THAN NORMAL CALL VOLUMES, YOUR CALL CANNOT BE COMPLETED AT THIS TIME. PLEASE HANG UP AND TRY YOUR CALL AGAIN LATER... " actually translates to, "The three people we hired to do this job are having trouble keeping up with the 5 million calls we direct to this number. Please hang up and try your call again later, when we still won't be able to take your call. Repeat this process until you have missed the appointment for your interview and are thereby denied benefits due to your lack of calling for a phone interview." I'd like to know who that man in that delivers this message... I think i might hate him. Seriously. This is the most ridiculous thing. I've called the state office to notify them of this issue, and their response? "Keep calling until you get through" Pretty much, not their problem. Remember when they actually called you in regards to an interview? What happened to those days. This needs to change.
Keikei714 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unable to contact a live person

I have been trying to get child support since my daughter was a year old, I have a court order and child support enforcement has located him and has done nothing to enforce the order so I have had no choice but to apply for foodstamps and medicaid for my daughter and even that is a hassel. I receive notices that I can not get benefits for her until I speak to someone at their call center to conduct an interview! This is an ongoing cycle, every 6 months for the past yr and a half I go through this. You call the call center and can not reach a person. I have found that if I go to work late and sit home and start calling the call center around 758am you have a slight possibility to get put on hold to speak to a live person but once you are on hold most times a live person will just pick up and hang up on you. Finally I gave up on this, now if you do a search on the departments web site you can normally find lists of email address or telephone numbers through out the state to people in other departments and I have found that the only way to get to speak to a live person or continue with the run around is that you will actually have to send email complaints to all of the email address you can find or call every number no matter what county it is in and speak to whoever answers or leave messages. They get mad and dont want to be bothered but they in my experience always get ahold of a supervisor and the supervisor directly will contact you to resolve your issues within 24 hours and just today I found that if you look for the number to their client relations in your county they too will get you in contact with a supervisor. All of this is so ridiculous, I just dont understand why they can not just fix the issues and make it possible to speak to someone. They either need to put competent people who are capable of assisting others in their local offices instead of just having people there who barely speak english to point you to a phone or a computer or they need to fix the issues with the call center. When I call I would not mind waiting on hold for an hour evern 2 hours but I do mind that I can call all day, every day for weeks and not once get a live person. The system here in Florida is seriously flawed, especially for those of us who need the system rather than those who abuse ir.
Amy_ehrmantraut Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unable to contact a live person

I have called and called and have not once spoken to a live person. I am so angry about this. Has anyone had any luck? I need to fax my proof of income and have an interview but I can't get a hold of anyone. I feel like they do this on purpose.
A_ricketts Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Nonfunctional System

Due to high call volume...what a crock of shit..not everyone calls this place at the same time. Id wait for 30 mins just to actually speak to someone there. I'm emailing the news and see what they can do about it since nobody else seems to care. I just spoke to someone at dcf Friday and they asked me to call back monday and tuesday. Exactly how am I suppose to do that I asked her, she said I'd just have to keep trying. Its like one in a million chances to actually get through to someone. I've touched every number possible and well the best way that I even have a chance is pressing 1 during the spanish talking, then 2 and then 2 and then putting in a fake number then they give me then prompt to press 0, but then chances are its high call volume again so Fail. It is ridiculous how a working family needing help like this has to go through so much trouble!! Its bullshit!
Dmitry90 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Nonfunctional System

I COMPLETELY AGREE WITH ORIGINAL POST!!! How absolutely unprofessional is this system they have going on! Cannot get ahold of anyone, in fact for 2 days now of almost constant calling, I cannot even get to the point of being on hold! It either says "all representatives are busy, call back" and hangs up immediately or sends me thru a time consuming (time wasting actually) system of push this # for this and eventually says the "all representatives are busy call back later" recording and hangs up anyways still! Seriously, this is ridiculous! Please DCF, read this and step up to the plate, hire some more people or something. This system doesn't work!
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Nonfunctional System

At great expense to Florida tax payers, the Department of Children and Families services has totally insulated themselves from their clients. A great number of offices are only drop off points for paperwork with no possible way to interact with the staff: All phone numbers result in a recorded message or a referal to a recorded message with no hope of resolving your problem. To enhace this process, Florida tax payers also paid to installed the Department of Children and Families Access program to allow their clients to do their work on line which in concept is a great idea since most people on SSI, food stamps, etc. have extensive computer skills and systems for ready on line access. This total isolation from the client is unacceptable. I have spent over 46 hours trying to get a password restored on an Access account for a lady on food stamps and I have contacted the following numbers with absolutely no help.
Office of communications 850-487-0800 - friendly referals to others
Pasco Access Administrator 813-558-5670 - not her job call *2237
Pasco Client Relations Coordiator 813-558-5788 - no help call *2237
Sun Coast Region 813-558-5500 - Transfered to Pasco Nancy Leve
Nancy Leve (never answers or returns calls) - Answering Machine
* Automated Help System - 866-762-2237 - Abmisimal Loop, To get to a human you must let the loop repeat itself at least 3 times then you get the press zero for an operator. Pressing zero results in a long winded recorded message summarized as - we are all busy, call back later. To make the system even better, you have no chance at all unless you call during the normal working hours. Since they never seem to work, that leaves the client zero chance of any access. Do not take my work for this, you have the numbers, give it a try.
Floridamom1 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Nonfunctional System

This is such a frustrating system. I too followed the rules and tried to call the 800 number when my access account showed "on hold" for food stamps. I went to the pinelleas county office and was told that they didnt receive my income verification, then when I looked onto her computer I saw it was scanned in. The case was sent back to the case worker. We'll see. I dont think there is a call center. I think our governor closed it and doesnt want us to know.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Tired of Diversity
    Just make good movies with the best actors. Thanks
    Flydubai - The Worse Flight Experience Ever
    Me and my daughter had to fly out of Kyiv to Dubai on...
    MTN - Bad service
    I went to MTN vaal mall regarding problem with my contract...
    COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK - COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK
    Coca-Cola i have receive your sms to my mobile number 0765...
    Celcom - Internet slow
    Tolong periksa coverage di kawasan BATU RAKIT, KUALA...
    eDreams - Seat Booking via eDreams
    It is now well over two weeks since I first raised the...
    eDreams - Seat Booking via eDreams
    It is now well over two weeks since I first raised the...
    SNGPL - Leakage of gas from meter
    Sir we are abserve that our gas from our meter is laeked...
    dird - lottery winner
    this mail true or false let me know by mail...
    Lovetoria*payLvt.com - Charges from my disability card
    You have taken money from my disability card without...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Tired of Diversity
    Just make good movies with the best actors. Thanks
    Flydubai - The Worse Flight Experience Ever
    Me and my daughter had to fly out of Kyiv to Dubai on...
    MTN - Bad service
    I went to MTN vaal mall regarding problem with my contract...
    COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK - COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK
    Coca-Cola i have receive your sms to my mobile number 0765...
    Celcom - Internet slow
    Tolong periksa coverage di kawasan BATU RAKIT, KUALA...
    eDreams - Seat Booking via eDreams
    It is now well over two weeks since I first raised the...
    eDreams - Seat Booking via eDreams
    It is now well over two weeks since I first raised the...
    SNGPL - Leakage of gas from meter
    Sir we are abserve that our gas from our meter is laeked...
    dird - lottery winner
    this mail true or false let me know by mail...
    Lovetoria*payLvt.com - Charges from my disability card
    You have taken money from my disability card without...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username