Submit a Complaint

FONECHOICE

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about FONECHOICE

ChristelleSteyn Send email
 
Nov 22, 2021

LAPTOP & PRINTER SENT BACK

Good day,

It has come to my attention that my account is still open after I have requested for it to be rectified as per emails below and confirmation of such has been received.

Email dated 10/12/2018.

Your urgent attention in closing this account with immediate effect will be highly appreciated. Next stop will be the ombudsman.

Thank you
Christelle Steyn FoneChoice Statement - CUSTOMER NUMBER STE10137


From: FoneChoice <[email protected]>
Sent: Monday, December 10, 2018 1:58 PM
To: Steyn, Christelle: Absa <[email protected]>
Subject: RE: FoneChoice Statement - CUSTOMER NUMBER STE10137

Good Day,

Kindly be informed that the account is in the process of cancellation and will only be refunded the amount once we have scanned back the item.

For alternative assistance contact our Customer Service Centre on 0861 346 222.

Regards,
Fonechoice Support Team


This e-mail is subject to the Homechoice e-mail disclaimer.


From: Steyn, Christelle: Absa [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: 10 December 2018 11:20 AM
To: [email protected]
Cc: FoneChoice
Subject: FW: FoneChoice Statement - CUSTOMER NUMBER STE10137
Importance: High

Good Morning,

Please be so kind as to assist me with cancellation of my contract.

I’ve been sending FoneChoice emails since the 26th of November and to date I have been debited twice on my account with an amount of R728.76 for a product that I’ve sent back and requested them to cancel the contract and provide me with proof of cancellation.

Latest debit went through today the 10th of December 2018.

Should you need any further information on the matter, please let me know as I would like this matter to be sorted.

Thank you for your assistance in this regard.


Christelle Steyn
Customer Services & Hosting Manager
Retail and Business Banking

T +27 15 780 6500
M +27 82 927 2103
F +27 15 781 3296

Absa, Eden Square Mall, Shop 45, Cnr Mandela and Palm Ave, Phalaborwa, 1389, South Africa

www.absa.africa

CONFIDENTIAL / INTERNAL ONLY / SECRET




( Brave. Passionate. Ready. )

From: Steyn, Christelle: Absa
Sent: 10 December 2018 11:08 AM
To: 'FoneChoice' <[email protected]>
Subject: FW: FoneChoice Statement - CUSTOMER NUMBER STE10137
Importance: High

Good day,

My account has once again been debited with R728.76.

As per my request below – cancel contract with immediate effect!

This email will now also be forwarded to the Commissioner at the Consumer Protection Act Offices who will be looking into the matter as I am not receiving any confirmation of cancellation of the contract.

This also has a negative effect on my credit score!

Your feedback by close of business today that the contract has been cancelled and proof thereof will be highly appreciated.

Thank you


Christelle Steyn
Customer Services & Hosting Manager
Retail and Business Banking

T +27 15 780 6500
M +27 82 927 2103
F +27 15 781 3296

Absa, Eden Square Mall, Shop 45, Cnr Mandela and Palm Ave, Phalaborwa, 1389, South Africa

www.absa.africa

CONFIDENTIAL / INTERNAL ONLY / SECRET




( Brave. Passionate. Ready. )

From: Steyn, Christelle: Absa
Sent: 29 November 2018 01:00 PM
To: 'FoneChoice' <[email protected]>
Subject: FW: FoneChoice Statement - CUSTOMER NUMBER STE10137

Good Afternoon,

Please find attached sms received from Fonechoice.

Note: This contract has been cancelled – please send me confirmation thereof immediately or I will be forwarding information to Ombudsman as I am protected by the Consumer Protection act.

Your urgent attention to this matter will be highly appreciated.

Thank you


Christelle Steyn
Customer Services & Hosting Manager
Retail and Business Banking

T +27 15 780 6500
M +27 82 927 2103
F +27 15 781 3296

Absa, Eden Square Mall, Shop 45, Cnr Mandela and Palm Ave, Phalaborwa, 1389, South Africa

www.absa.africa

CONFIDENTIAL / INTERNAL ONLY / SECRET




( Brave. Passionate. Ready. )

From: Steyn, Christelle: Absa
Sent: 26 November 2018 12:26 PM
To: 'FoneChoice' <[email protected]>
Subject: FW: FoneChoice Statement - CUSTOMER NUMBER STE10137

Good Day,

Please be so kind as to urgently confirm cancellation of contract and send me proof of such by no later than 30/11/2018.

Thank you


Christelle Steyn
Customer Services & Hosting Manager
Retail and Business Banking

T +27 15 780 6500
M +27 82 927 2103
F +27 15 781 3296

Absa, Eden Square Mall, Shop 45, Cnr Mandela and Palm Ave, Phalaborwa, 1389, South Africa

www.absa.africa

CONFIDENTIAL / INTERNAL ONLY / SECRET




( Brave. Passionate. Ready. )

From: Steyn, Christelle: Absa
Sent: 20 November 2018 04:29 PM
To: FoneChoice <[email protected]>
Subject: RE: FoneChoice Statement - CUSTOMER NUMBER STE10137

Good Day,

Collection Address:

Christelle Steyn
Absa
Eden Square Mall,
Shop 45
Cnr Mandela and Palm ave
Phalaborwa
1389

Thank you


Christelle Steyn
Customer Services & Hosting Manager
Retail and Business Banking

T +27 15 780 6500
M +27 82 927 2103
F +27 15 781 3296

Absa, Eden Square Mall, Shop 45, Cnr Mandela and Palm Ave, Phalaborwa, 1389, South Africa

www.absa.africa

CONFIDENTIAL / INTERNAL ONLY / SECRET




( Brave. Passionate. Ready. )

From: FoneChoice [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: 20 November 2018 03:54 PM
To: Steyn, Christelle: Absa <[email protected]>
Subject: RE: FoneChoice Statement - CUSTOMER NUMBER STE10137

Good Day,

Please accept my sincere apologies for your unfortunate experience.

For the cancellation process please send us collection details soonest.

For alternative assistance contact our Customer Service Centre on 0861 346 222.
Regards,
Fonechoice Support Team


This e-mail is subject to the Homechoice e-mail disclaimer.




From: Steyn, Christelle: Absa [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: 20 November 2018 02:38 PM
To: FoneChoice
Subject: FW: FoneChoice Statement - CUSTOMER NUMBER STE10137

Good Afternoon,

I am unfortunately still not happy with my order and would hereby like to cancel my order due to HomeChoice/fonechoice not keeping up to their end of our deal.

The Canon MG2545S series (which I did not order) is also not a WIFI printer which was one of the explicit reasons why I ordered the HP Deskjet 2630 printer.

Please arrange for cancellation of my contract and for someone to come and pick up the goods from my office in Phalaborwa.

I’ve seen HomeChoice’s latest brochures and they are still advertising the product so why it is listed on my contract with a serial number but not delivered I am unable to say.

Also please ensure that any debit orders loaded not go off of my account as I will have to return it as an unauthorised debit.

Thank you for understanding.


Christelle Steyn
Customer Services & Hosting Manager
Retail and Business Banking

T +27 15 780 6500
M +27 82 927 2103
F +27 15 781 3296

Absa, Eden Square Mall, Shop 45, Cnr Mandela and Palm Ave, Phalaborwa, 1389, South Africa

www.absa.africa

CONFIDENTIAL / INTERNAL ONLY / SECRET




( Brave. Passionate. Ready. )

From: FoneChoice [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: 20 November 2018 11:36 AM
To: Steyn, Christelle: Absa <[email protected]>
Subject: FoneChoice Statement




Hi Mrs Steyn,

We are pleased to provide you with your latest FoneChoice statement. To view your statement you need Adobe Acrobat reader. If you don't have Adobe Acrobat Reader, you can download it here.
You can phone our Call Centre on 0861 346 222 to update your personal details or enquire about account or product related queries.
You can also view our latest offers on our products by visiting our website www.homechoice.co.za

Sincerely,
FoneChoice Accounts

Ronette Schroeder

P.S. To view these documents you will need Adobe Acrobat reader 7.0 or higher. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat reader, it is available for you to download here.







You are receiving this email because you opted in to receive FoneChoice mailings or indicated you were interested in
receiving communications from the homechoice group. Be sure to add us to your safe senders list in your contacts.

If at any time you wish to stop receiving FoneChoice emails, you can send us an email by clicking here
FoneChoice (Pty) Ltd is a Juristic Representative of Hollard Life Assurance Company Limited. Hollard is an authorised Financial Services Provider.


78 Main Road Wynberg
Cape Town, South Africa | 0861 346 222



Important Notice:
Absa Bank Limited is a subsidiary of Absa Group Limited and is an Authorised Financial Services Provider and Registered Credit Provider, registration number: NCRCP7.
Absa Bank Limited provides services to Absa Group Limited and its subsidiaries.
This e-mail and any files transmitted with it may contain information that is confidential, privileged or otherwise protected from disclosure.
If you are not an intended recipient of this e-mail, do not duplicate or redistribute it by any means. Please delete it and any attachments and notify the sender that you have received it in error.
Unless specifically indicated, this e-mail is not an offer to buy or sell or a solicitation to buy or sell any securities, investment products or other financial product or service, an official confirmation of any transaction, or an official statement of Absa Group Limited or any of its subsidiaries. Any views or opinion presented are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of Absa Group Limited or any of its subsidiaries. This e-mail is subject to disclaimer terms available at the following link: http://www.absa.co.za/disclaimer. The disclaimer forms part of the content of this email. If you are unable to access the disclaimer, send a blank e-mail to [email protected] and we will send you a copy. By messaging with Absa Group Limited and or any of its subsidiaries you consent to the aforegoing.
Important Notice:
Absa Bank Limited is a subsidiary of Absa Group Limited and is an Authorised Financial Services Provider and Registered Credit Provider, registration number: NCRCP7.
Absa Bank Limited provides services to Absa Group Limited and its subsidiaries.
This e-mail and any files transmitted with it may contain information that is confidential, privileged or otherwise protected from disclosure.
If you are not an intended recipient of this e-mail, do not duplicate or redistribute it by any means. Please delete it and any attachments and notify the sender that you have received it in error.
Unless specifically indicated, this e-mail is not an offer to buy or sell or a solicitation to buy or sell any securities, investment products or other financial product or service, an official confirmation of any transaction, or an official statement of Absa Group Limited or any of its subsidiaries. Any views or opinion presented are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of Absa Group Limited or any of its subsidiaries. This e-mail is subject to disclaimer terms available at the following link: http://www.absa.co.za/disclaimer. The disclaimer forms part of the content of this email. If you are unable to access the disclaimer, send a blank e-mail to [email protected] and we will send you a copy. By messaging with Absa Group Limited and or any of its subsidiaries y


Sibongilenene Send email
 
Oct 30, 2021

UNFAIR TREATMENT

I had an account with Fonechoice. During September 2021 I requested a settlement amount and was given R4,593.84 as a settlement amount which I immediately paid. End Septembers an amount of over R200 was deducted from my account, and in October over R500 was deducted.

I have been asking for a transaction history of me account to no avail. Should Fonechoice deduct any amount again from my account I am going to take further steps.

Martha Sibongile Nene
072 709 2335
Siqinisile Send email
 
Sep 16, 2021

Laptop

I was bought a laptop it has insurance but now i do not have its stay there my problem is im not learning anymore i stucking but still paying everything about it please help me

Laptop

[email protected] Send email
 
Jul 13, 2021

Repairs on Repairs

Finchoice is the worst. My laptop went on repairs in February 2021 and it is now July, I still do not have the laptop. I am paying both the instalment and insurance. The Finchoice insurance it’s not helping at all it is a scam. Every time I call they say the laptop still on repairs and they will call me back but they never do.
Eulenda Send email
 
Jun 30, 2021

Failing to repair phone

I am very angry with their service. I sent an email to them so they could repair my phone, there was no answer so i yhen called Several times and on all occasions they promised to collect the phone for repairs but no one ever collected.
Their service is very poor, we are forced to pay for insurance while they know very well they will not help us.....
I would never recommend you guys ever, i am soo angry because you take your customers for granted and you have poor service. And i am never purchasing a phone from you guys. What a waste of money.
kagisano Send email
 
Jun 22, 2021

phone repair

I am very upset with the type of service that I am receiving since last year 2020

fonechoice sent COUREIR IT to my door step on the 01.06.2020 for collection of my phone for repair, since then i haven't receive any info regarding whereabout of my device i stopped paying my account which is on arrears and it affecting my record
kindly advise on way forward

kl kamanyane
contact details 0783468290
[email protected]
Thabani Zamani Msane Send email
 
Apr 13, 2021

LAPTOP COMPLAIN

I purchased a laptop from Fonechoice in November 2019 on contract. In27 NOVEMBER 2020 It went in for repairs. Four months later to date I have still not received my laptop and I am still honouring my installments every month . I have phoned copiously and most of the time there is no answer and finally when there is an answer I get pushed from Pilar to post but I still have no solid feedback. Customer service is absolutely disgusting. I have given Fonechoice enough of time. I am very disappointed in Fonechoice as compared to finchoice and homechoice. I am a very good payer and I do not deserve this kind of treatment. In future it will be very hard for me to consider dealing with Fonechoice if this is how I get treated with just a simple repair. If this matter is not resolved with URGENCY, emphasis on urgency I will be forced to contact consumer omnibus. Thank you and looking forward to a quick response. 0780999040-MR ZT MSANE
Irene Moremi Send email
 
Apr 9, 2021

Fonechoice

I sent an Acer laptop for screen repair in january 2021and today is april. The laptop still not back. No communication from fonechoice. From january that they had the laptop at their repair centre, they called me and sent me a message month end of march informing me that I'm in arrears for the access fee which they never arranged with me the detail of. When I call for follow up I'm told still at the repair center. The painful part is that I'm still paying installment everymonth but I don't have the laptop. I feel like I'm being exploited as the customer. And there is no specific person that u can call within fonechoice who can help. My email adress is [email protected]
Nomsasephula Send email
 
Mar 19, 2021

Exploitation of contract

I took a contract with fonechoice and it was via the phone. I agreed to a months contract then to my surprise when i thought i finished then fonechoice send the statement showing i took 36 months contract. I send an email to them i even called then requesting for a phone record where i too a contract so they can see and hear our agreement. Instead they keep harrasing me. My name is nomsa sephula ID 8801160467083

Exploitation of contract

Nomsasephula Send email
 
Mar 19, 2021

Exploitation of contract

I took a contract with fonechoice and it was via the phone. I agreed on 24 months contract. And through all those years of paying i never received a statement and i never requested for it until i thought im done paying. To my suprise i saw a statement saying i took a 36 months contract then i send an email to fonechoice stating my concerns and they didn't bother to help me. Instead they debited the monthly money then i decided to reverse the money. I called them asking fir a phone record where i took the contract so they failed to do so. They keep on harrasing me instead of helping. My name is nomsa sephula ID 8801160467083

Exploitation of contract

quiinngomane16 Send email
 
Mar 10, 2021

Poor customer service

Since I sent my laptop for repair September 2020 it's been 5 months already and it's not back.when I try to call the consultant wants details that the already have ,the other said she'll send an email for them to check what's taking so long ,the other said they went working since September the started working February still now it's not back and the boring part is that the still taking their installments even when I am not using their product.contact no 0765080880.
MASALEJE Send email
 
Mar 4, 2021

CANCELLED INSURANCE

I have paid up my laptop last year and asked for the insurance to be canselled which never happened i now owe fonechoice R700 ,I HAVE BEEN CALLING PROMISED TO GET FEED BACK AND BEING SEND FROM PILLAR TO POST TO GET HELP ,THE COLLECTION DEPARTMENT IS NOT LISTENING AND THE CONSULTANT JUST DROP THE PHONE ON MY EARS, I HAVE REFERENCE NO 698388 WHICH IS NOT HELPING ,VERY FUSTRATE ANGRY AND DISAPPOINTED WITH THE LEVEL OF SERVICE THAT I RECEIVE. I CALLED TODAY SPOKEN TO LINDILE HE PROMISED TO ESCALATE THE QUERY BUT I HAVE RUN OUT OF PATIEANCE
Amrose dunn Send email
 
Feb 12, 2021

Laptop gone in for repairs and 4 months later the laptop has not been returned and very very poor customer service

I purchased a laptop from Fonechoice in November 2019 on contract. The laptop is insured. In October 2020 It went in for repairs just for a charging pin. Four months later to date I have still not received my laptop and I am still honouring my installments every month including an extra fee for insurance. I have phoned copiously and most of the time there is no answer and finally when there is an answer I get pushed from Pilar to post but I still have no solid feedback. Customer service is absolutely disgusting. The reason for the purchase of the laptop was for my daughter who recently became an IT student. With schools reopening on Monday 15th February 2021 considering she’s going into a very important grade,11. Fonechoice is jeopardising her subject at school. She will not be able to practice this subject without a laptop. I have given Fonechoice enough of time. I am very disappointed in Fonechoice as compared to finchoice and homechoice. I am a very good payer and I do not deserve this kind of treatment. In future it will be very hard for me to consider dealing with Fonechoice if this is how I get treated with just a simple repair. If this matter is not resolved with URGENCY, emphasis on urgency I will be forced to contact consumer omnibus. Thank you and looking forward to a quick response. 0790731783-mrs p.s Dunn
Jerome Eddy Jones Send email
 
Jan 27, 2021

Claim

I've placed a claim 4 months ago with fonechoice of which 2 is stil being accessed. It is frustrating that the only communication is email and have not had any reply for 3 months. Customer service can't assist as they waiting on them for feedback and insurance is being debited. Being in the dark sucks
mamolekO8 Send email
 
Dec 8, 2020

Lost laptop

Hi there I'm so disappointed about the tendency I got from fonechoice I put in a claim on the second of November 2020 to you guys but since then I haven't received an response ,I've tried to call fonechoice but the only answer I get is that they will check at the claim office they have debited for the second time but to answer me no
Contact number 0832373761 mr Khambule
masonwabe mananga Send email
 
May 7, 2020

account stament

Hi i m a customer who took a laptop,laptop case and a tablet that was in 2017 sometime in November if i m not mistaken with the agreement that i will pay R525.19 per month so i paid that amount until today but the fustrating part about this exercise is that there is no monthly statement that is being sent to me as per norm i have tried to talk to them via email they only responded once by sending my statement then after that they stopped never send me anything. I don't even know how much i owe them as of now but i just keep on paying them and i also know that theres one month of June last year that i m behind with i know that but that doesn't give them any right not to send me my due stament, i thought of stop paying the account once and for all in order for them to meet my demands but i was going to be on the losing side because they are so quick to put interest in your account and also put you in arears. So any help i can get to solve this because according to my knowledge this account was supposed to have been finished last year 2019 i m just not sure which month exactly.So please somebody help me. My contact details are as follows:0724351896/email:[email protected]/ Name: Masonwabe Mananga
MOT246 Send email
 
Aug 28, 2019

Poor service

I have 2 phones took out with FONECHOICE, i am paying 900 and with no DATA, i skipped 2 payments on purpose because i cannot buy 2 phones without DATA,

i am now requesting my recording to confirm that i requested phones with DATA, that ridiculous, 2 phones without DATA, everyday i getting calls to say i must pay i wont need my DATA that i was promised, if i new i should have gone to Telkom because they are reasonable

Very angry with them, i even told them i want to cancel and they must collect their phones but courier failed to collect,

I have ran out of IDEAS

MR MOtsoatsoa
Veronique Brown Send email
 
Jan 5, 2018

LAPTOP REPAIR

Hi

I am very upset with the type of service that I am receiving since 31 October 2017.

Firstly I phoned in to advise that my laptop was broken, they told me that they will pick up the device within 2-3 business days and I waited 2 weeks and no one got back to me, I had to phone back in to ask what’s happening, upon complaining I then received a call from the courier company to collect, upon arrival of the courier the guy that came did not have a slip and I asked him if he expects me to give him the laptop that I am still paying for without a receipt? He came back 2 days later with a receipt.

Secondly, after this I waited for the laptop received an sms that the laptop is now being repaired and that they will advise me of the excess fee, then the excess fee was just deducted from my account without any warning and I had to phone in again to ask why they deducted from my account twice and was told that it’s the excess fee of which NO ONE told me what the amount will be nor when they will be deducting!

In the same call I asked when I will be receiving the device, and I received an sms the same day that they dispatched it to the courier. I received the laptop yesterday and to my SURPRISE, THE LAPTOP NOW WONT SWITCH ON! DON’T YOU TEST THE LAPTOPS BEFORE ITS DISPATCHED OR WAS I JUST SENT A LAPTOP CAUSE I COMPLAINED????

I PHONED AND SENT FONECHOICE AN EMAIL ON THE 28TH OF DECEMBER 2017 OF WHICH THEY SAID THEY WILL PRIORITIZE MY MATTER AND THEY BOOKED FOR COLLECTION TO GET THE LAPTOP SORTED OF WHICH I AM STILL WAITING, STILL HAVE THE BROKEN LAPTOP AND STILL HAVEN'T HEARD ANYTHING FROM THEM.

AS I FEEL NOW I HAVE HAD IT WITH FONECHOICE AND THE SERVICE, I FEEL THAT I WANT TO GIVE THE WHOLE PACKAGE BACK AND DEMAND ALL MY MONEY BACK AS I DID NOT SKIP A SINGLE PAYMENT ON THIS CONTRACT AND I AM RECEIVING THIS TYPE OF SERVICE OR TERMINATE THE CONTRACT WITH YOU WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT AND NOT DEAL WITH YOU EVER AGAIN!!!!

A VERY UPSET CUSTOMER!!!!

THIS IS THE REFERENCE THAT I RECEIVED - Reference - IC0001127184

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username