Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Georgia Power

United States,
Georgia

Consumer complaints and reviews about Georgia Power

Carman Snell Send email
 
Sep 19, 2018

High bill

High bills due to water heater going out and now our air conditioner unit is out. I have got a $150 deposit added to my bill due to the fact I had to request a payment arrangement I also paid a $150 deposit back in February. I'm not understanding how y'all can tack on an extra $150 cause I asked for payment arrangement. If I had known that I would have never got a arrangement. Slam rediculous. I spoke to someone at Georgia Power and she said it's in the fine print. Yall should really tell people about this. I don't know how I'm going to pay all this.
Honeywlll Send email
 
Jul 16, 2018

High power bill

I don’t understand how we went from paying 78 dollars to 107 to now paying damn near $300 in a home with small children I called Georgia power an they going to tell me how they sent yo their rates until September which we had no idea about it’s still impossible that I’m in a home with 3 small kids an using this much power when we are hardly even home. Or in the house these prices are becoming very ridiculous it’s like we are running a store or warehouse in this place y’all are seriously ripping people off and it’s crazy I can’t even begin to imagine how anybody else would fell about this this is ridiculous and something needs to be done why am I paying these ridiculous prices for a small home with 3 small kids y’all need to do better it’s impossible
Tanzania1 Send email
 
Jul 7, 2018

Double deposit

I paid a 150 deposit when GETTING service they bill already high how in the world cause my bill a little late they can just charge me another 150 deposit that's so unfair if I am barely paying the original bill why put more charges on my bill that is so unfair just cause im late on rent don't mean they can demand a second deposit Georgia power is crazy as hell
Jorja Send email
 
Jul 1, 2018

Insane Bill

I opened my bill today from Georgia Power, and it was $986.82!! What in the entire world is this!!?? I am so upset and stressed. Clearly GA Power doesn't get pinged when something is abnormal, they just carryon and take all your money and if you can't pay, then tough cookie. I am a single mom of 3 with only one income. I have no idea how I am going to pay this. I live in a single family home, and I do not have anything extra that burns electricity. I contacted them 2 weeks ago and requested a new meter because I saw my bill getting higher and higher, but never did I think it would reach almost $1,000.00. They still have not replaced the meter.I think it's my AC unit since the bill rise after I started running it..... but $986??? I guess no food for me and my kids until I can satisfy GAPower and their schemes. What are we going to do without air? It is obvious there is a problem, and I am getting someone to help assess it. But does that change the fact that I have a disconnect notice for in 2 weeks?? I do not know what to do. I wish I could switch from Georgia Power, but I have no choice, so I guess I am being strong armed.
Jorja Send email
 
Jul 1, 2018

Georgia Power billed me for $986.82

I opened my bill from GA Power and it says $986.82 due in 2 weeks. I am floored! I am a single mom with one income and have no idea how I am going to pay this. I contacted GA Power 2 weeks ago and requested a new meter because my bill was getting higher and higher. I thought that was unbelievable, so I figured something was wrong, but never did I think I would reach almost $1,000.00. They still have not changed the meter. Now with this new bill, my blood pressure has gone up and I cannot stop stressing about it. It is really hot, so what will my kids and I do without AC? I do not have an option to switch to a different power company, so I guess I am being strong armed. I guess no food for us until I can pay GA Power $1,000.00, pretty much! Maybe I should tell the mortgage company they are a non-factor until I satisfy GA Power! Maybe, just maybe GA Power should know this is a red flag and further assessment should be done... but what do they care?!
bassone4000 Send email
 
Jun 18, 2018

Summer Price Gouging

I moved to GA a little over a year and a half ago. I just noticed that during the "peak" summer months, GA Power company charges 50 percent more from June thru Sep for each Kilowatt Hour used. When I sent an email to the company, they pointed me on how to "save" money by using less electricity - however, in the HEAT of the summer, of course you are going to use more electricity due to powering the AC unit more. They know this so during this PEAK usage, they raise the rate. I used 1506 kw in the month of May and the cost of each kw was 10 cents per. In June, I used 1717 kw and the cost of each kw was 15 cents per. 50 percent more!!!

My bill for June (only half the month) they charged the HIGHER price for then entire 30 days - even though the "Summer Month" rate is supposed to be from June to Sep. My bill in May was 163.00. In June, it was 258.00!!! When I use the "calculator" that they have on their website, if I were charged the summer rate back in May for the 1506 kw, it would have been 225.00!!! This is uncalled for and price gouging because they know we will use more in the summer. Totally outrageous!! And there is nothing that can be done as we cannot pick an electric company like I could when I lived in PA or NY. It is a MONOPOLY and from what I can see, not regulated AT ALL...
Rodney McVey Send email
 
Jun 8, 2018

Billing Beyond Cutoff Date

Set-up a Cut-Off Date online for 5-1-18.

Now getting billed for 5-8-18 to 6-5-18. Looked online the system said our service was disconnected as we had arranged for it to be. Call only to be told we did not have a cut off in the system for you. Ask to speak to Supervisor but no-one is available.

Not sure if their online system lost the Cut Off Orders when it was upgraded to a web page type design or just them being shady since no-one from Georgia Power has been available to comment or explain.
Seems like a pretty nice racket of getting illegal funds; for instance, 10000 people set up a cut off to move out of Georgia they then charge each $20 for the cycle beyond that cut off and pocket $200,000.

Would like to be contacted if anyone starts a Class Action.
Desiree6112 Send email
 
Mar 3, 2018

Outrageous power bill

Everyones power bills have went up by 200-300 dollars there is no reason for this the people in charge of these companies should be ashamed people barely make it as it is and then you spike the rates because you know a cold front is coming through and people need to run their heat. We conserve as much as we can and we always do the same thing December bill 200 more January we used even less 300 more really. This is unjust.
Desiree6112 Send email
 
Mar 3, 2018

Outrageous power bill

How is my bill 200 dollars more almost 300 more in December in January, when I have done everything as I always have. This is unreal people cannot afford,this and y'all should be ashamed of doing this to families
Bridgette Send email
 
Sep 30, 2017

Rip-off

Georgia power is the worst. I forgot my payment arrangements.
The following day they come cut you off early in the morning.
Most are at work.
Then Georgia Power demands payment on past and current bill.
Cost me $550 and Georgia Power refuse to turn my service back on til next day...claiming payment made after 3:00 pm.

I am moving from this house because it does not have updated meter..someone comes out manually
Just a ripoff to charge another deposit and reconnect fees
I hate Georgia Power
Donna2017 Send email
 
Sep 23, 2017

Power off

This is the only company that i know of that will turn your power off on a damn Saturday , makes me so damn mad to wake up and can't even drank any damn coffee because GP wants to make people life miserable on a damn Saturday morning. Nice job Georgia power. 🖕
zcellis Send email
 
Aug 28, 2017

Trying to keep costs down but the rates keep going up

Not sure where to begin for a retiree living on social security and seeing the rates increase each month... why can't Ga Power do business like Colquitt EMC. Their rates stay the same ...Shameful for Ga Power added extra fees to the end of your statement... who can put a stop to this. I'm only one voice but I know there are many other customers that feel the dishonesty of our power bills.. Ga Power needs to feel the pinch of its customers.
zcellis Send email
 
Aug 28, 2017

Trying to live on an income of being retired

I am sadden to see our bill each month ... the cost price per of killawatt hours compared to company of Colquitt EMC here in our community is truly not fair...
Especially when Colquitt EMC buys their electricity from Ga Power ...
as a consumer I try to keep costs down I just don't understand the increase in cost during different times of the year and the add on costs after your bill is calculated... please Ga Power think of your customers that live on social security each month ...I'm only one voice but there are many just like me that feel the same... trying to make a difference
Joshuagiraffe77 Send email
 
Aug 16, 2017

One way you can do something about it.

I am not a Georgia Power customer, but I used to be. The majority of the posts on this complaint board are about excessive costs, so I wanted to share this petition with anyone who comes to this website.
Though the biggest reason for rate increases and environmental compliance is because of over due and over budget projects like the Vogtle nuclear plant, another huge factor is the existing aging infrastructure, old hydroelectric dams, which cost tens of millions just to operate. Georgians deserve better.

https://www.change.org/p/nathan-deal-draw-down-lake-tugaloo-to-river-bed-level-and-dismantle-the-tugalo-dam-forever
wshipman Send email
 
Jun 25, 2017

GA Power over charging and getting away with it!

Okay, I've been reading these reviews because I wanted to make sure I wasn't the (ONLY ONE) that has issues with the costs and billing with GA Power.
I've never had to have GA Power until we moved into this house 4 years ago. In my other home with Jackson EMC they only charged & added sales tax for the (actual electricity usage,) and my bills were never even CLOSE to being as high as they are with GA Power. I almost had a heart attack when I got my first bill.
My electric bills are astronomical! I had them do their free inspection, took their advice, keep everything that doesn't need to be plugged in unplugged, unless using it. I only use lights when needed and turn off when not needed as well as the tv or anything else in the house. I keep my AC on 78 and suffer through the heat because I can't afford to actually COOL my home. Only keep it at 78 so it's not unbearable. I am, on a regular basis the only person home, by myself all day everyday until about 6:30. I NEVER turn on a tv or anything since I spend most of my time outside. We have had three adult children move out since we've moved here and our bills are STILL outrageous! I have requested daily usage updates and always check them. It seems very interesting to me that some days the cost seems Reasonable ($5.00) for a day of usage with me being here alone, but then I'll check a different day and the usage and cost is 4-5 X the previous day even when nothing has changed!! Also, on days when NO ONE is here at all or when we are on vacation with no one in the home, the usage will still go as high as $20.00 for the day. I believe that's a bit "FISHY??!" Anyone else think so??? Also, I am VERY INTERESTED in learning exactly WHY, "WE, The Consumers/Customers," are being charged for "Their Costs?!?!" Unlike my previous Electric Company, GA Power adds THREE EXTRA FEES/CHARGES on our monthly bill that typically adds an extra $50.00-$60.00 to the whole bill AND, they don't just (tax our electricity usage!!)
They charge us "sales tax" on the total bill INCLUDING their Extra FEES!
These extra charges/fees are:
1. Environmental Compliance Cost
2. Nuclear Construction Cost Recovery
3. Municipal Franchise Fee

Now, I don't know about anyone else on here but (I DO NOT BELIEVE,) That WE, the customer should have to pay for GA Powers Cost of business!! Especially being charged sales tax on the extra fees as well, instead of what our actual electricity usage is. Until GA Power, when we moved into this house, I've NEVER seen or heard of this at all. No other electric company has ever been like this or have charged these extra fees. Before we moved here and got stuck with GA Power our electric bills were ONLY billed as per our usage and only paid tax on what our electric usage was. Nothing else!! No other electric company charged the extremely high rates like GA Power either.

GA Power is straight up STEALING FROM, OVERCHARGING and ADDING extra fees to the unfortunate people that have NO CHOICE in which electric company to have! Those THREE Added Charges are (THEIR costs for their company!) They make their customers pay for their cost of business and we are just basically screwed by being stuck with GA Power because no one else services This area.

I want to know if there is ANYTHING we/anyone can do to stop them from doing this??
It's just NOT RIGHT! This is NOT acceptable!

I'm PISSED OFF and really would like to find some way to DO (Something) about what they are putting on and charging people for. We should only be being charged for (our actual electric) usage at a reasonable rate, just as other companies charge for.

Pissed in Buford GA! 😾😡
W Shipman
wshipman Send email
 
Jun 25, 2017

Inconsistency of usage & charging us $50.00 + extra for Their Costs!

Okay, I've been reading these reviews because I wanted to make sure I wasn't the (ONLY ONE) that has issues with the costs and billing with GA Power.
I've never had to have GA Power until we moved into this house 4 years ago. In my other home with Jackson EMC they only charged & added sales tax for the (actual electricity usage,) and my bills were never even CLOSE to being as high as they are with GA Power. I almost had a heart attack when I got my first bill.
My electric bills are astronomical! I had them do their free inspection, took their advice, keep everything that doesn't need to be plugged in unplugged, unless using it. I only use lights when needed and turn off when not needed as well as the tv or anything else in the house. I keep my AC on 78 and suffer through the heat because I can't afford to actually COOL my home. Only keep it at 78 so it's not unbearable. I am, on a regular basis the only person home, by myself all day everyday until about 6:30. I NEVER turn on a tv or anything since I spend most of my time outside. We have had three adult children move out since we've moved here and our bills are STILL outrageous! I have requested daily usage updates and always check them. It seems very interesting to me that some days the cost seems Reasonable ($5.00) for a day of usage with me being here alone, but then I'll check a different day and the usage and cost is 4-5 X the previous day even when nothing has changed!! Also, on days when NO ONE is here at all or when we are on vacation with no one in the home, the usage will still go as high as $20.00 for the day. I believe that's a bit "FISHY??!" Anyone else think so??? Also, I am VERY INTERESTED in learning exactly WHY, "WE, The Consumers/Customers," are being charged for "Their Costs?!?!" Unlike my previous Electric Company, GA Power adds THREE EXTRA FEES/CHARGES on our monthly bill that typically adds an extra $50.00-$60.00 to the whole bill AND, they don't just (tax our electricity usage!!)
They charge us "sales tax" on the total bill INCLUDING their Extra FEES!
These extra charges/fees are:
1. Environmental Compliance Cost
2. Nuclear Construction Cost Recovery
3. Municipal Franchise Fee

Now, I don't know about anyone else on here but (I DO NOT BELIEVE,) That WE, the customer should have to pay for GA Powers Cost of business!! Especially being charged sales tax on the extra fees as well, instead of what our actual electricity usage is. Until GA Power, when we moved into this house, I've NEVER seen or heard of this at all. No other electric company has ever been like this or have charged these extra fees. Before we moved here and got stuck with GA Power our electric bills were ONLY billed as per our usage and only paid tax on what our electric usage was. Nothing else!! No other electric company charged the extremely high rates like GA Power either.

GA Power is straight up STEALING FROM, OVERCHARGING and ADDING extra fees to the unfortunate people that have NO CHOICE in which electric company to have! Those THREE Added Charges are (THEIR costs for their company!) They make their customers pay for their cost of business and we are just basically screwed by being stuck with GA Power because no one else services This area.

I want to know if there is ANYTHING we/anyone can do to stop them from doing this??
It's just NOT RIGHT! This is NOT acceptable!

I'm PISSED OFF and really would like to find some way to DO (Something) about what they are putting on and charging people for. We should only be being charged for (our actual electric) usage at a reasonable rate, just as other companies charge for.

Pissed in Buford GA! 😾😡
W Shipman
Krystalshores Send email
 
Mar 6, 2017

Terrible!

I have just realized that no matter how much energy I conserve in the winter months, the rates double anyway. This should be against the law! I also have $450 in deposits they have taken over the years that have accrued $63 in interest. They applied that to my last bill. But I can't get deposits back. It's crap we can't choose a different company and we HAVE TO USE THEM. They can do and charge what ever they want! Disgusted with them and their price gouging. Something has to be done. Is anyone a lawyer? Can this be legal?
cvprater@outlook.com Send email
 
Sep 27, 2016

Extra Fees Charged

Absolutely ridiculous to charge in excess of $30 for additional fees other than the actual service charge. There should be other electric providers that you can choose to eliminate these bullshit charges!

I would like to tell the executives to shove it up their ass!
delilahb10 Send email
 
Jul 1, 2016

Georgia Power Too High

Georgia Power is charging way too much for power. The daily cost has gone up $4 since last month and I swear, they are capitalizing on the heat rising during these summer months. It's not bad enoug that the heat is killing us-I'm asthmatic-but the fact that they are raping us on how much they are charging is ridiculous. They ought to be ashamed of themselves, but they aren't. Calling the news does nothing, no one calls us back. How are we going to get this issue resolved? If we dont do anything, they'll continue to rape us each month for power. They monopolize the areas from outside providers. We need a new power company that can deliver power with lower prices or somehow convert to cold fusion because this is ridiculous.
Dani1973 Send email
 
Apr 8, 2016

Ga Power

My ga Power bill is ridiculous I stay in a three bedroom mobile home and it is total electric every since I have been here my bill has not been under 500 I am a single mother with a limited income I can't catch up because they keep adding a deposit to my account right now my bill is over 700 how in the he'll can I pay that something has to b done about these ppl that have no regard for ppl we r going to b in the dark because these ppl are money hungry and don't care I am the only bread winner in my house I have to find a part time job just to pay my light bill and I think that's so unfair
patboyer Send email
 
Mar 10, 2016

winter month

I have both propane and electric heat and my bill was still 409.00 and my granddaughter has just electric heat and hers was 394.00 that is ridiculous how is this even possible in just one month they are just charging whatever they would like especially seeing how we didn't really use it because the winter was not that long or that bad. I am so sick of three months in a row paying almost 400.00.
conix176 Send email
 
Feb 27, 2016

GA power rip off

I been a customer for four years on disability . I can only afford to pay so much due to other bills . if my bill is higher than normal I pay my bill in two installment but paying before the next month. However GA energy send me a letter in the mail saying they're charge 150.00 toward my bill.. How crazy that is to penalize low income people for paying late. They are already getting the extra fee when we pay late. ....if we can't pay on time what difference it make to charge people more money they don't have. ..ok how about we get a class action suit together for discrimination and abiding justice against low income family and see what they say then...
braggs Send email
 
Feb 25, 2016

GA Power deposit fee unethical - Braggs

My service was interrupted two days ago (2/23/16) at 9:00am. By 9:15am my service was back on. I had made a payment arrangement on the phone that apparently did not go through. Anyway, last night I received a bill that more then twice as much as what my bill normally is. I called GA Power cust service and the agent told me it included a $90 deposit. I been with GA Power for almost 3 years an never had a service disconnection, now and suddenly I have to pay a $90 deposit?!? I've asked to speak to a supervisor but agent stated none was available and one will call me back when available. I immediately got online to research GA Power billing practices. I realize now that GA Power is one of the corporations that is running amok with unethical fees due to any reason their lawyers can cook up for profit. Does anyone have a contact number for the agency that reviews public utilities in GA? Or the corporate number directly to the GA Power department where I can speak to a supervisor or higher-up? Thanks, in advance for any assistance.
dot Send email
 
Oct 17, 2015

High BIlls

My electric bill also went up over the summer months; I'm behind due to that. I don't understand why the electric company feels compelled to gouge people during the summer months, and why they keep asking for rate increases every 6months to a year. We, the people need a break
Mistermaillady Send email
 
Sep 1, 2015

Georgia Power Summer Rates

I can understand summer electricity rates being higher. I don't understand how they nearly double! Go ahead Georgia Power, just charge whatever you feel like charging. I am a single mother of 3 military kids. I am never home. I keep my AC unit on 78. Sometimes I turn it off completely. My rates went from 7.00 to 13.00. Highway robbery! My bill went from 180.00 to 396.00😠

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    TN-tnpaym.com - Stop takin money off my card my card ends with 6181 I want...
    Stop takin money off my card I want my money back ASAP my...
    Nestle Nescafe Instant Coffee - New Nescafe Gold Blend
    The new Gold Blend coffee is an abysmal disaster! You have...
    WageWorks - Suspended card
    Apparently since I paid a bill in January of 2018 and...
    TN-tnpaym.com - Cancel and refund
    Cancel what ever this is and refund my money back
    Gilt.com - Fake and used items on Gilt
    Beware! I purchased several items throughout, and was a...
    Reserve Bank of India [RBI] - pendding payment
    ture or false Dear Krishna Inbox x Reserve Bank Of...
    OYO - Poorest and life taking risk
    My self Rohit Kumar Singh booked a Holiday package from...
    Unknown - charges to my card
    2 months charges of 13.66 the last one has ref.#...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - late payment
    I signed for my last payment on the 8/10/2018 and up to...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    TN-tnpaym.com - Stop takin money off my card my card ends with 6181 I want...
    Stop takin money off my card I want my money back ASAP my...
    Nestle Nescafe Instant Coffee - New Nescafe Gold Blend
    The new Gold Blend coffee is an abysmal disaster! You have...
    WageWorks - Suspended card
    Apparently since I paid a bill in January of 2018 and...
    TN-tnpaym.com - Cancel and refund
    Cancel what ever this is and refund my money back
    Gilt.com - Fake and used items on Gilt
    Beware! I purchased several items throughout, and was a...
    Reserve Bank of India [RBI] - pendding payment
    ture or false Dear Krishna Inbox x Reserve Bank Of...
    OYO - Poorest and life taking risk
    My self Rohit Kumar Singh booked a Holiday package from...
    Unknown - charges to my card
    2 months charges of 13.66 the last one has ref.#...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - late payment
    I signed for my last payment on the 8/10/2018 and up to...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username