Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Gilt.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Gilt.com

2good2btru3 Send email
 
Oct 22, 2018

Fake and used items on Gilt

Beware! I purchased several items throughout, and was a customer for years. Kept buying because I thought I was getting a deal on slightly off, designer goods. Learned my lesson the hard way, many hundredths of dollars later. I’ve gotten what seemed to be returned (as in someone else purchased, used and returned them) cheap looking sunglasses, a dress with the tag sewn upside down, scuffed horse hair shoes (which I thought were supposed to be that way until I compared them to the same item on the Brand’s website). Cheap items that didn’t look anything like in the picture when purchased. Honestly just save your money and buy direct from the designer’s websites, or department stores. What’s the point of wearing wanna be designer stuff if you’re going around wondering if it’s a fake, and spending your hard earned money on something that you get used and you purchased under the impression that it was new. Adios, Gilt!
Nofakeshere Send email
 
Oct 7, 2018

Fake Chanel bag

I purchased a Chanel bag a few years ago from gilt. I assumed it was authentic. I took it to a consignment shop to sell it the other day and they told me it was fake! And showed me many reasons why. I feel so taken advantage of by gilt...in good faith I made a purchase and didn’t pay to authenticate it bc I assumed it was real. I’m sure they won’t make it right now for me... but I’m really angry and am telling everyone I know to not use them bc they sell fakes...
SY214 Send email
 
Jun 15, 2018

Hudson Jeans

I ordered 6 pairs in their Memorial Day ‘WOW40’ sale, the jeans are damaged and compared to my other Hudson Jeans, a total ripoff. The Gilt purchased jeans were so fake it was beyond a joke. I called PayPal immediately because Saks, who owns Gilt, would not accept a return.

I can only suggest to anyone shopping on Gilt that they check that whatever interests them to make sure the item is returnable, and to use PayPal because PayPal helped a lot better than my credit card company. Plus PayPal saves the hassle of having to change credit card numbers.

I don’t think I will shop at Gilt ever again as nothing arrives as pictured.
stefanig Send email
 
Nov 18, 2017

LOST SOFA

I ORDERED A BEAUTIFUL SOFA OCTOBER 25. IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE DELIVERED NOVEMBER 7TH. ON THE DAY OF DELIVERY THEY CALLED AND SAID IT WAS NEVER SCHEDULED TO BE DELIVERED. EFW THE DELIVERY COMPANY HAD NO IDEA OF THE DELIVERY DATE.

TWO DAYS LATER I WAS TOLD THEY WOULD BE IN TOUCH. THREE DAYS LATER I WWAS TOLD BY GILT THE SOFA WAS LOST. NOW, THEY WERE DOING A DOCK CHECK. I HAD TO WAIT 72 HOURS. AFTER THE 72 HOURS, GILT SAID THEY FOUND THE SOFA AND I WOULD HAVE HAD PRIOR TO THANKSGIVING. YESTERDAY, NOV 17TH, EFW SAID THEY HAD TO DO ANOTHER DOCK CHECK. SOFA WAS LOST, BUT PER THEIR TRACKING SYSTEM IT WAS IN THE DESTINATION CITY.

TO DATE, THE SUPERVISORS WHO ARE IN IRELAND AND THE GILT CALL CENTER GIVE ME A DIFFERENT STORY EVERY DAY.

I WANT MY SOFA
kancocorp Send email
 
Sep 20, 2016

Real scumbags…THIEVES!

I honestly don't remember ever dealing with an "brand name" company that was so unfair and such a bunch of scumbags with such poor customer service.

I had a bunch of experiences with them and it was nothing but negative, never good.

Their Gilt city discount things that you buy are like living social or groupon. Except they expire after like a month and then they only give you the amount that you paid credit at the customer for five years. The problem is… When you go to the place they have no idea what you're talking about.

I went on a date and I quietly went to the waitress and I told them about it. She said she has no idea what I'm talking about and when I spoke to the manager he would not honor it… And embarrassed me in front of my day… Who never spoke to me again…

I've called them on multiple occasions for messed up things like this and they basically said sorry and there's nothing we can do… Real scumbags…THIEVES!
Trix11 Send email
 
Jul 17, 2016

Haven't receive my refund after 25 days

I returned a mulberry bag on 6/26/2016 to off saks fifth ave because the bag was obviously not new and they said I shall receive my refund it after 10 days. Now it's more than 25 days and I still not receive a single penny from Gilt. I called them many times and they keep saying product is in transit and asked me to be patience. This is not the right way to do business.
Vsm1616 Send email
 
Jul 8, 2016

Very disappointed I think my bag is fake

I have been a long time shopper of Gilt and have been very happy with my purchases. Recently I bought 2 Longchamp bags and for some reason I started looking online about how you can tell if it's fake and I think they are :( I'm so disappointed. I'm really upset that I spent $600.00 on Gucci shoes that I'm worried are fake too. I'll let you know when I get them. I think everyone everywhere Is trying to scam. I think I will have to save up a little longer for the expensive purchases and go directly to the department stores or the brand store itself. I have been a member for years and now I'm second guessing everything.
luntcz213 Send email
 
Nov 30, 2015

fake scarf cost 150 bucks

purchased a Alexander McQueen Skull Print Silk Scarf 40" x 46". Cannot believe it is fake. So much different with the one sold in Nordstrom. The quality and material are very very wired. This is a non-refundable item so I waste 150 bucks on this scarf. Will never purchase anything from Gilt anymore
Jbryan Send email
 
Dec 20, 2013

Fake or knockoffs

I have made two purchases from Gilt and the first time I thought I had made a mistake in what I had ordered. It was cheaply made coat with a designer name. I found the same good in a legit dept store and looked at the label only to find the print was different the location it was made was different. The one from gilt was definitely a fake or knockoff. Well, I decided to try again on a few times. The 2xist underwear are not real. I have many pairs I have purchased at local dept store. I bought these and opened the box and the fabric immediately felt cheap. Again, the label was different and I looked at the 22 pairs I have bought at the store and they are all made in the same country but gilts 2xist underwear are made in a totally different country. In addition I purchased a silver wine stopper and I received it and it was plastic but silver in color. My last purchase and cancellation of acct and apps from phone and iPad. Be warned.
Alirtaste Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away, be warned, they are not legitimate

Gilt Group bought out Buy With Me .com, which is a coupon voucher site like Groupon. They do not service the city I live in, so I no longer was able to use my credits for BWM. I had a cash credit on my account, from before Gilt bought them. I requested a refund, and I was instructed to buy something. I do not want their stuff. It is overpriced, does not appeal to me, and is not the type of thing I buy online. They have REFUSED to give me my money. Keep in mind, this is not a refund. I never purchased anything to return. It is CASH VALUE that belongs to me and they feel that they have the right to keep it, or force me to purchase. No matter what I purchase, I would have to send them more money, and I am unwilling to do that. Yes, the group is a Scam with a capital S. Stay away, be warned, they are not legitimate.
GiltSocialSupport Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away, be warned, they are not legitimate

Hello!

Thank you so much for all of this feedback regarding BuyWithMe and Gilt City. We really appreciate it! While we are extremely excited to have you and all of the other BuyWithMe subscribers as new members, there were some obstacles with the transition, especially in regards to transferring credits. We would love to take a better look into your particular situation and see what can be done. Please send us an email to comment@gilt.com with your email address and any additional information that you feel would help us investigate this matter.

Andrew K.
Member Support
John Salvatore Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

fake mens suit

Fake Michael kors suit, I own 3 authentic ones. They may have gotten it passed someone who never owned Michael kors but to someone who knows so obvious. The label looked like it was a photocopy, and stitching of "michael kors" label unlike any of the authentic. Pants were practically see through the suit was so cheap. Stay away from gilt.com
GiltSocialSupport Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

fake mens suit

Hi John Salvatore,

We apologize for the quality of the suit you received. It does not sound like it met your or our standards. We'd love to discuss this situation with you, so please reach out to us via email at support@gilt.com, comment@gilt.com, or call 877.280.0545. We hope to work with you very soon!

Best,
Andrew K.
Member Support
Lipolare Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Some merchandise is not authentic

Don't do it!! I'll just list a few reasons that I have experienced personally.

1. Some merchandise is not authentic! I ordered "designer" towels once that tore up in the first wash. Took me two days to get all the pieces out of the washer and dryer. When I looked at the tag, it said "GILT". They had a cheap towel made and had their own label put on it.

2. Many pieces I received had water damage and were damp. Like the stores returned them for being damaged and they sold them to us.

3. Retail prices listed are sometimes fictional. I once orders a bathroom accessory kit, only to find the prices listed on the manufacturers website cheaper! Everywhere had them cheaper and Gilt's retail price was never associated with the item. Gilt said retail 100 our price 25, the manufacturer had it listed for 18.

Hope this saves a few people. I'm done being a dope to this fraud.
GiltSocialSupport Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Some merchandise is not authentic

Hello,

At Gilt, we try to offer our members the best possible quality merchandise possible, and we work very closely with our vendors to do so. It does sound like the merchandise that you purchased recently is not up to our regular standards, and if you have not done so already, we recommend contacting our Customer Service department as soon as possible about your order(s). You can reach us by calling 877.280.0545 or emailing support@gilt.com. Our representatives would be more than happy to look into this situation for you. As for pricing, we certainly offer a great price on each item, but we can not always guarantee that it is the lowest price to be found. We thank you for bringing these matters to our attention! If you have any other questions or concerns, please be in touch.

Best,
Andrew K.
Member Support
Noichi Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away from these guys

Flash sales are beginning to lose luster with me. Not only are the hot items gone right from the start but now at Gilt it seems that the leftovers are the main fare, recycled in many creative ways, still unappealing.

But I digress, my recent purchase of some A. Maurizzi shoes was shipped to me with ONLY ONE shoe. I immediately called Customer Service and they offered me a refund but SOL no replacement or offer to look for the lost shoe. Curt tone and unwillingly and at MY suggestion they offered me to look at other models in my size.

Bummer but keep in mind as it can happen and Gilt won't care to make it right.
GiltSocialSupport Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away from these guys

Hello!

We are so sorry to hear about the situation regarding your A. Maurizzi shoes! While we do try to offer our members replacements for missing or damaged merchandise, this is not always possible unfortunately. In circumstances such as these, we are more than happy to place you on the waitlist for the item. The waitlist ensures that you are contacted if the item becomes available again. The waitlist also works wonderfully for any items that you miss out on when a sale goes live! We'd love to hear any other ideas that you have regarding our flash sale format or customer service, so please feel free to email us directly at comment@gilt.com.

Andrew K.
Member Support
GiltSocialSupport Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away from these guys

Hello,

We are sorry to hear that the Vera Wang item was sent to you with security tags still on it. In circumstances such as these, we ask that you send the item back to us (after contacting our Customer Support team). We can have our team remove the tags for you, and send it back to you free of charge. As for the complaint section, if you ever have to write us an email longer than the 250 characters and attach an image, you can email us at support@gilt.com. By using this email address, you will be able to fully explain any situation and attach anything to help better illustrate your issue. If you still have the item with the tags on it, please get in contact with us as soon as possible so we can get those removed and we can also discuss the authenticity of the piece. We look forward to hearing from you!

Best,
Andrew K.
Member Support
Nilinte Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Do not purchase anything from this company

I ordered a Vera Wang dress from Gilt last week for my wife's birthday. It was ordered as a surprise since I was scheduled to be in New York City all of this week. The dress arrived with a huge black plastic security bock attached (which weighed more than the dress)! Assuming that any Vera Wang boutique would have the equipment to remove the security block she went to the nearest Saks 5th Avenue to have this done. When she walked in the door a security guard confronted her since the dress had the security block on it. She was escorted by the security guard to the Vera Wang department and accused of of having attempted to steal the dress. Luckily she had the Gilt receipt with her. I attempted to e-mail Gilt about this and was confronted with their "online" complaint site that did not allow you to write more than 250 words and did not allow one to attached a photo of the problem. I was informed that their phone line was not open until 10:00 a.m. By the time I finally got through to their phone representative, he didn't seem to think this was a big deal. Currently I have merchandise that was purchased for over $300 that I can not use. To be perfectly honest, having been sent out with the security block still on the merchandise, I honestly do not know if this is not stolen stock. I've asked to have it authenticated by Gilt. Do not purchase anything from this company!
GiltSocialSupport Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Do not purchase anything from this company

Hello,

We are sorry to hear that the Vera Wang item was sent to you with security tags still on it. In circumstances such as these, we ask that you send the item back to us (after contacting our Customer Support team). We can have our team remove the tags for you, and send it back to you free of charge. As for the complaint section, if you ever have to write us an email longer than the 250 characters and attach an image, you can email us at support@gilt.com. By using this email address, you will be able to fully explain any situation and attach anything to help better illustrate your issue. If you still have the item with the tags on it, please get in contact with us as soon as possible so we can get those removed and we can also discuss the authenticity of the piece. We look forward to hearing from you!

Best,
Andrew K.
Member Support
Gaboote Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They should be selling there stuff on a street corner

Big Bait and Switch operation. They should be selling there stuff on a street corner. Any complaints and they offer free shipping, as that is there answer to everything. A bunch of crooks..
GiltSocialSupport Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They should be selling there stuff on a street corner

Hello!

We are very sorry to hear about this situation. We work very hard to ensure that our products are of the best possible quality, but sometimes items do not meet our high standards. In circumstances such as these, we are always happy to work with you or any other member to come up with a pleasing resolution! If you have any other questions or concerns, feel free to email us at support@gilt.com or comment@gilt.com.

Best,
Andrew K.
Member Support

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Chowking Market Market - Service
    It took 20 minutes before I got my ordered food. If I...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....
    Vodacom - SASUNG NOTE 9S
    REF: 128 532 80 082 448 3100 SAMSUNG S9+ in for...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Chowking Market Market - Service
    It took 20 minutes before I got my ordered food. If I...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....
    Vodacom - SASUNG NOTE 9S
    REF: 128 532 80 082 448 3100 SAMSUNG S9+ in for...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username