Submit a Complaint

GKR Karate

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about GKR Karate

Bob1954 Send email
 
Apr 28, 2021

USELESS FOR THE STREET

When I see GKR all I ever witness is kata or moving up and down the hall doing typical impractical karate blocks and stances which seems to be taught by a large number of traditional schools.

A former GKR coloured belt came to my school a few years back as he had no faith in any so-called self defence that was being taught, or very little of it.

A period after joining up with me he was involved in an altercation which he was the victor, by his own admission if he was still training with the door knockers he'd have been stomped into the gutter.
linkginko_786 Send email
 
Oct 24, 2018

McBrothel

1) When you see a scandalous GKR slut going through a sempai in training program and she happens to sleep her way up the ranks by getting into bed with the official sensai of a class despite her karate being anything close to a blue belt standard.

2) When you see they are both instructing the very same class plus you notice you have no adults beyond a blue belt attending that class anymore which leaves them lording over kids.

3) When you witness a sempai in training having issues with trying to stand in front of the occasional brown or above belt as a green - red level belt, try and to hide behind her boyfriend, demand kyu belts above her rank to call her a 'sensai' and mouth off to them to try and fire them up in to responding rudely purely as a trap so her boyfriend can come over and defend her by trying to physically contact you as a way to instill so called"order" and "discipline".

4) When you see her being knocked out by a kyu belt in front of her sensai boyfriend for literally standing on a kyu belts toes which leaves you in hysterics going to sleep every night after seeing the official sensai becoming completely powerless.

5) When your regional manager is not doing their job in splitting them up to instruct separate classes and even stripping titles/ opportunities.

6) When you never get any positive responses or advice to improve on your karate even though the task for the night is to sit around cold and watch everyone else do their kata and give them tips afterwards but you are never given any yourself after you have had your turn to perform in front of everyone and if you are commented, it's not positive nor helpful.

7) When you get told to get out of your own country by a VISA immigrant after being told your skin colour is hated.

8) When she turns a blind eye to her sensai boyfriend sleeping around with other kyu belts at the club trying to attain their ranks, baiting men in to fights in nightclubs and turning a blind eye to stripper romps gone too far.

You know your McDojo has become a McBrothel and it's time to get out of there and find a real Dojo before it ruins your life!
L. K Send email
 
Oct 19, 2018

Gkr karate

My daughter trained hard with this company to work her way up to being a sempai. Following her starting a relationship and inviting the new partners family to join the class they split up. The family then hassled and bullied my daughter via Facebook and on her phone. They also made a complaint to the karate group even though nothing had happened at karate and neither would it as she takes it very seriously. I was disgusted to find out that the sensie of the group had contacted her to tell her that she could not attend her karate class until they decided. I feel sure that this was more of a financial decision as due to my daughter being at a higher level she no longer pays for classes. But the new family she introduced will be paying for 4 people to attend. She was due to grade for her second Dan next month and can no longer do that as she can't attend class. Karate has cost us an awful lot of money over the years and they gave her the impression she was a part of a family. Don't trust these people they are purely money motivated.
Tisme Send email
 
Sep 21, 2018

GKR experience

I desperately wanted to enjoy my time with GKR, and for a time I did. But I quickly became disillusioned with the grading process.

Grading beyond a certain point required attendance at the 'senior' classes. Yet I wasn't allowed to attend because I had refused to teach at a brown belt level, I felt I wasn't capable - plus I'm shy).

GKR regularly allow non-qualified adults to teach simply because they have be taught how to go through the basics of a class.

It's 'light touch' basic karate. Folk are taught basics (which are repeated every class). The only difference between a 'beginner' class and a more 'advanced' class is a different kata.

I used the class for a fitness class for 7 months because I knew I was moving for uni and would attend a Wado-ryu class; the difference could not be more stark. It's brilliant, and everything I want from karate.

In summary, its probably ok for very young kids. However, once they are maybe around 7 then I would send them to a different style class. Wado-kai, Shotokan, kyokushin, shito-ryu or shorin-ryu.

Don't be sucked in by the false promises. It's a pile o'shite.
peter3454 Send email
 
Mar 14, 2018

dean

I was an instructor under GKR for 28 years which I was a 4th dan the highers black belt you can ever reach in this style and I was the only instructor to reach this level apart from our senior instructor. I was naturally very good at it and progressed quickly. and yes, I had to support yellow belt senseis/sempais who wanna to become a unqualified instructors and wear that black and white belt instructors belt that everyone hates, which I was told to cover up and yes guys, it is true they do end up getting their full shodan black belt under 3 and half years which was very difficult for me to motivate my students who wanna to get their black belts the right way. I just like to make it clear no one gets their black belts in 6 months. soon it started to feel like working a 2nd job which I was teaching 1 public class per week then training at senior training 2 times a week in order for instructors to teach at a public class which is mandatory. It soon became apparent the whole organization was built to make money for a select few people at the top. I soon had to leave that life and look for another place to train at where I am happy and comfortable training at or not train at all. I couldn't recommend GKR as a reputable karate school but I do want to make it clear that there are many good people at the bottom of the pyramid, working for free and they care deeply about their students and the martial art itself, just like I did.
I am now training in a traditional style (Shotokan) which I am very passionate about which has a very good reputation. and I am now in the process earning my certification and instructor license and becoming a Shotokan instructor. just to let you guys know, in order to be an instructor in other styles you must be a 2nd-degree black belt or higher that's the rule.

Best wishes to all, and train hard.
peter3454 Send email
 
Mar 14, 2018

Peter Owen

I was an instructor under GKR for 28 years which I was a 4th dan the highers black belt you can ever reach in this style and I was the only instructor to reach this level apart from our senior instructor. I was naturally very good at it and progressed quickly. and yes, I had to support yellow belt senseis/sempais who wanna to become a unqualified instructors and wear that black and white belt instructors belt that everyone hates, which I was told to cover up and yes guys, it is true they do end up getting their full shodan black belt under 3 and half years which was very difficult for me to motivate my students who wanna to get their black belts the right way. I just like to make it clear no one gets their black belts in 6 months. soon it started to feel like working a 2nd job which I was teaching 1 public class per week then training at senior training 2 times a week in order for instructors to teach at a public class which is mandatory. It soon became apparent the whole organization was built to make money for a select few people at the top. I soon had to leave that life and look for another place to train at where I am happy and comfortable training at or not train at all. I couldn't recommend GKR as a reputable karate school but I do want to make it clear that there are many good people at the bottom of the pyramid, working for free and they care deeply about their students and the martial art itself, just like I did.
I am now training in a traditional style (Shotokan) which I am very passionate about which has a very good reputation. and I am now in the process earning my certification and instructor license and becoming a Shotokan instructor. just to let you guys know, in order to be an instructor in other styles you must be a 2nd-degree black belt or higher that's the rule.

Best wishes to all, and train hard.
karate boy Send email
 
Mar 1, 2018

belts

Kancho graded him self from second dan to eighth dan so he is an official second not eighth dan. THIS IS HORRIBLE. GKR IS ALSO A MADE UP STYLE. Kancho has disrespected 300 year old katas by changing them in to the way he wants them. He can't even remember some when I saw him.

I do not recommend this. I moved to SKC which is a real style of Shotokan karate.
frankwilliams334x Send email
 
Sep 29, 2017

GKR karate is a big joke!!!

GKR karate is a big joke!!!
the only reason I stuck with gkr, because my regional manager and my branch instructors all were 4th dans which I was very fortunate to have them as my instructors which I did enjoy my time training with them. and they didn't made it feel like training at a big mcdojo mill! fast forward 10 years later, all my branch instructors and our regional manager included and few high-level instructors all had left GKR, because they put money before quality and left our public class to a yellow belt low-grade instructor in fact if you look at his stances and techniques is absolutely GARBAGE (PATHETIC) which did definitely felt like working at mcdonalds and I could smell big macs all over the place which I end up leaving. I wouldn't be surprised if they send him for his BLACK BELT GRADING end of this year and I bet they would hand him the BLACK BELT on a golden platter (PATHETIC)
Also, there was 4 students who where all wearing white belts and started about 4 years after me which I was a brown belt. Fast forward 3 years later they are all wearing a shining black belt with golden Embroidery which is all fake.
none of them couldn't even defend themselves if their lives depended on it
Apparently, they all had become senseis and one of them had become a regional manager which is also fake also, and running their little mcdojos and mcregions which is a BIG JOKE!!
Oh yeah and get this, I know one guy who was a green belt and done the instructor course and pass, more likely he would of cheated!! he was wearing black and white belt and think he is GOD and knows it all in fact if you look at his stances and technique is absolutely GARBAGE!!! he now wears a fake shining black belt with golden Embroidery which was hand to him on a golden platter and he thinks his this taught sensei and knows it all and thinks he is GOD and in fact his stances and techniques is still absolutely GARBAGE!! (PATHETIC)
oh and get this, when I was going for my black belt assessment with a few other guys they can't even keep up with me, with
the combinations BUT they seem to grade and hand out BELTS to any other students who can can't seem to do it right or have extremely BAD TECHNIQUE.... (PATHETIC)

Hell, wouldn't be surprised if they make that fake sensei a regional manager end of this year

and also, GKR has a lot of restrictions for 1, push ups are outlaw to all public class
Guys these guys are a ####, you better off training with REAL martial art schools who are qualified to teach martial arts
frankwilliams334x Send email
 
Sep 29, 2017

Fake karate

GKR karate is a big joke!!!
the only reason I stuck with gkr, because my regional manager and my branch instructors all were 4th dans which I was very fortunate to have them as my instructors which I did enjoy my time training with them. and they didn't made it feel like training at a big mcdojo mill! fast forward 10 years later, all my branch instructors and our regional manager included and few high-level instructors all had left GKR, because they put money before quality and left our public class to a yellow belt low-grade instructor in fact if you look at his stances and techniques is absolutely GARBAGE (PATHETIC) which did definitely felt like working at mcdonalds and I could smell big macs all over the place which I end up leaving. I wouldn't be surprised if they send him for his BLACK BELT GRADING end of this year and I bet they would hand him the BLACK BELT on a golden platter (PATHETIC)
Also, there was 4 students who where all wearing white belts and started about 4 years after me which I was a brown belt. Fast forward 3 years later they are all wearing a shining black belt with golden Embroidery which is all fake.
none of them couldn't even defend themselves if their lives depended on it
Apparently, they all had become senseis and one of them had become a regional manager which is also fake also, and running their little mcdojos and mcregions which is a BIG JOKE!!
Oh yeah and get this, I know one guy who was a green belt and done the instructor course and pass, more likely he would of cheated!! he was wearing black and white belt and think he is GOD and knows it all in fact if you look at his stances and technique is absolutely GARBAGE!!! he now wears a fake shining black belt with golden Embroidery which was hand to him on a golden platter and he thinks his this taught sensei and knows it all and thinks he is GOD and in fact his stances and techniques is still absolutely GARBAGE!! (PATHETIC)
oh and get this, when I was going for my black belt assessment with a few other guys they can't even keep up with me, with
the combinations BUT they seem to grade and hand out BELTS to any other students who can can't seem to do it right or have extremely BAD TECHNIQUE.... (PATHETIC)

Hell, wouldn't be surprised if they make that fake sensei a regional manager end of this year

and also, GKR has a lot of restrictions for 1, push ups are outlaw to all public class
Guys these guys are a ####, you better off training with REAL martial art schools who are qualified to teach martial arts
frankwilliams334x Send email
 
Aug 7, 2017

GKR karate is a big joke!!!

these guys are a #####g joke.
the only reason I stuck with gkr, because my regional manager and my branch instructors all were 3rd dans which I was very fortunate to have them as my instructors which I did enjoy my time training with them. and they didn't made it feel like training at a big mcdojo mill! fast forward 10 years later, all my branch instructors and our regional manager included all had left GKR, because they put money before quality and left our public class to a 6th kyu low-grade instructor, which definitely felt like working at mcdonalds and I could smell big macs all over the place which I end up leaving.
Also, there was 4 students who where all wearing white belts and started about 4 years after me which I was a brown belt. Fast forward 3 years later they are all wearing a shining black belt with golden Embroidery which is all fake.
none of them couldn't even defend themselves if their lives depended on it
Apparently, they all had become senseis and one of them had become a regional manager which is also fake also, and running their little mcdojos and mcregions which is a BIG JOKE!!
and also, GKR has a lot of restrictions for 1, push ups and kick pads are outlaw to all public class
Guys these guys are a f##### joke, you better off training with REAL martial art schools who are qualified to teach martial arts
Avoid any relationship with this company - you will get burned.
Shame on Gkr Send email
 
Jul 26, 2017

Disgusted in GKR

This is the biggest bunch of b.s I have come across I was mislead this to be true blue fair dinky di martial arts it is far from martial arts, my son was bullied in year 1 at age of 7 we had GKR dude come to our door because he was so experienced with his words it made gkr out to be real deal . I signed up my son due to the fact that this man told me that they are a traditional style martial arts and is extremely disciplined what a load of b.s that is I have watched every lesson that my son trained in and it was far from enforcing any discipline to any of the students. In fact it is weak as so soft its dolls play stuff they won't even do pushups because of sooky parents that have complained in the past for senseis giving pushups LOL what a joke how weak is that. My son been doing pushups at school since he was 8 years old. GKR get with the real world stop being such pussies.
If this was the real deal martial arts PARENTS would be FORBIDDEN to ENTER the real dojo's to watch their little brats being disciplined.

This style of Karate is just to get people believing that this is real karate when in fact it sure as hell isn't am so disappointed in wasting thousands a year and more in PTF and in gradings its all a BIG JOKE. My son had to work his arse off to get his black belt which was NOT handed to him on a gold platter they failed him every grading right from RED BELT grading and above...BUT yet they seem to grade and hand out BELTS to any other student that can't seem to do it or have extremely BAD TECHNIQUE....

I know of a 17yo girl who was on her brown belt with 1 black tip she done the Instructors course LOL she passed the written exam that she CHEATED in as she was seen by me, my son and another person who saw her cheat that written exam as the higher black belts who were handling the exams were too busy talking amongst each other to even notice her cheating by leaning across and copying a couple of older women who were on the black belts exam papers. I don't pay good hard money for my son to be taught by AMATEURS. Now she wears the BLACK AND WHITE BELT and thinks she is GOD and knows it all when in fact if you look at her Karate her technique is absolutely GARBAGE she is still wet behind the ears. I bet end of this year they will send her to BLACK BELT GRADING and I bet they hand her the BLACK BELT on a gold platter just like all her other Gradings that I have watched her in (PATHETIC)

I think its about time GKR started to employ proper quality Senseis that have a history of martial arts behind them Oh wait a second they wont be able to do that as they won't be able to afford to pay for QUALITY Senseis that have Martial Arts knowledge behind them as they would go broke.

GKR is just a business it doesn't care if you are taught by amateurs.

This is NOT real karate (Martial Arts) because if it was they would ENFORCE the proper martial arts ETIQUETTE at every class they hold all over the world and I know in fact that they do not enforce the martial arts etiquette.

STAY AWAY if you want real martial arts then you need to look elsewhere this will NOT help you in a real life situation.

Oh and get this when my son started he had to do first and second kata at his very first grading because there are too many sooky parents GKR have now squashed the first and second kata HOW WEAK is that stop pandering to the sooks this to me sounds more like damn BALLET than martial arts.


Lucky for my son and I was smarter as my son also does MUAY THAI and BOXING I reckon he could kick a few arses in gkr.
Shame on Gkr Send email
 
Jul 26, 2017

GKR FRAUD SCAMMERS

This is the biggest con that I have ever come across this isnt even real fairdinkum martial arts. I for one do not believe that GKR style karate would save you in a real life situation. Oh my god who are they trying to fool. They come door knocking 2010 I got sucked in big time as I truly believed them I signed my 7yo son up then as they told me this is full on karate they enforce discipline and also trsin you to get out of real life situations my son just got his Blackbelt end of 2016 it took him 2 attenpts as he failed first time. The whole way through my sons karate journey they wete always tougher on him they would crack down on him more than any other students that were handed all their belts on a gold platter whereas my son had to train hard to get where he is. I am utterly disgusted in paying all tgis amount to only learn that most of the Sempais and so called Senseis have not had years of training or even martial arts knowledge.

Just recently they put a 17yo Girl as a Sensei and her karate technique is rubbish. Last year when she sat for the written exam my son, myself and another person saw this Girl CHEAT that written exam as she could not answer some of the questions so she leaned across and looked at other higher up belts exam papers then you would see her write down on her own paper when the higher up black belts were occupied with others. Even the ones that were running the exams would not see her cheat as they were busy. This girl is one of those people who got all her belts handed to her on a gold platter, she was often told by other instructors to fix her stances and hand techniques which she would never do.
These are the type that GKR are training to become senseis and this is what you are paying for. This girl think she knows it all thinks she is God but yet she cheated her way to the top.

This is an ok starter point but wouldnt waste money going any further with it. I highly recommend that if you love karate then find a Genuine style that has the full knowledge and keeps the karate etiquette stay away from GKR.

Why pay all that money out to be taught by INEXPERIENCED SENSEIS that wear BLACK AND WHITE BELT that think they know it all.

Soon as my sons PTF runs out he will be gone for good and taught proper martial arts.
Purple-dragon-15 Send email
 
Aug 8, 2015

Waste of time

I joined this style of karate 5 years ago, at the time it was a good option for me to help improve my fitness and do something for me away from my 3yr old. After a few lessons I realised it was micky mouse karate having done another style as a teenager. It's fine for kids or maybe as an introduction into karate, but still I carried in as it was more for my fitness and getting out the house. I quickly progressed and was asked to attend sensei training (only being an orange belt) but I thought it was a great opportunity to pass my skills, knowledge and experience onto others. It was from atrendinding that training that I soon realised what gkr was all about, with constant pressure put on the senses to sell, sell, sell. I was placed to work as a sempi to assist another instructor, then eventually given my own class. I had student flock to my class but was given no support. The whole lot of senses were very clicky and many people were outcast, I couldn't have time off because of my class even when I was pregnant I was given no support, being left in tears stuck in hospital because nobody would cover my class and my sensei was to lazy to get off his arse and do his job. I became very stressed and put upon and when I finally left to have my baby I felt a massive relief. My baby was only 3 weeks old when I started getting harassing calls and texts to know when I was coming back, my students started leaving and calling asking when I was coming back. Gkr karate are bullies, although the students may not notice this. Most of the instructors I have spoken to are desperately unhappy teaching because of the lack of support and bullying but stay because of their students or are I'd into staying, baring in mind most of the instructors are volunteers with their instructor getting all the money from the classes, my instructor was earning so much money he was out every weekend getting drunk and taking coke, ( other instructors were witness to this) and he was the regional manager.
I've now left this style and pulled my child from the classes as well. Gkr are nothing but bullies that just want to make money out of you. Get kids to teach you ( they have 16yr old instructors that think they are god) and teach micky mouse karate that would be useless in a real life situation. I'm glad I'm well out of it now.
Vick Vinegar Send email
 
May 9, 2015

Former GKR "SDC"/"MC"

Especially to "sdc newbie" and "matb"- Reading your comments is like reading the endless mind washing horse shit all of GKR churn out. You don't want to hear it, but I was like you a few weeks in- 'this jobs great, sensai says Im gonna be on £25k doing this!...' Do the maths, you have 2.5 hours to find at least 3 people genuinely interested in trying karate (to earn 90 quid, less then my brother makes as a floor layer..) you then have to have the organisational skills to get out and meet those people on time, despite successful appointments taking upwards of 45 minutes, and then to possess the necessary sales skills to get the money off of those people there and then, despite this being against any intelligent persons nature. OR you can develop the 'skills' to bullshit and pressure your way in to making people who barely want to sign up do so, and risk having the refunds (that come out of YOUR pocket, even if it is the companies sub standard product, and embarrassment that is bound to happen when you sent that 30 year old guy to a class full of kids, despite you claiming it would be a mixed class..

They will tell you all the usual crap about how sales people are taught and not born, 'have it hard now and easy later" - only later never comes. They promote the earning potential by constantly highlighting the same old top performers on the facebook page, neglecting the hundreds of other failing MCs that are struggling to live. The people that perform are the ones who can SELL. Not the most knowledgeable, committed to the cause ect. This is how it is pretty much is a pyramid scheme, or at the very least an out-and-out cutthroat numbers game. As I mentioned, finding the people who genuinely want to do it is good for converting one deal a day if that. That is the number of people who want and will benefit from the product. The rest comes from manipulation. Just the same as we play a numbers game knocking doors, the company plays a numbers game with us.. Given that we pay EVERYTHING, flyers (!!!!!!!), uniforms, PETROL, phone costs, even our own wages ffs, GKR couldn't give a shit how we perform. If they hire enough people, they eventually find that 10% that can make a living from it. Sadly, they also find probably upward of 50% of people who believe in the garbage promised to them and will never wake up to the fact that are basically being used as a slave for a couple karate lessons a week. Its not a career, its not even a job.

To other GKR skeptics, yes the lessons are going to be full of kids, and probably taught by an overweight orange belt- but it is important not to take it out on the wrong people.. That 'horrible salesperson' is probably earning a pathetic amount, and thanks to the power of the manipulation genuinely believes in what they are doing. Likewise the sensais (use the term losely) are just volunteers doing it because they believe in it.. The evil ones are those at the top, the RMs earning £60k and watching their MCs basically starve, Kancho Sullivan who if you Youtube looks like a donkey at karate and his cronies in management. All of whom think that offering NO BASIC WAGE, a potential wage that is at best modest, NO PROSPECTS (you are never going to start making 20 members a week and get made an RM wake up) is acceptable. But I could forgive all of that, all of it- if they were at least honest.. The 2 major lies I was told were enough for me to quit... First of all the job ad, £15k- £25k a year (not the £0k that is in reality) then the basic pay package of £200 a week, which you only get if you hit target of 10 members, despite being a complete beginner. I dread to think how little GKR contribute to our economy tax wise, not to mention how simple it is seemingly to by pass minimum wage laws. I was not self employed, I worked for GKR, it was their product I was selling and endorsing. I was never told in interview how the pay worked, only promised a basic wage that was taken from me. Thanks to the rampant capitalists in charge of the country now, companies like GKR seem to have free reign to use and abuse the British workforce and contribute nothing to the economy in the meantime.

Finally some advice to people reading cause they are interested in the product.. If you are not in work and want to learn the basics of karate, get a job at GKR; they will give you FAR better instruction from the RM who is actually a black belt, not some 'dont ask' white stripe belt. lessons 3 times a week, meaning yellow belt in a month. A basic pay of £100 pw. and a chance to learn sells skills for other jobs in the future. Then as soon as the trial period expires, quit because by then you have realised you are putting in 9 hour days for £75 a week. Try and sign as few people as possible so Kancho fat fuck doesn't make any more un earned money off his Micky Mouse karate lessons.
Notbuyinwhatyousellin Send email
 
Mar 27, 2015

Blood Sucking Parasitic Scum

Had one of these leeches door-knock me yesterday rudely ignoring my 'Do Not Knock' sticker. Gave me a speech about 'We teach honour and assertiveness and standing up to bullies'. When I flatly refused to buy she tried to bully me into signing up. I was firmly and assertively stating that I did not want it but she just kept coming at me from all these different angles, saying absolutely anything to try to separate me from my cash. Where is the honour in that? And what happened to preaching assertiveness? You were just saying a minute ago that assertiveness is one of your values. Get a real job you scumbags.
LittleBlonde Send email
 
Jul 7, 2014

GKR KARATE

Up until a couple of months ago, I had been training with this club for over 4 years and had achieved my 2nd kyu. It had never been a secret that GKR's selling techniques were not favourable by other styles which always made it very difficult in competing in external tournaments. If I'm honest, up until by getting my 3rd kyu, I was happy with the style, the teachers I had were good (although I had refused to train with lower grade senseis), the syllabus was OK and the social aspect of class was amazing. The people really do make the club. However, now I'm out of the club training with a different karate style, I can see all of the faults I was blind to in my training. GKR offered little for students as they climbed the belt system, after hitting my brown belt, I felt like I was no longer improving, the techniques weren't challenging and when most of the teachers are a lower grade to yourself, it becomes very difficult to select classes to go to where you actually feel like you get your moneys worth. Another rant is that GKR takes on senseis when they hit their yellow belt meaning and give them a 'black and white' belt to 'HIDE' their actual grade. This was always a big negative factor. Additionally, because Senseis were unpaid, you had a lot of senseis who couldn't do alot of what they were teaching due to poor fitness.

I would recommend this class if you are looking for something to go to because you're bored and want a way to meet people. For a solid syllabus and techniques that will actually help you in self defence situations - AVOID!
tennisstar99 Send email
 
Jun 24, 2014

Its OK except look out for payment

Classes themselves are OK, i had two good senseis however they requested extra payment after joining. Make sure you tape record the agreement as you join.
Youser Send email
 
May 29, 2014

responses

GkR make it unpleasant to be in class by making you do lots of press ups if you don't say hi every time an instructor speaks,. It makes it into a cult type atmosphere where you are worshipping the God like sensaii.. but worse it makes you feel like you are being bullied. Stay well away.
marihia Send email
 
Mar 25, 2014

Self defense

At 59, I've experienced five forms of martial arts styles, participated in many sporting activities and hobbies. Attended gymns, dancing - and yes even my own cultural form of self defense. 12 years ago, I signed up to a GKR a house caller, and bought myself a lifetime membership for $45. I never attended a class until 2 years ago - To find my life time membership was still honoured, my investment is paying off.
Since day one, I began to walk and then run, - 6 months later I joined the local gymn, attending every second day for at least an hour. A year later, I took swim lessons and now can swim 5 ks a week minimum, as well as going to GKR at least twice a week -

Pay as you go, is perfect for those who survive on a budget, or for those who try to keep our children off the couch - even for those who work full time as I do. Best of all it works for me, who has a physical disability, eyesight failing and hearing just as bad - .My journey has been amazing - full of accomplishments and disappointments - I have nothing but good things to say about GKR, OR ANY OTHER FORM OF MARTIAL ART. Pyramid scams...you are mad and judgemental - you don't see us fund raising, and going to other states for tournaments, or even overseas - You don't see the delight when Parents and their kids get that bit closer to their own personal goals - or how bonded we become with our fellow students. My grandchildren are affiliated to another discipline $7X each a month - whether you attend or not.......User pays?? NOT -.I'll bet you're thinking twice now, and not very proud either,,Ti hei.
kelly123 Send email
 
Jan 20, 2014

GKR

Very rude man came to my door trying to sell this, thought it was a good idea and wanted to know more so invited him in and he signed me up THEN asked for money....on the spot ....horrendous. I was going to do it as well but asking for on the spot money and decision is unrealistic and rude. Was actually up for it till that point. Asked to pay at my first class but not allowed, he took the paper work back of me and kept baggering my to ask my parents for the money to pay. Cannot believe it - he had only just landed the payment on me how can i be expected to decide and fork out after 10 minutes????? Surely attending one class would be normal before buying the membership....
Matiu Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Con artists

Hi concerned mum of 1. Just to add my bit, I've been taking my two kids (9 yr old lad an 7 year old girl) to GKR for just over a year in Sheffield, UK, and I'm really happy with it. All these scam and pyramid accusations don't make a single bit of difference, especially not to the kids. We go because it's fun, it's cheap, it's accessible to us all and it does teach the kids really valuable lessons on setting (and achieving) long term goals, perseverance, discipline, tradition, and, God forbid they ever need it, smacking bullies where it hurts. I was attracted to GKR because all the other local dojo's charged a monthly rate, whether you trained or not which I thought was more of a rip off. GKR only charge if you train, so going away in holidays or missing the odd class is cool. That said, we're now enjoying it so much that we don't like to miss a class, and actually try to sneak in two a week or more when we can. The kids have done swimming pool sessions which were brilliant fun, we met Kancho (the founder) who taught for about 2 and a half hours in Leeds, and so far have been to 3 different dojo's in Sheffield, each of which had great sensei and sempai (assistants). While I'm here, for what it's worth, anyone who is saying that the founder has "very little ability in karate" has probably never seen him fight. I'm sure there's plenty to say about Kancho Sullivan, but this is just not true and makes me doubt the rest of what's been said. He was truly inspirational. So no, if you're experience is anything like ours has been for the last year you've not been conned at all. Sure you and the kids might want to practise other martial arts one day as you develop or get curious, I think my boy might go for other kinds eventually, but as a solid start, with good techniques, strong dojo etiquette and an emphasis on fitness and technique GKR has been great for us all.
Holdsteady Send email
 
Mar 10, 2012

Con artists

matb how much are you making out of GKR? You seem very defensive of it so I guess its a fair bit. I will say it again, having lots of members does not make it an effective form of self defence, a good style of Karate or a well run organisation (for its members benefit). How many of those members stick around for long? Not many when they realise that it is a big joke ie being taught by someone who has only been doing it six months longer than you.

You choose to insult me (a usual tactic of GKR) for pointing out facts about your pretend style of Karate when these same facts are apparent to anyone who has ever attented a few lessons or has searched for ten minutes on the internet.

You claim that GKR defeats different styles yet has anyone from GKR ever taken part in a MMA competition? How can the largest martial arts club in the world in the world not have any representation in the fast growing sport of MMA? Oh wait its because this highly effective art would be of no use against some who knows what they are doing, or being brutally honest doesnt have a clue.

Con Show Sullivan describes the pretend martial art he invented (and how does it feel to waste your time learning a Karate style made up by a man with very little knowledge or even ability at Karate?) as a family friendly martial art and uses this as a selling tool. How can a martial art (look up what martial means) be such a thing? Does that not ring alarm bells with you? Its Karate lite with the guts ripped out of it, thus rendering it pointless (other than for making massive money for con show and his cronies)

I look forward to being insulted by you or any other gkr cult members for pointing out the truth, paticularly enjoyed mat calling me gutless from behind his keyboard. Being a keyboard warrior is probably the safest option for a GKR follower anyway.
Hallam Send email
 
Feb 28, 2012

Con artists

I joined GKR a few month ago and i feel i its the best thing i ever chose to do. I can feel my fitness improving along with my confidence. Theres a lot of this "scam" crap being said but id say 99% of it is from people who couldn't be bothered to put in the effort OR some who had a bad experience in their first few classes and quit. Its a great club and for £50 lifetime membership + £6 a session its far cheaper than gym membership!
Matb Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Con artists

I don't know what experience holdsteady had with GKR, but any club that has 50, 000 ACTIVELY TRAINING members can't be all bad. He makes out that they have all been conned, but they would soon see through it once they start training if it was as bad as s/he claims it is. The karate can't be that bad if our members are beating people from all other styles in world competition.The sad fact is, some people are whiny little losers, and when life is not handed to them on a plate, they bitch and moan and blame others, rather than taking responsibility for their own lack of success. I see it so often. People join and think they will be the next Bruce Lee, then they discover it takes long-term effort, and suddenly they are full of complaints. GKR is on a par with most karate styles - better than some, worse than others. If you have a membership, get down to class and make your own decision, rather than letting this whingy liar put you off a great thing. I've been training in the UK for 11 years, and it's the best thing I ever did.
Matb Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Pyramid scheme

This is complete bullshit. GKR is NOT a pyramid scheme and never in the history of the club has any white belt been an instructor.
Read this article to find out why GKR is NOT a pyramid scheme:
http://www.ilovegkr.com/pages/essays/pyramidscheme.html
Kancho has never owned a helicopter. Our belts are as meaningful as any other club's - at every grading people fail, and I take my black belt to any other club and I am not out of place. This is just another bitter loser who couldn't hack it.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username