Submit a Complaint

Gulf Coast Readers

United States,
Florida

Consumer complaints and reviews about Gulf Coast Readers

Jennifer1978 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

You are an ass! You probably work for this bullshit company!!
YOU PEOPLE HAVE NOTHING BETTER TO DO Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

GROW UP PEOPLE AS WITH ANYTHING THAT YOU ORDER OVER THE PHONE. THERE ARE TERMS AND CONDITONS. SAME WITH THINGS YOU ORDER ON LINE. GULF COAST READERS HAS CANCELATION POLICY AS DO MOST COMPANIES. EVERY PERSON IS DISCLOSED THIS INFORMATION WHEN PLACING AN ORDER. MOST STATES ONLY REQUIRE A 3 DAY CANCELATION PERIOD. GULF COAST READERS GIVES EVERYONE 7 DAYS TO CANCEL.
OF COURSE COMPANIES BUY LEADS HOW DO YOU THINK YOU TELEMARKETING CALLS. IF YOU DONT WANT TO BE CALLED DO NOT PLACE YOUR NUMBER ON THE WEB FOR THE WORLD TO GET ACCESS TO! IF YOU DONT WANT SOLICATION CALLS CONTACT YOUR PHONE COMPANY AND GET A BLOCK. IF YOU ORDER ANYTHING FROM ANYWHERE PAY ATTENTION TO WHAT YOU ARE BUYING. IF YOU BUY/ SIGN UP FOR SOMETHING YOUR READ WHAT YOUR BUYING CORRECT. SO WHY WOULDNT YOU PAY ATTN TO WHAT SOME ONE TELLS YOU WHEN YOU BUY SOMETHING OVER THE PHONE. AND OF COURSE THE MOST IMPORTANT PART! IF YOU DONT PAY YOUR BILLS THEY GO INTO COLLECTIONS. THIS IS PART OF LIFE TOO. PAY YOUR BILL OR DEAL WITH COLLECTIONS. IT DOESNT MATTER WHAT YOU BUY. IF U MISS YOUR CAR PAYMENT, CREDIT CARD BILL, INSURENCE, ANYTHING COLLECTIONS FOR THAT CCOMPANY WILL CALL! YOU CANT COMPLAIN ABOUT COLLECTIONS CALLS YOUR THE ONE WHO DIDNT PAY YOUR BILLS. SOME PEOPLE NEED TO GROW UP AN REALIZE YOU ORDERED THIS PAY FOR IT OR CANCEL WITH IN THE CANCELATION TIME DUH!!!
YOU PEOPLE NEED TO GROW UP JUST BECAUSE YOU HAVE BUYERS REMORSE DOESNT GIVE YOU THE RIGHT TO BAD MOUTH COMPANIES YOU DONT LIKE
ExirouA Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unprofessional & Rude Customer Service

weird.
ExirouA Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unprofessional & Rude Customer Service

weird
Candiceknows Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unprofessional & Rude Customer Service

i'D LOVE FOR YOU TO EMAIL ME YOUR PHONE NUMBER. i KNOW A LOT ABOUT THIS. PLEASE CONTACT ME. CONCERNED.
Candiceknows Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unprofessional & Rude Customer Service

I would love to talk to you. I know a lot about this company and the way they work. Please send me your #.
Customer 4444 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unprofessional & Rude Customer Service

After being told 1 week ago that all of my accounts were paid in full, I received a call this morning at 7:30 am PST from Greg "Orlando" Thomas, Senior Manager. I told him that i live on the West Coast and it was only 7:30 am in which he replied "then i will speak slowly for you". He informed me that i was going to be forced into a 5 year automatic renewal from the magazine companies if I did not agree to pay $49.90 monthly for the next 20 months. I tried to explain that his company told me last week that i was completely done with my contract and all payments were done. He kept getting more unprofessional with me on the phone and even told me that he was doing me a favor by offing this and could simply hang up the phone on me and throw me to the magazine companies. When i asked him how much that would be, he would not give me an answer and said that i was wasting his time going around and around and he was going to hang up on me to deal with other customers. I have never been treated in a more unprofessional manner and with so little respect.
If i am a sucker for being tricked into a magazine scam, i will accept that responsibility. I am afraid that after i pay the remainder of this contract ($49.90 for the next 20 months), they will force me into another payment scheme.
My customer service issue is this: Calling a customer at 7:30 am is unacceptable and bad business. Greg "Orlando" Thomas did not care at all. I know he had my address and knew i am in the state of Washington, because he mentioned my address twice. He took great offense to me asking him his name and position at the company. His name may be an alias. The 2nd person i had to talk to during a recorded conversation refered to him as Orlando and then seemed to back pedal when i told her he said his name was Greg Thomas.
After investigating this company, i have found many similar complaint made about their attitude towards customers. Please accept my complaint and thank you for your time.

Date of incident: 5/25/11
JackBlountOhio Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

taking money after I cancelled service

You're the dumbest person in the world. These people are victims of telemarketing. They provide the company with all the proper billing information over the phone and agree to the debits from their accounts. If they did not agree to the charges the "verbal agreement" would not be in place. Get a clue dumbass
Judi Dowler Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

taking money after I cancelled service

Sent letter (provided by company giving option to cancel) signed' dated. mailed 3 day service' registered. I cancelled the magazines. I don't read any of the magazines they offer. They took the money out of my account anyway. Now I am overdrawn at the bank. My husband does not get paid til next week. How can they take yor money after you cancel their service ? This is just wrong. There has to be a law against this.
Invidious Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

magazine scam artists!

Yes they can because they DO have a seperate department where they record all the calls and verify the orders. It works in 3 stages. 1. You get the poorly paid rep who yammers on about free prize this n that. Once you believe your going to get a gift card they are happy to spend $20 a month on magazines they can pick. 2 Once you say ok your passed to a verifier they smooze talk you into x dollars per month for 6 months. 3. Once you say ok to the verifier your called back in a few minutes and put on tape saying you want the magazines and are willing to pay for them. So yes they can actually affect your credit with this sucks i know. But do yourself a favor and tell them to provide the recording when you dispute the charge! It is easy to do at any credit reporting agency just dispute it and tell them to provide voice verification. If they cant you win!
Invidious Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

magazine scam artists!

I actually work for Gulf Coast Readers and i am completely ashamed that i have to work there but i need work and this job is the only thing available. I started working there about 3 weeks ago and i have never in my life been treated so poorly or told to do so many shady things EVER! I work in the cape coral office and let me tell you First off you walk into the place and it smells like B.O!! You know why? Because they leave the AC on 85 all day long! You think hey that's not bad but when you have smokers running in and out of the building leaving doors open the the 95+ degree heat outside it gets HOT QUICK!!! I hate to say it but we are almost literally driven like slaves! If you don't follow the script word for word you will be reprimanded and possibly written up. Now the "script" has been worded so perfectly by design that it really does trick people into thinking they are getting IPADS, FREE COMPUTERS, $500 TARGET OR WALMART GIFT CARDS, VICTORIA SECRET OR SUBWAY GIFT CARDS FOR FREE! Well guess what GCR has NOTHING to do with handing out those prizes that's the initial foot in the door scam. They buy leads from pop up sites like best shopper rewards .com and FREEIPAD .com etc etc the list is quite large! They piggy back their sales into one of the requirements to get the free gift. So when the customer asks "when am i getting my IPAD"? You say i'm sorry you have to goto freeipad.com and get that info from them. Then we just keep feeding them BS with our script. We call some people 10-15 times IN A DAY! I have never been yelled at or called so many names in my life! And i understand completely!! The worst part about the job is the pay scale you get paid minimum wage 7.25 an hour with a "attendance bonus" of $1 more per hour if you are ontime every day. Well guess what its a mandatory 6 day work week AND if you log in or are late by even ONE MINUTE yup ONE MINUTE you get a point! You get 2 points and guess what you just lost your attendance bonus welcome to minimum wage! Now when i say times are tough i mean it i have been working since i was 15 i am 40+ now with a bachelors degree in computer science! And i work here at this HELL HOLE i hate deceiving people everyday i truly do but if i don't do my job i lose my job and then its back to welfare! STAY AWAY FROM THESE PEOPLE THEY ARE SCUM WORST OF ALL THEY ARE JUST LEGAL ENOUGH TO STAY IN BUSINESS!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username