Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

H&R BLOCK CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about H&R BLOCK CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT

mayberryclifford Send email
 
Apr 12, 2019

Smell of Cig. Smoke

Visited you business today. Soon as I walked in I knew it was trouble. The lady at front desk was very nice and sent me to the lobby where the smell was horrible. Smelled like everyone in there had been smoking. Figured maybe someone had come and gone before me. Got very uncomfortable the longer I sit there the more sicker on my stomach I became. The lady doing my taxes was very nice but DO N OT see how anyone could work there. Cost $220.00 for 20 min. of work. I'm guess they are getting paid a hell of a lot of money to sit all day in those conditions. Smelled my close and my car up. Had to go home and bathe before taking care of other things needed taken care of. Very disappointed and will check before ever going back. Did ask the front desk lady if it was a smoke free building. She said she didn't smoke and no it wasn't and that a lot of people have complained about the smell. Well you should pay people to come in for your services instead of putting them in such an environment. Shame on you and the people at that location.
MFOWLER Send email
 
Mar 1, 2019

ROUND 2

SO HAD OUR TAXES DONE BY H&R BLOCK AND 2ND MISTAKE MADE. TOLD MY HUSBAND WE NEEDED TO MOVE ON. BAD VIBES FROM THE GET GO. WE CHIMED IN TO ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES H&R HAD TO OFFER, YES WE GOT TO LOOK AT THE COMPUTER SCREEN WHILE A "PROFESSIONAL" FILLED IN THE BLANKS . IT MEANT NOTHING TO ME OR MY HUSBAND WE PAID $400.00 FOR A "PROFESSIONAL" TO FILE THEM FOR US. TO HAVE THEM MESSED UP FOR THE SECOND TIME! WELL I CAN ASSURE YOU WE WILL GO ELSE WHERE IN 2019. THEN YOU TO THE OFFICE TO SPEAK WITH SOMEONE ABOUT THE MISTAKE AND THEY SCATTER LIKE FLIES. UNTIL SOMEONE CAN MAN UP AND HERE WHAT MISTAKES ARE MADE. THEN THE "PROFESSIONAL" WANT TO PLACE THE BLAME ON THE CUSTOMER BECAUSE WE GOT TO LOOK AT THE SCREEN..... REALLY!!!!!!! GET YOUR SHIT TOGETHER AND HIRE SOME "PROFESSIONALS". WE ARE GOING TO SHOUT IT FROM THE ROOF TOPS AND LET EVERYONE KNOW ABOUT IT...… JUST BY LOOKING YOU ALL HAVE SOME MAJOR ISSUES AND NEED TO GET IT TOGETHER.
eddieb Send email
 
Feb 27, 2019

Wrongful File from hr block

Went to H&R Block this season (for the 3rd year) and got ripped off. Done with HR Block completely. The worst experience this year from them. Not only did I get charged for re-filing my last years taxes for no reason and having my information not correct, therefore not letting this season taxes be correct or acceptable. Worst thing ever is to be told to get a hold of the IRS because H&R Block messed up so bad they cant even fix it or take credit for it. When do I get treated like a customer?
godmere 19 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2019

h&r block

I went to H&R BLOCK to get my taxes they did my state return incorrectly and the state of Michigan rejected my return I went back to H&R block they redid my return and the state of Michigan said they will reject that too so now I have to go back a third time for them to do it again and the state of Michigan told me that there is no guarantee that no matter what I send them that I will get my 1475 refund otherwise because of what H&R block did I will have to pay 97 dollars I think that they should refund my 312 I paid to get my taxes done plus pay the 1475 I would have got from the state of Michigan
[email protected] Send email
 
Feb 8, 2019

FRAUD

They told me that I should be able to get an instant refund so I let them file my taxes paid them $300.00 and get home and I told that I was denied, all they did was con me out of my hard earned money! I could have done my taxes myself as I have done for years and saved $300 but I needed the money now to pay for a surgery, but now that will have to wait. H&R block are nothing but scam artist and rip offs. Just plain liars. WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THEM AGAIN AND WILL NEVER REFER THEM TO ANYONE!!!!!!!!!!
mary2019 Send email
 
Feb 8, 2019

Fraud advertising Advances

I have been doing my taxes for 4 years at HRBLOCK every time it gets more expensive to file with them and customer service is worse.
In past 2 years a lot of my co- workers and friend stop going to them but I though I would just give them another try I paid 350.00 to get my taxes done and the only reason I went back to them was I have a family emergency and need it to get an advance 1000 my return is 6k. So I get a rejection notice for an advance indicating due to my credit history??? I have no collection credit score 711 so I call all 3 credit agencies Experian, Transunion and Equifax surprise none of the have a history a credit review by any bank or to stay from axos bank. I call axos bank to see why they would denied me could not even locate my account they said to call HRBLOCK they said to talk to my rept who did my taxes my rept said she has nothing to do with it I called the bank again WHICH BY THE WSY THEY HIDE THERE CONTACT PHONE SO GOOD SO NOONE CAN GET A WHOLE OF THEM! Then I found out the axos bank is connect directly with HRBLOCK! So basically they did not run a credit check they just denied the advance and it final you can not appeal so RED FLAG THIS IS JUST FALSE ADVERTISING TO GET PEOPLE TO DO THIR TAXES WITH HR BLOCK BECAUSE THEY ARE LOSING ALOT OF CLIENTS. They are also losing a lot of employee because they are just paying them min wages with out any commission they started doing this since last year SO OFCOURSE EMPLOYEE DONT CARE ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE NO MORE! never again WILL DO MY TAXES AT HR BLOCK OR WILL RECOMMEND ANY OF MY CO WORKERS ,FAMILY OR FRIENDS!
jeffspokeskins Send email
 
Dec 10, 2018

no service

Me and my wife contacted H&R block in Oxnard California regarding current and past tax returns which needed to be completed
for our business due to Pay Pal doubling our revenues and making us have to go back three years and input all sales etc by hand
so when we took our returns to H&R Block in Oxnard Calif we spoke to a Sabrina Prendergast and explained our problem and that we needed to get this started ASAP due to letters from the IRS she said that she had never done business taxes but her associate would help her with them SHOULD HAVE WALKED OUT RIGHT THEN but due to our past tax preparation company costs are way more then we could afford we thought that since it was H&R Block whom was supposed to be a reputable company that they would be able to help us that was on Sept 20 2018 it is now December 9th 2018 and we have not heard a word from them we have tried contacting them with no luck now the IRS is sending letters stating the amounts owed and saying they are going to start garnishments how can we get help with this issue ? Please Help

Jeff & Traci Hicks 805-861-4448
salvatorealongi911 Send email
 
Nov 8, 2018

H & R Block Agent

I walked into an H & R Block office on Michigan Avenue in Dearborn on October 20th 2018 to get help with my 2017 taxes which I filed an extension for and then tried to file electronically on the 15th and had issues. The following morning I received an email from the IRS that they rejected my returns. I then called H & R Block. After walking into the office above, I talked with Deatrice Edwards, She claimed she could help me. I asked her how much this would cost me and she stated she needed at least 2 days to review everything and then would get back to me with a price. Since that day I have NEVER heard back from her at all. I have made numerous attempts to reach her only to find out that her offices closed until the next tax season the following day from when I was in her office. She never once mentioned this would happen. Her exact words...… give me 2 -days to review everything and I will get back to you with the price. I have left voice messages on three different phone numbers that I could find on her and no return call back. I have left email messages on her email server and no return emails or replies. HOW UNPROFESSIONAL !!!! AND she still has all of my documentation so now I can not even go anywhere else. I cant even find this woman and reach out to her. What a bunch of CRAP !!!!

I will be reaching out to Channel 2 Problem Solvers and the Better Business Bureau for sure. !!!!

I need to be contacted by H & R Block before I go and see a lawyer and start a lawsuit against you.

My contact info..... Salvatore Alongi
(313) 520-8132



[email protected]
TribalWaves Send email
 
Oct 14, 2018

Total Lack of Service from William Heminghaus (Arizona)

I am currently living outside the US (Japan) and so I got an extension (October 15th, 2018) to file my taxes to give myself some extra time to get everything organized. I had a family member reach out to H&R block to see if they could help me file my taxes from overseas and they said they would have someone email me to begin the process. About a week went by and I finally received an email from "William Hemminghaus" ([email protected]).

William let me know that he had heard about my situation and told me to send him a "W-2 health coverage info, ect." (ect....really man, I'm not the tax guy, what is ect. for filing taxes?)

Anyway, I emailed him back right away letting him know I am working in a foreign country which is why I would not have a W-2 and that I was eager to get this taken care of as soon as possible.

I waited about 5 days or so for a reply and sent a follow up email letting him know that my extension deadline was approaching and asked him to please email me back and let me know if he is interested in working with me so I could try and make other arrangements if needed. No reply to this email as well. I had my family member contact H&R block again and they told her that "they are working on my case" which was strange as I had not even answered a single question yet or gotten anything more than a "Send me a w-2, healthcare info, ect." from Mr. Heminghaus.

My extension deadline is tomorrow and I have still to hear back from William Heminghaus. I am really disappointed as I have used H&R block every year since I started filing taxes (except 1) and it has always been a pleasant experience. I feel that as a customer I have been completely ignored. I wish there was a way to have someone reach out to William Heminghaus and correct this type of customer treatment in the future.

I ended up just having to file via Turbo Tax..

Total Lack of Service from William Heminghaus (Arizona) Total Lack of Service from William Heminghaus (Arizona) Total Lack of Service from William Heminghaus (Arizona)

Ken Smith Send email
 
Sep 30, 2018

Filed the wrong form

Tax year 2015 H & R block filed my taxes but used the incorrect form. Many months later the IRS sends me a letter and states I owe thousands of dollars in taxes. I immediately went to my local H & R office to try to rectify the problem. After two tries H & R block managed to send the correct form. Now I have received a notice of deficiency with a warning of a deadline to be able to have my case heard in court. My H & R agent will not answer my calls and other office personnel do not know what to do. Do I have to sue in order to get H & R Block to fulfill their responsibility?
dpoundstone Send email
 
Aug 16, 2018

2016 Taxes

I always do my own taxes and decided that when I retired from the military I better have a professional file that years taxes. I was just audited for the 2016 taxes and have to pay the IRS several thousand dollars. My retirement form was not considered in my taxes. I know its my fault but I came in uniform and gave my retirement W2 to the person accomplishing my taxes. When I met with H&R Block to discuss they said I did not provide the proper forms and have a nice day.

I understand the amount to pay is mine but the penalties or H&R Blocks cost to file the taxes should have been taken in consideration.
R&A Send email
 
Jul 26, 2018

Taxes not filed

H&R Block did our taxes back in April of 2017 for the 2016 tax year. We got a notice from the IRS in February of 2018 saying we had not filed our 2016 taxes. Block said they were filed, and they would not refile, but instead they gave us a copy of their paperwork for US to send in. In may of 2017, we received another letter telling us that there was a penalty being levied against us for failure to file....$514. Block said they would take care of it...well, here it is the middle of July, and we got yet ANOTHER letter from the IRS. Block had NOT taken care of it....SO...Off to small claims court to get our money back that we paid to them to do our taxes, the cost of the penalty, mileage, cost of filing with the court....I'll never use Block again, and would not suggest them to anyone... Yeah...we're PISSED!!!
Immanuel Daniel Send email
 
Jul 17, 2018

stuck between CRA and H&R block

It has been 5 months since I filed my 2017 income tax. After which a T4 adjustment for 1 T4 was to be done. H&R block did but never gave me the refund. They said CRA would pay me. Kept calling CRA, the agents would give me lame excuses.

Still waiting. I swear never to go back to H&R block again. If you are wise learn and do it yourself, you know why, you save that service charge but above all, you will have peace of mind.
RobbieMccatchey Send email
 
Jul 15, 2018

Taxes filed by Julie x willamsHRBlock

She filed 2016 and 2017 W2 together she didn't notice the years were different until I showed her refund of 810.00 became177.00 federal tax I owed 11.00 state she changed my filling status filed taxes without talking to me I got three letters from IRS Only frist one we talked about second 2 not a word from her she filed papers gave me 3 envelopes told me to mail them charged me 100.00 now I get 413.00 back no 11+177+208+100 so what's left for me 0 I think how can she charge me when she made the mistake don't I get the guarantee stand behind our. Work ??Clearly it's her fault From the start she never asked me any questions she don't know who I am. Iam not single am married so pleAse advise me on how to recover my fees and penalty monies from your trusted employee or office Farmers Lane office Santa Rosa Calif Julie x Willams Senior Tax Specialist this is who filed by W2 and messed up my clean tax record Thank you RobbieMcClatchey p o box 4286 Santa Rosa Calif 95402 1707 267 3773 I will be waiting for return letter or email [email protected] Thank you
Spanky Send email
 
Jul 11, 2018

Incorrect filing

I have used H and R for years with no issues. This year has been a complete failure. I had to complain to local office to get them to review my taxes and resulted in amended filings for both Federal and state. Then got letters from IRS advising I owed more. Sent to another office to review but no one followed up and simply paid the additional $1600 to Federal to avoid penalties.When I called back to resecure my recordS, was told they were overwhelmed and could not keep up. I then wrote a letter to corporate advising what transpired and have gotten no response at all. Should have sent it certified so I know someone actually got it. Now I just received notification letter from state advising I owe them another $6800 vS the $6800 refund I was submitted for. I called and have another app at original office this week to review latest notification. If filing involves capital gains or anything over and above normal filings do not believe anyone has the knowledge to handle. I paid for the peace of mind contract but have absolutely not received anything close to it. Hate to think I will have to secure an attorney to get satisfaction but unless they pay the new amount due I will have no choice.
Cindy Honkanen Send email
 
Jun 30, 2018

Lost and not filed taxes

I brought my taxes to H&R on March 27th 2018. I went back in 4 times over the next 2 months. Each time they couldnt find my taxes. On May 23rd 2018 I finally said to an employee that if my taxes were NOT DONE in 24 hours I was pulling them. The very next day I got a call that my taxes were done. A month later I called CRA to confirm that they recieved my taxes. I was told that they had no records of taxes filed. I called H&R. to find out what happened. They said they filed them. I found out 2 days later that NO they didn't. Now I have to pay a penalty because my taxes were NOT filed. I WILL NEVER USE HR AGAIN. I also think that they should be accountable for this. They should have to pay the interest that I owe the CRA.
Socratic Dialogue Send email
 
Jun 29, 2018

Tax Return not received

I filed online with Tax Pro. I got the run around for 3-4 days regarding their review and then NOTHING. I have filed a complaint with the IRS and would suggest that everyone do the same. My so called Tax Pro hasn't returned my email, completed my so called review, or anything else. I am requesting that my credit card company stop payment to H&R block for their dis-service. It seems to me that with so many problems with H&R Block, someone should sue these worthless so called Tax Pros. I think they engage in fraud by claiming to review returns and helping people maximize their return and then doing nothing. Their service is less that worthless because we spend out time doing all the work and they do nothing in return.
kristinaswede Send email
 
Jun 28, 2018

HR BLOCK LOST MY TAXES

After filling all the documents, i was told my files were being sent to a tax pro for review..it was required due to im self employed and have many expenses..so i paid the 200 and waited. They transferred my account the day before taxes were due to another tax professional and i never heard anything. I then contacted the original one and she said she would request my file back. After that, it has been a nightmare. After weeks of call, no call backs and more repeated calling to supervisors, I have been told my files cannot be found. I must redo all. BEWARE ALL BEFORE YOU USE THEM!!!
kristinaswede Send email
 
Jun 28, 2018

HR BLOCK LOST MY TAXES

After completing and paying for the Delux Pro with Professional Review, I sent my taxes off. They were assigned the tax professional as of last year. On the night before irs tax deadline, I was informed they were transferred to another tax professional. I waited and never heard anything. I then reached out to Karen, the original CPA, and she stated she would request back, didnt know why they were transferred and would work on. Since then all I have gotten is the run around and now the answer is WE CANNOT FIND YOUR RETURN...you will need to redo. This after numerous phones calls to HR Block..no return calls from Karen..that is the bottom line. Nothing they can do..so BEWARE of filing all of your info. It took me 3 days..im self employed with many varied expenses. No offer of refund. I requested today and will be redoing. UNACCEPTABLE.
wrischmueller Send email
 
Jun 27, 2018

Non responsive

We have had our taxes done by H&R Block the last 10 years, unfortunately, we are now receiving request from the other states and H&R Block still has not returned a phone. Made numerous attempts, seeing as supposedly you stand behind your work... last year we had another issue. This is absurd, we have lost out on funds due to no one contacting us back. I will not suggest using H&R Block ever again, and on top of that, after discussing that we were not claiming my son this year, the preparer added him in anyways, so now, and amendment needs to be done and still no phone. I paid $350 because my husband travels for work, and you claim to be the best of the best and back up what you do. I disagree.
rbcaw1508 Send email
 
Jun 27, 2018

2012 Taxes

We file our taxes through H&R Block with the Peace of Mind every year. Well in 2012 a new rep did our taxes and posted our information on Facebook. I called the store and they had the rep delete the message. The manager then said that she "The Rep" didn't report all of our income. WTF..... Long story short last year we notified H&R block about our case and that the IRS took our taxes. The manager in out local branch said that she will take care of it. Well now that it is June I have another rep in OH going to help. I have sent several emails and called the phone number to find out what is going on. I can't get a hold of her. And when I do it is well i'm waiting on paper work.
[email protected] Send email
 
Jun 16, 2018

Customer Service

I have filed my own taxes with HR Block for over 20 years with never a problem. This year when I got to the place where I choose how to get my refund, there is a promotion where if I choose to get my refund on an Emerald Cash Card, I can get an extra 100$. So, OK, that sounds great. So, I wait and wait. I call Block, they say wait some more. I call again, they say wait some more. Now I'm getting nervous because I am in an unsafe situation in my living environment with children and this refund is my way out. So while I am waiting, I go to delete my emails and while flipping through deleting emails I see one titled with Amazon and HR Block. There were 2 emails that have my "Amazon gift card claim numbers" on them. One disappears into the ether, poof! Now this is indeed news to me since I DID NOT choose to put my refund into Amazon gift cards which you can only use on amazon. Far as I know, I can't pay my rent with Amazon gift cards. Now, I am frantic. I call Block. They say basically, too bad, you did it and there was no mistake. I say, there had to have been a mistake, there is NO WAY I would choose this option. We did that back and forth, no help, no empathy, no options, just you are stuck and I swear, I can almost hear the smirking. I ask for the supervisor. I explain my circumstances including that I did not choose gift cards, I chose the Emerald card and a mistake was made. I get back: "We can't help you. You made that choice and you will have to deal with Amazon". So, now I am waiting on Amazon to make a decision if I qualify for the extremely rare occurance to cash out the gift cards. "Probably not" from the wonderful and supportive man named Kyle who tried very hard to help me.
Block absolutely did not care. Everyone else I talked to trying to resolve this was wonderful, even a representative from Turbotax/ Intuit that I was mistakenly referred to spent over an hour trying to find some way to help.
This might be a scam, I don't know. If I made this choice in error, then something is wrong with the Web site. I am not a stupid person and I absolutely know I never would be putting a tax refund into a gift card. The Amazon rep even said he had never seen this done before. So, whatever you do, DON'T use HR Block! Customer service clearly means nothing. Of course I will never use them again.
If anyone out there has a suggestion on how I might get my refund money, please let me know. My family is not safe where we are, but a shelter is not much better and we would lose our dogs in a very cruel way. I am desperate! Thank you.
Ashleighdewolf Send email
 
Jun 8, 2018

Tax return

I gave my w2 form to have done at the local office on park avenue. A SIMPLE PART TIME JOB W2!!! Nothing I couldn’t have done in 10 minutes on TurboTax on my darn phone app if I wanted too!!! But I trusted H&R Block. And they let me down. Not only was my health insurance forms left OUT, I was also charged for a EZ form when they’re sapposed to be freee and the best part is!. my tax return is now 4 months late, it’s also MISSING ALMOST $1,000 dallors!!! SOOO I got charged for doing my taxes when I shouldn’t have, and I got charged for my taxes not even being done correctly. I’m never in my life going back to H&R Block. And not will my friends or family. I will be taking my business elsewhere.
Foxy236906 Send email
 
May 30, 2018

Peace of mind

Went into my local H &R Block office to file my taxes, I gave my preparer all my w2s and my w2g form along with my win/loss form, upon the preparer reviewing my w2g and win/loss form I was advised that I did not need to do anything with the2 forms because my losses exceeded my winnings. We finished up my taxes for 2016. Year and I signed all of my forms and signed up once again for peace of mind. 5weeks after I filled my 2018 taxes I received a letter from the IRS claiming I owe 2300.00for2016 tax year for unreported winnings! Went back into my local office to file a peace of mind claim., waited the6weeks to have it denied, filed and a reconderation claim to have that denied as well..
SAMZ328 Send email
 
May 15, 2018

charges

Went to local office to have return done. My husband passed away 4/7/18, so I was a little late. Anyway, this should have been a simple short form. The preparer was not sure of himself and asked for help several times. My complaint is $287.00. I have never paid that much before even when we did the long form. Please advise. Thank you

Shirley Meindl

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Macys Worry No More Protection Plan - Worry No More is a scam
    Do NOT let any technician write up an order to replace the...
    IC free shipping.com - Unauthorized withdrawal
    IC shipping has been taking automatic $12.97 out of my...
    Zerowater - Terrible tasting water!
    I bought a ZeroWater 23 Cup Pitcher. Our house uses...
    Facebook - Identity regarding employee
    I had received an email from Facebook company last...
    dri*avast software orderfind.com - Unauthorized charges
    I was charged 39.39 and 85.59 on my credit card. These...
    Pfizer / Tetracycline - Tetracycline Staining
    I was given oxytetracycline for 15 years back in the early...
    microsoft*store msbill.info wa - Xbox one
    Good morning my son made to Purchases one for 9.99 and...
    Edgars - Edgars
    Good Day I am really unhappy with the recent...
    Jet Phalaborwa - Bad attitude
    Good morning I went to jet Phalaborwa yesterday 17...
    MIBFA - Surplus benefits
    I am lost for ideas and ways of working out how the MIBFA...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Macys Worry No More Protection Plan - Worry No More is a scam
    Do NOT let any technician write up an order to replace the...
    IC free shipping.com - Unauthorized withdrawal
    IC shipping has been taking automatic $12.97 out of my...
    Zerowater - Terrible tasting water!
    I bought a ZeroWater 23 Cup Pitcher. Our house uses...
    Facebook - Identity regarding employee
    I had received an email from Facebook company last...
    dri*avast software orderfind.com - Unauthorized charges
    I was charged 39.39 and 85.59 on my credit card. These...
    Pfizer / Tetracycline - Tetracycline Staining
    I was given oxytetracycline for 15 years back in the early...
    microsoft*store msbill.info wa - Xbox one
    Good morning my son made to Purchases one for 9.99 and...
    Edgars - Edgars
    Good Day I am really unhappy with the recent...
    Jet Phalaborwa - Bad attitude
    Good morning I went to jet Phalaborwa yesterday 17...
    MIBFA - Surplus benefits
    I am lost for ideas and ways of working out how the MIBFA...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username