Submit a Complaint

H&R BLOCK CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about H&R BLOCK CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT

Salinais4 Send email
 
Apr 3, 2021

Horrible Customer Service

Tax preparer Avinash Adwalpalker, very rude belittling while arguing and raising his voice at a customer. Worst service I've ever received. I'm a regular customer and had no idea that H&R Block employed anyone with this type of behavior. To the point I had to inform him he could attempt to be pleasant and as a Nurse I have not and would never treat anyone this way. Very uncomfortable experience.
bubbaritz Send email
 
Mar 26, 2021

error on my tax return

I had my takes done by a tax preparer in Royal Palm Beach Florida on Feb. 17. due to the fact that I didn't get my second stimulus check they recommended to do a tax return to generate the stimulus check.

I dropped off my tax return and picked it up the next day. I have been using H&R Block for years so I left. When I came home I saw they put in a wrong account no. for direct deposit plus a wrong routing number.

What a mess - it was already efiled to the IRS and now I'm calling the IRS to see what is happening with my monies that are owed me.

when I spoke to 2 managers in the H&R Block office they said "everyone can make a mistake" - I respectfully disagreed. Now I'm stuck because of their error on my tax form and wondering if I can get the monies owed me. I'm experiencing financial hardship hoping I would get these checks rather quickly. Now it could take forever. Very frustrated and upset with that person and how the managers treated this situation.
Cy360572 Send email
 
Mar 20, 2021

2019 taxes filed with the wrong birthdate

The IRS rejected my 2019 taxes because my 2018 taxes Filed By H&R Block was filed with a discrepant birthdate. I couldn't file my 2019 taxes until 3/13/21, because my 2018 taxes were filed with the wrong birthdate, even though I had to repeatedly corrected the agent. I was told she could correct it on the back end, which that was not true, and was told we should move on. I had to borrow money to pay my rent, I couldn't get my stimulus check and I am still waiting for my 2019 refund.

I had a difficult time trying to get the discrepant birthdate changed because SSA was closed to the public due to the pandemic. I had to mail my legal documents (drivers license, social security card, and birth certificate in order before my date of birth was corrected, which was just corrected 3/13/21. I just filed my 2019 taxes, and I have to wait 6-8 weeks for refund because I could not file electronically.
I would like to be refunded for the taxes that I still have not received due to the error made by H&R Block
TSB_Harvest Send email
 
Mar 11, 2021

Cannot Download and NO customer service

I've used H&R Block for over 10 years. I purchased the H&R Block software on Feb 13th, and still cannot get it to download and install properly after trying about a dozen times. I went on-line and their help website was useless. So I called customer service. After being on hold for 50 minutes it just hung up on me. So I called back and the same thing happened after 36 minutes. In addition, when I purchased the product on-line I ordered the backup CD. As of 10 March, I still have not received my CD.

How do I get my money back? It looks like I will no longer be an H&R Block customer.
Shirley Cooper Send email
 
Mar 9, 2021

Charge $30. When it’s fre

I files a return. Was suppose to get $145. In return. I go to copy my returns and they deducted $30. For themselves. I did not use their tax pros. Or authorized it. Try to call and got hung up on. Will not use your service again and I pray God will seek his revenge on your dishonesty. Don’t choke on the money! Unhappy in Kentucky.
Tom LPH 10 Send email
 
Mar 9, 2021

Online Scam

I have used H&R Block's online service for years. I have been content with the service and a lot of my information is already in their system which saves time. I had completed my taxes so at the end it asked me what I thought was agreeing to the service charge which I clicked "yes" to. Quickly after I found that it was for an additional service/charge that I did not want. It would have brought my cost up to nearly $200. In the software you can change any information that you need to EXCEPT to reverse services that you do not want. You have to contact customer service for this. I called them and was on hold for approximately an hour before I got somebody to answer. I got to talk to them for about 2 minutes only to find out that I needed to be transferred to another dept. That required another 1 1/2 hours on hold. It definitely was a scam to to get you frustrated enough to just hang up and pay the extra charges. Otherwise you would be able to reverse the charges yourself online. Even customer service was set up to do that. After they finally took care of the situation I asked them how they were going to make it right. They had no interest at all attempting to satisfy a long term customer. Nor do I have any interest in keeping this a secret from other consumers and saving them the same anguish. Jeff Jones is the CEO and I hope to find his contact information.
roc1co Send email
 
Mar 4, 2021

Software Will not Install Customer Service Will Not Pick Up

Have used them for years over Turbo Tax, but the frustration with the garbage software with no support is enough to make me abandon them. I will be disputing the credit card charge and mailing back to their refund address the garbage they sold me. What a disaster. Combination of terrible technology and terrible customer service!
ksr31hop Send email
 
Mar 3, 2021

Price Gouging

I had an appointment on Feb. 15th, 2021. After waiting 30 minutes, I met with Floricela Miguel. The title on her business card states she is a "SENIOR" TAX SPECIALIST. After looking over my tax information for about 15 minutes she said she is not authorized to sign-off on the 1099 form. I think a "SENIOR" TAX SPECIALIST should be authorized to sign-off on anything to do with my taxes, especially since my taxes are not that complicated. Floricela told me Patricia Ayala would be in at 3:00PM and will do my taxes. I asked Floricela to have Patricia call me when she gets in, that never happened. I called the next day to speak to Patricia, I was told she wouldn't be in the office until Wednesday at 3:00PM, never received a call. I went to the office on Thursday, taxes still weren't done, I made an appointment with Patricia for Saturday, Feb. 20th, 2021. On that day I waited 45 minutes, I was there over an hour and a half before my taxes were done. They were going to charge me $404.00 for all MY INCONVENIENCE over the PAST 5 DAYS. I spoke with the manager, Ellenor and she gave my a WHOOPING DISCOUNT of $25.00 DOLLARS. I've never paid anywhere near that much to have my taxes done!
IF THAT'S NOT PRICE GOUGING, I DON'T KNOW WHAT IS!
I will NEVER, EVER use H&R Block again and I will NEVER, EVER, RECOMMENED THEM TO ANYONE!
Gregdel Send email
 
Mar 3, 2021

Appointment

I had an appointment at the Ossining center on feb 24 2021 at 1 pm. I called and confirmed before I head over to the store. I got there ten minutes early. They had me sit and wait till 1:45 and then told me that I have to reschedule. I call customer service and they told me they will get back to me with a coupon for wasting my time. They did not follow up nor give me the coupon. I tried to make an appointment at the Mohegan lake store and the woman can’t seem to make an appointment two days in a row because the computer is down. What is going on with you guys? You use to be good.
pseudonymous Send email
 
Feb 25, 2021

H&R Block

This is only the second year that I've had H&R Block prepare my taxes. I had no problem last year. This year was a different story. I dropped my taxes off Wed.morning 24,2021 at this location and upon doing so the secretary had asked me for my SSN# out loud in front of other people, I didn't feel comfortable doing so, so I asked to write it down instead. As a result, this secretary got mean and nasty, slamming the paper down on the counter with an attitude. She then asked me if I received "Free Money" very arrogantly. Being one of the millions of people that lost their job through no fault of their own due to government shutdown, I was hurt and offended. I was so taken back that I didn't catch her name only that she had curly hair. Being in customer service myself this very rude behavior is not what I would've expected from a well-known company. I would not recommend H&R Block at this Bedford,Pa, location to anyone.
Jveloza Send email
 
Feb 23, 2021

Poor Tax Pro Experience

Hi
Just want to mention a not so good experience so far with one of the locations.


I decided to file with a tax pro at 1 of the locations this year.
So far I am not impressed with the service.
I usually use Turbo tax but this year I had to file for an energy credit since I had a solar system install last year.
The tax pro was quick at doing my taxes but the taxes were rejected by the IRS.
I am being told that it seems the IRS is not accepting energy credits yet.
I can not find any info on line as to a delay in accepting them and wouldn’t the IRS just have my efile on pending hold until they do?
The tax pro does not know how to help at this time and is just silting on top of my taxes not resubmitting.
Also, the tax pro failed to add my son who is 17 years old still in high school as a dependent on my taxes.
I did mention to the tax pro I had a son and I even gave him a copy of last year’s taxes to compare info.
This a 500 liability added to my taxes.
My taxes were originally filed at an H and R block office on 2/6, I just noticed the dependent discrepancy in my copy of the taxes and the local office will be fixing this now prior to resubmitting to IRS.
This could have been 1 reason for the rejection since I filed my sons taxes from his part time job for him indicating he would be a dependent on my taxes (his was accepted already).
I fell I could have done a better job with my usual Turbo tax at this point.

I need to get my taxes accepted by the IRS so I can get my 10,245 tax credit needed for my solar loan due by 6/14 and not sure why the hold up here.
Thanks
Concerned Client.
attacksub Send email
 
Feb 23, 2021

Horrible Customer Service / Could Not Downgrade Product

Here are the emails I sent HR Block last night and today. I'm done and will be using Turbo Tax that my wife's family uses.

EMAIL #2 - Sent today 2/22/2021:

HR Block just lost a customer for life. That's about $100 per year that will be now going to Turbo Tax. Plus anyone I convince not to use your online product and their purchases.

Last night I spent:
30 minutes waiting for a chat agent to tell me I had to call a phone number to get them to downgrade my account to remove the tax review feature from my online program
60 minutes last night on hold - no one answered
Today I spent:
75 minutes on hold today before someone answered, then part-way through I was hung up on, presumably when they went to put me on hold or mute me
I called back and immediately was able to talk to someone with a very bad connection. It sounded like they were (and I'm pretty sure they were) in Mexico. It was a very difficult conversation due to poor quality. They told me they successfully downgraded my account, but when I logged out and back in, it says "Premier Online Assist". After explaining the issue was still there, they said they had a hard time understanding me and transferred me back to the on-hold line which had no estimated wait time.
I really wanted to continue using the software that I had, but in order to remove an $89 feature (not even a downgrade, just removal of a feature), I have wasted 3 hours of my life plus the several hours it took to enter in my tax return. Let's say 6-8 hours total lost on your product because you wanted to charge me $89 for a feature I was not going to use, and made it difficult to remove the feature as a way of getting the consumer to spend more. So I'm done. I'm extremely disappointed that a simple fix could not be resolved. UNACCEPTABLE.

EMAIL #1 - Sent last night 2/21/2021

HR Block,

I am thoroughly frustrated after having spent about 30 minutes on chat and then 60 minutes on the phone before hanging up. I simply want to turn off the HR Tax Professional Review off my account. Why is this so difficult? I do not want to spend $89 extra to have someone look over my filing. I absolutely should not have to re-enter any information; HR Block should offer me the solution of either fix the issue and retain my information I have spent hours entering or keep as-is and have the Tax Pro do nothing and then reduce the charges by $89. Should not be difficult and cause me hours on hold!!!! TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE.

Please assist me in downgrading my selection affront HR Block Premium with Tax Professional Review to just the HR Block Premium.

If this cannot be remedied, I will find alternate source to behind filing my return (I.e. TurboTax Download that my wife and her family use).
attacksub Send email
 
Feb 23, 2021

Horrible Customer Service / Could Not Downgrade Product

I'm not going to retype, I'm just going to paste in my emails from today and last night to explain the complaint.

EMAIL 2/22/2021 ----

HR Block just lost a customer for life. That's about $100 per year that will be now going to Turbo Tax. Plus anyone I convince not to use your online product and their purchases.

Last night I spent:
30 minutes waiting for a chat agent to tell me I had to call a phone number to get them to downgrade my account to remove the tax review feature from my online program
60 minutes last night on hold - no one answered
Today I spent:
75 minutes on hold today before someone answered, then part-way through I was hung up on, presumably when they went to put me on hold or mute me
I called back and immediately was able to talk to someone with a very bad connection. It sounded like they were (and I'm pretty sure they were) in Mexico. It was a very difficult conversation due to poor quality. They told me they successfully downgraded my account, but when I logged out and back in, it says "Premier Online Assist". After explaining the issue was still there, they said they had a hard time understanding me and transferred me back to the on-hold line which had no estimated wait time.
I really wanted to continue using the software that I had, but in order to remove an $89 feature (not even a downgrade, just removal of a feature), I have wasted 3 hours of my life plus the several hours it took to enter in my tax return. Let's say 6-8 hours total lost on your product because you wanted to charge me $89 for a feature I was not going to use, and made it difficult to remove the feature as a way of getting the consumer to spend more. So I'm done. I'm extremely disappointed that a simple fix could not be resolved. UNACCEPTABLE.

MY SIGNATURE REMOVED

EMAIL 2/21/2021 ----

HR Block,

I am thoroughly frustrated after having spent about 30 minutes on chat and then 60 minutes on the phone before hanging up. I simply want to turn off the HR Tax Professional Review off my account. Why is this so difficult? I do not want to spend $89 extra to have someone look over my filing. I absolutely should not have to re-enter any information; HR Block should offer me the solution of either fix the issue and retain my information I have spent hours entering or keep as-is and have the Tax Pro do nothing and then reduce the charges by $89. Should not be difficult and cause me hours on hold!!!! TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE.

Please assist me in downgrading my selection affront HR Block Premium with Tax Professional Review to just the HR Block Premium.

If this cannot be remedied, I will find alternate source to behind filing my return (I.e. TurboTax Download that my wife and her family use).

MY SIGNATURE REMOVED
Hwmervis1 Send email
 
Feb 21, 2021

New Down Load

I purchased your new on line down load - I have used your previous tax file for several years. This new one is CRAP. It doesn't let you move as freely as people like on the 1099R,s once I accomplish the state info it doesn't let me move on unless I can figure out the state info.. I know this may sound confusing to you - BUT not as confusing as your piece of CRAP>
Hwmervis1 Send email
 
Feb 21, 2021

New On Line File

I purchased your new on line down load - I have used your previous tax file for several years. This new one is CRAP. It doesn't let you move as freely as people like on the 1099R,s once I accomplish the state info it doesn't let me move on unless I can figure out the state info.. I know this may sound confusing to you - BUT not as confusing as your piece of CRAP>
2Kanehl#1 Send email
 
Feb 12, 2021

hold hours & get hung up on need help

This happened to me before in selecting software and getting it on my computer. I was trying to get help with the data errors at the end of the federal return. After at least an hour or more for this try for help a lady answered my call. She asked me to hold on while she looked up info on my data questions. She did check back once and asked me to hold longer. Then the phone went dead.

I have spent hours and hours on trying to get help buying, installing, and now completing my federal tax. i cannot keep spending this much time trying to get basic help.

I think now I will have to pay elsewhere again for tax preparation software or get another software program with block where I can get help if necessary. I have been with HR Block for many years. But unless I get get an upgrade where I can speak to someone I will have to just lose the effort in filling out the federal part and the hours spent trying to get assistance from HR Block. Also for the cost of the software.
pissed in pok Send email
 
Feb 9, 2021

service,training,misinformation

have gone to the Block office for years without any issues. Then, 2020 appeared! Agent,as regards to filing dates and deadlines that the IRS had made to qualify for Stimulus, were a joke. The agent said that we had til July 15th to qualify for first stimulus payments. WRONG!!!! The IRS stated that April15th was the absolute latest to qualify. That required the IRS to use our 2019 returns which automatically disqualified us from the first payment! ( We moved from NY to NC and added dollars to the baseline for qualifying). We pursued the agent who never returned our inquiries. Told to contact District Manager. BIGGEST joke!! We were told during only phone person to person call that he had no knowledge of the tax rules and that he would look into it and return a call with the necessary info. Well, its been from October 2020 til now ( over 150 days ago) and and no info or call back. They should have CANNED that Manager ages ago! Then, during this same time frame, we called other Block offices in different cities/ states to see what they knew about the deadline issues. Got the same run around. Because of their inept training and lack of follow up, we we unable to receive the first $2400 check. It takes another turn. The agent does not create the Piece of mind contract with us AND fails to properly and our direct deposit in to our return. That means that we will have to rely on SNAIL MAIL to receive paper checks if indeed they have the correct information. WE have given Block at least $3000 in tax processing fee; must have paid for a vacation for HR staff 'cause it obviously wasn't used for training agents OR their inept middle levels managers on tax guidelines and rules. Note: the district manager assigned to this region has been with Block for over 20 years and doesn't know a thing about the responsibilities he has for tax collection and its impact!!!!!!!!!!!! Obviously, Block doesn't do any vetting of it managerial staff!!!
DON'T USE BLOCK SERVICES IN THE MID HUDSON VALLEY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FHRB Send email
 
Feb 4, 2021

NOT CPA! Incompetent; abandonded the return

Patty at Peachtree City, GA is a sweet but incapable accountant (not CPA). STAY AWAY!!! PLUS H&R Block sells your data.

1. Patty assumed my husband was the tax payer and me the spouse. This is sexist, biased and incorrect. Further, we discussed it and she forgot.
2. I was not given the opportunity to review the return prior to filing. (ILLEGAL!!!)
3. She screwed it up in several ways and I had to file two amended returns and provide her with the education and rational why.
4. I was fined an interest penalty, due to her error (not because of late or underpayment). She refused to provide any assistance.
5. She did not return my calls and I had to chase her.
6. other Accounting firms will not touch a prior year return that they did not file(if another firm did). She advised me to seek low income assistance - which I have no ability to qualify for and she thought that was the end of it for her - she simply gave up.
7. She is an idiot who does not know how to do taxes.
zelynn56 Send email
 
Feb 3, 2021

Form Not Program for Online Product

I have been unable to file my federal taxes because I need form 8283. The online product claims that the form has not been released by the IRS which is not true. Why would you allow a product to move forward when knowing you do not have all forms, new or revised? I will use a product that is complete.
nitro Send email
 
Jan 31, 2021

Discount codes

I have 5 different downloads that came in the mail for discounts NOT 1 of the codes work. Missed the early filing deadline ,trying to get a hold of a human being to find out why they sent out non active codes
freebird Send email
 
Jan 26, 2021

false advertising

went there with my daughter to do taxes 428 $ a rip tellyou you can get advance then denie you thats a scam if i ever saw one i am calling attorny general and filing a complaint for ohio parm me and my freinds are passing the word of a rip off just like the check cashing scam i dont know how people sleep at night with this crap they pull on us
TAXEDMAN Send email
 
Jan 6, 2021

Program will not dowload

Tried to buy the physical copy from Best Buy. Received a box with a memo, NOT an installation CD.
This on line piece of crap does not work.

There is no support when you call the 888 number.
BACK to TURBO TAX I GO.
FH&R Send email
 
Jan 6, 2021

Customer service and Stimulus

So apparently H&R Block can’t get their act together and get stimulus money to their customers. They changed to Metabank and since then it’s been nothing but problems. I’ve tried to call their stimulus hotline and keep hearing that because of the high call volume they can’t take calls/ my response to that a maybe if you weren’t such a screw up of a company their wouldn’t be such a high call volume and you would have actual happy customers instead of angry customers going to another tax-prep place. After getting the same message I decided to call the local offices for help only to get rude unhelpful jerks on the phone. Unhelpful, unorganized, unprofessional, and a joke of a company!
khernandez80 Send email
 
Jan 5, 2021

H and r Block Customer Service

I have been with Ha and R block for years, even had my direct deposit going to them. They have switched to Metabank and since then, I have had nothing but problems. They are unable to automatically transfer my paycheck from THEIR old bank (Axos, who is wonderful) to THEIR new bank (Metabank). Now my stimulus got deposited to my old accoutn that THEY kept open and THEY are not taking calls and have not taken calls for two weeks. I WANT MY MONEY!!!
EHP Send email
 
Jun 23, 2020

Need additional training

Had used a CPA for years but relocated and decided to utilize local H&R Block. Once I went to pick up return I was told I owed $2000 combined Fed and State. No big deal. Then I was told the prep fee was $350! I was stunned. I told them my accountant only charged $195 for past 8 years. They asked if I had been given upfront pricing by preparer and I indicated I had heard from anyone and had I known I would have picked up my paperwork. I was then "lectured" by staff that they were entitled to charge that much as they had continuing education, etc. Long story short, my CPA did my return and I only owed combined $700, and he charged me $195. Perhaps the continuing education is not working. As a side note, all the staff there were dressed very unprofessionally (t-shirts and bike shorts).

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username