Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

H&R BLOCK CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about H&R BLOCK CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT

mdkd Send email
 
Apr 24, 2017

Not comfortable, lack of organization, lazy, inaficcient

Service in terms of organization was less then remedial.

E filing no help with anything.

2013 I paid the bill, this office has no recollection of payment, now I have to find the records in order to fix the mess.

I disputed the $1200 charge as I am going to go to another accountant to fix this.

I was in on Friday, I called to tell them I am disputing and that I felt rushed, I have to much work to do to now.

I was told they would refund the credit card as I was not satisfied with the customer service.

Mark Kaufman
mdkmay@hotmail.com
Spayumo1268 Send email
 
Apr 20, 2017

mistakes done, not so professional

We have been with H&R block for years now. Sadly, last year, our "tax professional" made a mistake on our taxes which made us late in buying a house because we cannot get tax statements due to discrepancies and we were asked to pay to amend it... We did not learn our lesson, we still gave the same tax professional to do our tax as well as our 2 kids taxes this year. He was the one who specifically said not to let my boys claim themselves because we are claiming them. After all the talks, tax pro made our son claim himself which led to IRS rejecting our taxes. When they learned about their mistake, even the office manager was no nice to ask us to come in so they can amend it. We had to cancel appointments and spend time and effort going back and forth to their office. Today, we got a call telling us to pick up our tax forms so we can mail it to IRS. Tax pro said that it will take sometime for IRS to amend our son's taxes, so just mail ours with the copy of my son's 1040A. When I asked the office manager about the penalties she mentioned before if we file late, her tone became different saying that we will not be penalized if we have tax returns and turned her back at me. Tax pro even asked, "what do you want us to do?", I said I don't know because to me, they did a lot of mistakes already. Talk about professionalism. The tax pro handed me papers which he said needed to be mailed and I looked for my son's 1040A and
he again forgot it. When everything was finished, I kept myself quiet because I don't want to say anything anymore because of so much disappointment, when I was about to get out of the door, tax pro said "you are welcome" because I was not so happy to say thanks for all the trouble they have caused us. Where is professionalism? We will not make any recommendations to H&R anymore and we will start to look for an alternative that knows how to take care of the customers. This is a story to share to others. H&R no more.
Hunter0001 Send email
 
Apr 20, 2017

Stopped advertising on Bill O'Rielly

I have brought and used H&R Block tax software for years, that will stop. I am very disappointed you pulled your advertising from the Bill O'Reilly show on Fox News channel. I will be using different tax software from now on!! Paul Peralta
syaboostersandy Send email
 
Apr 20, 2017

Run for your life

This was my first time doing my taxes, due to going through a divorce and my ex always did them.
I had an appointment and was prepared to the best of my knowledge. I walked in with a neatly organized manila folder and she looked at it and said "That looks scary".

My tax consultant (Robin Childress) showed ZERO interested in the best outcome of my return. All she did was put the numbers in I gave her. She asked zero extra questions in hopes that maybe I forgot something and it could help the outcome of my return.

At the end of this stressful and overwhelming experience, she told me I owed $700 to Fed... and my fee was $350 to H & R Block.
I asked if I could pay the Fed with a credit Card.. due to going through a terrible divorce and I have no extra funds. She chuckled and said in all of the years she has been doing taxes, not one person has asked if they could pay with a credit card.

This was one of the worst experiences, I sat in my car after and cried.

Turbo Tax on a computer would of been more friendly and helpful for that matter!

I will NEVER go back... I wish I could get a refund....
syaboostersandy Send email
 
Apr 20, 2017

La Mirada H & R Block - Run... such a rip off

This was my first time doing my taxes, due to going through a divorce and my ex always did them.
I had an appointment and was prepared to the best of my knowledge. I walked in with a neatly organized manila folder and she looked at it and said "That looks scary".

My tax consultant (Robin Childress) showed ZERO interested in the best outcome of my return. All she did was put the numbers in I gave her. She asked zero extra questions in hopes that maybe I forgot something and it could help the outcome of my return.

At the end of this stressful and overwhelming experience, she told me I owed $700 to Fed... and my fee was $350 to H & R Block.
I asked if I could pay the Fed with a credit Card.. due to going through a terrible divorce and I have no extra funds. She chuckled and said in all of the years she has been doing taxes, not one person has asked if they could pay with a credit card.

This was one of the worst experiences, I sat in my car after and cried.

Turbo Tax on a computer would of been more friendly and helpful for that matter!

I will NEVER go back... I wish I could get a refund....
jonpluc Send email
 
Apr 19, 2017

forced review of taxes against my will

i signed up for hrblock online as i have for many years. Suddenly i discover the middle package that always had k-1 forms were now only deluxe only now. So they sucked an additional 30 out of me, fine. Then they told me my account had to be reviewed by a professional for an additional 80 dollars. i told them i did not want the review, i did not need it, i had been filling out the exact same forms for 15 years and i was not in need of any review or advice.I was told that it was required and i would not be permitted to file a k-1 without this mandated review. So then the guy tells me that i have to take an extension. i dont want an extension, i want to hit send on my tax form and have this reviewer out of my life. The tax preparers answers to why these unwanted services are being forced on me? " I'm sorry i dont know what to tell you" his "help" is delaying me and i have the privilege of paying an extra 80 dollars to be told to get an extension.
michaelsmclaughlin Send email
 
Apr 13, 2017

Professional service.

The reason I went to H&R Block was I thought you were professional Tax preparation. My wife and I sat in to office while our taxes were being done. We were told that our tax return I was getting back $4805 from the IRS. I was asked if I wanted rapid return which I did.
After 20 days I received notice from the IRS there was a form missing and they needed to finish it. I took my folder which we got from the office back to the office to see what was missing. The form in question was in the packet but, Was never copied and faxed to the irs. So they very nice about it and they faxed a copy to the irs. So with this in mind the irs told me it was going to be 4 to 6 weeks for that point to get my return. So I paid for the service that I never got due to her mistake.
Of course since I signed the agreement I had to come up with the H&R block fees which is now in your collections account.I get contacted again by the irs to tell be she made another error with my refund and now was only getting back $185 now. So my refund went from my 4020 that I was getting after fees to $185 not even enough to cover your fees which they say I now owe. Really? So i am in collections and owe H&R Block fees still. So i paying $385 dollars for no rapid refund and a second mistake by our tax prepare which instead of getting money to owing. You have lost me as a customer because of this.
JamieG Send email
 
Apr 6, 2017

Service

Thank you for giving me additional details about your visit to my office -- this particular situation was brought to my attention by my office supervisor but I was never told the client's name.  She spoke with the tax associate that day and told him that he should not have left for lunch while one of his clients was waiting and that if the same thing happened to her she would have done the same thing as you did -- leave and never come back.   As for the reference to your ethnic origin, I wasn't inferring your daughter had no money.  We have very many clients who choose to take their slips when they find out they can't cashback.  They get a family member to do it for them , go to the food bank if they are eligible or take advantage of the volunteer program CRA offers.


Again, please accept my apologies for the horrible way your daughter was treated.  This is not normally how we service our clients!


Florence Matlock


Franchise Owner | H&R Block


1091A - 102 St, PO Box 596, North Battleford, SK  S9A 2Y7


Tel. 306-445-2260 | Fax. 306-445-0222 | www@hrblock.ca


From: Ida [mailto:ijgabriel@sasktel.net]
Sent: April-05-17 1:39 PM
To: Florence Matlock
Subject: Re: service issue


I was at your office with my daughter after your office had her papers  for about two weeks.   He did call her once and was asked to call her back as she was driving, he did not call her back.  I went with her to your office and we were told to wait for the person who did her return.  He was on a break he then took in a couple (to his office) .  After sitting in your office for two hours he went for lunch with his dad.   

First off it has nothing to do with money, just because we are aboriginal you do not have to assume we have no money. I will be speaking with your head office on this. 

Second she had to drive to Saskatoon to get it done. (her return done, 1 12 hour drive)  

Third why couldn't  your staff get her return while he was out or before he took in the other clients.  

Not once did anyone say her return was done or try to help her out.  

I find your remarks insulting  

Jamie Gabriel 

Sent from my iPhone



On Apr 5, 2017, at 1:10 PM, Florence Matlock <fmatlock@sasktel.net> wrote:


Good afternoon, Ida

The tax associate who did your daughter's tax return is away until the end of this week so I cannot speak with him about what happened.  From what I can see in the file, he did prepare both 2015 and 2016 tax returns and the preparation process happened with 3-4 days of her dropping off the return -- I'm not sure if he was waiting for more moving expense details to finalize the returns?   Kiana had requested cashback service and did not qualify so she took her slips.  I can only assume she did not want to pay our fees for regular service.

I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations -- please let me know if the circumstances listed above are incorrect.

Thanks,
Florence Matlock


Franchise Owner | H&R Block


1091A - 102 St, PO Box 596, North Battleford, SK  S9A 2Y7


Tel. 306-445-2260 | Fax. 306-445-0222 | www@hrblock.ca

From: Ida [mailto:ijgabriel@sasktel.net]
Sent: April-04-17 4:16 PM
To: Florence Matlock
Subject: Re: service issue

I have always used H&R but I am not sure about your office very poor service.   

Sent from my iPhone

On Apr 2, 2017, at 11:08 AM, Florence Matlock <fmatlock@sasktel.net> wrote:

It has been brought to my attention that your daughter had service issues with our office -- could you please give me her name?

Thanks,
Florence Matlock


Franchise Owner | H&R Block


1091A - 102 St, PO Box 596, North Battleford, SK  S9A 2Y7


Tel. 306-445-2260 | Fax. 306-445-0222 | www@hrblock.ca

I have dealt with Lynn at the Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan Branch and I have always received great service. Sorry to say you lost me as a customer.



Jamie GABRIEL
Gary earnest Send email
 
Mar 28, 2017

To busy to help me

I called the H&R Block phone number they made an appointment at the Bowie location explain to them what I was going through and had questions about they told me the lady there gerry had 38 years of experience and would help me go through everything I left work early to be there for the appointment I was in there for less than five minutes and gerry told me she didn't have enough time to deal with me that she did not want to get on the phone back and forth with the IRS and then it would be $300 just to even talk any further on about any other questions told me to go stand in line at the IRS building complete waste of time clearly did not want to help I couldn't even ask a simple question before she would cut me off and say I don't have time we're busy it's March 28th will never come here again.
Pamela Schaub Send email
 
Mar 11, 2017

Knowledge of taxes

We have been dealing with this H& R block at Cheney Washington for 20 years and had good service with Elmer Gibbons. BUT NOW THAT HAS CHANGED. He retired and the older lady that did our taxes seemed like she had no idea how to do taxes for a truck driver and was FAR from friendly. Well after she fumbled around we are getting HALF OF THE REFUND WE HAVE GOTTEN OVER THE PASS TWENTY YEARS! The receptionist was very unfriendly and after our experience today we will NEVER back go to H & R block again!!!!
Chiquita Saphore Send email
 
Feb 24, 2017

Bad services

I went to H&R block on February 1st 2017 to get my taxes done and I had to call the lady who did them Susan Demastus to find out why I haven't gotten them and she said there was a problem with my one of my w-2 she said that she tried to call me but I never got a phone call from her so I'm still waiting on my taxes I think I should get my $120.95 back that I paid to have them done for her mistake that she made and not calling me
Thank you
Chiquita Saphore
Smcelfresh Send email
 
Feb 23, 2017

Being screwed because employee didn't do their job right

So I pay an extra $40 for a peace of mind that I do not have... I went to h and r block on the 26th of January 2017 to file my taxes the lady said Ur state should be there in a week... Well two weeks go by and nothing so I call them to ask what was going on the lady never submitted my taxes and then didn't even have the nerve to call me back and let me know what happened... Why do I pay almost $509 already to get my taxes done with y'all and she can't do her job... I mean who does that??? Now here it is the 23rd of Feb and I still haven't received my state nor my federal but everybody else who filed the same time I did originally has already gotten there's... I have been doing business here for over 7 years now and this is the first time this has happened but I won't go back another year... This is rediculous
whocares Send email
 
Feb 21, 2017

Lack of Information to push a product

Not once was I told that to get my refund through an Emerald Card that I was taking out a loan. This should be clearly explained to the client, before it is pushed down their throat, that it is the best choice for them to get their return. This is my life, my time, my credit, my money. Deceit is not an option, especially from a company that I have done my taxes with since 1976. This WILL be the last time I throw my money away at Block. 40 YEARS AND NO LONGER COUNTING. For the ungodly prices Block charges, you would think they could afford to train their personnel.


WMV
P O Box 1012
Gretna, LA 70054
wmn Send email
 
Feb 19, 2017

$195 for a Simple Tax Return

Last year the Rancho Cordova location charged me $195 for a simple tax return. I am single, no dependents, one job, and go to school. It literally took the guy 20min to do my taxes. This year I used Turbo Tax and not only was it free but I received a greater return. Avoid h&r block at all costs.
graceblovely Send email
 
Feb 18, 2017

THESE BITCHES STEAL

I am a client of HR block for over 5 years now and have never had then steal from me; I acquired an emerald loan from my taxes (as I do every year) and the money was taken back out of my payroll check instead of my income taxes as it is done every year. I called to have the charges put back and to have then recover funds from my taxes and was told that I was out of luck and too bad; reps barely speak English and are very rude. I wish that this could have been a conversation that was had before my account had been gone into. I am no longer a client of HR block and will continue to spread this new via FB and other social media outlets to ensure the lack of honestly and compassion for the clients is known by others
Bobdigi216 Send email
 
Feb 16, 2017

H&r block They took my state taxes to

I been waiting for state thinking i would get it got it for 12 years without it being touched whether i got fed 1st or state this year when i need it they take i call like its been this long it should have been depositted by now she says they kept it for fees i was under the assumtion that they take their fee for doing the taxes out the federal return seeing that its a hell of alot more money in the fed return and the state wasnt even enough to cover what i owed them for fees on top of it uts dam near 500$ jus for them to do my taxes will b doing my own from now on
vancebethnkk3 Send email
 
Feb 15, 2017

SARAH VERY RUDE in Camden SC

I have had my taxes done for 10 years or so by HR Block in Camden. I had SARAH do our taxes last year. We did not file last year with them b/c they wanted to charge 262.00. When in the past we have done it with Andy for around 200-250. Last year she would not budge from the 262. When we left my husbands father past away and we never went back and we did end up filing quickly online b/c of everything going on at that time. I went back this year hoping that I would get it back down to 200. I once again agreed to SARAH helping me. She went through everything and this year was 289.00 OUTRAGOUS!!!!! I once again asked her if she could please help with the cost. She was EXTREMLY RUDE and told me she negotiated with me last year and she was NOT doing it this year! She said she worked VERY hard and I didn't do it last year either! I told her this was a short form and it was not very "hard". I am NOT a rude person but I do believe in great customer service and to be treated this way was NOT acceptable!!! I proceeded to ask for her manager. Which Is CHRIS, I could hear her the whole time telling him she helped me last year and tried to negotiate with me and she was NOT doing it this year and he shouldn't either! So he came in already thinking the worst of me. I shook his hand and asked him nicely to please help me. He also said there was nothing he could do and that was that! I have NEVER been treated this way in my entire life! I asked her for the figures she had just given me and she pulled her screen down and told me she would NOT give me the figures she put in for me. CHRIS came back in and told me they were NOT somewhere that does taxes just to "SEE" if I am doing them right on my own! I told him I had been her for 10 yrs and they were both RUDE!!!! I will NOT go back there and I hope this helps someone else who may be thinking about going there! They are NOT even CPA's they take a 2 wk crash course to be able to do your taxes...so you are paying (and I have in the past) for a person just like you and me to do TAXES!!!!
Tatorbig Send email
 
Feb 14, 2017

Rude

Talked to a very RUDE individual named Tom at the Menomonie Wi office I was looking for information on how much it would be to process my return...needless to say they will not be getting any business from me.
Susannel Send email
 
Feb 13, 2017

Took my stat refund

My state funded before my federal. H&R block took my state that should have been funded to me today. The fees we're more than my state. I called their 1 800 number and was told they never heard of block taking a persons state refund for their fees. My federal was approved. I won't use them again and I am a long time customer. I really needed that money but apparently they must think the IRS won't send me my federal refund. So, block has lost another customer. The rep from emerald just kept reading from a script and that showed a lack of communication. Thanks so much for hijacking my state refund.
concerned61@yahoo.com Send email
 
Feb 5, 2017

JAMES RICHARD ALFORD

JAMES RICHARD ALFORD
94 HOODOO ROAD
BEECHGROVE TENNESSEE 37018
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER # 411 47 4573
DATE OF BIRTH 12/10/1975
HAS $1,140.00 IN BACK CHILD SUPPORT AND IT WAS ORDERED TO BE TAKEN OUT OF HIS INCOME TAX RETURN. IT IS IMPARTIVE THAT YOU REGO OVER THE TAXES YOU HAVE PREPARED FOR THIS MAN THAT LIVES IN BEECHGROVE TN 37018 . THE COFFEE COUNTY CHILD SUPPORT OFFICE OF CRAIG NORTHCOTT HAS ALL THE COURT ORDERED PAPERWORK . FOR GRACIE PAULINE ALFORD AND HE IS SEPARATED AND IT WAS TO BE TOOK OUT OF INCOME RETURN . I REPECTFULLY KNOW YOU WILL DO YOUR JOB.
amarieb410 Send email
 
Jan 23, 2017

HR Block Tax Preparation Gone Wrong

I have been an avid and trusting HR Block customer for over 20 years. The level of service and 'Peace of Mind" services provide me a sense of security that HR Block employed top-notch tax preparers – that would eventually dissipate.

After over 20+ years with HR Block I had to select a new tax preparer approximate 2+ years ago because my original tax preparer retired. 2015 is when my problems began.

1. During the 2015 tax season, on two separate occasions two HR Block tax preparers working together while I was sitting in their office calculated two different amounts I owed and both were exorbitant amounts and this was just for federal taxes. Of course I knew they were wrong, and asked that they reassess the filing, they did but came up with a different, lower, but still exorbitant amounts, of which I questioned again.

To summarize my HR Block Tax Preparer told me that she would continue to review my taxes up until the filing date of 15 April, that she would not file them electronically and instructed me not to mail them or send in any payment. I followed her instructions. I stayed in contact and called several times to obtain a status. After several calls, she returned my call and shared that she could not find any issues and that was the amount I owed. At that time I took it upon myself to speak with an independent tax expert, within minutes, he confirmed my suspicions that HRBlock doubled my disposition of property. Further investigation revealed that it was done the year before as well. I shared this information with my HR Block preparer, she reviewed her work and confirmed that the error for both 2014 and 2015. Wow!!!

You would think that they would be more than happy to apply the "Peace of Mind" for both years, which is a a nominal cost to them ($300 to $400), especially since I was a long standing customer with no issues in the past. That was not the case, HR Block applied it for one year but would not apply it to the previous year even-though I followed all of their instructions. There reasoning is that the problem was caught before the 2015 was filed – not the case – HR Block Rep electronically file the original and I followed her instructions to mail the original and corrected packages together.

HR Block ignored one of the main factors (of which I brought to their attention more than once) – that I had to seek independent services to identify the problem. The endless calls to HR Block seeking their assistance, following up to obtain a status, taking time off from work to visit their office - all unacceptable. The ironic thing about it, is that I really did not care about receiving the $300 to $400 "Peace of Mind" money, HR Block totally missed the bull’s-eye on there moral obligation. As a customer I trusted their guidance and direction for yeras. I followed their directions to the letter for the past 20+ years. I can no longer trust them, its to much of a gamble and very expensive.
Jessann773 Send email
 
May 27, 2016

filed taxes wrong

I filed my taxes with a women in Schaumburg il, The women who prepare my taxes charged me 600 to file and made me do the math on my own taxes.. She entered wrong information on my return and submitted even though I did not give her the numbers she entered. She tool 21/2 hours to file my taxes. If this was not the last day to file I would have walked out. She did nothing to assist me. I felt uncomfortable and felt like she did not even treat me like a human or a customer. I have always completed my taxes at HNR Block, but now I know they are okay with fraud I will never step foot in one of the stores again.
Gmonica923 Send email
 
May 4, 2016

Rude

I already completed my taxes and got my return via Turbo Tax. I went into H&R at Philadelphia Mills Mall simply for one remaining document that I didn't know how to fill out -- City of Philadelphia School Income Tax. One woman came up to me telling me to multiply etc my dividends etc. If I had any idea what that meant, I would not have waited almost an hour to be seen. I told the woman that I would wait until she had time to further help me. Another woman says the same thing to me. I asked her if she could help me fill it out as I did not even have a pen to write down what she was saying. She looked applauded and demanded payment for her help as if I was there for a free pass. I assured her that I had money and that of course would pay, then was so disgusted that I even had to do that, that I left. Thanks H&R block for being so rude when I was nothing but patient.
Mendenhall Send email
 
May 2, 2016

Tax problem

Got my taxes done and now I have to go back in. Got a letter from IRS wanting more information. Everything I had I took in when I filed my taxes. As much as you charge there shouldn't be any errors. railroader2@hotmail.com
Randy FIsher Send email
 
Apr 13, 2016

Double Charged for Service

Was very satisfied with taxes. But I noticed I was double charged for services. I got Federal e-filed free but had to pay state e-file. The charge plus tax was $21.45 / that was fine but after looking at my on line banking I was charged twice, once on April 10th, then again on April 11th.
I would hope you would see the error and I can expect credit back as fast as I was charged.

Thanks,
Randy Fisher

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Edgars - Insurance
    I opened edgars club thank you credit card, I told them I...
    Ittina Mahavir - Status of Ittina Mahavir
    I am a resident here and can assure that project is...
    ets ktmb ticket online - ticket online booking
    i cant book online for my ets ticket. it shows that there...
    shopomaxx - Return Mobile phone
    Mobile Phone As per your add we have order mobile...
    shopomaxx - My Nokia 1600 battey and charge not working
    Nokia 1600 order no. Your GLOBAL INDIA TRADERS shipment...
    stc land line - Service cancellation
    Dears in STC It's to inform you that I've...
    PAYTMAG bank - CANCELLATION AMOUNT NOT REFUNDED
    Dear sir, I have book some tickets and paid using my...
    AARP - Free Tote Bag
    Free Tote Bag for signing up is a piece of garbage and...
    Award Notification Commission - ANC NOTIFICATION COMMISSION
    I received a letter on April 25, 2017 saying that I won...
    ResCare - Sleeping/lazy workers & non-caring office staff
    I've had Rescare home care for over 6 months & 1...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Edgars - Insurance
    I opened edgars club thank you credit card, I told them I...
    Ittina Mahavir - Status of Ittina Mahavir
    I am a resident here and can assure that project is...
    ets ktmb ticket online - ticket online booking
    i cant book online for my ets ticket. it shows that there...
    shopomaxx - Return Mobile phone
    Mobile Phone As per your add we have order mobile...
    shopomaxx - My Nokia 1600 battey and charge not working
    Nokia 1600 order no. Your GLOBAL INDIA TRADERS shipment...
    stc land line - Service cancellation
    Dears in STC It's to inform you that I've...
    PAYTMAG bank - CANCELLATION AMOUNT NOT REFUNDED
    Dear sir, I have book some tickets and paid using my...
    AARP - Free Tote Bag
    Free Tote Bag for signing up is a piece of garbage and...
    Award Notification Commission - ANC NOTIFICATION COMMISSION
    I received a letter on April 25, 2017 saying that I won...
    ResCare - Sleeping/lazy workers & non-caring office staff
    I've had Rescare home care for over 6 months & 1...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username