Submit a Complaint

H&R Block

United States,
North Carolina

Consumer complaints and reviews about H&R Block

EJNIEVES Send email
 
Mar 30, 2021

taxes for 2016, 2017 and 2018

Hello learned that 2016 was not filed by agent who is no longer working for them as of last month. Was told I would receive a refund for above stated years and received Zero and no stimulus checks. Instead , the IRS is coming after me for 13,000 dollars for 2016, 3,000 dollars for 2017 and who knows for 2018. This agent scammed me and probably many others.
[email protected] Send email
 
Jul 18, 2018

Lies on tax returns

Hi,
I only reason, I filed my tax with H&R block as they confirmed me with 4400$ return and for that they charged me $400.
The amount I received back is $580 less then they confirmed. When I asked them about it, there answer was pathetic. They said it is what it is we can't do anything.
When I asked what is wrong in calculations they said, they might have different formulas than us. They didn't even entertained me properly.

This is so pathetic.
[email protected] Send email
 
Jul 18, 2018

Lie on tax returns

Hi,
I only reason, I filed my tax with H&R block as they confirmed me with 4400$ return and for that they charged me $400.
The amount I received back is $580 less then they confirmed. When I asked them about it, there answer was pathetic. They said it is what it is we can't do anything.
When I asked what is wrong in calculations they said, they might have different formulas than us. They didn't even entertained me properly.

This is so pathetic.
nanricx Send email
 
Mar 1, 2016

Financial institution import..NOT

Purchased download of the prep software...Block forgot to mention that many financial institutions will not recognize this crappy software product. Needless to say when it came time to import info from Edward Jones, it did not happen. DO NOT PURCHASE H&R BLOCK!
Maddiep21 Send email
 
Feb 25, 2016

Didn't catch a missed number and now I owe!!!!

I've never had a problem until NOW. 2014 taxes...I missed inputting a number and the computer software didn't catch it and said that everything was fine! I now owe about 3 grand to the IRS. How can I get help to pay this or can they make things right?
mkasparian Send email
 
Feb 6, 2015

H&R Tax Blockers

It astounds me that these people are employed for such a short stint every year and take on this much work. The reason for any mistakes being made is because people walk into this place with the false impression that each and everyone in the place actually knows excactly what they're doing, trust me, they dont. If you ever have about an hour of time to kill do just little bit of investigating as to what needs to get done when filling your taxes. Think about it this way, if you had a bran new car and it got really dirty would you have some teenage kid clean it off or would you choose to do the job right yourself. The point I'm trying to make here is you'll care a lot more when doing your own taxes than someone that blows thru 10-25 returns a day just so they can make some extra cash during tax season. Greed will eventually gurauntee a mistake bad enough to either have you owing money or being delayed in recieving your refund. My advice, take the time and learn how to do it yourself. Your worth it kiddo, lol

Matt
RGS199lvga Send email
 
Jun 4, 2014

Preparation Error

Purchased 2012 deluxe edition and entered all the information from all my paperwork. Over a year later I get a bill from the IRS for $2050 + $71 interest. Tried to find a phone number to call and I thought I was to call customer service and think I got a message that the phone number was not a working number. Called local office and told to bring them my paperwork. They read the letter and told me what it said (which I already knew because I've been reading and speaking English for over 60 years). Showed them where is was on the H&R printed form and they said "that's the problem, it doesn't go there". I explained that I had filled out their form and their software had put it there. They couldn't help, they know nothing about H&R block software. Told me to call Kansas City.

Randy Stull
Lawrenceville GA 30046
Age 66
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

messed up our taxes

That is why I always buy the POM. IT saved me 800 bucks. But as you said, you were in the Army. All the warning signs that you got an unexperienced preparer and you still sat there and let her do the return. You should have taken the IRA advice and filed the amendment, which is very easy to do.
Jose M. Rodriguez Morales Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

messed up our taxes

You had luck my friend, and the main reason I went back to them was to get it fixed. They really did not give a crap my buddy, all they wanted was to charge me again to get them fixed. I was in the Army when this happened, and my W-2's were really simple to read. There was no compliceted income involved. I saw her face when she was confused and asking the other tax preparers about my wifes unemployment benefit (they were really confused about the Puerto Rico Unemployment Income) it looked like an Alien 1099-G to them, but I ignored it because, apparently they are the best. Now all they say to me is that this happened because I did not pay for there peace of mind thing, I was already paying alot of money at the time just to get them prepared. I wonder if the lady did this on purpose because I did not pay for her piece of mind thing. Im really happy though that the IRS is helping me resolve this issue right now by removing the wrong numbers that H&R Block put in. The only thing that H&R Block did right was sending the copies of my W-2's. I personnaly think that they gave me the wrong preparer, at the time I met the preparer, she smelled like straight up nicotine and that probably was a sign that I should have just waked away from them. The truth is that they really don't know anything, just the basics. I just found out my friend started working for them as a tax preparer, and OMG, his stories of working there are something else, so from an H&R Block employee and me, watch yourself because if you dont buy the piece of mind, it can hunt you back.
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

messed up our taxes

We used HR Block for years and the only time we ever had an issue with an error, they paid the penalty to the tune of $800. I have no complaints about them. I will say that you should always go with your gut. You knew to do what the IRS told you yet you still let someone talk you into different. Don't blame the whole on one person's ignorance. You hold some blame here too remember.
Jose M. Rodriguez Morales Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

messed up our taxes

I have also benn a victim of H&R block by messing up my taxes. I went back to them after recieving an IRS letter. they made copies of the letter and told me to wait a couple of days so they report the error. After the days passed, I recieved a letter from H&R saying, Sorry for the inconvinience, and endorsed a check with the amount i paid, back to me. The problem here is that if they did not know how to do my taxes, they should have not touched them. Now I owe a bunch of money to the IRS for a stupid mistake they did. My wife was recieving unemployment from Puerto Rico and they put in some crazy numbers as taxes paid. The IRS told me that, the unemployment amount did not go in the taxes, so I got screwed by H&R block. I know for sure this wont happen again, beause I have learned my lesson by trusting a so called professional tax preparer. All the years I had filed had been through e-file bacause I was broke ans never had a problem, and the year I had some $$$, I went to H&R and got robbed. From now on i will stick to the way I was doing them (online).
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

messed up our taxes

H&R Block really messed up our taxes this year...3 times in a row to be exact and now my husband and I are uncertain if we will receive our refund or our stimulus checks. We started out on H&R blocks tax website and submitted our taxes. We printed out our copy which said "married filing jointly" but somehow the information sent to the IRS said "married filing separately". We had a printed copy stating we were due a refund yet the IRS had a copy stating my husband owed money because the of the mysterious "filing separately". Nobody cared that we had proof in the form of our printed copies. We contacted the IRS and they told us what we needed to do and the amendment that we needed to file. We called H&R block who "fixed" our taxes for free and argued with us that they could get us our money on time without filing the amendment. I argued that I wanted to do what the IRS had told me but the manager refused to listen claiming she knew what was best when it came to matters of taxes. Sure enough the IRS kicked out H&R's "fix". So they called us in yet again, printed out the same paperwork that had been rejected and told us it had to be mailed in...they still refused to complete the amendment that I demanded, and they smiled pushed us out the door and said "Let us know how everything works out and don't forget to make an appointment for next year".

How's it working out?! The IRS claims that they now have 3 claims for our taxes(all filed by H&R Block), it will take 90 days to delete one claim out and another 90 to delete the second claim out and then finally another 90 days to process the actual claim because they now have to audit my husband and I for suspicious tax behavior. My husband got laid off this year, I started nursing school...my father has loaned us some money but we aren't doing so well and could really use our hard earned taxes from last year but unless the IRS can speed up the process we won't get our taxes back until January of 2009! Now we've discovered there is a hold on our stimulus/incentive check. Thanks H&R Block you have totally ruined our year, I now face having to drop out of college until next year because my scholarship doesn't cover full tuition, and you have caused me more stress and dismay than I can ever convey to you! I will never use H&R again and I would recommend to anyone out there reading my post PLEASE PROTECT YOURSELF...DON"T USE H&R TAX SERVICE PERIOD, in store and online software=very risky, very bad idea. you might get good service and results for a few years, like my husband and I, but it's like playing a game of Russian roulette.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username