Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

H&R Block

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about H&R Block

Moniluv Send email
 
Aug 10, 2018

Incorrect info on my taxes for years

So the last two years I've had to file with another tax company. And realized that since 1997 of filing my taxes with H&r block they have been having me file single instead of HOH. Then instead putting child in the box of my daughter they put lived with you. I always thought that was suspicious so I asked and she responded with it doesn't make a diffrence. WELL IT DOES!!!!! THEY NEVER PUT DOWN MY CHILD SUPPORT AMOUNT SO I WAS PENALIZED BY SSI for that. They never entered my UNION DUES, they said it wouldn't really matter much to my refund. My EIC was never the correct return amount., always 1000 instead of the 3500 for one child.
So now in 2016 I have two children ages 3 and 20 when I filed with Liberty they filed the same way in 2016 and i recieved $2300..... But when I filed again with them on 2017 my return was $4400 instead of last year's AMOUNT.
I took a look. And saw the problem.
They didn't count my daughter who was 20 IN 2016. when they should of because of her disability. So I didn't recieve the full EIC for 2016.
They say the have your best interest in hand but that's hard to believe now.
I would like these mistakes corrected with H&R BLOCK. RIGHT NOW I HAVE A BATTLE TO PICK WITH LIBERTY FOR MY FEE of $500 AND THE REMAINDER OF EITC.
NEXT IS H&R.
YOUR GAURANTEE IS FALSE ADVERTISING.
AGAIN I should of always been placed as
H.O. H not Single status. And those are my children not they lived with me.
So I expect for you to honor your word and repay what you owe me for dishonest preparers.
Disgruntled74021 Send email
 
Mar 16, 2018

No attention to detail

Took my tax information to the local H&R Block office. They filed my 1040 online. On a sheet of paper I directed them to direct deposit refunds to my savings account and provided the routing and account numbers. About a week later I went and picked up my "packet". The next day I received a phone call that the IRS had rejected my return as the social security number didn't match up. Turns out the preparer had entered the the first 3 numbers wrong. I was asked for my social security number and that is when the mistake was found. They called and asked even though the numbers were on the W-2's and they could have double checked. Strike 1. Picked up my packet about a week later. Looking at my saving account from time to time. Then i receive the state refund in debit cards because the preparer and filled in "checking" instead of the "savings" as I had directed, and my bank declined the transfer for that reason. Now have to wait on the federal refund check for the same reason. Strike 2. Granted, I am getting my refunds, but not by the means that H&R Block was directed. I brought these mistakes up to the preparer who was unapologetic and didn't offer reasons why those things happened. It is inconvenient and goes to show the lack of attention to detail in processing my tax return. I'm not waiting for a strike 3 and will go elsewhere next year. Hopefully the lack of detail and proofreading will not affect someone that causes bigger issues.
Disgruntled74021 Send email
 
Mar 15, 2018

No attention to detail

Took paperwork to local office for them to process for a 1040 and file. Received my packet back a week later showing the amount of refunds for federal and state, which were to be direct deposited in a savings account with the routing and account numbers provided. One day later i was called by the local office and was told the IRS reject the filing as my social security number didn't match. Turns out the first 3 numbers that the representative provided were incorrect, even tho they had the correct numbers from the W-2's. Strike 1. Just received the Oklahoma debit cards for the refund as the local representative had marked the "checking" account box instead of the "savings" account box. My bank rejected both direct deposits as the account number did not match. Now the federal refund is coming by check, and i have to deal with the debit cards. Strike 2. Granted, I'm getting my refunds, but not by the manner i directed H&R Block. The person who made these mistakes was unapologetic for either mistake and stated that "most people like their refunds to go to checking". Well, i don't and they were directed to mark "savings account". Both of these issues indicate their lack of attention to detail. Hopefully someone doesn't have a major issue due to this lack when it really matters.
aubreyberry Send email
 
Feb 28, 2018

could not efile my federal return hrblock issue

I tried to efile my federal return as i have done for 6 years with HRBlock.com. However it kept giving me the same rejection. That my se form didn't match my 8959 form. Which it did. There was an issue with my husbands 319.00 income from a K1. It was below the threshold for SS tax but it didn't add it back in for 8959 form. I was rejected 5 times. Called up helpline and was told after 1 hour on the phone that it was an IRS issue. Called the IRS and they told me they couldnt even see my return since it was rejected. And of course that was another 1.5 hour on hold. Tried to refile hoping maybe HR Block had fixed the bug. But was rejected again. Called them today and was on hold for a total of 1.9 hours with a very polite young man who at least helped me to the end. I asked for a gift card and a refund. Due to the fact that now I would need to walk into an H and R Block office and pay those fees when every year I have filed my own return
with the exact same income on it. He was ONLY AUTHORIZED TO ISSUE MY REFUND. He said the gift card would have to come after his manager approved it. Most certainly not by the time I refiled my taxes.

NOT Happy!!
Allardtom@Gmail.com Send email
 
Jan 27, 2018

Tax software purchase Discount

I wanted to purchase the Deluxe + Sate Tax program from H&R Block, on line. Using a $10 off coupon I received in the mail. The coupon did not work.

After 35 minutes on the phone with 6 different sections of H&R Block in an attempt to remedy the problem I had applying a $10 coupon I received along with the Trifold “Your 2017 Update is Here”.

I followed the instructions to Purchase and Download the Deluxe+State program. I was asked to enter the coupon code of FFPT-YCP to get $10.00 ($34.95 versus $44.95). The program informed me several times the coupon was invalid. I called 800-472-5625. Over the course of 35 minutes I spoke with:

Bailey,
Jim,
Bill,
James,
Sorsey,
And Gemini

When I talked to Soresy. She gave me to more codes to try: XNVA-3BM, and E57W-Y5A. Both resulted in an invalid coupon code.

Then I was passed onto Gemini. She told me that I should complete the purchase and I would be prompted to enter a new code for a $15 discount. That code was: 25F5EE2D9E. She guaranteed I would see the place to enter the code before I checked out. I was not confident that this would work. So, I ask her what I should do if it did not work. She told me to write a letter and send it to this email address. (SCDigital@HRBlock.com)

Well as you may surmise, the information Gemini gave me was not correct. I purchased the Deluxe+State product and I never saw a place to add the code Gemini gave me. So I was charged $44.95 plus $2.70 tax.

I attach a copy of the Trifold page and coupon I received in the mail.

I was very disappointed with this entire process.It looks like an H&R Block scam to me.

Tom Allard
AllardTom@Gmail.com

Tax software purchase  Discount Tax software purchase  Discount

johnnyl Send email
 
Apr 13, 2017

Bait and switch on Online tax preperation

H&R Block online free file says it supports 1099-misc forms. But in order to file a 1099-misc you must also file a schedule c which the free service does not support. This is an obvious bait and switch. 1099's should not be included in their list of supported forms.
https://www.hrblock.com/pdf/HRB-Online-Fed-Forms/free.pdf
James Fugaban Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

INCOMPOTANCE

THEY TOLD ME I WOULD SEE MY REFUND IN 2-3WEEK, NOW THEY TELL ME AFTER 3 WEEKS I WILL NOT SEE IT FOR ANOTHER MONTH!!! I'M PISSED
Anti-SEO Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

INCOMPOTANCE

Talk to the IRS...
Ghost Of DocJ Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

INCOMPOTANCE

or the KGB
Elliemayfog Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

The Emerald Card

The Emerald Card has had my money in pending limbo for over 9 days now I canceled my order with the apple company 9 days ago I called with a customer service representative to the emerald card customer service they were rude and snippy with both of us telling us that the apple company had to fax over a stop form of some sort to them which my apple customer service person said they never ever had to do for any other card ever. They said if nothing was faxed then I wouldn't be getting my pending transaction money back for over 20 days!!! I will never use H&R Block again. My customer service representative from apple had something faxed over to them for me. My customer service representative from the emerald card charged me a 2.00 fee and didn't help me at all. Apparently I'm now supposed to have my money back on the card in 2 days but I'm not holding my breath. Don't use H&R Block and if you do for god's sake don't use the Emerald Card...
Carlos M Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

The Emerald Card

I just got scamed!!! I got the Emerald scam card in Dec 2011 I need to use for the first time today Feb 22 2012 My card is no longer active, customer service says I was suppose to had used the funds before feb 15 . Now they are going to charge me over $100 in taxes interest and fees when I get my Tax refund!
Duloherylynnette Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

I wouldn't go to H&R block ever again. THey didn't put a form in with the paperwork that was sent to the IRS. Now due to their mistake it will be a 5 month delay. We should have got the money back in april but now its going to be august. All they can telll me is that their sorry and that they pray i can get it sooner. To top it off a lady out of texas was supose to call me by 5pm. She did call but it was at 11pm that night. To top it off they charged me to do our W2's and turned around and charged us again to do the first time home buyers credit. I will not be going back to them ever. I would never recomend anyone going there.
Janellex Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

Their error cost me a thousand bucks. They're incompetent.
Broke Mom Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

False Advertisement

So My husband filed his taxes an they said he would get them in 7 to 14 days an he didn't. They say on the wesite it is the IRS. How is it the IRS when they are giving anticipation loans for his money. They never get the money then give them out. They have never said they have to wait to get it from the IRS. I think it is really messed up we have no food nor gas nor a way to get our kids to school. We NEED OUR MONEY
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

False Advertisement

"when they are giving anticipation loans for his money."

NO. They do not tell you that THEY are giving anticipation loans for the money. BANKS are giving the loans. BANKS are waiting because of IRS issues. WATCH the news. EVERY accountant who files taxes is having the same problems due to IRS issues. How can you blame anyone but yourself for not having money? STOP spending it before you get it.

http://www.kionrightnow.com/story/16602806/irs-issues-could-delay-tax-refunds
Jbfirebird Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

False Advertisement

so, you cannot afford gas and food the rest of the year other than tax time? isnt that what paychecks are for? although you might have a legit complaint, using "I think it is really messed up we have no food nor gas nor a way to get our kids to school. We NEED OUR MONEY" as backing for your complaint is weak
Bradbenson Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Website Redirect, Browser Hijack

My wife has run into the same prob of Hijack and Ripoff Block. She is directed to their website when she tries to check her emails. Can anyone help??
Frus Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Website Redirect, Browser Hijack

When trying to click on specific IRS links through google, I am redirected to the H&R Block website. I did not request this website nor did I wish to go there. When I attempt to back up, it repeatedly goes back to the H&R site. Finally I get back to the google search page, check the link I clicked and sure enough it says irs.gov. I do not doubt that this is partly due to the cookies I have failed to delete. However, I would like to complain that H&R block has obviously paid for the services that allowed them to hijack my browser. It is deceptive and I don't think that a business with their reputation should have to stoop to such tactics in order to have my business. They have surely lost my business because of this.
Divine1 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Website Redirect, Browser Hijack

I am also getting the same thing. I logged into my hotmail and before i could click on a message I am redirected to http://www.hrblock.com/tax-software/deluxe.html?otpPartnerID=7840&campaignId=af_mcm_7840_0001&AID=10449126&PID=2203897... This is becoming rediculous and yes I am accusing them of breaking federal laws.
This is no mistake and no advertising campaign. I cant even check my email because of this.
Sammycat13 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Website Redirect, Browser Hijack

H & R Block are spammers and scammers...'nuff said!
Edward Weaver Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Simple Pay

After meeting with the H&R blook in Southgate the work is being done but the head guy of the area says he not taking care of are problem after promissing to take the problem and get it fixed now he says take it to the pepoe who don't know what to do in Burton Michigan. My words about H&R Blook is the misstakes the company makes the company makes you buy a protection due to there misstakes and the H&R branch dose not stand behind what the company in Burton makes you buy. All H&R are not bad but the burton michigan one are liers tell you that the money is comming and then the company will not answer question Liers are what the company in Burton is
Frustrated With H&R Block Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Simple Pay

I filed an e-file return through H&R Block. H&R offered what they termed as "simple pay" to cover the cost of assisting in preparing the returns which would be deducted from the refund coming from the IRS. Once the return was accepted by the IRS, H&R Block gives access to a countdown clock showing you the exact time the IRS will issue the refund check. Here is what H&R Block doesnt tell you: Once H&R Block receives the money it could take up to 5 days for H&R Block to deduct the fee and send the balance to your account. Also, there is NO WAY to track this process!! So if you file with them thinking it will be faster, DON'T! It's amazing to me that you can track your refund with the IRS but with H&R Block it's a guessing game. Imagine the amount of interest they make by hanging on to everyone's money to the very last minute. They have had my IRS reund now for 5 days so they could deduct $29.99. STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!
Edward Weaver Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Simple Pay

H&R Block maid a big misstake on my 2008 taxes the caused me to be audited I had to pay 21, 000 dollars due to rhere problem.
I live in Michigan and would like to know when the Burton branch will refund the money to me that the company promissed months ago.
Edward Weaver Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Simple Pay

I had a problem when my tax ladie told me I could claim all my givings to a church for the last 10 years and when that was done I was audit by the federal and had to pay a 20 some thousand due to the miss lead. I was told I would recive from H&R block my money that is to protecked me from this and I did not recive it yet it has been a year the office is in Burton Michigan what do I do to get them to wake up.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - UIF
    UIF PAYMENT-4 MONTHS NOW-STILL NOT PAID OUT! Worst...
    TNTNPAYM - Addebito non riconosciuto
    SellaMemoShop 16/08/16 ora 19:38 4118 83XX XXXX...
    Ashra Koehn Spells - I got my ex back with a powerful spell.
    Dear Priest Aluta, Thank you, thank you, thank you, Two...
    bad internet system - no connection of internet system
    I register for internt service since 2972018 till now no...
    TE Data - بطء في سرعة النت
    مشكلة بطء في سرعة النت من يوم 5...
    chandigarh transport undertaking - Requesting for bus stop
    Sir I'm a resident of sunny enclave kharar and there...
    Future satelite DSTV - Non delivery of a working DSTV package
    Hi I recently bought a 3rd decoder to connect to my...
    Renault - Renault Kwid Climber
    We bought a brand new Kwid Climber in May 2018, beautiful...
    USA MILITARY BASE - Fraud r real
    With pleasure to receive possible approval from our...
    cop@vsnl.net - Missing Mobile
    Complaint regarding Missing of mobile Name- Vilas Laxman...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - UIF
    UIF PAYMENT-4 MONTHS NOW-STILL NOT PAID OUT! Worst...
    TNTNPAYM - Addebito non riconosciuto
    SellaMemoShop 16/08/16 ora 19:38 4118 83XX XXXX...
    Ashra Koehn Spells - I got my ex back with a powerful spell.
    Dear Priest Aluta, Thank you, thank you, thank you, Two...
    bad internet system - no connection of internet system
    I register for internt service since 2972018 till now no...
    TE Data - بطء في سرعة النت
    مشكلة بطء في سرعة النت من يوم 5...
    chandigarh transport undertaking - Requesting for bus stop
    Sir I'm a resident of sunny enclave kharar and there...
    Future satelite DSTV - Non delivery of a working DSTV package
    Hi I recently bought a 3rd decoder to connect to my...
    Renault - Renault Kwid Climber
    We bought a brand new Kwid Climber in May 2018, beautiful...
    USA MILITARY BASE - Fraud r real
    With pleasure to receive possible approval from our...
    cop@vsnl.net - Missing Mobile
    Complaint regarding Missing of mobile Name- Vilas Laxman...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username