Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Hair Club

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Hair Club

Bethbrenner1 Send email
 
Mar 11, 2019

Hair club for men

Lies and more lies. Got different answers from different employees. They lied about the MDP process and lied about time and cost. Ruined my hair with colorings that did not cover the grey. Acted surprised when the color didn’t work and asked at that point if I had grey which was totally obvious! I wanted to return the laser helmet as I do not believe using lasers close to the scalp can be safe. Was told no refund on the cap. I have no confidence in this company and am stuck paying the monthly fees. High pressure tactics to sign on. But so many lies. Extremely disappointed and frustrated
marilynnfj Send email
 
Nov 10, 2017

Lies and excuses , rip off, scam even Lies from the Corporate Office

The Corporate office is part of the coverup and Fraud. I tried to cancel after what you will read below happened to me. I spoke with Corporate and was told to send the request to their PO Box and I did that, and was told to pay the October bill because it takes 30 days to Cancel. I paid it. Now they are telling me I can cancel the service which I did, but they dont want to pay the loan company back the money they were paid up front. I am talking to an attorney now, because I plan to sue. How in the world do they feel obligated to keep the money when they breached the contract not me. Please read the hell they took me through...

REQUEST FOR CANCELLATION

I sent an email to the Dallas Office on September 11, 2017, requesting to cancel my contract. I have attached the email trail. To reiterate my request Please cancel this contract immediately.

I started out with Hair Club and was happy; I thought oh wow, finally a solution to my problem and then things started to go extremely wrong. I will not pay $4500 to be bounced around at Hair Clubs convenience and still not getting results.

I have followed every rule given to me, and have with the exception of missing two appointments that was to wash my hair, I made every appointment.

I had to perm my own hair after the first attachment, because the perm originally used by HC would not work on my hair, which was OK, I was fine with that. On 9/5, I when it was time to get my second piece put on , I received a call telling me due to a water heater break my appointment was cancelled. I have call just about every day since and have received a lot of run-around. I was told twice I would receive a call with and update and I am yet to get that call. My stylist was changed, and I was given a new stylist, and now told the new stylist was out sick.

I have further notified the Dallas office that because I will be traveling the next 10 day 9/14/2017, it was imperative that I get my new piece put on as, this old one was coming off and I have been gluing it myself to keep it on. I am yet I still did not get a return call or response. Then finally, on 9/12/2017, I received an email stating I have an appointment in Fort Worth, TX on Wednesday 9/13/2017 @ 5pm.

First off, I do not get off work until 5pm on 9/13/2017; secondly, I was not going to drive 1.5 hours away from home, in traffic. Spend 1.5 to 2 hours in Fort Worth and then drive another 1.5 hours home. Calculated this puts me home around 10pm at night that was not acceptable.

If you canceled my appointment, I should not be the one chasing down an appointment, nor should I have been told I am on a waiting list to be put on the schedule. How do HC determine whom gets put on the schedule? I felt important to HC when I started this process, I guess now I’m just another client who should take a number.

After a battery of emails, I was finally given an appointment on 9/13/2017. In addition, what a surprise. I walked in and as stated, I had a new stylist. She was fine no problem. The problem was they told me they still did not have hot water and would be unable to wash my hair or remove the current piece and would not be able to perm my natural hair to blend. Your Rep from Fort Worth was there trying to help and after I was unhappy she said she would help tote in water from the kitchen, but they would make some it happen, to assure I was ok when I left. They showed me the new piece. I informed them that my natural hair really needed a permanent on it. Again, they could not accommodate, because of the hot water issue. Because at that point I had a plane to catch and really needed to get my hair done. Then up jumped another problem. I was then informed that the new piece had been over processed and that it could not be used or installed on my head. I was then given the option to let them remove the original piece with astringent, they would wash my hair and put it back on; what could I do at that point. So the original was removed, using astringent, my natural hair was never washed or perm. A little while later the new stylist returned to re-attach the original on my dirty unwashed hair, un-permed hair. She trimmed it all up and I left looking ok. Very hurt nevertheless, that I was treated this way. I left for my trip and had to flat iron my hair every day, so it could look ok. That was unacceptable.

I returned from my trip, and HC has not tried to contact me regarding my new piece. I called them on yesterday 9/27/2017, and asked if the new piece was in and I was told yes, I asked was of it was the newer piece replacing the one received the beginning of September, I was told that she didn’t know and would call me back. I asked her if she could please call me back that day, and I was told yes, however, Its now 9/28/17 9:30am the next day and I still have not received a call.

I ended up going to another beautician paying $100 to get my hair done. That was money I really didn’t have to spend.

Secondly, I begged and talk to the HC techs requesting that my hair not be cut, and was re-assured it was not. Going to be. When the tech removed my piece, I was very shocked and showed her pictures of my hair, two days before adding the original piece. On yesterday, when my personal beautician washed out the piece I had her to take pictures.

Bottom-line, Hair Club did not follow through on their promises, and I ended up losing a lot more hair and at this point cannot even wear my natural hair at all. I am so embarrassed. It was suggested by your Corporate office to at least go and have the second piece put on, Only to find they still don’t have it.

With the initial $200 down and the 2 payments of $194 I have paid around $588 of the $4600 that was due, I just want out of this contract today. If nothing else, I should have received for that amount of money a second piece.

I was told when I spoke to the Corporate office that it takes about 30 days to cancel and at least one more payment would be charged. If it is I would like it refunded since my original request was sent to the Dallas Office on September 11th, 2017.

Please find copies of the emails going back and forth with the Dallas Office and photos of my hair and photos of how damaged my hair now. This is so wrong on every level of the word.

I will further need a copy of the cancellation to assure that my daughter, who took out this loan for my hair, will not have any type of negative hits on her credit.
Wanda Haag Send email
 
Jul 18, 2017

Lies and excuses , rip off, scam, Supervisor lying

First of all when I complained about the fact my hair was regressing and I was having hair loss which was why I came in the first place. Was told the reason this was happening was because I'd missed 2 appts. and was supposed to be there 9 consecutive times? MY CONTRACT SAYS NO SUCH THING!!!!!!!!. One appointment I had to miss the "Rogaine {which is all it is}was mailed to me along with my products so I did not miss any treatments.You're telling me people have things come up??? I actually walked out of the salon because I was left sitting in the chair 45 minutes!! There's only one person there that knows what they're doing and that is Tina. She is great. Knows what's going on' and takes time to cut and style your hair the way you want. My last visit was a disaster. Lied to and and talked to like was an idiot. I was offered 2 treatments of Exstrands as compensation. It's not what I paid for. In fact a few months ago as I started to get concerned about my hair I was told by April some people get there money back. So where is mine ? You need new MANAGEMENT. I don't expect a reply because Hairclub is a ripoff. I've cost the Louisville branch 3 customers and am glad. I told these people them to go to Walmart and buy Rogaine the get Viviscal vitamins . It's what I'm doing and am already getting results. The Laser is a $900.00 dollar joke . I'm getting information on how to start a Class Action Lawsuit and I know I'll get hundreds of people if not thousands. I'm sure NOTHING WILL BE DONE AND I WILL GET NO RESPONSE. IT'S THE WAY YOU DO BUSINESS, BUT I CONTINUE TO ADVISE PEOPLE ABOUT HAIRCLUB..
Yellowbee Send email
 
Jun 14, 2017

Fraud and cheating

I would not recommend women to go to hair club, first of all they will tell you that it's your hair and it will never come off, secondly they will say that this is the hair you need. They will pressure you into signing the contract by calling you every day. They have their sale pitch already to reel you in. Women hair is their glory and they know that so they use that to their advantage. Once the hair is on maybe two or three months in that's when they let you know that you would have to continue to pay east month to get more hair. I was so hurt by that because in the beginning they told me that this was the only hair I needed. After I saw what they were doing to the hair I did a little research and found out that the hair was only a frontal. Hair Club should tell all their clients the truth before we spend any money for this so call procedure. I was so happy to finally find someone that could help me with my hair lost that I told everyone, because I went so long without my hair being full and long specially at the top I have alopecia. When I saw their commercial and talked with them I thought my prayers had been answer now I'm in another nightmare my hair is worst than before.
basketldy Send email
 
Oct 5, 2016

Fraud and cheating

I paid Hair Club $3,500 when I joined. I was told that after the first 6 months I could come in whenever I want to get my hair washed and styled. I asked about getting my hair changed after the first 6 months and the cost of that and was told that I could change it whenever I wanted and it would cost about $200. At the end of my 6 months the manager came into my salon visit to speak with me about programs going forward and my treatment. I asked the manager what she meant about programs and she told me about 3 different levels and that the one that was recommended by my stylist was the emerald program. The emerald program would cost me $490 a month. I advised the manager that I had never heard about this before and wanted to know why I was never told about it. I also told her that if I had been told this before I would have never joined the club in the first place because I know there's no way I could pay $490 a month for my hair. She went on to tell me that there was another program that was $390 a month but that since I liked my hair longer the emerald program was recommended by my stylist. I replied I can't afford $390 a month either. She then told me that I could go on what's called a pay-as-you-go program basically where I could come in and get my hair washed and styled and pay $134 each time and if I wanted to change my hair it would cost me about $2,000 each time. Neither of these options work for me because I don't have that kind of money. Now I am bald on the top of my head, because when they put the hair on they shave your head. I left the office and contact at the corporate office and spoke to a lady that was the regional manager named Cindy Larson I believe. I told her what it happen and she asked me how the hair had been during the first six months. I let her know that second head of hair that I received did not hit my head correctly so the stylist had to cut and manipulate it to make it fit and that the texture was really bad. So she said that she would extend my program and replace the second second head of hair first and make that right before we proceed. I have tried to contact Miss Larson on numerous occasions by phone and email and she will not return any of my calls or my email. Had another appointment at the hair club in Denver the week of the 5th. They put me in one of the stylist that had only been there for 1 month not my regular stylist and she could not get it the new hair on because it did not fit my head wasn't measured correctly. My appointment should have taken no longer than an hour and a half and it's dead I was there for 4 hours and had 3 different stylus come into work on my head. After about 2 hours I asked for the stylist that had originally measured for the new hair to come in and look at it, she never came. The manager of the center then came in and tried to tell me that it was measured correctly so it should fit my head but it didn't. I was treated very badly and this appointment and to this day I still do not have the second head of hair that I was promised. And every time I called to get an appointment I get the runaround and never get the stylist I request. Basically Hair Club for women in Denver misrepresented their program and I would like my money back. And since I now have no hair on the top of my head I have to find other means such as wigs xcetera to cover this up.
If anyone would like to or has started a class action lawsuit against them " Count Me In."
User499557 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Scam

First of all, if they had provided a product that was what they told us
it was going to be I doubt you would see all of these complaints
that we have posted. Secondly, they tell you they have a 3 day window
where you can get your money back if not satisfied,
and then they find ways to worm out of honoring this warranty. This has
also been posted and it's amazing that you have missed all of this,
and if you have one of their wigs why don't you know any of this?
I was told of my options coming in, i chose the wig because it
seemed like a viable option at the time, they have a very slick presentation
that makes their wig look like it really is undetectable, when what you really get is a joke.
At the time (20 years ago) I had just finished college and i couldn't afford surgery,
i have since used that option and it was close to $25, 000 by the time they finished,
but it was well worth it. I wish this forum was in existence 20 years ago, i'm just
trying to offer advice to people to save them from the same mistake i made,
whereas the few people who try to sell people on it all sound like they work
for Hairclub. We have a court system that is clogged with thousands of people suing companies
who didn't provide what they promised in writing in their contracts, it sounds like this is news to you.
User Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Scam

Hair Club For Men's "consultant" is nothing but a trashy, smooth-talking salesperson. In the so-called "free consultation", I was informed that their awesome product was not a wig.

Like an idiot, I let the "consultant" rush me into signing their rip-off contract. When their amazing product arrived, it was nothing but a cheap, obviously fake wig stuffed in an envelope!! By the way, she did not tell me that they were going to shave my existing hair till AFTER I was dubbed into signing. What a scam!! I intend to fight this outrage because I'm not dissatisfied, I was just ripped-off.
User612368 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Scam

First of all, I'm a woman. Secondly - you didn't answer my question. Finally, why should a company refund you money that you signed a contract stating you would pay them? If you read what you sign, you won't have a problem.
AR MYERS Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud and cheating

I agree totally about the bad service, bad product & over pricing. After falling for their high pressure technique to sign a ONE YEAR contract I thought maybe I would be getting something worth it in the long run. WAS I MISTAKEN!! YOU ARE KEPT WAITING FOR APPROXIMATELY SIX WEEKS FOR YOUR FIRST HAIR PIECE (WIG) TO BE HAND MADE after your initial measurement. First they give you supposedly personal service for the first few weeks to"show you how to care for your new hair". You get three over-priced maintenance levels which you only have to wash & treat the hair properly each week. Next you are shuttled to a lower floor where you float from one "hair stylist" to another. The level of expertise is definitely not equal with all the stylist. Sometimes you have to wait over an HOUR even when you have an appointment. One of the times after waiting 1 1/2 hours I was started by one stylist then handed off to another & finished up by a third stylist. The hair itself is very high maintenance! If you happen to scratch your scalp from irritation or brush too hard...you create bald spots in the hair piece. Yes you can "wear during heavy workouts etc. but the glue (holding in place) SMELLS VERY BADLY! ! Even after shampooing, it temporarily goes away but returns with any sort of sweating (like hot summer day). If you decide to shampoo & treat yourself between applications, you have to purchase special shampoo, conditioner, gloss serum, & sprays for it's upkeep. WISH I HAD ALL THIS INFO BEFORE SINKING MY HARD EARN MONEY INTO THIS "HAIR LOSS TREATMENT" SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!
Matterz57 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud and cheating

Did anyone notice the posts where they go into
detail as to what you get from Hair Club? Don't
they sound like sales pitches, which they probably
are. Probably HC sales people pretending to be satisfied
customers, and i doubt there are many of them.
EtyM Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud and cheating

I agree bad bad hair. Not good at all. I have so much to say but it's pretty much like the others were have been ripped off. I guy who sounds like a rep. Honestly no it doesn't look real my family n friends who love me and didn't want to tell me the truth. Further more, The integrated matrix piece I receive sheds like u would not believe. It's ridiculous. I couldn't even cook without having to put on a cap. Hair every where in the food!!! In the shower in the sink. On the clothes. Everywhere!!! I wish there would be an action class lawsuit. I about to began dealing w a refund after having this thing on for a couple of weeks. I cant stand the pain and ache swollen scalp and lost of my own hair from the pulling. Let me know if there is a class action law suit. I'd like to get my money back.
EtyM Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud and cheating

This is the integrated matrix system on my head. It's been one week since it was reattached and it's pulled the little of my natural hair I had left. It's traveled back n pulling my hair with the weight of it. Bim having it removed. N they still ask why??? It is dried up hair wig that sits on top of my own hair!! It's clamped by little micro clamps and they hurts!!! I tried putting up pics but it s not working maybe later I ll try again
EtyM Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud and cheating

Oh. And if u don't know wether to decide to go with them just read the bbb complaint record. I wish I'd done my research. I ve learned my lesson.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud and cheating

I absolutely would NOT recommend The Hair Club for Men and Women to anyone! I was charged $1000.00 and received no services or products. I signed a contract (after a great deal of high pressure tactics, I might add) to receive the product they call "my hair" on all their commercials - in an attempt to make people think it's not really just a wig glued to your head. The very next morning I called and told them that the glue they had used in the patch test had left a terrible rash on my head and I therefore, could not agree to have a whole wig glued to my head with this stuff. They offered to do one of the other procedures - which they had already told me would NOT be effective for me based on the hair analysis they had administered themselves. I told them I also wasn't willing to pay thousands of dollars for a procedure they had already told me wouldn't work for me. The whole experience with The Hair club was a long, ugly process involving several unpleasant phone calls and my written dispute of charges, etc. But in the end, I still had a $1000.00 bill for which I received NOTHING!!! Oh, and by the way, they won't tell you this, and they will conveniently leave it out when reviewing the contract - which they won't give you time to read yourself before pressuring you to sign, but the hair piece which cost $2000.00 only last 6 months then you have to start all over. Not to mention that you have to go into them about every month to get the thing removed and re-glued since it's glued to your hair line. I've done a little research since then and found that many others report having dealt with The Hair Club only to learn that they sell an inferior product at an outrageously high price and don't stand behind their product. When you start having problems with it (in my case before I actually even received the product), that's just too bad. They have your signature. You're stuck!
Richard W. Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud and cheating

Okay, I don't know if Hair club managers really write in these posts (I wouldn't be surprised if they did), from my experience with them (3 years) allot of what is said here is true and allot isn't, so here I go, and I hope this is going to be helpful to some people. By all means they are a business and they conduct themselves in that way to the good and the bad: naturally they are there to make a profit (bottom line), and no they are not there because they care and no they are not medical doctors in any way, it's all cosmetics, as for their products (hair regrowth therapy), I never took them as I chose the bio matrix system (referred to as the wig by some), however you know you can by Rogaine and take perpiscia for a fraction of the price (it's not their invention). As for hair transplants once again I don't know how good they are, but you should look into the limitations of that procedure prior to trying it and I personally would have gone to Bossley medical center for that if I would have chosen that route, unfortunately that is not an option for me. HOWEVER the bio matrix is not a wig and it's not your traditional hair piece, its top of the line hair that is blended with yours and fused via medical glue to your scalp. The good side to this is that your skin can breathe, sweat, and get cleaned in the shower as the material joining the hair follicles is top of the line. I must agree though that what bothered me the most when I started HCM is that they wait to tell you about the membership fees till after you already paid the $3000. After that it goes by membership levels. Bronze- around $260 a month gives you 4 hair pieces a year and a hair cut every 6 weeks (by the way you must get the haircuts on time as the mesh up as they call it will no longer be successful). Gold is $100 dollars more which includes 6 hair pieces a year and weekly blow dry and adjustment of your frontal hair line which most need to adjust every 5-7 days. You also need to use their products (shampoo, 2 types of conditioners, 2 sprays, and this oil thing, however they last for a while and are reasonably priced, costs the same as other products you might buy, and it's convenient that it's all there for you). So... bottom line that system is not perfect, it is not your own hair! and you do have to keep going there for maintance, but if the hair thing really bother you, it is a great solution, and guys I'm sorry it looks great and is undetectable (however you might be referring to some of those older guys that refuse to take advice of stylists and chose hair styles that just don’t work (works great with your average short hair style). However it is not cheap, and once again I agree with all of you that they do need to lay all the cards on the table before signing you in on the contract, I remember being mad in the beginning as well for that, however I hope this helps all of you guys who might be thinking of joining HCM (hair club for men), as I wish they did tell me all this in the beginning.
Matterz57 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud and cheating

What a load, this is from a HC rep pretending to be an average joe.
Why would the rest of us lie and say we got a crappy wig if we
didn't, wouldn't we want to share our find with others?
The people who think these wigs aren't detectable by
others are delusional, it's like that Seinfeld episode
where George gets one, and he finds out the hard way.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Macys Worry No More Protection Plan - Worry No More is a scam
    Do NOT let any technician write up an order to replace the...
    IC free shipping.com - Unauthorized withdrawal
    IC shipping has been taking automatic $12.97 out of my...
    Zerowater - Terrible tasting water!
    I bought a ZeroWater 23 Cup Pitcher. Our house uses...
    Facebook - Identity regarding employee
    I had received an email from Facebook company last...
    dri*avast software orderfind.com - Unauthorized charges
    I was charged 39.39 and 85.59 on my credit card. These...
    Pfizer / Tetracycline - Tetracycline Staining
    I was given oxytetracycline for 15 years back in the early...
    microsoft*store msbill.info wa - Xbox one
    Good morning my son made to Purchases one for 9.99 and...
    Edgars - Edgars
    Good Day I am really unhappy with the recent...
    Jet Phalaborwa - Bad attitude
    Good morning I went to jet Phalaborwa yesterday 17...
    MIBFA - Surplus benefits
    I am lost for ideas and ways of working out how the MIBFA...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Macys Worry No More Protection Plan - Worry No More is a scam
    Do NOT let any technician write up an order to replace the...
    IC free shipping.com - Unauthorized withdrawal
    IC shipping has been taking automatic $12.97 out of my...
    Zerowater - Terrible tasting water!
    I bought a ZeroWater 23 Cup Pitcher. Our house uses...
    Facebook - Identity regarding employee
    I had received an email from Facebook company last...
    dri*avast software orderfind.com - Unauthorized charges
    I was charged 39.39 and 85.59 on my credit card. These...
    Pfizer / Tetracycline - Tetracycline Staining
    I was given oxytetracycline for 15 years back in the early...
    microsoft*store msbill.info wa - Xbox one
    Good morning my son made to Purchases one for 9.99 and...
    Edgars - Edgars
    Good Day I am really unhappy with the recent...
    Jet Phalaborwa - Bad attitude
    Good morning I went to jet Phalaborwa yesterday 17...
    MIBFA - Surplus benefits
    I am lost for ideas and ways of working out how the MIBFA...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username