Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Handyman Club of America

United States,
Minnesota

Consumer complaints and reviews about Handyman Club of America

Anson Derby Send email
 
Apr 10, 2018

non receipt of magazines

I have been a life member sine 1994.Three years ago I stopped receiving magazines or any other kind of correspondence. I feel the same as those int correspondence from others in the same boat. I am charter member and member number is 148129. The last card I received shows my member number as 076723. I have not heard any thing from handyman in three years. What is going on. I can be reached via email or by phone at 970-330-7490.
Rokitman Send email
 
Mar 1, 2018

Not Honoring My LIFE Membership

I suppose it's pointless to even post here. As countless other complaints about the same issue have gone unresolved. But I'll gladly add my two cents worth if for no other reason than to add to the massive amount of complaints already filled and also add to the clubs already horrible reputation.

I too have been a LIFE MEMBER for many, many years. Cost me almost $400 and I received a fairly nice mechanics racket set. Not any where NEAR the value of the fee, but I figured the value would add up over time considering the bi-monthly magazines and the opportunity to Member Test all the great products they showcase in the mag.

Well, the magazines came pretty regular for years, then suddenly stopped altogether. No warning, no explanation, no apologies. The MEMBER TESTED items that were promised also were over-hyped and under-delivered. I applied for Member Testing with EVERY magazine that was mailed to me. And as a carpenter with over 30 years experience in the construction trade, I was qualified to test nearly every product they offered. And while I watched others in the mag reviewing cordless drills, plumbing fixtures, shop lights and the like, I received things as exciting as sheets of sandpaper, hand cream and super glue. Not a single cordless or corded power tool was ever sent to me for testing. Even the hand tools were very cheap quality and virtually useless for day to day use.

So thank you HCOA. For stealing our money, breaking your promise and disappointing thousands of loyal members who have supported you both publicly and financially for so many years. Spend our money in good health.
Rokitman Send email
 
Mar 1, 2018

Not Honoring My Lifetime Membership

I suppose it's pointless to even post here. As countless other complaints about the same issue have gone unresolved. But I'll gladly add my two cents worth if for no other reason than to add to the massive amount of complaints already filled and also add to the clubs already horrible reputation.

I too have been a LIFE MEMBER for many, many years. Cost me almost $400 and I received a fairly nice mechanics racket set. Not any where NEAR the value of the fee, but I figured the value would add up over time considering the bi-monthly magazines and the opportunity to Member Test all the great products they showcase in the mag.

Well, the magazines came pretty regular for years, then suddenly stopped altogether. No warning, no explanation, no apologies. The MEMBER TESTED items that were promised also were over-hyped and under-delivered. I applied for Member Testing with EVERY magazine that was mailed to me. And as a carpenter with over 30 years experience in the construction trade, I was qualified to test nearly every product they offered. And while I watched others in the mag reviewing cordless drills, plumbing fixtures, shop lights and the like, I received things as exciting as sheets of sandpaper, hand cream and super glue. Not a single cordless or corded power tool was ever sent to me for testing. Even the hand tools were very cheap quality and virtually useless for day to day use.

So thank you HCOA. For stealing our money, breaking your promise and disappointing thousands of loyal members who have supported you both publicly and financially for so many years. Spend our money in good health.
jvirtue Send email
 
Jan 25, 2018

Lifetime Membership

Same as the rest of the complaints have been a lifetime member for about 15 years and have nothing to show for it. No more magazines....nothing. Wish I had a crystal ball at the time I signed up as I would of wasted my money on something else.
Edward picou Send email
 
Jan 22, 2018

Lifetime membership

I have been a lifetime member for years and haven't received any correspondence from the company since I bought the membership, they made it sound good and then the honeymoon is over and then nothing, thanks for taking my money and screwing me. Highly pissed!!!
harry braglin Send email
 
Jan 2, 2018

i get no magazines 4 about 2 yrs..am a life member

my name is harry braglin and guess what?? i'm NOT dead yet and I demand my magazines...2169 n.glenn dr.lancaster ohio ph#7406540713 email marine1962@columbus.rr.com
Hillster83 Send email
 
Dec 29, 2017

Lifetime membership

I have been a Lifetime member of Handyman of America since 2001 I have not received any magazines or correspondence from the club in years. I do not have membership card or member number anymore. What do I need to do to restart benefits?
Ci ci Send email
 
Dec 17, 2017

Not receiving my magazines from handyman of america

I have been a member sense 1996 and have not got a magazine for 10 yrs. I have wrote letters by e-mail and postal letters and don't even get the respect of a e-mail or letter or call from them, I think somebody like the B B B or some government agency should look in to there dealings there committing fraud plane and simple.
Serge33 Send email
 
Nov 15, 2017

Lifetime membership seems to have ended

I am lifetime member 30296955. I have not hear from the club and have not gotten the magazine for a long time.
dschmitt Send email
 
Nov 8, 2017

Lifetime membership

Another unsatisfied lifetime member. Not a word from the club for quite a while. Member #02966397 If you have not been taken to court yet, I think it is about time.
Timothy Marchand Send email
 
Oct 12, 2017

Life membership isn't happing

I signed up for a lifetime membership in 010 and didn't receive any products to test or any magazines in the last few years. My ID# No. is 70200175 my Customer # is 000847577552 I have called
888-501-5779 but the # isn't active
DB8TTIE Send email
 
Oct 7, 2017

Handy CLUB is what we got hit with!!

I too like many of you became a LIFETIME Member when they first came out. I still have my certificate and handy belt buckle along with a bunch of LIFETIME membership stickers. I was an avid reader and even saved about 4 years of magazines, because like most of you I enjoy thumbing back thru to see stuff I missed or to try a new project.
Then one day the magazines stopped. At first I thought they were being miss delivered by the mailman, thinking someone was poaching my mag. When I tried to call or email, I never got a response back. After a couple of years went by I FINALLY got thru to a customer service person and asked as politely as i could, Where the F@#%& are my magazines? What happened to my lifetime membership?? I was told that thousand of people were lost in the COMPUTER upgrade. Very convenient for them, they said my Membership number didn't exist, I said how about if I produce the Member Certificate you gave me 15 years ago( because I actually save shit like that) then I was told it was all online. I asked, why he H@## do I want to log in?? I dont carry a laptop or computer in my shop. I was pretty much told too bad so sad, that's the deal. I have not logged on in years and was going to today when I ran across this complaint string. If there is a suit or anyone needs the info I will see if I still have the email they sent me, but I know I have my original number.

David from Tacoma
free13 Send email
 
Aug 20, 2017

Lifetime Member

I have been a Lifetime Member, I believe 15 years and have not received any trial offers for tools in probably 8 years and no magazines in 3 1/2 years. I would like, if there is any information on a class action suit or was I scammed.
blazersharon1 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2017

No more magazine's on lifetime subscription

I have been a member and a paid member since 2009. Now i'm not getting my magazine's why? Now i can't even get on the website,Why? I would like someone to contact me before i take action on A paid membership. My information is:
151 Evelyn St. and i have not moved.
716-874-2318 and same phone number.
I do have my account number,so i would like a call
buzzland Send email
 
Feb 10, 2017

Screwed blued and tattooed from HMCA

I became a member when H.M.C.A. first came to be and let it expire after a couple of years. I picked it back up again in 2007 as a lifetime subscription which as many know come with opportunities to try new products, get monthly magazines and tool offers. I must have fell off the radar because I can't get ahold of anyone with the phone numbers or email that are listed in my literature from my sign up package / explaination of benefits. I haven't received a magazine since 2014 and I've been wondering what happened but after thinking that they were no longer a club, I got a little thing in the mail that has a bunch of cards in there with different advertisements for various things along with coupons and yes, even an invite to join Handyman Club of America! So it still exists?!! Then why can't I contact them? Why are all the phone numbers in my benefits package all disconnected? Why doesn't anyone respond to my emails? Methinks perhaps something nafarious is afoot...like I fell for a huge scam. Time to contact the BBB!
Mark Mickle Send email
 
Dec 5, 2016

No magazine/Life member

Handyman mag went to the www they no longer put out magazine they should of asked the customer what we thought. If I wanted a computer subscription I would of asked nope that's why I don't receive handyman mag no more I don't want to login every time to check out an article so I hope someone does report them to the BBB. You don't treat people like that it's not good business.
capnkelly Send email
 
Nov 30, 2016

Poor...well NO customer service

These people are a total rip off. I've been asking them the same question for nearly 2 years and keep getting a canned response back from them They took our money and ran.

Is there a class action law suit against Handyman?
lsinz Send email
 
Oct 4, 2016

Handyman Club of America

I am a life member 30265236 and have not received a magazine for quite awhile. Tried calling the toll free numbers and am told not working. tried another toll free number and the same thing. I feel this company has taken advantage of their customers and someone should at least have the courtesy of a response as to what happened. The Better Business Bureau should go after these people.
ecwhite1 Send email
 
Jul 17, 2016

Not receiving magazines

I have been a Lifetime Member for several years. Member #30216040. Have not received any magazines for a couple years and am unable to contact company. I just keep getting offers to subscribe for 1 year.
dougb7400 Send email
 
Jun 27, 2016

magazines

I have not been receiving my magazines, member#01781293
mezotur42 Send email
 
Jun 12, 2016

NOT RECEIVED MAGAZINE IN 2YEARS

I signed up as LIFETIME MEMBER some ten years ago, got my welcome gift package and my magazine for a few years and then they stopped coming in 2014. Has this outfit gone out of business?
gto Send email
 
Feb 7, 2016

have not recieved handyman magazine si

I have not received a handyman magazine since fall of 2014 and don't give me the run around I'm a life member #30426390 are you trying to rip the life members off? It sounds like it to me
James pharr Send email
 
Aug 27, 2015

not receiving by monthey books

I am a life member .club mbr 30490387 9 . i wood like to receive the books as part of my mimber ship.
pata1954@yahoo.com Send email
 
Jun 27, 2015

Magazine and Calendar

I am a Life Member and haven't received a magazine or a Calendar in 2014 or 2015. Did H.M.C.A. disband? Does your Life Membership expire after 19 years? I would love some answers. Member# 079536.
billd168 Send email
 
May 5, 2015

magazines

iam a life time member i have not receive any magazine for 2015 club number 30123859 2

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Sedgwick CMS - Sedgwick Claim Denials
    Good evening all I was reading through your post and I see...
    IC FREE SHIPPING - Fraudulent
    Unauthorized charges scam
    Sally Hansen - Miracle Gel
    I bought 2 bottles of the miracle gel polish at $9.99 a...
    Google - constant phone calls to update
    I receive 3-4 phone calls from Google every day trying to...
    pobama25@yahoo.com - scammer - J0hn Kenney DEAD
    He seems to have disappeared...PRAISE BE!
    Compressionsale.com - Poor Return Policy
    I ordered hose from CompressionSale, which developed holes...
    Get my friend on bakery - Need my friend to be back on the game
    Hey I’m Jose I want to say get my friend nxkki_lauren...
    Latitude 26 - Latitude 26 Home Building
    I moved to Florida in March of 2009 with a plan to buy...
    Latitude 26 - Latitude 26
    We thank heaven we found Latitude 26. Beautiful design,...
    COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK - IS TRUE OR FACK
    i received a message from the mobile number ...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Sedgwick CMS - Sedgwick Claim Denials
    Good evening all I was reading through your post and I see...
    IC FREE SHIPPING - Fraudulent
    Unauthorized charges scam
    Sally Hansen - Miracle Gel
    I bought 2 bottles of the miracle gel polish at $9.99 a...
    Google - constant phone calls to update
    I receive 3-4 phone calls from Google every day trying to...
    pobama25@yahoo.com - scammer - J0hn Kenney DEAD
    He seems to have disappeared...PRAISE BE!
    Compressionsale.com - Poor Return Policy
    I ordered hose from CompressionSale, which developed holes...
    Get my friend on bakery - Need my friend to be back on the game
    Hey I’m Jose I want to say get my friend nxkki_lauren...
    Latitude 26 - Latitude 26 Home Building
    I moved to Florida in March of 2009 with a plan to buy...
    Latitude 26 - Latitude 26
    We thank heaven we found Latitude 26. Beautiful design,...
    COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK - IS TRUE OR FACK
    i received a message from the mobile number ...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username