Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Harbor Breeze Ceiling Fan

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Harbor Breeze Ceiling Fan

paintr712 Send email
 
Nov 29, 2017

Harbor Breeze Fan Light

Bought a Harbor Breeze fan w/ light at Lowes. The Nickel fan looks great and the fan works great. However, the light has a lot to be desired. It couldn't be more dull. It initially is bright but within about 3 seconds dims to the point your not sure if the light is actually on when it's dusk outside. I had this installed over my center island. Does me no good when I can't actually see what I am doing. Have tried to trouble shoot this to no avail. New switch installed, the remote is fine. Seems to be a possible relay problem inside the fan. Doesn't seem to be a fix for this. Installed additional bulbs in this fan and still, the light is sooooo dim. Bright for a few seconds and then dim as night. Have been buying Harbor Breeze fans for over 30 years. This one is a dud.
dbourque Send email
 
Nov 21, 2017

52 in merrmiack glass globe broke easily

I recently purchased a 52 inch harbor breeze Merrimack ceiling fan. First, assembly was rather easy but when installing the glass globe on the light kit, it requires sliding the glass globe over a threaded rod. Yes, a hole is drilled through the glass globe. Well, when installing the glass, it gently rubbed the threads on the rod and the bottom of the glass globe shattered. I was not rough in the installation and I believe simply the vibration or a weak spot in the glass caused it to fail. After hours of contacting Lowes and searching Amazon, google and Ebay, I contacted Harbor breeze service directly. I was told the part is on back order and I would have to wait 6 weeks before placing my order. I was told i cannot order it reserving a replacement, i have to call back in 6 weeks. This is crazy, First that they have no inventory at the service center and second that i cant order a back ordered replacement. Replacement cost was around 50$ including shipping for a sub 200$ celing fan.. to me that seemed a bit excessive too $$.

Last complaint, the fan comes with a remote which operates the fan and light kit except for the blade rotation direction. The reason the fan was purchased was for a 21 ft cathedral ceiling. A switch located on the fan base needs to be moved to reverse the fan direction for summer and winter. You would think with a remote that operates 3 fan speeds and that has light dimming capabilities would have a fan direction option. This is a very poor design and Im not happy with the lack of engineering thought invested in the design. My 15 yr old Hampton Bay ceiling fan from home depot had the capability on the remote.. Again, not happy.
Wph924 Send email
 
Nov 16, 2017

Ceiling fan light won’t turn lights off

I️ purchased this harbor breeze ceiling fan kit from Lowe’s. The fan was installed two days later nothing, called the company they mailed a new motor. Now the fan can be controlled by the remote but the light will not go out. I’m very 😒 annoyed.. at this point I️ wish I️ had a strong instead of this remote that isn’t working!
Tia Send email
 
Oct 21, 2017

motor burnt out during instatlation

The motor of my fan burnt out. I could smell the smoke and it doesn't work at all.
Wakefield Harbor Breeze #0331111
Teresamshr Send email
 
Sep 27, 2017

Fan light not turning off

My Harbor Breeze ceiling fan's light will not turn off. The remote still turns the fan on/off but it's not working with the light and I've done the troubleshooting, however with negative results. Fan light will not turn off,
Andash14 Send email
 
Aug 27, 2017

Light won't work from remote!

We purchased a harbor breeze fan from Lowe's but the remote won't work to turn off the Light! We have tried everything and it's quite annoying when I need the fan on but not the light!
Bullwinkle Send email
 
Aug 15, 2017

Light kit

Harbor Breeze ceiling fans were installed prior to me purchasing home 1 year ago. I decided to change the light bulbs from the standard incandescent to LED, using 40 watts daylight LED. The standard bulbs were also 40 watt. When I changed all four bulbs, the LED bulbs were barely lit, thus providing minimal light. Yet when I took one LED bulb out and put an incandescent back in, suddenly the remaining three LED bulbs were as bright as they could be. It did not matter which socket was being used, as long as one of them had the incandescent bulb in place (or more), any remaining LED bulbs lit up perfectly. What kind of nonsense is this?
Shene Send email
 
Jul 1, 2017

Harbow Breeze

fan chain broke off inside the unit. I bought a 3 speed fan switch part to replace it. The new part can hold up to 4 wires. Inside the base unit there is only 2 wires. I connected the two wires to the new part and fan still will not work!! Any suggestions????
gdavis@norinse.com Send email
 
May 22, 2017

fan won't change speeds

my harbor breeze fan worked well for a couple of years. now it will only run at slow speed regardless of remote input. lights work fine and when i change the dip switches to the 2nd fan setting, the 2nd fan runs at all 3 speeds. i returned the dip switches to the original settings and the fan still only runs at the slow speed. how do i fix this?
jlong3298 Send email
 
May 13, 2017

Model M52-5B/3LIA1E Light won't turn off

My Harbor Breeze model M52-5B/3LIA1E light won't turn off. It only has a remote and the remote turned the light on and works just fine for the fan but not the light. I have cathedral ceilings and it is difficult to get up into the electrical work box to check the receiver.
Carolyn Ferrell Send email
 
May 4, 2017

Fan pull chain breaks off

The fan pull chain on my Harbor Breeze ceiling fan is useless. It feeds through a hole in the glass that covers lights. When we pull it to try to stop the fan, the chain comes off. We've replaced the pull connector which was loose and it keeps happening. It's a very poor design for the fan pull chain go through the hole in the glass because the angle is too sharp. If I replace the fan switch, will it solve the problem?
Ronw Send email
 
Mar 28, 2017

Light bulb keeps burning out

Harbor breeze Cheshire II with light kit, one of the three bulbs keeps burning out. Same bulb each time. Socket problem?
Rossie101099 Send email
 
Mar 12, 2017

Hampton Breeze lights quit working

My Hampton Breeze fan lights quit working after six months, I am very dissapointed
Rossie101099 Send email
 
Mar 12, 2017

Lights on fan quit working

We bought 3 Harbor Breeze fans for my vaction home,the lights on the fans quit working soon after we installed them, I took the lights bulbs down thinking that they where bad but they light up, I am very dissapointed with thisparticular brand
handyone Send email
 
Nov 18, 2016

Haror Breeze Ceiling Fan

I had a Harbor Breeze (Lowe's brand) ceiling fan installed in my home for approximately seven months when the light stopped operating by remote. The fan still responded to the remote but the lights stayed on, completely nonresponsive. I called Lowes.com at 1-877-GO-LOWES. It took about 8 minutes to speak with someone and 7 minutes to resolve my issue. They tied my directly to a sales associate at the store closest to me and stayed on the line until the issue had been resolved. EXCELLENT customer service on the phone and in-store. Lowe's fans carry a lifetime warranty. No receipt. No problems. I was given replacement parts directly from the box of a new fan. The parts needed? A new receiver and remote.
My complaint is that they are aware of the problems their receivers are prone to and rather than improve the product they put it out there, hope for the best, and offer to stand behind it. That's a DISERVICE to say the least. Great, that you back your product. Lousy, that you sell a product prone to fail or malfunction in short order. Parts are free for life but where is the money for my labor and mileage?!
I have installed many fans of various brands in different environments and applications. Some of my installs are over 25 years old. I gone back for upgrades, to service broken chains, worn pull switches, rusty and dust motors, all sorts of things. Rarely, product malfunctions. Even rarer still, product failure. Any ceiling fan that fails or malfunctions in the first year is either junk in its entirety or has junk components, as is the case with this fan. It was a minor repair. Less than 15 minutes. I've just spent longer fussing about it. The time on the phone, driving to and from the store, and twisting out hot bulbs at night, all on a practically new fan are what ticked me off.
I feel for the person who has to pay to get it installed, then pay even more to troubleshoot and service it. They get screwed worse than I did. That epitomizes customer "disservice". I wont purchase another Harbor Breeze fan and I certainly will not recommend one. If anyone has one that's acting up, weigh your options. If you've gotten more than a few year out of it, pitch it. I only serviced the junk I bought because, for the money, it owes me more than 7 months service. By the way, there were no power surges or interruptions that may have caused this. It was just inferior parts.
GO GET YOUR FREE PARTS OR EXERCISE BETTER OPTIONS. I recommend the latter.
RickyZ Send email
 
Oct 14, 2016

Ceiling fan light will not turn off

My Harbor Breeze ceiling fan's light will not turn off. The remote still turns the fan on/off but it's not working with the light and I've done the troubleshooting, however with negative results. Fan light will not turn off,
jday7757 Send email
 
Oct 2, 2016

Harbor Breeze Portes Light Won't Turn OFF

I have 3 Harbor Breeze Portes ceiling fans installed in my house. While one of them was on, I heard a pop and the light bulb blew. I replaced the light bulb and the light came on, but now the light won't turn OFF. The Portes ceiling fans do not have pull chains and operate only via remote. I have done the standard troubleshooting including reprogramming the remote, programming and trying a different remote from one of my other Portes fans (since I knew that remote was good), etc. The results were always the same--the light stays on and doesn't respond to the remote. The remote still controls the fan as it should. I know I can turn the light out by shutting off the power to the entire ceiling fan, but it is more trouble than it's worth turning the power on and off every time I want to turn on or off the fan. So, basically I know that the bulb is good and that the remote is good.
Steven murray Send email
 
Jun 28, 2016

Replacement remote not working

I bought a $300 harbor breeze fan and not long after I had it my wife got water on the remote. Well needless to say it never worked again even after drying out! So I went and bought a replacement at lowes for another $35. And came home it doesn't have the dip switches and the receiver in the fan doesn't either so anyways I tried resetting it just like the paper said. Turn off power then back on and hold learn button down and nothing! I'm not sure if it's where we had the light and fan off by remote and when it messed up it can't send a signal to the new remote or what? Guess I'm out $300! This sucks!
boxerfan_42 Send email
 
Apr 26, 2016

Light doesn't work

Just bought the beach Haven model on Friday and put it up only to find out the lighting system does not work. The fan runs so the electrical must be hooked up correctly. Believe we may have a bad remote system or atleast are hoping that because we really don't want to have to take the unit down and return it. Please advice as I would appreciate another remote sent to me.
Carol Willingham Send email
 
Feb 18, 2016

Remote Control

I've had my ceiling fan since August, 2015. Within the last month, the fan turns ON by itself. The remote has not been touched.
I've changed the batteries in the remote but it still turns itself ON at very strange times of the day, mostly at night or
very early in the morning. This is very strange. Does anyone have an idea of what is going on? And why within the last
month or so and not from the very beginning after installation.
Vica1ME Send email
 
Feb 13, 2016

The pull chain for fan speed will not work

When I run the chain through the glass and then through the metal that holds the globe on, you cannot pull the chain to change fan speed. Please email jfdsa@msn.com with reply.
Hannahno1 Send email
 
Sep 15, 2015

Harbor Breeze Portes ceiling fan

fan installed mid August,worked for two weeks then stopped rotating light works ok but blades do not go round BUT if I turn the fan on then climb up and push the blades manually the start to go round I am 74 years old needless to say that's not a good idea for me.Called Lowes they want $198 to come and replace the fan NOT!!!!!called Harbor Breeze customer service told the receiver must be faulty they will send a new one in six to eight weeks??????who is going to take out the faulty receiver and put in the new one???NOT ME.What should happen is Harbor Breeze should arrange for a technician to come to my house and repair it .I s their warranty worth anything? T
he reason for the delay in installing the fan bought May installed August is that my son has terminal cancer and I went to Texas to be with him during that time.
RaineSG Send email
 
Sep 6, 2015

Ceiling fans

We bought 2 matching fans for our great room 1 1/2 years ago. We were told they could be programmed separately. That didn't work! Light and fan settings for sitting area and eating area will always be the same. If you try to "teach" one fan, they both learn.
That's not such a big problem now, because only the fan in the sitting area responds to the remote at all. We only have a dimmed light, and no fan over the table that can be turned on and off by the light switch. These were professionally installed. I think I'll call the electrician back and have him install another brand!
soclant Send email
 
Jul 9, 2015

fan quit working

Purchases a Harbor Breeze Platinum 52-in w/remote. fan quit working in 5 months. As of right now been on hold for an hour w/ Lowes. Talk about service. This takes the cake. No more Harbor Breeze for me!
harborbreezeripoff Send email
 
May 21, 2015

Harbor Breeze Portes ceiling fan

I purchased four of these fans. Three stopped working within weeks. The fourth I never installed.

After a few weeks, the fans will no longer start by themselves. They need to be push-started.
The fans make a clunking noise when they turn, getting progressively worse. Mine were professionally installed by a licensed contractor.
The light modules (non-user-replaceable LEDS designed to last for years) stop working after mere weeks (two out of three of mine stopped working before I took the fans back down.)

Harbor Breeze does not honor their warranty. Their only response was to talk to Lowe's, which I intend to do.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Getaroom.com - unethical charges
    I was lead to believe I was booking direct with the...
    Lincare - won't take cpap mask that did,t fit right
    Was American home patient client lincare bought then out...
    Hanh - Pham
    Pleas , tell me why ?
    Pham Hanh - Viola
    I see the fee deducted from facebook for no reason. Please...
    cyprexx - Incompetent managers and coordinators
    I have recently pulled out of Cyprexx after nine years,...
    mobile draw@live.com - 2018 Microsoft Mobile draw
    You have been awarded of 800000 pounds in the 2018...
    Scotia Itrade - Customer service
    Scotia Trade has the worst customer service I have ever...
    Pall mall double casual XL - Faulty cigarette
    Hi I always purchase the same cigs everytime I go to the...
    Clark Shoes - Color rubbing off
    In October 2017 I purchased a brown pair of Clark shoes...
    Hallmark channel - Emma Fielding
    I was looking forward to this mystery series, but at 22...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Getaroom.com - unethical charges
    I was lead to believe I was booking direct with the...
    Lincare - won't take cpap mask that did,t fit right
    Was American home patient client lincare bought then out...
    Hanh - Pham
    Pleas , tell me why ?
    Pham Hanh - Viola
    I see the fee deducted from facebook for no reason. Please...
    cyprexx - Incompetent managers and coordinators
    I have recently pulled out of Cyprexx after nine years,...
    mobile draw@live.com - 2018 Microsoft Mobile draw
    You have been awarded of 800000 pounds in the 2018...
    Scotia Itrade - Customer service
    Scotia Trade has the worst customer service I have ever...
    Pall mall double casual XL - Faulty cigarette
    Hi I always purchase the same cigs everytime I go to the...
    Clark Shoes - Color rubbing off
    In October 2017 I purchased a brown pair of Clark shoes...
    Hallmark channel - Emma Fielding
    I was looking forward to this mystery series, but at 22...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username