Submit a Complaint

HP Pavilion Slimline

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about HP Pavilion Slimline

Bobcanberra Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

motherboard failures on new computers

clap your hands for crappy manufactures --- HP i am clapping my hands!
Bobcanberra Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

motherboard failures on new computers

HP Pavilion Slimline s3040
Same thing happening here, doesn't all ways start after a reboot, a power off gets it working sometimes and the video does not display always after a reboot. Its another dead mother board!
Diyer Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

motherboard failures on new computers

Toadstool, is that like as in a mushroom, perhaps of the aminita muscaria variety? Lay off the shrooms and come back when your not trippin. Or should I ask if you ar Brenda's husband or aka Brenda, cause you two have a reading disorder. I'm not retyping what I already explained -- the reason is there if you can comprehend why. Have a real nice day too
Diyer Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

motherboard failures on new computers

Oh, I forgot Apple -- but who the heck could afford one of them?

diyer777
Diyer Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

motherboard failures on new computers

Well, I have a Compaq desktop with a CRT Monitor. Some contractor that redid my Bros kitchen gave me this pc and it has worked fine for me, for 2 yrs now. This one is at least 5 yrs old and still doing fine. Other than the RAM issue I need to get a new PC cause the ram is maxed out at 1GB (I open 50+ pages and need lots of ram). Anyway, I was about to get a Slimline S5760F, but after reading all these complaints there is no way I will take the chance. I got to wondering if there was any issue with slimline sizes, maybe overheating due to a smaller case design (a ongoing problem with Toshiba laptops) and decided to do a quick search -- the rest is history, I arrived here and read about all your troubles. Obviously the Slimline's are a bad design. I wonder though, has HP said just what the issue with the MB is? Has anyone had a capacitor issue? Bad capacitor have been plagung the micro-electronics industry for years. Congress has ignored the problem -- as usual. let me say this about "all" the products that consumers buy today. We have been sold out -- out-sourced imports is the problem and has flooded our country. We need a consumer revolution. Everyone is having problems with everything they are buying. I am constantly having to return products everywhere, except for US produced food items. It is creating havoc everywhere.

First, what I think you people all need to do. The nature of your complaints seem to be the same BS I read about with people who have purchased economy Dell laptops (junk), Customer Service is the problem. What you all need to do is contact each other and get a lawyer to file a class action lawsuit. If you dont want pay to thousands of dollars to a lawyer to recover $500 for your computer (and what person in their right mind would), then you can file a claim in small claims court, and you should. Consumers need to lobby Congress to create a Federal Small Claims Forum. So companies like HP can be sued and then the lawsuits can be turned into class actions. But what you all have failed to do is notify the CEO in writing and certified or registered mail about what was done to you. Once he/she is put on notice they are legally responsible. The only people responsible now are these wacko customer service morons they hire, and they are expendable. These big corps are not stupid, they analyze these things way ahead of time. They will fire the customer service people, and if nothing is in writing then as far as a court is concerned it didnt happen. Their policy is simple: It is easier to deal with a few lawsuits than eat the costs of millions of defective products. HP's greedy US Pig lawyers have done what is called actuarial analysis. Here is an example:

ABC company: [Quote]"If we mfr a lemon, keep silent about it. If we get caught, deny, deny, deny and frustrate as many people as you can. Tell customers its a software issue. Tell customers it is their fault and not covered under warranty. Force them to pay the shipping repeatedly. If a customer persists with a claim dont return their calls, force them to wait a long time. Ask for money for the repair. In the end it is cheaper for us to only have to pay off a few complainers than fix all the crap we sold them."[End Quote] ...

In other words, the warranty means little to nothing. I read quite a bit and everybody everywhere is having these type of problems with products.

For all you atheists out there, doing the right thing is not what America is about anymore. For all you believers out there, worshiping God is not what America is about anymore. What America has become is a nation of greedy money worshipers. Much of your complaints about these hardware issues have happened because of all the outsourcing our products to countries with cheap labor, and they are making nothing but junk I bet those imported Slimlines only cost HP from $10 to $40 each to mfr. The people at the bottom of the ladder have been sold out by our Congress who has allowed these things to happen. They were lobbied by big business and have their hands in each others pockets. Follow the money if you want to know the truth.

So, wow, I still need a new desktop and have no clue what brand or model to trust. Dell has a ton of complaints. Same for HP. IBM is out of the business and sold Lenovo to a Company in China, and their made there as well -- good luck trying to enforce a Chinese warranty. I was warned to stay away from anything that Gateway has their name on. Sony, Toshiba and other Japanese mfrs dont make any desktops. Who else is left. Velocity Micro is too pricey. Asus is the only name I can think of that is left [Asus only shows two desktop models out and one is for gamers], unless you can build your own, and few people want to do that. I dont have the time and the savings are minimal and that remedy has its own issues as well. Maybe the only option left is to buy a used pc from someone you trust that builds their own. Sadly even Consumer Reports cant predict what models will be lemons. I will pray for you people and ask the Almighty to destroy HP. Do the same.
Fifeolee Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

motherboard failures on new computers

Toshiba is the best if you are looking for a computer. They STAND behind their products 110%
Fifeolee Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

motherboard failures on new computers

I had a customer by a HP slimline and right out of the box was a bad power supply. Only 2 months later I have the computer back telling me the hard drive is failing. What a pos computer! I will never recommend a HP to ANYONE!! I personally purchased a HP laptop a couple years back and a week after the warranty was up my motherboard screwed up. Not only are these slimlines junk, ALL HP COMPUTERS ARE JUNK! Do not buy their products. They dont stand behind them.
Ahballard Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

motherboard failures on new computers

I bought a new HP Pavilion Slimline s3127c desktop PC computer less than a year ago from Hewlett Packard. With the purchase of this computer, the customer is provided a one year warrantee for service and repairs. This particular model, as well as several other models produced by Hewlett Packard in this time frame, has an admitted problem with the computer’s motherboard. The flaw in the motherboard system results in complete computer failure. The user is unable to navigate through any programs on the computer and is also greeted by a blank computer screen. I immediately called the customer service department. After a minimum of an hour and an half phone call, the repair department agreed to fix this known motherboard problem if the computer was shipped to them. The computer was shipped immediately for repair, but much to my chagrin the “repaired computer” still has the same PC motherboard failure. I called the service department again, this time with the hope that they would replace the PC with a system that functions properly. I was informed my only option would be to send the computer back for repair. I told the customer complaint department that I was concerned about this being a reoccurring problem long after the one year warrantee expires. I was told that they would extend the warrantee because of this flaw, but the customer service agent refused to send me a copy of my “newly extended warrantee”, stating that it was an “internal document”. Hewlett Packard has refused to replace the item with a working PC, leaving me to ship the product back and forth for repair. I would like Hewlett Packard to replace my PC with one that does not have this motherboard flaw, or provide me with written documentation of my newly extended warrantee. I feel the company is taking advantage of hardworking individuals by selling a product that does not work, then pretending to attempt to fix the product until their warrantee expires.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username