Submit a Complaint

indian fortune teller scam

Australia,
Victoria

Consumer complaints and reviews about indian fortune teller scam

User927375 Send email
 
Apr 4, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

I just had Yogi in my office! He did the whole nine yards routine..Lucky face..flower..number..The bad news is that he didn't reveal much Yogi said I've had a rough past 2 years..OFCOURSE..like everyone else..More bad news..He took my lunch money..$8 Yet he wanted more..but I knew it is all just too fishy...Yogi owes me lunch!
SXEL Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

Happened to me today.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
I was at work. An Indian man, about 40 years of age came into the shop I work at. He handed out a red laminated card, stating his "profession as a fortune teller". Off the bat, I told him that I had no cash available. He said that it was okay, that he was going to tell me my fortune anyway and whatever I felt like paying him was enough. I told him that I could do $5.00. He agreed and insisted on finding a piece of paper to write on. At this point, he mentions that I have a friend that is talking sh*t about me and that I have two men who are loosing sleep over me. He wanted to sit with me and discuss further my fortune. As I was walking close to him, he mentioned that I had a very beautiful face (I don't mean to sound smug, but I get this a lot from everyone, so I really pay no mind to this). He gave me a hug and told me how good hearted I was.

I am a sucker for people being nice to me, to the point that even if I get nothing in return, I can sleep like a baby, because I know that at the end of the day, I f*cking made a difference in the world, instead of being another @$$h013 in South Florida (which its chock full of them already). I'm not a hippie. I am just a good person in general.

I sat down with this "Indian fortune teller" He makes me write down on the paper my name and my age. Then, he proceeded in handing me this crumpled piece of paper, for me to hold it in my right hand. He tells me at what age I am going to kick off, and how peaceful my death will be. He asked if I believed in god, because I was wearing a rosary. I said not really. I told him that I like religious art in general. He said that God is being good to me for being so good. He mentioned not to cut my hair or toenails on Fridays, not to wear black on Saturdays and to walk slow on Sundays. He told me to choose a number between 1 and 5. To choose a favorite color, and to choose a favorite flower. I said 5 and he said no. He made me choose another number! lol! He made me choose a color, and I said "Teal". He did not understand what color this was. So to make it easier, I mentioned Red. In the end, my choices were: #2, Red and Rose. Sure enough, those were the same things that were written in the crumpled piece of paper that I was holding in my right hand. I was amazed. I am not going to lie. He asked me if I had a boyfriend. I said yes. He asked me his age and I told him. His face turned a bit mischievous when he learned that my boyfriend was 14 years my senior. Then (this is were it gets weird) He asks me how many times me and my boyfriend have sex. I refuse to tell him, and told him that the question was too personal. He kept on insisting and left him with the doubt.
That's when I kind of thought it was getting a bit weird. He wrote on his notepad poor, medium, rich. And placed 30 for poor, 40 for medium and rich 50. This was the amount that I can give to him. I told him that I only had 20 dollars for me to spend. He asked me if I has a credit card, but I kept on saying no. He handed to me a weird bead and told me to keep it and tell no one I have it. That it was "lucky". He also made me throw the papers away where my fortune was written.

Suddenly, I remembered that I was saving money for a little present I was going to buy a friend of mine that lived overseas. At this point, I knew he was desperate. He smelled like if he has been walking all day under the Floridian sun, with no chance of escaping it. He was also asking for directions on a map after the "fortune telling". He was lost. I knew I had 30 dollars saved up for my friend's present, 20 dollars for food and 280 bucks that I made for the day (I am a tattoo artist). I gave him 30 bucks. He was happy. He gave me a hug and told me a lot of indian sweet nothings and left.
I felt good, despite the fact that he tried to suck more money off me. Because I know that he didn't have much luck today finding suckers in downtown. I hope those 30 dollars can help him get to where ever he needs to go or be. Even though I have to save up from scratch again for my friend's gift, I could care less. Because I know that he will have money in his pocket. It's brutal out there, especially if you are visiting another country, and have no money. You hate being scammed, but we get scammed all the time. We just don't realize it.

Y'know... I listen, I smile and I agree, but in the end, I do whatever I want to do. So I kept the little crumpled paper and I will show you the magical bead to you guys!

-L
SXEL Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

This is it!
Iainjc Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

this happened to me today, in central, hong kong. a supposed yogi with a little leather zipper bag. he told me i had a good aura and i should meditate, and some true enough but vague comments about my personality. he gave me the little yellow ball of paper then asked me to think of a colour and a number between 1-100. i said purple and 88 and sure enough there on the paper was purple and 88. i figured he was gonna ask me for money (for his travels apparently) but it was a cool trick so i gave him HK$20... of course he was dissapointed but hey, it's just like a tip or sth. it was worth HK$20 (about US2.50) haha.
SwaDorgk Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

Indian man in Cambridge, MA doing the exact same thing! He wouldn't leave unless you give him $20 or $40 for a supposedly "lucky stone". BEWARE!
Genoseal Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

Same thing happened to me...although instead of giving answers like rose i said, Tulip, and Turqoise for a color...which he Guessed correctly. Anyway to make a long story short he pulled out 2 stones...one was a white opal looking stone that he told me to put in my wallet...because i'm a man with money but i never hold onto it, and this stone was going to give me more money...then he said i was too trusting of people (obviously if i'm giving money to him). He also said that i am honest and i do good to everyone but everyone does evil to me...so he gave me this black stone with a red image of a God or something...not entirely sure. Muslim God or something. He said that if i wore it around my neck that it would ward off evil... So after the experience i felt like just another sucker and it was bothering me to know i just lost 90.US dollars, so i stopped at a gas station where i knew some Indian guys for a long time and asked him if he knew what the stones meant. The cashier proceeded to show me the same exact stone imbedded in his ring saying it was for good health and fortune and told me to put it in my wallet and if it works to make a ring out of it. He then told me that the other stone (black and red) was a religious stone, that if i wore it around my neck to never do bad while wearing it and it will ward off evil. So now i'm even more convinced...So you be the judge of it. Scam or reality. I don't know which to believe at this point.
RobbyGre Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

Today an Indian man named Singh apporgached me and asked me a few questions, crumbling a paper in my hand, what is your favorite flower - Rose I replied, 1st answer correct, then he asked my favorite color, Green, again crumbled paper correct, then he commented about the 2 people in my life one big one small, he went on and on, asked my wifes name, told me how many marriages I had, told me about my health issues in 2008, 2009 and asked what I wihed for my daughter, myh wife etc. I was ALL IN, a little freaked out, I continued to listen, he put the last paper in my palm, I opened it, it had my wifes name, my age, her age, my favorite color. WOW very impressive. He showed me pictures of Indian children and sought a dontation in the three tier format in this thread. I feel better now becuase I gave him $200 US dollars and feel as though he earned every red cent holding my attention, entertaining me and most important, giving me a reason to research this scam and the outcome so I can share it with others and never get scammed again. As for the colorful beaded neckace and the 2 beads he told me to hold onto, I just might to remind me that I am not as smart as I think I am sometimes.
Kuteguy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

exactly what happened to me in Thailand, Australia, and London.. within a 3 month period. the one in Thailand guessed way too many names, etc. they all wanted 200-300 aud and carried the same leather folder.

i refused to give them any money as they had not added any value to my life. they got disgruntled and insisted on ATM withdrawal. i am a BIGGG guy so stood my ground!
Kuteguy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

just to re-iterate on my previous post- they guessed my mother's name, my girlfriend's name. if they are not psychic then the only thing i can rink of is a sleight of hand trick especially considering they get you to write things and pass the paper back and forth. they might be putting you into a quick trance - like hypnotists and nlp practitioners
Ahaddad Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

This is not a scam. I do believe that whoever they approach has something related to luck or such in some way. but anyways the two yogi brothers approached me and my mother in Delhi. They revealed many personal stuff and secrets that we were just in awe! We couldn't believe our eyes, and we weren't carrying enough money on that trip and they said they understand and they are not asking for that much money which I thought was totally fair and they were super amazing people. I don't understand why people would post and say such things about them when all they are doing is helping you and telling you stuff that is OBVIOUSLY not a trick! how in the hell does placing a piece of paper with all the answers written on it before they even ask you the question!!! and you are holding the paper in your hands. We just choose to be ungrateful and that's why we are never happy in life. I am not saying they are some sort of a prophet or anything, but they are definitely people with special abilities like MANY sadhus and holy people in India. And well they ask for your money in exchange of their service. Which again is totally fine with me. For many reasons "maya" needs to be exchanged in these matters, which is what many people don't understand because it is beyond their capacity. Well god bless you all and god bless these people because they are not ROBBING anyone, they are just spreading good words and positive energy and I respect them.
Blessings,
Hugs <3
An0nym0u5 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

same thing just happened to me (in austria). some indian guy told me I had a lucky face (I wonder if they ever approach people who don't have one). I had a feeling that he was about to beg me for money and stuff, but I was curious because I already knew that I was going to walk off without giving him money, so maybe, just maybe there's this one little honest guy left on earth who's going to give me a good advice for the future just because I really do have a lucky face and not because he needs the money. Of course I was wrong, he did the trick (what do you long for most in life, a fruit and a number btw. 1-100) and got it right, but he forced me to take the paper in my other hand, so I guess that was the point when he switched. Told him that it was a nice trick, so he tried to prove me again that it's not a trick but giving me four numbers to choose from (66, 77, 88, 99) wich he got right. That might have been guess-work, I don't know what the trick really was, but anyway he finally asked for money. I told him he was a beggar after all and walked off with an angry expression on my being the only thing to give him.
Still cusious how the tricks work, but reading your replies make me think: 150 pounds here, 200 usd there. These guys really make a good living, I wish I did this kind of money in my (what I think) legit job teaching geometry.
Btw., I'm not proud of being able to ignore beggars and walking by without looking at them. Talking to a scammer/beggar for ten minutes, looking him in his eyes and telling to his face: "you don't deserve any money", that's what I'm proud of, because maybe some day there's gonna be someone who really want's to help you and doesn't only want your money. I'm still optimistic :)
and please do me a favor (all of you): Don't tell yourself that the money you gave was worth the trick when you realize it was just a scam, because no trick is worth more than ten bucks, just face that you have been scammed and you will learn something for the future: to be more careful and more rational.
(no offence to anybody)
Ngss Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

i was walking around the city the other day. then there was this indian man approached me and said "you've got a lucky face". He then said i was lucky and said he was a fortune teller. seeing that i was a girl, he obviously asked for the name of my love. Then he wrote something down on a piece of paper, crumbled it up and handed it over to me. He then asked a series of questions and later on asked what was the name of my boyfriend or so. And what do you know, he asked me to open the crumbled up paper and open it, the name of my bf was written there! he claimed that he could read my mind.

Anyway, to the important part. he then showed me a few pictures of children, and claimed that they were children belong to his charity called 'happy heart' or something similar. he asked me to donate some money for them. he said most people donate 200, 300 or 400. I said i don't have any money in my wallet. He said he'd walk me to the ATM so i could withdraw money and donate.
I handed him $20 and said that is all i have. He asked if i wanted to purchase a gift on my credit card if i have no cash in me. I was slightly annoyed and said no. so he walked away, saying he'd wish me good luck anyway.


going home, the story kept on bugging me so i do some google on the internet and found out about this fortune teller/ psychic scam that happened pretty often.
so beware people (specially young people / girls!!!) wandering around melbourne city metro area, there are indian fortune teller/psychic scam walking around trying to prey on your unawareness of this trick and try to get your money. I know especially for girls we're all attracted to the psychic mind reading or fortune teller wondering about things such as study, career, love life ..etc. i hope nobody else got trick like i did. luckily i did not go to the ATM to take out any more money to give to him.

further reading on the indian fortune teller scam could be found on this link. and the indian fortune teller scammer that tricked me today did almost exactly the same steps. so it's worth a read.

the info about the scam steps was found on this link:

http://cardopolis.blogspot.com/2004_09_12_archive.html


"So there I was, standing outside a store in New Oxford Street, killing some time before a 3 o’clock meeting when I heard the words, “You have a lucky face.”

They came from a small Indian guy, possibly in his late teens. He’d crept up behind me and when I turned to face him, he said the words again. “You have a lucky face.”
“Pardon?” I said.
“You have a lucky face, yes very lucky. Let me see your hand.”
And I did, I let him see my hand. Instinctively I knew he wanted to read my palm so I held it palm uppermost and sure enough he started to point to the lines on my hand with a pen. As well as a pen he was carrying a small leather folder, the kind with a zipper around the edge. Clipped to the folder with his thumb were several small scraps of paper. “This is the lucky line, ” he said, tracing one of the creases in my palm. “I show you.”

He started to write something down on one of the pieces of paper, rolled it into a ball and then dropped it onto my palm. I closed my hand to stop the ball of paper rolling away.

“Tell me the name of a flower, ” he said.
“Rose” I answered.
“And a number from 1 to 5.”
“3” I said.
“Look at the paper.

I opened my hand, unrolled the paper and saw that he had written down the words rose and the number 3.

He started to write some other things on a second slip of paper and mutter some stuff about this being true, that I was very lucky and that money was coming my way. He looked up at my lucky face. “Do not shave or cut your hair on Tuesday” he advised. “Tuesday very lucky day for business. You will get much money.”

Then he stopped writing, reached into his leather folder and rummaged around inside. I could see other pieces of paper in there and something else, a picture of some kind. But what he brought out was what appeared to be a small red-brown nut or seed. He handed it to me. “This is very lucky stone. You keep it. You will be lucky.”

They engaged you in conversation, wrote something down on a piece of paper and then asked you to think of a flower. Most people said a rose.

And then they asked you to choose a number from 1 to 5. You won't be surprised to hear that 3 is the most popular number.

But there was a third phase to the routine. They scribbled something on a slip of paper and asked for your date of birth. And when you opened the paper that’s exactly what you found written on it. Amazing. And worth ten dollars of anyone's money, which is what the fortune teller usually asked for."
Waddle83 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

psychic scam in melbourne, beware!!

Well my story is very similar to everyone else. Suprised about the fortune reading, got home and gooogled fortune teller scam in Hong Kong and landed on this website. Same encounter :' You have a very lucky face' and asked to shake my hand. His name was Raj then started to tell me next month will be very lucky for me. Started scibbling something on a piece of paper. Asked me to pick number between 1-10 i picked 7 then asked 2 of my favourite colours? which is blue and purple Of course all prediction was bang on. I was still skeptical at first but he started to describe my personality, my work and my love life again bang on target. Piqued my curiousity i listened on and tells me i have a SIN i need to disperse as its negative Karma. Something about a 'baby' from my Ex girlfriend. The shadow of that baby is haunting me. I was scared and shocked at the moment because i was definitely not aware of any baby from my EX. Started to doubt him at this point. Then he tried the scribbling paper thing again, placed on my hand and grasped it tight. This time asked what i wished for : Happiness, then my age? : 28 How many sibling i have? 1 brother and sister and how old my gf is? 21 what a suprise is was all there. Still strucked by awe he then asked for donation and money to help bless my happiness. He asked if i was poor, middle or rich. I said poor and asked for $6K HK dollars. Yeah normal reaction i said i didn't have that kind of money. He then asked to walk to the ATM to push money out ofc at this point i called it quits and gave him $200 from my wallet and walked off. Dunno if you can call it a scam but it was hell impressive. Like other commentors of this post take it a good perfromance and know that you have a very lucky face.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username