Submit a Complaint

JCPenney

United States,
California

Consumer complaints and reviews about JCPenney

Love doves Send email
 
Sep 27, 2020

Unprofessional Supervisor Cicelia

Woodfield mall in Schaumburg - Illinois 1Supervisor by the name of cicelia who is the Supervisor at Sephora but works through the J.C. Penney store.

The date is 9.26.20 & the time of the incident was exactly 6:50.
The mall closes at 7pm.

There were several fast announcements made that the store was closing at 7pm.

I rushed to check out so that I can walk out the mall doors which is near my vehicle.
When I finished making my purchase as I walked toward the door to the mall and I see Cicelia talking to a lady with her child. They were literally at the door when she turned around from u assume locking it:

As the lady and her daughter walk pass me I asked did they lock their doors she shock her head in disappointment and said yes. I said I didn’t hear them say the doors were locking and she stated she didn’t either.

Cicelia is talking and with a very rude and disrespectful tone she starts repeating over and over that she does the announcements and she stated the the doors of the store was closing as well as the store.

As I was trying to tell this woman who clearly lacks the knowledge of good customer service that if she is saying two different things they should be said separately.
However, she refused to listen to anything I said and was moving her body and walking back and forth by me literally in the floor shouting as I am shouting stating what she should do
I told her that I didn’t hear them say the doors were locking in 10 minutes.

I kept saying if you have two different customers telling you they didn’t understand your message all you had to do was say okay. Instead of saying okay you are standing hear yelling across the store from the jewelry aisle next to me to your coworkers in Sephora to get you to agree with your announcements.

She was to ignorant and disrespectful to listen and hear me say I didn’t say one time she didn’t say it. I am telling you that an announcement that you are closing your doors before the store close should be said separately in the future so the consumers can understand clearly.

I got tired of her mouth and ask for a supervisor and she proudly patted her chest and said she was and me being who I am said I know for a fact there’s someone over you. Who are they and she kept going on and on and continue to walk near me. I literally ask this lately over 10 times to not come by me.

She finally shut up and stop coming by me when another supervisor by the name of Ethel along with security I suppose came. Of course they were very nice and polite and she Cicelia was still loudly running her mouth and I aske is this how your management staff behave?
Where’s her customer service?
Were’s her de escalation? Even when she pissed me off I said I am going to return these $100 worth of items which was $99.79 to be exact. She absolutely cared less and continue to talk.

The lady Ethel clearly didn’t want to lose the business as she offered to let me out the store the way I was originally going.

The same thing Cicelia could have done yet she rather stood there and be disrespectful and rude.

I told Ethel yes I would like to leave out that way but first I want the manager and district manager number.
Ethel even had to tell her to stop coming by me.

I realized she was trying to be threatening (Cicelia because I was near the jewelry area and she’s actually Supervisor in Sephora so why was she by me)?

Well I did exactly what I said I would do.

I returned the $50 pants that weren’t on sale and kept the sale items as the were ridiculously cheap and wouldn’t allow my anger to make me lose out on a good purchase!

However the more I keep thinking about this the more I am deciding to return it all and close my J.C. Penney credit card.

I also have encouraged my fiancé to close his as well.

I have never had a bad experience there and found this behavior to be shocking.

So disappointed that J.C. Penney has staffed someone like this!
Who’s also a supervisor
Love doves Send email
 
Sep 27, 2020

Unprofessional Supervisor Cicelia

Woodfield mall in Schaumburg -Supervisor by the name of cicelia who is the Supervisor at Sephora but works through the J.C. Penney store.

The date is 9.26.20 & the time of the incident was exactly 6:50.
The mall closes at 7pm.

There were several fast announcements made that the store was closing at 7pm.

I rushed to check out so that I can walk out the mall doors which is near my vehicle.
When I finished making my purchase as I walked toward the door to the mall and I see Cicelia talking to a lady with her child. They were literally at the door when she turned around from u assume locking it:

As the lady and her daughter walk pass me I asked did they lock their doors she shock her head in disappointment and said yes. I said I didn’t hear them say the doors were locking and she stated she didn’t either.

Cicelia is talking and with a very rude and disrespectful tone she starts repeating over and over that she does the announcements and she stated the the doors of the store was closing as well as the store.

As I was trying to tell this woman who clearly lacks the knowledge of good customer service that if she is saying two different things they should be said separately.
However, she refused to listen to anything I said and was moving her body and walking back and forth by me literally in the floor shouting as I am shouting stating what she should do
I told her that I didn’t hear them say the doors were locking in 10 minutes.

I kept saying if you have two different customers telling you they didn’t understand your message all you had to do was say okay. Instead of saying okay you are standing hear yelling across the store from the jewelry aisle next to me to your coworkers in Sephora to get you to agree with your announcements.

She was to ignorant and disrespectful to listen and hear me say I didn’t say one time she didn’t say it. I am telling you that an announcement that you are closing your doors before the store close should be said separately in the future so the consumers can understand clearly.

I got tired of her mouth and ask for a supervisor and she proudly patted her chest and said she was and me being who I am said I know for a fact there’s someone over you. Who are they and she kept going on and on and continue to walk near me. I literally ask this lately over 10 times to not come by me.

She finally shut up and stop coming by me when another supervisor by the name of Ethel along with security I suppose came. Of course they were very nice and polite and she Cicelia was still loudly running her mouth and I aske is this how your management staff behave?
Where’s her customer service?
Were’s her de escalation? Even when she pissed me off I said I am going to return these $100 worth of items which was $99.79 to be exact. She absolutely cared less and continue to talk.

The lady Ethel clearly didn’t want to lose the business as she offered to let me out the store the way I was originally going.

The same thing Cicelia could have done yet she rather stood there and be disrespectful and rude.

I told Ethel yes I would like to leave out that way but first I want the manager and district manager number.
Ethel even had to tell her to stop coming by me.

I realized she was trying to be threatening (Cicelia because I was near the jewelry area and she’s actually Supervisor in Sephora so why was she by me)?

Well I did exactly what I said I would do.

I returned the $50 pants that weren’t on sale and kept the sale items as the were ridiculously cheap and wouldn’t allow my anger to make me lose out on a good purchase!

However the more I keep thinking about this the more I am deciding to return it all and close my J.C. Penney credit card.

I also have encouraged my fiancé to close his as well.

I have never had a bad experience there and found this behavior to be shocking.

So disappointed that J.C. Penney has staffed someone like this!
Who’s also a supervisor
RobertB1964 Send email
 
Jan 27, 2019

Return policy

I was treated with so much disrespect by Meagan and Michelle who were supervisors on duty at the time. They threatened to call mall security on me to have me escorted out of the store. I have been a loyal customer of JcPenney for years. I've purchased hundreds of not thousands of dollars worth of merchandise over the years. I've always paid my entire balance off of my account and have never been late on a payment. I've always had a good experience at this JcPenney until Saturday January 26th 2019 at 4pm. The two supervisors on duty would not recognize good customer service if it were spelled out in plain English and placed on a 10 foot board in front of them. Very young and inexperienced employees. I had my Mother with me who will be turning 82 Years old in April and I was shocked at the way they would handle a simple return with her present using her walker. We had merchandise totalling to around $60.00 we intended to purchase and I wanted to return a pair of shoes in their original box with paper the paper still in it, the keep fresh pack in it, receipt and stickers still on the insole and bottom of the shoes. The shoes totaled only a $17.00 dollar return. I would've excepted a store credit instead of money in return. We were ganged up on by 4 employees before we left the store. We were told they had us on video. We ended up putting back our merchandise and going to a competitors in the same mall and purchasing there. My Mother wasted me to pay our account off which has a less than $50.00 balance on it, close the account and vow to never enter their doors again. At the time I purchased these shoes for my Mother she was in good health. She now can only wear flat shoes and these had a slight wedge to them. I am sorry I have not had time to take the shoes back according to the JcPenney return policy but my Father passed away this year, my Mother had Cancer (5 Years remission now but her Cancer is so rare and aggressive that she takes chemotherapy every 21 dye for the remainder of her life, I just had to put my little baby dog age 14 to rest, my brother suffered a heart attack with a triple bypass, I now have health issues myself, we sold our home, moved and my Sister broke her foot. Sorry JcPenney I was a little late returning a perfectly wonderful item someone else might've could used. This is the worst service I have ever received and you've lost a loyal patron. Good luck keeping your business opened and what a shame heavyset you have been in business for so long. Maybe you should hire more Meagan's and Michelle's!
debkowal Send email
 
Sep 8, 2018

Manager

JC Penny’s has a mystery coupon event. When I went to the cashier, I had asked for a coupon, and this was about 5:10 pm. The cashier said they didn’t have them and a manager would have to bring it. That was inconvenient, but fine. Well she called the Manager, Tina, to come and I waited for her. The men’s department was also calling for coupons & saying customers were waiting. No response to anyone. My cashier even called over the store’s loudspeaker and still no response. I thought this was very rude that there were numerous calls for Tina and there was no reply. Customers were waiting and she didn’t respond to anyone. Finally, Tina decided to respond and she showed up abou 5:30 with attitude. I told here she didn’t reply to anyone & people were waiting. She just looked at me and said, “Sorry, I was in a meeting.” If Tina was in a meeting and employees were suppose to call her then there is a major management issue at that store. Somebody should have been responding on that radio. What if there was an emergency??!!! Tina was busy & couldn’t be bothered with customers. When I got the coupon I waited 20 minutes for she glared at me & said “You’re welcome.” She then came back to the cashier and said”If that happens again just take a discount.” The cashier had to explain to manager Tina, that she would need to call her to override it. Obviously Tuna does not know how the cashiering at her store works. Perhaps Tina needs some training in Customer Service and how the discounting works at the register. Very disappointed in JC Penny’s for having such a lazy and unfriendly manager.
Gabriella4 Send email
 
Jul 26, 2018

Nasty Phone Representative

I placed an order on a weekend where underwear for men were buy one get one free since I normally don’t place orders by JCPenney.com because I’ve had many problems in the past I did this weekend anyway I purchase a pack of underwear thinking that the second one would automatically come free since there was no color selection when I received my confirmation for shipping I noticed that the quantity was still at one when I called customer service to ask about it and explain to the representative that no where on the website did it state that I Needed to purchase two on a buy one get one free when I explain this to her she told me that I needed to have common sense and everywhere you go you take two because one is free so I explained to heryes when I go into a store I take two but online I did not purchase any buy one get one free so I was not familiar with the practice and once again she continued to tell me that I needed to have common sense and I don’t have any. She refused to give me her ID number the only thing she would tell me that her name was Michelle which I don’t believe because coincidentally that is my name. This will be the last time I even shop in JCPenney or even have anything to do at JCPenney there’s always a problem anytime you order with them
Kecotton6 Send email
 
Jul 17, 2018

Rude employee

I had a hair appointment one morning at 10am. The store was not open yet however I tried the door anyway. An employee who was counting her register literally looked up and yelled to me that the store was not open yet. I looked down at my phone and it said 959am. Yet another customer came to the door and tries to open it. Again the employee yelled and shook her head.
At 1000 as the same employee came over to open the door, she was shaking her head as if she was disgusted that we were there. As she opened. The door she was making a comment, saying ok,ok I'm opening the door.
I am so very disappointed at this behavior by this employee. It was very difficult not to say anything directly to her.
I have not only been a long time JCPENNEY customer, I have also worked there. At this time, I cannot believe that any store employee would not be thankful to see several customers waiting at the door in the morning.
Last Christmas I had a very disappointing interaction with an employee from Toys R Us and we know what happened to them.
CC1234 Send email
 
Jul 12, 2018

Unacceptable handling of the hiring of a student

I would like to bring your attention to an experience we encountered with the Associate personnel at a J.C. Penney store. Back in March 2018, my daughter and I were shopping at the J.C. Penney store (#0439) at the Eastview Mall in Victor, NY. My daughter saw a sign indicating “help wanted” and became very excited, as she was looking for a part time job while in high school. She is 16 years old. She applied, had an interview, and received a job offer on March 13th, 2018. She went through training, filled out financial paperwork, and purchased some basic J.C. Penney appropriate working clothes. Bottom line, on July 9th, 2018, she had yet to be schedule for a single work hour and was notified that the position would not work out. Therefore, for 4 months, she was effectively out of the job market as she tried to negotiate with Paula P., the HR associate at J.C. Penney, for working hours. The primary complaint from Paula was that she had limited availability due to school and school sports, which is understandably a legitimate issue, however, my daughter stated outright on the application form, then in the interview, that this would be the case. If this was an issue with J.C. Penney personnel, then she should not have been offered the job, or she should have been told in a timely manner that this was not going to work out, not 4 months later! Throughout these 4 months, not once did Paula work with my daughter to discuss “specific” work times to see if she was available. Paula repeatedly stated that she would like more availability (remaining vague about specifics), and each time we gave her more options, as sports and then school ended, she upped the need. I fully understand the difficulties in creating schedules for personnel, however, this situation was handled in such an unprofessional way that I feel the need to speak out about it. Initially, Paula would call her during school hours and then not answer her phone when my daughter called back, thus, in an effort to improve communications between Paula and my daughter to facilitate scheduling work hours, I communicated directly with Paula. My phone messages and emails would go unanswered for a week at a time, which, as a person who works with many professionals, I find this absolutely unacceptable in a work environment. When I spoke with the Store Manager, Linda W., she essentially backed up Paula (also very understandable). However, she stated that she objected to the fact that I had intervened, and at a point in the conversation succinctly dismissed me and walked away. As a person, and a 25+ year customer of the J.C. Penney Stores, I found this behavior extremely rude, inappropriate, and unprofessional.

I write this note, not because I am looking for anything, but as a warning to others. Unfortunately, everyone lost here: the J.C. Penney Company lost a hard-working, A-student who regularly gets involved with volunteering and other activities as a potential employee, and
Barbrawalsh Send email
 
Mar 23, 2018

Employee

At west town mall, there’s an employee who I saw bring a female into the dressing room when nobody was watching. I had my kid with me and I told her to stay where she was while I went to go in the dressing room and see what was happening. When I walked in, the biggest stall was occupied and the two teenagers(one an employee and one a customer or friend of the employee) locked themselves in the room and all I saw was the employees khaki pants around his ankles and the girl on her knees. I am disgusted to even talk about it. I asked one of the other employees who was at that register and he said the name Josh, I don’t know if that would give any clues as to who it was but that was the only other employee missing. I took my chikd and left the “family store” and I hope the employee understands why that is inappropriate and has a consequence.
Katie1234 Send email
 
Jan 26, 2018

Terrible Service

I literally tried to reach the appliance department all day yesterday to buy an appliance. Every route I took lead me to a dead end. Long story short- I called a local competitor and received help within 5 mins. I did receive a call back from JCPENNEY today (well over 24 hours after my multiple voicemail messages asking to BUY something). The associate on the line (Jerome) said, “Sorry we didn’t get back to you yesterday we had the day off”. So apparently they just decided to shut down the store and not receive any profit for the day. Terrible service, terrible business model and incompetent management.
Compainsrus Send email
 
Dec 31, 2017

Bad customer service

Went to JcPenneys on December 30 around 5:30pm and two African American women and I am multi racial part African american. They were to busy talking in the fine jewelry department to each other gossiping and didn't even acknowledge my family and myself were standing there. They looked and kept talking due to we were dressed in comfortable sweats. Service horrible and lines long I dropped my merchandise and left store. I will continue to shop at Belks and Sales stores that have great customer service.
John wade Send email
 
Dec 2, 2017

Awful associate!

I had gone into this store that I have always been please with. The employees are always on top of things and if they do not know somthing they always ask a fellow associate and come right back to me with information. However, when I went shopping last night a lady waited on me named Ruth and she had a couple young girls near by working by in the women’s department and Ruth kept snarking comments to one of the young girls there for not doing anything at all. But while I was there shopping that younger girl had straighted up the entire St. John’s Bay area in a matter of minutes. I had brushed it off until I got angry at the fact that Ruth would treat me as if I was under her. She treated me like a dog in a sense that I didn’t know how to pay with my credit card and insisted on pressing my pin in when she doesn’t need to know if! That is totally violating and unacceptable! She forcefully took my card out of my hand and swiped my card for me and tried to get me to give her my PIN number. She was the worse associate that I’ve ever had and I truly and firmly think she doesn’t deseve a job by how she treated me and the young girl around her.
John wade Send email
 
Dec 2, 2017

Ruth from Seymour

I had gone into this store that I have always been please with. The employees are always on top of things and if they do not know somthing they always ask a fellow associate and come right back to me with information. However, when I went shopping last night a lady waited on me named Ruth and she had a couple young girls near by working by in the women’s department and Ruth kept snarking comments to one of the young girls there for not doing anything at all. But while I was there shopping that younger girl had straighted up the entire St. John’s Bay area in a matter of minutes. I had brushed it off until I got angry at the fact that Ruth would treat me as if I was under her. She treated me like a dog in a sense that I didn’t know how to pay with my credit card and insisted on pressing my pin in when she doesn’t need to know if! That is totally violating and unacceptable! She forcefully took my card out of my hand and swiped my card for me and tried to get me to give her my PIN number. She was the worse associate that I’ve ever had and I truly and firmly think she doesn’t deseve a job by how she treated me and the young girl around her.
jlanehart5 Send email
 
Nov 29, 2017

Rude Employee

I have a complaint regarding an employee who works at the JCPenney store in Yorktown Mall in Lombard, IL. Her name is Nicole and works in the department that sells curtains, blinds, etc. My mom had went in there today and purchased shades. Later today, she realized she lost her receipt for the shades and felt very ashamed of herself (she's not very organized and loses a lot of her belongings). My mom asked me if I could go back to the store and ask Nicole for another receipt. Additionally, she told me she bought from Nicole before and that the exact same thing happened to her where she lost her receipt and asked her for another copy. However, she also told me that Nicole was a very nice lady (at least towards my mom she was). So I went to the store to seek help from Nicole, expecting that she was going to treat me the same sincere way she apparently treated my mom. When I finally found her and said, "Excuse me could you please help me with something," before even telling her who I was, she gave me an extremely cold look that gave me the impression that I was bothering her. I then proceeded to tell her that I was my mom's son and that she had lost her receipt. Nicole then rudely told me, "I can only print out what I have which is not a receipt". After repeatedly telling her that my mom was very ashamed for losing her first copy, she still felt the need to tell me, "I saw her put it in her purse." The words that I'm describing similar to what she said to me may not seem rude, but the tone of voice this woman had after approaching her was extremely unfriendly and unacceptable in any customer service environment. I don't know why she treated me so differently than she treated my mom. The only reason I can think of is that she knew my mom was older than me and had cancer (my mom has brain cancer and wears a device on her head for her treatment). Even so, such prejudice behavior related to my age is morally wrong.
[email protected] Send email
 
Nov 11, 2017

Return Policy

My complaint is regarding your return policy. My daughter received duplicate baby gifts that were purchased at JC Penney's for her baby shower. Unfortunately there were no gift receipts attached. We returned the items to JC Penneys at the Ross Park Mall in Pittsburgh Pa. I certainly understand that without a receipt I would not be entitled the the full retail price of the item. However, I do feel I should be entitled to the current selling price. We returned multiple items that originally cost $18.00 and were now on sale for $9.99... We were offered .39 cents for the returned items. That is a disgrace!!! For the majority of the items We were offered under $1.00. However, I was offered $16.00 for one returned item....how can that be???? So now the items will be placed back on the racks and sold at either the full retail price of $18.00 or at the very least the $9.99 sale price. I am a retired employee and I'm am very disappointed in the current return policy of JC Penney.

We did return other duplicate items to another retail store and was offered the current selling price for all items returned.

I will be anxiously awaiting a response to my complaint!
MaryAnne 56 Send email
 
Nov 5, 2017

Aaron manager JCP in Boise Town Square Mall

I would like to bring your attention to an experience I had in the JCPENNY located in the Boise Town Square Mall. I was there just a few days ago and was disgusted by the truely unprofessional behavior displayed by one of your managers. His name is Aaron. He was chatting with another customer about a young woman that works in the Sephora store, also located in the JCPENNY. He was not talking nicely about her. It was disgusting! I stood there with my mouth open. That is unprofessional by itself. But, I had dealings with that same young lady about an hour before. Her name is Jessica. She was professional, sweet, patient, knowledgeable and funny. She took her time with me, explained several products and made sure I was happy with my purchase. She is everything you’d expect a great employee to be. She was nothing like what your so called ‘manager’ was describing. Mr. Aaron, however, is everything you’d expect a horrible employee to be. He was snide, rude, arrogant, disrespectful and does not deserve to be in a managerial position. The fact that he was saying it was horrible by itself, the fact that he was discussing it with a customer was worse! What kind of people are you hiring?
Babyswannah Send email
 
Oct 14, 2017

Denial of service animal

Aww man where do I begin. I worked for JC Penney homeoffice and was denied reasonable accommodation for my service animal. I was placed on a 5 month leave with sedgwick and recieved no contact from jc penney. My physicians provided all the documentation and I submitted legal documentation for service animal. I have a lawyer and he's working with the EEOC/ Texas workforce commission to pursue a lawsuit after investigations are completed. I do not want a settlement I want a lawsuit. I am in no hurry since I have been approved for social security disability and i am awaiting VA benefits also 😂. Military has taught me to keep a paper trail and have patience.
Babyswannah Send email
 
Oct 14, 2017

Denial of legit service animal

Aww man where do I begin. I worked for JC Penney homeoffice and was denied reasonable accommodation for my service animal. I was placed on a 5 month leave with sedgwick and recieved no contact from jc penney. My physicians provided all the documentation and I submitted legal documentation for service animal. I have a lawyer and he's working with the EEOC/ Texas workforce commission to pursue a lawsuit after investigations are completed. I do not want a settlement I want a lawsuit. I am in no hurry since I have been approved for social security disability and i am awaiting VA benefits also 😂. Military has taught me to keep a paper trail and have patience.
OgSnitch Send email
 
May 16, 2017

Abuse on the overnight crew in store 2718

The overnight crew is being subjected to unfair conditions. First we are told we can't go out side for our first break due to no security available overnight. Then for our lunch we are only allowed to leave the building for the first fifteen minutes of the break, which is unacceptable because there are some of us who would like to stay outside for our lunch. Then there is the matter of training room A being off limits, but when someone from the day side is working overnight temporarily they aren't told to stay out the room. Next Colden who is in charge of scheduling is constantly messing up our days, which messes with how the truck gets done and he is hiding box cutters in his office. We need the box cutters to complete our jobs of restocking for cutting open boxes. And our store manager Vickie is constantly putting us off by not giving a town hall meeting to discuss our issues. We were told 3 months ago that we were going to meet with her but every time our supervisor emails her about she just says she will get to us when she can. i also believe she is messing with ordering merchandise because we are getting too much off the same thing, so there is no room for it on the floor. Plus the floor is constantly unkept with clothes on the floor, z-racks being occupied by go backs that the day time people seem to never get to.
pocahontas2013 Send email
 
May 16, 2017

Employee Abuse

So I have just recently started at Jcpenneys about a month ago and I really thought it was gonna be a change from my previous job which I left because my supervisor was very nasty and disrespectful. Well I was sadly mistaken. Every since our store manger left the "temp" supervisor or manger whatever title she chooses to have for the day is the same way very rude and disrespectful. TRACY BRANNON is the nastiest and rude lady ever. So the very first situation was when we started the pearl stud sale. So a customer came up and I was telling her how she could get 35% off if she buys some more pearl jewelry well to make sure I rang the transaction correctly I called TRACY BRANNON over to make sure it was done right and made the customer happy, well when she comes over she was very rude and nasty with an attitude so that made me feel embarrassed in front of the customer, well the customer ended up leaving. Second time TRACY BRANNON got a nasty attitude was when we had a new employee training and I'm still new to how the ICAPS work since I am only schedule for only two days out the week because they have favorites on who they want to work with on their schedule, I was thinking that since I had two ICAPS the Saturday I worked I did not know that once you in a new month that it starts all over. Well I didn't know so she gets loud and hollering about, so the best thing for me to do was to walk away from her and go straighten up something in the store to go calm down before I lost my job. Third time that TRACY BRANNON has gotten real rude, disrespectful, and loud was on 5/13/2017my schedule says that I am to work in the mens department, so apparently the just make your schedule just to put hours on your schedule. Well I look at my schedule and I'm thinking to myself ok I'm in the mens department ok that's good, TRACY BRANNON calls over on the phone asking me why I was in mens and not in jewelry well I simple told her that I didn't know that I was suppose to be in jewelry because my schedule says mens. Once I finished with a customer in mens I walk over to jewelry to find TRACY BRANNON on the phone with another manger telling her that I had an attitude about where I was suppose to be. Which is a false statement. Not only that but she than preceded to write a false report saying that I hollered at her and their was a coworker witnessing that, that I came over to the jewelry department slamming drawers. Which is a complete false lie. I have consulted with a lawyer to start up a lawsuit for victimization in the work place and favoritisms towards other employees. The HR manager Felicia and TRACY BRANNON has their pick and favorites on who they will work with and that's not right. I am pursing the lawsuit because its not right its 100% wrong. There are some serious issues in the store that needs to be worked out because I'm a looking towards from becoming an employee to becoming an ex employee.
Azurescott Send email
 
Feb 13, 2017

Rudeness very short and talked about fellow employee

I was at JC Penny's Stonecrest and a very rude Desiree called herself assisting me in a very rude manner. I asked if there was another counter that could check me out in the home goods area and Desiree said "over there" with her back to me and didn't point to the area and I saw nothing one else around us. She started walking off and opened her register and I followed assuming she meant to help me with check out. She didn't greet me and she told a fellow coworker a Margaret needs to do her job and work and she has things to do and where is she. Not paying me any mind on pricing. I asked about online coupons or any coupons and she said " you can look if you wish". No assistance again. I had to make sure she applied my coupon and the. She gave the total. I said I was not getting one item and did she want me to place it back or if she would and she just slid the item across the counter and said nothing and gave a look of whatever. I advised her face to face sales should not be an option for her personality. She cut me off and said " have a good day". After feeling still annoyed by walking away I saw the employee she complained about and I asked what the girls name was. A Margaret walked me back over to the repand asked her name and she said " Desiree". I told myself I will not make another move until I submit the complaint.
Aparna Send email
 
Jan 3, 2017

Employee bad behavior

Today we went to fields entel road Jc penny, zip code 45140. We had bad experience from the employee Lisa. She was indirectly saying us to get out from Jc penny, the employee at the counter was very nice and behaved goodly. But Lisa came and talked very rashly. Is this the way employee behaving to customers. Please train Lisa how to behave customers. We cancelled Jc penny card and we don't want anyone purchase from Jc penny only because of her behavior.
Mommyof03 Send email
 
Dec 3, 2016

Salon Manager in Hialeah, Florida Jcpenney

In numerous occasions i tried to purchase some shampoo products from the salon in the Jcpenney located in Hialeah, Florida. When I didnt see the products i question the manager NANCY GONZALEZ SANTOS and she stated she didnt have any left. However, a little while later i saw her selling a cart FILLED UP LOADED of the product to man! This is the second time i see this going on. She seems to hide all products in the back for a certain person only! Because she brings him the cart full for him! And when i questioned her why she wouldnt sell me some shampoo, but she gives massive amounts to some man, her answer to me was.... "because i can and what!" I was shocked! How is it that an employee gets to control who buys what in a public store, where i have the right to purchase too! Mind you... it was twice the loaded cart IN ONE WEEK, clearly she saves the merchandise as the trucks comes! WOW! Someone should keep an eye on that SHADY DIRTY WORKING SALON MANAGER NANCY IN HIALEAH FLORIDA! SHE IS UP TO NOOOOOO GOOOD!!
gtash Send email
 
Jul 8, 2015

Employee abuse

I worked at JCPenney for 3 years as a Salon Leader. I have 13 plus years in Salon Management prior to coming to JCPenney! I have been in the salon Industry for 22 years. Coming I to JCPenney, I was very happy to here how JCPenney was such a family oriented place to work. While interviewing for the position with a District Manager, I questioned the value the company had for the employee and the individual, I was excited to come to work knowing that JCPenney valued the people that worked their and that I as a manager was able to build great employee relationships which I believe is the key to a happy and successful group as I the salon environment. Shortly after my employment began that District Manager left and the Store Leader retired! Another great manager took the position that realized employee relationships are what builds a successful store. The company changed it's course recently and no longer values the employee as individuals and created a unpleasant and over demanding workloads! The store manager at that time left feeling that the companies unwillingness to value the employees as individuals. Shortly after a new manager came in and the deterioration of the staff morale declined immediately! The associates gave the benefit of the doubt to the new manager and gave their all in getting the job done even though the store had became very inderstaffed! I became extremely unhappy in my position while witnessing her behavior as a store manager! She was very manipulative in her actions and used tactics that were degrading to the associates to get results! The result she got was that several great employees including myself resigned! You CAN NOT manage a team of people successfully by manipulation! After witnessing her telling several people they we not doing enough and didn't justify their pay rate! These people were always on the ball and worked very hard to present a great store that looked good a delivered great customer service! After months of listening to this lady talk to the staff in the morning meetings telling them basically that no one was doing their job and threatening to replace the ones that didn't perform to her or the company standards! I left!!! So has several others and more will follow because no one will give their time to something or someone that has no value in them and treats them like they are getting treated! You go there JCPenney and good luck finding and keeping people like me that know that building relationships are truly the key to success!! My reason for resigning: life is too short!!!
User925962 Send email
 
Mar 31, 2012

Employee abuse

I worked for JCP 13 years ago and still suffer PTSD from my experiences there. I was in the Merchandiser Manager Trainee program and after a year I was suddenly told that I was not performing to standard. It was an abusive environment and I was bullied by the store manager and all the other managers. The manager finally fired me because he was unable to get me to quit. Apparently, collecting unemployment somehow affected his bonus. My self-esteem was so low that I did not realize that the others managers were threatened by my abilities. I was even told that I was hired outside the usual process, and that the manager who hired me had told them that I was smarter than all of them put together. I don't mock anyone without a college education, but it seems like most managers are high school drop outs who work their way up the ranks. They rise by the ability to kiss butt and back stab. All of that comes with a lot of anger that is passed on to employees, especially those with a college education. My advise to anyone is to quit JCP in order to preserve your mental sanity. Low paying hourly jobs are abundant. That company needs a severe shake-up.
Ravencircle Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

Employee abuse

all your comments are exactly what happens in the Olympia WA store. It's like you have to be some kind of by polar, psychotic, lying, hypocritical, discriminating freak to be one of their dishonest managers. How they get away with it is beyond me...I guess that's what they consider fair and square and the American Way...their new lying motto..

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username