Submit a Complaint

JustAnswer.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about JustAnswer.com

123456789123456789 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

robbering

hello,
i paid money again and again but i never got an answer to my question.this site is robber.
Cobra_boxer Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

robbering

THE SITE IS A SCAM.
THEY TOOK MY $45 AND NEVER ANSWERED.
THEY SHOULD BE SHOT.
Katheryn Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Online scam

I have used JA 3 times. First was with a Dodge mechanic who was spot on in his diagnosis. Second time was with a Mercedes mechanic who went well above and beyond service (and I believe actually lost money on the transaction. He was also right on! Third time was a legal question which no one bothered to answer. JA gave me a full refund within minutes of the request. If you are, as some said, not willing to do your own homework, you will not likely be satisfied with the answers. WHY would anyone seek medical advice online in stead of seeing their own Dr. for diagnosis?
JA EXPERT Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Online scam

I too am a Verified Expert on Just Answer. I have been an Expert on Just Answer for more than 5 years and have well over 10, 000 ACCEPTS!! I have helped countless people save a tremendous amount of money because I have pointed them in the right direction. Just Answer does not verify credentials. They hire a 3rd party to do this. They are very strict about this too! If I lie about my certifications, my account will be canceled. Seriously guys.. Common. Get with the program! It is the 21st Century! They are a Business. Of course they are going to charge you. That's what successfully businesses do. They provide a service to you for a fee just like any other business. In addition, the service they provide you is extremely fast! I also use their service for questions I may have that I need help with that does not pertain to my field and have been happy with the results. The posts you are reading about people being charged every month is simply a misunderstanding. They signed up for a monthly subscription and they just did not know it. As far as some people getting bad or wrong answers, I have found that in my field (I have been doing for 15 years) customers simply ask the wrong questions. That is why at times customers do not get the desired results. They have a problem and come on the site and ask the wrong question and then get upset when their problem is not fixed. In addition, Just Answers gives a 100% money back Guarantee. If you are not happy with their service, you will get a FULL refund. So stop complaining and ask a question! You never know.. you might just learn something.
Best Tech Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Online scam

I am an expert at Just Answer.com. I am a VERIFIED automotive technical consultant. Sorry to see some disgruntled people here. I have every car manufacturers dealer connect as well as 7 other databases as well as IDENTIFIX and I-ATN. I have well over 5000 accepts from people that request me everyday. I own an automotive electrical and computerized systems that get the toughest repairs around from the dealers as well as independent shops. Sometimes in a jam at the shop i ask other experts at JA for some quick advise and it works most of the time. No matter how good a TECH is some will bite you, especially if you are NOT at the car. Some questions i get from JA the customer is way over his head trying to save a buck. I highly recommend our service. JA rocks
888888 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Online scam

I used justanswer.com once and was happy with the answer, it just confirmed my worst fears really. I had signed to a subscription service so decided to ask a question in another category since I am researching a book. I received an email link telling me the question had been answered. No matter what I did I could not view the answer. My issue with this company is the complete lack of customer service, I have rarely encountered anythign like it. They simply refuse to respond to my mails requesting help in seeing the answer. For this reason alone I would advise against using them. Any organisation is only as good as their admin and customer service.
Frost_trevor Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Online scam

I've used JA today to get help with an automotive query, i'd registered the query on free forum Vecra c. But none of the mechanics or visitors to that site could help. I bit the bullet and for 22 quid thought i'd try JA as i'm desperate, within 10 minutes of posting my question an expert called Mike picked it up and asked me a few leading questions, i gave the answers and 1 hour later he gave me not 1 solution but a whole list of possible causes, tests and fixes. I gave him my £22 and havent paid anything else. Just watch where u click as there are alot of subscribtion pop ups, just ignore them all and click carefully.
For those complaining they were charged... thats the idea.. ur supposed to pay money into the JA account, this money is then used to tempt different experts, of cause u will be charged!
I'll be trying his solutions asap, I am an engineer myself so can confirm his answers are all plausible, just nothing I would of thought of.
Erdaram Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Online scam

There are some people who will never be satisfied with any level of service no matter what. I was so satisfied with my experience with JA as Customer that I applied to become an expert in the Home Improvement category. I have been a licensed contractor for 27 years so I figured it would be a breeze... not so! Not only did I have to take a test but I had to undergo a background check. After a thorough background check and contractors license verification that took almost two weeks, I was finally accepted as an expert. As a new expert you have to work your way up through 4 stages before you can reach the highest pay level. My experience as an expert has been great as I invest less than an hour a day and routinely earn enough to pay the mortgage and also sometimes even the electric bill.
BruceLasVegas Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Ripping Off Experts on the Verification Process

I applied to become an expert for JustAnswer.com and was fooled by their false promises of good money to people who are experts in their field. I spent over an hour on the verification process filling out answers to their questions and they "looked" pretty legit.

JustAnswer.com said that before they approve you for their website, that Lexus Nexis will charge me $20.00 for a background verification and if they accept me, they will reimburse me. Ok, Lexis Nexus is a reputable company. I went for it and paid the money.

Don't pay the money to be verified by JustAnswers.com to be verified as an expert. They accepted me for their website before the background check and then rejected me after I paid the $20 to be verified. How convenient for them. Trust me, there is nothing questionable about my background. I cannot help to think that JA gets a kickback from Lexis Nexus, but I cannot verify that.

JustAnswer, cost me $20.00 on a false promise. What I don't understand about these scam artists is that if they will reimburse you for the background check, why don't they do the right thing and just pay it from the start. Why tell me that I am accepted and then reject me AFTER I pay the $20.00

There are far more websites out there that pay you for your expertise without charging you upfront. Stay away from this ripoff site and go to a more reputable site.

For the experts who were actually accepted, good for you. I hope you made your $20 back, but search the internet and you will find more unhappy experts who also lost $20 than the ones who were accepted.
Erdaram Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Ripping Off Experts on the Verification Process

You were probably rejected because your expert qualifications were not up to JustAnswer's standards. If you can't pass the test, you will be rejected. If your degrees or certifications, liscenses or work experiance can't be verified, you will be rejected. If you HAD READ UP FRONT what would be required of you, you should have been able to discern the height of the bar you were going to be asked to jump and would have realized that you were not prepared to meet those qualifications BEFORE the Lexis Nexis verification fee was charged. More than half of the expert applicants are rejected because of lack of verifiable qualifications. I have been an expert for 2 years  in 2 categories but could not qualify as an expert in a third catagory because even even though I owned a business for several years that specialized in the service in which I was appling for expert status in, It had been closed for over a decade and my experiance therefore, could not be verified. I for one am very glad it is so difficult to become an expert on JustAnswer as it HELPS to weed out potential expert wanna bees that try to gain expert verification without really being an expert in that category. 
Danny Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Online scam

JustAnswer says that they provide experts all over there site. They even claim on there site that 'Distinct from other answer sites on the web, our Experts are actually doctors, auto mechanics, veterinarians, CPAs, teachers, computer Experts, etc.'

This is an out and out lie to deceive people into paying money for questionable advice. JustAnswer does not ever certify that a so-called 'Expert' has any training in ANYTHING. There terms of service states,

'No Assurances Given From and No Reliance on Term 'Expert' Throughout this Site, certain terms, including 'Expert', 'Specialist', 'Consultant' or 'Advisor' may be used to refer to someone who claims to have certain knowledge, background or experience that may be useful in responding to a question posed by a user. Use of such terms provides no assurance that the person answering your question has any expertise or qualifications to give such advice. You acknowledge that JustAnswer has not and cannot independently verify their qualifications. If you do not like any answer for any reason, your sole remedy is to disregard the answer and not pay for it. Notwithstanding the foregoing, JustAnswer reserves the right, but is not obligated, to remove any content that it believes violates any of these Terms, including, without limitation, any objectionable or personally identifiable information.'

They hide this in the middle of about 5 pages of legal ease. But all over their site they claim that 'their experts' can answer your questions, even stating, 'our Experts are actually doctors, auto mechanics, veterinarians, CPAs.'

More than likely that MD who is answering your question about your childs sickness, or CPA about your sensitive tax info, is an out of work cab driver from Yonkers, sitting in his underwear at 3am, 'googling' some so-called 'expert' answers.

JustAnswer.com doesn't have ANY oversight of their 'Experts' yet makes people believe than they do. Shame on them. Don't give them any of your hard earned money.

Andy Kurtzig, their founder and CEO is a scammer for perpetrating this deception and other posts all over the internet confirm this.
Max Headroom Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Online scam

Why does it always seem that when someone posts a complaint about justanswer.com there are always a plethora of people who claim it's the best site ever? It doesn't matter where you look on the internet, complaintsboard.com, ripoffreport.com, etc... If people complain, the justanswer.com groupies always seem to come out of the woodwork and claim the site is legitimate. Can you say company plants?

Personally, I believe the justanswer.com site is a total scam but that's just my opinion. Thankfully, I was never duped by them because I am willing to take the time to find the information I need from other reputable sources that are FREELY available all over the internet.
EthanA Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I would suggest not using this company that uses unfair prac. with your credit card

Hi Balare,

I am terribly sorry for any inconvenience this many have caused. I'd like to investigate this matter for you personally and work with you to find a resolution. I have sent you a PM with my contact info. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,
Ethan A
Customer Service Supervisor
JustAnswer LLC.
Balare Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I would suggest not using this company that uses unfair prac. with your credit card

I received medical advise from this company with my agreement to pay $25.00. They placed a charge on my credit card for$50.00. I have sent them three e-mails about this over charge and ask them to refund my account for the $25.00. I have given them 24 hours to respond to my complaint. They will not contact me about this over charge. I have also been in contact with my credit card company. It takes many weeks to complete this process. I would suggest not using this company that uses unfair prac. with your credit card.
Pawnraider Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I would suggest not using this company that uses unfair prac. with your credit card

They wouldn't provide me with what they advertised unless I paid for an additional service. I was only able to get a complete refund after I contacted the Better Business Bureau. Stay away from this company!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username