Submit a Complaint

Kabeara Kennels

United States,
Illinois

Consumer complaints and reviews about Kabeara Kennels

Mommyrnsnc Send email
 
May 28, 2018

Fraud committed by Teresa Heaver

We are in the process of suing this kennel for fraud.

Originally, 8 years ago, we were sent a male dog that we love. He's fathered two batches of pups for us. NO health issues. However, he was sent without his papers, and it was known from the beginning of the purchase that we were buying him for breeding purposes. I spent the next three years calling Teresa every month, and finally threatened a lawsuit before she got me his numbers. At the time she was so apologetic that she told me she would sell us our next dog at a discount. Rather than take a chance that she would back out of the offer, we immediately took her up on it, and she sent a dog WITH his papers immediately. We were fine with her.

Take it to 5 and a half years later. Our female died during an emergency c-section. We were left with six brand new pups that we raised and loved, and we kept two of these pups to love and to continue our line. Because Teresa had been reasonable with the second dog, and because she'd had such a *sob* story about why we had such difficultly getting the number for our first dog, I decided to chance things with her. I even defended her to one of the people who had bought a pup from us after that individual got the run around from her. I was a fool.

Even though I listened to more sob stories from Teresa, and even though I told her of what had taken place with our female, and made it VERY CLEAR that I would not be willing to wait on any numbers for a male we purchased from her, she committed fraud. We were sent a puppy who we were promised would have full registration, meaning he would be AKC registerable and that the registration would be unlimited.
His papers arrived without a number on them, and when I contacted her - angrily - via email with a picture of the missing numbers, she stated she would register him. I told her that was NOT acceptable, and that I had told her before purchasing him that it would NOT be acceptable. That I actually wanted to register him MYSELF, and she had agreed to this. She stopped answering my emails. When I was finally able to reach Teresa Heaver on the phone, she screamed at me to send him back. When I said I would do so as soon as she refunded my money and set up the flight arrangements at her cost, she said she would not give me my money back up front, but that she would put it in writing that she would refund me the full amount. I stated that she and I both knew I would be very foolish to believe in such a promise, as she had promised in writing that his registration would be full unlimited and we both knew that she had already committed fraud on this point.
She then screamed at me to send him back again, and continued to do so for a full 10 minutes before hanging up on me. I called her back, and she demanded to know why I called her. I asked her to listen, to give me five minutes of her time as she had screamed at me for 10. She agreed to do so, but before 60 seconds had passed was again screaming at me and again slammed the phone down on me. My 23 year old son heard the whole conversation as I had her on speaker phone.

I have since contacted breeders and purchasers in California, Missouri, Iowa, Wisconsin, Utah, and Maine. All of them have been swindled by this woman. They have received dogs that were not the same as the pictures that they were sold under. They have received dogs that had cancer. They have received dogs that were ill and died within months of being shipped. I have spoken to officials at the AKC, Teresa Heaver currently has several complaint cases against her. I have been told she is no longer allowed to show her dogs. I have seen pictures of her puppies stacked in cages where the pups below are peed on by the puppies directly overhead.

The pup we have currently arrived sick. He had a cough. He was taken to the vet the next day, and put on an antibiotic. I have spoken to the veterinarian that she stated gave this pup his vaccinations. The vet does NOT treat her animals and does NOT give them any vaccinations other than the rabies shot. This pup was quarantined and had to be vaccinated entirely at our expense. He also had to be de-wormed as he arrived with worms. Even with all this, I consider us lucky as he is NOW healthy and a very nice dog. He reminds me of a dog that might have been gotten from the pound, so thankful to be in a place where he has love, care, and space.

This woman is a monster. She lies. She manipulates.
Her husband was a lawyer, and he kept all the lawsuits at bay.
He died.
I am suing her.
I recommend everyone else do the same.
Do not buy ANYTHING from her.
amberjay61 Send email
 
Aug 16, 2017

Teresa Heaver no AKC papers

I have purchased two Samoyeds from Kabeara kennels (Teresa Heaver) of Lockport, IL. The first purchase was for a female pup born to Bear Frost of Kabeara (WS422087/04 and Kabeara's Sonador of Zetta (WS461386/02) on Dec. 10, 2015 and another male pup born to Lealsam Kobe (WS548557/01 and Kabeara's Shasta of T.E. Friskie(new Registration) on Oct. 23,2016. I have been trying for two years to get the registration paperwork for the last year for the male and two for the female. I am at my wits end. she keeps telling me that AKC will send the registration directly to me and that she has pAid the twelve dollars for one owner registration. can you help me get these dogs registered? I dont know what to do except to get a lawyer and serve everyone involved. I have paid over 5000 dollars for these dogs and would like the litter registration paperwork for each dog I have had registered dogs before and have never had this problem with a breeder or AKC.

Teresa Heaver no AKC papers

Rachel55 Send email
 
Jan 29, 2013

Beware!!!

To all of you who think you found a reputable breeder,

YOU HAVENT! Theresa Heaver of Kabeara is running a Samoyed Puppy mill. I have had the unfortunate experience in witnessing this prison for dogs. Her dogs all 100% kennel kept. They are kept in a 6,000 square foot building that is seperate from her home. She may send you pictures of her dogs running free on all the acres that she owns, but this is far far from the truth. All of these dogs are kept in cages, and I guarentee you, they very rarley come out. She has hundreds of dogs lined up in cages, one after the other, Multiple litters of puppies, and cannot give you straight answers as to which parents even had the puppies...she clearly has no idea. I also witnessed her slapping and hitting a couple of puppies for making a mess on the floor. She said that she didnt want the puppies to get too messy because there are many many more people coming to see them!!! please dont be one of them!!!! She also stated she is losing money on her bussiness, which clearly makes no sense when you have 300 dogs and your breeding indiscriminatley, and selling all of the puppies to make $$$ that supports her million dollar home that sits on her property. please find a good breeder that raises puppies and dogs in there own home, and cherishes and loves them.
Keiferle Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware!

We received our beautiful Samoyed, Nikolai, in 2008. I traveled 300 miles for her and was very pleased with Kabeara. She let me meet the father and did disclose that the mother was off-site. Nikolai was the only puppy from that specific litter. There were two older litters available. She explained that the eye on my puppy was slightly lower and wouldn't make a good show dog. She was very honest and reduced the price considerably. I appreciated this immensely because upon looking at the puppy, I never would have been able to tell. I received his AKC papers and number at the point of purchase. He has been a healthy and beautiful addition to our family and I would buy from Theresa at Kabeara again.
FranJoe Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware!

We bought two Sammys from Theresa in 2009, brother and sister. They are wonderful pups and a blessing to our family. They're healthy and very intelligent. Theresa was extremely helpful and we had absolutely no problems. We live in Nevada and drove cross country to visit the kennel and pick up the pups. The kennel was clean, well run and all the pups were clean and well taken care of. I don't know anything about breeding dogs, but I can say our experience was excellent with Kabeara and would highly recommend them to anyone.
Lccent Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware!

I too purchased a samoyed from teresa 11 years ago and when I brought him home he had parvo ended up at the emergency vet because we brought hime home on a Saturday and nothing was opened on Sunday when we realized he needed help. Teresa denied any knowledge of the dogs condition and acted shocked. The vet had his legged shaved and pumped him full of antibiotics within 15 minutes of walking in the door with him. That is how seriously ill he was. in addtion to the cost of the dog add another 600 dollar vet bill and teresa complaining that we should have called her first. Well we did several times and no answer or return call. If I wasnt so civil teresa would be pushing up daisies. Stay away stay far far away. And file complaints against her with the Will county humane society. It is the only thing that will shut her down save the dogs and prevent her from ripping people off.
Kabearas Klassy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware!

Also, I have boarded my dog with her for six years, while on vacation...so YES she does have dogs boarded there. Some are also there to be bred. So unless you have accurate info maybe people should just shut up...
Kabearas Klassy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware!

I purchased my second Sammy from her 8 years ago. She did not have a puppy mill, AT ALL. I went to several other breaders and some were horrible. I was determined not to buy from a pet store or puppy mill. I purchased my dog on a breeding contract and she was very strict on limiting the amount of times the dog could be breed. I have never had a problem with her and am very thankful she has given our family one of the best animals we have ever had.. I also have had several vets want to breed my dog, saying she is and ideal show dog. Teresa must be doing something right. And I have never seen her kennel over crowded or any animal there mistreated. She does not make money on every dog either. I know specific examples of her losing money by making decision that were best for the animal and not about the business. She also did extensive testing on my dog with her vet before she would even allow the dog to be breed. Sammys are known for certain health problems and she tests for them before breeding. My dog from Teresa is the healthiest Sammy I have owned, before I purchased her I had her checked out by my own vet. I will be contacting her soon as we are looking to purchase another Sammy.
The Mikado Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware!

I registered a separate complaint regarding her inattentiveness, after several years, of getting me the paperwork for the two chinchillas I purchased from her. E-mails, phone calls, letter, all ignored. And setting up chinnies and Samoyeds in the same room is just ignorant.
Turner8 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware!

I have nothing good to say about this breeder as for the fact she has screwed many people out of papers for their pups when they pay over $1400.00 and NO papers, Fact! she does not board dogs for other people she is overcrowded with her own dogs, do not let her tell you they are others she boards, Fact! she has a ton returned with no papers Fact! She is a puppy mill and has plenty of older pups that she has not sold Fact! I have been there to see all this and she has a little kennel with 20-24 adult dogs in an area the size of 50x50 maybe!!! Fact! She is going to court next month and being sued!
Cynthia Gillespie Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware!

we liked the picture of this pup so we used it as we do not have any pic's of our own. but our pups looked like this little fella. Very cute and loveable but sick when we received him from Theresa. My vet said the pneumonia had to incubate in his lungs at least two weeks before he was shipped to us. He initially thought he had Kennel Cough but later changed the diagnosis as pneumonia! In any case he was sick when we received him from Theresa. Our female got bronchitis a week later. Again there was an incubation period involved. Theresa thinks denial is a River in Egypt apparently!
Alcatrazdan Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware!

I bought my first Samoyed puppy from this kennel, a little over three years ago, and I brought him to my vet back in the St. Paul, MN area the next day they were open. On the initial inspection my vet determined that he had some problems, I believe it was kennel cough, and that he had these issues before we ever picked him up. I informed the breeder of this, which she denied could be possible, but did agree to pay for 1/2 of the vet bill, which after 6 months she never did and I just paid it all because I didn't want to deal with her anymore. In addition after further research I firmly believe that she is running and upscale puppy mill. I believe this because she always has puppies for sale, I think she had 4 litters within the past 10 days when I got my puppy. Which does not happen with reputable breeders. Next she had no interview process and fairly little concern about where the puppies went compared to other Samoyed breeders I've spoken to since. I could go on and on, but the stuff I've mentioned thus far is what I really had concern with. I ended up getting another puppy, which I found out when I picked him up happend to be the former chair for the Samoyed Club of America. She asked where I got my other sammy from and when I told her she just said oh and that she was not surprised I had issues with that breeder. She was very respectable and didn't go into why she had problems with them, but I got a strong impression that I was not the first and have not been the last people with problems. She claims it is not a business for her and she looses money, but with as many litters and the price she charges I hardly believe this is true. I STRONGLY recommend you get one from a reputable breeder it will be worth the wait. My second puppy was cheaper than the one I purchased from her and is much more distinguished looking.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username