Submit a Complaint

Kia Canada

Canada

Consumer complaints and reviews about Kia Canada

peace1 Send email
 
May 4, 2021

Applewood KIA- Horrible Service and don't fix problems until it is too late

So, where to begin. So stressed out and driven to the point of tears dealing with Applewood KIA after our KIA Soul, under warranty, broke down (literally stopped running while my husband was on a busy bridge - so scary!). The vehicle is only four years old with 45,0000 km and the engine light has been off and on for over two years. We have brought this to the attention of Applewood Kia (who never return our calls and we have to stalk them) many times over the two years, but they just say to 'ignore it', or that it isn't a serious concern because it is showing as a 'soft diagnostic code' and not a hard one'. Well, it suddenly became a 'hard' diagnostic code last week! We are just grateful that there was not an accident. And so, our car had to be towed to the nearest dealership, Richmond KIA, and four days later, our Soul is still there waiting for parts with promises to be repaired by tomorrow. We can't do without a vehicle, but our beloved KIA dealerships couldn't provide a courtesy car. In fact (and buyer beware on this) KIA Canada told us (when we called them) that courtesy cars are NOT provided under their warranties. Nice to know and terrible service since most other dealerships do provide courtesy cars. Without a vehicle, we had to call a friend to pick my husband up, go to a car rental place and rent a car, which we have now had for four days and may need again tomorrow. Since all the economy cars were gone at every rental place we called (seriously?), we are in for around $314 on a rental car that we should not have needed in the first place. This has been so stressful, and after numerous calls to Applewood and even a promised 'call back' time (and no call back), we just want to get rid of this vehicle. How can you trust a company that won't properly service it's vehicle that is practically brand new and well driven? And then the total lack of service on their part is appalling. The DO NOT CARE. They got our money up front on the sale of the car, and that is all they care about. This has been a truly awful experience, and we don't want anyone else to go through it. Don't buy a KIA and don't buy from Applewood.
LHuard Send email
 
Feb 16, 2021

Poor customer service, constantly ignored.

I have had nothing but frustration and loss of respect from Northland Kia service department, to the point of bringing me to tears.
From them trying to write off my Soul when it was in a fender bender (a tie rod was broken, they tried to write off the steering column), and then just telling me to buy a new car, they had some in the show room I could look at; to flat out IGNORING my concerns when I sent an email regarding water in my tail lights (which is concerning, future electrical issue), and the scratches that were on my car from day one (they DO NOT look over cars, nor do they feel the need to look for transit damage, so don't even try to get them to help you if you have these issues, but rest assured, you buy a new car, they haven't given it a proper inspection). I had to get the General Manager involved. Who flat out refuses to fix the scratches properly, and will have a quick fix done on them because it's cheaper, not caring that it won't actually fix the issue. When they finally did take my car in to look at the Tail Light issues, they assured me I'd have my car back before I had to start my 12 hour shifts (I work in the mental health field during COVID times, I also gave them 3 days to replicate the leaking), to have my Sales rep text me that I had to wait until the following week for my car.
The Sales Department refuses to accept any responsibility for anything, and they do not care about customer service and the frustrations customers may have. The Service Manager, Robert Marsh, ignored all emails regarding my Tail lights, like he was hoping I would go away.
I requested a refund for the AB Care Package, as that binds you to their dealership, a dealership in Lethbridge, and one in Red Deer. But it feels like they'll ignore that request, like they've ignored everything else now that they've taken my money. Heck even if they could transfer it to another Dealership in Calgary, that would be preferred.
guru2021 Send email
 
Jan 24, 2021

Brand New Kia Forte Car Transmission Problem

I buy New Kia Forte in Sep-2020. Till now on Jan-2021, I drive it 7,000 Km. After my first Service from Applewood Kia, Surrey. I am facing daily new problem. First it is sound in engine while I press brake pandel than I visit again Applewood Kia service. They check my car twice in 10 days because the noise is going worst and worst day by day. When they check it from thir some senior mechanics they said it's " Transmissions Problem", it need to be totally change. I am shocked that I buy new car just because I will not get any trouble for next 5-7 years. Transmission is one of the major part of car, how it is possible that brand new car transmissions get problem. It's really very disappointed 😥 . now they not give me any particular time period when they get that transmission for my car and when I will run my car smoothly.
Al Kendall Send email
 
Dec 3, 2020

Kia Sorento

I purchased a used Kia Sorento ( 2015 ) with a 2.4 gdi motor in it, with approx 145,000 km on it, while picking it from the garage after having it checked over before buying it i was told it was in very good shape but he told me to keep up on the oil changes. Well after driving it for a while i was checking the oil and it seemed to be using more than it should, so after researching these motors i got this bad feeling the good deal i got on this car may not be such a deal. 11 months five oil changes and an engine flush and putting 30 thousand km on it i thought i was doing pretty good WRONG Driving down a highway and the car quits, after getting towed in as the car wouldn't even turn over, i was told at first it was a broken timing chain, wrong after being torn apart its not the timing chain its a seized motor . And the big kick in the balls try and find a reasonable priced replacement . Al
Robert Swift Send email
 
Apr 9, 2020

2016 Kia Forte EX

My 2016 Kia Forte EX experienced engine failure while I was driving on the Highway. Just died while driving 110KM/hr
No previous signs of having any engine issues as the car was regularly maintained.
When I had the car towed to my mechanic it was determined I would have to replace the engine.
I had the car for 3.5 years and I am still financing the vehicle. I purchased the extended warranty as I normally drive quite a bit more then the average 25,000KM / year. The warranty was valid to 180,000KM and my car had just surpassed to 182,000KM.
When I contacted Kia customer service to see what could be done the response was you are surpassed the standard warranty so we can not help you. This is the third Kia car I have purchased. You would hope that Kia Canada would support repeat customers and offer some help. Sadly when I asked to be contacted by management to have a discussion I was told by their customer service agent that no one will be getting in touch with me. I started to compile some research online and as it turns out there is story after story of people that have experienced this exact same situation. A variety of Kia models with 4 cylinder GDI engines over years from 2011 - 2016 have known problems. If you buy a Kia expect the car to die leaving you with a car that can not be driven while you are still making finance payments. On top of that you could be looking at a $7000 - $8000 repair bill to replace your engine. Kia has not taken any responsibility for their poor quality and have done nothing to correct the known issues. WARNING: DO NOT BUY A KIA
Sherrie Storimans Send email
 
Mar 2, 2020

KIA Optima 2015 Turbo

We have a 2015 Kia Optima fully loaded and we have had nothing but problems with it since we bought it. we have had to replace the engine 3 times since we got it and it just died again this morning i would never buy a KIA again they don't stand behind there vehicles we are not the only ones we have 5 friends with the same issues. I still owe 7,700.00 on this car and can't pay to fix it or cant sell it. STAY AWAY FROM KIA
Sherrie Storimans Send email
 
Mar 2, 2020

KIA Optima 2015 Turbo

We have a 2015 fully loaded KIA Optima Turbo and have had nothing but problems with it since we bought it new we have had to put 3 engines in it and it just died again with the same issue I would never buy a KIA again we have 5 friends with the same issue all 2014 and 2015 models stay away from them they don't stand behind there vehicles and now I still owe 7000.00 on this car and can fix it or sell it to buy a new one not good
sandramastandrea Send email
 
Jan 25, 2020

def

Own a 2010 Kia Rio5 with 47,000km. I'm the second owner, which I purchased two years ago, with 9,000 km. The engine light turned and immediately my vehicle had issues with its gears. Took my car to Kia Canada, and was advised the transmission, the 4th gear is gone and needed to replace my transmission. I called Kia and spoke with three different people and all say the warranty is done and they will not help. I don't understand how Kia is not willing to help a consumer. The vehicle has only 47,000km. I have never heard of transmission going so fast. The Supervisors and managers at Head office are rude and not willing to assist. On their website there statement for customer: "We promote a customer-driven corporate culture by providing the best quality and impeccable service with all values centered on our customers. Mr. Britton left me a message stating he received my message from his supervisor and is standing behind his employee, without even speaking to me. There warranty is five years or 100,000km on their driven train, which means to me they believe their transmission should last at least 100,000km. My car only has 47,000km.

Your Desired Resolution:
Pay for half. Pay for the parts and I will pay for the labor. Such poor service. They absolutely do not stand on their own Core Values.
sandramastandrea Send email
 
Jan 25, 2020

Defected

Own a 2010 Kia Rio5 with 47,000km. I'm the second owner, which I purchased two years ago, with 9,000 km. The engine light turned and immediately my vehicle had issues with its gears. Took my car to Kia Canada, and was advised the transmission, the 4th gear is gone and needed to replace my transmission. I called Kia and spoke with three different people and all say the warranty is done and they will not help. I don't understand how Kia is not willing to help a consumer. The vehicle has only 47,000km. I have never heard of transmission going so fast. The Supervisors and managers at Head office are rude and not willing to assist. On their website there statement for customer: "We promote a customer-driven corporate culture by providing the best quality and impeccable service with all values centered on our customers. Mr. Britton left me a message stating he received my message from his supervisor and is standing behind his employee, without even speaking to me. There warranty is five years or 100,000km on their driven train, which means to me they believe their transmission should last at least 100,000km. My car only has 47,000km.

Your Desired Resolution:
Pay for half. Pay for the parts and I will pay for the labor. Such poor service. They absolutely do not stand on their own Core Values.
nikkir Send email
 
Dec 3, 2019

Purchase/Service

I purchased my 2017 KIA Sorento In June brand new for myself and my daughter (KIA forte) the salesperson at foster KIA gave me a $1500 discount for both cars, after we bought the cars I found out that they had a promotion in which if you bought a car you would get a trip for 2 to las vegas, I contacted my salesperson and asked him why was I not offered this deal, he informed me that he thought I wanted a discount!, I told him no I wanted the trip and so did my daughter. The salesperson said then he would have to charge me $1500. I informed the salesperson that what he did was wrong and wrote an email to the manager and the salesperson in which he confirmed that he did not offer me the deal, and since no one, has contacted me back. I then recently went to put my car in for service Nov 26, 2019, at Bessada KIA for a noise that the car was making, it's Dec 3, 2019, and I haven't gotten my car back the last I heard was that they couldn't find out what the noise was?. They gave me a loner car (forte) as I'm 6"0 foot and my husband is 6'2 and my kids are almost 6'0 that is why we got a jeep at least give me a car that is comparable to mine. I want KIA CANADA to contact me in regard to this, if not I have no other choice but to contact Consumer alerts CTV at Pat Forrin to let people know what kind of service us customers are getting and the lying that goes on.
nikkir Send email
 
Dec 3, 2019

Purchase and service work.

I bought my Sorento in August 2019 brand new 2017 Sorento, When i purchased the vehicle the salesperson gave me 1500 off as I bought 2 cars, when i got the both cars i found out that they were having a promotion for 2 tickets to las vegas if you purchase a car well I purchased 2 cars and when I called my sales representative to ask him about this and why I didn't get this deal, he said that he thought I would like the 11500 off, I informed him that I would like to make that decision and I wanted the trip for 2 to las vegas, the salesperson said to me that he cannot do it and if he does I have to pay the $1500 discount that was given to me, as iI informed him that was not my mistake you are supposed to offer client all options you don't just assume they need an option like let me decide. I wrote a letter to the manager at the dealership(foster KIA) as I have emails to confirm that the salesperson did not offer me any special. I then went to service my KIA recently at Bessada KIA for a noise the car was made on Tuesday, Nov 26, 2019 they gave me a loaner car which is a forte (as I'm 6'0 and my husband is 6"2 and kids so we cannot fit in the car properly hence why we have a jeep) and it is Dec 3, 2019 and still haven't gotten my car back the last they said to me was they couldn't find the noise or what is making it. I will be going to CTV news about this as I already have spoken to Pat Forin Consumer alerts, If someone doesn't contact me about this see you on the news segment
perdollca Send email
 
Aug 29, 2017

Service

Our Family Bought a Kia Soul in 2011 my parent are seniors the were talked in to all the extended warranties. 3 weeks ago they were heading home and the motor blew they have just over 130,000 KLM on the vehicle which means all warranties are expired even though you pay for 6 yrs and they have been to ever service which they pay for and I called for a good faith on Kia's part to help out with this situation we were offered $500 off the cost of a new motor which we were told was going to cost over $10,000 to me that was about as close to a kick in the teeth as it could get my family has not been with out there car for over two weeks I have made several calls to Kia international as well as Kia Abbotsford I was ignored placed on the back burner. I am very in impressed with the way we have been treated and I plan to take this further even though we made a decision to have our vehicle further. At first look we were told the head gasket was gone and those thing happen the price would be $2500 then it was told to us the car has heated up and cooled down and over heated the motor was totally blown and we has 3 option a motor out of a car that was in an accident with low KLMs or a new motor of a new car so of course I asked for a good faith assistance in which KIA was not much help this letter that I am sending to you first will be sent to others if I do not get a response the VIN number on the car is KNDJT2AZ1B7197133
the Dolleris Family
Ivan Sandoval Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

purchase agreement

Must Love Cars, We continue to apologize for your experience at 401 Dixie Kia, a Car Nation Canada Dealership. We are an OMVIC Compliant Dealership that always follows ethical sales practices. We have been more than happy to resolve this situation. We are still awaiting your direct contact with the specific issues that you speak of, we are always willing to help. We still hope to hear from you soon.

Internet Marketing Manager, Car Nation Canada
Must Love Cars Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

purchase agreement

Employee(s) Dealt With: Jordan Pelikan, Debra Sguigna, Adam Markiewicz. Before visiting this dealership, check the impartial reviews FIRST! How Kia Canada allows them to remain authorized is beyond those who have experienced 401 Dixie's less ethical sales practice.

The licensing agency OMVIC can’t even help you with a purchase agreement broken by the dealer case since it turns into a civil suit.

It’s unfortunate if Kia Motors Company doesn’t implement a better dealer guideline where an owner is expected to at minimal follow contract law. Dealerships such as 401 Dixie Kia {Car Nation Canada}, leave the automotive sales industry as one of the top worse consumer rated. One complaint should be too many when it's as serious as contract cancellation, involvoing economic loss for a buyer.
Must Love Cars Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

purchase agreement

Per the complaint: " purchase agreement broken by the dealer. " Just to clarify, it was signed, deposit made for a specific vehicle.401 Dixie Kia changed THEIR mind, and cancelled the agreement. Ontario Consumer Protection Act, 2002: Direct Agreements 43. (1) .No specific communication to cancel the agreement within 10 days was made by me.Despite a request for their position on the agreement entered, with my deposit within this timeline, there was NO specific response.Just an implied position on their part. This may explain why there was no specific communication: Renegotiation of price 16. It is an unfair practice for a person to use his, her or its custody or control of a consumer’s goods to pressure the consumer into renegotiating the terms of a consumer transaction. 2002, c. 30, Sched. A, s. 16.

Due to the wait for 401 Dixie to "communicate" specifically, in writing their position.Options to purchase another vehicle were hindered, including taking advantage of other manufacturer promotions because I didn't want to commit to TWO. Read the enclosed link, and other comments online, being evasive is a position 401 Dixie appears to take.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username