Submit a Complaint

Lowe's

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Lowe's

gg14sunshine Send email
 
Oct 11, 2017

Age discrimination

Every time my husband, Stanley, applies for a position with this company, he is turned down for younger people. He has had years of experience in commercial construction, including being a superintendent, years working for Gaylord Opryland in pest control, gardner, and maintenance, and a data analyst for an ecommerce company. He is a Vietnam veteran. All this and he isn't experienced enough??? Wrong!

Why do you consider him not good enough, but for his age? We are living on social security and it isn't enough to live on. I would like an explanation, because we know without a doubt it's his age and that is discrimination. And your people are just smart enough to not admit it, but we can read between the lines.

We've always been loyal customers, but find this practice quite distasteful, especially when he knows more than the majority of thecpeople you hire and that has been proven!

Thank you!

Janice Koehn
redgrandad Send email
 
Jan 20, 2016

Age discrimination

11 different interviews at three different stores and not one offer , I am 65 in great health, applied for seasonal to supplement my SS have great references and many years experience. hopefully someone has started a class action law suit
White Boomer Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

AGE DISCRIMINATION

I applied at Lowes and got a call. I interviewed with all my stellar experience -- even the HR and store MGR were impressed. This was for a seasonal position. Ten years with The Home Depot should be a "shoe in", I'm told. I have outstanding professional references at The Home Depot (including with supervisors), and really know the business well. I am a team player, and really all that any MGR is looking for. Except for one problem:
I'm in my 50s.

Do you think it's just my imagination?? Look around in all the stores. Who's getting hired?? I've been looking at this for nearly two years. All I see is 99% people who are age twenty-something occasionally in their 30s. How bout that!

Diversity means inclusion for everyone.. except boomers. And God help you if you're white!!!
NotHappyCamperInSC Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

AGE DISCRIMINATION

Absolutely TRUE.. I have worked for Lowe's for over 7 years and can't get any type of advancement, I'm not under 30, not male and not on the "dream team".. I resent the fact that I come to work each day, give all I can give and some lazy butt that takes four 30 min (15 min) breaks and a 30 min (1 Hr) lunch, then waits in the break room for 20 minutes to clock out for the day???? And management turns a blind eye. I've gotten shoved from place to place in the store.. Have more experience knowledge about where product is in the store and management seems to think I'm "STUPID".. I'm offended that because I don't have a pair between my legs and I'm not under 30 that I am constantly overlooked for any type of advancement!!!
Porchac Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

AGE DISCRIMINATION

You can not advance unless you are under 25 - 30 years of age at Lowe's. People over the age of 40 are constantly being written up inorder to get them fired and they also have great work ethics.

They love to advance the 25 - 30 year age group, because they do not know any better and will follow them like a love sick puppy dog and kiss their ass. This age group will believe every lying word as if it was the bible. They also basically get away with murder. Most of them are not dependable, by blowing off work. They rather talk to other co-workers in their age group, then do what they are paid to do. One was so lazy that she saw a piece of paper on the floor, that she stepped on it and slid it under a skid. A head cashier (under the age of 30) even had an unauthorized person in customer service for approxiately 5 - 10 minutes. Lowe's don't even allow floor associates behind the customer service area. Most of their head cashiers will treat the over 40 age group like they are children of the age of 10 and demean them in front of customers. They also have the power trip and throw it in you face.

They give more hours to the seasonal workers, which are their students, because they are back for a week from school. The regular part time people are left with only 10 hours, while the seasonal workers get 20 hours. Most of your part timers are trying to make ends meet and are there all year round, while the seasonal come and go as they please. Lowe's know that they are cutting hours, but they will find hours for the seasonal people. I feel bad for them too, but everyone else are fighting for their lives too!

Grant you, that they have one or two to keep up the appearance that they don't discriminate. Lows's totally age discrimate. The store manager will state one thing and completely does the totally opposite thing.
Theman1 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

AGE DISCRIMINATION

I found this to most likely to be true. I submitted 3-4 on line apps. I have 5yrs retail, 10 years logistics and 37 years of people skills and was around 54 years of age. What should happen is every boomer out there should not shop at Lowes. In fact if any business won't hire boomers they should suffer the same fate. It is time for boomers to put an end to the diiscrimination going on.Boomers are 1946-1964 and have a large buying power. Lowes and others need to be put in their place. I shop eles where even though I supported Lowes coming into town and then I found out the real Lowes.
Don Chapman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

We were amazed at the attitude of the associates

Went to purchase verticals for two windows and one sliding door. They neglected to take off the additional 5%when using card...Of course we requested they go and give us the additional and at 9:30 am we signed the papers to find out we were shorted the 5 %. To fix this problem it took 6 people and at the end of 12:30 they still got it wrong and owe us 20.43. Now we almost canceled the whole order we got so upset. No apology for keeping us that long and still we need to deal with someone that can tell us what tax rate is in Bakersfield which seems a problem they can't solve...We checked with credit card company and they still over charge 20.43 cents...and we still need to get someone at that store to figure that one out and return out money. Gads we won't be back to order rest of the windows as we are afraid of this happening once again.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

We were amazed at the attitude of the associates

Yesterday afternoon my husband and I went to Loew's to get a small shade for our newly refurbished kitchen. This simple purchase took us about an hour and a half to be completed. We were amazed at the attitude of the associates. We wanted to know if certain small lamp shade on display came in a particular lighter hue. So we waited about ten minutes to see if someone will show up at the department.

Went to the big appliances section and they paged somebody who never showed up. Waited some more.
Meanwhile whenever I saw an associate I tried to get his/her attention but they literally ran away from me saying that Lighting was not his/her department. Soon I realized that in the big appliances dept. there were two associates immovable looking on at our situation. It was funny in a way if we had been not the actors but the audience. Unbelievable!

Finally, we decided to get whatever and go the cashier promising never to go back.
Thought you would like to know.

Sincerely,

John and Elena
Naples, FL 34109

Store details:

Lowe's Centers, Inc.
6415 Nples Blvd.
Naples, FL.34109
Texas Guy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

We were amazed at the attitude of the associates

Well Wearehumanstoo, I agree with some of your points but I do love a good debate. So, what you are saying is, that after their jobs let them go, the economy being tough, and it being difficult to find a job, that a company actually hires them to work; yet they are so bitter that they become "ungrateful", and and can't do their jobs because they are mad about the cards life dealt them. I say...get over it. I'm not seeing where this is Lowe's fault. What I see is people thinking that they are too good to do certain jobs, so they do not to care as much. Which goes back to my original statement that if you are'nt willing to do the job (that you applied for, and accepted) and do it right, then don't apply for it in the first place. I also don't agree that you can't just quit a job because you don't like what you do, or the way people treat you. Sure you can. Why stay working somewhere that you hate. Who benefits from this? Nobody. As for the way customers are, there are assholes all over the place, and in every industry. Especially the service industry. Which brings me back to another statement I made that if you cant handle that, find something else to do with your life. I'm not saying that it's right for customers to be that way, or that Lowes employees are'nt people too, but you have to have thick skin to work in this industry and some people are'nt cut out for it. I guess what I was originally trying to say is that it is hard to find a job for some people these days, so if someone hires you, and you accept the job...do it, and don't bitch about because you could be unemployed. If you hate it, go do something else. Remember...you are who you choose to be.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username