Submit a Complaint

Magic Jack

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Magic Jack

User929569 Send email
 
Apr 10, 2012

No phone service after upgrade

if you don't know how to work magicjack go to my website here and ill show you howhttp://ftw-computers.com/#/need-help/
User929569 Send email
 
Apr 10, 2012

No phone service after upgrade

it takes 5 minutes to hook up the new jack
User929569 Send email
 
Apr 10, 2012

No phone service after upgrade

all you cry baby's out there don't say nothing good about magicjack plus i love mine i live in canada works great wish every one had one w long
User891435 Send email
 
Apr 10, 2012

No phone service after upgrade

Magicjack did an upgrade last night on 12-15, got up tried to use phone, and magicjack said attention, you have to wait and fill out info form, well I'm still waiting, no one to call for a technical issue which has always been their problem, I have had for 3 or 4 years with intermittent problems, I think it would be wise for the FCC to take a hard look at Magicjacks business practices, especially customer support.
User928334 Send email
 
Apr 6, 2012

Scam and cheating

The same problem happened when I ordered the miracle slippers. I also got bombarded with add on sales items, and I did order an extra pair of slipers for my daughter-however, when I got to the end the final receipt showed 3 pair of slippers in my daughter's size. It took a couple of phone calls, but I did get it straightened out after a couple of days and I had the slippers within a week. You do have to be careful, because they do add things onto your order without your approval and there is no way to remove them. You don't even know about the add ons until the final receipt comes up on your screen and then it's too late...
User928330 Send email
 
Apr 6, 2012

Scam and cheating

There customer service agents do nothing and knows nothing. I purchase the magic jack plus and they said 30 day but my credit card was charged immediately. What a waste! The device doesn't work and they have been telling me for almost a month that they will be resolving this matter. They keep telling me that they are working on resolving the issue. The device does not work and they will not replace it. Magic Jack is a joke.
Christina G. Brown Send email
 
Mar 25, 2012

Do not buy this piece of crap

WISH I HAD READ THESE COMPLAINTS BEFORE, Y ARE RIGHT IT IS A PEICE OF CRAP.
Livebegind Send email
 
Mar 25, 2012

Do not buy this piece of crap

I bought a majic jack in mar of 2009 one day it was working fine the next it stopped I contacted there tech support when though 3 hours trying to make it work it is broken and the want to change 10.00 shipping and handling for a new one DON"T BUY this piece of crap this is not the first time I have bought off the internet and been screwed don't buy anything on line!
Apg47 Send email
 
Feb 29, 2012

Scam and cheating

it sucks I'm thinking of throwing in my sink disposal. It works when it wants to and if you do get a call off you'll eventually get cut off but i guess you get what you pay for.
Porty Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Ripped Off & Terrible Customer Service

I agree i payed online total of $90.00 and a month later no magic jack...no nothing!! Like not even a acknowledgment! This is Theft in my opinion and will see what can be done about it!
Ronald Kolin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Customer Service/ Product Failure

My is Ronald Kolin
I have one of your idem on my computer, and when, I am not home, and when I come from whatever I do, I check my message it will not down load, so I can here the message, And what it tells me is the Sever Execution failed Can you all check it out and let me know what is going on.
Savannah1 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Customer Service/ Product Failure

Magic Jack Plus stopped working due to a power supply adapter going bad I finally deduced. After 2 grueling hours of text/chatting with "Journey" and "Destiny" then all of a sudden, they needed to download updates to my unit which started tossing certificate alerts every time they tried to answer a question in the chat box.. Very clever idea! I saved, as we went, the chat, another very clever idea! By the way, nothing was every done to resolve my issue. Replacing a simple $3.00 part that went bad, not even the offer to sell me one. By the way, I don't usually fly this flag, but I am a disabled vet, fixed income, and this was a real benefit because it gave me no trouble before this. Following is the transcript of our time together... If you are having a bad day, feel free to read it again...

ase wait for a site operator to respond.

All operators are currently assisting others. Thanks for your patience. An operator will be with you shortly.

You are now chatting with 'Journey'

Your Issue ID for this chat is LTK554034402684X

Journey: Hello, how may I help you?

Ken : hi! My Magic jack plus stopped working. The light comes on when plugged into the compute, but does not when plugged directly into the modum or the outlet. I have re-entered the code for my activation, no luck. I get no dial tone, but the plus signs in when plugged in to the computer directly

Journey: Hello Ken, Good day, let me assist you

Ken : Sure, thanks

Ken : did you get what I( wrote?

Journey: Yes

Ken : cool...

Journey: may I ask where the magicjack plus is plugged in now?

Ken : The old 1 is in my computer

Ken : new 1 is in the phone

Ken : just unplugged the old 1

Journey: on the router or the computer?

Ken : the new 1 is plugged into the router

Ken : 1 second please

Ken : double check

Journey: Do you have the yellow and the green light on the magicjack plus?

Ken : no lights at all

Journey: Please plug the magicjack plus device to the computer and tell me when you have the dial pad on the screen

Journey: tell me when you have the dial pad on the screen

Ken : plugged in... dial screen on

Ken : lights on

Journey: Do you see MENU on the dial pad?

Ken : yes

Journey: Please click on MENU and look for the magicjack serial number the one that starts with A921../ A11.. or C921...

Ken : a11310030162ad

Journey: As I have checked here in our end this Phone Number: (512) 650-4303 of the magicjack plus and the License Expires: 12/05/2017

Journey: Do you have the dial tone?

Ken : phone is not close to the computer, I had to disconnect from the router since I am disabled and use a laptop, want me to hook back up?

Ken : phone base...

Journey: Okay

Journey: I need to check if the magicjack plus will work on the computer

Journey: please connect the phone to the magicjack plus device

Ken : done

Ken : no dialtone

Ken : no lights

Ken : even when just plugged in to the power adapter

Journey: on the computer when you plugged the magicjack plus, do you have the blue light on?

Ken : yes

Journey: Do you have the dial tone now?

Ken : when plugged directly into the modom, no light

Ken : no

Journey: Okay

Journey: you are using a modem, not a router?

Ken : not sure of the term, it is what my internet company put in for my computer and wireless

Ken : plugged into the back

Journey: may I have the brand and the model of the router please?

Ken : worked great until I got back yesterday from 3 days in Austin

Journey: : may I have the brand and the model of the router please?

Ken : it's a "2-wire" don't have a magnifying glass to see the fine print... please remember, I am disabled and it's very hard to move...

Journey: Please check the brand and the model of the router at the back of the router

Ken : I can't read the print, journey... It has been working fine since I bought it

Ken : the magic jack and the magic jack plus that is

Journey: 1. Please click start and in the Start Search type CMD and press enter, the command prompt will open.

Journey: 2. On the command prompt, type IPCONFIG and press enter then tell me the IPv4 address and the Default Gateway

Ken : 1 sec. it's still pull files

Journey: On your desktop screen

Journey: please do the steps above

Ken : I did, it flassed a screen, then disappeared, I have windows 7 if that makes a difference

Ken : dos screen

Journey: 1. Please click start and in the Start Search type CMD and press enter, the command prompt will open.

Journey: 2. On the command prompt, type IPCONFIG and press enter then tell me the IPv4 address and the Default Gateway

Ken : listen, it happened the way I said it did... I can't read in the split second thaty screen flashed, is a supv available, Journey?
Journey: I will be right with you.

Ken : Hopefully a supv will

Ken : You insulted me'
Journey: I will be right with you.


Journey: One moment please...

Journey: Thank you for patiently waiting...

Journey: Let me assist you Ken

: who is this please?

Journey: I am Journey

Ken : I want a supervisor please

Journey: I am transferring you to one of our top 10% agents as rated by our customers. Please hold while I transfer you.

Ken : you are not a good communicator

Ken : supervisor

Journey: I understand

Journey: I am transferring you to one of our top 10% agents as rated by our customers. Please hold while I transfer you.

Ken : supervisor

Ken : understand?

Please wait while I transfer the chat to the best suited site operator.

You are not currently in a chat session.


Journey: I am transferring you to one of our top 10% agents as rated by our customers. Please hold while I transfer you.

Ken : you are not a good communicator

Ken : supervisor

Journey: I understand

Journey: I am transferring you to one of our top 10% agents as rated by our customers. Please hold while I transfer you.

Ken : supervisor

Ken : understand?

Please wait while I transfer the chat to the best suited site operator.

You are not currently in a chat session.

You are not currently in a chat session.
are not currently in a chat session.

You are now chatting with 'Destiny'

Your Issue ID for this chat is LTK554034402684X

Destiny: Hi, This is Destiny.

Destiny: Would you mind giving me a moment to review your past chat?

Ken : Hi, are you a supervisor, Destiny?

Destiny: Yes Ken

Ken : Good, thank you,

Destiny: is your magicjack plus plug in on your router or pc ?

Ken : router via a cord connecting it to the electric outlet with the adapter

Ken : proper cords to the proper plugs

Destiny: is the Internet and phone slot is lit up ?

Ken : nothing lights up unless it is plugged directly into the computer, which is why I got the plus because of my disability and need for a laptop

Ken : no menu unless it is in the computer

Ken : I'm thinking adapter?

Ken : but it does not light up if plugged directly in the router either

Ken : (power) adapter

Destiny: Using magicJack plus without a computer

Destiny: 1. Plug the magicJack Plus into the power adapter that has been provided

Destiny: 2. Plug the Ethernet cord that has been provided into the magicJack Plus

Destiny: 3. Plug the other end of the Ethernet cord into your modem our router

Destiny: 4. Plug a telephone into your magicJack Plus

Destiny: 5. Plug the power adapter into a power outlet

Ken : like that right now...been there done that... can we move on?

Destiny: Okay

Destiny: make sure that one end of the ethernet cable is plugged into your modem/router/switch and the other end into your magicJack PLUS.

Destiny: You also need to make sure that your modem/router/switch is powered on and that the port you have connected the magicJack to is functioning correctly.

Ken : Destiny, I had not touched a thing when it quit working, I reviewed all connections I had hooked up that had it working succesfully for a long time now, no one else lives here. my internet works, my router works, my cords have been checked, the only thing I cannot check is why the light does not go on when the magic jack plus is plugged into the outlet with the power adapter

Destiny: please unplug it from the power source, wait 30 seconds, and plugg it back in.

Ken : did that also, had it unplugged for 5 minutes to be sure

Destiny: Try to plug in on different port of your router ?

Ken : did that also, plugged it into an outlet I knew for a fact was fine...

Ken : still there?

Destiny: Yes

Destiny: may I know the model and brand of your router ?

Ken : we have been here before... the brand is 2-wire... I cannot read the model, but it is the same one i have always had

Ken : Can I get the corp address please after we are done?

Destiny: Sure

Ken : thank you

Destiny: can you plug it on your modem to check if it works

Ken : Destiny, I promise you, I am not a dummy and have studied this problem close up and have double checked everything you have asked me twice because of the difficultys encountered on "chat help". I am mid 50's and worked with computers for a couple decades so let's get to harder stuff

Ken : no offense

Destiny: Okay

Ken : I should at least get a power light, correct?

Destiny: yes

Destiny: did you try to use different Ethernet cord ?

Ken : I don't, even if it's directly plugged in to an outlet

Destiny: try to use the Ethernet cord just to check

Ken : don't have 1 handy

Destiny: Okay

Ken : but the lights come on when it's plugged into the computer

Ken : does it sound like a power adapter to you?

Destiny: we just need to check all the possible ways to fix it

Ken : we have!!!

Ken : it works if I revert it to a magic jack

Ken : but I still have 1 of those sitting here

Ken : all this wasted 2 hrs of my life will do is lose you customers if people ask me how customer service is!!! lol

Ken : that was a joke...

Ken : now, Destiny, how do we solve this Power adapter problem?

Ken : hello?

(she did answer back and then requested the need to plug in my unit to the computer for updates and shortly after all locked up and I had to restart everything) Felt like I was attacked...

TS13644814

Please wait for a site operator to respond.

You are now chatting with 'Anne'

Your Issue ID for this chat is LTK554034417182X

Anne: Hello, how may I help you?

Ken : Hello Anne, I just got disconnected after 2 hrs of "conversation".

Anne: Let me know the problem, that you have with magicjack?

Ken : luckily, I copy/paste as we went. 1st I need your corporate address please for follow up


Ken : I don't want to start over until I get the address in case I get disconnected again

Ken : are you there?

Ken : Hello?

Ken : For some reason, all responses from your site are now blocked, so I guess your previous folks did what they had to do, so I will publish my findings to our blo0g and the better buisness bureau as soon as I find what "special updates" they needed to download to my magicjack. Check your files... you may want to email me at
Siomat Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

No tec support to resolve a problem with m/j

I have the exact same experience. I've given up and threw the damned thing out - using =just my cell phone now. Even when it worked service was not good
Bscott Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

No tec support to resolve a problem with m/j

I have had magic jack for over two years without any problems. I don't know what they changed but it will not stay on and when I boot it back up you can make a call and it will cut you off in 2 to 3 minutes.

I have followed all of their chat discussions on how to fix it and that DOES NOT WORK and there is NO ONE you can call to get it fixed. I have had this problem for over a month and there is no tec support to call if you have a problem. Now I am without a phone.
Annlaurence Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unauthorized billing

I lost my old card, I'm using my new card visa and master card. But how comes that it's not working. I just want to pay my billing . My magic jack number is 9492081295
Phill Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unauthorized billing

I am writing to tell my experience with Magic Jack. Before I purchased one, I checked it out and found they did not have a local prefix for my area. They did tell me that in early 2009 they would be adding local numbers, so I was going to wait, because I thought people would get charged if they called me from my hometown. However, when I went to their website, it clearly stated that as long as someone lives in my area code, that incoming calls would be free for them. I also talked to their customer care chat and was told the same thing, except they actually said anywhere from the US or Canada. For this reason I went ahead and bought one and tried it for a week and it seemed to work fine, so I dropped my old phone service. However, after a month and a week, my brother called me and told me he had been charged for long distance for calling me. I then contacted Magic Jack's customer care and at first was told the same thing again, but when I informed them of what my brother had said, they changed and said, 'Well, it depends on the prefix' This is when I began getting very suspicious. I asked for contact information and was told they could not give that information out. The only way to talk to these people is through online chat and you can not file complaints and can not actually get any information about their corporate offices. One of their customer reps actually gave me an email address claiming it was for their corporate offices, which the email addy looked very strange for somebody in upper management, so I asked directly if this was really for their offices and was told yes. However, when I wrote them I got a response and it was from their billing office. They simply lied!!

Now, I wanted to give information to anyone that has experienced problems with Magic Jack and can't file a complaint. I have talked to my state's department of consumer affairs and they gave me several agencies to file a complaint, which I have done. I recommend all of you to contact the Federal Trade Commission, The FCC, and your state's attorney general's office on this matter. This device is a good idea and mine does work, but it is a problem when someone calls me from 100 yards down the road and has to pay, all because I was not aware of this and was basically lied to so I would go ahead and purchase this device. I have been told lies on 4 occassions by them. This needs to stop and they need to be forced to provide information to people that do have problems and start telling the truth about their product if people ask. I do ask, PLEASE, if you have had a problem, to contact the agencies listed above. This is the only way to make them change the way they do business.
Gary Unhappy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Do not buy this product - it is a rip off

Company is dishonest
Dudkin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Do not buy this product - it is a rip off

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!! If you ever need to use any conference number like Yugma or The Free Conference Call, they hijack the call and route you to majic jack free conference.

Also, their 30 day trial starts the day you place the order, not when you receive it.

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT - IT IS A RIP OFF!!!
Gary Unhappy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

The product is falsely advertised, doesn't work and will waste your time and money

Returned device in 2 days, got a RMA number, now they say they didn't get it and won't refund my money. Chats are a scam. Company is dishonest
Letsloostit Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

The product is falsely advertised, doesn't work and will waste your time and money

It doesn't. This product and the company behind it are a complete scam. The product is falsly advertised, doesn't work and will waste your time and money.
Loren B Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and cheating

I just researched YMAX Communication Corp on the BBB site. They are accredited by the BBB. I think a good start would be to start making complaints on the BBB site. Here is the information the BBB has:

Magic Jack aka MagicJack LP
5700 Georgia Avenue
West Palm Beach, FL 33405
Additional Locations:
PO Box 6846
West Palm Beach, FL 33405
BBB Review | File Complaint | Request a Quote
Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers
Loren B Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and cheating

I won't post my experience because it's like so many posted on here. A class action lawsuit? That might be the best way to get these crooks out of the market.
Company Info:

magicJack is a subsidiary of YMAX Communication Corporation
223 Sunset Avenue, Suite 223
West Palm Beach, FL 33405
561-832-3021/888-230-0060

When you call it's a recording that gives 281-404-1551 for a live representative about billing questions. I haven't called that yet however I don't have any doubts that when I do call the live rep will be as full of obstacles and the techchat reps.
John Yo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and cheating

This is a very suspicious business organization.

Very poor customer services. The only way to get any is to go through a "SLOW" live chat. I was surprised that they don't offer live/over-the-phone service; given that they are offering telephone communications service. (-- Think about this for a minute! ---) This is a very suspicious business organization.
John Yo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and cheating

Like the other complaint said; they charge to your card right away even though it is a 30-day trial and clearly said: "no charge to the card until after 30 days".
Lauralee63 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Porting Phone number

Magic jack ported out my phone number 4 days after I canceled my account and now my phone carrier wants 69.99 to get it back. When I called magic jack they told me my account was canceled on the 16th and I asked why then did they take my phone number on the 20th if my account was already canceled. They told me I had to chat with someone online. When I did the online chat, they told me my account was still active. I think they didn't want to agree they were wrong. So I asked them: how do I cancel my account again? they said all I have to do to cancel is to just stop using my magic jack, thats funny because I wasn't using magic jack. It was returned to the store on the 16th so How can I still have magic jack when I don't even own magic jack. If you need tech support, you have to chat online and they put you on hold for 20 minutes after each question. It has taken me 5 days and I still did not get any answers

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username