Submit a Complaint

Match.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Match.com

95Kenneth Send email
 
Sep 5, 2019

taking my money

MATCH.COM took $79? I unsubscribed that site long time ago. Why they took about $80 dollars from my account? I like my $80 back to my account

taking my money

Carlosisidro Send email
 
Aug 23, 2019

Taken money

Match.com took money out of my account without consulting me and now i can't make rent. So I need you guys to give back my 98 dollars I can make rent. I haven't even ordered your services every but contact me asap to discuss this or issue me my money back.
Carlosisidro Send email
 
Aug 23, 2019

Taken money

I didn't authorize any purchases from your company so I need you to return the 98 dollars you took from my account so I can pay my rent.
Dotsead Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Unauthorized billings

i registered the account for some couple of hours and when i came back to log in there say i cannot log in and i do not understand what they mean by that.?
Joy4pam Send email
 
Mar 12, 2012

unauthorized payment

I was charged for an additional 6 months for Match.com without my consent. I wanted to be asked if I wished to renew. Now my account is locked.
Unhappy UK Send email
 
Mar 12, 2012

unauthorized payment

I have had exactly the same issue with the site b2.co.uk. I entered into a trial for a month fo £5, found it to be below average, so stopped using it after a week and though that was that until £149 was taken out of my account. I received no receipt of payment or any email from them, and only after considerable checking did I find a small line under the email marked "receipt of payment" for my original £5 does it state they will automatically upgrade me to a 6 month package of £149, which they fail to say will come out of your account in one payment.
A complete rip off!
Smileykatgirl Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

6mo guarantee is a rip off!

I had the six-month guarantee and followed their requirements EVERY single month. When it stated I met all of my requirements for the six months, I stopped looking at the status since it said it was complete. I then received my credit card statement and found that I had been charged for another six months, yet I KNOW I met their requirements! I contacted them that very same day, and they state that they "can't tell" if I met my requirements because it is not visible to them after 30 days. (My credit card statement came a little over 1 month after they added the fee - they charged it right after by previous billing.) They informed me that they send a message to the guarantee "status site" (one you would have to know to click on and find the message that you don't know is coming) asking if I have met someone that I have to answer within 7 days. If I don't answer that question, they cancel the guarantee and charge your card. I checked the guarantee status site, which had been available all along, and found out that it was conveniently down. I was appalled. This is definitely dishonest. 1) They should definitely have access to see your actions. If they are legitimate, they should be able to keep that tracking for as long as there is time for someone to dispute a charge they add without the member's permission. When the person gets the bill, they definitely should be able to check the person's status/eligibility, but they deny being able to. 2) they should email you directly, not try to put it in an obscure area for a very limited time-- and truthfully, if you are still actively on Match it is obvious you are still looking at haven't found your "match". It answers their own question. The question that they put in an obscure area is an attempt for them to get out of their guarantee. It is not shown on the guarantee status site prior...it said I met all requirements. 3) they should be honoring their end of the contract. Period. If their status bar had told me I met ALL of my requirements, which it did, there should not be this unethical method to try to not grant their guarantee and charge you for another six months. Talking to the manager and the Resolutions Dept did nothing...they just say the "can't see" if I met my end of the bargain, which is just an excuse to follow through with their guarantee and try to charge you more money...a lot more money because they charge for another six months. When you dispute the charge, they drop your site...so they ensure they do not give you the six months' free that you earned and that drew you to that longer duration of signing up in the first place. This is definitely an unethical way to try to increase their revenue with unauthorized charges.
Plowman768 Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

UNAUTHORIZED DEBITS

Let me tell you something...I used Match.com about 3 years ago. No luck, I left. I came back January 2012 and cancelled my membership with at least a week to go in my membership. I was sent an email telling me no further money would be withdrawn and I had until February 6th to re-activate my account if I chose to. Now, just to make sure these people didn't try and debit my account, I made certain my membership was good and cancelled. I essentially cancelled it twice. February 6th I call my bank and see they took $35.99 and as a result of their unauthorized debit, I was popped $38.00 for insufficient funds. I called them immediately and told them they took money our without authorization and as a result, I had a negative balance. I was refunded the money but the customer service rep tried telling me the account was reactivated. In fact EVERYBODY there that I talked to thereafter tried to tell me that. I've been trying for over a month to talk to someone over at Match and all when I finally get a supervisor (I think) on the phone, she tells me they refunded my $35.99 'as a curtesy' and they had no way to refund my insufficient funds (are you reading this, Randa?). I flat out told her they took money out without authorization and they were thieves. She countered by saying they had no way to refund me the $38.00 (Ummm...yes, you do - it's called WRITING A CHECK!) I submitted copies of the emails to my bank with a complaint that I had an authorized debit and I hope my bank can get something from those third-rate zero's.
Sarah Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud and cheating

I'm a young widow. After careful consideration and because I am new to Georgia, I decided to join Match.com to meet someone. I did not post my photograph at first, just my profile.

I receive a wink from a man named Brian Schneider and he used his name as his user password. I winked back, and he sent me an e-mail. He suggested I get a yahoo account so we could IM each other, and I did.

Within the first week, Brian was professing his undying love for me. He said he had been married for fifteen years, and his wife cheated on him with his best friend. He said he had been divorced for 5 years, and his ex and his 15 year old son Andrew lived in Texas. I gave Brian my home telephone number, and he called me. Now he had stated in his writing he was German, but when I spoke with him on the phone I told him his accent was more like from Haiti or Jamaica-definately not German. His photo was posted on match, as well as in the Yahoo account. White male, looked younger than 48, average looking, with a big smile.

Second week Brian announced that he would miss me terribly, when I asked why-he said he would be traveling to purchse more gems for his company for two weeks-he was going to Africa. He called me the day after travel, and gave me a long telephone number to jot down. We spoke once or twice, and he later said his laptop crashed. I was online reading current news and events when I watched news of a man who's photo was stolen and put on match. I also read all the 'Romance Scammers' websites and the red flags to look for and I was totally stunned. Brian met every red flag-everyone except asking me for money.

I wrote Brian and e-mail I was furious that he had matched all the red flags, and wanted answers. He said he didn't know who was filling my head with lies, and became very angry. I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt.

I researched online for his name and the address he had given me. I found a photograph of a older gentleman living at the address Brian gave. The phone number was disconnected, and there is no record of Andrew Schneider in all 50 states. I wrote Brian an e-mail last night still concerned for his well being as he said there is a lot of violence in Africa he is scheduled to leave there and return to the states the end of the month.

Today I received what I call the cherry on the sundae- A request from Brian if I want him to get home safely I should buy him a laptop and send it to him right away. He cannot purchase it himself because according to him he freezes all his bank accounts and credit cards when leaving the states to avoid theft. He had a bad experience in Malaysia while he was there purchasing gems, someone stole his bank information. YEAH RIGHT.

I have countless e-mails and IM from Brian Schneider-but who is he really. I am thankful to God that I didn't part with any money for this Brian Schneider, but none the less I feel violated and betrayed-he is definately one of those Nigerian scammers.

Match.com is not protecting their consumers at all- I totally agree with the gentleman who wrote his report about match.com. My advise to every woman out there is that this website is not safe- and do your research on Romance Scammers if you even decide to join one of the websites such as match.com. The photograph you are looking at could be some great guy who is already married, and doesn't even know his photo has been stolen and used online. BE WEARY...no one can protect you but you. If this has happened to you to please write a report, we have a responsibility to inform the public.
Naplesflorida Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud and cheating

Dan Crisp or NaplesEagle, claims he is 54 but is 57, uses this site in Naples florida to meet and sleep with upward of 3-5 women daily. He is smooth, a liar, a predator and a sex addict.
Laurenbb19877 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unauthorized billings

I need to get into my account i made last night but it wont let me saying there is problems with my account my username is laurenb19877
Larent Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lied about me signing in

I have a match.com account, which I haven't logged in for over a week. Today I got an email from a guy I met there, and he said that I was "online" last night! How can that be right???!!! I am very angry, because I didn't sign in!
Emilia Madrigal Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lied about me signing in

i want to sign in in my account to this match.com but always appearing that the username and the password that i type is always incorrect what is this. i want to unsubscribe to this site.
Lonnyazun Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unauthorized billings

I still can't log on to my account. please help. [email protected]
Lonnyazun Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unauthorized billings

I couldn't log back in to my page. Please help my email is [email protected]
Samara37 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

scam

Rudely treated, would not give me the name of the people I spoke with, or their boss. I was not given respect or information about the customer service employee I talked with on any occasion. I was hung up on although I was under control and not swearing, yelling etc. I asked for a refund within a few days of purchasing. Three days of service is not worth $189.00. They refused to prorate, or to give me a refund, on a bad product; their services.
Your Mom Knows Best Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

scam

1. You are not entitled to special payment terms.
2. You are not entitled to know the personal information of representatives of this company.
Ritaromer Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unauthorized billings

my e-mail is [email protected] i have tried unsuccessfully to find out why i cant log-in and i get know response please tell me what is wrong with my acct.
Milli Ren Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unable to Sign In

Is the membership fees. The correct information. Unable to Sign In. Not receive any E_MAIL, I can not find any method: Phone or E_MAIL address, help me,
Zubia1 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unable to Sign In

as of last night i am unable to log in my account to subscribe
Allas Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

can not log in

I can not log in to match.com. This is [email protected]
Allas Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

can not log in

I can't log in, this is [email protected]
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

6mo guarantee is a rip off!

I joined match.com to find my last true love, i joined for 6months, with a 6mo guarantee. After my 6months where up, i didn't get my 6mo free, i followed all there rules, i notified them of the problem, i even wrote the president of match.com, still they have not kept there word, my advice to people thinking of joining match.com is find a site that keeps there word & has customer service people that take care of the customer. I think match.com is running a racket! Don't join!

Sincerely,
charles watson.
Zeusbud1 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

6mo guarantee is a rip off!

I signed up for three months, I clicked the boxes where it said do not renew after three months. Well it renewed and I called match and they said the botton was clicked to renew. They do this to you .
Sarah Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware

I'm a young widow. After careful consideration and because I am new to Georgia, I decided to join Match.com to meet someone. I did not post my photograph at first, just my profile.

I receive a wink from a man named Brian Schneider and he used his name as his user password. I winked back, and he sent me an e-mail. He suggested I get a yahoo account so we could IM each other, and I did.

Within the first week, Brian was professing his undying love for me. He said he had been married for fifteen years, and his wife cheated on him with his best friend. He said he had been divorced for 5 years, and his ex and his 15 year old son Andrew lived in Texas. I gave Brian my home telephone number, and he called me. Now he had stated in his writing he was German, but when I spoke with him on the phone I told him his accent was more like from Haiti or Jamaica-definately not German. His photo was posted on match, as well as in the Yahoo account. White male, looked younger than 48, average looking, with a big smile.

Second week Brian announced that he would miss me terribly, when I asked why-he said he would be traveling to purchse more gems for his company for two weeks-he was going to Africa. He called me the day after travel, and gave me a long telephone number to jot down. We spoke once or twice, and he later said his laptop crashed. I was online reading current news and events when I watched news of a man who's photo was stolen and put on match. I also read all the 'Romance Scammers' websites and the red flags to look for and I was totally stunned. Brian met every red flag-everyone except asking me for money.

I wrote Brian and e-mail I was furious that he had matched all the red flags, and wanted answers. He said he didn't know who was filling my head with lies, and became very angry. I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt.

I researched online for his name and the address he had given me. I found a photograph of a older gentleman living at the address Brian gave. The phone number was disconnected, and there is no record of Andrew Schneider in all 50 states. I wrote Brian an e-mail last night still concerned for his well being as he said there is a lot of violence in Africa he is scheduled to leave there and return to the states the end of the month.

Today I received what I call the cherry on the sundae- A request from Brian if I want him to get home safely I should buy him a laptop and send it to him right away. He cannot purchase it himself because according to him he freezes all his bank accounts and credit cards when leaving the states to avoid theft. He had a bad experience in Malaysia while he was there purchasing gems, someone stole his bank information. YEAH RIGHT.

I have countless e-mails and IM from Brian Schneider-but who is he really. I am thankful to God that I didn't part with any money for this Brian Schneider, but none the less I feel violated and betrayed-he is definately one of those Nigerian scammers.

Match.com is not protecting their consumers at all- I totally agree with the gentleman who wrote his report about match.com. My advise to every woman out there is that this website is not safe- and do your research on Romance Scammers if you even decide to join one of the websites such as match.com. The photograph you are looking at could be some great guy who is already married, and doesn't even know his photo has been stolen and used online. BE WEARY...no one can protect you but you. If this has happened to you to please write a report, we have a responsibility to inform the public.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username