Submit a Complaint

MyLife.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about MyLife.com

User929469 Send email
 
Apr 9, 2012

Total Scam

I was charged $95.40 for a svc I did not want. I wanted one month of a different svc at one time charge of $11.95. They charged my credit card separately with the transactions one second apart in time. Their so called Customer Care refuses to give me a refund of the $95.40 even though less than 48 hours passed before I noticed the charge which was in error. They are deceptive in my opinion and I hope this criminal practice faces the legal punishment they are due. Consumers be warned!
User925076 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2012

Total Scam

These people are thieves they took 71.00 then a week later they took 95.00 I had to stop my card, I think we are in the wrong business,
User921130 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2012

Total Scam

DISPUTE -- 888-704-1900 This site is a Total Scam --- STAY AWAY!!! Monthly recurring charges showing up on my credit card after only visiting the site once --- same story on the blurry pictures to get you snagged into giving them financial info, even though it's advertised on TV to try for free. Regardless, never signed up for this... Pay attention to your privacy people ---AND your credit card statements. PHONE THEM at 888-704-1900 to DISPUTE
Cedelia Send email
 
Mar 14, 2012

Invasion of privacy

Same for me & nothing I could do but listen to them telling me that I was a former subscriber: I NEVER subscribed to such a service!
Jeffrey Tinsley & all. See http://www.mylife.com/ManagementTeam.pub - Mylife.com - Reunion.com ... should be sued, fined & out of business, ... & we should be compensated for this.
Please keed the word & actions going ...
Anti-SEO Send email
 
Mar 12, 2012

Invasion of privacy

Their terms and conditions that you must agree to as a part of creating an account, clearly explain what is done with your information...
Dsk2012 Send email
 
Mar 12, 2012

Invasion of privacy

I have the same problem and I would like to get something done about it! Any solutions?
Ac100 Send email
 
Mar 12, 2012

Invasion of privacy

Mylife.com listed my name, age, address and my relationship on their site without my permission.
I asked remove my profile from their site 6 months ago and they said they will but they never took it down.
This is serious violation of my privacy. I don't want my private information displayed like this to strangers. The information can be used for fraud!!
They even put a paragraph like this "My name is xxxxx, I currently live in xxxxxx. I lived in xxxxxx from 20xx to 20xx.
Before that, I lived in xxxx from 19xx to 20xx. I am related to xxxxxxx who is xx years old and live in xxxxxx, I am also related to xxxxxx who is xx years old and live in xxxxxx, ". Since I never wrote this, this is a case of a forgery. I don't know why this type of business is considered as a legal business!!
Pwrpac70 Send email
 
Mar 10, 2012

Posting my information without permission

If anyone is wanting to start a class action suit against mylife.com please let me know. my email address is [email protected] . People that advertise things for free and then rip you off should be punished.
Mollyemt Send email
 
Feb 29, 2012

Posting my information without permission

give me a phone number and i can tell you the persons name, address, occupants in his house and who all his neighbors are in less than 3 minutes. it is the internet, honey, ALL this info is public information. heck, i even found my dead fathers social security number one day not too long ago. talking to a lawyer is going to do nothing but shorten your bank account.
Cranial Compression Send email
 
Feb 29, 2012

Posting my information without permission

It is all public information. Have you googled yourself on other sites like zillow, spokeo, etc? There are companies that will remove your info from the web, however that is a waste of time & $ because there is nothing preventing your info from being reposted.
Loogarte Send email
 
Feb 29, 2012

Posting my information without permission

This company has been consistently posting my information on it's site for months. I email them weekly to remove my info and yet continues. I have faxed my ID twice yet i have received no respect for my privacy. I'm talking to a lawyer. Technology does not equal invasion of privacy.
CalFord Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Cant't Get on Site to Cancel

You MUST contact your Attorney General. This company is betting on you to not do so, which is how to screw more people, like me 2 days ago.
Frannie1954 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Cant't Get on Site to Cancel

I signed up for what I thought was a one month paid membership but my account was charged for 12 months. I let it go figuring it was tuition in the School of Hard Knocks. But now I've tried to sign on to cancel and they won't send the username/password info so I can sign on. What a rip! Next step is to call the 800 number that was listed with the charge on my statement. If that doesn't get a cancellation, I am contacting my attorney general. Don't want to close the account but I will if I need to to stop another charge.
Monica Luciana Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

RIPOFF

How can I delete my account?I live in UK and dont really want to spend money on the phone... Thank you.
ValerieBevington Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

RIPOFF

Signed up for their people search for a supposed $1.99. When I got the confirmation screen I found out they were billing my credit card $23.88. I tried to delete my account within minutes of signing up and ended up having to call their "customer care" number. Then I was told the amount was for a full year and there was NO REFUNDS. After checking back at the site I still couldn't read the small print at the bottom of the screen. Sent them an email complaint and their response was " Thank you for contacting MyLife.com. Our records indicate that the concerns expressed in your email were already addressed by a Representative with our Customer Care team. " Great job of scamming people out of their money. The site doesn't even do what I need. I wanted a phone numer for a person and the site directed me to another site to sign up for another subscription!!! DON'T USE THIS SITE!!
Surrender505 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

False advertising

Wow...this is so funny. Supposedly grown adults, squabbling back and forth over all this non-sense about searching for someone, or being searched for and it didnt happen for free. Then you have the man that defends this website and is willing to argue beyond all scenerios. Not everyone is into online marketing or has the advertisement savvy TomStone does. I was about to go on this site, just to check it out. I would never pay anything without getting exactly what I thought was offered for free. Free means free. If I went in and found that it cost afterwards, then I just wouldnt give my credit card info or sign up. So really, this is all just common sense. Common sense for those who believe anything is for free and common sense for TomStone to even bother arguing the fact that people are upset about what they feel is false advertisement. It is very normal for anyone to feel this way. It's a no win situation. Why argue? And yes, it looks like I am supporting the website too by commenting. So what...It's free...RIGHT?
Jeffrey Kazee Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

False advertising

What part is free its all free until you want to login you guys lie and it says in the Bible you lie you fry
MADMIKE62 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

False advertising

The TV ads imply My Life is a free service. It's not. The ads say My Life has millions of messages accessible by just going to their website. Once again, a lie. My Life showed 57 people who were "searching for me". I'd never heard of ANY of them. I signed up thinking perhaps I could hook up with some guys I was in the military with. Turns out that searching FOR someone requires another membership which costs even more than "getting messages from people searching for you". This is a total scam.
MYLIFE3ISASCAM Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

invasion of privacy big time

THEY CHANGE THE NAME OF THEIR COMPANY EVERY FEW YEARS TO TRY A RID THEIR NEGATIVE IMAGE; MAKE YOUR COMPLAINTS TO THE BBB OF CALIFORNIA (SOURCE WIKAPEDIA):

This company practices what the Los Angeles Better Business Bureau (BBB) calls "negative option cancellation". In this sales strategy, customers agree to pay for services unless they cancel within a specified period of time. Members are required to cancel prior to the initial anniversary date to avoid continuing annual charges to their credit cards.[8]

Complaints from customers not resolved in a satisfactory manner caused the Los Angeles Better Business Bureau to rate Reunion.com 'F' in late 2008.[9] The BBB was concerned that the company used misleading advertising practices by e-mailing customers advising them that people 'may' be searching for them, and offers them to become paid members to find the identity of any people that may search for them in the future. In its FAQ section, the Reunion.com site describes this feature as follows: "'Who's Searching For You' will reveal the listed names of the specific users who have performed a search using your first and last (current or maiden) names and your age range within 5 years of your listed date of birth and is still saved in their Search History'.[10]

By late 2010, the rating had gone to 'A+', and the following summary and analysis of customer complaints and company responses was given:
“ Complainants generally allege that the company automatically renews memberships and debits accounts. Some customers report signing up for the service based on a low monthly rate but are charged for a non-refundable yearly or a lesser term subscription up-front. In some cases, complainants are dissatisfied that their information is posted on the company’s website and request its removal. The company generally responds by providing refunds and states that accounts are set to auto-renew at the end of the subscription term, unless the customer disables the auto-renew feature before the renewal is processed. In response to the amount of the charges, they state that customers signed up for a term account with a monthly subscription rate billed up-front for the entire term and is listed in several places on the order page. The company promptly removes profiles when requested and also states that the information was gathered from public sources.[11] ”

Less than a year later, the rating again went to 'F' and the company's accreditation was revoked, with the following factors cited as reasons:[12]

BBB Accreditation was revoked because business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB
1185 complaint(s) filed against business
Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints
Advertising issue(s) found by BBB

The advertising issue was explained by the BBB as follows:
“ On June 20, 2011, we wrote to this company asking them to modify their website disclosures to more clearly advertise the cost of their services. Customers generally complain that they are charged for the annual membership fee rather than the monthly amount displayed on the webpage. The current offer does not display an asterisk to alert the member of additional conditions associated with the price offer. The asterisk that is on the webpage is not in close proximity to the price offer, and is in microscopic print on a gray background using gray font. We believe that the information referenced by asterisks should be clearly and prominently disclosed. The explanation of the asterisks is below the pricing information and is obviously confusing to consumers as delineated by the complaints we receive. The company submitted a response on July 13, 2011. The company generally disagrees with the BBB that their pricing methods are deceptive, and feels that the disclosures the BBB felt were questionable adequately convey the terms and conditions of the offer.[12] ”

References

^ Yahoo! Finance Reunion.com, Inc. Company Profile
^ a b Business Wire, April 16, 2007 Reunion.com Receives $25M Funding From Oak Investment Partners
^ Quantcast.com
^ http://www.businessinsider.com/these-19-social-networks-are-still-bigger-than-google-2011-7#13-deviantart-an-online-community-for-artists-to-share-and-display-their-work-384-million-7
^ a b David Lazarus in Los Angeles Times, April 16, 2007 Too much Contact at this Reunion
^ Mediapost.com
^ socalTECH.com, July 22, 2008 Interview with Jeff Tinsley, Reunion.com
^ Reunion.com FAQ (accessed November 21, 2007) How do I turn off automatic renewal?
^ "Company Report". Better Business Bureau. Retrieved December 11, 2008. (now redirects to current report)
^ Reunion.com FAQ (accessed November 21, 2007) What is Who's Searching for You?
^ "BBB Business Review of My Life". Better Business Bureau. Retrieved November 22, 2010. (current report; may change)
^ a b "BBB Business Review of My Life". Better Business Bureau. Retrieved October 20, 2011. (current report; may change)
Mylif3isAscam Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

invasion of privacy big time

the link below is for the complaint form @ consumer-action.org. i'd suggest contacting your local news stations as well. the more exposure; the more people people will realize the blatant disregard for one's right to privacy.

http://www.consumer-action.org/hotline/complaint_form/
Mean Lawyer Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

invasion of privacy big time

I too have had my personal data stolen and made public by this disgusting pig of a company. Such reckless behavior can inflict real damages on consumers and thus be actionable in a court of law. I hope someone soon sues this horrible organization and puts it out of business. By the way, I don't think it is an accident that contacting MyLife is so difficult. They are obviously hiding because they have a lot to hide.
JuliePooh51265 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

MyLife.com hijacked my name illegally

The first question that pops into my head is, are you the only person on this whole planet with your name? Is it possible it's someone else with the same name that might have gotten linked to you somehow?
H8fatpeepL Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

MyLife.com hijacked my name illegally

the BBB is of no use - MyLife.com took your information from a random search and created (they have a program that takes this information and populates it into a form to assign new accounts - to make their 'usage' seem like everyone wants their service to show potential investors that more people are signing up with them, etc.)
the program grabs your information and populates into a new account
information can include anything
you won't get a response from them
you need to contact the federal communications commission
Teraxy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

MyLife.com hijacked my name illegally

MyLife.com apparently hijacked my name. I never signed up with them, I never wanted to be listed on their garbage web site, I never consented to be linked to them. I never knew of them. Without taking my consent, without informing me, without a submission from me (to open an account with them), they stole my name from somewhere apparently and added my name to their web site, which I found out coincidentally.

I sent them an e-mail asking to remove/delete/erase my name from their garbage web site instantly, and to delete the URL to my name. It is impossible to follow their "delete my account" instructions to delete the illegally obtained account under my name.

I will inform their BBB, Attorney General, and other officials if they refuse to delete/remove/erase "my account" with them, which they opened illegally, without my permission, consent, and knowledge.

MyLife.com apparently is operated by criminals.
H8fatpeepL Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Low class identity thieves and scam artists

but...did you cancel?

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username