Submit a Complaint

Orbitz.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Orbitz.com

AAHelpTeam Send email
 
Mar 5, 2012

Orbitz doesn't stand behind their insurance

Hello –

Jackie from the Help Team here. We sympathize with you, and we’re sorry to hear that you had to cancel your trip due to a migraine. There is a specific requirement within your travel insurance policy that a medical condition must be disabling enough to make a reasonable person cancel their trip, and that a doctor must examine you within 72 hours of your cancellation. Please email our Help Team with your policy number and full details of your situation at [email protected], and someone will further investigate your claim.

Regards,
Jackie
Dalileo Send email
 
Mar 5, 2012

Orbitz doesn't stand behind their insurance

I had to xl my flight which was very important besides the sentiment behind it, due to a 2 day migraine on the same day I was suppose to take off. On the very same day, in the PM, I felt better and wanted to rebook for the next day. They said I could use the ticket if booked before May 2012. I have reached out to them for 4 days now with no response whatsoever! Now my vacation is almost over and I do not get another until next year!

I demand a refund of all money exchanged with these companies! I am also going to the BBB and putting in a complaint! I demand a credit on my cc immediatley!

I planned my vacation to Ohio. It would've been my Mother and Father's 60th wedding anniversary;sadly my Father passed in November. Also my sister was there visiting from memohis who I never see.I had a 2 day migraine and had to xl my flight with orbitz yet had purchased travel insurance through Access America. The same PM of the day I was to leave originally, I started feeling better. It has been 4 days now and I have not heard a word from anybody to get my flight rebooked! NOT A WORD! I wanted to rebook it the very same day I canceled. Orbitz customer service didn't helpt at all;advised me to get in touch with Access America! I cannot! They will not respond! Now it is too late for my trip andI am reporting both companies to BBB..unless they agree to give me a refund. The agreement was I was able to rebook before May 2010..hellloooo? I spent $453+...they want something from a Dr according to the site... which I didn't need to go to;I've had migraines my whole life! This has been a disheartened time and I have spend everyday in bed crying. I will NEVER do business with ORBITZ! Here I come BBB.

I just received 2 different emails, one from a csr named "Sara", who used CAPITAL LETTERS, stating she needed all my Dr infor, (which I have told them, I didn't have to go to the Dr, have had migraines my whole life, and wanted proof of purchase, flight etc. I sent them all of that twice!!! Now my vacation is a few days short of being over and they're telling me after I submit a Drs document, which I'll never have and the infor for thr rest which they already have. That it'd be 5-7 days to consider my claim! These people have completely ruined an extremely important family week, it will never return. I wanted to book a flight again as I let them know within 15ish hours of canceling it! I want all of my money refunded an I will let everyone know about Orbitz and their bad customer service and insurance.
MauiAL50 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam

because the OP said the deals disappeared when he refreshed the page or went to another page to see what other sites offered. So my suggestion was to open another tab instead of leaving the Orbitz page.
MauiAL50 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam

You do know that you can open a second tab for the page you want to compare, right?
Ozzydado Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam

This is quite simple. I am not an IT expert but it seems my IP, any IP gets recorded on any original queue when plugged in @ Orbitz.com.
Big deal? well..it is for me, 'cause as I refresh my page or visit another site to compare my original quote ..what happens? The rate is not longer available, seats are all gone and .. BINGO! RATE'S INCREASED 150, 200 OR EVEN 300 $ !This may take less than a minute, at most.
This is ridiculous. This is plain playing and trying to steal from innocent people who believe on the convenience of this crap online agency's promotions and added value.
I am so sorry for those who "believe" this last minute deal is not longer available..in a matter or seconds!!!
PLEASE, STAY AWAY FROM THIS SITE.
PLEASE, SOMEONE WITH ENOUGH POWER DO SOMETHING HERE AND EXECUTE WHATEVER MAY BE NEEDED TO PROTECT HONEST CONSUMERS
Orbitz Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Uncompromizing bad service

My name is Kristi, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at [email protected] and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further. Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.
Sincerely,
Kristi
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Petitchat Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Uncompromizing bad service

Same for me.

In November 2010 I booked an expensive ticket to India and had to cancel. Before canceling I asked if I could use my ticket at some other time . They said I had one year to use it and would only have to pay a price difference. I called multiple times - and every time I was given the same information. 7 months later, I called to rebook. I was - again - told I had until november 11' to rebook. The moment I was transferred to the international department to book, I was informed that I only had 6 month to use my open ticket and had passed my deadline. After hours and hours on the phone, they said they would send a refund request to the airline for half of the ticket. On August 9th I received an email saying the refund request was processed at Orbitz and sent to the airline. 3 month later - still no money in my bank account - I call them only to hear that an "email" requesting a refund was sent to the airline on October 20th. They claim they sent me an email on the same day (which I never got). I asked to speak to the supervisor, and she was very rude, and did not apologize. I never received an apology for giving me the wrong information about the rebooking status. Orbitz is stealing money.
Cyrphoto23 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Uncompromizing bad service

Had booked a flight and had to cancel because of an emergency. Was on the phone forever before I was able to talk to an agent that basically told me they could exchange the ticket, but did not refund tickets. They she put me a phony hold saying she was talking to the airline, that was not quite long enough to call anyone and still said there was nothing she could do. I canceled the ticket but all money was lost. If I choose to rebook I will have to pay another $100 to process it. Stay away from this company, they say no fees, but instead they take everything without even negoiationg any kind of compromise.
Orbitz Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Awful experience

Hi,
My name is Kristi and I am contacting you from Orbitz Customer Relations. If you could e-mail me your Orbitz record locator to [email protected], I will be glad to review your concerns. Please place the e-mail to my attention, and please include your blog and screen name.
Thanks,
Kristi
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Keikismomx3 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Awful experience

I will never use Orbitz again. No seats on airlines after several requests and promises; long holds with customer service who just read scripted answers; not able to check in online or select seeats; airline counter said they can do nothing with Orbitz tickets; at least 5-6 hours of customer service time to resolve with only one resolution and no answers. I WILL NOT USE ORBITZ AGAIN. Not worth my time. Very unprofessional.
Heywood Jablowme Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Terrible Customer Service

And maybe you should be promoting Orbitz? "They lost my reservations and still got me home!" But no, you want everyone to kiss your princess ass, huh?
Anneofgg Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Terrible Customer Service

Orbitz "lost" my reservation and I almost missed my flight home for Christmas. After admitting their mistake, I demanded they at least refund me their 60 dollar service fee. They agreed and it has been a month and I have called several times and have had equally terrible service and no refund.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username