Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Panera Bread

United States,
Florida

Consumer complaints and reviews about Panera Bread

Vg89209 Send email
 
Apr 13, 2019

Diarrhea and stomach cramping

On 3/30 went to Panera bread. I had a tuna sandwich with only lettuce and white cheddar cheese. Had severe abdominal cramping and diarrhea for the next two days. I wasn't sure if it was panera because the day before I ate taco bell which can give you a toxic swell. However after going to panera again on 4/12 and again having a tuna sandwich with only lettuce and white cheddar, within the hour after eating panera the exact same symptoms of abdominal cramping and diarrhea. I reported to “iwaspoisoned.com” which says they also report info to cdc etc... wont be eating at panera for a long long long time if ever again.
Jorge l Send email
 
Jan 15, 2019

Food poisonings

On 1/14/2019 I aet a salat and a sandwich at Panera bread around 4:00 am I started with stomach pains,cramps,nausea and is 1:08 pm 1/14/2019 still in bead don’t know what to do
Bryanfromzion Send email
 
Dec 12, 2018

Food poisoning

Ordered cream of chicken wild rice and within an hr of eating I was so nauseous I had to throw up , I have now thrown up 3 times in the 2hrs since I consumed. I had no prior symptoms and was fine before I ate this. I will never go here again. My body is my temple and I know when I have been poisoned, it's happened 3 times in my 40 years on this earth. On top of them always messing up my order ,just like today I was charged for a bread bowl I didnt recieve and spent 27 dollars to be poisoned. Thanks Panera bread. This happened at the val vista and baseline road location.
Rhirhi Send email
 
Sep 21, 2018

Sick every time

I love Panera. It’s quick and easy and healthy, or so I thought. I got the Mac and cheese (total guilty pleasure) and a chicken Caesar salad. An hour later and I had several bouts of TERRIBLE diarrhea and I was throwing up for several hours the next morning - on a plane to Los a Angeles. I have had food allergy testing done and it looks like I am allergic to most of the things in their food and there are A LOT used at once like someone else here said. I don’t know what the deal is but I get severely sick after eating f ANYTHING from Panera. Sad, but must avoid - for my own sake. Save yourselves!
s7pitcher Send email
 
Jun 12, 2018

Very Sick

Yesterday my office ordered lunch and I got the spicy thai chicken salad with a fruit cup. An hour later I got violently ill and had to leave work. I went home and took ant-nausea meds and went to sleep. I'm still very dizzy today and I submitted a complaint into Panera. Now I'm out money from missed work because of their lack of ability to serve the good quality food that they advertise.
Djlmullins Send email
 
Apr 12, 2018

Chicken made my dog sick

I bought the Strawberry Poppyseed Salad yesterday. I’ve never liked the taste of their meats, but thought it was just a conflict with my personal tastebuds. I crumbled up the chicken and gave it to my sweet little 3 y/o chihuahua/corgi mix pup (before putting the dressing on it). Within an hour of eating it, she was hacking and coughing like something was stuck in her throat. She finally managed to gag it up. Then, she started frantically licking the floor...bizarre! I took her outside and she started to just as frantically EAT GRASS! I knew that dogs would eat grass to relieve stomach issues but I’d never seen anything like this! A starving cow wouldn’t even be this aggressive! When she finally finished, I brought her back inside. She didn’t vomit anymore, but has just lay around since. She occasionally coughs a few times like something is still stuck in her throat. She is drinking water but hasn’t eaten anything all day today. I’m giving her another day to get better or we’re heading to the vet. Does anybody have any idea WHY this happened? I’m never going back again.
Nickibee83 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2018

Fever after Mac n cheese

Daughter was mysteriously getting fevers that would only last about 24 hrs. Connected the dots and it happens about a day after she eats the Panera kids Mac n cheese. It's happened at least 3-4 times. I feel horrible I didn't catch on sooner and looked at the ingredients she's probably having an allergic reaction. Definitely not down for Panera especially not ever getting the Mac n cheese again.
Karen Grace Solak Send email
 
Mar 25, 2018

Vomiting and stomach pain

I recently had their protein salad with extra greens. Huge mistake. Thinking back, I usually get stomach issues from their salads but always thought it could be from something else. However, this was extremely bad. I was out of commission all day and felt the worse I have ever felt! Please do not order the salads of any kind there!
TINALOU53 Send email
 
Mar 14, 2018

FOOD

CAFE #4183, STUART FLORIDA PHONE 772-678-7480

ORDERED A CUP OF BROCCOLI CHEDDER SOUP WITH A HALF OF TURKEY APPLE CHEDDER SANDWICH. I SAT DOWN WITH MY FOOD, THE SANDWICH HAD NO MEAT ON IT, ONLY APPLE, CHEDDER AND LETTUCE. WENT BACK UP TO THE COUNTER AND SHOWED THE LADY THAT MY SANDWICH ORDER WAS INCORRECT, AND THE LADY LITERALLY PICKED UP A HANDFUL OF TURKEY AND DROPPED IT ON MY SANDWICH UP ON THE COUNTER, RUDELY. DID NOT EVEN BOTHER TO TAKE THE PLATE AND DO IT BEHIND THE COUNTER. THE GENTLEMAN STANDING BESIDE ME JUST STOOD WIDE EYED.

ORDERED A CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE WITH MY MEAL, IT WAS HARD AS A ROCK AND TASTED BURNT.

I LOVE PANERA, AND THIS WAS VERY DISAPPOINTING TO ME.

MY 2 FRIENDS THAT WERE WITH ME ON LUNCH BREAK HAD ISSUES ALSO. ONE HAD A CHICKEN TYPE SANDWICH AND ALL THE MEAT ON THE SANDWICH WAS GRIZZLE AND FAT. SHE TOOK IT TO THE SAME LADY AT THE COUNTER AND THE LADY WAS EXTREMELY RUDE TO HER.

I DID NOT GET THE LADY'S NAME AS NO ONE WAS WEARING NAME BADGES. HOWEVER, WHEN YOU PAY $14 DOLLARS FOR LUNCH YOU EXPECT IT TO BE GOOD AND PLEASANT.

THIS WAS NOT PLEASANT.
panera Send email
 
Feb 2, 2018

Online ordering

Ordered Deluxe Assortment for 25 people and only 10 half sandwiches were delivered. Called Customer Care to find out that I have to calculate how much food I need before placing the order online. Does that make sense? Originally spoke with the catering manager at Chester, VA who told me to go online and order. Thank you for the customer service - not.

I just can't process that I have to calculate my food order online. Will not ever do this again.
purplecity Send email
 
Nov 6, 2017

Throat Pain after eating at Panera

Weeks ago I ate a large round chocolate chip cookie from Panera and I was fine. Then I had it the next week and got sick. Then I stopped eating the cookies because they aren't covered in any kind of way. The cookies are on trays behind a tall glass and you look through the glass at the cookies. but the cookies aren't covered. Also I had sandwiches at Panera bread over 7 times and all times I had something wrong with my throat after eating. Many times I would get either a scratchy throat, a itchy throat, or just strange throat pain. And twice I had trouble speaking after eating there, and that was the last two times I ate there. Now I just decided recently not to eat there anymore! To me I think the food contains to many allergenic ingredients in one meal at a time, and possible high levels of glutens or something else irritating in the bread! and also I believe the food isn't as well kept as it should be and that the policy and procedures on how to deal with the food isn't as sanitary and as strict as it should be.
Robinnoodle Send email
 
Aug 30, 2017

Diarrhea at parena

Same thing happened to me. It had a Cobb salad too (among other things). However, I got without avocado and didn't eat any of the dressing either. I got sick every time I eat there. It must be the salads (I always have one among other things). My friend got a sandwich and didn't have any problems. It must be a contamination issue. I think I'm better, but everytime I eat or an hour or two has passed, there's that good ol' diarrhea again..... Dman you Panera....... :/..... Watch out guys!!!! Cheers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lol. :).
Coty Send email
 
Jul 28, 2017

I got stomach pain and diarrhea

I ate a Cobb salad at 2pm. By 8:30 I had severe cramping and extreme stomach pain and diarrhea. Never again. For several hours.
John316too Send email
 
Jun 17, 2017

Food poisoning

I had breakfast today at the Panera Bread on Chapman Ave., at State College Blvd., in Fullerton, CA. I ordered a spinach & bacon soufflé and a cup of coffee. I had 2 cups of coffee, one with half & half and the other with skim milk.

Within 1/2 hr. to 45 mins. after finishing my meal I had diarrhea. It had to be from eating at this establishment as I had not eaten anything else.

I reported the problem to the Panera Brea location.
John316too Send email
 
Jun 17, 2017

Food poisoning

Today (June 16, 2017) I went to Panera Bread on Chapman Ave. at State College Blvd. in Fullerton, CA. for breakfast, and within 1/2 hr. to 45 mins. after eating I had diarrhea. It had to be from something I ate there as I had not eaten anything else this morning. I had a spinach & bacon soufflé and a cup of coffee with half & half, then a second cup of coffee with skim milk.

I called the Panera Bread location to report the problem.
Maya4Max Send email
 
Jun 10, 2017

Stomach Pain and Diarrhea

I used to love Panera but after my experience and reading everyone else's complaints I'm not so sure anymore. About a year ago I got their cesar salad and I got stomach pain and diarrhea after I had it but I didn't think much of it because I used to get a lot of stomach pain every week. I usually get their sandwiches or chicken noodle soup which never bothers me. A couple months ago I got the Cesar salad again and I got the same symptoms as I did the last time I got it. I thought it was something else that I ate that was causing this so I got it again a couple weeks after this. When I got it again I had stomach pain and diarrhea for 5 HOURS AT LEAST!! I decided to never get their salad bc it ruined my day and made me feel awful. My dad got Panera's Cobb salad around 12:00. It's 6:30pm and HE IS STILL HAVING PAIN!!! I told him this happened to me so he knows that it's the salad. I'm writing this because I want to warn people TO NEVER GET THE SALADS AT PANERA!!! Although they taste good IT IS NOT WORTH THE PAIN!!!! If you are reading this and you or someone you know went through this please write a complaint because eating that one salad can ruin your whole day. Whenever I had the salad I had to go to the bathroom every 15 minutes or so while I had stomachaches that lasted the whole afternoon and into the beginning of the night. I will try to write a complaint on their website to see what they will say and hopefully help people avoid taking 500 trips to the bathroom. I'm now scared to go to Panera due to all these incidents and I will not be going there anymore. PLEASE SAVE YOURSELF FROM HAVING DIARRHEA AND STOMACH PAIN!!!!! WRITE A COMPLAINT IF YOU OR ANYONE ELSE YOU KNOW EXPERIANCED VOMITING, STOMACHACHES, DIARRHEA, ETC!!! Hope this help y'all and answered some of your questions!
aeberg Send email
 
May 16, 2017

Your soup

So I went to Panera on Mother's Day with my mom and I ordered soup. As I was eating it, my throat starting hurting like Satan himself was stabbing me 50 times. It's Tuesday now and I'd like some answers
SickAsADog Send email
 
May 15, 2017

Mac and cheese

I have a pretty sensitive stomach due to my Crohn's disease. Usually I don't have a problem with Panera, ?$5 something in their Mac and cheese made my stomach feel like the insides of stomach were coming out. On top of that, I had to go to work and was running to the restroom every 5-10 minutes. They have the slogan "good, clean food" but only clean thing about it was it cleaned out my Bowels from the diarrhea.
Tiffinfla Send email
 
Apr 28, 2017

food poisoning from napa chicken salad

3 weeks ago I ordered the chicken salad sandwich and it tasted sour... I called them and threw away the sandwich. I went back in yesterday and had the chicken salad on a bagel... it was the only thing I ate yesterday... that night I was ravaged with crippling stomach pains and violent diarrhea... I then vomited up that sandwich... I am still sick and had to miss work today and most likely tomorrow... been trying to drink pedialyte and gingerale... I called the manager and he was very nice, insisting that their food storage tempuratures are kept at the proper number.... I should have never taken a second chance after the first sandwich was spoiled
GRob Send email
 
Feb 27, 2017

Food Poisoning Turkey Chili

I have the turkey chili from Panera. everybody was very nice and polite. got the pic two and so did my husband. He got a different meal he got a sandwich in the french onion soup- I got the cashew chicken salad and the turkey chili. Everything seem to taste fine. However within hours of eating the turkey chili I was very sick. I believe I had food poisoning . It was vomiting and diarrhea . I did call and report it to the location they said they hadn't heard from anybody else about this but I just wanted people to know just in case. Excuse the lack of capitalization I am using my voice activated writing because I'm just too weak to type all this
Vitavigilans Send email
 
Feb 23, 2017

Panera Bread

Drafted this quickly on my phone please forgive all the typos. Ate there tonight, Feb 22nd around 6pm. Ate chicken tortilla type of soup and half green Cobb salad? Sorry but I'm not sure on the exact names. anyway when I walked in, looked around and inquired with the sweet but Clueless girl at the counter my gut instinct told me that maybe this place was going to be a mistake. It looked organized and in disrepair with too many staff members around. I wondered if they were training a new group of employees because the girl who helped me seemed nervous and new and there are way too many employees for the few customers they had in there. Things also looked messy in a shambles on the floor in and behind the counter area and there was a guy fixing or cleaning a machine but it didn't look like he normally worked there. The tables were slow to be wiped off so I sat next to a dirty table for a while. This could probably all be overlooked if my food had not made me sick. but before I get to that let me digress that as I waited for my food I saw guy a young thin Guy come out of the kitchen area and straight to the men's restroom he was in there for such a short amount of time and I never heard water running like he was washing his hands all I heard was a toilet flush and he immediately came out and quickly went back into the kitchen. Gross and he did not look like he was the type to care with his demeanor...i wpuld place money on it that he did not wash his hands. Okay so now onto the food. The salad tasted ok but the chicken soup did not and I might have to make myself barf it up to keep myself from being so sick right now. I'm not saying it wasn't the salad they got me sick but there was something about the chicken soup when I saw it and started eating it that told me I should take it back up to the counter and get my money back and run for the Hills. But I was tired and hungry and short on time so I convinced myself I was imagining things and kept eating. I ate most of the soup except for the large piece of chicken that just did not look right. I also spit out a few pieces of chicken that didn't taste right into my napkins. I know this seems crazy that I would do this and not complain but anyone who's a full-time working parent or single parent knows sometimes you ignore those voices because you're so tired and just not thinking right. Well it was really fast that that chicken soup started to work on me and since I've come home and even on the drive home after eating it I immediately started to have pains in my stomach and I feel like the soup is up in my throat and I've been Non-Stop sitting on the toilet having diarrhea like exorcist sttle and my stomach feels hot to the touch. In fact I think I'm going to go stick my finger in my throat now so I don't incur emergency room bills later. This is no joke.
do the right thing! Send email
 
Jan 26, 2017

FOOD POISONING

I am writing to make everyone aware of a situation with Panera Bread. On 3/1/2016,I traveled out of state for a business trip. During this trip I bought an $11.00 lunch (Chicken Fontega Sandwich and a cup of broccoli/cheddar soup. One of my co-workers bought the same lunch with the exception of the soup being French Onion. Within 4 hours - we were both feeling ill. Being a decent human, I was afraid others may get sick so I called Panera to give them a heads up that it must have been the chicken that had made us ill.

Within 12 hours, I had to be taken to an emergency room in ORL (remember, I live out of state). I had begun to bleed from the rectum, and was throwing up violently.
That $11.00 lunch has cost be over $3000 out of pocket on medical bills. Nationwide is their insurance company and they are not taking responsibility. I am a professional - I am not an opportunist! All I want is for them to pay my out of pocket expenses. I don't want their money for PAIN AND SUFFERING! This has now become about principle and holding Panera responsible for their negligence. I am going to fight this company if it takes me years to make it right.
shaun22ny Send email
 
May 6, 2016

Panera Bread Company

My co worker and myself have been getting seriously ill with horrible pains for months. The pains were so bad at times that we couldn't even walk. We couldn't figure out what was causing it. We both thought we had a hernia or cancer. We had recently moved our office across the street from Panera. We would frequent Panera everyday practically because it was so convenient. We started to believe that it was Panera and stayed away and ate elsewhere. Since then it has been 3 weeks and we have both had no pain at all. I believe something in Panera's bread is poising people.
suraksha Send email
 
Apr 24, 2016

tomato soup at panera bread

I had bowl of tomato soup and salad,pick 2,at Panera Bread ,aspen hill shopping in silver spring,MD on 4/20. That evening and till 12mn I had belly pain,nausea and severe diarrhea which has lasted 4 days.I blame the soup because it was the first time I had it in Panera. I would request attention to the sanitation and cleanliness in the kitchen there.
06mimi Send email
 
Nov 12, 2015

bad lettuce

I had their salad and the lettuce was vomiting and had diarrhea for hours. i will never get the salad.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    EDCON/JET - New Account
    I went to open a new clothing account at Jet on the 11th...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Stuck 10 hari
    ERA134522560MY ERA134513700MY Stuck dri 14hb. Nak...
    Unifi billing sysytem - Wrong charging
    23/5/2019 Pengurusan Kredit & Kutipan Telekom...
    cbse - Complaining about revaluation
    I'm Shreyansh Agarwal and I had once got my copies...
    POS LAJU - Late delivery
    Item shipped on the 18th May 2019. Consignment dispatched...
    apple couture kebaya lateefa - Barang belum terima
    Barang saya belum terima sehingga sekarang Tracking no...
    Microsoft OneDrive - Unauthorized access to OneDrive
    This evening, shortly after 20:00 someone accessed my...
    MasterCraft/French doors - Leaking
    I bought a set of outside French doors for my kitchen...
    Nor Cal Truck sales - reseller
    A re seller of Google services has contacted me and has...
    Tele- Aid by Mercedez Benz - discontinue service and refund to credit card
    Dear Sir/ Madam, I would like to discontinue the tele-...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    EDCON/JET - New Account
    I went to open a new clothing account at Jet on the 11th...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Stuck 10 hari
    ERA134522560MY ERA134513700MY Stuck dri 14hb. Nak...
    Unifi billing sysytem - Wrong charging
    23/5/2019 Pengurusan Kredit & Kutipan Telekom...
    cbse - Complaining about revaluation
    I'm Shreyansh Agarwal and I had once got my copies...
    POS LAJU - Late delivery
    Item shipped on the 18th May 2019. Consignment dispatched...
    apple couture kebaya lateefa - Barang belum terima
    Barang saya belum terima sehingga sekarang Tracking no...
    Microsoft OneDrive - Unauthorized access to OneDrive
    This evening, shortly after 20:00 someone accessed my...
    MasterCraft/French doors - Leaking
    I bought a set of outside French doors for my kitchen...
    Nor Cal Truck sales - reseller
    A re seller of Google services has contacted me and has...
    Tele- Aid by Mercedez Benz - discontinue service and refund to credit card
    Dear Sir/ Madam, I would like to discontinue the tele-...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username