Submit a Complaint

Peak Sails

United States,
Washington

Consumer complaints and reviews about Peak Sails

hogroamer Send email
 
Apr 5, 2021

Hard to make contact

I called Peak Sails on 4/1/21 to place an order. I had to leave a voicemail message. When they returned my call four hours later, I had no cell service. I called back that afternoon, then again on 4/2. As of noon on 4/5, I have not received a call back. After reading their complaints of poor communication and delays, I've decided to go to North Sails, despite having to pay a 40% premium.
hogroamer Send email
 
Apr 5, 2021

Hard to make contact

I called Peak Sails April 1st (2021). Unfortunately, when they called back, four hours later, I was at a location with no signal. I called back a couple hours later and left another message. I called again on the 2nd and have not received a call back as of 4/5 at 11:00 AM. Being sent to voicemail 3 out of 3 times gave me a bad feeling about their responsiveness. After reading their reviews of poor communications and late deliveries. I've decided to go to North Sales despite the 40% price premium. Peak had several responses that these complaints are an effort to sabotage them by a few individuals. I assure you I am legitimate and this will be my one and only review.
Philwsailz Send email
 
Oct 15, 2019

Stay away from Peak Sails

Short and sweet my experience was exactly as shared in the other threads below. I waited 4 months. No sail. Poor communication and unmet promises. I contacted me credit card company directly and had the down payment and final payments credited back to my account.

If you choose to try to purchase from this outfit, use a credit card you know will have your back. You will likely be disappointed.

Rotten Tomatoes review: -10
Peak Sails North America Send email
 
Sep 27, 2019

RE: Response

Dear Mr. Folds.

Are you inferring that Peak Sails does not have the right to publicly respond to the comment and reviews on this site? Doesn't seem very fair, especially when considering what was found in our port below.

You make a very bold claim that "none of us (the posters) have profited by taking the time to write the reviews". How could you possibly know this?

Please take a look at the review entitled "Bait & Switch". This individual has posted this nonsense on several sites and there is little truth in his claims. Check with the BBB. He tried it there and his complaint was actually closed by them.

Why? He attempted to extort over $1,000.00 for repairs to his mainsail and jib. We contacted the loft who supposedly did all this work and they told us that he had work done on the mainsail. There was no discussion, nor did he bring the jib in. Additionally, the $1,000.00 bill included custom made luggage the loft makes.

Summer Wang is our Chief Financial Officer and is hardly unprofessional. What was unprofessional was your breaking the terms and conditions of our Agreement with you.

Should any reader have questions about this or the other complaints contained herein, please contact us at [email protected]
John Folds Send email
 
Aug 15, 2019

Response

I find it very inappropriate to be dismissive about our comments. None of us have profited by taking the time to write these reviews. I myself missed out on doing a break in run on a new sail when I was forced to go with a different vendor when Peak Sails was unresponsive days before my trip. Peak Sails did recently send me an email wondering how I liked my product, the product I never received. I responded, and once again, no response from them.

I also felt it was very unprofessional for Summer Wang to say good luck finding a similar sail at a similar price in the time needed when I cancelled the charge on my card. I found a great sail, at a great price from a vendor who picks up the phone
Peak Sails North America Send email
 
Aug 10, 2019

Important Information Regarding These Reviews

Based on information provided to us by the Better Business Bureau, Peak Sails has determined that a group of four to six individuals are involved in an active campaign to damage our reputation via the posting of misleading and false information. In addition to this site, we have found similar and identical posts on other sailing related forums.

Social media today can be a wonderful tool for both consumers and businesses alike. However, in some instances, it can be very difficult to deal with negative information that has been posted by an anonymous source.

One only needs to look at reviews on your family physician, your favorite restaurant or where you shop.

No business is immune from it. Some of it is deserved and some is simply from customers you can never make happy.

Businesses can and do make mistakes. We need to accept and learn from them. However, the ones that are false or embellished are frustrating.

Peak Sails has built over 15,000 sails since opening sits doors for business. We offer a three-year warranty on both material and workmanship defects. The quality of our sails is the same or better than any other sailmaker.

Consumers should be aware that this website is nothing more than a vehicle for generating revenue through advertisements placed throughout the site. They do not monitor complaints or their accuracy. We strongly suggest you click the Terms of Service link at the bottom of this page. It is an eyeful.

We have analyzed the “complaints” on this site from 2017 to present. There is a total of 24. However, 14 of the 24 are duplicates. Some of these duplicates are from an individual who resides in India. We have never received or shipped an order there.

Of the ten remaining, we emailed each. The majority were bounced back as an invalid email address and the remaining few did not reply.

The sole complaint in 2019 illuminates what is wrong with these sites. The customer ordered a sail and it was shipped within 72 hours. How can this be considered a valid complaint?

After we deducted the duplicate complaints and the one in 2019, this is the resulting distribution:

2019: 0
2018: 5
2017: 4

Are the remaining 9 valid? Based on content alone, we would disagree with some and would like more information on others. However, with bad email addresses or lack of response, there is not much we can do.

Please contact us [email protected] should you have any questions.
John Folds Send email
 
Feb 28, 2019

No response after they charged my card

I specifically ordered from them because they said they had my sail in stock and it would ship in a week. After they charged my card they have not returned phone calls or emails. I will be disputing the charges if I do not hear back by tomorrow.
dougdavis Send email
 
Oct 12, 2018

Sham

Don't order from here. You will not get any response from them except for invoices. Its been 4 months and no sail yet.
runaway Send email
 
Sep 13, 2018

peak sails

complete ripoff , thieves ,liars ,cheats .Don't even think about it . got my money back from PayPal.
runaway Send email
 
Sep 13, 2018

total ripoff

complete ripoff ,liars, thieves .got my money back from PayPal . don't even consider these rats !
runaway Send email
 
Sep 13, 2018

peak sails

complete ripoff ,thieves ,cheats. don't even think of it .Got my money back through PayPal .
wpcheadle Send email
 
Aug 25, 2018

Sail Built Wrong, no resppnse from Peak

In January 2017, I ordered a new mainsail for my Dufour 36 using the SailPay program. With the original delivery date long past my last payment I began to inquire as to when the sail would arrive. Several phone calls and emails went unanswered. Then I received word there was a customs issue. Long story short, the sail did finally arrive, though with some unnecessary angst on my part, which could have been avoided with better communications.

Fast forward to October 2017 when I gathered some prices for a new jib. Peak was not the lowest price, and although I did still have some unpleasant memory of the first transaction, I went again with Peak for the headsail. I chose the tri-radial design and placed the order via email on October 21, 2017. At first there was some correspondence back and forth regarding questions about UV cover color and luff rope size, which I answered. Peak specified "Max Luff:46'" in one email, and asked twice what color the UV cover should be, which to I answered both times "linen". After a protracted delay this time, and no answers to my status update requests, the sail arrived. The luff too long, and the UV color "natural". I let two weeks go by calling and leaving several messages, and emails numerous time, all without response. Finally, I filed a PayPal complaint, to which Peak did reply, blaming me for specifying the wrong luff measurement (which I did not) and selecting a UV color that was not available (they had two opportunities to tell me the color was not available). And, last but not least, the sail is a standard coastal cruising design, not the tri-radial I paid extra for. I still have the email chain that proves out the sequence I describe above.
Marvman1 Send email
 
Aug 13, 2018

Unresponsive customer service

Several calls made to request information on my order. Left messages but no response.
BillHVaughan Send email
 
Jul 31, 2018

Unresponsive Customer Service

I ordered two sails for my ComPac 16. The jib was true to size, however the mainsail was cut with a luff that was two feet too long. I have been sending emails to Customer Service ([email protected]) and calling Chris Stevens at 888-412-3754 (leaving voice messages) since June 25, 2018 and no response received. My boat and mainsail were in storage for just under 3 years, so I was at the end of the 3 year warranty when I initiated contact, however I am probably beyond the warranty period at this point.
AIRbndr Send email
 
Jul 30, 2018

IMPROPERLY BUILT SAIL

Totally wrong build. They built a cruising sail with reef points for a racing dinghy. Corrected the estimate and they built to the original wrong estimate anyway. Totally wrong logo on sail. Stitching over logo. Hard to remove. Very poor customer service. Company offered to pay for correct logo but do nothing about incorrect sail. BBB complaint pending decision. Company subs out work to foreign country
little or no quality control. Little or no customer service. THET SHOULBUY THIS SAIL BACK!
wpcheadle Send email
 
Jun 23, 2018

Sail Built Wrong, no resppnse from Peak

In January 2017, I ordered a new mainsail for my Dufour 36 using the SailPay program. With the original delivery date long past my last payment I began to inquire as to when the sail would arrive. Several phone calls and emails went unanswered. Then I received word there was a customs issue. Long story short, the sail did finally arrive, though with some unnecessary angst on my part, which could have been avoided with better communications.

Fast forward to the summer on 2017 when I gathered some prices for a new jib. peak was not the lowest price, and although I did still have some unpleasant memory of the first transaction, I went again with Peak for the headsail. At first there was some correspondence back and forth regarding questions about UV cover color and luff rope size, which I answered. Peak specified "Max Luff:46'" in one email, and asked twice what color the UV cover should be, which to I answered both times "linen". After a protracted delay this time, and no answers to my status update requests, the sail arrived. The luff too long, and the UV color "natural". I let two weeks go by calling and leaving several messages, and emails numerous time, all without response. Finally, I filed a PayPal complaint, to which Peak did reply, blaming me for specifying the wrong luff measurement (which I did not) and selecting a UV color that was not available (they had two opportunities to tell me the color was not available). I still have the email chain that proves out the sequence I describe above. Though no doubt Devlin or Stevens will attempt to discredit and/or insult me in some way. The facts my friends, and the facts.
wpcheadle Send email
 
Jun 23, 2018

Sail Built Wrong

In 2016 I ordered and received long after it was due, a mainsail for my Dufour 36 Classic. It was built correctly, but was a few months late in arriving. During that time, I tried contacting Peak for status updates, and all but the last couple of messages went unanswered. In spite of that experience, I ordered a new jib from Peak in 2017. It also was late in arriving, but it finally did. It showed up with the luff too long, and the wrong color UV cover. Now, I fully expect Mr. Devlin to dispute my claim that this was their fault - as they did when I tried to file a PayPal claim. But I have the email chain to prove my assertions. Further, they never - not once - responded to my calls and emails. Why not? If this was all my fault, why didn't Chris Stevens just call me back to tell me where I went wrong? The answer is obvious. Stay clear of these snakes. I have no qualms with the quality of my main, nor would I have any problem with the overall quality of the jib, had they built it correctly. Their customer service, or lack thereof, is a problem that is consistently raised throughout the online forums, as is their penchant for blaming the customer for their mistakes. Mistakes that it seems could be avoided with just a little more customer service effort on their part. It seems though, this lack of service is embedded in the culture of Peak Sails. Beware. I finally learned my lesson. The spinnaker order will go elsewhere.
Deepdish Send email
 
Mar 5, 2018

Be Ware of Peak Sails

Look at their reviews throughout the sailing community. They screwed me to of the purchase price of a jib and a mainsail. I ordered a Rhodes 19 Sail set they shipped me a main for a precision sailboat. Peak refused to make me whole after I complained the sail was not the same as a Rhodes. Peak currently has a one star rating on Yelp. Peak has spawned a series of disappointed customers over their lifetime(s) as a sail jobber.

Check their reviews throughout the online community. Their online history of bad business habits is starting again. I'm not seeing anything except complaints in the online community. They don't publish their physical address and only call you back on the phone after you leave a message.

They change their story constantly. Make sure that you get everything in writing. I ordered a Rhodes 19 Mainsail, I was invoiced for a Rhodes 19 Mainsail, and they shipped me a Precision 21 Main and claimed it was the same sail as a Rhodes 19. Not true! Take a look online and compare measurements

Spent the rest of four summer sails following their advice trying to get the sail to fit. It never fit no matter what. The even suggested I actually bend the mast to make the sail fit.

Peak Sails NA is very slippery and dodgy. They only do business through Paypal. This makes getting your refund almost impossible. It is pretty close to a swindle.

I ordered a jib in mid July. I paid for it on July 29, 2016 and it's over four weeks later. I have not gotten it yet. They say it is on the way from Asia and should be delivered to Peaksails NA soon and then sent on to me as a priority. Never Happened.

Steer far, far, away from these folk. They sell their mistakes and you get what you pay for.

On all their responses to on line complaints they have some put down or some half baked excuse. When the NY State Attorney General contacts them they don't respond. They never offer any real resolution. AND you never read posted reviews about how happy their customers are about their product and service.

There will be another response from Peak denying their chicanery. Merely look at their online reviews to see their business reputations
Deepdish Send email
 
Mar 5, 2018

Bait and Switch

Look at their reviews throughout the sailing community. They screwed me to of the purchase price of a jib and a mainsail. I ordered a Rhodes 19 Sail set they shipped me a main for a precision sailboat. Peak refused to make me whole after I complained the sail was not the same as a Rhodes. Peak currently has a one star rating on Yelp. Peak has spawned a series of disappointed customers over their lifetime(s) as a sail jobber.

Check their reviews throughout the online community. Their online history of bad business habits is starting again. I'm not seeing anything except complaints in the online community. They don't publish their physical address and only call you back on the phone after you leave a message.

They change their story constantly. Make sure that you get everything in writing. I ordered a Rhodes 19 Mainsail, I was invoiced for a Rhodes 19 Mainsail, and they shipped me a Precision 21 Main and claimed it was the same sail as a Rhodes 19. Not true! Take a look online and compare measurements

Spent the rest of four summer sails following their advice trying to get the sail to fit. It never fit no matter what. The even suggested I actually bend the mast to make the sail fit.

Peak Sails NA is very slippery and dodgy. They only do business through Paypal. This makes getting your refund almost impossible. It is pretty close to a swindle.

I ordered a jib in mid July. I paid for it on July 29, 2016 and it's over four weeks later. I have not gotten it yet. They say it is on the way from Asia and should be delivered to Peaksails NA soon and then sent on to me as a priority. Never Happened.

Steer far, far, away from these folk. They sell their mistakes and you get what you pay for.

On all their responses to on line complaints they have some put down or some half baked excuse. When the NY State Attorney General contacts them they don't respond. They never offer any real resolution. AND you never read posted reviews about how happy their customers are about their product and service.

There will be another response from Peak denying their chicanery. Merely look at their online reviews to see their business reputations
dwoodriff Send email
 
Feb 14, 2018

Peak Sails

I ordered a storm sail from Peak Sails in November for the Reuel Parker designed Egret Sharpie Yawl I am finishing up building, paid the deposit on 16 Nov 2017, received notice it was to be shipped and a request for the remainder of the payment on 28 Nov 2018.

I began to worry about the transaction in January, so called the office in Tysons Corner and was politely told it was shipped and should arrive soon. That was around 4 Jan 2018. The sail arrived the next week, I am pleased with it.

Dennis Woodriff
dwoodriff Send email
 
Feb 14, 2018

Purchase of Storm Sail

I ordered a storm sail for the Egret Sharpie Yawl I am finishing up in mid November 2017, paid the down payment and received notice hat it was almost finished on 28 Nov 2018 and paid the remainder of the cost then.

I hadn't received it by 1 Jan 2018, so began to worry and looked up this website, which caused more worry. Then I called the Peak Sails office in Tysons Corner, Va, the gentleman was very polite on the phone, and was told it had been shipped and should rive soon. I received it at the end of the following week and am very pleased with it.

Dennis Woodriff
JohninVA Send email
 
Feb 5, 2018

What We Have is a Failure to Communicate

This company is very difficult to communicate with, basically because they ignore you once they get the money. Yes, in the end I got my sails. No they were not correct. After ignoring my emails for 2 weeks trying to get the problem fixed they finally responded when I filed a charge back complaint through PayPal. At that point they quickly refunded me the amount I requested so that I could get the problem fixed myself (I was thankful for this). Sails seem to be great quality, not sure about fit yet as I can't put them on the boat until the spring. If you care about customer service and open dialogue with your sail maker, go elsewhere if you can afford it. If they are all you can afford, just be prepared.
Alfonso Nieves Send email
 
Jan 16, 2018

No product delivered

As I read the reviews I find myself with more frustration. I too have been trying to get a hold of someone in Peak Sails. They send me the wrong sail. Apparently my sail was sent to someone else and I finally got a response back in November telling me the situation which they would rectify. Said your sail is in production and will ship in 2 weeks. Since then countless emails and voicemail...no response. This is my second set of sails in one year. All I'm asking is follow through, respond and send me the sail I paid for.


Oklahoma City.
Alfonso Nieves Send email
 
Jan 16, 2018

No response

As I read the reviews I find myself with more frustration. I too have been trying to get a hold of someone in Peak Sails. They send me the wrong sail. Apparently my sail was sent to someone else and I finally got a response back in November telling me the situation which they would rectify. Said your sail is in production and will ship in 2 weeks. Since then countless emails and voicemail...no response. This is my second set of sails in one year. All I'm asking is follow through, respond and send me the sail I paid for.


Oklahoma City.
rsharp Send email
 
Dec 8, 2017

Finally received Peak Sail

I have removed the complaint against Peak Sails regarding waiting for my sail with no replies or information on the status of the build.
As of Dec 7 2017, I received the Head Sail I ordered back in Sept 1, 2017.
This complaint could have been simply avoided if someone from Peak Sails called or emailed me directly about the status of the sail rather than using a canned message sent months apart.

Current Locations:
Sales & Customer Service: Tysons Corner, VA
Engineering & Production: Hong Kong SAR

Customer relations and service in todays market is a more important than a low cost product.
Hopefully this sail is the right dimensions since the boat is now in storage and I won't know until next spring.
- Randy

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username