Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Pfizer / Tetracycline

United States,
New York

Consumer complaints and reviews about Pfizer / Tetracycline

Shyatt1057 Send email
 
Nov 16, 2017

Pfizer / Tetracyclene

I was given Tetracyclene in the early sixties for a respiratory infection. My father had suffered a year earlier, from an allergic reaction to Penicillin. Doctor was afraid I might be allergic too, so I was given the Tetracyclene. Obviously, I have received similar problems with my teeth. Stained gray, and suffering from broken, cracked and chipped teeth. Not to mention the cruelty of people, especially kids, that noticed my teeth. I don’t understand why the FDA and the ABA have basically protected Pfizer from liability for this drug. It doesn’t get more cruel than to damage someone’s smile. What’s the first thing you notice about someone? Hope we can all get a satisfactory solution. Worst thing about it...I’m not allergic to Penicillin!
JBB Send email
 
Nov 9, 2017

Pfizer's Tetracycline

M y mother was given / prescribed Tetracycline while I was STILL in her womb. I am 61 years old and according to the timeline back then, that would be around late 1955 or early 1956. I was born in May 1956.
My mother was NEVER informed by her OB back then that there was ever a problem. She has told me over the years that if she DID know about that life-time dental NIGHTMARE was a side effect side-effect, she would NEVER have agreed to take it and would have taken something else. My mother is still living and has all her marbles, fortunately. She has felt absolutely terrible that this has ruined so much of my life. (Mom is 93 and a WWII U.S. Navy nurse and a retired teacher.)
AND ALL THE OTHER PEOPLE LIKE YOU THAT HAVE ALSO BEEN SUFFERING FOR YEARS!
I have written in this forum in the past, but it's time to update!
I have all the above problems mentioned by everyone responding to this complaint forum. Bullied.....made fun of..... overly self-conscious.....suffered in relationships........employment concerns.....life without smiles.......depression......food issues...PAIN...and more.
What I have not read much about was / is the actual PAIN I suffered - and am STILL SUFFERING as I type this letter. I am talking about eating and drinking foods that are acidic, like any citrus or cranberry juices...(grape fruit juice is suicide to my teeth), wine, vinegar foods like pickles (or anything pickled) and so on. This has been a problem with me since I was about 10 years old, and has progressively gotten worse due to cracked, broken, worn - off enamel. Within the last 15 years, I have lost ALL the upper and lower molars on my left side of my mouth, I have two upper and three lower molars that are all cracked on my right side. What front teeth I have ...have severe pits in them and continually hurt even when breathing AIR over them due to their worn-out enamel condition.
I have to eat cottage cheese, any cheese, milk, sour cream, or ice cream after I eat in order to sooth my painful teeth. I have been doing this since I was in my twenties. It has been a painful legacy of my life. I think of all the things I might have done had I NOT been affected wit this horrible scourge.
I also have wondered why Pfizer has not been made accountable for this medical malpractice!!! They have made billions of dollars off this medication all the while KNOWING that there was a real serious and life-long -PERMANANT side effects! THIS IS NOT RIGHT and I...WE...ALL demand that they be made to compensate everyone effected in a way that is only fair and right. You know...that is why punitive damages are levied AGAINST companies that KNEW what was going on and DID NOTHING to fix it!!!
My teeth are a mess. Even though I brush and floss every day, I look like a Meth. addict...I have been injured....it will cost me $30,000 to $50,000 to fix my teeth. I feel Pfizer is ABSOLUTELY responsible and the should be litigated against and made to pay all who have suffered at their negligence. Over the last few years, there is a different atmosphere when it comes to suing big corporations, especially auto and pharmacy Rx. It seems that they DO NOT want the bad publicity, along with their shareholders. These suits get even bigger with the ability of social media able to reach so many people. These giant companies CAN'T hide anymore!! So lets all tell them that we will "SPREAD THE WORD" that they need to make it RIGHT OR ELSE!!

By the way...when I was about six or seven years, old, I was so distraught over my teeth that I ...are you ready???...brushed my teeth on several occasions (without my parents knowledge, of course...) with bleach and Ajax cleanser. AND when that did not help. I scraped my teeth with a single-edged razor blade!! I was that desperate, MAD, despondent and upset!

HOWEVER, What IS new is that I submitted my Tetracycline issue with Pfizer to a law firm in Florida and they actually responded that they would be contacting me in regards to my claim. Normally what has happened was that I never heard from them any more. This is GOOD, I hope.
Anyway, hang in there, people...we may finally have some positive action to think about.

However, if we need to, we should call the media and set up a MASSIVE PROTEST in Washington D.C., and / or Pfizer Headquarters. I would do my best to be there!

All the best to you folks out there.....J. B. Baker. Feel free to contact me at: www.jbbwineguy@yahoo.com
pattiec1122@gmail.com Send email
 
Nov 2, 2017

Pfizer / Tetracycline

My Mom also took this medication, obviously thinking this was the best thing for her....not ever thinking it would make her child's life incredibly painful in many ways. I have never had beautiful adult teeth. When my permanent teeth came in they looked like they had melted in my mouth. I am 53 and have had 2 teeth pulled and at least 6 others are chipping away & very painful. A dentist quoted $20,000 to correct my teeth and make them just normal. Everyone I know has made their teeth & gums beautiful...I can't even imagine mine normal & without pain.
Pattie Curlee
pattiec1122@gmail.com
MikeBl Send email
 
Oct 17, 2017

Tetracycline ruined my life

Apparently the people of Pfizer have no remorse or shame for what they have done and are still doing to millions of people like me. I started out like any other kid, happy and carefree, then my permanent teeth came in one by one, each yellow and insightful. Kids are cruel and teased me until I too became a bully, picking a fight with anyone who so much as looked cross at me. Here I am at 47 I'm still judged daily on their apperance, people think I'm either a meth addict or just plain too lazy to brush my teeth. Not coming from a wealthy family I have never had the money to fix them. A dentist once told me it would cost between $15,000 to $20,000 to fix them and if he were me he wouldn't bother with it unless I wanted to be in the movies, WTF?! I'd like to know how many have taken their own lives because of what they had to live through. My mother had no idea what she was doing when she gave me tetracycline as a baby and was not informed of these horrible side-effects. I know those at Pfizer claim that doctors were told to informed parents of the side-effects, but none of them were to my knowledge. Pfizer, please, please fix our teeth, you have billions of dollars, spare some to make us smile again!
L. A. Holladay Send email
 
Oct 13, 2017

Tetracycline teeth

Was given this medication as a child. Don't understand how, but my teeth are soft and brittle at the same time on top of discoloration. I also didn't have one tooth ever develop. Had a bridge and five caps put on in early 1990's. Then one of the capped teeth broke off, got a bridge to replace the broke tooth and two caps. Now the two teeth from the first bridge has broken so I have a HUGE gap in front and four teeth crumple away until they even with my gums. Had one pulled because of a serious infection. Have always avoided pics because people kept saying " SMILE" which I tried my best to avoid, by ducking out. So there aren't hardly any family pics before the caps which I still self conscious about because the job was done so badly. My teeth are very petite and the dentist broke the mold so he just used another mold and I looked like a cartoon caricature in pics my capped teeth stood out so in some of them. I'm too young for dentures so the only other choice are expensive implants. How does Pfizer get away with not helping to repair teeth that are so damaged because of them? The FDA might have decided the good out weighed the bad, but it wasn't their decision. Our parents should have been informed before prescribing the medication.
gcomp1 Send email
 
Oct 2, 2017

G Compton

I am a 53 year woman who has endured a lifetime of pain and embarrassment from yellowed teeth, thanks to tetracycline given to me as a small child. I have been made fun of, bullied, and suffered so much emotionally, mentally and physically. Regardless of perfect dental hygiene, as I have always had, and dental visits, my teeth are actually crumbling in my mouth. When will we ever get justice for our pain and suffering? Only the ones who are living this can understand. I try not to smile, never want pictures made and ruined my only daughters wedding photo because of this. I cant afford to have them all removed at this time, but I want a better life for myself and for my family who thinks I am not a happy person. I have missed out on so much in my life because of my smile, or lack of. someone needs to help us !!!!
kmacdowe777 Send email
 
Sep 13, 2017

Pfizer / Tetracycline

Like others on this board I have stained teeth from Tetracycline (given it as a child in the 1960s).
Even though I have had good dental care, my teeth have never been "good".
Monk Send email
 
Sep 8, 2017

pfizer-tetracycline ruined teeth

I am a victim of this medication as well. My entire life has been a challenge because of this. How well do you think self esteem for a child does when your grade school nick name is "pickle tooth"?
My understanding is that the FDA was very aware of the damage this medication would do to bone marrow and adult teeth years before the public was. Supposedly they decided that the cost was worth the future suffering and therefore they have never allowed a class action suit against pfizer to move forward in the court system.
The newest issue that people are running into is their molars getting soft and breaking around the age of 45 to 50. Even with advanced dental care, there is nothing that can be done to save your natural teeth, especially the molars.
Like most of the comments I have read on here, I do not want a cash payout for this, I just want someone (pfizer or the government since they knew about the issues but allowed it to continue) to cover my dental costs. I am only 50 and all my teeth need replacing a a cost of around 50 thousand dollars. That does not even cover the cost of bone grafts if needed either.
We all need help, but being a realist, I have little hope that the FDA, government or pfizer will do the right thing.

Mboy22@surewest.net use this address pfizer, if you decide to stand up and accept your responsibility to the people that were injured
Oceaneyes Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

tetracycline teeth

My teeth are stained Gray I took Minocycline the doctor gave me for acne. This happened around 10 years ago I was in my 30s not the popular belief that you must be taking this medicine when you're a child which the dentist was confused about but nevertheless I did get the stain teeth at this age in a fairly quick amount of time it took me awhile to notice, actually a little kid noticed it and and pointed out but I had blue teeth she called it, at that point I was annoyed looked in the mirror and quit the medicine. I would like to be compensated Buy payment to fix my teeth people think it was a result from having braces and I feel down right ugly anyway that's a story I am now 47 does anyone have any info.
Bill Best Send email
 
Aug 20, 2017

Tetracycline, translucent teeth. Crumbling

I am 51. My teeth have always been translucent. Never white, even as a child. When I was a toddler I was in the hospital, and also prone to ear infections. I was given this drug many times as a child. I have suffered a lifetime. I too like the rest, feel Pfizer should at least pay for corrective dental work. If anyone ever has info on a class action, I want to be contacted. William Best. 617 e Courtland, Spokane Washington. 99207. Email:. Pappybest@outlook.com. pH:. 509-216-8359. Someone please help us all.
Mansell Send email
 
Aug 17, 2017

Rotten teeth

I've suffered with terrible stained teeth all my life due to this drug..born in 1959 and spent most of the 1960's on it.. I have also been told by a doctor the bones are also affected so I'm interested to know if other are experiencing issues..I'm based in the UK but very keen to take legal action..email eatonsquare@englandmail.com
Mansell Send email
 
Aug 17, 2017

Damaged teeth

I was born in 1959 and was on this awful drug in the 1960s and have terrible stained teeth..I've been told even the bones are affected so this could well be an additional problem..I'm based in the UK and would be very interested to pursue and claim..my email..eatonsquare@englandmail.com
sOPretti Send email
 
Aug 16, 2017

Pfizer/Tetracycline

I have lived with these ugly teeth for over 50 years. It is embarrassing. I hate to smile especially around people who have beautiful pearly whites. It does make you feel ugly. Your teeth are the first thing people look at. I can only imagine what they are thinking. Yes Pfizer should own up to this.
jcoates13 Send email
 
Aug 8, 2017

Pfizer / Tetracycline

Born 1961 and have all the problems listed. I need $30-60000 worth of dental work not to mention all the work that has been done. Okay we have all complained where is the relief from Pfizer?
jcoates13 Send email
 
Aug 8, 2017

Pfizer / Tetracycline

Same problem born 1961 and need $30-60000 in work to replace damaged teeth. When are we holding them accountable?
Seaton Send email
 
Aug 8, 2017

Tetracycline Stained teeth

Shocking that Pfizer is not being held accountable for this awful damage. I have suffered all of my life from the damage to my teeth. Now at 45 I have paid a fortune to have veneers. Pfizer needs to compensate - this is hard to believe that there is not class action lawsuit for this!
S.seaton@mac.com
Savignac10 Send email
 
Jul 27, 2017

Tetracycline Damage

I was given this drug in the early 60's as a child. It is awful when you spend your life hiding your smile all the time and have to deal with dental issues due to brittle teeth. And the expense to improve your appearance is astronomical. I know this happened a long time ago, but where is the corporate responsibility now? People go through all kinds of challenges, but this is one that could be lessened. I am sure that most of us just want the funds to be able to get a decent smile since it is too late to reverse the other damage done.
LOYD SANDERS Send email
 
Jul 26, 2017

FREE DENTAL IMPLANTS

ITS A % OFF NOT A GRANT!!!!!!!ADVERTISES ON YAHOO.COM FREE SITE. IT'S NO GRANT!!!!
LOYD SANDERS Send email
 
Jul 26, 2017

tetracycline teeth

I filled out info to this company lately. if I didn't check a box to allow complaintboard.com to use my input THEN YOU HAVE IT NOW!
I'M LISTED UNDER nrasanders@yahoo.com PLEASE FEEL FREE TO PUBLISH MY LISTING ALSO! I WAS BORM DEC. 17th 1959 AND WAS GIVEN TETRACYCLNE WHILE IN HOSPITAL WHEN I WAS 22 MONTHS OLD. NOW 57 I'M FIXING TO HAVE ALL MY TEETH REMOVED AND I'VE GOT THE POPING JAW AND BONE LOSS IN LOWER JAW ALONG WITH WHAT EVERYONE ELSE HAS TOLD HERE ABOUT OUR LIVES AND I'LL GO SO FAR AS TO OFFER $10,000 FOR A PICTURE OF ME (I POSED FOR)
SHOWING ANY PART OF ANY TOOTH!!! NOT EVEN MY WEDDING PICTURES! I HAVE BEEN BLESSED WITH A GOOD MARRAGE, 32 YRS LAST JUNE 1st AND ONLY. IF ANYONE TRYS TO E-MAIL ME MAKE SURE SUBJECT LINE HAS TEETH OR TETRACYCLINE IN IT PLEASE. GOD BLESS US ALL, DON'T LOOK LIKE ANYONE ELSE WILL. BTW PFIZER INC. LEGAL DEPT ONLY OFFERS FAX(for paper trail man said, yea). it's MAILING ADDRESS IS PFIZER INC.next line LEGAL DEPT. next line 235 EAST 42nd STREET next line USMI FULLFILLMENT CENTER next line NY,NY.10017 FAX# 646 563-1835 REGULAR CONTACT # IS 800 879-3477 M-FR 9-7 et. GOOD LUCK TO ALL, BET THEY ARE HOPEING WE WILL DIE OFF OR GIVE UP!
Layne_ Send email
 
Jul 21, 2017

Tetracycline damaged teeth

My father was given this medicine when he was just a child . It has ruined his teeth and smile. It has turned his teeth very discolored to a grey color. It will cost a fortune to fix when he shouldn't have to pay since the company hid this side effect of this medicine they knew well before it would cause damage to teeth.
Md123 Send email
 
Jul 16, 2017

Tetracycline stained victim and angry

Tetracycline stained victim and I'm still experiencing the emotional pain from this horrible drug.
I was born in 1963 in NJ and moved to another state but the problem is still with me.
Money spent on bonding and veneers over all these years is enormous. I want a class action lawsuit!
I am so upset with the drug company and I relate to all the other victims on this site. What can be done???
This staining took our lives away, I want dental cost compensation AND pain and suffering from this company.
I am still self conscious about my smile at age 54!!! Veneers came off again recently and I relive the horror and have to hide again.
I greatly appreciate other people speaking out as it helped me see I'm not the only one. I can verify with dental records if needed. I don't want to give my identity away but contact me at bizbrothers1000@gmail.com if a class action lawsuit is going to happen. Sorry drug company that created this horrible drug, your judgement day is coming for ruining our lives! Drug company is responsible period! My mom did not know how it would effect her son and just trusted the hospital, I will testify and these drug companies not only effected our smiles but they have destroyed countless lives with their side effects and problems. Please God help vindicate us and make things right if this is Your Will!
K smith728 Send email
 
Jul 11, 2017

Tetracycline stained teeth

Born in 1966 and was given Tetracycline as a young child. Have had stained ugly embarrassing teeth for as long as I can remember. Want this fixed and compensation for enduring a lifetime of humiliation due to this!
K smith728 Send email
 
Jul 11, 2017

Ugly, embarrassing Tetra-teeth

I have had ugly embarrassing tetracylenine stained teeth since I was a young child. Yeased, laughed at at and made to feel humiliated! I am now 51 years old. I want compensation and to have my teeth fixed.
K smith728 Send email
 
Jul 11, 2017

Tetra teeth

I have had ugly stained teeth from tetracylenine since childhood and am 51 years old. Embarrassing and ugly. Want compensation for this and my teeth fixed!
bikerbab63 Send email
 
Jul 6, 2017

tetra teeth

I have been living with this for too many years and too have endured embarrassment . Having this issue has ruined so many lives. And unfortunnately a lot of us DO NOT have the luxury of affording inplants. Even as someone in the beauty industry I feel my career has even suffered from Tetracycline. I've heard that there is this treatment called KOR. Being able to afford it is another thing.
What can be done about this?

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    US Pharmacy - 4-5 harrassing sales call everyday for years
    I get 4-5 calls most days trying to sell me viagra etc. I...
    POS MALAYSIA - kata hantar barang dah..last2 hantar balik p pos opis...
    Kenapa pos laju sekarang ne lembab sangat buat keja..x...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - Matenity UIF
    Good Day I've applied for my maternity benefits...
    Ahappydeal.com - product quality is not good
    I have two saree from happy deal. I have paid the amount....
    fjknnj - uochjnkl
    biukjcnlnclkm.,,
    publisher clearing house - payment for unrecieved item
    order number 103624715890 Sandra Chambers customer...
    FREELOTTOSUB*SERVICE 212-867-1808 NY - my acc taken money
    please do refund and cancel this, i do no why taken my...
    Multichoice DSTV - REPEATS REPEATS AND MORE RESPEATS
    WHY AM I PAYING OVER R800 A MONTH TO WATCH SOME COOKING...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    US Pharmacy - 4-5 harrassing sales call everyday for years
    I get 4-5 calls most days trying to sell me viagra etc. I...
    POS MALAYSIA - kata hantar barang dah..last2 hantar balik p pos opis...
    Kenapa pos laju sekarang ne lembab sangat buat keja..x...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - Matenity UIF
    Good Day I've applied for my maternity benefits...
    Ahappydeal.com - product quality is not good
    I have two saree from happy deal. I have paid the amount....
    fjknnj - uochjnkl
    biukjcnlnclkm.,,
    publisher clearing house - payment for unrecieved item
    order number 103624715890 Sandra Chambers customer...
    FREELOTTOSUB*SERVICE 212-867-1808 NY - my acc taken money
    please do refund and cancel this, i do no why taken my...
    Multichoice DSTV - REPEATS REPEATS AND MORE RESPEATS
    WHY AM I PAYING OVER R800 A MONTH TO WATCH SOME COOKING...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username