Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Pfizer / Tetracycline

United States,
New York

Consumer complaints and reviews about Pfizer / Tetracycline

heidiinman Send email
 
Jun 29, 2018

Tetracycline poisoning

I am 53 years old and had numerous ear infections as a child. I was born in 1964 and was given tetracycline on number occasions. IT COMPLETELY ruined my teeth. I have 10 crowns as it is now... that are old and need to be replaced... and I need to have knee replacement . I can’t have the surgery because I’m in need of SO MUCH dental care before I can have it done due to my terrible teeth.... why can’t the pharmaceutical company that did this to me fix my teeth????
Larmitage Send email
 
Jun 9, 2018

Stained teeth

I live in the UK and as a child suffered from bronchitis for which I was prescribed tetracycline as an antibiotic. I’m sure my mother would not have given this to me if she had known the awful staining of my teeth which would result. I never smile to show my teeth and am very self conscious when in company with strangers. I have endured many hours in the dentistchair having crowns and veneers but this is only in a few of my teeth and I could never afford, even though I would love to, to have them sorted and be able to smile with confidence. If there is ever compensation for this I would love to be included,
Cindy Quick Send email
 
Jun 7, 2018

Tetracycline

I have Tetracycline staining on all of my teeth. I am 56 years old and still dealing with this. It is awful and getting worse as I age. There has been so many of fixes for bad medications, how in the world with all of these folks dealing with this, can it be ignored. Really. I would love for once in my entire life to be able to smile and not feel self conscience. If anything ever comes from Pfizer taking responsibility for the damages to the teeth I would appreciate being contacted.
lrgreen@hotmail.com Send email
 
May 24, 2018

Pfizer / Tetracycline

I don't know the details about when or how I was administered this awful drug, but I have had to deal with stained and broken teeth all my life. I didn't even realize how badly it has affected me until I fitted a set of Imako cosmetic teeth, and suddenly my whole personality changed, I became far more outgoing and willing to engage other people, and furthermore, they were more willing to engage with me! The difference is night and day! 58 years I have dealt with this nightmare. I need implants, but I can't afford to fix even one single tooth, much less an entire set of teeth! I have been diligent in my dental care my entire life. This isn't my fault, but I'm stuck with the bills!
Life ruined Send email
 
May 19, 2018

Pfizer's Tetracycline Teeth damage

My name Is Gregory I am 53 & was given tetracycline to treat my Asthma - Tetracycline ruined my teeth & has blighted my life robbing me of my self esteem & I wrote & emailed to Pfizer's so many time's asking them for help yet they never replied my life has been a nightmare because of what this drug did to my teeth - I think the only way that we can make Pfizer's sit up & listen Is for as many of us as possible to mobilize & gather our together outside their offices not just In America & the UK where I am from but all over the World & we need to bring this to the World's attention by using direct action as this Is the only way we will ever get anywhere with this very rich uncaring corporation.
Life ruined Send email
 
May 19, 2018

Pfizers Tetracycline

I am 53 & was given Tetracycline at the age of 3 years which has caused me a lifetime of awful problems - i have wrote & emailed Pfizer several time's but never received a reply. I bet there are at least hundreds of thousands of young people If not millions of us who were given this awful drug therefore I think the only we can do Is mobilize our forces & as many of us as possible turn up outside their main buildings all over the World & make our feeling known & call the media - We need to use direct action as this Is the only way these very rich Corporations will ever sit up & take notice - Our lives have been blighted by this drug & Its obvious Pfizer couldn't care less so we need to make them listen!
mfageins Send email
 
May 13, 2018

Tetracycline victim

I too am a victim of Tetracycline. I am 50 years old and I've always had yellow teeth and didn't know why until my dentist asked my had I ever taken the drug Tetracycline as a child. Now my molars on both sides of my mouth are crumbling! This is horrible! We all need Pzier to pay for all this expensive dental work that we need to correct this awful problem. Let's hold them accountable!
Mswucy33 Send email
 
May 12, 2018

Tetracycline stained teeth

I m 57 years old and have lived with tetracycline stains covering all my teeth since they came in as a child. I too have been embarrassed to smile or laugh in school, and have many school pictures of a closed smile little girl. I hated studying about smoking because I was always asked by my classmates if I smoked....at age 9, 10, 11...well you get the picture. As I got older, I had little kids ask me why I didn't brush my teeth. Hence the explanation of "this happened from taking medicine when I was little.....(scared look on their face)....oh but don't worry, you take medicine if you need it. It won't happen to you." YES...caused by medicine that SOMEONE needs to compensate the victims. I can't afford the $15,000 my dentist said would help with placing veneers on my teeth. Own up to the damage that has been done to our smiles!
Lbestcel Send email
 
May 11, 2018

Phizer/Tetracycline

I was given Tetracycline at the age of two in 1964 when I came down with pneumonia. My parents were told that this was the best treatment for me. My permanent teeth came in short, discolored and with indentations across my two front teeth. My parents had facings put on when I was a young teen and I had them replaced in my late twenties. These have deteriorated and chipped, my teeth are yellow and translucent. I don't smile or cover my smile. I just can't afford to keep spending the many thousands of dollars repairing my teeth. I also have had many cavities throughout my life and molars crumbling and now an infection that keeps coming back.
MichelleLT Send email
 
Apr 10, 2018

A lifetime of damage Tetracycline

I was given Tetracycline as a child in the early 70s. My teeth are yellow /brown. They formed this way. I have been looked down on for my entire life. I have spent thousands of dollars on dental work and and still only have a few original teeth left as the rest have been crowned. I couldn’t even get white crowns because they wouldn’t match the rest of my teeth. I’ve never had any self esteem because of this. I try not to ever smile and when I do, I try to cover my mouth. Any questions about my teeth have always brought me to tears.

The trauma of this is unimaginable to live with for your entire life. I can’t believe nothing has been done for the people this happened to
Melanie Raye Powell Send email
 
Apr 2, 2018

Pfizer / Tetracycline

I was born in 1971 and my teeth were also damaged by this drug...My teeth have always been brittle and discolored. They would break and fall out as early as 8 years old..I am 46 now and just had my last remaining real tooth removed..spent lots of money over the years repairing them..Lots of pain and discomfort all of my life.. this drug was given to my mother and she wasn't told of the dangers, even though they knew by 1971...Pfizer knows what it did to us and they aren't accountable apparently and continue to harm us to this day with their "drugs".....
Pete G Send email
 
Apr 1, 2018

Tetracycline damage

I am in the UK. I was given Tetracycline as an Infant child. My adult teeth came through discoloured, I have paid for veneers when i was in my early 20s, but these now need replacing. Like many others this has been like a life sentence for me, avoiding smiling and photos. It is always on my mind and it has had a detrimental effect on my confidence both as a child and an adult.
Pete G Send email
 
Apr 1, 2018

Pfizer/Tetracycline

Was given this medication as a child. Don't understand how, but my teeth are soft and brittle and dicoloured at Both top and bottom. I am also prone to fillings. I had 6 caps put on in early 1990'’s but now need replacing. Affected my confidence all my life and I am afraid to smile. Would appreciate any guidance in regard to compensation.
neotradman Send email
 
Mar 20, 2018

Tetracycline staining

Same as others here. My mother was given tetracycline when pregnant with me. Born 1961.
cbohlcloud@icloud.com
Susan1966 Send email
 
Mar 20, 2018

Pfizer / Tetracycline

I am in the UK. I was given Tetracycline as an 18 month old child. My adult teeth came through grey. I paid for veneers when I was 20 and have had them updated 10 years ago. They are now needing more money spent on them. This has been a blight on my whole life, never smiling and always shying away from photos. I really need a new set of veneers but cannot afford them so i will have to just not smile and hide from cameras. My email is soopapee@gmail.com if anyone can help me.
Amada Send email
 
Mar 11, 2018

Tetracycline stained my life

I spent my life trying not to smile or hiding my smile. I think they should all be sentenced to that. There may be help on the way for us all. My son is stepping up on our behalf. On the down low right not but will keep you informed.
emgee Send email
 
Mar 4, 2018

Tetracycline staining

It is amazing that we have lived our whole lives with this handicap and yet no action has been taken against. Even though it is too late to reverse the damage done, keeping someone accountable and being personally compensated for a LIFETIME of embarrassment is something I hope to see before it's too late and they get away with it.
heidi0302 Send email
 
Mar 2, 2018

Tetracycline stained teeth

I had Tetracycline staining to my teeth as an infant in the 1960's. It made my childhood very difficult. My teeth were so ugly. I was finally able to get veneers in my 30's. But now they have chipped or cracked and have had to replace with crowns. Now I need more work and replacement. I just cant afford to continue this journey. Please do something to help us that were affected by this horrible side effect of Tetracycline. I am begging for any help from you Pfizer.
My email address is heidilenoard@yahoo.com.

Thank you
Traceylyn Send email
 
Jan 27, 2018

Tetracycline

I was given tetracycline and have severe staining which has caused a lot of social/self confidence issues but more recently inspite of careful dental care, I have started losing bone in my bottom jaw. I Jane has to undergo bone biopsy and they now think this is a side effect of the tetracycline.... has anyone else experienced this?
ssanders1967 Send email
 
Jan 19, 2018

Tetracycline stained teeth

I have the same complaint as all of the others. I was born in late 1967. My teeth actually stopped growing at one point, causing indentions in 6 of my teeth that had to be "filled"....and that has since discolored. It's ridiculous that we aren't compensated so that we can get veneers. Disgusting!
felicityfarmer Send email
 
Dec 13, 2017

My discoloured teeth

I just turned 53 and have a lovely smile but am increasingly trying not to open my mouth when smiling due to the discolouring and also a chip off the edge of one of my front teeth. I had orthodontia when I was a teenager and always had to have lots of fillings. I have also suffered from sensitivity.
I have finally decided to try again to talk to a dentist about my teeth that were discoloured from being given tetracycline when I was four years old. I did try whitening about 20 years ago but it seemed to make it worse.
Today, I have been given an initial quote of $1000 for whitening to see how that goes over 6 months as a first effort before looking at other options of more drastic action, such as covering or capping my six front teeth, which would obviously cost me a lot more. However, my full health insurance won't cover any of this as it is deemed for aesthetic reasons by the Australian Dental Board the insurer told me.
So, I've reached the age where I can see the bigger picture and feel that this is just very unfair behaviour from a large company as I believe I have suffered from this ongoing and unaddressed deficit in my life. I would be happy to expand on this but today I'll just say there's quite a lot of evidence to indicate that looks do matter in job interviews for example. I feel further aggrieved at this situation given a company has made profit from this.
I feel I should be paid some compensation or at least the money for this corrective work I have decided now I need done now as I proceed into the second half of my life as I may well live for another 50 years.
I would like to be included in any class action please, or better still if the company could just compensate me please.
Thank you.
felicityfarmer@ecn.net.au
Shyatt1057 Send email
 
Nov 16, 2017

Pfizer / Tetracyclene

I was given Tetracyclene in the early sixties for a respiratory infection. My father had suffered a year earlier, from an allergic reaction to Penicillin. Doctor was afraid I might be allergic too, so I was given the Tetracyclene. Obviously, I have received similar problems with my teeth. Stained gray, and suffering from broken, cracked and chipped teeth. Not to mention the cruelty of people, especially kids, that noticed my teeth. I don’t understand why the FDA and the ABA have basically protected Pfizer from liability for this drug. It doesn’t get more cruel than to damage someone’s smile. What’s the first thing you notice about someone? Hope we can all get a satisfactory solution. Worst thing about it...I’m not allergic to Penicillin!
JBB Send email
 
Nov 9, 2017

Pfizer's Tetracycline

M y mother was given / prescribed Tetracycline while I was STILL in her womb. I am 61 years old and according to the timeline back then, that would be around late 1955 or early 1956. I was born in May 1956.
My mother was NEVER informed by her OB back then that there was ever a problem. She has told me over the years that if she DID know about that life-time dental NIGHTMARE was a side effect side-effect, she would NEVER have agreed to take it and would have taken something else. My mother is still living and has all her marbles, fortunately. She has felt absolutely terrible that this has ruined so much of my life. (Mom is 93 and a WWII U.S. Navy nurse and a retired teacher.)
AND ALL THE OTHER PEOPLE LIKE YOU THAT HAVE ALSO BEEN SUFFERING FOR YEARS!
I have written in this forum in the past, but it's time to update!
I have all the above problems mentioned by everyone responding to this complaint forum. Bullied.....made fun of..... overly self-conscious.....suffered in relationships........employment concerns.....life without smiles.......depression......food issues...PAIN...and more.
What I have not read much about was / is the actual PAIN I suffered - and am STILL SUFFERING as I type this letter. I am talking about eating and drinking foods that are acidic, like any citrus or cranberry juices...(grape fruit juice is suicide to my teeth), wine, vinegar foods like pickles (or anything pickled) and so on. This has been a problem with me since I was about 10 years old, and has progressively gotten worse due to cracked, broken, worn - off enamel. Within the last 15 years, I have lost ALL the upper and lower molars on my left side of my mouth, I have two upper and three lower molars that are all cracked on my right side. What front teeth I have ...have severe pits in them and continually hurt even when breathing AIR over them due to their worn-out enamel condition.
I have to eat cottage cheese, any cheese, milk, sour cream, or ice cream after I eat in order to sooth my painful teeth. I have been doing this since I was in my twenties. It has been a painful legacy of my life. I think of all the things I might have done had I NOT been affected wit this horrible scourge.
I also have wondered why Pfizer has not been made accountable for this medical malpractice!!! They have made billions of dollars off this medication all the while KNOWING that there was a real serious and life-long -PERMANANT side effects! THIS IS NOT RIGHT and I...WE...ALL demand that they be made to compensate everyone effected in a way that is only fair and right. You know...that is why punitive damages are levied AGAINST companies that KNEW what was going on and DID NOTHING to fix it!!!
My teeth are a mess. Even though I brush and floss every day, I look like a Meth. addict...I have been injured....it will cost me $30,000 to $50,000 to fix my teeth. I feel Pfizer is ABSOLUTELY responsible and the should be litigated against and made to pay all who have suffered at their negligence. Over the last few years, there is a different atmosphere when it comes to suing big corporations, especially auto and pharmacy Rx. It seems that they DO NOT want the bad publicity, along with their shareholders. These suits get even bigger with the ability of social media able to reach so many people. These giant companies CAN'T hide anymore!! So lets all tell them that we will "SPREAD THE WORD" that they need to make it RIGHT OR ELSE!!

By the way...when I was about six or seven years, old, I was so distraught over my teeth that I ...are you ready???...brushed my teeth on several occasions (without my parents knowledge, of course...) with bleach and Ajax cleanser. AND when that did not help. I scraped my teeth with a single-edged razor blade!! I was that desperate, MAD, despondent and upset!

HOWEVER, What IS new is that I submitted my Tetracycline issue with Pfizer to a law firm in Florida and they actually responded that they would be contacting me in regards to my claim. Normally what has happened was that I never heard from them any more. This is GOOD, I hope.
Anyway, hang in there, people...we may finally have some positive action to think about.

However, if we need to, we should call the media and set up a MASSIVE PROTEST in Washington D.C., and / or Pfizer Headquarters. I would do my best to be there!

All the best to you folks out there.....J. B. Baker. Feel free to contact me at: www.jbbwineguy@yahoo.com
pattiec1122@gmail.com Send email
 
Nov 2, 2017

Pfizer / Tetracycline

My Mom also took this medication, obviously thinking this was the best thing for her....not ever thinking it would make her child's life incredibly painful in many ways. I have never had beautiful adult teeth. When my permanent teeth came in they looked like they had melted in my mouth. I am 53 and have had 2 teeth pulled and at least 6 others are chipping away & very painful. A dentist quoted $20,000 to correct my teeth and make them just normal. Everyone I know has made their teeth & gums beautiful...I can't even imagine mine normal & without pain.
Pattie Curlee
pattiec1122@gmail.com
MikeBl Send email
 
Oct 17, 2017

Tetracycline ruined my life

Apparently the people of Pfizer have no remorse or shame for what they have done and are still doing to millions of people like me. I started out like any other kid, happy and carefree, then my permanent teeth came in one by one, each yellow and insightful. Kids are cruel and teased me until I too became a bully, picking a fight with anyone who so much as looked cross at me. Here I am at 47 I'm still judged daily on their apperance, people think I'm either a meth addict or just plain too lazy to brush my teeth. Not coming from a wealthy family I have never had the money to fix them. A dentist once told me it would cost between $15,000 to $20,000 to fix them and if he were me he wouldn't bother with it unless I wanted to be in the movies, WTF?! I'd like to know how many have taken their own lives because of what they had to live through. My mother had no idea what she was doing when she gave me tetracycline as a baby and was not informed of these horrible side-effects. I know those at Pfizer claim that doctors were told to informed parents of the side-effects, but none of them were to my knowledge. Pfizer, please, please fix our teeth, you have billions of dollars, spare some to make us smile again!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Hallmark Christmas shows almost all year
    I pay extra money to see murder she wrote mattock &...
    POS MALAYSIA - no tracking number, no information about my parcel at all
    Hello. Pos laju please update my parcel. It was sent at...
    Audi Company - verdadero o falso?
    me llego un correo de que gane un audi Q7 2018 modelo. y $...
    Parcel hub shah alam - Item stuck at Parcel Hub
    Parcel saya stuck dari 12.7.18 hingga harini 16.7.18 di...
    Circle K - Store ows me gas
    I went to get gas at location # 3220 in Cecilia Ky this...
    KFC Malaysia - pekerja kurang ajar
    this happen in kfc indera mahkota 8 kuantan yesterday. the...
    nto solutions reward - solutions VIP Plus
    I noticed this charge appearing on my credit card...
    MICROSOFT *OFFICE 36 MSBILL.INFO AU - Unauthorised transaction of money
    Unauthorised transaction through Microsoft office 36ms...
    POS LAJU - ER321836857MY
    Hi, Kindly expedite to deliver parcel ER321836857MY...
    A loyal Frasier watcher - Christmas moves replacing frasier
    I love to watch The Golden Girls and Frasier at the end of...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Hallmark Christmas shows almost all year
    I pay extra money to see murder she wrote mattock &...
    POS MALAYSIA - no tracking number, no information about my parcel at all
    Hello. Pos laju please update my parcel. It was sent at...
    Audi Company - verdadero o falso?
    me llego un correo de que gane un audi Q7 2018 modelo. y $...
    Parcel hub shah alam - Item stuck at Parcel Hub
    Parcel saya stuck dari 12.7.18 hingga harini 16.7.18 di...
    Circle K - Store ows me gas
    I went to get gas at location # 3220 in Cecilia Ky this...
    KFC Malaysia - pekerja kurang ajar
    this happen in kfc indera mahkota 8 kuantan yesterday. the...
    nto solutions reward - solutions VIP Plus
    I noticed this charge appearing on my credit card...
    MICROSOFT *OFFICE 36 MSBILL.INFO AU - Unauthorised transaction of money
    Unauthorised transaction through Microsoft office 36ms...
    POS LAJU - ER321836857MY
    Hi, Kindly expedite to deliver parcel ER321836857MY...
    A loyal Frasier watcher - Christmas moves replacing frasier
    I love to watch The Golden Girls and Frasier at the end of...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username