Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Pfizer / Tetracycline

United States,
New York

Consumer complaints and reviews about Pfizer / Tetracycline

Mirage03 Send email
 
Apr 21, 2017

Pfizer/tetracycline

Came upon this complaint board by accident. As soon as I saw the word tetracycline I kept reading. I too suffer from the effects of tetracycline stained teeth. I was born in 1964, and my childhood was a nightmare. After reading just a few of these complaints I was in tears. I had no idea so many others had been harmed as I was.
My entire childhood was a complete horror story, I was even accused in the 7th grade of being a heavy smoker, by a teacher who did this in front of the entire class.
I was called so many names, children and other parents thought I just didn't brush my teeth. I learned quickly to never smile and got into the habit of holding my hand in front of my mouth when speaking.
As an adult people aren't quite as mean however you know they are still wondering why your teeth look like they do. It's not something I'll ever get over, the damage to my self esteem is unrepairable.
Msskizzle Send email
 
Apr 12, 2017

Victim of stained teeth

I was given tetracycline when I was 3 after I was in a car accident. I had gotten an really bad infection and was given the antibiotic. When I was in 2nd grade, my teeth started to get darker. The older I get, the darker they get. One of my teeth, is starting to die. I have gotten a cost to fix my teeth but it ranges from 10,000 to 25,000!! I really would like to have a smile in life but I really can't afford it. If anyone hears about a lawsuit please please let us know!! It is not fair :(
carrielindasue Send email
 
Apr 11, 2017

Pfizer tetracycline

I was born in 1961 and also have ugly brownish tetracycline stained teeth due to taking the antibiotic as a child. My teeth are a source of embarrassment. I too don't smile for pictures. I'm looking at over $70,000 to get my mouth "fixed" so that I can smile and not have people look at my teeth. Please add me to the list of people who need help with the costs of a smile that we didn't have a choice in losing.
carrielindasue@gmail.com
Angela1961 Send email
 
Apr 6, 2017

Pfizer teyracycline

I would like to add my name to the long list of people who have problems with yellowed teeth due to be prescribed this drug as a very young child. I smile as least as possible and have been asked by people why my teeth are the colour they are.
Liz1963 Send email
 
Apr 3, 2017

Pfizer / Tetracycline

I had ear infections and fevers as a child I took Pfizers Tetracycline and it ruined my teeth my childhood the names the bullying was insane. I sat in dentist chairs from puberty till last week. I never had cavities I just had to get root canals my teeth just died. I got two full time jobs at 19 to cap my 6 front teeth. I could open my mouth for the first time in my life. I went on to cap more as I worked overtime and took it a bit at a time. My teeth were fine then they started to decay again the caps had to replaced and then my parents got sick and I was a caregiver for 17 years. Not much I could do as taking care of them left no time to take care of me. I have been losing teeth since I have 8 gone now. All in the back right now thankfully makes it hard eating though. I am growing cysts now above my teeth and had to go under and have surgery to get rid of that. I know there are two more but I cant afford to do that all now. My jaw bone is receding and my jaw is out of line. I live in constant pain you should see the images of my scan he dentist took. I also have the most painful gums that need work as they bleed all the time. I do everything to take care of them eat right but still they bleed and are sore. I was diagnosed with TMJ so some days its hard to even get out of bed much less turn my head eat yawn its painful and Advil does not help no matter how many I take. I recently saw a doctor for the TMJ and he sent me to a sleep study and I have sleep apena. I stop breathing up to 10 times an hour. I am not over weight and no one in my family has ever had this. I was told by the doctor who just took the cyst out it will cost me 60 thousand dollars to put my jaw and new teeth in...he will do four implant on top and four on bottom and then bridge between them to make it cheaper I will need bone put back in mouth so I can get the implants they will have to use cadaver bones. I am only 53 and I am also losing my hearing. My ENT said this could be from the antibiotics. Again I have no one in my family with hearing loss. I got a used pair of hearing aids and they are horrible but another cost for good ones is close to 10 grand. How can I find work when all I have is pain and bleeding in teeth and even with hearing aids in I cant hear most people and say what? It annoys people who talk to me. I was going to start a go fund me page but why should people give me money when this company is responsible for my problems. Please is there any way we all can get a law suit class action suit. I will take my images to a lawyer my hearing test results anything to feel better I pray and was so happy to see I am not alone together we can do something. Anyone have any ideas or know a lawyer I am willing to do what I can to get us compensated for our pain. I just want be healthy again eat food without pain wake up without blood in my mouth and not in dire pain! Please email me we can do this we all have put up with way to much. Its not we are asking for money because our coffee was to hot we are in real pain and need real results to help us get better...bless you all
Apowersn Send email
 
Apr 2, 2017

Tetracycline Manufacturers

I was born in 1970 and my mother was given tetracycline when she was pregnant with me. While my teeth have banding and odd colors, I am lucky in that the colors are pale, and not as noticabl5as they could be.

My biggest problem has been the softness of the enamel and problems wire the bone in my upper jaw due to the tetracycline. I had a front tooth that came in with a huge chip in the enamel. After veneers, caps, and root canals, I finally got an implant, but it didn't last because of problems in the bone. I had a dentist and an oral surgeon try 3 times to rebuild the bone in my jaw, with no luck and have finally ended up with a special crown. Just this week, another tooth has chipped, which means more dental work, and more money out of my pocket.

While compensation for pain and suffering would be nice, what I really need is for the makers of tetracycline, to pay for my dental bills.

The cost is getting ridiculous. My out of pocket for the large bridge was $2500, and that doesn't even count the cost of the surgeries for trying to rebuild the bone in my jaw. Plus, now I have another tooth that is chipped to the point I need a filling and crown, plus maybe a root canal....with only more problems from the tetracycline damage ahead.

While I can't say that the makers knew of the dental problems caused by tetracycline in the 60's, they for sure knew about it around the time my mother was given the antibiotic in mid to late 1970.

So Pfizer and other manufacturers of tetracycline ---how about some help for the dental bills, if nothing else?

If you'd like more info, you can reach me at apowersnordvall@gmail.com.

Thank you for your time,

Ann Powers-Nordvall
mandyb Send email
 
Mar 27, 2017

Tetracycline damage to teeth

I was born 1963. Had to have tetracycline. Like others suffered the same. Horribly stained. Covered my hand over my mouth if I smiled
I wasn't aware it was such staining until a dentist told me. I tried bleach, household Jiff and any other thing I could think of believing I might get them clean. I had real issues about them. I finally got referred to Dentist School in Leeds to have 6 of my front teeth veneered. The treatment was hard and I got very emotional. I was left for quite some time with ground down teeth and looked like Dracula. ,I wanted to miss work because I couldn't stand anyone seeing them. Over some time one of my veneers came off and I had to wait to have it replaced (luckily I had kept the veneer to take with me to the dentist). My other teeth are still stained and malformed. They have lasted, but now I have a loose tooth at the front, and will probably need replacement teeth where I have my veneers. I would be interested if anything can be done. The least we deserve is to have our dental treatment for the staining and ongoing problems paid for / compensated. It will not help the distress it has caused many of us, but it would help us afford to keep our teeth in better condition and looking good.
ErinB Send email
 
Mar 16, 2017

Tetracycline Class Action Lawsuit

I was given an antibiotic as a child in the 1960s, just as my second teeth were all due to come in. They came in as a lovely yellowy/greeny shade. I have been self conscious all my life and don't like smiling. Who can afford veneers?!!! Pfizer where is your response.
ErinB Send email
 
Mar 16, 2017

Tetracycline Class Action Lawsuit

I was given an antibiotic as a child in the 1960s, just as my second teeth were all due to come in. They are a lovely yellowy/greeny shade. I have been self conscious all my life and don't like smiling. Who can afford veneers?!!! Pfizer where is your response?
kj22601 Send email
 
Mar 16, 2017

Pfizer's tetracycline

Please email me if anyone finds a way to get Pfizer to pay for what they did to us.
kj22601 Send email
 
Mar 16, 2017

Pfizer's tetracycline

Agree with all. My teeth have been capped and recapped. Back teeth literally fell apart and fronts are following.
Please email me if anyone finds a lawyer.
I was born in 61. They had to know by then.
kj22601@yahoo.com
octopus Send email
 
Mar 2, 2017

A smile from me is a rare thing

I've always been self-conscious of my yellow-brown tetracycline stained teeth. I was given medicine as a child before I could even speak and my entire life I have not been able to have a nice big toothy white grin without feeling awful. I've learned to give half-hearted closed mouth grins instead. I can't ever have a good old laugh without thinking about how I'm exposing my ugly teeth.

I grew up in Canada but the medicine was taken when my parents lived in Derbyshire England.
Nats911 Send email
 
Feb 28, 2017

Pfizer / Tetracycline

Mother took Tetracycline while pregnant with me in 1964. I have discolored yellow teeth. As a child I was ridiculed by other children asking me if I didn't brush my teeth. In 1980 I underwent some of the first teeth bleaching procedures at a teaching medical facility in Omaha. It was one of the most painful procedures I have ever had and I did it numerous times. At the time the medical facility didn't realize that it would not help. It seems as though Pfizer should have some liability for all of the pain their medication has caused
mrnix Send email
 
Feb 25, 2017

tetracycline ruined my teeth

I was born in 1953 and had been given tetracycline more then I can count. Due to that med I am in the process getting of implants.
The cost for the bottom teeth will be 20.000$. Dentist said the tops will need implants. I also will be in N.C. and will stop by your offices for payment.
Guard yourself accordingly,
Thomas Nixon
mrnix101@gmail.com
tamacata Send email
 
Feb 20, 2017

Tetracycline

Born in the 1950's,given tetracycline as a child for ear infections and sore throats. Ridges and staining have affected me. My teeth are a dingy yellow grey. Wish I could get help getting them fixed.
Urmarvellous Send email
 
Feb 15, 2017

Pfizer Tetracycline

Like others I too was subjected to tetracycline as a child, I could have bought a house with what my teeth have cost me and are still costing memotivated by the haunts of a childs lack of self esteem, the comments of rotten teeth, braces??, you should brush are comments we were exposed to because of greed. By 1964 there would have been enough evidence to question the use of tetracycline. Not good enough. Do the right thing Pfitzer.
JoMo Send email
 
Feb 9, 2017

Terrible Teeth

I was born 1960 and was a very sickly child many kidney infection, tonsillitis.
I was at the Drs. office a lot. The drug (Tetracycline) was given to me for many times for many things..
It wasn't long and my teeth came in nasty looking and gray. Kids will be kids and my sister and I fought with her making fun of the color of my teeth, so did many kids at school....Saying " Don't you ever brush your teeth?"
I teared up reading the other stories people wrote about...it brought back bad memories.
There are NONE of my school pictures with me smiling.. NASTY LOOKING TEETH.. I didn't want to see my picture hanging on the wall next to my sister's with her beautiful WHITE smile.

I am hoping that something will be done with Pfizer giving me a reason to smile and not care what color my teeth are now...Dark gray and yellow.. soft and chipped.
It isn't something you look forward to this late in life is getting the only WHITE teeth I've ever had - only my will be dentures!!
ktlooney Send email
 
Jan 14, 2017

Tetracycline staining and root damage

I had tetracycline in 1960, when I was 1 year old, for a kidney infection. I have suffered the rest of my life with the a staining and thin enamel. I have had dozen of cosmetic procedures, cracked teeth, crowns, etc. Now, I it looks like I will either need a root canal or lose my front teeth to some odd root damage from the tetracycline. I wish more dentists really know all the things that can go wrong and how to deal with it, for this issue. I do feel Pfizer should pay for the repair work for this lifetime problem.

Why is Pfizer not paying for this? Why is there no lawsuit for us?
Harriet Hisey Send email
 
Jan 6, 2017

Stained & Danaged teeth from Tetracycline

This complaint is against Pfizer Company. My daughter was given tetracycline as a baby in 1962. Her teeth came in yellow and stained looking. She has suffered with this cosmetic affects as well as the terrible expense of caps due to soft teeth. Now in her adult years she is experiencing infections due to failing fillings from soft teeth crumbling. implants are the only answer and the expense is prohibitive. Has any lawsuits ever been filed against Pfizer for their negligence in notifying the medical community of the terrible side affects of this drug? Please respond.
hheisey1000@gmail.com
Lindee Send email
 
Dec 30, 2016

Tetra ycline

I want / Pfizer to fix my teeth for. From tetracycline I took in the 50's. Not fair we were guinea pigs for your medicine. Lynda PAyne. 1319 winthorne drive. Nashville tn 37217. 615 512 8883. Although you hungry money hogs will not take care of it.
Ruth1572 Send email
 
Dec 9, 2016

ruthies-tetracycline-teeth

My teeth are gray and brown and sensitive!! from tetracycline they once where beautiful now ugly and gray and getting darker and darker every month as the years go by nothing i do helps its not fair they should pay i had no say in the drugs i took when i was a child!!!and when i was old enough i was unawhere of the side affects it did on my teeth!! they should pay for my teeth to get replaced i will not stop till they pay! this is how would they feel if it where done to them! and they had to live with gray ugly week teeth!!
heathersplace Send email
 
Dec 1, 2016

discolored and soft teeth

I was born in 1958 and was given Tetracycline for asthma, my teeth came in soft and discolored and now are crumbling. It is not fair that the Pfizer company does not subsidize at least replacing with dentures as the problem gets worse every year
Skarona98@gmail.com Send email
 
Nov 7, 2016

Tetracycline stain

I am 60 years old. As a child and had bronchitis yearly and was given tetracycline annually. When my teeth came in they were stained and greyish. This always made me extremely self conscious. Over the years I have spent thousands of dollars bleaching with several "fix" it products to no avail. I had my gums burnt because one of the bleaching techniques required holding a light close to my teeth. I've had trays made several times as well. I even tried bonding, which chipped off in a matter of weeks. I've tried every tooth whiting strip and toothpaste that promised results. Yet nothing works. Can you please take responsibility for my years of being embarrassed and come up with a permanent fix. I hear pros and cons about veneers and a new kit whitening system. I'm tired of paying for things that don't work. I dream of smiling I don't want to have this issue any longer do something please
Thank you
Susan
caroll Send email
 
Nov 6, 2016

pfizer-tetracycline

Pfizer should pay! I had Tetracycline staining due to ear infections as a child. I've spent thousands on my teeth! I have so much bone loss as well. It's not right!
queenlori Send email
 
Sep 29, 2016

Stained Teeth

Born in 1974, my mom was given tetracycline when she was pregnant and as a result, my teeth are horribly stained. Veneers, caps and dentures are crazy expensive. However I just found out about the KORS whiting system for tetracycline damaged teeth. Average price is $700 and takes about 4 weeks. I'm highly considering trying it because of the price. Although I still think PFIZER should be covering the expense.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Edgars - Insurance
    I opened edgars club thank you credit card, I told them I...
    Ittina Mahavir - Status of Ittina Mahavir
    I am a resident here and can assure that project is...
    ets ktmb ticket online - ticket online booking
    i cant book online for my ets ticket. it shows that there...
    shopomaxx - Return Mobile phone
    Mobile Phone As per your add we have order mobile...
    shopomaxx - My Nokia 1600 battey and charge not working
    Nokia 1600 order no. Your GLOBAL INDIA TRADERS shipment...
    stc land line - Service cancellation
    Dears in STC It's to inform you that I've...
    PAYTMAG bank - CANCELLATION AMOUNT NOT REFUNDED
    Dear sir, I have book some tickets and paid using my...
    AARP - Free Tote Bag
    Free Tote Bag for signing up is a piece of garbage and...
    Award Notification Commission - ANC NOTIFICATION COMMISSION
    I received a letter on April 25, 2017 saying that I won...
    ResCare - Sleeping/lazy workers & non-caring office staff
    I've had Rescare home care for over 6 months & 1...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Edgars - Insurance
    I opened edgars club thank you credit card, I told them I...
    Ittina Mahavir - Status of Ittina Mahavir
    I am a resident here and can assure that project is...
    ets ktmb ticket online - ticket online booking
    i cant book online for my ets ticket. it shows that there...
    shopomaxx - Return Mobile phone
    Mobile Phone As per your add we have order mobile...
    shopomaxx - My Nokia 1600 battey and charge not working
    Nokia 1600 order no. Your GLOBAL INDIA TRADERS shipment...
    stc land line - Service cancellation
    Dears in STC It's to inform you that I've...
    PAYTMAG bank - CANCELLATION AMOUNT NOT REFUNDED
    Dear sir, I have book some tickets and paid using my...
    AARP - Free Tote Bag
    Free Tote Bag for signing up is a piece of garbage and...
    Award Notification Commission - ANC NOTIFICATION COMMISSION
    I received a letter on April 25, 2017 saying that I won...
    ResCare - Sleeping/lazy workers & non-caring office staff
    I've had Rescare home care for over 6 months & 1...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username