Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Planet Energy

Canada

Consumer complaints and reviews about Planet Energy

carmenferber Send email
 
Jun 6, 2018

termination fee

We built a new house while having planet energy at the old house.. We used planet energy at the new house also. We moved and then renovated the old house in order to sell it. When we sold it we were charged the cancellation fees for both electricity and gas. We gave them the address change verification but they refused to accept it. I would not recommend this company to anyone especially since it was not cost saving at all despite their assurances that it would be.
shades Send email
 
Mar 31, 2018

Planet Energy Scam

Had it done through ACN and I canceled the contract within hours of getting I had ACN president and Ernie the associate's had canceled and the president said it was canceled and the planet Energy did a three way with Ernie Patterson Myself .The ACN president canceled .I find three year later I called Union Gas to find my bills are so high and they inform me that it is still being billed through planet Energy.Angry
shades44_99@yahoo.com
ashman Send email
 
Feb 1, 2018

Overcharging then sending for collections

Planet Energy have charged too much as part of their termination fees, and have sent the amount for collection. I believe they are trying to browbeat me into paying up. I have complained but they are not adhering to the terms of their own agreement.
They are charging 1.5c per kWh for the remaining term of the contract, for private households with an historical usage of more than 15000kwh per year. The contract comes in effect when the fixed price is charged for the first time on the PowerStream account. The 12 months prior to that date I used 13800 kWh as shown in my meter readings. Therefore I owe them about $150 ($50 per year or part thereof remaining) and not 1.5c per kWh which equates to (incl HST $650). They claim that my utility (then Powerstream) gave them data that shows that I used more than 15,000 kWh per year, but I checked my figures with Powerstream and they agree with my calculations.

Somebody needs to keep these guys in check. It appears we have no recourse unless they are bluffing.
ashman Send email
 
Feb 1, 2018

Fixed Price termination penalty

Planet Energy have charged too much as part of their termination fees, and have sent the amount for collection. I believe they are trying to browbeat me into paying up. I have complained but they are not adhering to the terms of their own agreement.
They are charging 1.5c per kWh for the remaining term of the contract, for private households with an historical usage of more than 15000kwh per year. The contract comes in effect when the fixed price is charged for the first time on the PowerStream account. The 12 months prior to that date I used 13800 kWh as shown in my meter readings. Therefore I owe them about $150 ($50 per year or part thereof remaining) and not 1.5c per kWh which equates to (incl HST $650). They claim that my utility (then Powerstream) gave them data that shows that I used more than 15,000 kWh per year, but I checked my figures with Powerstream and they agree with my calculations.

Somebody needs to keep these guys in check. It appears we have no recourse unless they are bluffing.
CM1358 Send email
 
Oct 13, 2017

Cancellation Charges Even Though Th eir Guarantee was not Seen

I too was scammed by a door to door solicitor. They promised my electric bill would go down and that I was paying way too much. I specifically asked if I wanted to cancel would there be a fee and I was told no. I was naïve to believe they would be honest and tell me what was in the fine print, which stupid me did not read. I did cancel and went with a new company. I received a letter saying that if I didn't stay with them I would be charged $150. I figured I would just wait for a bill which they never sent. Shortly there after, I was getting harassed by a collection agency saying I needed to pay the $150. How can I be placed for collection when I never received a bill. Horrible business practices. PA screwed their constituents when they decided to de-regulate this industry.
cheggi Send email
 
May 12, 2017

PLANET ENERGY DOOR TO DOOR SCAM

I'm too am a victim of Planet Energy. They have this door to door pencil pusher telling you how great Planet Energy is, save you money on your monthly bill, looks at you monthly statements and tells you he can't believe how much it's costing you. I ask him if I switch carriers, is this a contract and I can cancel any time. He assures me that this is not a contract and I can quit anytime. After 3 months of electric bills, I don't see any lower electric rates and if not higher rates. After switching back to my previous carrier, I get this nasty phone call and letter that I have to pay a $225 termination fee. Sent my account to a credit collection agency. After reading the fine print of a 2 week cancellation notice. How you can you see any change in electric bill after 2 weeks. I filed a complaint with the Attorney General and the PUC without no satisfaction. And to top it off they're still sending door to door representatives to my house representing Planet Energy.
IF YOU ENCOUNTER A DOOR TO DOOR PENCIL PUSHER FROM PLANET ENERGY, CHASE THEM AWAY FAST AND FAR.
androc1954 Send email
 
Mar 16, 2017

Planet Energy

I am being harassed by the Collection Group of Canada, a MR. DASTUR is hounding us to collect an amount due. I actually had a meter removed in one of my buildings and the cable connected to our house meter.

My sister, as an employee of one of my companies signed a contract without my consent and authorization. I was never asked about it.

I did sign up with Planet Energy after listening to an ACN presentation. I understand the concept, but am not convinced that people who sign up with Planet Energy are in fact saving money.

Now I realize, that the person who signs people up gets points and money. I have not signed anyone up except a few of our own hydro accounts. I am not seeing any savings, nor have I seen money being deposited to my bank account.

I should have looked up Planet Energy online before giving $450.00 to sign up.
lynnrnbsn Send email
 
Mar 9, 2017

Planet Energy

I had a contract with Planet Energy, opened in October 2016 by a fast talking, lying salesman. I was told my current utility company, West Penn Power, was going out of business, and all my neighbors were going with Planet Energy, etc. I signed on for the 3 year contract. There was no other option.

My bills skyrocketed, with my bill higher each month. I called them the beginning of March, and asked if I could be put on a budget payment plan since my husband and I are on disability. I was told I could not, but they offered me a new agreement for 2 years at a reduced rate. There was still no budget plan, but what was I going to do? I needed help.

Later that day of the new agreement, I got my agreement papers in my email. In the agreement, it said (along with lots of other information), I had 10 days to rescind the agreement. I also said after that I would face cancellation charges.

I called West Penn Power, and asked them if I could go back with them, and resume my budget payment plan. I read them the agreement, and told them I wanted to go back with them. They agreed and were going to notify Planet Energy. I followed up with a phone call, and I also sent an email. It has been 5 days. (Friday to today, Wednesday.)

Today, I got an email and phone call from Planet Energy telling me I was being charged $225.00 for cancellation of contract, citing the previous agreement I had with them. When I told them I had a new agreement with them, they argued that I was going to be charged the fine.

I ended up calling the PA utility commission, and opened up a claim to see where this will go. I'm not sure what it going to happen from here.
steve s Send email
 
Dec 16, 2014

Gas & Hydro Contract Termination fees

Stay Away From Energy Marketers:

I was laid off from my place of employment (Pastor of a church) May 2014. A few years ago, I signed the church up with PLANET ENERGY - ENBRIDGE GAS Supply Marketer - & HYDRO Supply Marketer. Unfortunately my name is on the contract. The church building was sold last month to another denomination. I told Planet Energy Customer Service on the phone that I was not responsible for that contract termination because the property was sold - there are new owners. Today I received two letters from Collection Group of Canada (CGC). THEY HAVE PENALIZED ME FOR THE CONTRACTS TERMINATED!! Contracts ($177.89) and ($145.38).These people are out of control. I already explained the problem to their customer service but they insist someone must pay their ridiculous fees. Who will please bring these people in line? I'm a senior citizen - they say my credit rating will suffer and are pressuring me to pay. HELP!!
Steve

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Edgar's - Unresolved account
    I hereby write out of options now ,hoping for intervention...
    TradeKey.com - Review on Best designed website by tradekey
    I was disappointed with my existing website because of...
    COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK - COCA-COLA UK LOTTERY PRIZE 2018
    I received that message this morning. "Congrats!...
    Redmond note4 - Lost phone
    Irfan.I.majothi Add:G-3,Meghdhara,chs...
    Immigration of malaysia - Illegal Foreigners in Mutiara Ville
    There are too much illegal foreigners in Mutiara Ville,...
    iMMIGRATION AND PASSPORT OFFICE ISLAMABAD - passport
    i am waiting for verification confirmation which london...
    Chowking - comendation
    Good morning this is to inform you that you got a wow...
    ZAIN - Balance check
    I charge 20 gb but i can't know my balance
    chiwking - comendation
    Good morning this is to inform you that you got a wow...
    Mi Redmi note 4 - Lost phone
    Irfan .I.Majothi G-3,Meghdhara, C.h.s. Off gen A.K.Vaidya...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Edgar's - Unresolved account
    I hereby write out of options now ,hoping for intervention...
    TradeKey.com - Review on Best designed website by tradekey
    I was disappointed with my existing website because of...
    COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK - COCA-COLA UK LOTTERY PRIZE 2018
    I received that message this morning. "Congrats!...
    Redmond note4 - Lost phone
    Irfan.I.majothi Add:G-3,Meghdhara,chs...
    Immigration of malaysia - Illegal Foreigners in Mutiara Ville
    There are too much illegal foreigners in Mutiara Ville,...
    iMMIGRATION AND PASSPORT OFFICE ISLAMABAD - passport
    i am waiting for verification confirmation which london...
    Chowking - comendation
    Good morning this is to inform you that you got a wow...
    ZAIN - Balance check
    I charge 20 gb but i can't know my balance
    chiwking - comendation
    Good morning this is to inform you that you got a wow...
    Mi Redmi note 4 - Lost phone
    Irfan .I.Majothi G-3,Meghdhara, C.h.s. Off gen A.K.Vaidya...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username