Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Planet Fitness

United States,
New Hampshire

Consumer complaints and reviews about Planet Fitness

OCGuy Send email
 
Sep 7, 2018

MSNBC Bias

The Planet Fitness here has 20 monitors and shows Fox News on two of them, but ZERO showing MSNBC! I've spoken to the desk staff twice and both times they claim to be helpless to the powers of their management.

When will the conservative bias of Planet Fitness end??

This Planet Fitness is in a largely minority neighborhood. It is in poor taste to be showing racism on two of the twenty monitors!
OCGuy Send email
 
Sep 7, 2018

MSNBC

Planet Fitness has an apparent Trump bias. They have TWO of the 20 televisions devoted to FOX News. Not a single of the monitors has MSNBC!! I talked to the desk staff twice and both times they claim to be helpless.

Can we stop this apparent conservative bias by PF??
Jimdeval Send email
 
Aug 11, 2018

No CNN

I have the opposite experience at my Planet Fitness facility. It has dropped the CNN station and only shows Fox News. Either show both or drop both news channels. They do not have the right to decide which point of view I get to watch.
Common Send email
 
Mar 24, 2018

No Fox News

Planet Fitness to remove Fox News and not give their customers a choice there's no way there shouldn't be Fox News playing on the 50 TVs at the club I go to this is obviously a bias company being run by liberals who don't want the truth to get out I'm canceling my membership I just joined a week ago and even if they put Fox News back on I won't return even though it's the closest gym to my house I could walk here I'm just disgusted with these liberals they're the scum of the planets they're not only the scum of the United States that ass come in every country that they exist in.
Wingnut Send email
 
Feb 28, 2018

Biased Political Viewpoint

My wife and I love PF and work out daily. We also enjoyed watching both CNN and Fox News while working out so we could get both political viewpoints. After about 5 weeks we noticed they stopped showing Fox and had CNN on two screens. We asked the Staff if they would please add Fox News back on at least one set and they said the manager of the store establishes the policy on what is shown on the sets but that they would pass our comments along. I would not have expected PF to push a political perspective on their patrons, since their motto is No Judgment. Clearly that doesn't apply to their political stance. It's unfortunate since the Country is pretty well split down the middle politically, so they are telling half their patrons we don't care about your viewpoints. We have requested this several times in person and by email but to no avail. It is clear that this franchise management isn't interested in pleasing its patrons as much as pushing their viewpoint. So much for a judgment free zone.
To KooKoo5 who is glad they dropped Fox...we would be just as frustrated if they dropped CNN and only showed Fox. Some of us like to get different viewpoints on news stories so we can make up our own minds, and CNN is as far left as Fox is right. Being properly informed on issues requires inputs from both perspectives.
ouac 20034 Send email
 
Dec 9, 2017

CNN & FOX NEWS BANNED

I have been a Planet Fitness Member for about a year. Ironically the way the TV'S were set, FOX News was on the left and CNN on the right with BRAVO in between. I enjoyed getting 2 perspectives on the news of the day. When I asked at the desk I was told there was too much controversy so both were banned. Censorship? What I find hard to believe is that the soft porn on the BRAVO network seems perfectly acceptable. At least with the news channels you to don't have to listen. On BRAVO it the visual that offends me and it's hard to avoid when it is between the 2 news channels I was watching. I am seriously considering dropping my membership.
Redfieldwf Send email
 
Sep 28, 2017

Fox News Being Arbitrarily Dropped, PF, Paducah, KY

I watch the fair and balanced Fox News along with the other networks (CNN, MSNBC, NBC, HLN, ....) as I try to consistently put in three (3) milrs on the tread mill. I bounce back and forth as commercials come on each of network's. I enjoy watching this way to give a different perspective from each but mainly Fox.
Why has Fox News network been terminated from being shown?

Thanks,

Bill
Peglop Send email
 
Jul 20, 2017

Fox News

So I have been a member of the Planet Fitness at this location for years and when I work out I listen to music and have always watched Fox News close captioned. Today I go there and I cannot get the closed caption working on the t.v. So I go to another machine to view it from another t.v. And wola, the same thing happens. So I put on CNN and MSNBC and guess what, closed caption is there! Now I am getting upset so I go to the menu on the side of the t.v. and try to manually get the closed caption on so I can enjoy my workout. A worker comes over and asks me if she can help me with anything. I proceed to tell her that I am trying to get the CC on the Fox News . She tells me that not all channels have the CC and that it might be the cable company. I said, "Well that is funny, because this is the first time I have experienced this and in the past, it has always worked." She then proceeded to become defensive and asked me if I was insinuating that they were biased against Fox News. I said that I find it very strange that all the other channels have CC except for Fox News and that I doubt that it is the cable company. I knew the girl was not being upfront and remembered a quote from Judge Judy, "if it doesn't make sense, it probably is not true." I am expecting Planet Fitness to fix this "glitch" (lol) and allow their customers to watch what they choose to. After all, is not your slogan that you are a judgement free zone with no critics. Practice what you preach and give me back my Fox News CC! I do not care what anyone watches, and I do not judge anyone by their political beliefs, but do not try to control what I wish to view because that is discrimination and you are being a "critic!" Shame on you, Planet Fitness in Wappingers Falls, N.Y.
JimmyMac13 Send email
 
Jul 15, 2017

FOX News

Why do all these complaints say FOX is r moved and MSNBC is available at Planet Fitness. Tell me what pPF has MSNBC and which one does not have FOX. This is the way FOX-watchers operate. They all feel there is a liberal conspiracy out to get them. I have been to a half-dozen or so PFs and have never NOT seen FOX and have seen MSNBC. CNN is NOT the left equivalent of FOX. In fact, there is no equivalent. FOX pushes rumors in an effort to move its agenda. No other response mail ever news agency does that.
radash64 Send email
 
May 28, 2017

Fox News

So I am finding out it isn't just in Nashville that PF has taken it upon themselves to remove a public network because a few people don't like it??? Put in your headphones!! There is plenty of other programs that people don't like but we don't complain, just tune in to something else people!! for every person who doesn't want to see it, there is one who does. Who is being discriminated against then??? This is wrong. I will be ending my PF membership. I'm very disappointed in them.
radash64 Send email
 
May 28, 2017

Fox News

I am very disappointed that my gym decided to not show FOX News because a few people decide they don't want to hear it. Well put your headphones on! There are just as many who do, and Planet Fitness is going to lose my membership because of this. This is stupid and wrong.
Tlj Send email
 
Apr 5, 2017

Fox News

I am very disappointed that you have decided to not show Fox News at your Huntsville location. Everyone does not watch CNN. This shows me that this is a very bias company. This is very sad.
Sho Send email
 
Apr 1, 2017

Fox news missing at PF

Fox News has gone missing at my gym and that's what I love to watch and so do many others. What is the delay in getting it back on? Or are we being sensored by the closed minded left again?
LLD Send email
 
Nov 22, 2016

Planet Fitness & Politics

I find it amusing that liberals on this site complain bitterly that FOX news is included along with MSNBC, CNN etc. among the 8-12 television offerings simultaneously arrayed in the cardio/workout room. I joined PF because I wanted to get and stay in shape (I am 60) and found that being able to simultaneously work out and scan several news networks (I read the captions rather than listen) works for me. I do not watch tv news at home because I can't stand all of the commercials and watching one station at a time would not be worth my time. I fully understand and support those who complain that their local PF does not carry their favorite news channel but am completely bewildered by those who demand that our choices by censored. Seriously? Look at one of the other 12 screens if you don't care for FOX reporting. Or if you are intellectually adventurous, watch the same news reported on several networks and do a little critical analysis. Good for your brain and for the electorate. Personally, I find it interesting to seek out news sources from around the world (alt left; alt-right etc.). As a result, I was not terribly surprised by Brexit or the Trump victory.

Life-long democrat with independent leanings.
cmadx Send email
 
Jun 8, 2014

Fox News on TV's

I've been upset enough to see PF's with equal number of CNN and Fox TV's, and NEVER seen MSNBC at any of the SEVEN I have visited, but I just went to the newly renovated site in Fitchburg, MA and there is NO CNN, Fox is the only national cable news station, and they even went the extra step of putting it on one of the TV's that are not devoted to the aerobic machines, the ones that are normally devoted to sports.

There is CLEARLY an agenda here. I read a response that corporate sent to someone else who complained about this: "We at Planet Fitness have chosen a variety of different programs to try to meet all members’ likings as much as possible. We feel that the range we have selected is appropriate to accommodate different preferences of members". This is complete crap, since not only is this liberal MA but to say you are trying to meet all the needs by having ONLY Fox News is just laughable. My question is not that Corporate has a clear bias and these decisions are made at the top, but are they actually getting paid by Fox? There is so much money floating around in right wing world and they use it in these insidious ways to compensate for the fact that they are doomed by demographics.

Virtually ALL serious academic studies show that Fox does lie, and that their viewers are highly misinformed. Once you accept this FACT, then I don't care what side your on you have to be concerned that we have misinformed citizens going into polling booths. And if your not, then do you actually believe in democracy or are you in fact a fascist wrapped in an American flag? Yes, I said Fascist, look up the definition. One element of Fascism is control of media by the corporate powers.

BTW, Fox was not allowed to open a station in Canada. Know why? Because Canada actually has a law against misrepresenting the news. It's called the radio act. So, if you get your news from Fox.... just sayin...
cmadx Send email
 
Jun 8, 2014

Fox News bias

I don't know what gym JeffJack goes to, but there's at least one TV with Fox News at EVERY Planet Fitness I've been to, about 7. And, if he really believes Fox is responsibly reporting the FACTS or that CNN is a liberal version of Fox then he is, like most Fox viewers, provably misinformed.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

Membership terminated for taking pictures. Planet fitness, 736 Huse, Road, Manchester NH.

I walked into PF with my friend as her guest on 11-16-08. As I signed in I specifically asked what the rules for the gym are. No grunting (even when your benching 300lbs) you have to hold it in I was told. No dropping of the weights. This is all that was said to me. I looked around for any signs that had other rules on it and saw none. After my workout my friend and I walked over to a part of the gym where there was no one around and no equipment in the area. I asked her to take some pictures of me all pumped up. I wanted some before and after photos so I could track my progress as I want to compete in the mens senior bodybuilding challenge at the end of 09. Ill tell you I'm 45yo and in very good shape. I will put my body up against any 20 yo and win. She proceeded to take the pictures, 4 of me with my shirt on, then 4 with my shirt off. It was at this time that an employee of the gym came over and saidyou cannot do that in here. I was taken back, for Ive been in gyms for over 20 years and never heard of such a thing. I apologized then picked up my things. On my way out I thanked them for my visit.Have a great day I was told. I just thought it was odd that they told me to stop taking pictures. I wasnt taking any pictures of the gym itself or any of the equipment, just photos of myself doing the classic poses.

The next day the manager called my friend at work and had the tenacity, the unmitigated gall to tell her that her membership was terminated because we were taking pictures!! No warning of any kind, no please dont do that again. Can you even believe that!! I was livid when she called me and told me this. I immediately called the gym to talk to the manager. I asked what was going on. I was told we do not tolerate that here. That I was intimidating the other customers and making them feel very uncomfortable. I told him that I had asked what the rules where as soon as we walked in and no one said a thing about having someone taking your picture. He said that we dont want your kind in here and that is definitely not the atmosphere that we want. That I was way out of line and disruptive. I said you didnt even give her a warning, that Im the one who asked her to take the pictures. He said they can and will terminate any membership at any time that they choose. It is at their discretion and it also comes down from the corporate office. I still cant believe what I was listening to. I did my homework before I called him and got the corporate phone number. I wanted to know just what kind of place I was dealing with. I asked him for the corporate office number. He said we dont give that out. I figured as much and told him that I already had it. For all that want to know the number it is 603-516-0361. So my friends membership was terminated over 8 pictures.

Let me explain what PF is. It is the MacDonalds of the fitness industry. This is a place for children run by children. If you think that they will help you reach any serious goals you are mistaken. You cant even make a noise if youre lifting heavy weights; they want you to hold in all the pressure and blow a nut. Thats great, what happens then when youre injured? This place is for the person that just wants to go through the motions. There is nothing there to motivate you to be the best you can be. This is not the first time Ive been to a PF. The staff is made up of children just out of HS. Their so called knowledge of getting into and staying in shape and setting and meeting high goals you have set for yourself is laughable!! This place is no gym, its a meeting place. PF is for girls period!! Im now on a mission to convince people to not go there and find a real working gym. Do yourself a favor; look around for a private locally owned gym. Look around at the people that are in the gym. Are they all out of shape just going through the motions? Can you see anyone that you could use as a role model to challenge yourself to be the best you can be? For this will motivate you!! A real gym does not have ridicules rules such as PF. They wont even let you walk around with a gallon of water to hydrate yourself. They want you to buy their bottled water. You are not allowed to where tank tops because they dont want you showing off what you have accomplished. For all that feel as I do lets get together and expose PF for what it really is. Its the biggest joke that ever came down the pike. Save your time and money. Youll be very sorry if you join this place. Go on line to any complaint site and you will read endless statements of how people have been treated by rude, incompetent, employees and the endless rules and regulations and the ones they make up as they go. Lets bury this fraud of a fitness center. For all of you that work damn hard to be in the best shape you can be KEEP PUMPING!! For everyone else that just goes through the motions I suggest you give up and lay down as youre just as phony as Planet Fitness.
Vincent Sanfilippo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

On October 31 2007 my membership was suspend for no reason they said verbally abusive all because there was no where to sit and the staff arrassed me to no end
Vincent Sanfilippo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

It's called a discriminating facility to do that I should sue
Vincent Sanfilippo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

This Was at the 40 lindmin dr Trumbull Debbie Barton is aran person and staff made fun of me close up go out of business
JeffJack Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Liberal Bias

Joined recently. Sat down on the bike and tried to tune in to TV. Looked up and saw CNN. So I looked for FOX News. Nothing. They have CNN and MSNBC (which is basically a loop of anti Republican and pro Obama propaganda).

So I asked why no FOX News and they said "we have FOX."

I said, "that's FOX local not FOX News." Then she said well they only carry one station per company (i.e. FOX News or FOX Broadcast). So the FOX channel is Judge Judy, Dr Phil, etc.

I asked why the so-called NBC channel was tuned into MSNBC and not local NBC, i.e. soap operas. And she finally admitted the owner is a Democrat and dos not like FOX News.

So they are cute they claim... 'Oh we have FOX...' But they don't. It's the local FOX channel.

And I am not requesting they remove CNN or MSNBC but give me a break. They have 12 TVs and they block the #1 news channel. Please. They show Lifetime, VH1, E!, Discovery, etc.

Seems weird that a company that slogans itself "no Judgement" yet is obviously very much so. Discriminating against a majority of the country that is not liberal.
Kookoo5 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Liberal Bias

I say good for the owner sticking to his/her beliefs and not wanting their clientele mislead by Faux news.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    POS MALAYSIA - POSMEN BIADAP
    TRACKING NUMBER ER579835175MY SAYA NAK COMPLAIN, SAYA...
    Poslaju miri - Parcel lost
    ER557629287MY PARCEL NUMBER.SINCE 11.10.2018 TRACKING...
    Carol - Not rcv parcel
    ER557629287MY PARCEL NUMBER.SINCE 11.10.2018 TRACKING...
    al awaiel manpower and employment - scammers
    al awaiel manpowe in sharja behind and beside suzuki...
    CitiMortgage - Ignored my payments
    Citi sold my home! Their decision was based on "non...
    US Bank reliacard - Poor Customer Service
    I had lost my card and called to have it replaced. Because...
    bakery story - Challenge reward missing
    Carol J Sherrill Oct 18, 4:12 PM PDT I was not...
    ٠١٥٢٧٥٣٣٤ - ٠٣٥٢٧٥٣٣٤
    ٠٣٥٢٧٥٣٣٤ انا مقدم شكاوى كتيره...
    Sedgwick CMS - Denial of Benefits
    Continue the Denial Saga... I have filed more paper work...
    Nabisco - Nabisco was Change in premium fresh stack quality
    I have recently purchased a Nabisco premium fresh stack...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    POS MALAYSIA - POSMEN BIADAP
    TRACKING NUMBER ER579835175MY SAYA NAK COMPLAIN, SAYA...
    Poslaju miri - Parcel lost
    ER557629287MY PARCEL NUMBER.SINCE 11.10.2018 TRACKING...
    Carol - Not rcv parcel
    ER557629287MY PARCEL NUMBER.SINCE 11.10.2018 TRACKING...
    al awaiel manpower and employment - scammers
    al awaiel manpowe in sharja behind and beside suzuki...
    CitiMortgage - Ignored my payments
    Citi sold my home! Their decision was based on "non...
    US Bank reliacard - Poor Customer Service
    I had lost my card and called to have it replaced. Because...
    bakery story - Challenge reward missing
    Carol J Sherrill Oct 18, 4:12 PM PDT I was not...
    ٠١٥٢٧٥٣٣٤ - ٠٣٥٢٧٥٣٣٤
    ٠٣٥٢٧٥٣٣٤ انا مقدم شكاوى كتيره...
    Sedgwick CMS - Denial of Benefits
    Continue the Denial Saga... I have filed more paper work...
    Nabisco - Nabisco was Change in premium fresh stack quality
    I have recently purchased a Nabisco premium fresh stack...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username