Submit a Complaint

Providian National Bank

United States,
Pennsylvania

Consumer complaints and reviews about Providian National Bank

CajM Send email
 
Apr 28, 2021

Threats of suit

Yesterday a so called law firm called where I work & left a message to call Allison Taylor, process server immediately @ 888-483-0508. I called the number when I got home. First off the receptionist never said who she worked for when she answered the phone. I told her I received a call where I worked from someone & just who the devil are you. The receptionist never told me the company/firm name, just sent the call on to someone else. The guy who picked up started in tell me I owed him $6023.04. I asked him for what. He then proceeded to tell me I had a Providian card from 2009-2015. I told him no I did not.
When I asked him again about all this info, he changed the date to 1999-2005. Don't you remember this card? No I don't. Then he said they are going to file a suit for 25% garnishment of my wages. I asked just how he planned to do that. Then he went into long drawn out thing about how Chase Bank bought Providian & that sale didn't go thru until 2019. So now this asset is owned by Chase Bank & they want their money. He claimed after the suit, atty fees & court costs I will owe them $26,000. To which I informed him that was B.S. After some thought I didn't work for my present employer in 1999. The job I had in 1999-2002, I didn't make enough for a credit card from anyone. After a long drawn out chat, he finally told me the name of the company/firm, P &E Council. That I can look on Google & I will see they come up first because they pay good money for that spot. Well on Google they were 12th. And anyone can pay Google to have a website placed on it. I don't like being threatened by anyone.
Aron Tann Send email
 
Jul 9, 2019

Civil Complaint

So I received a phone call from Edmonds and Associates. First the only Edmonds and Associates I could find here in Philadelphia PA is for a very good eye hospital called Wills Eye. Second, I never ever had a Providian Account. I never even heard of providian Bank.
Third, the girl name was Avery. It sound like she was working in an empty room, and I called back to see if I would talk to someone else. nope she is the only one. My question is why is this so called company handling civil complaints. I thought Civil Complaints would be handle through the courts. Boy was she irritated when I asked that question. So if you get a phone call from 866-498-3973 please expect to talk to Avery. The guy that left me a voice mail was a Leon Colt.

This is a scam!
Bella1940 Send email
 
Feb 21, 2019

settement request

just got a phone call from Christopher Baez about a credit card that a supposedly got in 2003, that is now 7,000 and i will be taken to court and court, attorneys fees will be added. I've never heard of Providian bank???? i also cannot find the firm he works for which is London clark & associates, i called clark & associates and the person that answer the phone said he already had three people calling and asking if it was the same firm, he said hes never heard of them either??? this "credit card" was open in 2003, why wouldn't i have gotten any calls prior to today? so weird .the number is 866-617-45315
caneladulce Send email
 
May 8, 2018

a collection letter

I received a letter for my daughter that has been living in Italy for the last 25 years....the amount of $4875.31 no explanation given as to when this debt occur....I was told that she is the one that needs to call them b/c they can not give me an information. Again i repeated that she has been in Italy in the last 25 years.So with that i hung the phone and told them that this complain will be reported to BBB....they are scammers.
I know my daughter has no open accounts. This is a ridiculous, pointless cockamamie scam.
Donnie1228 Send email
 
Mar 6, 2018

Providian Bank Scam

I received a letter from ARA Inc. stating I owed $1,893.13 for a debt that I know nothing about. When I called and asked for information regarding the account, the person on the line stated you know what the debt is and you need to take care of it. I told the very rude person that I have no idea what the debt was and I wanted some documentation regarding the account. He stated he did not have to give me the information. I politely told him that I didn’t have to give them any of my money. I also said you provide de me with the documentation and I will see you in court. Needless to say I was hung up on immediately. Oh well, I guess I hit them where it hurts.

D.L.
Vennell Send email
 
Jan 26, 2018

Harrasing collection calls

I keep getting harrasing calls from a R & R Law Group..Rogers & Riesling.out of California.....collecting on a debt which would have occurred when i was 6 years old. the person calling, David Broussard even inferred that I might need to check with my family members to see who would do a mistrustful thing as use my identity to open a Providian Master Card...This is a scam and needs to stop. I called Providian, now Chase and spoke with Joyce, she could not find my number, name or account as given by this person, Please make is stop. This is so unsettling to be told the courts will summons me and charge $9,000 which is $7,000 in interest because the claim is so old. They offered to settle for $2,000...I googled Providian and looks like they were bought out by Chase Bank....how to file a claim and stop these calls??????? I do not know who Providian is and wouldnt request a card from them if I did.
Clinton3163 Send email
 
Jan 18, 2018

Providing national bank

I received a letter 1/17/2018 from this ARA saying I owe 1800.00 dollars on a credit card I never heard of and that I had been making payments on for 3 years I did not have a credit card 3 years ago when I ask for a copy of the account they told me they did not have to give me that said they told me they would put a jugement on my credit my lawyer is filed a lawsuit on them to day I never heard of this providing before to day
7C2013 Send email
 
Dec 19, 2017

DEBT COLLECTION LETTER PROVIDIAN BANK

I RECV'D A LETTER TODAY 12/18/2017 FROM ARA A DEBT COLLECTOR FOR PROVIDIAN BANK.
I HAVE NEVER OWNED OR EVEN HAD CREDIT WITH THIS BANK EVER. I CALLED AND SPOKE TO A LOGAN FROM ARA WHO PRETTY MUCH TOLD ME THAT I OWE $8508.87 TO WHICH $4400.00 WAS IN INTEREST AND FEES. AND TOLD ME THAT THIS WAS FROM THE 1990'S AND IF I DIDN'T PAY THAT MY CAPITAL ONE CARD AND MY BUSINESS CAPITAL ONE CARD WOULD SHUT OFF. I CALLED CAPITAL ONE AND THEY SAID THAT THEY ARE NOT AFFILIATED WITH PROVIDIAN BANK IN ANY WAY THEY ALSO MADE A CALL TO ARA WHO TOO SPOKE TO LOGAN AND THEY TOLD THEM THAT THEY WOULD NOT GIVE THEM ANY INFORMATION ABOUT THIS DEBT AND TOLD THEM THAT THIS DEBT WAS VALID AND HUNG THE PHONE UP ON THEM.
CAPITAL ONE TOLD ME TO REPORT THIS TO ALL THREE CREDIT BUREAUS.
StephWC Send email
 
Dec 15, 2017

Providian bank

I received a phone call at my work 1st, Saying I was trying to be served some papers to go to court and that no one was home, If I do not take action they will come to my place of work to serve me some papers. Supposeonly owing over $11000 they will settle for $2000. I do not even know what proviian bank is I never had one. They are also going by my maiden name which I haven't had for over 5 years. 1st of all since I've never even had a pavilion bank here in Florida, And it's ban has to be over 5 years this is ridiculous.
mrsreed3 Send email
 
Nov 8, 2017

Miller Klein and Associates (Providian)

They called me about a bill that I supposedly owed Providian bank that I cant find any information about owing..Chase bought out Providian and they dont have any record of me except a card I filed bankruptcy on in 1996. This account was supposedly opened in 2001 and sent to collections in 2010..It was already over the statute of limitations...They refused to send me a proof of the debt owed because they sent it to an address I haven't lived at in almost 14 years,,( I have that on recording). I filed a complaint with out State Attorney General..there reply is full of blatant lies...I cant deal with them because the last time they made me so angry and wouldnt let me talk I almost passed out....Even with the account number Chase cant find anything...and they deny that Chase didnt buy them out...But I talked to Chase...They told me they know it is over the statute of limitations and they legally cant collect it but yet they are roughly trying to collect...This isnt over...I will fight until I die, They know I had a heart attack in January and they are wanting to make me angry...
rjbounty Send email
 
Aug 13, 2017

Unknown Bank Account debt demand

I received a demand letter from a company called ARA Inc. stating that they had obtained and now own "your Providian Bank Account" and demanding payment of $1,500.00 . I have never heard of Providian Bank and have certainly never had an account with that company. I attempted to resolve this and obtain information from ARA at their "customer service" number in order to insure that this information would not be incorrectly reported to any credit bureaus. The representative was very aggressive about my so-called debt and refused to provide me with any information. She finally told me to throw the letter away.


How do I make sure that this debt scam will not affect my credit?

[email protected]
Dr Garry Patterson Send email
 
Jul 21, 2017

PPI

My financial advisor has been looking through my documents and realised I was sold PPI as a result of my card from you.

I was not allowed the card unless I payed the Payment Break Plan which is clasified in law as PPI.

Please send me the necessary forms to fill in to seek a refund, as The British Courts have determined as you are aware as Mis sold payment protection insurance.

I have mental health issues as a result of my nervous breakdown. Please provide a contact number in the UK that I might speak to or for my Solicitor to speak with.

My address on my statement is
Apt 15 Sharman House
Old Windmill Road
Crawfordsburn
BT19 1XN

I have moved and my present address is
Dr Garry Patterson OBE
31 Kensington Park
Bangor
Co Down
BT20 3RF

Tele No:- Mobile 07967870556
Home 02891859599
EMail [email protected]

The statement in front of me is dated 22/11/01

Card Number. 4265 6706 0641 5489


I look forward to hearing from you. I can send you this statement or Photograph and attach it if you require if you send me your email address. As a result of my mental health I tried but was unsuccessful using the option below.

I look forward to hearing from you and a contact in the UK in order that I can discuss it.

Kind Regards,

Dr Garry Patterson OBE
Gina Despain Send email
 
Jul 15, 2017

fraudent claim

I have been receiving calls from some locator company....They gave me a 877..number and a case number..they told me to call said number to some place I have never heard of. Next guy that talked to me wanted the case number and the last 4 of my SS number.
He then continued to tell me of a Providian Bank Card which I never heard of nor never had.,,,, with some very high balance on it. Not so,
Thanks
shotcaller Send email
 
Mar 29, 2017

complaint against me

I received a call from a florida number saying a complaint was filed against me. hen i called back they gave me a phone number to call and a case number. The phone number is to Madison powell and Associates in Riverside, Ca. and the case is referring to a Providian Bank account from 2000. I have never heard of Providian Bank and now supposedly Madison Powell and Associates are going to take me to court for $1558.96 and according to a girl named Adriana in the litigation i spoke to i may be facing up to $4000. in fines fees and lawyer costs. Now i'm willing to bet that the paperwork i will be receiving will be for a court in California, while i live in Texas.And from what i have found on Providian bank they went out of business and were bought out by Chase Bank and have been reorganized multiple times and their status is INACCTIVE as of 1998.
Deneale K Williams Send email
 
Feb 16, 2017

Beyond harassment

I don't even know if anyone reads these. I just know I'm doing it because I hope to God someone who needs to does and does something about this BS. You see, I moved to Florida in 1998. Established phone service and have been with that very same company since. Once I set up residence and phone service then the calls started. Apparently I had applied for and received and even spent over $1000 worth. Amazing for someone with lousy credit. Especially in one months time, and now I'm in debt and they want their monies now. Makes no sense but hey. 2017. My identity has been proven stolen several years ago, police report case number while nine yards. Providian claims now they're taking me to court and they're going to literally put me in prison over this debt. Um ok. Please I say, lets go to court. Results I get hung up on. Calls don't stop same promises. I've change my number well over nine times which isn't free after two. I've moved four times. They find me every time. If someone needs a prison sentence it's whoever owns Providian. For starters, allow me to point out, even if per se the debt was mine: there is a statue of limitations. Secondly why is this not on my credit report? Because you know it's fraud! Fraud on your behalf not mine! Someone anyone please if there's a way to stop this enlighten me or do it! I'm 52 years old and I honestly believe they will harass my children even after I die! That's how evil I feel this company is! They literally disgust me!
Cheryl Lindsey Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Settlement request

I receive a notice from a collection agency that I owe Providian National bank $2222.11. I donot even know who Providian National Bank is. The sent to address I have not lived for over 12 years. I am not going to send mone to someone i do not even know. How can I find out who Providian National Bank is.


thanks
Cheryl lindsey
Auto Tech Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Settlement request

I think this bank went out of business years ago, or sold out to somebody else, I also just received a call from Portfolio Recovery Associates demanding payment on a supposed account I had with Providian back in 2001, I told the lady to go to hell since I never owed that money and even if I did, it's been over 11 years, The statute of limitations ran out on that debt almost 4 years ago. That bank no longer exists, anybody that calls you or tries to serve you any papers, you have to fight back.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username