Submit a Complaint

Reliance Home Comfort

Canada,
Ontario

Consumer complaints and reviews about Reliance Home Comfort

Shaan Ali Mathew Send email
 
Oct 17, 2018

3 Year Old Water tank

Contacted by collection to find out that We had a water heater from Reliance few years ago. Never received a single bill or were aware. The account receivable escalation team manager was a rude man who was not interested in resolving this at all. Forcing us to buy the water heater that was being used by some one else and they had possession of it.

Some one needs to start a law suit against these guys due to their disfunctional accounting department and poor ethics and practices.

I just may!!

Where are the regulators!!!?
JennyW0_1 Send email
 
Oct 5, 2018

Everything!!!!

This company never, ever, ever stops calling!!!!!!!!!!!!! I've called their office twice and told at least 5 callers to take me off of the list. Also, rented a hot water heater from them, was told after 7 years I owned it. Called in recently because 7 years is upcoming and was told they do no such agreements that I get to pay for it forever!!!!!!!!!!!!! Then told me I could buy this 7 year old heater for $800!

These people are SCAM artists.

Steer clear!
Northlites Send email
 
Oct 26, 2017

Lien no Removed

Shocker equipment purchased outright on house purchase July 2016. Go to resell 15 months later and am informed by my lawyer on the day before closing day that Reliance had not removed the lien. Shoddy business practices if this sale goes south I would say the word law suit. Do not do business with this company.
Lillian100 Send email
 
Aug 9, 2017

Bill from 2015

I called last year when I was having an issue with a hot water tank. I was told that was unit was bought out. All of sudden 6 months later I receive a letter from a collection agency saying I owed over $1,000 for my contract with reliance. I asked the a/r department from Reliance to prove that I received any bills. They have never proved any bills. I phone customer service today and they said that there is "several accounts here under your phone number". It looks like that system was a buy out. I was sent to accounts receivable and given to a rude gentleman. I said I have gotten another hot tank and you can come and get yours. They won't do that because I no longer have a contract with them. I asked to speak to the supervisor's manager. He was not there and I would have to call back. If I had a contract and I owed $1,000 won't the equipment still be Reliance? I am not paying or a bill from 2014/2015. Won't you be looking for your equipment i I owed you? How do we resolve this? They are a terrible company just looking or more money. What company lets a bill go that long without coming to get their equipment. The equipment is here for their pick up.
Bram2013 Send email
 
May 13, 2017

Water Heater

Change water heater company in 2010 and now Reliance bought out the company. They have actually put a $81. charge in collections from 2010. Reliance extorts monies from Canadians. BEWARE OF RELIANCE HOME COMFORT
bfcar Send email
 
Apr 12, 2017

Accounting Department

Well, I am glad there is a place to voice the practice of Reliance's finance department. We had our furnaces installed in September 2016. They did not take the funds out our credit card until December 2016. Our credit card company had a issue with the charge and asked Reliance to correct the coding on the payment on their internal system. They did not listen. Next thing you know the funds were return to our credit card company (but they did not tell us) and the credit card company left it on hold. Then Reliance says pay or we are taking you to court. Really - because they did not follow the advice of their financial institution, we are being told that we would be sued.

No apology........
anthony_98 Send email
 
Feb 16, 2017

unethical and unprofessional

1) I was billed wrongly twice and it took me an hour to make them understand to waive me the additional charge

2) I was shouted at by someone from their retention team and i wanted to complain. I asked her to forward the call to the complaint team and she hung up. I called them again, she apologized for hanging up and then after 5 min, she said the complaint team would call me back. It's been 48 hours and haven't received a call yet

3) The customer service people are poorly trained and thy use lingo so that customers like us don't understand the whole story.

This is not a cooked up story. I have a reference code from them and a name (fake name perhaps?)

I feel very unfortunate to be shouted at despite living in a country like Canada! I felt humiliated!

I will never deal with them again
RCOM care Send email
 
Dec 31, 2016

RE: STOP CALLING day after day after day after day

Dear Customer,

Kindly submit your details at this link using a PC: http://bit.ly/1cmd6ds Our representative will get in touch with you shortly.

Regards,
Reliance Communications
CLG Send email
 
Dec 8, 2016

STOP CALLING day after day after day after day

Reliance calls day after day after day ... with a recording!!! They will NOT remove your number and then they also give to third party vendors!!

DO NOT EVER USE THIS COMPANY !!!!!!

They are SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO annoying!!!!

LOOSE MY NUMBER RELIANCE !!!! Someone needs to file a class action lawsuit to get them to stop !!!!!

I just may!!!!

Where are the regulators???!!!!!!
gerry Send email
 
Aug 9, 2016

Rental Termination.

after 6 years of Renting an AC, we are now deciding to terminate the rental and want the RELiance HOME comfort to take the unit out the properly. We were told there's a termination charges???? This wasnt in any contract or signed papers that we have and don't even know HOW they calculate the charge. I Asked them to provide me a proof of the contract that was signed by US and will pay for it if proven. They can't provide a proof of signed document. I was told they will find the paper works until now they can't find it its been two weeks past.

what should I do with this company. I'm thinking of exposing them thru Media and expose their style of business. How this kind of business allowed in CANADa.
jimmy999 Send email
 
Dec 10, 2015

missing a/c

well I own 4 houses had and ac put in my one rental property 2 years ago said I could pay it off when ever I want so 2 years later at 80 dollars a month I diced to pay it off.so I call reliance to find out the by out to my surprise it was 4700 dollar needles to say I freaked out told them I want it removed how much would that be they said 750 removal fee this is already after I've paid over 2000 dollars so wat I payed and wat they wanted for a buy out was 6700 wat a frigging joke but wait it gets better so I went looking for a new account to be installed at my rental and found one along with a new mid furnace guess the price 78 dollars a month and I own it in 6 years or the cost of the items 6100 dollars pay out anytime with out penilty 5.5 interest annually great deal so back to reliance made arrangement for the to get the overpriced air condioner which the want to charge me 6700 dollars for to get it out I was putting in new equipment so the day they were suppose to come never showed up the new stuff was being put in the following day so had to push that back till Friday so I called reliance said I have a company coming in putting in the equipment Friday your shut has to be gone thus I'm telling them this wed since there guy never showed up told them if it wasn't out on Thursday I was cutting the hoses and placing it on my front lawn she said a device guy would be there thurs morning he showed up took the airconditioner this was the beginning of the month paiid my fee for that month for the rental no biggie so it gets better. the following month goes by the go into my account and try taking there monthly payment I had a feeling they were gonna so I had stopped payment on that from my bank so I call them ask them why they did this said it was a glitch they would stop it the next month came around same thing called them a gain my on line account say I owe them 160 behind they again appoligized and said they take care of it I then asked them why they hadn't charged me the removal fee I would like to take care of this closed account they said they didn't why they sent me to customer resalotion were I talked to a very nice lady a said she would look into it 2 weeks went by not hearing anything my online bill was still there so I called said she wS still looking into it 2 weeks after that I get a call from a gentleman that's in charge of reviving removed items from homes and business he said he couldn't find the airconditioner and he was trying to track it down well wen the device guy came to my rental my tenet was there had to let him in to the basement to remove thing attached to the airconditioner w
en done he said he would send the paper work to the owner mainly me never revived anything so now a month has gone by get a call fro this gentleman saying they have tryed everything to locate it it can't be found so he says to me well the buy out was 4700 I'll give u a deal just give us 2350 and will close this account. well u can guess wat I said bleep bleep bleep yea and in not paying a cent only the removal fee like they told me he said he would look into it some more but didn't expect any diffrent results he would call me Monday to be continued wen I hear from him monday
ketoe12345 Send email
 
Mar 2, 2015

furnace break down

called reliance at 8 am service man came at 7pm do to being at work was told his visit would be put on our next bill. he showed up spent an hr said our motherboard was fried didn't know cost or when it would be repaired he also left with keeping the air on blowing cold air from outside in told wife it had to stay on we are now siting at 12deg in the house. also told wife he would not leave until we paid by visa even after she called me and I explained it was to go on our bill he refused to leave until she paid after calling reliance about that he told the reliance representative that he wasn't aware we where customers LIAR and we chose to pay on visa guess I will be looking to take my business else where and I hope other people who have complaints or problems do the same its not fare these big companies keep getting bigger while screwing the customer
shadough Send email
 
Jan 22, 2015

Billing for a tank long gone

My tank was picked up in Dec 2013 by reliance , I bought my own after realizing how much i could save by doing so . Somewhere in the middle of 2014 i received a bill from home comfort that I was behind and needed to pay up before they go to collections agency. I called explained about there mess up and they said they would take care of it after seeing on there records that this tank was picked up along time before that and I thought it was done.

Today Jan 2015 again another bill saying that I need to pay or they would call collections agency. There seems to be a mis communication between home comfort and the water tank service . regardless I have 15 days to pay so I call straighten things out for the second time and ask for them to send me a final payment and closed account paperwork for my records .

I'll get it in 2 - 4 weeks . WTF !!!

I'm in the middle of buying a house and I might get a notch on my credit score in 15 days and the earliest they can give me confirmation is 2 - 4 weeks of a closed account from 2013 .....

Stay away from this company.
w. brown Send email
 
Jun 13, 2014

wrong service call time!

Absolutely furious! have booked a morning apt to have my water heater changed. 7- 11 time frame! Called at 10:30 to check if they were coming and was told NO not til between 4 and 8!! I gave up a day of work to schedule this--- moved my car , caged my pet--no easy feat and now I am told No I have the wrong time. I had a water heater inspection on June 3/14 and set this appt then. It is written on my yellow copy --- for june 13 TODAY for the AM time frame!! Furious. Now my whole day is this . add that to the first day for inspection and I have given up 2 full days of work!! Furious! Even an apology for the error but argued with that I have the wrong time. No way does AM look like PM and I remember asking for it and writing it on my calendar at the time of setting it. Grrrrrr!
Rossie Carroll Send email
 
Jan 11, 2014

Bad Heaters

Had nothing but trouble, the first heater leaked water from the tank and the second one never lit so i asked for a refund didn't want to take a chance on another and they refused to give me my money back. Stay away from reliance bad heaters.
Valley1girl Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Seniors/Young Children - No Heat in Winter for 5 days

Marco, did you need to pursue legal action? Did you get any service, finally? How did you resolve this? I want to know!! s.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

SERVICE/REPAIRS

The water heater started leaking on Friday, was noticed on Saturday when after running the tap for more than 5 minutes, did not get hot water. Called Reliance Home comfort and vide their Ref # RNT 3277344 and informed them that the tank is leaking from inside, the lady told me that they will fax the complaint to the contractor but no promise when he will call you to look into the problem. Spoke with their customer relation department and I was told that they only take calls 24/7 but service cannot be promised. I called Mattamy, the builder of the house since this is a new house and the water heater is not more than 6 months old, the guy promised me that we will talk to someone on a local number and arrange help. A contractor came in but left saying that the tank is leaking and now some installer will call me on Monday to schedule the installation of a new heater. I called Reliance again but the guy on the other side told me that their system is updating and he does not have the current status of the complaint. He promised me that he or someone will call me with the hour but no one called for 10 hours. I called Reliance again only to find that someone will call me by Sunday morning to look into the problem.

Why have mission statement and fancy statements written on the website when in reality the customer service does not even meet the minimum customer satisfaction. Perhaps they do not realise how a person can survive without hot water (bathing, washing of utensils/clothes) for so long particularly on weekend.

Reliance should compensate me for all the inconvenience and for spoiling the weekend of my family
Erin Jsmith Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

SERVICE/REPAIRS

how's the head of reliance
Disgusted In Gananoque Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unacceptable Service and Charges

We were set to move on October 29, 20ll. We have been making payments on a hot water tank from Reliance since we moved into the home in 2001. On Monday, October 24th, we woke up to no hot water. We called at 6 a.m. and were left unsure whether a Reliance repair person could come out that day; that we would get a call back. No call came. On Tuesday, a Reliance truck showed up with no call, no notice. Lucky for us, our son was home to let them in. We were told that the whole unit would need replaced. The subcontractor used was not told how long we had been without hot water and were unable to come until Thursday, October 27. At no point in my brief phone conversation with Reliance was I told that we would incur any costs. Finally, after 4 days without hot water, and on a tight schedule to move, we finally had hot water running through our home. We now are in a new home with our Reliance account now closed only to receive a bill from them for $160 for a part that was supposedly not covered under our contract. This is abominable service and must be stopped. Not only did we give Reliance around $3000 for the years of payments we made, but then to receive such shoddy customer service and be surprised with a bill! We were told by the Reliance phone agent that collections will be after us if we refuse to make payments. Absolutely abominable. We will spread our distaste far and wide...
Another Reliance Victim In Ontario Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unacceptable Service and Charges

A few years ago I needed a repair on my hot water heater and was told it would cost almost $200.00 - I pointed out that the sticker on the hot water heater said that ALL LABOUR & PARTS are included as per my rental agreement. I was told that this particular part was not covered. Two days ago the hot water heater was leaking heavily and when the guy showed up he said he would have to replace the hot water heater and it would cost almost $200.00. I again pointed out the sticker claiming I would not have to pay anything and I got the same story. I told him to take it out that we would buy one and end our contract with Reliance. I called a plumber who was thankfully in the area and could stop in and see what we needed to give me a price. The guy from Reliance said he was closing the door to the area where the hot water heater was because a door to the garage had to be opened to remove it and he wanted to keep the heat in the house. Half an hour later the Reliance guy came in and told me I would have hot water in about 20 minutes. I asked him what he was talking about - how can I have hot water without a tank. He stated that I had told him to replace it and that is what he did. He stated "I've been working for 1/2 hour and what did I think I was doing? I called the plumber and explained what had happened and since he was already on my street he wanted to come and see me anyway. The Reliance guy was still in the driveway when the plumber got here and he spoke with him for a couple of minutes. When the plumber came in he was laughing and said he has run into this guy before and I was the 3rd person he had done this too. (that he knows of) . I don't know if the guy figured we would just stay with Reliance because he put it in but our plan is to buy one, have it installed and be rid of Reliance - the sooner the better.
Comeon!!! Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Shady Billing Practices

I switched over to another water heater company and had them return the water heater to Reliance. Reliance refused to take the tank back for 3 months without a return number. Once they had the return number they still did not take it back for 2 months. It has been 4 months since Reliance finally took the tank back and they continued to call and bill us for the rental, claiming that the tank had not been returned. Luckily I had a copy of ~their~ return form that proves they have had the tank in their possession that whole time. Each time they called, they pretended that they had not received the tank until I could state the date that the return form was filled out, the date ~I~ had to fax their own form back to them, and the date ~I~ had to email it to them. Only then would the return form anf tank suddenly appear in their possession. It still took them over a month to adjust the final bill, in the mean time they would still call asking for payment up to today's date, claiming the tank was not there.
DawnBone Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Shady Billing Practices

OH my goodness we are having the SAME problem! We are now a year later and they
have sent a FINAL notice for payment?? NOW I'm getting really pissed.
ACL12345 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Hot Water Heater Rental

I have just moved to Ontario and have been exposed to the scam of the hot water heater rental business. On arriving I received an invoice for $35 from Reliance Home Comfort to set up an account (what other business charges you to open an account with them?). I have also been informed that my quarterly rental charges for a hot water heater are $38/qtr - this for a hot water heater that is more than 12 years old. If I want to get rid of their heater and buy my own, they want to charge me $200 to close my account, and $125 to remove it from my premises.
How can anyone get away with this kind of criminal behaviour?
DawnBone Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Hot Water Heater Rental

OH my goodness! I'm in the same boat!! I'm getting really pissed off ... I thought of calling
Roger Rossi himself however, it looks as though this may also be futile?
I cant believe a company is allowed to do this.
Robdan Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Seniors/Young Children - No Heat in Winter for 5 days

Congratulations for no longer renting a hot water heater from these clowns. If I were you, I would find out the name of the boss three levels up from the next person that you talk to and invite yourself to visit that person in their office. They won't want to have to deal with you issue, but it should help in expediting the delivery of your refund.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username