Submit a Complaint

Reliance Home Comfort

Canada

Consumer complaints and reviews about Reliance Home Comfort

Chencunqin Send email
 
Aug 21, 2019

Not cooling ac

I bought this new air conditioner in April, but it is never cooling since first time using it. Technicians had been here 8. Times but unable to fix problems. We reached our sale representative Jeff and supervisor ryan to return it but I have not get back from them. Called company, and stated we could not return it. Under contract, 100 % money back guarantee.
[email protected] Send email
 
Jun 8, 2019

Air Condioning

my air conditioner is not working on regularly basis since last 2 years, Reliance comforts tech are vising us and leaving without fixing,
today they booked me 4pm to 8 pm Service call # 1387317 I was at home 3~9 pm no one called me on my cell, which I gave to them, even no one knock my door, at 8:10 pm I received a email with message the service is completed at 4:33 pm
I have job daily I cont. satay at home on daily basis, I called serve desk at 8:10 the lady told me tech visited and fixed the problem, when I asked her name she disconnected the call

the Reliance Home Comforts peoples are unprofessional, they don't want talk nicely,
I called so many time customer care manger, but they put on hold for long period of time.

Air Condioning

scarab62 Send email
 
Jul 26, 2017

water damage

second water heater that failed and flooded basement.Reliance will not pay for damages to property when their equipment fails. Second failed water heater didn't create enough damage to go through Insurance but there still was a cost to what had to be replaced.Expected life of water heaters around 10 yrs. 1st one that failed was close to 20 yrs old ,this last one was 18 yrs old.when you do the math renting cost you way much more than what you save by them replacing a bad appliance.
Bram2013 Send email
 
May 13, 2017

Water Heater

Should be called "Reliance Home DISCOMFORT"
Changed my water heater in 2010 and now Reliance bought out the company. Reliance wants me to pay $81 to them from 2010. They put in collections and won't explain what it is for. Reliance extorts money from Canadians.
doordoc54 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2017

False Advertising

1. Rented new high efficiency air conditioner, furnace and water heater with option to buy. To obtain credits from the Ontario government and Union Gas. They were told the water heater had to be a tankless model to receive the Union Gas credit but installed an tank model Reliance claimed would meet the requirements. It did not and I lost out on that rebate. I had to go after them to file the claim for the Ontario rebate or I would not have received it.

2. Offer was to match any lower quote. I presented a quote from another company and they advised me it was not an equivalent quote due to maintenance agreement and that was true....but the salesman said let me run it buy my boss and came back to me and said they would match the quote anyway.

3. Promised the world and did not deliver. Did not submit my original alternative buy out for $9050.00 so when I called it was close to $11000.00

4. In short dealing with Reliance Home Comfort cost be more than $6000.00

5. Take my advise DO NOT DEAL WITH RELIANCE HOME COMFORT. If you do...get everything in writing and dont' sign anything without reading every word of the document.
anthony_98 Send email
 
Feb 16, 2017

unethical and unprofessional

1) I was billed wrongly twice and it took me an hour to make them understand to waive me the additional charge

2) I was shouted at by someone from their retention team and i wanted to complain. I asked her to forward the call to the complaint team and she hung up. I called them again, she apologized for hanging up and then after 5 min, she said the complaint team would call me back. It's been 48 hours and haven't received a call yet

3) The customer service people are poorly trained and they use lingo so that customers like us don't understand the whole story.

This is not a cooked up story. I have a reference code from them and a name (fake name perhaps?)

I feel very unfortunate to be shouted at despite living in a country like Canada! I felt humiliated!

I will never deal with them again
ahmadmasad Send email
 
Feb 7, 2017

air condition

I bought air condition this year the sales man told me you will get $400 back and reliance delivered the air condition to my house, i refused to receive it because it is not the same as we agreed on specially seers rate witch allow for refund, then the technicians call the the company the manager like to talk to you then mr. Vlado talk to me and told me this air condition the same as yours but defferent name and you will get $400 refund then they installed the air condition, then i received application with $250 refund only then i phoned Vlado and i told him about the refund he told me fill the application and i will pay for you the deffirence $150.
since more than seven month i did not get back any refund I contact the company many times i contact Vlado also no answer
also i sent massege to the sales man but he told me to contact the company but the company promise to solve the problem but nothing has been don.
I have been cheated. now i need to replace the air condition and get my refund or give me back my money and take your air condition
AHMAD MASAD
[email protected]
VLADO 190556814102 TERRY WAREN SALES MAN 905 327 6272
ugly999 Send email
 
Nov 7, 2016

cancelling my account

i tried to cancel my account #0024509892450204 by phone and the agent said it cannot be done now i ask why? and if possible can you do it i am very upset about this. antonio iacovone
marketsmartmike Send email
 
Sep 7, 2016

Overcharging for equipment

My father passed away in March of this year (2016). He was renting a Furnace and AC from Reliance since may of 2008. He was paying $139 monthly plus taxes, which means he has paid over $15K for the rental of equipment and services.

Last 2 years, no services were completed by Reliance. this is part of the agreement. Since his passing, I have been put in charge of his estate.

I have tried dealing with someone by the name of Elena Michael, but she doesnt like returning emails or phone calls and is quite rude on the phone when you do get ahold of her.

Asked what the current purchase option is since the contract is month to month now, having fulfilled the 7 year rental contract.

To my surprise, they said his estate would still owe over $3600 to purchase this equipment out. Thats close to $20K invested for 9 year old equipment!! Thats just out of the question, since this brand new would have been less than $8500 plus taxes. She then told me they do NOT negotiate buy outs.

I told them they can come and remove it, since I can replace the equipment with new Furnace and AC for around $6000 with a 10 year warranty OR accept a buy out of $2000. They refused. I asked to speak to supervisor, they PROMISED me I would get a call that very same day from one....that call never happened.

So, instead of accepting a lesser more appropriate buy out, they would rather pay a crew upwards of $1500 to remove the equipment, and THROW OUT the equipment, as they cannot resell it, than to take a lesser buy out.

This company must lose money like a black hole. Completely illogical business practices and NON-EXISTENT customer service!!
ajoypal Send email
 
Jun 2, 2016

Overcharging Water Heater Rental

Reliance charges additional $ 3 per month for a Water Heater Controller. Every water heater comes with a Thermostat. Reliance claims that the Water Heater Controller enables shutting off the Water Heater at night to save energy.
This is not correct since, all Water Heaters are supposed to keep the water at a minimum temperature so that there is no bacteria growth inside the tank. By shutting off the Water Heater at night we will be risking this heath hazard.
GeorgeWendy Send email
 
May 13, 2015

Billing after cancellation

Despite numerous written requests to cancel the Home Heating Protection Plan, $19.99 per month, Reliance Home Comfort continued to charge me for the plan.
It is obvious to me that this company operates in a very deceitful manner and will never admit fault.
I have been renting their water heater for many years now and am being charged $41.13 plus $5.35 tax per month--Is this the current rate? Or am I being overcharged?
I would appreciate any guidance in this matter.

Thank you,
George Favaro
Burlington, Ontario
L7P4J3
C.M. Send email
 
Feb 28, 2013

Billing

We rent a townhouse with a reliance hot water tank, in november of 2012 we had a sewer backup and needed the tank replaced.The property owner took care of the replacement fee and all was well until i recieved a automated phone call from reliance threatening to go to collections for a outstanding balance of $85 to have the venting up to code.So i called and explained that the property owner would pay as its not our property and that i needed a bill sent to me outlining the charges to show him and was told i would recieve the bill in a week.No bill showed up now we are being called daily by a collection agency for this outstanding balance that isn't even our responsibility to pay.I plan on paying this bogus charge next week to try and keep my good credit rating then i will take Reliance home comfort to small claims court!
User925214 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2012

Bad business practices

They are hiring the home agents as part of plan to cut costs and bust the union. They have been closing call centers and outsourcing jobs overseas and using work at home staff for several years.

Note a work from home staff is on contract with no benefits or job security. They have to pay for their computer equipment, software, training and then hope they get hours. The pay is very poor.
Makethemgoaway Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Bad business practices

As far as I am concerned Reliance is a huge rip off. They make it difficult to buy out their products (which are, by the way, extremely overpriced). I recently purchased a home, in which there was a pre-existing Reliance hot water tank rental (it was NOT disclosed as a rental in the home purchase). We received a letter from reliance welcoming us to their product, along with a $40 "account change fee" (basically $40 to change the name and phone number on the account). My husband and I sat down to calculate the cost of continuing to rent compared to owning. Because my husband is in the water/heating business, repairs/install would be negligible for us - so we don't need Reliance's services. The cost of renting the tank from Reliance is $320/year; for us to buy and install the exact same model/year tank on our own would be $800-$1000 dollars once (tax included). I called Reliance asking how much it would cost to simply buy the tank they had installed: I called once, was promised I'd get a call back from their rental sales department, which I didn't. I called again 2 weeks later, was asked all kinds of personal questions (like where I worked, what my husband did...not relevant to the conversation - and I told them so). After being put through the high pressure sales ringer for 20 minutes by two different sales people they FINALLY quoted me $1, 310 (plus tax) to just purchase their tank (way too much). I said no thank you, I would like to get rid of their tank because, for us at least, getting our own would be cheaper (I mean, who doesn't want to save money?). They then stated that since the tank was installed less than a year ago, I was stuck with it until the one year is up (all new products are locked into a building for one year - even though we didn't sign (or even see) the rental agreement, the previous owner never mentioned it). So, I got railroaded into renting this tank for the remainder of the year. Reliance uses high pressure sales tactics, are blatantly (and inexplicably) rude, they do not directly answer valid questions (that may, heaven forbid, put into question their practices/products), and they have an overpriced product. Here's the other catch...if you want their product out of your home, they will NOT come and uninstall it, you have to arrange for that. I cannot wait until this is over and I don't ever have to hear from these people ever again. I have never felt so beat up after a phone call.
Christiangirl177 Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Bad business practices

WOW! Thanx for your comments on this company. I received an e-mail claiming that they're hiring English-speaking agents to work from home for their company. After reading your full comment, I cannot work for them. For me to work for them after reading about their practices, would be totally unethical.
Humngbrd22 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

over payment

I accidently over paid my June bill by 401.00 on June 27th this year. I have asked 7 times for a refund and they keep telling me they will pay it back and it's the week of Christmas and I have no Christmas money to buy food or gifts. I have an 11 year old boy who deserves a Christmas and they keep giving me the run around...wrong bank information twice...check leaving this moment. The problem stops here and I will take care of this back in September by a supervisor and yet nothing...3 weeks ago they started calling with a bill for Dec that I refused to pay since they have my money and they confirmed that it was there but just not indicating a credit balance on my bill, they said they would take care of it then and yet still nothing. I beg you what can we do about these practices.
After waiting yet another time all I get for my troubles is some guys voice mail, what am I supposed to tell my son.
R Massingham Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

over payment

I'm terribly sorry to hear about the delay in getting this issue resolved. Please email me at [email protected] and I will work to get this issue rectified quickly. Thank you. RM

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username