Submit a Complaint

Renewal by Andersen

United States,
New York

Consumer complaints and reviews about Renewal by Andersen

debtorn Send email
 
Mar 31, 2021

Anderson sliding screen door

I ordered a srcreen door for my sliding back door It came bent then they ordered another this has taken over a month then I recieved it again worst then the other one ....I called and they said its out of there hands there shipping company is doing it and its out of there control Instead of making me a proirity( the customer)..they told me to buy it from Home depot What happened to Honest reliable dealers that we made rich ?BOOOOO on Anderson
windows Send email
 
Dec 22, 2020

warranty issues

After viewing all of the commercials and the supposed reputation of Anderson and Pella windows, I chose Anderson Replacement windows as an investment in my home. With 3 installations of 20 windows for a total cost of $31,000, I thought my home was complete in the window area. I started in September 2017, work completed in Spring 2018. The windows looked nice, and with mostly casements, functioned well. But now within the last year, I have noticed what appears to be leakage into windows. Several windows have molding cracking, bowed molding, and separation. I notified my local office, and it appears that they are leaning toward it being an issue with my siding installation. I find this difficult to accept. My home was built in 1941, very well built. I purchased this home in March 2012. Initially, lower cost single pane windows were in home. I looked into replacement because of a seal issue with a few windows. I have spoke w/ a home builder and a general contractor, both indicating that any issues should have been noticed during installation. Renewal by Anderson is coming to my home today to take off siding to view "my problem". This is unacceptable! I will not allow this issue to be passed onto myself, the homeowner. Per your warranty "alot of things can change in 20 years, your windows should not be one of them." I expect these issues to be resolved in a professional matter. And after this large investment, do not expect to have this matter blamed on my home.
deb7213123 Send email
 
Aug 19, 2019

Renewal by Andersen

I receive about a dozen calls a week from this company. I am not interested.
I had a representative from the company not only ring my door bell but knock on my door last week trying the hard sell. I'm not interested and I finally just shut my door to get him to leave. He had apparently been scouting our neighborhood as my neighbors had a similar experience.
I don't need windows, but if I did, this would be the last company I would use.
User929311 Send email
 
Apr 9, 2012

Not trustworthy Information

Hey "windowman" aka Geoffery Greene from Kingston, NY aka "the avenger" get a life you useless loser. Just because you clearly sucked as a salesman which is why I went directly through the company rather thab through you for my window project, that doesnt make this a bad company. Move on and good luck in all future endeavors. Personally I'm not positive how true all of your claims about the products mentioned above are, but what I do know is that I am very satisfied that I went with my thoughts on how much more credible this company is opposed to a 70 year old unsuccessful in everything he does, simple simon type person with no home no family no life and definitely no money waste of air and any occupied space individual like yourself. Thank you have a nice day.
User807618 Send email
 
Apr 9, 2012

Not trustworthy Information

As a subsidiary of Andersen Windows & Doors, RBA has several functions.
1) They manufacture replacement windows for their own list of privately owned franchises that have names like Renewal by Andersen of the Hudson Valley & Huff N Puff.
2) They manufacture a replacement window and a new construction window (The Andersen 100) for a list of privately owned construction companies located in most areas of the country.
3) They manufacture a replacement window and a new construction window (The Woodwright) that is sold in all the Andersen retail outlets in the country.
The franchises charge the most and have the high pressure selling. The Andersen 100 costs 1/4 of the cost as a franchise window while The Woodwright costs 1/2 the cost of the franchise window. The Woodwright anyone can install (Andersen even provides instructions) while the 100 and the franchise windows must be installed by the retail outlet. The Woodwright is a wood frame window with Fibrex (wood composite) on the exterior and the 100 and the franchise window are all Fibrex. With just a few slight differences in manufacturing, the 100 and the franchise window are basically identical.
The franchises market themselves as the "exclusive" replacement window division of Andersen Windows & Doors.
This is false and misleading marketing.
RBA manufactures replacement as well as new construction windows.
RBA sells to not only to their privately owned franchises but also to other construction companies as well as to thousands of retail outlets (like Home Depot) nationwide.
RBA has only one exclusivity - their privately owned franchises have an exclusive territory to sell RBA franchise windows in.
RBA makes no patio door nor entry door. The franchises sell Andersen (main company) doors just like thousands of retail outlets nationwide. The franchises also sell Pro Via entry doors without informing the customer it is a seperate and privately owned company that has an extensive marketing and distribution system of its own.
With The Woodwright being stronger and more attractive, less expensive, no high pressure selling and install friendly, I see no reason to give your hard earned money to a franchise that misrepresents who they are as well as what they do. Stay away from RBA franchises.
D Robb Send email
 
Mar 21, 2012

replacement windowns

Pella Warranty: 20/10/2 20 on glass seals 10 on non-glass 2 on install all FULLY transferable.
Pella has etched product keys in their windows since the 70's
Most window companies in my region DO charge by the opening and not by what is included I.E. there would be no charge for grids to be installed.
Up until 3 years ago the RBA website actually had a breakdown of performance comparing fibrex to wood, and the pine window (Andersen Corp) out-performed it in every category.
Fibrex is not wood, that is accurate, it is saw dust and glue, with several different material properties contributing to is longevity or quick demise.
I am located in the northern energystar region of the United States and would purchase wood clad (Marvin, Pella, Andersen) over the fibrex window 100 out of 100 time regardless of price.
The RBA (and 99% of all vinyl window companies) install practice is what is considered a pocket install where the work is done almost entirely on the ext of home and int trim is untouched. This is what has lead to the air, water, insect issues people see. The old frame from that "rotten wood window" is still in the opening, RBA just covers it with some ext. trim so that you cant see it.
The proper way to replace a window is to remove the entire unit down to the rough opening and re-insulate, seal, and trim the entire window inside and out, just as if the unit was a new construction unit without a nail flange. Flashing tape is a must. If done properly in an area where you get all 4 seasons a standard wood-clad unit will out-last vinyl every time and perform better than the fibrex windows over time.
It's fine if you don't agree, but I'm right
Windowman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Pricing

Below is an ad from Craigslist for sales reps for this branch in Fishkill. Please notice it does NOT state the name of the company. You should also know "Rich" is new. He replaced the old manager who did not obtain enough sales for this branch. The main reason people don't buy these windows is because they are astronomically expensive. Now judge for yourself if this company is open and honest with its own people let alone with their potential customers. (Date 12-30-11)

If you want: 401k, Medical, Dental, opportunity for growth and the opportunity to earn six figures call Rich in sales @ 845-765-5002

No cold calling and company generated leads. WE ARE RAPIDLY EXPANDING!!! Flexible schedule

A+ BBB rating!!!
Windowman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Pricing

As a subsidiary of Andersen Windows & Doors, RBA has several functions.
1) They manufacture replacement windows for their own list of privately owned franchises that have names like Renewal by Andersen of the Hudson Valley & Huff N Puff.
2) They manufacture a replacement window and a new construction window (The Andersen 100) for a list of privately owned construction companies located in most areas of the country.
3) They manufacture a replacement window and a new construction window (The Woodwright) that is sold in all the Andersen retail outlets in the country.
The franchises charge the most and have the high pressure selling. The Andersen 100 costs 1/4 of the cost as a franchise window while The Woodwright costs 1/2 the cost of the franchise window. The Woodwright anyone can install (Andersen even provides instructions) while the 100 and the franchise windows must be installed by the retail outlet. The Woodwright is a wood frame window with Fibrex (wood composite) on the exterior and the 100 and the franchise window are all Fibrex. With just a few slight differences in manufacturing, the 100 and the franchise window are basically identical.
The franchises market themselves as the "exclusive" replacement window division of Andersen Windows & Doors.
This is false and misleading marketing.
RBA manufactures replacement as well as new construction windows.
RBA sells to not only to their privately owned franchises but also to other construction companies as well as to thousands of retail outlets (like Home Depot) nationwide.
RBA has only one exclusivity - their privately owned franchises have an exclusive territory to sell RBA franchise windows in.
RBA makes no patio door nor entry door. The franchises sell Andersen (main company) doors just like thousands of retail outlets nationwide. The franchises also sell Pro Via entry doors without informing the customer it is a seperate and privately owned company that has an extensive marketing and distribution system of its own.
With The Woodwright being stronger and more attractive, less expensive, no high pressure selling and install friendly, I see no reason to give your hard earned money to a franchise that misrepresents who they are as well as what they do. Stay away from RBA franchises.
Windowman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Pricing

Currently (fall 2011), this franchise is advertising $100 per window discount sale as their greatest sale ever. This is a lie! With the average price of a window being $1500, this constitutes a 7% discount. They routinely discount their windows 25%. In addition, you can purchase and have installed a RBA window (The Woodwright) at any of the Andersen retail outlets for 50% of the franchise cost. Stay away from RBA!
Windowman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

replacement windowns

Ignorance is bliss!!!
HavanaBrian you need to educate yourself. 1) Most window manufacturers have lifetime warranties that are transferable to the next homeowner. Andersen doesn't. 2) Andersen (the main company) does not make RBA windows. RBA makes RBA windows. RBA also makes windows for Andersen (the main company). 3) Mostly not understandable, however I will try to decipher your thoughts. It is a franchise not an affiliate. LIRBA is one of the few franchises that refuses to hire their own installers. They use ONLY subcontractors. 4) At the very least, a stop MUST be removed to install a replacement window. This must be replaced. 5) RBA does not charge for INSTALLING grills. They charge for the grills (just like the windows) on an install price. In other words, RBA will not sell a window or a grill for someone else to install. 6) The serial number is on the frame, Not on the glass. 7) There is no such thind as a "stock" Woodwright window. There is the new construction Woodwright (has a nailing flange) and a replacement Woodwright (no nailing flange). 8) Once again, the installers at RBALI are subcontractors. Your in depth wage knowledge concerning not only the pay scale for RBA installers but also the entire industry is unsubstantiated and nothing more than hot air. You have no basis for your statement. 9) When you die, you can inform the multitudes on whether it is possible to turn over in your grave. As of now, I leave it as an expression used often in society.
Disagreeing based on lack of knowledge is acceptable. Disagreeing with accusations of intentional false information ("Your Lies") is not. I can only conclude that you are associated with RBA (maybe an installer) and you are proof as to why people should stay away from RBA franchises! CONGRATULATIONS
HavanaBrian Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

replacement windowns

Windowman There you go again speading lies lets go line by line..
1)(YOUR LIE) RBA wearranty is 20 years on the glass, 10 years on the frame and 3 years on the install. One of the worst warranties in the industry
Truth is: the other "Major window companies" Pella and Marvin offer only 1 or 2 years labor and no warranty on install. RBA includes labor (which is the expensive part of a service call) for the life of the warranty
2)(YOUR LIE) Andersen (the main company) does NOT produce any windows for RBA, a subsidiary of Andersen. RBA, however, does make a new construction and replacement window (The Woodwright) for Andersen
Truth is: Of Course Andersen Corporate make the windows they open a new plant 20 miles from the old to handle all the new technology needed to make composite windows.
3)(YOUR LIE)The installers for the privately owned franchise on Long Island are all sub contractors who DO NOT work for RBA nor its franchise.
Truth is: Its not a franchise is an affiliate program thank WILL BE pulled in a second if certain homeowner satisfaction numbers are not met.
4)(YOUR LIE) All installers install new trim when they install replacement windows. That is part of the install
Truth is: Unless customer asks for new trim nothing is disturbed and an outside install can be done. Leaving nothing for the customer to paint once windows are in.
5)(YOUR LIE) RBA franchises sell their services based on an install price. They do not charge separately to install grills. In fact, no one does
Truth is: Again not a Franchise and of course they change more for grills they have 3 different types, Interior Wood-Between Glass-Full Divided Light
6)(Your Lie) The serial number is NOT on the glass, however, the logo (AW) is. The serial number is a nice touch to the windows
Truth is: Each pane has its OWN serial number laser etched in the glass next to the Andersen Logo. If you call they will know the make, model, size, and where it in in your house from that number. No other company has that.
7)(Not so bad on this one) Home Depot and thousands of other retail outlets sell an Andersen replacement window (The Woodwright) so there is no need to cut off the nailing flange of a
new construction window
Truth is: In some weird idea to make money(irony) Andersen has decided to make more than one type of window. Just be careful if you buy Woodwright in Home Depot or other store they will sell you the stock Woodwright which does have a flange on it. You need to ask for a custom no flange window(increases price).
8)(YOUR LIE) Your worry about installers from Home Depot is stupid because the contractors for RBA Long Island also do other installs since they do NOT work for the franchise.
Truth is: Most RBA's have the highest pay scale in the industry for installers. Do you think its because they like giving away money? Or would you think its so they can attract and train the best installers out there...
9) (YOUR LIE)You should have followed your dead father's advice and did it right in the first place. You could have spent 50% less to save that one tank of oil per year by buying The Andersen Woodwright. He must be turning over in his grave wondering how he could have raised such a stupid son!
Truth is: Its imposible to turnover in one grave. Houdini tried it and failed...
Windowman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

replacement windowns

You really are a dolt John Peattie. Here are the facts -
1) RBA wearranty is 20 years on the glass, 10 years on the frame and 3 years on the install. One of the worst warranties in the industry
2) Andersen (the main company) does NOT produce any windows for RBA, a subsidiary of Andersen. RBA, however, does make a new construction and replacement window (The Woodwright) for Andersen
3) The installers for the privately owned franchise on Long Island are all sub contractors who DO NOT work for RBA nor its franchise.
4) All installers install new trim when they install replacement windows. That is part of the install
5) RBA franchises sell their services based on an install price. They do not charge separately to install grills. In fact, no one does.
6) The serial number is NOT on the glass, however, the logo (AW) is. The serial number is a nice touch to the windows
7) Home Depot and thousands of other retail outlets sell an Andersen replacement window (The Woodwright) so there is no need to cut off the nailing flange of a new construction window
8) Your worry about installers from Home Depot is stupid because the contractors for RBA Long Island also do other installs since they do NOT work for the franchise.
9) You should have followed your dead father's advice and did it right in the first place. You could have spent 50% less to save that one tank of oil per year by buying The Andersen Woodwright. He must be turning over in his grave wondering how he could have raised such a stupid son!
Tiesha1 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

replacement windowns

just today a renewal by andersen rep came by for his 10am appt. The presentation was very slow and lasted 5 hrs. Side bar convo took up 1 hr tops. My hubby and I learned new things: difference bet. their fibrex and vinyl; difference bet new construction windows made by Andersen (ready-made) vs. replacement windows made by Renewal (custom built for your exsisting space); why new construct windows are less expensive than replacements ones; the difference bet. HomeDepot's andersens and the replacement windows by renewal; difference in energy star requirements on thier product vs. others; the warranty of the fibrex windows (20yrs) vs vinyl (5 to 10 yrs); quality of the installation, which I know is critical to the windows not leaking, building moisture etc. Bottom line, we were more informed and quality of product is high. I was definitely sold on the product. We want to change our window demensions, install a bay window, and use architectural design w color. He blew my budget out of the water as it was double what i expected to spend. (wow). The rep was friendly, not pushy but very chatty. He did work with me on changing a few things to reduce the amount. He did offer a small $1100 discount and told us about the $1500 gov rebate both of with made little difference on the overall price. Keep in mind, there is but so much discount he can give because "the product sells itself, the price is the price". It seems to be worth it if you plan on living in your home for 10+yrs or if you have deep pockets. As a consumer I always get caught in wanting the best product but not having the money to buy it right then and there. Its like buying the "all-clad" or the "t-fal" pot set; buying the bmw or the mazda. You will pay more for the better product or YES, you get what you pay for. still shopping around. it would be nice to buy the renewals at a better price point. NO IM NOT A REPRESENTATIVE.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username