Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Ross Dress For Less

United States,
Texas

Consumer complaints and reviews about Ross Dress For Less

rosscomplainer Send email
 
Aug 11, 2017

Changing work times without telling

So I have worked for Ross for about 4 months now. There is this one manager that keeps changing my schedule and not telling me. On multiple occasions I got calls from work saying my shift started about 15 minutes ago but my schedule told me that I did not start for a couple hours later, so I would have to show up to or and show them the picture of my schedule I had to prove it to them. Also multiple times I went in and apparently my shift was canceled, and each time the manager there says, "Well didn't Kelly call you and tell you?" and I';m like no, I haven't received a phone call or any messages. All the other managers at my store are great, its is really just her that I have a problem with. Someone needs to make sure that all managers know that they cannot just change your schedule without asking you if its okay or telling you first.
oblivion3211 Send email
 
Jun 2, 2017

CANT CHECK SCHEDULE AT HOME

i think its crazy that you cant check your schedule at home and at the ross i work at an area supervisor will change your schedule for the next day and wont let anyone know so you look like a no call no show or late and theres no way to double check your schedule at home. then have to argue with them and make them believe that you were scheduled at a different time. i think its pretty ridiculous and stupid. im thinking of contacting HR about it and seeing if theres a way for them to set up something where we can check it at home
oblivion3211 Send email
 
Jun 2, 2017

checking your schedule at home

i think its crazy that you cant check your schedule at home and at the ross i work at an area supervisor will change your schedule for the next day and wont let anyone know so you look like a no call no show or late and theres no way to double check your schedule at home. then have to argue with them and make them believe that you were scheduled at a different time. i think its pretty ridiculous and stupid. im thinking of contacting HR about it and seeing if theres a way for them to set up something where we can check it at home
Ripamber2006 Send email
 
May 19, 2017

Holding final paycheck

So I was terminated for a policy that I didnt realize was a thing basically holding merchandise up front til an associate got off to purchase. But I never even got a chance to proccess the merchandise because it was a return. Anyway I was new on the cash register and my managers constantly bragged about me to everyone yet when LP came in, it is the only time the managers wanted to run the store how it is supposed to so only then or if something happened is when I found out policies, and other associates did to what I got in trouble for was something even managers did, I just happened to be the one he "caught" which I told him I wasnt trained good and he didnt believe me and I had such anxiety because they build the LP up so much like if he talks to you, and you dont have the right answer hes going to arrest you type of thing like he had the store manager shaking it was so intense. So you can imagine how I felt. He was nice at first asking me questions about my life then asking me policy questions and spending so much wasted time telling me policy that I didnt know THEN asked about a situation where I returned a dress without reciept and gave the person full ticket price on a voucher card then when they left I started processing when I saw it was marked down I told the associates that hey it went down to 49 cents and held it up front til the associate could buy it. First of all I didnt know we were supposed to give the customer the marked down price til way later the LP came to me about the situation like a month later after it happened. Then they did inventory, and the LP was acting like I shouldve known since I was front end supervisor but when I told him I wasnt when that happened he got mad and then told me I had to write a statement out and promise to pay for the dress, under duress I signed everything and wrote down everything he told me to write because I was too busy having an anxiety attack and just wanted out of the office. Now my last check is not direct deposited and Im wondering if they are holding because of the promise to pay? Or if they are mailing it to me. Let me also add that I didnt exactly get terminated that day I was put in adminstrative leave because it was a sunday and the termination had to go through HR but the LP said my manager would call me and let me know whether I lost my job or not and I never recieved a call : /
Fgreen7017 Send email
 
Apr 18, 2017

Animal In Store (dog)

Ross Dress for Less on Garth Street in Baytown, Texas; according to management staff, allows dogs and other small pets in the store. Imagine you smell dog or cat spray on a product. Do better Ross, it doesn't appear that you are a pet store.
ministerjohnson_2017 Send email
 
Mar 5, 2017

Customer service

Ross use to be one of my favorite places to shop, but over the last few years it's just unbelievable how hard it is to shop at your stores, the customer service is horrible, there is always a line not worth waiting in to save a few bucks, I rather pay more for great product and services, I am not the only one by the looks of it. No giant is to big to fall, reinvest your billions in resources to retrain your staff, hire more cashiers, provide better customer service, realign your stores so that it's easier to find your merchandise. Bring back a great shopping experience for all whom spend millions to keep your top 1% afloat and rich, at least spread the satisfaction of your business by making the Ross experience wonderful once again or me and many will continue to take our money and pay a little more for pleasure, respect, and a peace of mind. Sincerely a very disappointed ex-shopper.
hgjhgdh Send email
 
Dec 8, 2016

WORST PLACE EVER

WORST PLACE TO WORK! Employees and managers and "security" treat other employees or new employees really bad. Manager Chris was yelling at an employee in front of everyone at the registers! Poor management! Rude employees! Dora from the Fitting Rooms, was a witch! Many costumers complained about her! But managers did nothing. The SPS is a joke! Rude with the employees and kids! Don't know how parents let it happen.
LOVE 1092 Send email
 
Dec 3, 2016

TERMINATED

I WORKED FOR ROSS 9 YEARS AND WAS TERMINATED AFTER TRANSFERRING FROM ANOTHER LOCATION. I WAS ONLY AT THE NEW LOCATION FOR ABOUT 9 MONTHS HAD BEEN IN MY NEW POSITION FOR ABOUT A YEAR. THE STORE WAS A MESS AND I WAS THE 8TH MANAGER FOR THAT STORE. THE DISTRICT MANAGER STARTED IN ON ME REGARDING MY WORK PERFORMANCE, NOTHING I DID WAS GOOD ENOUGH SO HE STARTED A CORRECTIVE PLAN AND I MUST ADMIT I DIDN'T REALLY COMMIT TO IT. MY MANAGEMENT TEAM DIDN'T HELP ANY EITHER. AND TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT I HAVE REALIZED WHEN YOU DON'T BUY-END TO THEIR BS YOU HAVE MARKED YOURSELF TO BE FIRED. I KNOW I WAS TOO GOOD FOR THAT COMPANY, BUT BECAUSE I WASN'T FAKE AND COULD SEE THE COMPANY FOR WHAT IT REALLY IS I WAS FIRED. I'M NOT BITTER BUT BETTER. I PRAY THAT ROSS CLOSES DOWN DUE TO ALL THE HEARTLESS PEOPLE THEY HAVE WORKING FOR THEM. NOTHING PERSONAL....JUST BUSINESS!!!!
jaibala Send email
 
Nov 18, 2016

Ross#790 txn#392230. No bill and the stores manager refused to hand over my purchase

I made a purchase worth 48 dollars and paid using my international debit card. The transaction was completed and my bank sent me a message for having made a purchase at Ross # 790 txn#392230 on POS 0000 59432597904 on 16th nov. 2016. The stores manager Mr Richard Smith is unwilling to either give the receipt/bill acknowledging my purchase or give me the jackets that i bought at the store. Is this how customers are cheated at Ross Stores? I need the consumer protection to help me and reach me at 919 564 8119. I have the sales acknowledgement message stored on my phone. Please help me.
Ncs Send email
 
Sep 6, 2016

termination

I have worked for ROSS for 4 yrs, had worked my way from stock room to area supervisor. I went into day and was given my termination papers. The paper stated I was terminated because I followed a shoplifter outside the building. I am in Ga so its an at will state. I knew the shoplifter ( I was previously a Sheriff Deputy in my county) so when my cashier told me of her switching tickets I walked outside an said to her " I thought you had changed, she had told me previously how good she was doing an I should be proud of her, then to hear what my cashier told me, I really took it personal I went out to confront her about her life really hadn't changed. My manager lied and told LP that I went to confront shoplifter about stealing which is against ROSS policy, which I wasn't doing it for ROSS and I told my manager that and she lied to LP. I was not in a ROSS capacity position when I talked to (her the shoplifter.) There are so many things in ROSS management an district management its unbelievable. I had been trying to get a transfer to another ROSS closer to my son, I feel this is the real truth behind it. It is a terrible place to work, they do not care about employees (they will tell you there are 10 more out there waiting for your job) which is true. In todays job world people need to take jobs and ROSS is making bank they don't care about anything but that. They are the lowest paying company in retail and no matter what the complaint is it is never taken any further than DM which are crooked to. I know your wondering why I worked for such a terrible place, well because I have a deadbeat ex and my children deserve better, like college... food.... but now thanks to "Let the shoplifters have it all" policy I'm without employment! The security is a joke they are just door greeters... So ROSS corporate and management I hope you all go to hell for your greed......
Loversland Send email
 
Jul 6, 2016

Working at Ross Store

I am currently an employee at Ross store and I absolutely hate it. It is very disorganized and you barely get hours because they are constantly hiring people and giving little to NO hours. Not only are they rude but they act like employees are slaves. Over working and not enough pay for the job they want done. They put times on your schedule for instance they say on the schedule that you can leave at 11 but your stuck in the store until everyone else leaves. Then they say that if your schedule says 11 or 11:30 you are still stuck until whenever the store is cleaned up. There are times I don't get home until 1 in the morning when the store closes at 11 on weekdays and 11:30 on weekends. Mind you I live 5 mins away from the store. Why do we close so late. I Dont know any other stores that are similar to Ross that close as late as Ross. To just hire part time employees they sure do make it hard to stay. I have had few jobs and Ross is by far the worst job I have EVER had.
Kayla23 Send email
 
Jun 29, 2016

I was in the wrong

I was working for Ross not even for a month and I got fired for reloading voucher cards and shopping with it ! I honestly did it just to get lots of clothes in my closet ! I'm 18 & it was my first retail job ! I honestly made the dumbest mistake of my life ! Nevertheless the total came out to $258.54 and they told me that they are going to have a warrant out for my arrest and I have to pay that back but I haven't heard from the police ! How long will it be before I am arrested! I accept all punishments! Because it was very stupid of me to steal VOUCHER CARDS ! NOT MONEY BUT VOUCHER CARDS !!! I'm Going into my senior year and I only have 3.5 credits to go and I don't want the police to pick me up while I'm in school or something! Or get arrested before school & not be able to fulfil my dreams because I made a STUPID ASS MISTAKE!!
Olivsnc Send email
 
Feb 13, 2016

Final Paycheck

I'm a former employee and have yet to receive my final paycheck. I've gone through all the proper steps in order to get my final Paycheck and have yet to receive it. My last day was December 24, 2015. It is now February 13, 2016. I've called payroll @ 1 866-345-7677 multiple times. Just last week Thursday on the 4th and a woman said they would mail it out that same day. Called again on the 10th and a woman told me they mailed it out on the 9th... See my frustration... They pretty much just lied to me instead of being up front about it. At this point I can only wait until Monday or Tuesday and see if it arrives in the mail. If not someone has some serious explaining to do... But my whole issue is the process you have to go through to get your final paycheck. Not to mention it took me two weeks to get a STOP PAYMENT FORM from the store manager and then have to keep checking up with payroll. Let me just end this with ROSS DRESS FOR LESS SUCKS! And I did not enjoy my time as a employee either.
sheppie81 Send email
 
Jun 30, 2015

shoplifting polices

A joke!!!All former and present employees know that shoplifting is done daily and the Alpm(Armon) is a arogant bully..The shortage highway program and loss prevention is well known to be an easy target for employees and customers..The female management is a click that protects each other and if your not in with them???You get no hrs.and left out of the loop!!Attention to all shoplifters...SH0P at Ross....Tell everyone you have Armons permission!!!!!!!
BeautifulTragedy Send email
 
Apr 10, 2013

Terminated

Today me and other co-workers were terminated, yes I see what they meant about the Associate discounts and what we did wrong. one of us has to pay back 6 dollars the other 15 and another about 20 we have not even worked there 4 months. We were not told of the consequence of this action but without warning as well they called us all into work, i was at cashier for a few minutes till they called us into the office and let us know we were terminated. The woman was telling us that we were "stealing" from the company and the corporate wanted us to pay back what we had "stole." Most of us would always go into work when we were called in, sometimes over our own hours, we tried cleaning the store to perfection, tried to be as fast as we can on the register then we get terminated, not warned, for our mistakes. For a company that is all about their associates they do not give anyone a chance to explain. We are new we are under the age of 20, then the paper with the CIVIL THEFT NOTICE, seriously our hearts dropped and we cried. we all enjoyed the job, we would have love to work for it, and with a warning or suspension we would have payed back and had never done it again. But Terminated? This was my first retail job and i have no idea how this is going to happen, no idea if this will go in a record no idea if i can ever get a job in retail again. This job had my hopes us from the beginning, I am sorry Ross Dress for Less for letting you down, but it was an honest mistake that would have never happened again.
User764117 Send email
 
Apr 7, 2012

treating employees bad

I have worked for Ross for 31/2 years always been a great employee. On 6/17/11 a man came down from another dept saying he was LP. He never showed me an id or had a name tag on to say that he was. My store manager had me go in to a office with him and this man B. Walker. They closed the door and it locked from the outside. At this time the man said he was from loss prevention. And that I had loss Ross money. He keep tell me that it occurred on June the 7, 2011. After many times telling me I need to tell him what happened on this date He was raising his voice at me and keep telling me if I didn’t tell him, He was going to call the police. I explained to him that I have never taken anything from the store he stated I did not steel any thing I lost the company money. He would yell over my shoulder telling my boss Greg to call the police dept. I keep asking him what it I did is and he keeps telling me I knew. I did not know and I was very scared not to mention how I felt being in the office with two men one standing behind me and the other sitting in front me drilling me like he was a police officer, and raising his voice at me trying to get me to admit I did something wrong. When I didn’t admit what he wanted me to he said I need to make restoration for the money I lost the company. Keep in mind all this time I keep asking him what I did and to show me the tape he keep talking about. Mr. Walker said I can’t show you the tape unless he calls the cops. By now I was scared because of the way these men were treating me. While one was raising his voice and my boss standing behind me, never saying a word. This man was so scary and so intimidating (def (in order to make them do what one wants) I could not understand why they would pull a female worker in a locked office with two men, or allow any one to be treated like this. AT this time Mr. Walker told me I need to make restitution for what I loss the company. There for I go get my purse and write a check out to the amount. Then Mr. Walker says you have to mail it in. at that time I look at my store manager and ask for a envelope. I put the check and a paper in the envelope. Then Mr. Walker showed me the tape. I was so unset and crying at this time. I did not feel I had did anything on purpose, the store was busy and I was trying to hurry. I still do not feel I owe any money to Ross because I never took anything. What I don’t understand is why I was treated like a criminal. By time I got home I called the district manager he told me to call a human recourse. I called her left a message she returned my called the next day we talk and she said she would call me back. She called me back ask me a few more question and she said she would call me back on 6/19/11. She never called me back and I called her on 6/20/11 left a message and she still has not called me back it is now 6/23/11. As of right now I don’t know if I still work for Ross. They never did anything about the way Mr. Walker treated me. They never even got back to me. I have a hard time believing how i was treated, how Ross would treat their employee, how they would disrespect me and there was a female supervisor on the floor. How can Ross treat any one like this? I called the store they said I was still employed but taken off the schedule. If anyone would of ask me was Ross a good place to work I would of said that they over look employees that are next in line for promotions. But other that yes I loved my job and the people I worked with. But now if someone was to ask me I would say they don’t stand beside there employees and don’t care how they intimidate you. But most of all they are not for the employees and do not return calls as they say they will.
User928617 Send email
 
Apr 7, 2012

treating employees bad

Blame your fellow shoppers.
ReasonableVoice Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

POOR ATTITUDE TOWARDS EMPLOYERS

I actually know who this person is talking about and I have to just say a lot of that context is coming in half truths. I do not work for Ross but I do know the person that replaced her as Stock Lead.. and it was 3 months of this person being MIA in and out with health issues/car problems/family issues that lead to the replacement. You can not expect any company like ross who has a turnover rate of employees that will make your head spin, to hold a position.. much less a lead position for anyone. (they fire people like they are a carnival of unemployement) Plus it is Texas .. no wrongful termination can be brought.. AT WILL employement... the worst policy of them all...
M Rivers Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Wrongful Termination

On Jan 15, 2010 I was terminated for violating Ross Policy. I was the store manager and had worked for Ross 8 years. Ross implemented a new hiring procedure which was outsourced by another firm. When the new procedures were introduced to the managers, we were shown how the system worked. We were also given a training session to help move us into understanding how it all worked. We were not told that there will be disciplinary action against us if we hire someone who fails the background check. This wasn't shared with me until months later when someone that was hired, was deemed to have failed the background check. (Basically this new system conducts background checks which highlight potential associates that have legal matters in the works or which are pending. No one ever shared that with us. To this day no one has shown me any proof that Ross has a hiring policy.

The problem is that the status of the applicants can change from "passing to delayed to failed." When an applicant fails, and if that individual is hired, the store manager recieves a corrective disciplinary write up.

Anyone employed at Ross that recieves a written corrective is basically put on final notice. If there is a second occurrance, then the employee is eventually terminated. In my case, the first notice was given to me because my assistant hired someone deemed to have "failed" their background check. In this case my assistant informed me that the applicant passed. I then gave him approval to hire the individual. Approximately 3 mths later my district manager came by to give me a written corrective for something I didn't even do. She said that I am getting it because I was the Store Manager and I am responsible for everything that occurs under the store operations. The problem I have with this is that at another location; that same district manager didn't write up another store manager when her assistant hired someone that failed their background check.

The second ocassion I was accused of hiring an individual that failed. When I hired the individual, her status was passing. It is unfortunate that I couldn't find the copy. I had a feeling that Ross was going to make it my word against the system, so I printed a copy of the individual's status. I no longer said "pass" it said delayed decision. Up to the day I was terminated, her status never said "failed."

The system Ross uses is flawed. It changes just as individuals change. No one can predetermine, stop or avoid facing changes in life, even if they are later found to be innocent. Since Ross says I violated their policy, it is impossible to find similiar work. Whenever a potential employer contacts Ross, they are told that I violated their policy. This is thuggery at its worst.

I do plan to take this matter to the court no matter the costs. I have nothing to lose because I have been robbed of a 12 year career in which I was very successful. Within the first 12 months of being store manager, we moved from the bottom of the district be being awarded Store Manager of the year. The second year our store exceeded sales plan by $1 million. Ross lost more than a manager in career status, they will now have the courts to deal with.
Lalala.801 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Wrongful Termination

I really hope Ross gets shut down. Ive never worked for a more unprofessional company who treats their employees like dirt and scum. They are absolutely horrible. I will never recommend anyone to work here, ever. I dont want them going through the same hell we all have.
Lalala.801 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Wrongful Termination

Oh and I was going to say... I had a friend that worked for 2 years at Ross, and recently switched to a new job tutoring struggling kids. He gave a two week notice and everything. But because he and one of my supervisors had problems with each other, after he left, she had a termination paper signed saying that he was fired for something he did wrong, I'm not sure what it was, but how could a company DO THAT to a loyal employee?? How sickening!
Lalala.801 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

POOR ATTITUDE TOWARDS EMPLOYERS

I am soo sorry for your loss. :( That is RIDICULOUS! Ross and Corp. can all go to hell! I know half of the people that work there are illegal. I work at a location thats a nicer area and I love everyone I work with.. well most of them.. but some locations cheat the system on hiring people. Their hiring system is screwy, and they will pinch every last penny out of your paycheck that they can. Fucking idiots.
STEPHELLIOTT10 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

POOR ATTITUDE TOWARDS EMPLOYERS

I USED TO WORK FOR ROSS I STARTED OUT AS CUSTOMER SERVICE. I WAS OFFERED THE LEAD STOCKROOM AND WAS GIVIN IT A GIRL BEFORE WAS ASKED BUT SHE DIDNT PASS THE BACKGROUND CHECK WELL AFTER A MONTH MY FATHER GOT REAL SICK WITH CANCER I ASKED FOR TIME OFF THEY GAVE ME A WEEK. MY CAR BROKE DOWN COMING BACK AND I GET A PHONE CALL THE I WAS BEING TERMINAITED BECAUSE I DID NOT QULIFY FOR AN L.O.A WELL THE GIRL THAT FILLED IN FOR ME WAS THE SAME GIRL THAT DIDNT GET THE JOB BECAUSE OF BACKGROUNG CHECK I LATER FIND OUT THAT SHE IS NOW LEAD STOCK ROOM PERSON THE COMPANY MADE AJUSTMENTS FOR HER AND HER BACKGROUND CHECK WHEN THEY COULDNT BEND IT FOR ME TO BE WITH MY DAD WELL MY FATHER PASSED AWAY AND IM PLANNING ON SUING ROSS FOR WRONGFUL TERMINATION
MarieAnne2011 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

POOR ATTITUDE TOWARDS EMPLOYERS

I'm sorry about the stress and the worry you had over your dad because of Ross adding to it. I hope he's alright, and I also hope you sued the hell out of them.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    GT BANK OF UK - mark lookman
    Just comply and get your funds control with the key
    Eskom - No Response to Complaint
    Account number 65761812 has logged a complaint with...
    KFC Malaysia - BAD CONDITION OF FOOD AND RUDE STAFF!
    Went to KFC Section7 Shah Alam . The staff on duty was 2...
    AWOK - 2574137250
    Hi sir my oder no is 2574137250 sir I buy one laptop...
    FinChoice - bad service
    i made a application last week and was told it was...
    Michael Pacha - Michael Pacha featured in Printemps!
    Le prooureur de Dubai aux trousses de Michael Reza Pacha..
    http://www.banksmitra.co.in/Index.aspx# - csp fake website
    its fake website banksmitra.co.in / inhone mera 165600 le...
    M2 Media Group - M2Media Group
    I suddenly received "Instyle" magazine, which I...
    U Mobile - Trying to Rip of Money!
    On the 11th October 2017, I made a call to Umobile...
    sawa stc sa - Vsc charge
    Every day deduct my prepaid sim sawa 65 hala vsc charge...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    GT BANK OF UK - mark lookman
    Just comply and get your funds control with the key
    Eskom - No Response to Complaint
    Account number 65761812 has logged a complaint with...
    KFC Malaysia - BAD CONDITION OF FOOD AND RUDE STAFF!
    Went to KFC Section7 Shah Alam . The staff on duty was 2...
    AWOK - 2574137250
    Hi sir my oder no is 2574137250 sir I buy one laptop...
    FinChoice - bad service
    i made a application last week and was told it was...
    Michael Pacha - Michael Pacha featured in Printemps!
    Le prooureur de Dubai aux trousses de Michael Reza Pacha..
    http://www.banksmitra.co.in/Index.aspx# - csp fake website
    its fake website banksmitra.co.in / inhone mera 165600 le...
    M2 Media Group - M2Media Group
    I suddenly received "Instyle" magazine, which I...
    U Mobile - Trying to Rip of Money!
    On the 11th October 2017, I made a call to Umobile...
    sawa stc sa - Vsc charge
    Every day deduct my prepaid sim sawa 65 hala vsc charge...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username