Submit a Complaint

Roto-Rooter

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Roto-Rooter

edpark Send email
 
Jan 7, 2021

deceiving and dishonesty

On December 31 2020 i called Roto Rooter for a clogged kitchen drain. They scheduled plumber between noon and 4 pm. They then called my many time to notify me delay and make me stay with them. The plumber finally came at 7:15. He charged me $730 for less than one hour work to open clogged drain.
[email protected] Send email
 
Dec 2, 2020

TOTAL MESS OF PIPING

IM SURE THAT IT IS TO LATE TO HAVE ANYTHING DONE ABOUT THIS SINCE ITS BEEN 4 YEARS BUT MY WIFE WHO WAS A SINGLE MOTHER AT THE TIME HAD ROTOROOTER COME IN DUE TO LOW WATER PRESSURE IN THE SHOW THE PLUMBER TOLD HER IT WAS DUE TO BLOCKAGE IN GALVINIZED PIPING IN THE HOUSE AND TOLD HER THAT THE WHOLE HOUSE NEEDED TO BE REPLUMBED. MY ISSUE ISN'T THAT IT NEEDED TO BE REDONE BUT HOW IT WAS DONE AND THE COST. FIST OFF HE PUT IN A MANIFOLD THAT IS LESS THAN 18 INCHES FROM THE BREAKER BOX AND NOT ON A WALL WHERE ALL THE FITURES THAT TAKE WATER IS, WE NOW HAVE 20 1/2 PEX TUBBING RUNNING THRU TWO 6 INCH PVC. THEY ALSO HOOKED OUT ONE OF OUR OUTSIDE SPIGOTS TO THE WATER SOFTENER SO WE CAN NOT USE IT TO WATER PLANTS. THEY ALSO CUT A HOLE IN THE WALL (THAT THEY DIDN'T REPAIR) TO SECURE THE PLUMBING IN THE SHOWER AFTER SHE COMPLAINED THAT IT NEED TO BE ATTACHED. HIS ORIGINAL IDEA WAS TO JUST CREW THE SHOWER HEAD IN AND LET IT LOOSE. THIS COST HER 4000 AND LOOKS LIKE A CHILD DID THE WORK I WILL NEVER RECOMEND THEM OR USE THEM AGAIN
Bigjuicy Send email
 
Mar 29, 2017

Stopped up drainage

I Would never use toto rooter again r recommend them to anybody I had them to come out and unstop my kitchen sink and toilet and the man claims he pulled out a build up of tampons but when I went outside he couldn't show me not one he pulled out that's because we don't use tampons and he was very rude he don't know how to talk to people so he shouldn't be in that line of work when he have to deal with people(his name is (Tommy)a $245.00 dollar job and no warranty.... Bad business
Ochar Send email
 
Dec 9, 2015

Water Restoration Roto Rooter

Rip off is an understatement. I was billed for the same items 3 different times on the same bill. They just used different terminology. I was billed for 6 hours work to carry in and plug in 2 machines. I was charged $611.00 to take down a bulk head that took about 1 hour. The scam part comes when they do not send an itemized bill. Roto Rooter just sends a brief summary to the insurance company and expects no one to check. I am being threatened with a lean on my house if I do not pay in full for fraudulent services.
Do not call Roto Rooter unless you want to end up in court.
Unsatisfied1 Send email
 
Aug 17, 2015

Manager- customer service

In early June, I had Roto Rooter come out to rod my sewer line because it had backup up in my basement. The problem was due to tree roots, which were on the city's property (past my fence toward to the street), were growing into my pipe line and causing backups. He suggested this program where they bring an inspector out along with a city rep to camera the line to prove to the city that it's their tree roots that are causing my basement to flood and then the city will fix it. I declined twice, however, he insisted that this will result in my pipes being fixed and I would never have to worry about it again. I reluctantly agreed because I wanted this over with, I never want to have to call anyone out to rod my lines for this again. I waited 2 months to finally get this process going. I called Roto Rooter early August to schedule the appointment with their inspector and the city rep to come out and get the process going. The earliest available was today, Monday the 17th in August. I called off from work so that they could come out and do this. This time is was a different guy, he was very nice. He explained to me that he worked with the city about issues like this all the time and that the city would not fix tree roots. They would fix something like a broken pipe, etc... if it's on the city's property, but not tree roots. I told him that that wasn't what I was told and if the 1st Roto Rooter man knew that, why would he even suggest that program to me? He insisted that the 1st guy was just unaware.

I called the Roto Rooter office to tell them what was going on and the female who picked up the phone, I guess her name was Virginia, was cold and short with me. It seemed as if she didn't even want to greet me. Anyway, I explained the situation to her and she talked to me in a very condescending way: 'We represent Ro. To. Roo. Ter. Not the City. Of. Chi-ca-go.' As if I was a child. She transferred me over to some guy that claimed to be the manager and at 1st he was seemingly helpful, however, he became a rude, ignorant, insulting a-hole. He yelled over the phone to someone in the office "Yea call (Their service guy) and let him know it's cancelled, she ain't payin', I wouldn't be rodding it out neither if I ain't getting paid. She said she didn't know it would be a gamble with the City.' Unbelievable! A manager who talks like that. No regard for the english language. I guess he just didn't care if I heard him speak like an uneducated hick. All while he was on the phone with me, as if I would just take that. I just asked for his name (Chris) and hung up. There was no way I would talk business with that animal. That's something he could've discussed after he got off the phone with me.

The crazy part is, that wasn't even my issue. If Chris would've listened to me, instead of jumping to conclusions before letting me finish, it probably wouldn't have even gotten this far. My issue was that the 1st guy came, rodded my pipe line knowing it was ONLY tree roots obstructing my pipes. He suggested this whole process to me KNOWING that it was ONLY tree roots causing my backup. If Roto Rooter KNEW that the city wouldn't fix tree roots (as it says on my receipt which they have copies of), why on earth waste the city's, their and my time even scheduling appointments and coming out to my home? Then having the nerve to catch an attitude when they're the one's that flubbed. I refuse to give them anymore business. I have 4 more months to have them come rod out my pipes for free (per their 6 month policy) which I will continue to use if it is called for. However, after that, I will be going to another company who treats their customers with dignity and care. I will be letting any and everyone know the kind of treatment they serve their customers. They are unprofessional, rude, & ignorant. Had Chris explained it to me like his (2nd)service guy did today, without being rude and ignorant about it, I wouldn't even be typing this. I would've just brushed it off as a misunderstanding on the 1st service guy's part and swept it under the rug. All would've been forgiven.

I heard stories about their unprofessionalism from others, but still gave them a chance. That's my fault. As a new homeowner, I depend on companies like Roto Rooter to HELP me as they claim they do. I don't expect to get swindled, lied to and treated in a condescending manner, especially when I've paid them over $500 already.
bwww09 Send email
 
Jan 8, 2015

N/A

OK, so here is the deal. I contacted Roto Rooters and explained to them exactly what I needed. I mentioned to them that all I need is a snake (industrial) to help bore out my main drain pipe leading from my house to the street (80 feet). I asked them for a quote and they told me that they don't give quotes just in case the plumber finds something unexpected. As a person of integrity, I subjected to this Bull Sh. I figured a company of such stature would be reasonable and not try and screw over their desperate customers that sustain their business. They said they would call me 15 minutes prior to the technician’s arrival upon my premises, since I was working and would have to leave my job to meet them at the scene. Rather, I get a call from them acknowledging that the tech is already on the scene and is ready to do the work. My wife, who is trying to pick my son up from school, is having to deal with this dude, which she shouldn’t have to because they were supposed to call 15 min early. Nevertheless, I am at work and get a call from my wife, so I rush home to see what’s going on. By the time I get home, my wife is picking my son up from school, and I got some derelict unprofessional guy on my roof tearing up my shingles with his ancient equipment. I arrive and ask him if he even knows what he is doing, and I ended up having to give him advice. He bores out my main pipes for 15 minutes (oh so tough…wimp), and then he asks me see if the water is draining inside the house (Isn’t he supposed to do that?). After him tearing up my shingles and having me basically do half his work, he demands that he is done working. I check my water lines, they appear to be draining…which is good. However, the problem comes later. I have had this done to my house 4 times in the last 3 years, and every time it has been $80 or less. The technician comes up to me and tells me that it is $335.00. I literally asked him…” are you shitting me?” He said that he does not decide the price but rather the company does. I am thinking “That’s funny because when I called the company they said they don’t have rates for anything.” What a contradicting, conniving and deceptive company. I advise anyone who deals with Roto Rooters to be weary. When I called to complain, I got the whole “Oh I’m not sure what happened, I will call you back soon” bull SH. Now, every time I call them back they avoid me. Whatever you do, do not trust them. I would not put this much time into complaining unless I was pissed. By the way, the technician that came to my house was so “in a hurry” and “excited” to leave because he had ripped me off, that he forgot his extension cord. Such a phony company; I wouldn’t call you all if my life depended on it!
bern xoc Send email
 
Nov 14, 2014

over priced and estimate scam

They are almost 100 percent overpriced compared to plumbers that treat you fairly.. If you want to pay about $400.00 per hour for a simple sewer snake job go ahead and call them.

Tactic.. They want give a estimate over the phone even they know what you will be charged. They tell you they will there in 3 jpitd but it is actually going to be about 24. Then, when you are desperate they show up and want you to pay the rip off price. I threw them off my property and had someone else there in 30 min for $100.00 less..

I will never do business with this company. They are thiefs..
jack preston Send email
 
Mar 25, 2014

Poor Communication

I had an apt set up for Roto Rooter to come to my house to give me an estimate. They told me that they would be out between 4-6 p.m. I waited until 5:45 p.m. before I made the first phone call to make sure they were still coming out. I was told that the tech that was scheduled to come out was sent home sick. They had another job that had ran over schedule and that there was a tech IN ELWOOD that was finishing up on another job and that he was almost done and was coming to my house, that it would about 15-20 minutes. Made the 2nd phone call at 6:30 and I was told that he was on his way. At 7:18 p.m. I called back because they STILL HADNT SHOWED UP!!!!! I was told that the tech that was supposed to have been coming out had went to Anderson FROM ELWOOD to get parts at Lowes for the job HE WAS STILL WORKING ON in Elwood. I was then told that he had been dispatched and was on his way.at 830 I finally just gave up and called and cancelled.all they had to do was call and say that they would not be able to make it out tonight and would have to reschedule.that would have been better than wasteing my time.so thanks for nothing roto rooter.very very poor communication skills.
hot6ft2 Send email
 
Feb 28, 2014

Rip off

Charged $104 and did not locate OR fix the leak. There are 2 valves after the meter. Turn both off, OR just the one going left on and all is fine (good meter) no leak. Turn the left one off and the right one on and it's a bad meter? (meter runs so there's a leak). Tech must be smokin' some strong stuff thinking I will believe that the meter is possessed and that it knows which valve is on, and which one is off.

Tech. also has no grasp of hydrodynamics/hydraulics and their effects on a cracked pipe.

I was willing to pay to have it fixed since I have a bad back, but ended up fixing it myself in the end. The leak was right where I told them it was.

BEWARE ROTO ROOTER Ripoffs!!!
Hire a real plumber.
Pennyann Send email
 
Jan 21, 2013

Roto rooter

They charged me over 5,000 for a l sewer pipe repair which ended up causing me a lot of future problems and another 10,000 as well as indescribable emotional suffering because they didn't do the repair the way they were supposed to and when I tried to complain they just bullied me and threatened me. I am very sorry I didn't sue them. I think it's too late now. It's been 3 years.
Answers Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Price

when you have an ache or bad paid, does your doctor diagnose you over the phone?
Notrotorooter Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Price

Roto Rooter trains Services Techs well. Their employees at a regional call center are taught not to give prices. This is so the Tech can sell you at your home. You as the consumer are in a tough situation: you have sewage all over your floor, most likely have taken time off work, and have concerns about health issues for your family. To encrease the number of sales, usually, they will try a couple sales tricks to preasure you. Like assumptive close, "Sign here and I will get started" or "do you want me to bring my tools through the front door or back door". Or choice close, "do you want service a or service b". So, you go ahead and pay what ever is asked. To my knowledge Roto-Rooter is the MOST EXPESIVE pluming service to use in most cities. In the city I live, they have had three recent price increases. (PS: The Tech's pay for their own tools, van, and gas) In short, get an estimate up front for basic services. Or better yet, call three plumbers at the same time. Best of luck and dont be afraid to say, "NO!"
Sewerpro Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Plumbing rip off

OK, I know I'm going to lose many of you when I tell you that I am a current field manager for Rot-Rooter in Chicago, but please allow me to comment on some of the issues that have been brought up here. If you think I'm going to wave the company flag and tell you that all complaints are unfounded - you may be surprised. I support your letting others know of your concerns.

With that said, any company will have employees, management and policies that not only seem unfair, but downright criminal. I have those above me, telling me to to act in an unethical and unprofessional manner. They have instructed me to lie, or at least mislead MY customers - to do whatever it takes, including "hard sales" tactics. These are not leaders, rather they are weak minded and immoral human beings and I will not follow where they would have me go. Surely there are those who will, from middle management to trainee. I am pleased to inform you that the overwhelming majority of my co-workers join me in rejecting the idea that money makes taking the low road a smooth and easy path.

My position requires me to listen to MY customers' very unpleasant experiences, investigate the property's plumbing system, inspect the sewer lines (with a drain-line camera with MY customers by my side), give a very detailed explanation of my findings, give MY customers every possible option for resolving their problems and my repair recommendations based on nearly 30 years experience. Based on a company designed pricing matrix (Roto-Rooter spends millions of dollars every year to determine "market value") I offer an estimate price for the agreed upon course of action (usually an excavation repair or pipe relining). I will take as much time as MY customers need to fully understand every aspect, every detail of what is the cause of their troubles and how I, that's me - will take care of needs and see the job through to their satisfaction. For this, I ask for more than many other companies will. I tell MY customers that we are not the least expensive, but I do not feel the need to be.

I am surrounded by people who take great pride in what they do and do it extremely well. We offer a guarantee that is several years longer than our competitors. A guarantee that actually means something, because as we have been around for 77 years now, we will be here for them should anything happen in the future, while other companies continue to go out of business - leaving their clients with no one to call should their work fail. Perfection is what we strive for, but sadly there are times we come up short and believe me, we hear about it and respond as quickly as we can - not always leading to applause and gratitude.

What it comes down to folks, is "VALUE". If you don't see the value in what we offer, move on to the guy that only offers price as his selling point. You more than likely will get just what you pay for. We must come to your location and go through these steps to be even close to giving an proper, well-reasoned estimate. I ask you to be frightened by those who will ask you three questions over the phone and pretend to know all they need to, to be able and qualified to put forth a price. That tells me that in their minds, their customers are not worthy of such an investment of time and attention. They don't value you.

While I write this, I am about as angry at Roto-Rooter as I can be for allowing the clueless, napoleonic and unvirtuous hold positions of misguided power. I have consistently lead this region and for one quarter of this year, was tops in this 14 nation company's sales in excavation repairs and have been subjected to unthinkable, unwarranted lies and criticism by one who actually believes that if he just keep whipping the lead dog, that the entire team, loaded sled and his own undereducated, inexperienced butt through the finish in first place. Perhaps he should realize that he is the load that slows our progress.That the lead dog knows the way and with the unified efforts of the team, success will be ours. Perhaps this young man relies on the wisdom and strength of character of others, should just step off. Enough of my airing dirty laundry.

So, be informed, cautious consumers. It's not about Roto-Rooter nor any other sales and service tradesman...it's about understanding the true value of the product and services provided. Do not feel pressured into anything you are not completely comfortable with.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Plumbing rip off

To repair a popup leak, I was charged $241.95. This supposed to be a free estimate and yet he took everything apart. And than said it would be $194.95 which I thought was much too much to begin with but I said go ahead and repair it, because everything was taken apart. I guess that's the trick (take everything apart so not to leave it without a pipe on the bottom of the sink)the customer would agree to pay those absorbent prices. Then after he was all finished he hit us with well the labor was $194.95 and it is plus part and tax. That all came to $241.95.

DO NOT EVER USE ROTO ROOTER THEY ARE RIPE OFFS

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username