Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

SAFEGUARD PROPERTIES

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about SAFEGUARD PROPERTIES

Mommabear1202 Send email
 
Dec 27, 2016

Lost home in fire

My home was destroyed in fire i
and we had some belongings outside some of which were from home. A couple weeks went buy my boyfriend had went by the house to see if the garage was ok an what was left of the property there was a man there with a trailor and had loaded everything up outside (picnic table, grill, chairs photo albums, stroller and can't forget to mention my flower pots that had plants in them but dumped all my flowers out, there was along t of other things as well as burnt things) also he was getting ready to change the locks on garage. He told him my our home was being forclosed an he had an order to come there an secure it. He had me come up there and don't tiron he didn't hear a mouth full. This guy working for safeguard was getting ready to take all my belongings to the dump. I made him take what things were still good off that @#$% trailor my home was not getting forclosed i mean we just lost everything an he was there taking the rest. The bastard still got away with my antique vases, propane tank to grill, & cast iron skillets . I'm so disgusted i conet even think straight. No one has evet appologized for any of it either.
Dowhatsright1 Send email
 
Dec 18, 2016

Under paid, In House retribution

My company performs inspections for Safeguard which is basically piece work, the average inspection pays only $3.00 per house, which pays for a gallon of gas, not your tools nor your time so you are basically working for free, after having to have workman comp, e&o insurance (which they require) from some if highest price insurance company, now you out in your Business insurance and your company is operating in the red.. I took on a zone which was more then an hourplus from my home at which time I had an sub in the area, I contacted Safeguard in October and advised them, I wanted to let the zone go, it's just wasn't cost efficient for us to continue, I would like to add that the dub in the area resigned due to not being paid enough to purchase him a pair of pants.. after speaking with my Vam I assumed it was taken care of, 3 weeks later I was told by my Vam "I thought you were going to hire someone) no that's not what I said, then to be told I needed to put it in writing and give them 30 days unwillingly I agreed, I'm like 12/09/2016 this nightmare would be over, I am still receiving work for the 2 zones that I gave up, in addition due to the work going pass due, my company gas began failing their audits, at first I wanted to help them out until They found someone now the hell with them, their script suck has nothing to do with the property you are inspecting, on contact inspection their have been times when we do not have to ring a door bell or knock, because the home owner is standing outside or in their driveway, so we are told there is no way we could have rang the bell or knocked on the door , we didn't need to the owners were outside, now their nick picking not only because we do a damn good job, we refuse to go back into zone 33 or 34, they owe us over $2000.00 in inspection and I want my money, Safeguards staff is friendly when you first sign up however after that Beware, every time I've made a changed or refused an order, we either fail or barely pass our audits. Now that I know we as contractors and subs are making them millions fact you perform 600 work orders at $3.00 make $1400.00 a month for your company, Safeguard make $27,000
Makemup65 Send email
 
Oct 16, 2016

Safe Guard Properties

Our company has been taken by these crooked people just like many of you others have spoken of! I feel we can all come together and get a Class Action Lawsuit against them! We work our selves to death only to get charge backs, unfair payment adjustments!!! I am prepared to do the leg work! Just email me and we will get this petition started and hopefully show them they can't keep taking from those that work so bery hard for them! Please email me at: makemup65@aol.com
Makemup65 Send email
 
Oct 16, 2016

Class act law suit!!!

Safe guard has now done to us what they've done to many others!!! I am prepared to do the leg work to get a class act lawsuit against these crooks!!! Please email me and let's work together to get our pay we are rightfully owed!!!
Makemup65@aol.com
preswizard Send email
 
Oct 8, 2016

Safeguard Answer

Yes they are crooks but you know something we let it happen. We are the contractors that do the work. We are the skilled professionals. We are not sitting in a cubical making phone calls to get work done. What we need to do is to join together and start a professional contracting service for the banks with realistic time frames and true quality controls. We don't need some kid sitting in a cubical who has never held a hammer in his hand or slipped off a roof or been choked to near death by think black mold dictating how or when or how quickly we need to do this work. That is the problem in this industry there are contractors out there that are doing terrible work just to get to the next job because the pay is so little (on our end) that he has to do volume to survive and then hope he gets paid. Safeguard needs to be stopped. We need to form together and push them out. They can not offer contracting service without contractors......... Who has the balls to do it?
Kbur Send email
 
Sep 25, 2016

Damages done by worker

Been fighting with them for almost two months over damages that was done while they was cutting next door.... After them telling me there not going to pay I finally got them to pay up. BUT now they want me to fill out a W-9 form before they send me the check(wtf) I don't work for them, I'm not paying taxes on that money when I have to turn around and fix the damages... W-9 is a form if you work for the company.... What should I do
Sesnewlife2014 Send email
 
Aug 24, 2016

Safeguard

Just me and my wife doing pnp. She broke her collar bone . And we didn't have orders done in time so they stated they we're placing are account on hold and still wanted us to finish the remainder of our q. There crazy. That's professional . Right. Breech of contract. Ignorant. Karma will get all them assholes that sit in a cubicle. And do nothing. And talk to ya like your shit.
sgmfssuck Send email
 
Jul 18, 2016

DON'T WORK FOR THEM, EVER!!!!

If you are thinking about doing inspection or preservation work for these immoral and unethical turds, think again! I am dead serious and I should know, having done 6 years and out for these criminals. The banks suck real bad to be honest, but Safeguard just likes to steal money, likes to screw with your work load, completely and unethically cheats on the scorecard and lies and says you always have five days if something is late or almost late, but marks you down anyways. Also, despite Safeguard, look out for unscrupulous companies that work for them and you work for those companies. They will cheat you even worse and sit on their ass off your hard work, don't do it. Also, the others are not good either. The best, if their can be a best in this business is Five Brothers. They at least will pay you decently on inspections and quite good on extra work, or longer distance inspections. But this company, they deserve to, and I am sure will, get sued out of existence sometime down the road; hopefully sooner than later. So please, don't consider this a career, or even a short term job. You will only end up losing money as every company tries to cheat you in some manner

JUST A NOTE: If you live in Washington State, steer clear of Integrity Inspections and CK Field Services, and never ever work for the national company MCS. Their requirements are unfair and make Safeguard look too easy.
czultowski Send email
 
Jul 13, 2016

non payment, consistant charge backs

I cannot believe we have lasted 17 grueling and arduous years with this company. They have literally sucked our entire savings dry with their consistent charge backs and non payment of invoices.

They send you to a property, APPROVE your bids, PAY you and then CHARGE YOU BACK! Just yesterday we got a charge back for $1099.99! That job is months old. They don't care. We have got charge back that are 5 years old! What is wrong with these people?

They will have you drive 75+ miles one way to submit a bid at your cost.

This is just the tip of the iceberg, these people are crooks. They have no compassion for the loyalty of their contractors, and seniority certainly does not mean anything. 17 years!!! We started with them when we had to mail them photos, before digital even existed.

Why am i paying $421/month for a $1,000,000 E & O Insurance Policy with York-Jersey Underwriters? We do not make enough money to even cover it anymore!

There is so much more, they stick it to you every single chance they get. They are making a fortune!! If they take $1000 from each contractor per month, and they have A LOT of contractors, well, do the math. it is sickening.

Something needs to be done. We need a class action law suit!!
Firefighter Send email
 
Mar 26, 2016

Being told we have to fake photos

I worked for a large preservation company. A few of them actually. This is a very corupt industry. These companies are making millions of dollars ripping off banks and real estate companies. I have emails and live recordings of these poeple telling us to fake photos of work that is not needed to be done . I'm not sure what my next move should be and could use some advice. I do not even make enough to my bills or care for my kids, but yet they have us falsifying photos so they can collect tons of money while we struggle to get buy. Any advice on what I should do or who I should call. That do not deserve the contract or to be making tons of money by making there employees lie.
djpat Send email
 
Feb 21, 2016

SAFEGAURD PROPERTIES

In 2016, my Mother was basically denied Refinancing and Quick Deed of her Home so she fell heavily Behind on her mortgage due she's on a fixed incom along with Seterus aka IBM refused to just help her out.
So while I was at my Mothers home, I've heard her front door being pushed in, someone was trying to get into the house. Then I've notice the doorknob being twisted but it was locked.
I've open the door and shocked the inspector from Safegaurd Properties. Being somewhat pissed, I've asked him why is he's trying to break into my Mothers home, he only stated that he's an inspector from Safegaurd Property and is here just to see if someone lives in the House.
It was funny to me that he stated that since when he walked up to the door the security light turned on, so there is electricity within the home along with Heat and Running water.
After he said who he was, he just pretty much ran back to his truck and drove off.
I've called the Police department, made out a report along with calling Safegaurd Properties that Monday.
I've explained to them the inspector never gave me his name or a work order number, he just tried to force himself into my mothers home with her there.
Safegaurd just settles for a Million dollars in Illinois alone from inspectors doing the same exact thing, Breaking into people's Homes and stealing property while illegally locking them out.
If anyone have any information on any class action lawsuit against Safegaurd please email me at djpat@me.com , Thanks!!
November216 Send email
 
Nov 11, 2015

Non payment

I started for for this company under Jim Burnett and his wife Beth. The pay was awful but j thought if I could get a good volume going it would be fine. No. It's always something with these ppl. I printed and filled out 5 papers to be scanned, like W9 and all that. Then 3 days later, that wasn't good enough I need to print out more papers fill them out get them notarized. Wtf. The insurance loss were ridiculous the amount of ink and paper exceed what you make for the job...$2 nothing is more than $2..last place I worked a Loss draft/IL insurance loss was $10. So we know where that extra money going. So I quit. NOW they won't pay me. I call the main office...they don't pay me the vendor does..they pretty much told me to get lost. Wtf? In supposed to work for free?? This is so not over, I'll sue if I have to just to make a point that you can't go around calling yourself the leader in the industry then cheat ppl out of pay.
November216 Send email
 
Nov 11, 2015

Non Payment

I started for for this company under Jim Burnett and his wife Beth. The pay was awful but j thought if I could get a good volume going it would be fine. No. It's always something with these ppl. I printed and filled out 5 papers to be scanned, like W9 and all that. Then 3 days later, that wasn't good enough I need to print out more papers fill them out get them notarized. Wtf. The insurance loss were ridiculous the amount of ink and paper exceed what you make for the job...$2 nothing is more than $2..last place I worked a Loss draft/IL insurance loss was $10. So we know where that extra money going. So I quit. NOW they won't pay me. I call the main office...they don't pay me the vendor does..they pretty much told me to get lost. Wtf? In supposed to work for free?? This is so not over, I'll sue if I have to just to make a point that you can't go around calling yourself the leader in the industry then cheat ppl out of pay.
Gatorinc43 Send email
 
Jun 25, 2015

Nonpayment of work chargebacks discrimination of dissemination of work orders and pay to play in house policy

I am a contractor for safeguard and I am interested in filing class action lawsuit against safeguard. Let's pool our money together and file 50 million dollar lawsuit. We would win hands down trial by jury. Please call me lets do this. Let's make them pay 708-897-2033
mmmz06 Send email
 
May 1, 2015

Poor Job of Winterizing Property, Breakin

Safeguard Properties performed a winterization on a property that an offer to buy was accepted. I inspected the house in late January and placed an offer to buy the foreclosed property. The power and water were on and there were no plumbing issues. Six weeks later on a due diligence walk through, the city turned the water on and the house was leaking in the kitchen, laundry, and bath rooms and internal walls. The back door was poorly repaired due to a break in. Safeguard Properties said they are not responsible for the plumbing damage because "someone COULD have turned on the water". I had a licensed plumber asses the damage as well as a certified home inspector. Both concluded that the house was not properly winterized. That the lines were not drained and purged with compress air. Further more, the house did not have a main shutoff and as such, the water would have to turned on at the water main. Over $2,500 worth of damage was incurred.

I contacted Safeguard Properties again and asked them for a copy of their winterization procedure, who performed the winterization, and if they had inspected the damage. The refused all requests. Now I have no recourse but to hire a lawyer and sue them for services they did not properly perform.
busaman01 Send email
 
Dec 20, 2014

not so safeguard properties

Worked for these tyrants for six LONG years. After experiencing the same crooked practices as a lot of other vendors , we finally refused to have our good name tied to these criminals. Refuse to accept work orders until you are paid for the ones you already did. Once paid , QUIT! Run in another direction and never do work for them again! Without the vendors , none of these companies have a paycheck and will ultimately be OUT OF BUSINESS! Anybody considering working with this company , dont. Period. Look at all the lawsuits , rippoff report.com , complaint etc. Post everywhere to include craigslist and eventually these con artists will learn.
ctppvendor Send email
 
Aug 11, 2014

awful employees

We have been losing work assignments to another vendor in the state of CT. Safeguard says the reason is due to my company not having enough employees to handle the work load they need to assign. In addition to my company not having a licensed electrician and plumber. I responded saying that the only work orders assigned in the past six months has been just bids where i dont even receive a trip charge. I lose my assignments to another vendor not in this zone. Im out of busines and thousands and thousands of dollars. Safeguard is heartless and monsters. CT only has 2 vebdors for the whole state.
graveyardwillie Send email
 
May 16, 2014

SAFEGUARD IS THE WORST PLACE TO WORK

Has anyone had their work taken from them and given to someone else at a cheaper rate? They could at least give you the option of lowering your price so you won't lose your work altogether. When they changed over to uploading pictures from your computer at home to having to do it on your smartphone, that took so much longer, but now they've stooped even lower than that. Now, you have to answer questions before you upload the pictures, which is taking so long we can't get the work done anymore. We will be riding to our next stop and find out they didn't accept our pictures and have to go back. This place does not care about their vendors and i don't understand why anyone would want to work for them. They have cut their prices so low you can't afford to hire anyone to help you. We all ought to boycott the place and not work for a few days and try to get them to raise our prices back up.
kcqmom Send email
 
Apr 8, 2014

Unfair treatment to their contractors

My husband and I started working for Safeguard as REO contractors last year. He applied for another zone and was called and told he would receive both zones this year. He spent thousands of dollars buying extra equipment for the additional zone he was to do. We started the first zone and it has been nothing but a headache. They required all contractors to use their vender web mobile web app that did not work. We spent HOURS trying to get our pictures to go through, which would end with us loosing all of our pictures and being told our NEW iPhones were the issue. We told them our employee was having the same issue with his Droid…. which they said was a problem with his phone as well! All yards were completed on time, but our score was affected negatively because we could not get our pictures to go through. We would stay up til early hours of the morning talking to safeguard on the phone about the glitches in THEIR system, who ended up telling us to submit pictures manually not through their app. All pictures and orders would get completed, but sometimes they would be submitted a day late bc we were up ALL night with web problems on THEIR end. They told us they would factor this if our score become low, which they did not.

During this time we did not receive ANY yards from our contract in our other zone. We call FOUR times and were told that it hadn't started yet and not to worry. My husband called yesterday and was told the contract was taken away from him on March 20 due to poor performance. We called (SEVERAL TIMES) trying to figure out how we had done poor work when we hadn't even started the contract!!! They took the contract away and never informed us of any problems with it…. AND didn't even tell us we no longer had it!! We've left numerous voicemails and have yet to get answers from anyone. We are now out thousands of dollars due to problems on their end. It is very frustrating to us because there was absolutely nothing we could have improved on our end. Definitely wouldn't recommend working as a contractor for this company
d.stractor service Send email
 
Mar 17, 2013

not being paid for jobs done.

My small business has done several jobs for this company and found that the long delays for getting paid, the many runarounds very low pay and no response on emails showed us this company is a scam. We have worked as a sub-contractor and found the contractor has gone broke and lost all his savings after hiring a collection company to collect my money or find out the truth about this matter. Also found in the rules from Safeguard that they would protect the subcontractor and make sure they would get paid is also a lie. I have tried several times to contact Safeguard myself and was rejected and got no response. I have found this company to be a scam after talking to other contractors and would like to recommend to all involved to deal direct with the banks and realtors directly. This has caused me to lay off my people and close down my company. Recommend to be paid first before any jobs are done to protect yourself.
seattletime Send email
 
Jun 21, 2012

They are awful

These guys are clowns. There are a few safeguard employees who know what they are doing, but most that we deal with are right off a job fair add in the Cleaveland Paper "I've heard they use craigslist too". I've gone to a few conferences where we bring up all these issues. They all say the same thing, "Oh, I will have to look into that, that seems to be a issolated issue" and yet its happening to hundreds of their vendors. There is no accountability at their company, they just claim to be following instructions from further up the chain. It's so funny when all the vendors get together in a room at ta conference, there is so much complaining going on it pathetic. These guys will get blown up with a huge lawsuit by their vendors sooner or later the only problem is they have made billions of dollars over the past decade, not just since 2008. They know the ropes and have one of the highest paid legal departments to defend them "they are not actually safeguard employees, they retain various high profile firms throughout the US, but especially in Cleveland". I have been solicited by a couple of other contractors who were doing a class action against FAS in Austin, TX. I never heard if it was a success or settled or what, but its a start. The problem is we (the vendors) need to be willing to fork up some cash in order to sue them properly and hope to win and get it back (a big gamble). Try this for the next conflict you have with them, it got me hungup on twice and put on hold several other times, but I still work for them. "Due to some recent discrepencies on payment and work order instuctions clarity, I have been requested by lawyer to record all work related phone calls with Safeguard, it's simply a precaution to prevent any future problems". Once they know they will be held accountable, they turn real stupid real fast and will blow you off or direct you to there regional.
To sum it up, dont work for these guys unless you're ready to play their games. Sometimes you can get paid more than what you worked for, but most of the time, its like a $20 hr job, extremely not worth it if you really are a contractor.
79aggie Send email
 
Mar 14, 2012

Awful company

Thank you all for telling me about this vendor. They have contacted me to do work for them. We are a small business and cannot afford to absorb any costs from crooks. Last year we worked for a company that gave us the runaround, more pictures, sent us to properties that were occupied and by the time we added up everything we were making 12 cents an hour and then they did not pay us. So thank you all for letting me know I dodged a bullet.
Rnjetc Send email
 
Mar 11, 2012

Awful company

I also checked on insurance from their brokers. 2 out of 3 want payment in full. The 3rd company will take 25%down then go on payment plan, I think that one was Brunswick. I recently reported debris frozen and snow covered that I couldn't remove the rest(which is how they told me to) and they wanted me to go back at cost to remove. Also, all ready removed 15cyds more than order said which they weren't paying for. "We can't charge the client anymore". They didn't have a problem charging me for 450 for removal from the other contractor they sent out, who also couldn't remove all the debris since it was frozen. From what I could see 9cyds was not removed and they won't show me pics of what the other guy removed either. No responses from any of my emails. This wasn't even my bid originally. So I was wondering if it was the other guys and they cut it then sent it to me. Then one of the reps told me "they don't cut your bids, it's the clients". Kind of strange when I get emails saying your bid was cut before sending to the client.
Josellama2000 Send email
 
Mar 9, 2012

Awful company

I am also a contractor for safeguard, who ever is trying to become a contractor for them, be aware that they are very very pushy, they have zillions of stupid steps in their procedures that make your cost much more higher than regular, finally they have specific personal that review all your report just to find any issue so they can fine you and reduce your payment.
In conclusion, safeguard is engineered to de-capitalize your company, they keep reducing their payments and implementing new procedures that increase your cost significatively all the time.
They said they deduct you 25% for any payment you earn from them, after more than 3 year as a safeguard contractor, I can tell that they received much more money from the jobs you do for them (just check Fannie Mae prices). They end up with more than 50% of all income you produce.
In few words, they expect you to give them an A+ service but paid you a price that will not cover your fixed cost and 30% of the time not even your variable cost. If you capitalize your risk (ie insurance, liability) these figures are even worse for you.
Do not work for safeguard, it is better to just give your money to a Non profit, at least you can deduct it from your taxes.
Rnjetc Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Awful company

Seriously, they want me drive 98 miles round trip at 15mpg(6.5 gallons of gas @ 3.59=$23.45), climb on a ladder to clean a 6' area of mold on a ceiling for $6.24 minus 25% disc.= $4.68 That doesn't include cleaning supplies. I bid it at $50 so I would at least break even if I did it myself.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    H&R BLOCK CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT - HR Block Tax Preparation Gone Wrong
    I have been an avid and trusting HR Block customer for...
    Skout - my account blocked for no reason
    I've talking to a girl almost convinced her to get...
    Hallmark channel - Lack of Diversity on the Hallmark Channel
    I absolutely LIVE for the holiday season and beyond...
    ABC Good Morning America - Biased Reporting
    George Stephenolopous made me feel like I was silently...
    avangate.com - j7reilly@gmail.com
    You Cheated Me On Nov 25 2016 INVOICE NO# 2016-11-25...
    Immigration of malaysia - Illegal malay worker selling pork soup
    There is an illegal Indonesia Malay lady wearing tudung...
    GE Appliances - Defective Induction Cooktop
    It is unfortunate that the GE experience is so painful. I...
    Ashford University - Fraud
    I started school at Ashford online roughly 3 years ago. I...
    Ashford University - Fraud
    I started school at Ashford online roughly 3 years ago. I...
    Joann Fabrics - Joanne Sewing Classes
    I registered for a Joanne Fabric Sewing Class for 35.00...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    H&R BLOCK CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT - HR Block Tax Preparation Gone Wrong
    I have been an avid and trusting HR Block customer for...
    Skout - my account blocked for no reason
    I've talking to a girl almost convinced her to get...
    Hallmark channel - Lack of Diversity on the Hallmark Channel
    I absolutely LIVE for the holiday season and beyond...
    ABC Good Morning America - Biased Reporting
    George Stephenolopous made me feel like I was silently...
    avangate.com - j7reilly@gmail.com
    You Cheated Me On Nov 25 2016 INVOICE NO# 2016-11-25...
    Immigration of malaysia - Illegal malay worker selling pork soup
    There is an illegal Indonesia Malay lady wearing tudung...
    GE Appliances - Defective Induction Cooktop
    It is unfortunate that the GE experience is so painful. I...
    Ashford University - Fraud
    I started school at Ashford online roughly 3 years ago. I...
    Ashford University - Fraud
    I started school at Ashford online roughly 3 years ago. I...
    Joann Fabrics - Joanne Sewing Classes
    I registered for a Joanne Fabric Sewing Class for 35.00...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username