Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Sams Club

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Sams Club

YouLnow me Send email
 
Jun 2, 2018

8271

Hello I am an employee at sams club for a year and a half now and I have seen alot of unfair and wrong things being done as far as management towards employees and members. I am going to start with the Supervisors who are totally unfriendly and they don’t come when we are calling for key turns. You have supervisors hiring their family members in the club who do
nothing all day but play on the phone and blow members off like they don't know there job as the COS and MSS. We have the worse personal relationships between supervisors and employees what I call a** kissers... Working for club 8271 was wonderful in the beginning now that this new manager from
Meridian has been the worst.. we never have enough coverage the front has gone down hill since coach Jenny returned to the Hattiesburg club! U have cos letting cashiers turn keys and I feel like the front end manager is a bully... I have an entire book about club 8271 I could write I’m sure the associate that was drunk still work for SAMS smh! What happened to this company
jel Send email
 
May 12, 2018

Supervisors

I have started working at Sams Club and can not believe the things that are going on. After computer training I was put on a register by myself. I have worked retail for 25 years and I catch on pretty fast. But this place is very different. Forget about asking for help. I have told several supervisors that I need more training . There is no way to contact a supervisor unless running one down. The employees in this store are rude. Not one supervisor or the store manager has come and introduced themselves to me. No one acts as if they care. The young supervisors are texting or talking among themselves. The manager never speaks just walks around and looks. I am very disappointed in this store.
Mark1965 Send email
 
Apr 24, 2018

Sam's club

Store 6344 Tire Battery center Discrimination At Its Finest From store Manager HR Manager To my Department Manager Hire Relatives That do not work then Harass the ones that do spend hours in bathroom I never at any other work place have been allowed to be in the bathroom hours at a time something smells about this
Capriceboone Send email
 
Jan 13, 2018

Not a very good reason at all

Hello I was an employee at sams club for a year and have seen alot of unfair and wrong things being done as far as management towards employees starting with the GM she's totally unfriendly and doesn't even know a3rd of the employees in the club she affiliates herself with her family she hired that does nothing all day but play on the phone and blow members off because they don't know there job the cos and MSs in the club or even worse personal relationships and even giving hours and clocking employees in even when there not there not fair you have management who set ppl up for termination for reason they need to be investigated I have even seen mss purchase drugs in the parking lot of the club #6573 needs to be investigated asap before it be embarrassing moment for Jacksonville, no Sam's club
BumbleBee Send email
 
Dec 10, 2017

Wondering if Other Stores are Run the Same WAy

I'm a former cashier. I truly fell in love with my job because of the customers and many of the other associates. I loved that Sam's Club's philosophy was to provide the best member experience possible. I have always enjoyed seeing happy faces when I was would show interest in a member's day. I was developing a following of members who called me by name. Working there was never about how much they paid or didn't pay, it was about feeling like I made a difference. My job became my passion.

That being said, from day one, I thought there was something REALLY wrong going on behind the scenes. There were MANY managers in the store and not one of them EVER smiled. Employees were never spoken to unless something was wrong. And you did NOT want to be spoken to. Cursing would ensue and you were made to feel like you were the most insignificant person they ever met. I never heard a "good morning" or "hello" come out of their mouth. Multiple managers would get together and whisper while watching every move the cashiers made. This would go on for hours every day. It felt very much like wardens watching prisoners because of the perpetual scowls on their faces. One day when the store was nearly empty, a manager walked across a large area where I was standing and the sleeve of his shirt just barely came in contact with my arm. He never made eye contact or spoke a word, but the whole incident was a unsettling. If a manager DID have to interact with you, for example, hand you brochures or items that needed to go back on the shelves, they would do so without saying a word. Sometimes you didn't even know what they wanted you to do with the stuff.

When I took orientation/computer-based-learning classes shortly after being hired, I heard everything an employee would want to hear. There were definitely strict behaviors they expected from their employees on work ethic and making eye contact while smiling at any member within 10-feet of you, but the videos also talked about how no employee should EVER be afraid to seek help or discuss an issue (ANY issue) with a supervisor, manager, the corporate office, etc. Many times during my employment I thought back to those videos because the thought of speaking to a manager for any reason gave me flip flops in my stomach.

There was a sign on the wall with the store manager's picture. It stated his commitment to the running of the club. It said he was committed to providing the best possible member experience, every time. That was HIS commitment, but it was the duty of the employees to make it happen. I never once saw him smile or talk to a customer, which seemed to contradict the sign. Nothing was ever communicated about valuing the employees.

Most of the COS staff came across as kind and helpful. They were a joy to work with, but they knew the fallout they'd face if they allowed one employee to speak to another employee for more than a few seconds because that could make the members view the staff as lazy or unprofessional. Even when the store was nearly free of shoppers and the merchandise was stocked beautifully, the floors were clean as a whistle, etc. we were forced to look busy. We would pretend to sweep as long as it took before a member needed our attention. Any kind of friendly relationship between employees was difficult to achieve.

I thought to myself (a lot) about how I would manage a business. Of course I would want amazing customer service, good employees and the best products available, but I would also want to establish a sort of "we are a Sam's Club family" among the staff. I would let hard-working employees know they are valued because without them, there is no company. At the store where I worked, the feel was more of a "you're lucky to be breathing our oxygen while you work" mentality.

Anyway, to make a very long story just a little bit longer a new supervisor (COS) was hired at our store. She was very angry looking all the time so she fit in really well with management. She would pace back and forth along the cashier line like a tiger who is deciding which gazelle to have for dinner. This COS began berating the cashiers in front of the members on a regular basis for things like not smiling BIG enough. Does THAT follow in line with our commitment to provide the best experience? Each week something else would happen. She would be the only COS available and would refuse to assist a cashier with a customer refund. Something only they were able to do. Customers would be yelling at the cashiers and she sat back and watched. Other incidences include telling a cashier to work in another area of the store for the day only to pull them aside at the end of the day to drill them with questions about why they were insubordinate and not at their register to help the members. After about five-weeks of this, I decided to speak to a supervisor and ask for help in understanding why this was happening. I wanted my job to be happy again. When these "set-up" type incidents continued, I felt I needed to talk to a manager.

The morning I decided to seek out a manager and ask for a few minutes of their time, I noticed the COS on duty avoiding me. She knew I wanted to talk and hopefully set things straight. My register was right next to her work station. The store was still closed to the regular public so it was a really peaceful time. I wanted to ask her which managers were in that day. She did tell me, but when I asked if she knew why I was being singled out as the "enemy" of this new COS, she told me to sweep. Then she sent me to the back of the store to work in the bakery. Once at the bakery, they said they had nothing for me to do. I walked back to the front of the store to let her know and she said she was busy and didn't have time to deal with me. Deal with me? I was just trying to work out an uncomfortable situation so life could go on. It was then she saw a manager and told him I needed to talk. I was stressed and upset and began to cry. The manager was amazing. He was kind, told me he would be happy to help me, guided me into his office and gave me tissues. That's when everything changed. He asked why I was so upset. I started explaining the first incident I had with the new COS. He wouldn't let me finish and just asked why I was so upset again. I told him I was trying to tell him. This happened three times. I was extremely upset. I was sobbing and told them (as he invited two other managers into the office) that I approached a COS and another supervisor earlier in the week to see if we could all just discuss why there's so much anger directed at me and what, if anything, I did wrong. Then they got angry. They said I'm on my own because I didn't go to management after the first incident. I told them I didn't want to stir up trouble after the first incident because I believe anyone can have a bad day and it was never my intention to get anyone in trouble. They just kept telling me that I screwed up and that they weren't going to take my word about anything I'd said. Things got more and more heated and I was inconsolable. I told them I may as well just leave the company because it seems obvious they don't want me there, although I still don't know why. Boy were they quick to jump on that statement. They said I was officially terminated and that I had wasted their time.

I gave Sam's Club 100% every single day. I'd never been told of anything I did wrong. I got along with everyone. I tried to resolve my issues with the COS as gently as possible, and as I had been trained to do during my 30-year career at a large utility company. .I gave this COS the benefit of the doubt, thinking maybe she was having a difficult time in her life that caused her to be angry. For that I was told I screwed up and they were less likely to try to help me since management wasn't my first stop.

I'm shocked, confused, and sad. I will deeply miss the customers I so enjoyed and the chaos of being crazy busy at times. I hope others don't experience the same treatment, but if anyone has had a similar experience, I would love to hear about it.
synthetic_pie Send email
 
Dec 1, 2017

In-house theft

This clubs security and asset protection management are a joke! Their own employees walk out with merchandise after closing without giving it a second thought. I’ve witness their meat cutters walk out with hundreds of dollars of prime meat tucked under their sweaters as they left the club. No one checks the cameras or take accurate counts of their inventory. I’ve failed to report it to management in fear of retaliation. Their employees are allowed to drink during their lunches and their employees reek of alcohol and marijuana smoke. I’ve witnessed a manager giving one of his associates gum to cover up the smell of alcohol as he was operating a forklift. They fail to check cameras and take proper inventory to account of the missing merchandise in the meat department. There are no cameras in the filler so that’s how they stuff their clothes and backpacks with the stolen meat. I’ve witness the lesbians in the bakery department making out in the bakery cooler alongside the food they prepare for club members. Favoritism plays a huge role in the reason for their cover ups. If they paid more attention to the cameras and their inventory counts they would notice all of the meat that is stolen by their very own meat cutters.
kimberlyfsn41@gmail.com Send email
 
Oct 3, 2017

Refund

Ordered a mattress online we return the mattress because it was the wrong size, never received my 400 dollar refund. I have spoke to at least 15 customer service reps.


kimberlyfsn41@gmail.com
Lilnative34 Send email
 
Feb 12, 2017

Former employee concern

As a former employee of Sam's Club I was very disappointed on how unprofessional the staff and management was at the Quincy, IL Sam's Club #4999. Whenever I would have customers come through my aisle, I would treat them as family and make sure that they didn't wait for a long period of time for any lock up items. Well when you have COS personnel that just stand around and chat, it makes the customer upset and just leave without getting anything in their cart. I was even told one time from one of our COS personnel that not to worry about the frustration of the customer and if they really want their stuff, they'll wait. There are other times where I've seen the management team act like they didn't care about me as an employee. First off, I needed a new availability form to fill out due to new hours from my husband's job and I have been asking a little over a month now and still get told to "wait as they are busy." Well I guess going to smoke a cigarette 15 to 20 times a day or every 20 minutes counts them as busy, right? I've also noticed that Sam's Club has a point system policy within the handbook and I think it's a good policy but I've noticed some management think that since they got their work finished or they don't feel well, they go home and the point system doesn't apply to them. Im actually getting a point for reminding the managers two weeks ahead of time that I have an appointment for my child to get his hearing aids. I just had a conversation with one of the managers and she got upset about it when she's the one that I have been letting know ahead of time. I have let them see a doctor's note ahead of time when the appointment was and was told ok, we'll find someone to cover for that day only to be told that I work that day and if I take my son to his appointment, I was getting my point that I was promised. I'm at a loss for words on how a business is running with such disrespectful people.
rr6579 Send email
 
Sep 27, 2016

Sams Club in stock? or not?

Hello, just came across these Sams complaints from real people and thought I’d ask some questions…..

I have a Sams business account and keep ordering on line only to find out later they are out of stock. This costs me time and $$ and I would just like to know how I could keep track of stock myself if I knew how to look into their system. When I call customer support, they tell me immediately if an item is in stock and how many of the item is in stock. This is what I need to be able to see. Simply and only this - to see if item is in stock and how many. I don’t know if it takes a special software or just a special access from a personal computer. But if I had access just as the customer support people have, I would have what I need.
Mallylin Send email
 
Mar 4, 2012

Do not purchase Sams Club Warranty

I purchased a laptop computer from Sams in August of 2009 after comparing warranty policies of Staples, Sams and Costco. I did have a value membership at Sams so this added one additional year to the warranty that I purchased and was told by the associates at 2 stores that if anything happened to the computer within the 4 years...1 year manufactures warranty, 2 years purchased for $59.95, and one additional year for being a valued member that they would either replace the computer or write me a check. Fast forward to February 11, 2011 and I have a large project where I need to burn disc and there are several problems with the HP Laptop one of with the burner is not working, the mouse button is loose and the curser will sometimes, not always jump all over the page. Long story short I take the computer to my local Sams Store and was informed that is not the way the policy works. I have to call up a number and make arrangements.

I explained that I was told something different when I bought the computer and she said that was a different store and she did not know about what that store said. I explained to the lady at what was titled Customer Service (NOT) that I had ask at this store the question about the warranty knowing what Staples and Costco's have for Warranties and was told the computer would be replaced. I realize that the policy changed sometime but this computer was purchased before that date.

She did not care and told one of the other ladies to Call up for me. I explained I was not that *** and could place the call but this was not what I was told that the computer would be replaced.

I returned home and called the number, yes I could send the computer in and "IF" nothing major was wrong the computer would be gone for 7 to 10 days. I use this computer every day and it has 3 things wrong with it and one of the reasons I have not delt with this problem earlier is I cannot be without the computer for 7 to 10 days.

I AM WRITTING THIS AS A WARNING TO ANYONE ELSE NOT TO PURCHASE THE POLICIES FROM SAMS CLUB EXTENDED WARRANTIES. As you read through complaints you will realize if you send your computer in to be repaired you might see if in 10 days but it probably will not be fixed. And who can be without their work computer for 10 days?

Good luck Buyer bewares if you decide to buy a computer from SAMS
Virgo51 Send email
 
Mar 4, 2012

Do not purchase Sams Club Warranty

My husband and I purchased two Apple I phones4s at Sam's instead of Sprint (which we really regret doing!) just to get their extended warranty which was to supposed to be so much better than Sprint's according to the salesman at the phone department, and that if the cellphone was lost, we would have a tracking system (GPS system) that was stated in the contract, but which I was unable to track. We returned to Sam's yesterday to tell the phone sales dept. that I had lost my phone, and to see what they could do to help. We were not told by anyone in the Sam's phone sales dept. at any time or was there anything in the contract that stated that this feature needed to be setup first by Sam's first in order for the system to be operational. The Apple store told us that since Sam's sold us the phones and the contracts, that they were entirely responsible for doing this which they failed to do!

Meanwhile, even though I was reimbursed for my contract which proved to be worthless, the manager led us to believe that he would give us a new phone, and then refused to do when we went to the sales dept. So now I am stuck with a 2-year contract from Srint with no phone!
I am writing this to warn other buyers to beware of buying these so called warranty contracts and also to buy their phones at the company phone stores such as the Sprint
store to avoid this kind of incident from happening to them!

By the way, does anyone have any good ideas or know what would be the best phone number to call to file a complaint against Sam's? Also, has anyone else had a similiar experience with Sam's phone dept.?
Nonamous Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Plus Card Membership

I too work at Sam's Club just as many on this thread do. And yes, I am a cashier. I have studied, in great detail, how the inner workings of this place come together. I'm sad to say that the place is extremely greedy, but this is only the view I have of the upper management team in my club. I am not one who believes that Corporate is evil. In fact, seeing members of the corporate team is usually a godsend for us cashiers because they usually come to fire a manager who has wronged us in some way.

So let me address some things with you people. I know there's a fight about how much cash back you receive as a Sam's Club Plus Discover Card member. In fact, the corretc wording is that you can earn "Up to 2% Cash Back with Sam's Club Plus Discover". See what I did there? You actually earn 0.25% cash back until you spend $1500 with the card. Then you will earn 0.50% cash back until you hit $3000. You will then earn 1% cash back until you hit $5000. Next, you earn 1.75% cash back until you hit $10, 000. And then, and only then, will you start to earn your 2% cash back as promised. But unless you plan to spend more than $5000 with it in a year, it's the exact same card as the $40 Advantage member's Discover. About selling Plus, they push us, HARD. It's kind of sad seeing cashiers talking to members that we mostly know (not a large city) and ask them to upgrade and get yelled at because the member has only been asked 20, 000 times to upgrade already. We don't want to do it, we have to do it. Our motto has even changed to "Ask Every Member, Every Time." It's sickening.

So why do we have to do this? Why do we need to sell this membership so bad? That's where upper management comes in. Our ability to meet our quota for Plus (our club's is 12, daily) diretcly corresponds to how much the Managers will get in their "Sam's Share". For those of you that don't know. Sam's Share is a "profit-sharing" plan that pretty much says "the more Plus you sell, the more money you get". For cashiers, a Sam's Share once-a-year is like Christmas. It's a pretty hefty bonus for us, usually in the amount of $800 for part time cashiers. But this... This is where our Managers' motivation to threaten us comes from. Our ability to sell Plus can be, for the Club Manager, the difference between $2500 and $15, 000+. And I don't see him selling a lot of Plus to earn that. In fact I believe the last time a manager sold a Plus Membership in our club was well over a decade ago. Now considering that our club ranked best in our market for several years now, I can infer, that our Club Manager has a salary of somewhere between $70, 000 and $103, 000. That's a nice chunk of change for a manager who may not even possess a college degree!

This can drive Manager's to do crazy things that can destroy the team dynamic of the club. I have had days where a manager would call several cashiers, including myself, in her office to call us "lazy", "worthless", and "useless" and, of course, to threaten our jobs if we didn't step up our game. I knew I would learn to mortally hate this company that I saw one of my best friends come out of that office, crying her eyes out. Again, I restate that the Corp. office is not to blame. This senseless greed is driving people to do things that are far more destructive than they realize, just to stick a couple extra thousand dollars in their pocket at the end of the year. I can't wait until an instance like this will explode onto the media and Sam's Clubs all over the country will be exposed along with the greedy people they employ.

To address other issues, I agree that the management staff only stands around the checkout area making jokes, texting, and giving some cashiers the occasional "death glare". We call them "coaches" but they provide no positive criticism nor assistance nor training to anybody. These days, our cashiers are given the encouragement from the Check-Out Supervisor Team Lead that they will have the opportunity to throw a pie in the face of one of the managers' faces if they get a certain amount of Plus upgrades. I don't understand how a group of people could be so entertained by a meaningless ritual that provides only the shortest and crudest comedic value and absolutely no financial gain.

For those who say "It's you job, suck it up." I will have you know this was, and still is, the first job I've ever had. I put a great deal of trust in the managers who interviewed me when they told me that I would give members "the opportunity to upgrade to a better membership" and I would give members the "opportunity to apply for and use a fantastic all-in-one Discover credit card". They said nothing about requirements or threats. As far as I can tell, since he did not tell me the entire story about all this, he lied. Straight to my face, which is not all that surprising. I see several of my supervisors lie to my customers all the time to get out of being accountable and answering questions. By the way, the post about "Top-Down Selling" is entirely true. Also, many cashiers tend to lie to get easier upgrades. Many cashiers will tell you that every time that they shop, they save $10-20 with their Plus Membership when they don't even get the payroll deduction for the membership in the first place! I even did a week long study on how much people save with their Plus Memberships. I took every Plus Member's total and wrote how much they saved from all aspetcs of the Plus Membership. This means that I included eValues, extra warranty coverage, etc, EVERYTHING. I found that, on average, members would have to spend $117.46 to save $1 with the Plus Membership. When you flatten it out, in order to save the guaranteed $300 per year with the Plus Membership, you would need to spend, on average, approximately $35, 238 in the club in a single year. That amount of money would take me more than 3 straight years of work to earn.

So when March swings around and we all get those shiny Sam's Share checks, I'll deposit the money in to my bank account and promptly tell my managers to kiss my morally-righteous, non-conforming ass.
Xoxmawexox Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Plus Card Membership

Okay so i started at Sams Club in June still working there till this day and really people you cant get mad about the plus and credit you just got to get over it and do it that is your job as a cashier, COS, manager, or membership desk and to be honest i do not like selling plus or credit but ITS MY JOB i suck it up and do it all you have to do is ask i am on the leader board for selling plus and credit just because i ask and i tell them the REAL benefits i dont lie about it but like i said i dont think anyone likes selling it but you have to so stop complaining atleast you got a job and for those people who are getting treated like crap at those other clubs well then you need to report it seriously at my club everyone is very nice there is just a couple bad apples who i work with but that is how it is everywhere you go!!! not everyone is going to be nice and kiss your ass seriously but like i said no one likes selling plus or credit but get over it that is your job if you dont like it go find another :)
Amily Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

Back in february icalled the store for poland water 35 pack water they switch me with three diferent people none of them knew if they do.Today june 12th 2010 called for michelob ultea ligt beer .The woman named debora kept me on hold for too long time stating no one was answering in the licuor dept. I request to talk to the mannager but she refused. i had been member since they open the secaucus store but since Iam so unhappy I wont renew the membership again. Ihave to travel some five miles from my house to the store so I called before going .
JasonJD48 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

5 whole miles?
Madhur78 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam

I ordered for B’day cake at SAMS Club for Sunday. Due to personal emergency I reached SAMS 10 minutes late. I spoke & requested to Store Manager named JOE to assist me, but he was so rude and not ready to even listen me & asked me to come back next day for pickup. Problem here is JOE was store manager but not concerned at all to help me out and asked me to go walmart. I don’t believe that they don’t have way to assist customer. This behavior was not acceptable from SAMS people & my daugther b’day was disaster!
Heath2011 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam

once they close out the tills that is that...they can not reopen one because you ran late...so what if they worked over 8 hours on their feet, so what if they have families of their own...I guess managers and employees are only here for your convience..your daughter's birthday was ruined because of you...
Mrknowitall Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam

It is rude to be late and make demands to others because of your irresponsibility. I'm glad they put you in your place. This complaint only proves your immaturity. We need all businesses to put these selfish, immature selfish trailer trash in their place.
Sucker54321 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Plus Card Membership

I was suckered into buying this membership today for 60.00. I spent 400.00 on my groceries and received no discounts. I'm going in tomorrow to get my 60.00 back! I don't buy jewelry or large ticket items at SAMs and I don't purchase boxed food (the middle of the store) because I am allergic to wheat.
Alg310 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Plus Card Membership

Im also a sam's club employee and I cant really complain about my job except staying 2 hours after closing and an hour later than cashiers (i work in the clothing department) . Personally i dont think I would ever transfer to cashiering no matter how many times people tell me that my job sucks. when you are hired at sams club i believe you have the option to apply for any position not just cashier. yes i do feel bad for cashiers having to get plus memberships, but its their job. as it is my job to fold after everyones mess and keep refolding the clothes over and over again to make sams club look neat and organized and not disgusting and flithy. its MY JOB. thats what i applied for i cant complain about having to refold a table after i spent 10 minutes organizing it and a member comes along and messes everyttng up in less than a minute. its what i was hired to do. simply if you dont like cashiering, move departments. as for the whole plus membership not being helpful, i like to believe it is. you do get discounts, just print them out and you'll save a dollar or two. if you were to save a dollar or two on items and you visit the club once a week, lets say in total you save 5 dollars on the chosen items. i believe
if u keep buying those items sams sends you coupons for those exact items. 5 x 4 weeks in a month = 20 dollars. 20 dollars x 12 months =240 dollars saved. basically only loosing 60 dollars since u paid 100 for your membership. and it is true look for any prices that says $xx.x1 that means the price has gone down and has a possibility of it getting lower.
Animalchin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Plus Card Membership

I work at Sam's, however I am an auditor. My job consists of doing an inventory of the entire store every 4 months, as well as weekly and monthly audits (inventories) of high priced items (TV's, computers, grills, lighters, etc.)

We are not a grocery store. We are not an electronics or furniture store. We are a warehouse store that has it's roots catering to small businesses (why we sell our products in bulk at lower rates.) That said, the plus membership might not be the best for everyone, but it has it's advantages. Early shopping (7 a.m.), eValues (exclusive discounts), and up to a 40% discount on some pharmaceuticals.

We are here to save people money. Much of our profit comes from membership. Next time you are at a Sam's, look for prices with the cent's ending in "1" ($XX.X1). That means it is sold below what we paid. I work at a low volume club with huge shrink (Cashiers [I'm sure none of the above posters] do not scan all products, like water on the bottom of the cart, and theft from employees and members) but we stay in business because we get memberships and become suppliers to local businesses. I will be the first to tell you, I won't buy a plus; I don;t need to shop early (I'm there at 5:30 M-F anyways), I have health insurance and I don't buy much stuff there. But for the people that need to be in the store before 8, do not have health insurance and need the discounts or just want to take advantage of the eValues, the Plus membership provides it.
Usee Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Plus Card Membership

The Plus Membership for members is not all what its cracked up to be.
Alot of the benefits have already been stopped and all it really helps is the profit for each club. Most of Sams Club's revenue comes from their membership cards. Imagine that! Most members that try the plus card find that it is a waste of their time and efforts. Besides who wants to pay 100 dollars a year for a membership card? If you have a Sam's Discover you would earn up to 2% cash back but the catch to that is you have to spend 10, 000 + to start earning that much back. I don't know about you but I don't spend that much at Sams. A regular membership card will serve the purpose. Did you know they have a quota on how many plus cards each club gets in a week? Wow! No wonder their pressing the issue. To sum it up I would leave the plus card alone!
Samscashier Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Plus Card Membership

Yes, memberships are profit for Sam's club, because we don't mark our prices up to cover our overhead. I've been told that we have to sell a pallet and a half of water to cover the profit for one membership - just $40. That's an average of 39 cents profit per case of water. Not very much profit.

@madalice1 - you do not HAVE to show your membership card to get in the door - at least not at my club. The person standing at the entrance door is to greet members and make sure there isn't any unpaid-for merchandise walking out the door.

As far as the plus membership goes, I'm a cashier at Sam's Club. We're required to sell 3 plus memberships per week (part time) and 5 per week (full time), and if we don't sell X amount in X many weeks, we get written up. 3 write ups = loss of job.

The plus membership is not a bad deal, as much as members like to think that it is. It's also fully refundable (as mentioned before) and, believe it or not, when cashiers offer it to members, IT'S NOT A CREDIT CARD. I've asked a few members what they think, and most of them do think it's a credit card or some form of credit. I think this is one factor keeping members from buying it. That averages out to $115 every two weeks. Also you save $5-8 in evalues on an average trip to sam's, so that's even better.

I'm not trying to argue with anyone on this page, I'm just a frustrated cashier disappointed with the members who turn down $8 upgrades because "They just don't want it". This is also my point of view on the subject, and does not reflect every sam's club in the country, or every cashier. But as far as I know, every cashier at my club agrees with me on this issue.

Sam's club shoppers - if the plus membership is under $10 to upgrade, try it out. It's just $10. You'll probably save a cashier's job. It's fully refundable. Our club has gotten to the point where our supervisors are offering rewards for selling plus memberships - packs of gum, candy, free food at the cafe, etc. to try and promote plus sales. This is a rediculous idea, we shouldn't need to be rewarded for doing our jobs.

As an employee, I have the option to get the fee for the plus membership taken out of my paycheck, it's like $2.36 per pay period. The first time my girlfriend went shopping after I signed up, she saved $8 in evalues, without even checking them at the door. Of course it was a $350 shopping trip, but it's still $8 extra we didn't have to spend. Assume now that you save from $5 to $8 per shopping trip, and you come once every 2-3 weeks, over the course of a year, that's approximately $125 per year that you save. Add into that extra savings on large items - printer ink, paper shredders, even computers, all of which are usually more than $10 and up to $200 off, your savings go on to upwards of $200 - $500 per year. Again, not bad for a small $60 investment.

Also early shopping hours. We aren't kidding about this, early shopping hours are great if, for example, you bought your tires at sam's club. Instead of waiting in the middle of the day for a tire rotate, you can come in early in the morning and have them taken care of during business hours with (at my club at least) no waiting, be in and out in 15 minutes and be on with your day. That's pretty convenient.

2% cash back - the spending 10, 000 is a lie. I've seen reward checks ranging from $6 to $400. This is the normal 2% cash back, and it applies to ALL purchases, not just once you hit $10, 000. In reality, you have to spend $5, 000 to break even on your $100 membership in rewards. To pay for just the plus membership, you only have to spend $3, 000 at 2% cash back.
Ellen67 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Plus Card Membership

I know some clubs check the cards at the door because 'premium' memberships have special hours. They can shop an hour earlier at Costco (Sams, too?) than the 'standard' membership. Maybe that is a similar situation. And I found on other posts that people complained they couldn't go into the club during the early hour because they only had a standard membership card. Which is ridiculous; that is one reason why people spend more on a membership.
Jack Colly Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Plus Card Membership

Hello Sams Club,

I am Mr. BENJAMIN DEBRAH a citizen of Ghana .I have in my bank the existence of a big amount of money that belongs to a customer, Mr. Daniel Club, who happen to have the same surname as yours .The fund is now without any claim because Mr. Daniel died in a deadly earthquake in China in 2008 . I want your cooperation so as to make the bank send you the fund as the beneficiary and next of kin to the fund.

This transaction will be of a great mutual assistance to us. Send me your reply of interest so that I will give you the details .
Strictly send it to my private email account : benjamindedrah22@hotmail.com or send me your email address to send you details of this transaction.

At the receipt of your reply, I will give you details of the transaction. And a copy of the Deposit certificate of the fund and also the incorporation certificate of the company that generated the fund .
Best regards,

MR. Benjamin Debrah.
benjamindedrah22@hotmail.com

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    TeleCheck - Check denied
    I am beyond pissed! I went to get food and gas only to be...
    Hallmark channel - Christmas movies
    playing Christmas movies during Christmas in July is...
    Ecco Shoes - Sole totally disintegration
    The soles of Three different pairs of brand new ecco shoes...
    Peak Sails - Sail Built Wrong, no resppnse from Peak
    In January 2017, I ordered a new mainsail for my Dufour 36...
    MIBFA - 6 years unpaid provident fund
    mibf is useless and serious action need to be taken...
    M.I.C.K.Silva - Coca cola lucky winner application form
    COCA-COLA BOTTLING COMPANY ENGLAND Headquarters(Executive...
    Smart Phone - SMART PHONE LOST
    LOST OF MY SMART PHONE NAME- RABINDRA KU...
    Money Network - Unauthorized Disputes
    First off ima start by saying on only 16 I work at fast...
    Samsung UK Promo - samsung officail blog
    This is our Samsung Headquarter Official E-mail ID. For...
    Airtel - Number deactivated or Disconnected
    sim card deactivation Dear sir, My SIM (9894048580)...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    TeleCheck - Check denied
    I am beyond pissed! I went to get food and gas only to be...
    Hallmark channel - Christmas movies
    playing Christmas movies during Christmas in July is...
    Ecco Shoes - Sole totally disintegration
    The soles of Three different pairs of brand new ecco shoes...
    Peak Sails - Sail Built Wrong, no resppnse from Peak
    In January 2017, I ordered a new mainsail for my Dufour 36...
    MIBFA - 6 years unpaid provident fund
    mibf is useless and serious action need to be taken...
    M.I.C.K.Silva - Coca cola lucky winner application form
    COCA-COLA BOTTLING COMPANY ENGLAND Headquarters(Executive...
    Smart Phone - SMART PHONE LOST
    LOST OF MY SMART PHONE NAME- RABINDRA KU...
    Money Network - Unauthorized Disputes
    First off ima start by saying on only 16 I work at fast...
    Samsung UK Promo - samsung officail blog
    This is our Samsung Headquarter Official E-mail ID. For...
    Airtel - Number deactivated or Disconnected
    sim card deactivation Dear sir, My SIM (9894048580)...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username