Submit a Complaint

Santander Consumer USA

United States,
Georgia

Consumer complaints and reviews about Santander Consumer USA

Gilda Gant Send email
 
Jan 16, 2014

Car Write Off

Hello,

I am contacting you for help. This is not a compliant, but a request for help. Customer Annissa Swanningan, a 41 year old mother of two boys 4 and 5 years old learned that she has problems with her heart right after she got pregnant with her second child. After doctors could do all they could to help her in Memphis, they told her she had to seek help some where else. So she researched and found MAYO Clinic in Minnesota. Mayo Clinic immediately told her that she was in need of a heart, liver and a lung transplant. Then she was told that she would not make it through Summer 2013. They gave her medicines that improved her position to be able to have a transplant. Long story short, she received a heart and liver simultaneously. She is in fact the second person in the world to have had the surgery. You can check this story out at Annisa Swanningan/ National Foundation for Transplants most of her story is already there.She has not been able to work yet and prior to that she has been too ill to do so. She has to go to Mayo clinic monthly to be sure she is well from the two transplants. However, her medicines cost thousands of dollars monthly. She is able to drive and get her children to school and the basic with not extra money to pay a car note but she does need a car. I am asking that you will allow her to keep the car that you financed for her, it would be a tremendous burden lifted from her regarding transporting her children. They live alone and have no other form of transportation. My name is Gilda Gant and I am trying to help her raise funds so that she can continue her medicines properly while being able to travel to Minnesota each much. It is crucial for her survival.
Should you have questions, please call me at 901-826-4376. I can answer any questions you may have and lead you to more information if needed.

Thanks so much for you consideration to this matter.
Annie Lee /donald Lee Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Double billed - no refund so far

i was wanting to check what all my ins cover acct num 8343109
Cole H Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Double billed - no refund so far

Santander Consumer USA recently took over loans/payments for CitiFinancial Auto who my original loan was through. Upon being notified by CitiFinancial about this change, I contacted Santander Consumer USA to get some more information. Specifically I asked them if my current payment arrangements with CitiFinancial would remain in place. That is, the automatic monthly draft that I had setup with CitiFinancial. The representative from Santander told me that no, the payments would not automatically carry over to them and that I needed to setup a one time payment for September and then schedule future auto drafts through the Santander website. When the time came for my payment to be made, I discovered that my previous payment arrangement with CitiFinancial was still in tact and had been transferred to Santander. So, Santander auto drafted my bank account (they said they wouldn't, which is why I needed to schedule a one time payment). So basically I have been charged twice. That's just shy of $400 missing from my checking account that they had no business taking out. Money that I need for things like gas and groceries. When I originally called, I was told that I needed to fax them a copy of my bank statement to "prove that I was overcharged'. First of all, why the hell do I need to "prove" it? Shouldn't they have records that show that they received two payments from me? I cannot believe they have the nerve to request personal, private documents from me because of their screw up. I am still waiting on the money to show back up in my account. I cannot believe the complete and total lack of consideration for the effect this has on me financially. $400 might not be a lot of money to be missing for some people but it is for me.

One positive note. I called them back after the first rep told me I needed to fax my bank statements. I was hoping for a different rep that would be willing to be a little more proactive. I ended up with a very nice lady who, upon placing me on hold, contacted their accounting department. She was able to verify with them that they did in fact receive two payments last month from me. She promised that the money would be refunded as soon as possible. I am hoping to receive it in the next 24-48 hours. I will follow up on this to let everyone know the result.
Hope Sorrows Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Double billed - no refund so far

I have been dealing with Santander's wrongful doing for three years and I even went as far as going to local news Fox 5 atlanta but they didn't want to say or do anything about it . So that it got to the point where I had my car packed for a trip out of town for a funeral with clothes and even had my cancer meds. in the car . Guess what happened they stole my car and now they are destroing my credit rating with their slander marks against me .I believe that they are owned by someone in a government office that is why they are still in bussiness with all the complaint's they have against them in almost every state in the usa . It's almost like the president himself ownes them he is the only person that has the power to overlook that many complaints . everyone was to join together and file a class a lawsuit against them would be the best thing to do at least it might get them exsposed for being the crooks they are.
Kuriozidee Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unexplained charges on payoff amount

I was nearing the end of my contract when Santander took over my car loan. I am now at the final payment, which should have been paid on 11/07; however, they sent a bill showing a balance of 747.11 but only requesting a 320.00 payment. I made the 320.00 payment on 11/05 and then began receiving the automated phone messages that my account was past due. Now they are claiming that because I had split my monthly car payments in half in the past (due to being paid bi-monthly) that I owe another 431.00 in late fees and that the balance of 747.11 - not the amount owed (320.00) at the bottom of the bill was supposed to be paid by 11/07/10. He also mentioned that this late payment fee that I have been accruing was around $5 per month. The funny thing is that I refinanced my original loan with Citi so they did not have it full term which would have been 60 months. Even at 60 months, $5 per month is only $300...not 431.00. I did have a deferment with Citi due to being laid off in 2008-2009 but the difference of the deferment would be more than 431.00 if that is what they are trying to recover, so I have no idea where they are getting this amount from. They have also said that it was my responsibility to be aware of my maturity date and obtain the payoff amount instead of going by what was on the bill so now my account will be in collections until I can pay the 431.00 on 12/01/10. The payoff is apparently based on the interest and is only good for 15 days...but no one ever sent anything out about that. I have paid off other cars before and have NEVER had this much trouble.
Anedge37 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unexplained charges on payoff amount

I HATE SANTANDER! This company has owed me a refund for over 2 and 1/2 months and I still to this date have not received it. The accounting department is the worst of all! I mean how long does it take to get a refund check if you mailed it out- Yea Right- You really didn't mail it out, but SANTANDER'S MOTTO must be---- Lie to the customer and give them excuse after excuse to cover up your inadequacies! Like I said I HATE SANTANDER!!!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username