Submit a Complaint

Santander Consumer USA

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Santander Consumer USA

Emelendez Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

harassment

I have been harassed for a long time now I have been on long term disability for over a year and a half it is hard with just my disability check to pay my rent and my other bills since my salary went lower than what I was making when I was working I tried to explain that to Santander and they said they can't help me. I still would pay at least a month since I had fallen behind I tried sending them money every chance I got but I was being called at least more than 8 to ties a day everyday even when I tried telling them everyday they would still call me the next day it came to a point I would not answer so they started to call my family and friends everyday my friend had to tell them to stop calling them and they still called them I would get calls before 9:00 in the morning until as late as 9:00 at night I worked making calls for a pharmaceutical company and I know we were not allowed to call before 9:00 in the morning that was the law however they were calling me at all early hours and on Sunday morning as well at 8:00 now I got up this morning at 6:00 in the morning and my car was repossess I called them made an arrangement to pay my balance which I paid and know when I called them back to find out where my car was so that I can get it back they stated that the reinstatement office line was busy and they would send them an email and someone would get back to me I called again and they stated that they sent a release form to the agent informing them that the car was indeed paid and that it could be released so I asked them what was the name of the people again that had taken my car and they said that they would transfer me to the reinstatement office only to be told again the line was busy this went on for over 4 hours and no one still got back to me my last call was at about 8:00 pm tonight only to be told that the agent who took the car was closed and that I could do nothing I explained to them that someone was suppose to have returned my called today and as a result now I could not get my car all I wanted was the name of the place to get my car as a result the lady that answered my call was able to give me the information I had requested early during the day where the other employees of Santander said they could not give me and at that time it was to late to get my car so I proceed to call the number they gave me and the person tells me that he is just the agent and that now it is impossible for me to get my car and that I may not be able to get my car now till Monday so now because of the employees negligence I now have to wait for another three days and pay for the car pound where they have my car they have a deal with this company it seems because I made they payment early enough and they had received my released form early enough where the information that the Santander employees told me they could not give me and that I would get a call back and was not called back this other employee conveniently gave me after 8:00 pm and was able to give to me now I have to pay extra monies that I cannot afford to pay. they have a gimmick with the towing company and I also feel that Santander has been over charging me for over a year when I was with Citifinancial my payments were $487. now it seems they are charging me $508.00 that is over a year and a half of that extra money since they took over. Please if any one can represent me get back to me right away.
VWS Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

poor customer service/payments applied incorrectly

I have a loan with santander Consumer and have never been late. I have asked them to apply my extra payments to principal but they said I have to be three months ahead on payments in order for that to happen. I keep paying extra but all it does is reduce the next months payment. Is this legal?
Kims1975 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassment and lies

I am pleased to report that the refinancing for my car went through at my own bank, in the end my brother had to put his car up as collateral and cosigned but we got ourselves out of the loan at Santander;. I encourage anyone who has a loan with Santander to see if you can refinance at your own bank that you trust?. I have also warned my bank that Santander is shady and facing lawsuits and to be sure they mark the payment as in full when they pay them off and to make sure absolutely sure they are off my car title". I now have a refinance through my bank of $194 payments each month for 4 yrs, compared to the 2 1/2 years I had left on the Santander loan at $298?.42 each month:. Putting $104 back into my pocket each month that I need for living expenses, and the interest rates were lower because I now qualify for lower interest rates:. Please see if you can refinance at your own bank, it is worth the trouble.
Pakass Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Will not respond, in order to collect payment

Their website will not allow me to login, no matter how many times I have worked the issue with the companies tech support. Their admitted error has caused me excessive late fees. I have been paying the late fees due to their error, I responded via email explaining the situation, not asking for a refund, just asking for away to avoid paying penalties due to their website error. I get no response to my emails. I have called and they will not allow me to speak with a supervisor. I have filed a complaint with the better business bureau.
Kims1975 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Will not respond, in order to collect payment

I am pleased to report that the refinancing for my car went through at my own bank, in the end my brother had to put his car up as collateral and cosigned but we got ourselves out of the loan at Santander;. I encourage anyone who has a loan with Santander to see if you can refinance at your own bank that you trust?. I have also warned my bank that Santander is shady and facing lawsuits and to be sure they mark the payment as in full when they pay them off and to make sure absolutely sure they are off my car title". I now have a refinance through my bank of $194 payments each month for 4 yrs, compared to the 2 1/2 years I had left on the Santander loan at $298?.42 each month:. Putting $104 back into my pocket each month that I need for living expenses, and the interest rates were lower because I now qualify for lower interest rates:. Please see if you can refinance at your own bank, it is worth the trouble.
Kims1975 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They always say I make payment late and they charge me 21.5 every month

I am pleased to report that the refinancing for my car went through at my own bank, in the end my brother had to put his car up as collateral and cosigned but we got ourselves out of the loan at Santander;. I encourage anyone who has a loan with Santander to see if you can refinance at your own bank that you trust?. I have also warned my bank that Santander is shady and facing lawsuits and to be sure they mark the payment as in full when they pay them off and to make sure absolutely sure they are off my car title". I now have a refinance through my bank of $194 payments each month for 4 yrs, compared to the 2 1/2 years I had left on the Santander loan at $298?.42 each month:. Putting $104 back into my pocket each month that I need for living expenses, and the interest rates were lower because I now qualify for lower interest rates:. Please see if you can refinance at your own bank, it is worth the trouble.
Kims1975 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away from this one

I am pleased to report that the refinancing for my car went through at my own bank, in the end my brother had to put his car up as collateral and cosigned but we got ourselves out of the loan at Santander;. I encourage anyone who has a loan with Santander to see if you can refinance at your own bank that you trust?. I have also warned my bank that Santander is shady and facing lawsuits and to be sure they mark the payment as in full when they pay them off and to make sure absolutely sure they are off my car title". I now have a refinance through my bank of $194 payments each month for 4 yrs, compared to the 2 1/2 years I had left on the Santander loan at $298?.42 each month:. Putting $104 back into my pocket each month that I need for living expenses, and the interest rates were lower because I now qualify for lower interest rates:. Please see if you can refinance at your own bank, it is worth the trouble.
Fincepost Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Get real

JHON SANTANDER ISENT FOR REAL. IF HE SAID HE HAS KEPT ALL THE PHONE RECORDINGS OF EVERY CONVERSATION ON FILE THEN THE SPACE BETWEEN HIS EARS IS SMALLER THAN I THOUGHT. RECORDINGS OF ANY KIND CAN NOT BE USED IN A COURT OF LAW. RECORDINGS CAN BE CHANGED THERFOR THAY ARE NOT WORTH THE POWDER TO BLOW THEM UP. COMPANEYS DO THAT JUST TO MAKE YOU THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU SAY. FRIGHT NIGHT...
SantanderWatchdog Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Get real

I find it amusing that JohnSantander would state that Santander does not violate in laws. We shall see. Word has it that Santander has tried to open up zombie debts that are 10-20 years old and had been paid off. What they are doing is just reporting it to the credit companies and trashing people's credit hoping to get money from them. This time they have pissed some people off with the resources to fight them. Several lawsuits in Texas are going to hit them extremely hard! No violation of the law John?
Rich M. Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

personal proerty

I got a loan for my car from hsbc. HSBC sold my loan to Santandar. i could not keep up the payments due to reduced income and my car was repo'd. when i called Santandar to get my possions back, Meka from santandar said i had to pay to get back my money and personal possitions. I told her i paid to retrieve my car but she said i had to pay for any personal possion i had left in the car and i had to pay for storage of the car which came out to $250.00 + the 500.00 i had in the car this come to a sum of 750.00 i will be out of. this is not including personal material i had in it. so in toltal to get my car back i will have paid $1650.00
JONBONFAN Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

personal proerty

These idiots got my loan after citi financial sold it to them without my authority, its been nothing short of a nightmare. I paid my car off in Oct 2011, instead of getting my title, the called saying I owed another $2330.00 in interest charges which they wanted to make me pay in 6 more payments at 9.5% interest!!! Something IS REALLY WRONG with this company, they bullied me over and over for 3 months but I refused to pay those incompetent A-Holes, long story short these heartless jerks repossessed my car in the middle of the night, I told them they could stick the car up their A**...i got my personal property back and have reported them to the BBB Fed Trade Commission and Consumer Affairs..I also got another car as they can keep mine, , haha 242K miles with the transmission on the way out...I hope they get crap for it those bastards!
Svildoes Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassment and lies

We have a loan with Citi Financial who turned it over to Santander Consumer. They call everyday and every person we talk to has no idea what their even talking about. We have sent payments and now were being told were late and could apply for a deferment. The best part is someone else told us we had to pay everything on the loan immediately. Everyone you talk to has a different story on your account and no one actually listens to anything. I told someone I sent a payment in the mail and that they should have it in a day or two and they still wanted my checking account number and the check number I used. Get real Santander and maybe hire people who aren't complete morons.
Jackie Rispoli Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassment and lies

I am so glad to know i am not alone. I paid 512.00 to stay out of repo and a lady called 3 days later talking about another 180.00 and she informed me that every Representative does not know what is going on with these accounts i now have a certified letter at the post office
Biasters Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Late fees being added to account

My original loan was with HSBC. I never had a problem until Santander took over my loan earlier this year. The very first statement that I received from them had late fees on it. I was not late with HSBC and did not know why they had been added to my account. After calling multiple times, I finally spoke with an agent who was very nice and very helpful. She told me that I could pay an additional amount on my May payment and the late fees would be taken care of. I did this and continued to make my regular payments each month, on time. In August, I start receiving calls again 8 to 10 times a day stating that my account is past due. I made my August payment 4 days early and was informed that part of that payment had been applied to the supposed late fees that were still on my account (even tho I had not heard from them since the agreement in May) so it made my August payment late. I have called Santander several times trying to resolve this matter, to no avail. They continue to tell me that my account is past due, but cannot explain to me where the late fees came from to begin with. I asked them to review the conversation that I had with their agent in May, because they tell you when you call them that your call is being recorded for quality assurance. What a joke!!! They should honor the agreement that their agent made with me, especially since I paid an extra amount for something that I really didn't understand in the first place. This company needs to be put out of business. They are a big jjoke!!
Santander A Ripp Off!! Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Late fees being added to account

I am also having the same problem with Santander, I had no idea that HSBC sold the note to Santander. Immediately I started receiving notices and calls that I had late fees, I should have paid of the note in September of 2011, and my balance is now to the point that I will pay off my account in 2013. They have added fees and late charges that was supposed to have been a 5 year note and will end up being a 7 year loan. They are ripping people off and they will not work with you. They need to be put out of business.
GettingEvenToday Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal collections practice/ Incompetence

UPDATE: I contacted the Legal staff from Sokolove Law Firm. They took my information. I told them that I have posted all of the information on this complaint board, spoke with various Federal Government Agencies, and my Congressman regarding Santander's illegal practices. To no avail, nothing was done. I have "mountains" of paperwork to back up my claim, and was reluctant to hand them over to Sokolove. They told me it wasn't necessary, and they would send me over a contract for me to sign allowing them to represent me. I told them that I never thought that I would live to see this day that something would be done, and I thanked them over and over for doing this! Santander would have to finally pay me for the illegal repossession, the nine months that I spent renting a car. I kind of left it alone, because I now have a newer car financed by Capital One Auto Financing. As the good bible says, "You Reap What You Sow."
GettingEvenToday Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal collections practice/ Incompetence

http://www.sokolovelaw.com/blog/2011/12/12/santander-bank-complaints-rise-in-the-us
Chadd Gilliam Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

harassment

this company santander is the worst business i have ever dealt with. my payment s got behind and i am catching the note up. there has been a wrecker stop by my house everyday for a week. i called and talked to the company. trucks still coming. the drivers are even getting out and just wondering around my property. i have had enough
Fincepost Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Get real

I think everyone that has a complaint or problem should get an attorney to solve the problem and get Santander out of business, Contact sockolove, look it up and file a complaint against these crooks, let some one handle it who knows the law and can get something done. What do you have to lose? They don't charge any thing to here you and what you have to say, give it a try
GettingEvenToday Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal collections practice/ Incompetence

Here is a website regarding Santander's. I also have a phone number to file your complaint, but, it is in my cell phone, and I will repost that later. go get them!

http://www.ggreen.com/
BadJuJuforU Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

background

Useful info on these bottomfeeders here; https://secure.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/wiki/Banco_Santander, and here; http://finance.yahoo.com/q/mh?s=STD+Major+Holders . yes boys and girls, their NYSE label is "STD", It fits. look at how Wells Fargo is a major shareholder, now stay with me, Wells Fargo took over Wachovia bank, They are the ones that just got fined for Laundering 300 BILLION in drug money. Think there may be some dots to connect here? UPDATE: This just in, more dots? https://secure.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/wiki/Emilio_Bot%C3%ADn
Quenton Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

background

I have had similar problems with this company it seems that no matter how long you pay them you never get out of the car loan.
Holly32 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

harassment

I am getting up to 10 calls a day from Santander. They also call from 7:30am - 8:30pm. They call they day my payment is due if they have not received it by 5pm. I talk to multiple people from there and explain my situation but they obviously do not communicate with each other or record for 'quality assurance purposes.' They are rude. They will not work me with. I know what my monthly payment is however since it became Santander, I have not received 2 consecutive months of my monthly payment. It is always different. I will never recommend Santander to anyone.
Sokolove Law Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

harassment

Santander may have violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act

Hi I am from Sokolove Law. I’m part of our consumer rights group that works on consumer credit abuse claims. We have been reviewing thousands of potential claims where Santander may have breached their contracts in the way it charges fees to consumers. Their debt collection actions may have also violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and the Telephone Consumer Protection Act. According to MSNBC, Santander is being accused of a number of questionable debt collection techniques, including illegally repossessing cars from active duty military while they were overseas, making as many as 800 “robocalls” to a single person, grossly overcharging for late fees, and making harassing phone calls to neighbors, friends, co-workers and children.

For folks interested in learning more about Santander and their credit practices, there is great information available at http://awe.sm/5c9PM. If you think you might have a claim, call our office at 888-820-1688 to learn about your options and receive a free legal consultation.
CBMOD Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

harassment

Sokolove Law is a sleazy bottom feeder firm. Any law firm that would stoop to ambulance chasing and violating a website's soliciting policy is a firm to be avoided.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username