Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Sears

United States,
Kansas

Consumer complaints and reviews about Sears

Blackjack41538614 Send email
 
May 28, 2018

Disregard for the Elderly: LG Refrigerator Repair

I bought this LG refrigerator 2 years ago for my mother. The refrigerator evaporation system stopped working on April 4, 2018. I have been in contact with Sears who not only questioned warranty (which was resolved each time) but who could not offer anything but back orders for parts expecting to come in at "any time." These parts began to arrive the afternoon of May 14 after the technician abruptly left that morning. The parts continued to come in that week. I could not get another appointment until June 4th. Because of the time and the need of a refrigerator for my mother ( 86 with dementia, high blood pressure, diabetes, and heart disease) I requested a replacement. Of course, her conditions did not warrant a replacement.

I am really amazed by the lack of compassion shown by this company. I expect the technician to be here on June 4th (2 months). I hope the appointment is honored and conditions in my mother's home return to normal. She does not understand why the refrigerator is not working. I live in the South where temps have reached as high as 95 degrees so far. The small refrigerator she is using is inadequate for storing left over foods.

I am very disappointed with Sears. Every time I call the company, I feel as though I am being mocked. I think the conduct you have shown my family could have been handled better. When I talk to reps on the telephone, they listen, but they seem to be empty people with no kind of humanity. Work on that. I do commend you on this platform from which I can express my frustrations. Just fix the refrigerator June 4th, my mother would appreciate it.
dee4life Send email
 
Mar 14, 2018

Repair appointment-No show no call

On Monday March 12, 2018 I had an appointment between 8 am and 12 noon for a technician to come back and install a part for my refrigerator. The appointment was made 3 weeks in advance. The day before I got reminder the appointment. However on Monday I waited until 12:05. No Technician. I called Sears Repair to find out when the Tech was coming, only to find out the appointment had been
cancelled. I inquired why I was not notified., since they have my home # and cell #. After being on hold for a while, I was told the Tech had called in sick. That answer was unacceptable so i asked to speak with a supervisor (Aaron ID#622456). His excuse was even less acceptable since he didn't seem to have a clue about what was happening. If an employee is sick, they would have to notify the job at least 30 minutes before start time. So there was plenty of time to notify me the customer of a cancellation. Aaron offered to have a Tech come the next day Tuesday March 13 between 1 pm & 5 pm. I agreed. However I received a voice mail at 3:13 pm apologizing but the appointment had been cancelled. I later looked at my email and saw 1 from Sears confirming appointment. (I was confused) Thinking the voice message was more accurate, I put the appoint out of mind. Today Around 12:15 pm I get a voice message on both my home and cell phone from a Tech saying he's running behind and will be at my home between 4 and 5 pm. (again I change my plans) Whether this will happen remains to be seen. Even if it does, the fact remains someone didn't do their job. There's a lack of communication between staff and management, and/or departments. We the customers are being inconvenienced. I have a life, other things to do. I have been with Sears for many years, but I also have choices. Dorothy Walker
robert j Send email
 
Sep 26, 2017

Refrigerator

We bought our house 3-4 years ago knowing the kitchen needed attention. We had the wallpaper removed and refinished, then painted. We then went out and bought all new new appliances, stove, dish washer, refrigerator and microwave at Sears. Then we hired a cabinet maker to build new cabinets to fit around these appliances. Which they did. Since then the oven drawer every time we pull it out it falls out of track. Next we had trouble the 1st year with the refrigerator had to have it repaired, now in the past 3-4 months we have lost frozen food and meats 3x. The receiver was replaced first. That lasted 2-3 weeks before we woke up to a wet floor and defrosted freezer. Waited about a week the same repairman came just shaking his head.. this time he replaced the drier. After a few days we felt safe so we bought some more meats again. The next week we woke up to another flood on our floor. Again for the 3 red time we lost a freezer full of meat from steaks,roasts, turkybreast, frozen vegetable and fruits ( used for smoothies) that was in earlier August I believe. The same repairman came again and did what his bos told him to do he recharged the unit and left his gauge on it after about 20 minutes it went down to 20 lbs. so he waited a little while and checked it again the gauge was on ZERO. It leak all the Fremont out. He was told to put in a request for a replacement.
That was almost 4 weeks ago now they told my wife last week that we had to have the repairman back out again, he was here Monday around 8am. He made some phone calls and the person couldn't find our record in the files until she heard the word lawyer, then she confidently found them. We are still waiting to hear from you people.
I spoke to a young man from the corporate office and he told me over a week ago that we would be revceinig word within a day or so to get a new refrigerator but that never happened either.
Sincerely
Robert Schell
2508 Rolling Pines Circle
Clearwater Fl. 33763

540-539-1825 ( wife)
540-539-1826
Email robertjschell@hotmail.com
gary dixon Send email
 
Apr 30, 2017

oven wont shutoff

I have a wall oven model # 790.47893604 which I purchased in 2010. We purchased all appliances from sears. This oven was installed in 2011 and problems began in 2013. I was told warranty had just runout. We only live at this location for a month or so out of the year so we just didn't use. We are living here now full time and I have read that there are all kinds of ovens with the same problem. I tried to find a recall but cant find one. I was hoping sears might have a fix for this oven now as complaints seem to have stopped with this problem. I think that this was a common problem and should have been recalled. This oven has seen very limited use.
nkk_55 Send email
 
Nov 17, 2016

Sears will not honor an extended warranty

After countless phone calls over the last several months/years with numerous different Sears staff, I have been told by Chris “sorry, there’s nothing more we can do for you”. This is unacceptable. I have attempted to get this issue resolved with no satisfactory results since before the warranty expired.

In 2010 I remodeled my kitchen and purchased all new appliances from Sears, including Kenmore Elite Refrigerator Model 106.45423801; I also purchased the 5 yr extended warranty on the refrigerator. The purchase was made from the Sears store in Tigard, Oregon.

In 2014 the ice-maker auger stopped working and I contacted Sears to have it repaired. They sent out a Service Tech from All-Pro Appliance (503)747-5509. The tech looked at the problem and determined that a new door was needed, which he ordered from Sears. Several weeks later a new door was sent and the tech returned to install the replacement door #1. However, when he opened the box (box did not show any damage) the door itself was defective; the stainless steel front was concave. The service tech called and ordered a 2nd replacement door and took away the defective replacement door #1.

Several weeks later replacement door #2 arrived, and the same service tech came back out to install it. However, when he unpacked the door he said this one was also defective - the ice/water dispenser had not been installed correctly and that water would just run down inside the freezer door. So he did not install replacement door #2. He called Sears again while at my home and was told that since they had already sent 2 very expensive but defective doors, it was unlikely they would try a 3rd door and would probably just replace the entire refrig/freezer with a new one. But he was told that he should leave replacement door #2 at my house and that Sears would contact me to come and look at the situation.

Sears NEVER contacted me, and replacement door #2 (in a box the size of a casket) is still sitting in my garage. The original freezer door is still in place, the ice-maker auger and dispenser does not work, and with all the attempted repairs the freezer door does not close tightly.

I realize that this has gone on for awhile and the warranty is now expired. I was unable to continue to deal with this because 1) I didn’t know who to contact and Sears was supposed to have contacted me, and 2) my father was diagnosed with cancer so I had to care for him in Washington state. He passed away recently and I am now home trying to take care of this defective appliance. If Sears had taken care of the problem back when they provided 2 defective doors and the extended warranty was in place, this wouldn’t be an unresolved problem. I have purchased major appliances from Sears for years and have never run into a situation before like this. My daughter is building a new home currently and we’ve looked at Sears appliances, but with this unresolved issue hanging out there, she will never purchase from Sears again.

I've also attempted to email the customer service email SMSupport@SearsHC.com and have never received a response.
cturtle Send email
 
Jul 1, 2016

Kenmore Dishwasher

I purchased a Kenmore Ultra Wash Dishwasher in March of 2014. When it stopped working in May of this year (2016), I was shocked to learn the motor had died and for only $481 I could have a new motor installed!!!!!!
I live alone, am out of town frequently and only run the washer every 3-4 days when I am at home. I searched the internet only to find out this is not uncommon with Kenmore today. Ref: mythreecents.com
I have purchased Kenmore products in the past and have always believed they were of good quality. But....2 years to fail on a major appliance is unacceptable. Not only does this require me to put out $$$ for a product that should have lasted 4-5 years or more, what happens to the broken product? I was told by the Sears service man that this is typical of products today...built-in obsolescence!!!
I would hope a company like Sears would have more interest in our environment and not add to the waste of materials, labor and...most importantly adding to what is a MAJOR disposal problem.
Does Sears care about our Environment? I don't think so! Will I purchase from Sears again? Probably not.
cturtle Send email
 
Jul 1, 2016

Kenmore dishwasher

I purchased a Kenmore Ultra Wash Dishwasher in March of 2014. When it stopped working in May of this year (2016), I was shocked to learn the motor had died and for only $481 I could have a new motor installed!!!!!!
I live alone, am out of town frequently and only run the washer every 3-4 days when I am at home. I searched the internet only to find out this is not uncommon with Kenmore today. Ref: mythreecents.com
I have purchased Kenmore products in the past and have always believed they were of good quality. But....2 years to fail on a major appliance is unacceptable. Not only does this require me to put out $$$ for a product that should have lasted 4-5 years or more, what happens to the broken product? I was told by the Sears service man that this is typical of products today...built-in obsolescence!!!
I would hope a company like Sears would have more interest in our environment and not add to the waste of materials, labor and...most importantly adding to what is a MAJOR disposal problem.
Does Sears care about our Environment? I don't think so! Will I purchase from Sears again? Probably not. No wonder the company is going under.
SearsCare Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

do not back up extended waranties

Dear mamamona:

My name is Susan and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. I am very concerned about what I have read here. I came across your post and I wanted to reach out and offer our assistance in getting this unfortunate situation resolved. We’re very sorry to hear about the service you have received from our team attempting to repair your washer and we apologize for the frustration this has caused you and your family. Sears Social Media Escalations Team is a single point of contact for escalated concerns which means we step into a situation and handle it start to finish with one Case Manager.

At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (mamamona) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support
Mamamona Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

do not back up extended waranties

I have called 5 times to have the same problen fixed in my washer, and now I have to wait a 6th time for another part! I also was told by a woman in the extended warranty department that my washer qualified for a replacement, then they refused to do so. I am really fed up! I really do not appreciate all the run around and the stall tactics, and being treated like an idiot because I am a woman. I also resent having to set aside a day once a week for 6 weeks to get this taken care of! I would never recomend to anyone to buy through Sears! We actually purchased all the main appliances at the same time, had trouble with most of them, and of course have gone through the nightmare of dealing with all your so called professional service people, and of course, let us not forget the clueless people in all the other departments that I have had to deal with. We extended our warranties on everything, which is a small consolation for having to deal with this nightmare all of the time. If you are not going to stand by your ( Lemon Clause) you should not pretend that you will. Ramona Waymire
SearsCare Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

do not back up extended waranties

To Ms. Waymire,

I'm very sorry that you've had so many repair problems with your washer and for the lack of customer service you have received. The "No-lemon guarantee" with your Master Protection Agreement assures that your appliance will be replaced if it has had four functional part failures, where a functional part is replaced, within a 12 month period. We would be more than happy to discuss your situation with you further and to provide the quality customer service that you deserve. My name is James and I’m part of the Sears Cares Escalations team and we value you as a Sears customer. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer is listed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name (mamamona) for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,
James H.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Fantasy Riches X Sweepstakes - Inability to enter
    Gave them a call from my phone using *67 so they...
    Hallmark channel - Listing movies as series
    I have been a fan of Hallmark and HMM for a long time. But...
    Idea Cellular - No action on request
    I request Idea costmer care to deactivate PRE CALL ...
    cbse - Cbecking of board paper
    I cant secure as low marks as i have got. In these...
    Activity Superstore - Feel I was misled, even conned
    This company do not know the meaning of customer service....
    Renault Tableview - Incorrect mileage log on maintance book
    I 8706130772084 BD Sigasa vin VF15SRAA452466764 Renault...
    Ashford University - Multiple Issues
    1st Ive had several employers tell me that they refuse to...
    wercrypto.com - Scam
    Do not count on the fact that hired people are writing....
    Pall mall 100s in the white pack - Six of the cigarettes was missing the filter
    Yesterday around 630 or 700pm I went to Deli Depot and...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Fantasy Riches X Sweepstakes - Inability to enter
    Gave them a call from my phone using *67 so they...
    Hallmark channel - Listing movies as series
    I have been a fan of Hallmark and HMM for a long time. But...
    Idea Cellular - No action on request
    I request Idea costmer care to deactivate PRE CALL ...
    cbse - Cbecking of board paper
    I cant secure as low marks as i have got. In these...
    Activity Superstore - Feel I was misled, even conned
    This company do not know the meaning of customer service....
    Renault Tableview - Incorrect mileage log on maintance book
    I 8706130772084 BD Sigasa vin VF15SRAA452466764 Renault...
    Ashford University - Multiple Issues
    1st Ive had several employers tell me that they refuse to...
    wercrypto.com - Scam
    Do not count on the fact that hired people are writing....
    Pall mall 100s in the white pack - Six of the cigarettes was missing the filter
    Yesterday around 630 or 700pm I went to Deli Depot and...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username